(2008/09) Sep 2008

wow! So many names! Personally, I find some of the names you have suggested hard to pronounced leh (don't throw eggs at me!) and some also getting common even though they started off as non-common names like Kayden, Aiden etc as everyone wants to get away from traditional names. I personally know 5 little boys call Kayden (or Caylen, etc), and only 1 Ethan so far though that was supposed to be traditional

I would stick to more traditional names. Even my no. 1 is called Shawn, the most traditional one out of 1)Shaun, 2)Sean and 3)Shawn.
I think next time, the traditional names will be the special one...

That's my personal view lah. No offence to those who think otherwise.

limyg,

I think Sean is a nice name. It's still considered traditional and somehow, that gives a feeling of steadfastness.

if i have #4 and if it turns out to be a boy, i will name him Shayne

but my colleague tells me it sounds like shame..
kao_sad2.gif

Weird names from hbs
My hb used to call our 4 yr old son Leong Bong Bong when he was in the womb just so I would shut up about names...I was surprised he was so game to choose names this time round.

Koras: I burst out laughing when I read wat your DH called ur bb. Hahaha. He must be in need of you to also tell him he is handsome! Girl - xingan...Eeks!

Shazz: When I told my hubby that name, he said 'Mei En' - beautiful grace. That is just about the ONLY name we can come to agree upon so quickly.

Lorraine is lovely! I won't think of the quiche...just a sweet fair girl. Hehe.

Flos - you very bad - Lorraine and quiche! Can you stop thinking of food! Hehe. Can't wait to hear your name choice!

Oops! Sorry double posting earlier.

Stef: I Love the name SHAYNE! The Shayne I know is very handsome and cute! But my hubby doesn't like it. I don't think it sounds like shame at all!

Ava: Why Leong Bong BOng? 'Bong' sounds rather vulgar....hehe.

Jessi (jessi) - can u send me your blog link direct then? [email protected]

Flos (flos) - I started on multiply as a storage (backup) for photos, after my laptop crashed
Was never my intention to keep a blog actually. To load up photos, you can import from any storage device, your laptop, kodak gallery, flickr etc..(the usual photo websites). What i like about multiply is that friends need not have an account to view your site, unlike some other sites (facebook, kodak gallery), albeit security wld be lower...

SarahMay.. i jus read your blog... i couldnt believe it!! Wat u intend to call your son is exactly wat i had in mind!! woahaaa... we thot of the same bible character ya... but its another form of tat name
so coincident...
Infact i told storeberry before about this name when we were jus 7 weeks preggy... keke

Flos: Yah, we shall go slowly & buy as we go along...

Shazz: Eamon is nice! Yah its a blessing to be called "Amen"!! Kekeke

Mrs Yap: So coincedence yah? Kekek.. When are you going for the next scan?

wow. today's topic is on names ya? when i had my first boy, i was thinking of the name 'Aidan'. but in chinese han yu pinyin, it sounds like 'ai3 dan4' (short egg)... so didn't pick that. then i liked 'Ethan' too. but doesn't go with the surname AT ALL... Ethan Goh (eaten gold).hahahahahaha. I think the surname 'wu' is the hardest to go with names. i had a primary school girl previously named 'precious'. very nice hor?? takes a lot of guts to name their girl that. and i read recently in mag that there's a girl named 'miracle'.

name teasing:
school going children are not exactly the kindest. they tease and tease very often and they really think up of weird combinations to tease. someone mentioned that initials also very important. that is true. imagine this person named 'Nathaniel Aidan Goh' aka N.A.G! My girl's name is Natalie Claire Goh. i thought she was safe from teasing until my brother told me 'huh? you are naming her 'Nai da li'?? (big breast)
Her chinese name is Wu Zi1 Lei3.
My boy is Jared Nicholas Goh - Wu Hsien Rui4.

storeberry: little Eamon says thank you for saying his name is nice! =)

SarahMay: The cute Shayne you know is one of our pastor's son? Who got an even cuter brother called Gabriel? ;)

stef&seanbabes (limyg) : I love the name Shayne too! Too bad hubby thinks it sounds like a girl's name ... he thought of Shania Twain when I mentioned Shayne

Abalone,
r u Catholic too? how come ur kids have middle names?
my kids hv middle (baptism) names too ..
Stefanie Gabrielle Ng
Sean Gerald Ng
Sharmaine xxx Ng

hv not thought of a middle name for my lil' gal yet.

Shazz: Yup! That is one of the Shayne's I know. Both of them are super cute la...not fair to compare one with the other right? Hehe. I think they have gorgeous eyes....they flutter their eyelids only...can melt. Hahah.

Jessi: Thanks for sharing your blog link! Eeks! The fall you had was scary! My friend fell on her bum in the toilet when she was 5 months preggy. But she was so cool cbout it..she just said it was ok as bb was well-cushioned. If it were me, I wld have gone to my gynae immediately. Hehe. You must be careful!

Alabone: Aiyo! Your brother ah! Jared is nice. Q uncommon these days. Cedric is very English! I think of a very gentlemanly person...Hehe. Why do you need a middle name? At first I wanted to as well...then figured my poor son might have to learn to spell too many words. Hehe...Plus it might become a mouthful. For e.g. I know someone's kid named SHALOM JEDIDIAH...tt to me is v long. Hehe. However, it does seem to be the trend these days to give a middle name. Any idea why?

hi mummies ,
did not log in for a few days already .. ow is everyone ?
Names for the little mickey .. hmm .. My FB is Zachary .. so my and one either will be Z again or A ... thinking of Zayden , Zaviar , zeus .. haha ..

hi stef,
yes we're catholic. that's why the kids have middle names that's already written into their BC. so far, i have't really thought of middle name if i have boy. if i have a girl, the middle name will be 'Faith'. not sure about first name though. i like 'Rachelle' though.

sarahmay,
we gave our kids middle names not because of trend but because it's their baptism names.

qiuling,
zachary is nice. i wanted that for my boy initially but my hb didn't like it. what about zachariah?? hehe

Jessi (jessi) - thanks! Had a quick look thru - seems like u are quite a prolific writer
Should share with the rest!

sarahmay, i think you are referring to mrs yap's blog. i can send u mine if u like. hehe

bigtoes, oh no, i just write for fun and whatever that came into my mind. alot of ranting inside, but i guess that's what blog are for. hehehe..

have got a friend (ooppss..hope he and she not reading this post!)...

surname Ho. so when they had their firstborn, a daughter, they called her Zanna. May sound strange. But together with the surname...Ho Zanna (Hosanna)...ok lah...according to them, it was inspired froma dream...just hope she wouldnt receive teasing in school...'zanna zanna, zany zanna'...oopsss...

the son is born recently. no prizes for guessing his name thouhg

ya.. sarahmay, the one who had a fall is mrs yap, not jessi... keke
Sad to know tat both of u suffered a MC before. Take care n press on... we are more than half way thru the pregnancy already! Cant wait to carry the baby... keke

Alabone : Rachelle is nice.. infact i like girls name to start with R... e.g Rebecca, Rachel, Ruth etc... i used to have a sis/bro tuition kids... sis name is Nicole Tin (Nicotine) and bro's name Ryan Tin (Lion King)... haha
Last night, i told my hubby about the name i wld like to call our bb if its a girl... ask him wat he think of Shi Qi... he immediately ask, huh... wat 17? Shi Qi sounds like Seventeen in mandarin... haha

Anyone of you getting those sleeping bag as a blanket for baby? I have been looking around & don't know which to buy, some look so thick & not suitable for our weather while some are really expensive.

Names
Shane/Shayne is a very dashing hunnky name leh... i like! but people might call them "shame shame"...

I also like Jared/Jarod. that's also on my list

was really gg to name my boy( if its a boy) Kayden..but looks like there are many kaydens..
Hard to find a meaningful and unique names...maybe good to go back to more traditional names. Daniel would be my choice

i like joshua but my bro is named joshua..

<font color="119911">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - Yes, seems like too many Kaydens already, though I do not know any personally. We are more or less decided on Kieran instead.

Weight gain
Btw, how much have you ladies gained to date? I am up 4kg by week 20. Not sure if I can keep to my targeted 12-14kg at this rate!</font>

Weight
I am up 5kg+ now. but am not a good indicator Bigtoes...I got the shock of my life yest night cos in the morning, I was 66, then at night i was close to 70!!!!! Think my eyes a bit blur cos hb said it was only 68.5 (don't have a digital scale lah) plus I must've overeaten yest!!

Kieran is a nice name. It was on our list for our first son...

Actually, the really popular names I've heard for the new born babies in the last one year seems to be Tristan, Lucas and Jayden! So far I've have 3 of each of the above! I think the traditional names like Michael, John, Peter, Alvin, Alex, Desmond will be the unique ones by the time our kids goes to school! haha

But I've come to a conclusion, you can never avoid having a common name, the name is common because it's a nice name, if not why would people choose the name right? ;p

Weight:
i'm up abt 3.5kg now at 21weeks at 47.5kg.
for my first pregnancy with my gal, i gained 7kg (51kg) at full term.
with my son, i gained 10kg (53kg) at full term.
Looking at weight gain this time, should be abt 51-53kg at full term too.

talking about weight hope tml during my checkup i do gain as the last checkup i lost 0.5kg. yest seem very strange after eating my meal i still keep feel hungry sia

Hi morning,
Am thinking of getting some DVD's frm Amazon.com but there's no spree getting on.. so wanna see if any mummies wanna join me to order some light items like CDs also can.

CAn email me at [email protected]

shazz,
agree with u

i kinda like kayden even though it may be common..last nite hubby called home and ask how is his bb kayden..haha..so maybe its an indication we should take the name.

i am weighing 66kgs now..a gain of 7-8 kgs before preggie..i am trying to eat normal portion even though hungry at time..hopefully the next gain will not be that high.

ava,
i'm 68 now! gained 3kg in a mth! must be my aussie trip la, the portion there so big, but i still managed to finish! hahaha!!!

i really hope i can maintain a steady weight gain this time, no more 19kg plssss........ >__<

Alabone: Zachary is nice! The Zacahries I know are all very charming. Thanks for enlightening me cos in Anglican tradition I know tt it can be Baptism name for the first Christian name, and the next is the Confirmation.

Mrs Yap/ Jessi: Oops! hehe...Sorry! Got mixed up.Nicole Tin (Nicotine) is funny!
Jessi: Can PM me your blog addy?

L'l CY: Zanna is the Christian name right? I don't think will get teased 'Hosanna'. If you didn't say, I wouldn't think of tt. Hehe. Is their boy's name 'Ho Sea' like Hosea?

Shazz: Tristan sounds really nice right? I wanted it but then, when I checked the meaning...I didn't quite like it. Jayden is nice. You're right...at this rate ppl are giving unique names...the traditional and formerly pop &amp; common names will become unique.

Jaymickey: Caleb sounds nice...but u know it means 'dog' ? Tt is how i struck it out of my list cos I'm a cat lover...hehe. tho the bible character Caleb is not a 'dog'.

NAMES: I think at the end of the day no matter how nice a name is... it depends on how the child lives up his/her name. There are some really nice names but unfortunately the people who have them can sometimes spoil them. Then, there are ppl with weird names...but are totally wonderful. Also, nicknames...cannot entirely nickname-proof it seems. Kids are superbly creative in finding nicknames. Thus far i haven't seen a kid escape being nicknamed in my entire teaching life. Hehe.

WEIGHT GAIN: I think as long as our bb is doing well...shdn't matter how much weight we gain right? Cos I'm trying not to stress. I keep eating...but like dun think I've gained much. Hehe.

Bigtoes - How come you got target weight? Hehe. I found out that even 9-10kg weight gain is ok. I thought was 12 kg. I'm told the most rapid weight gain will hit sometime from wk 24 onwards! So maybe then you'll be well on your way to your target weight.

Stef&amp;Sean: You are really slim!!!

Koras: I'm like you...hope I will gain weight by next check-up cos I lost 1 kg. Eating but still feeling hungry...good sign right? That means need to eat more = weight gain more likely? :)Let us know how ur checkup goes trow!

SarahMay (sarahmay) - the 12-14kg weight gain is not so much a target, but more like an average benchmark so i don't find myself ballooning too much, too fast! Read that average gain from 2nd trimester onwards is about 0.45kg (1 pound) a week, so guess I am more or less on track. Having said that, I am pretty much eating anything &amp; everything I want!

re: weight gain
i realise that with each pregnancy, i become more and more conscious of weight gain. this is because after that, it is so difficult for me to lose it. but it's individual lah. like i'm sooo envious of stef coz she's so slim and can lose it so easily

this time round, at 16 weeks, i've put on 2kg... from last gynae visit until now, i've not put on yet though i was pigging out. maybe coz running after two todds.

jaymickey,
meeeeeeeeeeeee!!!! been experiencing it since first tri lah. but i have scoliosis and slipped disc... so not unusual. is it bad for you?? or just sng sng feeling?

sarahmay
Bingo! but they spelt it as Zaeyah...quite interesting lah, the way people name their kids.

Naming children
wow, more troublesome nowadays, still must consider surname, dialect traslation, possible mispronunciation, possible teasing etc...*stress*

weight gain
----------------
not going to weigh myself for the rest of my preg!!!! dun think the weighing machine likes me much

mrs yap
buying and selling properties ah?dun think there is any here though...

english names and chinese names
one reason we didnt give any english christian names to my boy and eventually no2 is simply we cannot find any that we wont go 'eeeekkkk...i know someone with that name...dun want dun want...'

so we decided to have a christian chinese name instead. chinese name derived from bible...

so i guess whatever english names we choose, someone is bound to think...'eeeekk, someone horrid got that name leh' wtd, there are only so many names in the world nia...unless you want to 'invent' your child's name

abolone.. i used to have lower backache before pregnancy.. now like getting worst.. sometimes pain until night time also cannot sleep... haiz...

weight gain
i had gained 3kgs till now at week 18. but i only gain 1 kg from start till week 14, then within another 4 weeks i gained 2kg.

stef&amp;seanbabes, you must be very petite in size. your weight with your son at full term is my current weight now. :p

sarahmay, i had pm-ed u.