(2008/09) Sep 2008

sunrays,
i feel bb movements more too when i'm lying down. when i'm sitting, she also moves alot. actually i felt her movements since 16 weeks.
yes u are right.. it feels like a goldfish swimming in the tummy

I'm gonna name my son Eamon, meaning Rich Blessed Protector. Chinese name will be 义(义正义-righteousness)恩(恩典-Grace).

Mei: you're most welcomed! got good stuff must share with my friends mah! =)

<font color="0000ff">Sunrays
hehe.. YES!!! it's sunday.. dun forget hor. gotta remind ur fren too...

oh oh.. today happening ah. should lah.. after being imprisoned for so long. breathe some fresh air. wah.. u tempting me with carls jnr again?? haha... hengz i juz ate it on Sunday.. else i will surely bug u.. haha

hhmm... on bb gals kicking, alot of my frens expecting gals have commented tat their gals as more gentle leh. and they seemed to have started feeling the kicks around wk20 / 21. whereas those tat got boys started to feel the kicks around wk18</font>

sunrays,
Similar to both u and Stef, lying down, i can feel her real kick, sometimes u can see it even... she is quite active generally.. can feel her moving... i started feeling her for the 1st time in week 16 too..

my boy has been kicking me too! I only felt pain at both sides and at the bottom. But I didnt actually felt his movement. Then I read a book and realised that the pain is due to the fact that the baby is kicking against the wall (like how u would make a turn in the swimming pool) of the uterus to position himself as the space is getting limited in there now. ;)

sasa
i am in week 18 now and i hardly felt any movement leh... how i wish he/she can give me a big kick...significantly enuff
all i can feel now is gaseous movement which i cannot confirm is it gas of my bowels or bb movement... I need tat significant kick to mark the week which i can feel my bb moving

i don't know if u gals feel the same, afterall, it is my 1st pregnancy.. i realised that when i move, she don't really moves, when i stop moving for awhile.. that's when she comes into action.. then when she hear my hb's voice in the morning, she started kicking alot..

sarahmay: yeah, my ex-church mate also called her son "恩".

I am not sure abt those myths abt using emperors' names, but i certainly like one of those Qing dynasty emperors' names...the terrible sounding word is...*drumrolls* CHANG 昌! *faint* (no offence to those with this name)

Chee Hong...hmm, yes i have a fren with that name. And Pai Chee too!

lilboymum: how about宇晨 instead of 语? I also like the word 晨. Very popular in Taiwan. Dawn, it means...

aloevera: hey, u haven't revealed the name of the artiste who cried leh.

Mrs Yap/sarahMay: which blog server r u using? i just migrated mine from blogger to wordpress. Anyone familiar with wordpress? i need to ask abt creation of pages.

wow, all your princesses' names are so beautiful...i must hunt for a princely name too! I'll start digging out my Shakespearean plays to get some inspiration...
Lear, Macbeth, Otello, Prospero, Hamlet...To name or not to name them after these epic characters...that is the question...

Flos...
what unique idea u have
why not call him Arial in Midsummer's night dream... or Theseus... but try not to use Bottom...keke
I am using blogspot..

<font color="119911">Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - on baby kicking, I asked my gyne abt it yesterday, and she mentioned that most 1st time mommies won't typically feel the kicks till week 21-24 (unless they are very skinny), and don't have to really worry if they don't feel anything until week 28.

After week 28, touch wood, if something happens, baby can still survive outside the womb in ICU.</font>

lim, wow, like that more expensive? i don't have contacts but will let you know if i come across any.

sasa, i c, i c. i think we should put all the shortlisted names to test before we decide, just in case something that sounds perfect in english comes out weird or embarrassing in mandarin, or vice versa. my schoolmates named collin tan and colin chai were given chinese nicknames: ke3 lian2 dan4 and ke3 lian2 cai4.

speaking of abdominal pain, i also feel that since last week. I wonder if u r all experiencing some dull ache below the belly button, whether it's wearing your undies, your socks, your pants, or squatting down to load the washer, lying down, sitting down...

bb's been moving a lot these days.

I'm also feeling a bit light-headed and dizzy since Monday. Is it cos I dun exercise like u all?

Mrs Yap: no lah! Ariel is in TEMPEST lah!!! Puck is in Midsummer

jaymickey: Hermia? no way, like Herpes and Hymen!

OK, how do u create your online album using blogspot? u r linking to picasa or flickr?

jaymickey
aiyo hermia sounds like hernia...
helena sounds better.

Flos..
i feeling dizzy too last 2 weeks... doc says lack iron... do take some iron tablets.. no pain when squatting etc but i cant bend over to pick up things on the floor now... the bump is restricting tat kind of movement

Flos... alamak... mix up those characters liao...
Hard to imagine i scored A1 for literature hor... the english i use in this forum is full of eee, ah, lor, leh...

xuanting: u r cantonese right? For cantonese, u can transliterate and innovate many fun Christian names. Like Yong Jo Ee (Joey Yong), Lee Hack Ken (hacken lee), Ella Chan (Chan En Na), Roman (Lo Wen), Ah Kew (Gillian Chung), Eason Chan (Chan Ee Xun), etc.

For mainlanders, they are even more creative. My frens are called Zoe(周云), Daisy(戴怡), Betty (王培).

For more adventurous, can try those Jap or Korean sounding characters!! LOL

mrs yap, keekeke!! sad to admit i oso kenna A1...i dun bother much with my grammar here. i sneak in to post here cos my boss is on reservist till 28th, and my neighbour behind is on course since last wed...Honeymoon period, if u will

yep, i took iron tabs too but still feeling dizzy...

Ladies...
what do u think of this name??
My hubby likes the name Bernadette.. but i find the name sounds like nerd... cant take it leh..
how about simplify the name to Berdette? Or Bernette? sounds better? Any other suggestions ??

Ahh, must ask what u gals think of our selected names ...some times cannot hear/see the bad/funny side of the names till someone else points them out.

I can't remember all, cos written down at home, but here goes (names are paired as intended as twin names):

Boys:
-Declan/Deacon
-Evander/Xander
-Rowan or Rohan/Ewan
-Jett/Blaze (!!! my hb suddenly decides he wants to name his sons like some characters out of a video game)

Girls:
-Skylar (alternative: Skye)/Sonia (hb says Skylar sounds like Sylar on "Heroes")
-Nadia/Sonia
-Maia/Theia
-Anais/Annalise
-Tatiana/Tallulah (i dont like these much)

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - Bernadette is named after a Saint right? Not too common...how about Bernice?

Ava - I like the Rowan/Ewan pairing for baby boys, or Nadia/Sonia for little girls. Have to make sure they match the surname also

flos, i'm actually hainanese. cantonese i picked up from neighbours and watching hk videos. like you mentioned, some english hk names are actually pretty nice, unlike the weird ones we sometimes see. i have hk colleagues named cringle, pinky etc.

mrs yap, bernadette is my hubby's granny's name! i had been trying to recall it for the longest time but just couldn't remember. she was a very creative lady, v good with needlework and crafts. guess that's my impression of the name.

Bernadette is a Catholic name. how about Beatrice or Bridget? Both are cool IMO...

Ava: your twins are boys or girls, or one of each?

I like Nadia and Sonia, Maia and Theia.

Tatiana is Russian, and Tallulah is too...islamic?

Btw, I also google to check if anyone in this universe is named as such, both Eng and Chi. Just kaypoh

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Yap
hehe... be patient. for first-time mums like us, we cannot differentiate between gas and bb kicking. after awhile, den u start to realise, whatever u have been feeling are actually bb's movements. they juz feel like bubbles bursting or flutterings in the early stage. not so much as a really hard kick!!!

Jaymickey
oh yes.. agree on that. my boy seems super active in the nite now.. when i'm juz lying there watching tv. and especially so when i'm about to sleep. haha.. so much for having day &amp; nite. hb say he cannot see mah... all he see is water.. faintz..

so far i haven found the relation between hb talking and bb kicking.. haha

What abt my prince's name?? Any comments?? hehe

Ava
I like Maia &amp; Theia for gals &amp; Evander &amp; Xander for boys.

I am naming my son Devon, it's my hubby's name &amp; mine combined.. lol.

sasa: I like Max! Sounds so "sat sat"

I read a baby book that says that fetus are most active from 8pm to midnight! It's so true for mine. I usually feel his movement at night, when I'm lying down in bed or on my recliner, watching tv.

Last night, I found the boy right in the middle of my tummy, hubby and I saw a weird protruding shape and both sides of my tummy are hollow! It's so cute! And the middle portion is so hard, so we figured that could be his back. =)

ava, me too, i like the rowan/rohan/ewan pairing for boys. but must say i think jett and blaze are cool too!

of the girls' names listed, i like skye, maia and theia.

deacon sounds v religious. annalise is like annalist and if you shorten it, it's really not nice... unless you change the way it's spelt?

Momoko76

My girl is 18 months old. I don't really do home practice :p I just started on the flashcards at home cos she really likes them. She is always very attentive when the teacher start flashing.

Our girls share the same name.

wow, everyone had started thinking of baby's name already. i haven't even started cos still don't know the baby's gender yet. we only thinking of having name starting with A for girl or J for boy. i just went to a baby's name website to browse thru, seemed like girl's name starting with A not many really nice ones but boy's name starting with J i had spotted a few.

Thanks for the feedback...!! Skye and Sonia are my fav girl names and Evander, Declan and Rowan my fav boy names.

We have yet to find out gender, but will be two of the same as they are identicals.

Sasa
I like Max, but I'd choose a longer name or version to go with your hb's surname...Max Ter sounds like Maxtor, the IT brand...

<font color="0000ff">Ava
haha... OMG!!! i was thinking if anybody would point tat out leh... coz tat was the feedback i got from my uncle too...

we wan the name to start with M.. like both daddy and mummy.. but very limited. not nice de, the other names.. any recommendations?</font>

hi ladies... thanks for the suggested name instead of Bernadette... so far i dun know anyone with this name yet... I hope hubby give some other preference over this name... kekeke

Jessi
wat u said sounds so familar
my sis was telling me next time if her bb is girl going to start with letter A and if boy, letter J
Cos her name is starts with A and hubby name starts with J

I personally like the name Gabriel v much... sounds so MAN... however, i got an ideal name for boy liao

hi sunrays, jaymickey, stef&amp;seanbabes

im also having a princess.. but yet to choose name for her. have nt done any shopping either.. i tik im a lazy mummy.. :p

L’lCy: Nice name! Speaking of traditional Chinese …there is a book you might be interested to read. It’s called GENESIS….about how traditional Chinese characters actually contain many biblical truths about creation etc. Apparently the Chinese were Christians before. If you’ve been to Tian Tang in BJ, you will notice that their ritual is highly similar to that of the OT Tabernacle.
Bigtoes: I like your K names….hee…I actually shortlisted those too! Kieran means dark –haired or dark skinned I think. I have Indian girlfriends by the name of Kiran. Spelling diff but sounds like Kieran. Keegan and Kayden are very nice sounding. Anyway, we settled for something else already. What is your hub’s surname? See which sounds better with it! Eh…just being naughty ah…no offense intended…but you think ppl will be naughty and start pronouncing KAYDEN as kei dan like ‘chicken eggs’ in Cantonese? Anyhow, I like all three K names you have.

Aloevera: Hehe…not sad la. Just thankful I actually am married…let alone preggers now. Haha. Good to know I’m not like the oldest MTB here.

Mrs Yap: I PM you my blog liao…what’s yours? I also want to read! Don’t worry…you’re not alone. I sometimes wonder if it is gas or my bb. But sometimes I get a big twitch in my tummy area…and I’m pretty sure it’s bb. However, I am also looking forward to that BIG kick.

Ava: Shit Pui? Eek..heheh. My former GP is Dr Ang E.L. ….reads like Dr Angel. Even initials of names also must be careful. Your planning is very good eh? So how many kids are you targeting for? When is your target factory closure date?

I like Declan..but Deacon? A bit preachy lei…hehe. What abt pairing Declan &amp; Dylan?
Skylar I thot was a boy’s name…but who cares. Tho it sounds so much like the evil character from Heroes, Sylar.
Anais hard to pronounce but Annalise is sweet! Sonia is nice..means wisdom in greek right? What about Tania/Tanya instead of Nadia?
Maia is nice..as long as surname not Loh…cos sounds like MILO.
Theia – truth in Greek? Tatiana – fairy queen from Midsummers’.
Tallulah…a bit ‘tu’.

DIALECT TRANSLATIONS: I think as parents we can have the liberty to ensure the dialect names for our kids sound good right? Cos my dad was exceptionally kind to me in giving me a dialect name that sounds way better than what it is actually in his dialect, Hakka…. I’m supposed to be ‘MEE HOON’ in Hakka but thank God, my Daddy was brilliant and gave me the name ‘May Fern’ instead. Phew! I had student who was Hokkien…her dialect name was ‘Bee Hoon’. Poor girl.

Flos: I’m on blogger…cos that is the one I guess I learnt off the earliest…I’m still not v good at it. You’ve got a blog too? Can share? Think I asked you that before. Hehe.

LITERARY NAMES:Arial: Nice name…but that also reminds me of the popular computer font…as well as Disney Princess Ariel. Hehe. Theseus – Singaporeans sure cannot pronounce . Hermia – if nicknamed hernia how? Puck? Wait your prince becomes a mischievious little creature…how? Better do character profile check before naming them after any.

TCS 5 Actress: I think I can guess…

Stef: Bernardette is very catholic! It is just me…but the name always reminds me of banana split :p hehe…dunno why. Are you going to have it for your princess?

Xuanting: There are also very weird English HK names…I blogged abt some…Here is a sampling: Horny (friend’s uni mate), Creamy (name of donut salesgirl). Hahaha…. In SG, I’ve also met girls with names like ‘Bah bah’ – hokkien for Chubby.

xuanmommy,
think this is a normal phase tat our Tods are going thru... i'm also a xuanmommy coz my girl's name ends with xuan too! =P

sasa,
how abt matthew?

wa lau, sarah, like tat say reminds u of banana split, stef still dare to use tat name meh...?? hahahaha!!!!!!!! =P

pls pardon us, stef... >__<

mrs yap, for us is opposite. my name starts with J, so if son then name start with J. then my hubby's name starts with A, so if daughter then name start with A. hehe..

ladies with blogs can share with me your blog link? hehe.. i love reading blogs. we can exchange our blog address.

stef....sorry! hope u dun get upset!.i told you liao..it is just me. i also dunno why. I m just weird...so dun mind me. I've this automated nick-name generator in my head and also am prone to random thoughts. Must be cos when i was young...i was overly traumatised by the endless nicknames I had...so now vow NOT to name my kid with some name tt is prone to nicknames. Hehe..

i like the letter "K" and "M" and "E". Shortlisted a few names...will decide when the gender of bb is confirmed..hopefully next week we will know

noticed alot of ppl naming their bb with chinese character - "En" Personally i like "zu en" - the Lord's blessings.. not sure if my in-law have a Zu bu to follow..

btw, how do they derive those names in the zu bu? my hubby says if they have one, it is derive from a poem..

sarahmay,
my kids names all starts with S, so Bernardette is out.
my gal's name will be Sharmaine

last time i had a classmate named Bernardette. she is v smart. always topped the class.. and she was a v nice girl too.. so impression of that name is good

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) - hah, yah.....now that u pointed it out, Kayden does sound like "kai tan". Anyway, that was hubby's preference - my 1st choice is still Kieran &amp; we would most prob go with that (yes, it is Irish for small &amp; dark skinned...but doesn't really matter for a boy i guess)

Btw, what K name did u guys settle on?

Looks like alot of us are going for less typical names like Jack/John/Keith etc...just have to make sure they match the Chinese surname &amp; don't sound too pretentious I guess.</font>