(2008/09) Sep 2008

sarahmay, aloevera,
no worries
it's quite fun thinking of ways to make fun of names though

SarahMay
I guess I didn't realise the religious significance of Deacon...till it was mentioned..cos am not christian meself. The only place I've heard it is on Bold & The Beautiful..which I was addicted to during my maternity leave years ago!!

hb's surname is Leong. So no MILO for us

Dylan - taken by my cousin's son already...my son's fav cousin too...

Factory
Hahaha...i think after twins will close liao, but not tearing down structure or barricading doors or anything...just not actively going to manufacture lol

Mei: Devon (pronounced dare ven) is in Southwest England
but nonetheless, cool choice!

Sounds like my fren's case. She is Debbie and her hb is Raymond => child's name: Desmond!

sarahmay: HORNY?!!!! CREAMY?! Yikes...

yes, yes i'll tidy up my blog then share with u. my auto-audio, podcast, categories, slides and online albums are gone after the migration. i need time.

Max? Maximus the Gladiator!!! Dexter is nice too.

Got one fren who has 4 bros in his family. Matthew, Mark, Luke, John! Can play the "Matthew, Mark, Luke, John" game liao

I find those welsh and irish names rather cool. Anyone considering Spanish, German, French or Russian names?

Javier Lim
Helmut Wong
Jacques Tan
Vladimir Goh

*LOLOLOLOLOL*

SarahMay
It's pronounced as DEV-en.

Flos
Helmut reminds me of Helmut Lang!

There are several meanings to Devon, it means a beautiful place in England as you mentioned. It also means Poet. But we're more concerned that the name derived is unique to the both of us.

Does anyone else think boys names have to be less exotic than girls' names? I mean I wouldn't blink at Tatiana Leong or Anastasia Leong...but at Raoul Leong or Giovanni Leong...I'd go..."wah, parents trying damn hard lah"!!!

<font color="0000ff">haha... does Maximus sound like mouse?? i dunno how come i have this link between Maximus and mouse!!!

tho it reminds me so much of russell crowe in gladiator!!</font>

bacon&amp;eggs:

u need to check back with your grandparents if they still keep in contact with those distant chinese relatives back in mainland china. if there is an ancestral home/tomb, there is likely to be a zu pu. someone in the family will maintain the zu pu by updating the family tree.

And u are right. it is in the form of a poem. it runs in sequence.

Mei
Too many Ethans already...! I like that name too and Luke/Lucas as well...but so many around among my friends kids...Since most of you gals are younger and maybe your friends don't have kids yet, that's an advantage

Bacon&amp;Eggs: Oh my! You've got the SAME fave chinese name as my hubby. He's been wanting to name our kid ZU-EN even before we were expecting. But I have violently protested. I love the meaning...but just thing kids will tease...ZHU ZHU... hehe.

Flos: I Love welsh and irish names. German, Russian can sound a bit rough... Helmut = Helmet?, Vladimir: So count dracula! Javier I've seen a few. Wah! Your blog like some major website lei....mine only text and pics. Haha.

Bigtoes: We settled on a Hebrew name in the end. You can read ALL about the baby-naming process on my blog http://babyshowersofgrace.blogspot.com. Though i didn't mention there tt we went thru Evan and Jonathan...Both kena thrown out cos hubby thot they were a bit gay-ish...sigh. I really LOVED Evan.

For K girl names... i esp love Kaitlin. Hehe. But I know I will get v annoyed if ppl don't pronounce the consonants in the name crisply. So if we have a daughter...we prob won't name her this..or we might. We'll see!

Dexter: Nice...but you know that there is a new TV series tt is named DEXTOR ...if i rber correctly. Abt a maniacal doctor who goes about on the sly to murder criminals who escape the justice system. The protagonist is very handsome and clever tho.

Max: is a very macho name. latin origins.

Inspiration from Nature: I know a family of ppl named : Atomic, Physics...Also friend's daughter named Lief ( like LEAF).

Stef: Actually the Bernadettes I know are clever...sweet...very the eligible Bachelorette types.

SarahMay
I remember that conversation about "Jonathan" on MSN!!! LOL...remember my 4 colleagues named Jonathan: Fat one, skinny one (who everyone thot was gay), nerdy one and nice one...lol

Mei: funny lah...Helmut Lang! How abt Helmut Schmidt?! kekeke!

Ava: OK lah, trying too hard...how about Gucci Goh, Hermes Hung, Prada Pang, Fendi Fong, Chanel Chan?!! LOL

Eamon is nice. I'll most likely be picking Irish or Welsh names. Nothing too contrived...

SarahMay (sarahmay) - if ours was a girl, we were planning to name her Kaitlyn also! How coincidental...so now keeping that for baby no. 2 (if it is a she)

AVA!! MIGHTY MOUSE! *pengz*...sooo funny!!! ho ho ho!

Maximus is a great man alright!! How about Caesar? Malcolm?

Honkies like to use English surnames like Morgan, Franklin, Robinson as their first names.

Someone I know called her daughter Zara!!

bigtoes, i'll PM u my blog link
it's more of my personal blog, paiseh to put the link here. hehe..

flos, those brand names for names sound very "Lian" :p hehehe.. reminded me of a friend who nearly named her girl Chanel, and her girl's surname also starts with C. Luckily she changed her mind about that name in the end.

sarahmay, i had a friend named elisha too! only that at home, he would be called junior cos his dad has the same name. we didn't realise till we called and someone asked, "senior or junior?"

Heheh! Ava, MERCEDES (马赛娣小妹妹)is one of the contestants in American next top model's name...How about the season 1 winner, Yohana? Nice and chic.

Flos (flos) : all the brand names names are hillarious ... but it's actually very common in HK these days! ;)

If I have a girl, I'll call her Rae-Ann. Chinese name will be Rui En. Haha ... not very creative I know but i just love the sound of it!

All these talk about names is making me want #2 real soon! LOL. I know it's crazy, considering my #1 is not even here yet!

koras (koras) - think Kalen is a variation of Kayden, one of the options we were considering. You can check on one of the many baby naming sites.

Jessi (jessi) - okie!
stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) - my vote goes to Sharlene

Oh, on M names, I love Malcom too...makes me think of "Malcom in the middle", of of my fav sitcoms

aloevera- think seldom heardof people call as caelan or kayden.. i quite like this name kaylen but scared a bit like girly name.hanson sound nice also

<font color="0000ff">yes yes... i do know someone who's name is Mercedes. faintz... and we've got a supplier from China. English name is Kitty (ok, fine).. chinese name guess wat... 蔡个个 (sounds like she's a concubine lah)...

hehe.. i like Malcom too.. but hb dun like.. sob sob
but den hor.. find tat Malcom abit difficult to pronounce leh..</font>

Zara: Actually tt is a nice name.

Bigtoes: Prob not using Kaitlin. It is a really pretty name tho. We will name her Megan - meaning 'light of a pearl' or something like that. Hehe. We just have no pattern in our naming choices.

Caelen: Nice! I wanted to name my boy that too...but i think I didn't quite liked its meaning.

Stef: Suelyn is sweet.I know some not-so-nice Charlenes..so well for me...tt is spoilt. Hehe.

Shazz: That is my childhood dream name for my bb girl. hhaha. I had it since sec school. Rae-Ann is LOVELY.

stef&amp;seanbabes, i like sharlene

bigtoes, i think u never enable the PM feature here, can't send u the PM.

koras, kalen/kaylen sounds nice, don't find it like a girly name.

Sa sa: Yah lo, I miss you leh... Keke.. Last week quite bz last wk &amp; computer kena virus so didn't log on to msn... Don't worry about buying things, I also haven't buy anything yet.. kekeke.. I was also msn-ing sarahmay, telling her so many mummy bought things liao &amp; I am still "lang li ge lang".. Haha! I will wait till later GSS then buy the steriliser, milk bottles, teats, towels... (basically the bessicity 1st.) The big items like cot (will prob be hand-me -down) strollers, car seat will buy later. Cos basically you are not sure what is your bb like so buy so early later not suitable..

Sunrays: My bb is kicking but majority of the time I can only feel in at night when I am on my laptop or in bed.

Names: My irritating husband keep calling my darling "little Johnny'! Duh!

Bigtoes: I might name my smallberry John cos my hubby like Johnny so much! John means: God's grace which I like! Or Luke or Lukas or Evan. Still thinking... But I like Kieran!

Ava: Luke / Lukas still not common among my frens so can chop the name now.. kekeke...

The thread move fast with names!

SarahMay (sarahmay): hehe, great minds thinks alike! I also love the name for a long long time. Used to wonder why my parents dun give me such pretty names instead of a common one! haha

Megan: my friend wanted to name her girl that till her MIL said, sounds like "mei gen" no roots! so she dropped that immediately!

For my son's name, Eamon (pronounced as A-mund), I'm prepared his frens may call him Amen! but seriously I dun mind, cos each time they call him that, I think it's a blessing! haha

hee.. thks for the votes! Sheyanne is pronounced as Shy-anne. but afraid she might be teased next time. i gave this list of names to hubby to choose.. hubby chose Sharmaine.. so most likely will name my gal Sharmaine.

i must admit that choices for girls's names are alot more thant boy.
when i was choosing a name for my son, it was only 2 choices - Sean or Shaun
in the end, i chose Sean as i like Sean Connery.

bigtoes:

i like the way u organise ur blog. do u find multiply easier to categorise? i need to open one photo page, one video page cos like u, i've tonnes of pics and videos, not so much words. i'm not a prolific writer

blogspot doesn't allow one to create a page solely for these. i need to create hyperlinks to another site which has since shutdown.

do they allow migration? all my stuffs are on blogger.

storeberry: me neither. u r not alone
i hvn't bot anything in the list above. a bit last minute type of mom.

Sharmaine can be spely Charmaine too rite? how about Lorraine which is the name of quiche?

I like Tara (gone with the wind), Rene and Cass.

storeberry - that time he more funny he say boi call yinyun(handsome) girl call xingan(sexy). everyone heard le luff

koras: my hubby kept calling my son, Apollos, at one point after being inspired by the name after my Pastor mentioned it a few times! when I told my church friends what he wanted to call my son, everyone laughed!

storeberry &amp; Flos: Don't worry about the list I posted, we still have plenty of time. My hubby will be travelling a fair bit so we got our stuff now since I'm still so mobile, and there're sales, we just got it. I dread the idea of joining the crowd during the GSS and baby fairs.

Koras: I burst out laughing when I read wat your DH called ur bb. Hahaha. He must be in need of you to also tell him he is handsome! Girl - xingan...Eeks!

Shazz: When I told my hubby that name, he said 'Mei En' - beautiful grace. That is just about the ONLY name we can come to agree upon so quickly.

Lorraine is lovely! I won't think of the quiche...just a sweet fair girl. Hehe.

Flos - you very bad - Lorraine and quiche! Can you stop thinking of food! Hehe. Can't wait to hear your name choice!