(2008/09) Sep 2008

Sarahmay,

Agreed.. I also continue to use perfume, use make up etc.. at the begining will worry cannot use facial pdts, cannot go facial, cannot use perfume etc... Now, I still continue and I feel good..but hor, me have not been going swimming. hubby dun allow me to go alone and yet he has no time to accompany me to swim..

LC - You better not go swimming alone! Better to have someone go with you. Can ask your friends to go swimming with you? Hehe...as for the cosmetics, facials etc...i love these little luxuries too!

SarahMay, I have no friends staying in the east unfortunately
I used to stay in the west before marriage and my friends are all in the west.. hard to organise..

wow.. this thread sure moves fast.. I'm searching around for a confinement lady.. do any of you ladies have any recommendations? I need an English speaking one who only comes in the day. Would be grateful for the help.

Hey LC...I live in the east! Hehe...If you want, we cld arrange to go swimming next month...but first i need to buy swimsuit. Cos I think i can't fit into my existing one. Where did u buy yours?

I just came back from Baby Avenue. Bought a Maxi-Cosi car seat, it's going at 25% off! Also bought a baby changing mattress & a bath tub.

Shazz
I also bought the maternity pillow.

Meie... i think u can start using the baby heart beat monitor already. Wow... where is Baby avenue? I went to Cloud 9 maternity in Suntec today and bought 2 lovely dresses... couldnt get anything from Spring maternity though...

Mrs Yap
I tried using the monitor last week, but can't really hear anything, just swishing sounds.

Somehow I just stopped buying stuff for myself & started going crazy buying bb stuff... lol.

SarahMay
Baby Avenue is at Balestier Road.

www.baby-avenue.com

Here's the changing mat, $39.90, I'm going to mount it on top of my baby cabinet.
1370640.jpg

Bath tub, $22.90, the piece inside is for newborns to lie on.. after that it can be removed when baby grows older.
1370641.jpg

hi mei,
we got the same bathtub! hehe. it's very good for use. but point to note, when bb is older, the base of the bathtub becomes a bit slippery for them so you'll have to buy the nonslip mat.

Sarahmay, Mrs Yap & bacon&egg: Yah man, I cannot resisit instant noodles! I also love the Moyjo dry ramen! Very nice & spicy!

Bigtoes: Because I did my DS at TMC & I am only seeing my gynae at his clinic at CCK on 21 Apr. I didn't get the report on the spot. So how is the results? Mickey or minnie?

The results of the detailed scan is good! My weight was 48kg, today I weigh & was 53kg liao! I am 5kg heavier! Opps!

Mei: Does Baby Avenue sells alot of stuffs? Are their price reasonable? Thanks!

Yah, I think don't need to be too concern with the products we are using, I am still using my perfume, dandruff shampoo, makeup, mosituriser, mask... etc.

Shazz, Sarahmay,

ya.. my intake is quite little..

breakfast :
milk - 150cal
biscuit - ~80cal

lunch - sandwich with cheese - 250cal

dinner - one tablespoon of rice with some food ~400cal
occasionally will take some fruit (an apple or orange) - 90cal

that's abt wat i take daily..
ok le.. my baby still growing. now at 339gm @20weeks 2days

SarahMay,
if it is not inconvenient, can link me up with the expat mums group? thanks!

sunnysunny, how long have u been with shichida? do u think it is helping? ur daughter is able to sit and listen?

Durians and cheesecakes... my mouth is watering. I love durians but my hubby hates it like poison so only time I eat it is at my mum place.

Storeberry
5kg for 5 months preggie is ok. I gained a kg a month too. My last pregnancy, I gained a total of 10 kg and most went to the baby, I guess.

Sarahmay
You can get 2 piece swim suits from Funfit, can find the brand at Metro. Cheap and good. The prints are not very nice but for serious laps at the pool, they are ok, at least for me. I go to the gym and do laps at the pool for fitness now.

Mrs Yap
Are their clothes nice? I never buy any maternity clothes for my first pregnancy, only this time round I bought some bottoms from Old Navy.

Mickeymouse
The Honda Stream and Mazda 5 are both 7 seaters.

Ying Ling
My girl is in Shichida since Jan, now in the 2nd term. Results, I don't think you can see it so fast but she can remember things she do in class and repeat it back home. There are a lot of things she do that surprises me though I'm not sure if it's Shichida or just her since she's a very active and curious baby to begin with.

She can sit and listen throughout the whole lesson cos everything moves very fast, each activity is only a minute plus. Then again there are times when she gets grumpy if she miss her nap, so choose the timing of your lesson properly.

<font color="ff0000">storeberry (storeberry) &amp; other MTBs - So I did my detailed scan yesterday &amp; we are expecting a baby BOY!
He was very active but corporative &amp; we could confirm for sure its a "he". Baby's development of all vital organs are also perfectly normal for wk 20 *phew* They provided a CD of about 20+ photos, &amp; we have uploaded some http://smallfattoes.blogspot.com/

If you are on facebook, the pix are here as well:http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=14373&amp;id=650743986 (add me into your facebook too!)</font>

alabone
Thanks for the tip, I'll take note of it &amp; buy the non-slip when baby grows older.

storeberry
Baby Avenue stocks a range of strollers &amp; car seats, brands from Quinny, Peg Perego, Maclaren &amp; Combi. They also have a small range of toys &amp; baby accessories.

Bigtoes

Thanks ladies
Yah, we have 10+ boys &amp; 4 girls confirmed in this forum now right? Think the ancient chinese gender prediction calendar was accurate for alot of us!

Jaymickey (jaymickey)- i had my detailed scan with TC Chang at TMC. Thought the cost of the scan was inclusive in my package, but turns out that we had to pay $200 extra!

Mei, ALabone: The bathtub looks great! Maybe I shall get that…just dunno if I can transport it over to Macau easily or not later on.
Mei: Isn’t it good that you are buying stuff for bb now?
Bigtoes: Congrats on having such a healthy Mickey!
Ying Ling: I don’t really have links with the expat mums group. Will google and see if anything comes up. I only know links for the Singapore homeschooling community.
Stef&amp;Seanbabes: Wow! You actually count? Ok…at least now I know that my brekkie is at least 400 cal cos I drink milk with wholemeal sandwich and cheese everyday. Aiyo. I think maybe I need to eat more… You don’t get hungry? My bb was doing well when I was 16w5d, but doc still says I need to try to eat more. And I am trying… cos I lost 1 kg instead of gaining any weight.
Storeberry: Aiyo! You naughty girl! Do you have instant noodles on its own? Or do you add extra ingredients? I’m going to stay far far away from them …try at least. Hehe.
Xuanting: Sebamed has deodorant?
Maternity Clothes: Spring clothes are rather nice but I find that their sizes are a bit big for me. I can’t find a single pair of paints to fit me…even the slim cut one doesn’t flatter my butt. Hubby always says I’ve got no butt…Sigh. I also tried THYME, their XS is too big for me. Sad… haven’t been to Cloud9 and the other shops at Paragon yet. Will soon! Oh! Old Navy clothes when they are on sale are sooooo affordable and their designs are yummy! Hehe. Just got a black bubble tie-front dress frm them for only 35! Hehe…wished I bought more.

p.s. MTBs don't you find that now you are preggy, you feel more keen to doll up? I dunno why! But i definitely feel more happy when I dress up!

SarahMay
Yes, I guess dressing up makes us feel good even though we are getting bigger.

I'm so happy that the changing mat I bought fits perfectly on top of the Ikea cabinet I got to put baby's clothes &amp; towels.

1371214.jpg

sunny, sarahmay
ya i personally find Cloud9 has got nice clothes. wow sarahmay u so small sized?? even XS too big for u?? I went into spring maternity n tried a blue/white floral dress... its too long for me and hubby commented tat i look like a Dutch Lady..keke...
Cloud9 is just beside Spring maternity and i picked 2 dresses and 1 3/4pants... all fits v well and nice and i would say the design there are all v nice n modern. In the end i bought the 2 dresses and i thot of going elsewhere to buy the pants... now abit regret nv get the pants as well

bigtoes..
congrats on yr baby boy. so good tat u had the CD
I doubt my gynae will provide... hai

This morning i got the scare of my life... received a missed call and the first 3 digits of that phone number is same as my gynae's clinic... As what the nurse says, only if something wrong with the triple test result that she will call me... I am so frightened i didnt dare to call back to that number. In the end i make my hubby call back to check... ended up tat caller called the wrong number. Its a food processing company. Really spoils my morning... phew

Mrs Yap
I know how you feel coz sometimes I feel that way too.. that time my hospital called to clarify something with me &amp; I kept on asking the nurse if there's anything I should be concerned about when all she wanted to confirm with me was my billing &amp; next appointment date.

Mrs Yap: I don't think I'm small-sized. Just no butt i guess. Hard to find tops also cos if the boobs fit, the arm holes too big etc. Hehe...You can go back and buy the pants still right?

bigtoes,
did u ask why u hv to pay $200 extra??
my package with M Tan does not include the DS, how come your package with WK Tan does? i tot our package shld exclude extra lab test, medcine, ultrasound scan...etc..

$200 extra is alot leh.....

sarahmay,
TC Chang is from W C Cheng clinic at level 1, near the taxi stand. He has his own equipment in his room, so all the patients from his clinic will look him up for DS. we dun hv to go up to level 4. but i dunno the price diff btw him and level 4. u may wanna call up and check if u r keen, coz your gynae wont be the one doing the DS for u anyway! =P

i've been to the room at level 4 b4, very cramp &amp; dark inside...

meie..
your cupboard n changing mat looks like a whole piece unit... so nice. How much is the cupboard n mat? I wanted to go down to ikea one of these days... wanted to get a multi-level metal rack to put the sterilizer, milk powder etc...
Yalor.. this morning i so scared that i got stomach ache liao... haha. My hubby says i always like to scare myself.

sarahmay... haha i know wat u mean... u jus cant find a perfect dress tat fits every part of u... ya i can stil go back to buy the pants.. but abit lazy

Meie,
your chest of drawers really looks like original piece, very matching! i actually wanted to get something like tat but i know BB's clothes will start to "grow" and so in the end, i bought a bigger cabinet.

I shall take a pic of it and advise the dimension to show u all tmr, coz it's cheap! only $190, for a big 6-drawer cabinet. it comes in walnut color, and tat's the matching color to my paintworks at home. the space is sufficient for me to put my breastpads, babywipes...etc and all the new stuff for the BB. if u guys r keen, then i shall let u know the contact of this shop at bedok tat my mom happened to find!

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) - TC Chang is the head of fetal unit at TMC. He has an arrangement with some other gynes (think M Tan &amp; WK Tan) to do all detailed scanning of their patients. His clinic is on L1, under WC Chang &amp; Associates. Think the others usually go up to L4 for OSCAR/detailed scans.

aloevera (loever) - The package for WK Tan is only for consultation &amp; delivery. So all other incidentals (medicine, scans, etc) are chargeable. For the detailed scan, not much of an option - need to do it go make sure baby is healthy, and hence need to pay the $200 extra.</font>

Mrs Yap
The Ikea cupboard is really cheap, at $149 only.. the 4-drawer one costs $169. But you got to set it up yourself at home. The mat costs $39.90.

aloevera
Please take a picture of your cabinet &amp; show us.

I know this cabinet will definitely be insufficient as mummy is a real shopaholic but it's for temporary usage only as I am currently living with my in-laws &amp; I have space constraints in my own bedroom. Next year when I move to my own place, I'll definitely get a bigger wardrobe &amp; decorate the entire baby's room.

<font color="0000ff">Hey hey..

i noe someone posted this up before.. but any of u happen to have the list of things which we have to buy to prepare for bb? I'm kinda lost as to wat to buy....

Bigtoes,
the DS at TMC level4 cost only $107 incl. GST. $200 for DS seems double of the DS scan done at Level4. and the only thing u take home is the CD ? is there any additional ?

Big toes: Congrats to you!!!
how come your gynae has become TC Chang? Thought u were seeing the celebrity gynae WK Tan? You've got a CD? cool...wonder whether LC Cheng will give me when I go there for my DS scan?

SarahMay: I also used some Dr Hauschka products last time. Didn't know they are organic. Thyme pants' cutting not very flattering on me
I recommend Bloomingchic to u last time right? Hey, is Macau still hit by Typhoon? R u back in SG yet?

Dolling up? Absolutely! I'm now into costume jewellery to distract pp from my bump. I just bot a few pairs of shoes from Pedder Red at their sale. Hiak hiak!!

koras: ok, i'll drop by the cheesecake cafe at LPS when I walk down there during lunch. My workplace is at TgPagar so I rarely venture to LPS.

Mrs Yap: I agree with u that Cloud9 is better than Spring.

Mei: your new loots are gorgeous! I like the bath tub!

storeberry: yep yep...I am still using my perfume, makeup, mask, nail polish... etc.

Ava: huh? u just saw my post?!! kekeke! i'm now in marcoms, previously in agencies. Boutique creative agency? that's really cool. Boutique, not as in 'fashion boutique', but as in 'small' right?

sasa de mouse: u r back! hey does dr cheng provide CD for DS or not? How come Bigtoes got it?!!

I'm just as lost as u...so many items. when my ah lao is home, i'll drag him down to baby avenue.

Flos
Peddar Red is having a sale now? Must chiong down if that's the case. I am always unlucky during their sales.. everytime the design I want, my size is out of stock.

WOW stef,
u checked it out liao! only $107 incl GST ar... wow, like tat i must check with hubby liao... double leh..

stef&amp;seanbabes (limyg) - the cost from TC Chang was $180 + GST = $192+. More expensive maybe cos their GE equipment is clearer (not sure if that is the case), or cos TC Chang is the head of TMC's fetal unit, so they included his consultation cost? There is nothing else other than a CD with 20+ screen shots &amp; a 2 page write up.

Flos (flos) - yes, my gyne is WK Tan. Just that for OSCAR &amp; DS, she sents all her patients to TC Chang, then after the scan I still need to see her for my regular appnt.

Sarahmay: Ok ok.. I am going to resist instant noodles for at least one mth from now yah? :p Aiyoo.. you are small size definitely!!

Bigtoes: Congrats!! That is what you wanted right?? I think if we have a gathering when the bbs are out, we will be very noisy cos majority are boys! kekeke..

Sasa: You very long never come in! Where did you go?

I am going to have my haircut today, hair super messy &amp; long! Yeah!

skinny pig
i dunno if mine is a boy or girl yet
if boy i have got the english n chinese name alrdy
if girl i dun have anything in mind yet... i feel girls so difficult to name... must be unique enuff and comfortable enuff to call... headache