(2008/09) Sep 2008

Xuanting,
wow.. dated a jap boy yeah.. kekeke.. cool man.. was he cute.. just like my Kimura Takuya.. hahaha...

Ya gals,
Need some help.. really very headache to handle my 21 months old gal now.. think she's going thru "Terrible Twos" now.. my hubby who loves her more than me... also got out of patient.. started screaming at her when she cry non stop yesterday.. last nite.. and today.. was my off day.. she got into nerve as well.. I try to ignore her for a few seconds.. than gave her a hug.. but she a barney fan.. want to watch and watch non stop of barney... ahhhhhh!!

mrs yap,
wat i heard abt pilots are opp. haha...

jasmine,
good luck for tmr's DS, and dun worry, just relax and enjoy the "bonding time" with bb k! are u hoping for a mickey or minnie? =) let us know how it goes ok!

piggy_jas,
hee. ok.. then since u know gender, then no need to feel nervous. i felt nervous cos i was hoping for mickey and for the past gynae visits, baby v shy.. din get to see gender. then sat's DS confirmed its a minnie.. abit disappointed. but i tell myself i'm going for another 好. so feel happy again

eve,
there's only 1 unit of 4-bedder at TMC, will tat ease u a little?? =P so chances are u will most probably get a free upgrade on your delivery day, unless u pop real early in the morning lor, then they will reserve the room for U! i checked in to tmc in the morning, but didnt pop until late afternoon, so all the 4-bedder are taken. so they got me a 2-bedder...still asked if i mind!! hahaha...of coz NOT lah! =P

Momoko,
my girl who is 20-mth old now, also went thru the same phase 2mths back! by assuring her tat we love her no matter wat, and gave her alot of patience, and telling her VERBALLY tat we love her HELPS! i tell ya, they are super sensitive at this time, and we as parents cant treat her like a 3 or 4 yr-old kid ok... must shower LOTSA love and patience, they need lotsa TLC...

Assurance after assurance, then she was okay... they actually love to hear us say, "MUMMY LOVES YOU..." my girl will giggle and give me a beary hug into my chest! try to hug and kiss her more during this diffcult times, it really works!

aloevera, issit really cfmed tat there is only 1 unit of 4 bedded ward at TMC? if its true then i wont hv to "fan" alrdy! since tats the case, maybe i shd schedule my c-sect to be in the late afternoon? even better chance of clinching tat free upgrade to the 2 bedded lor?
phew!

aloevera
thanks, yup i love to watch bb move inside. I'm actually fine with both mickey or minnie. If i have a minnie first den 2nd one hope for a mickey. So that i can have a "hao" =D

Stef
Just hope everything is fine with bb cos im fine with gender. Well, u can have 4th kid so that u can have both "hao". Remember to check on the calendar to have the 4th kid.

Really pei fu you, ever since i know i'm preg, sometimes i'm afraid of delivery cos i'm afraid of pains and always thinks that i'm too young to be a mummy but my hb always assure me of my negative tots.

thanks, jasmine. just think, next year's mother's day will be our day!

momoko, he was a sweet & regular guy, def not any kiumra takuya or my devastatingly handsome takeshi kaneshiro lookalike!

piggy_jas,
how old are u now?
i'm only 30 and having my 3rd kid already..
my 1st kid is already 4 yrs old.
dun worry abt being a young mummy..

sunrays, what is it about? i'm hesitant abt watching it cos last night hubby made me watch a rather sad afghanistan film about a few boys and i still can't help thinking about it now.

Stef&seanbabes:

On gender selection: i think the man must eat more RED meat and seafood. RED meat cos I observe my Arab and India friends who take a lot of beef, lamb steaks are producing many sons, and more sons.

Pilots, stewards and frequent biz travellers hv boys as well. Those pilots I know are producing boys.

xuanting: I cannot rem that guy's name. Did u do the VO for Ministry of Environment and Water Resources back in the early 90's? The little frog's jingle? He mentioned his younger sister was the singer...nevermind...just a wild guess
She has a really sweet high-pitch voice (like Fiona Xie) that many of us still rem...

welcome skinny pig and piggy jas! how come your names are all related to PIGS? We're in the year of mickey liao.

shazz: really Kids21 having sale in May/Jun?!!! I love Kids21!!!! I just went to the Paragon outlet last Fri to check out the armani and diors. really lovely. i think we can grab a handful of expensive apparel for first month bday in Oct, christmas 08 and CNY 09.

aloevera, momoko
Me girl also about 2.5yr now..also in the stage of "terible 2".
Can early morning wake up cry for nothing..then the rest of the days remain cranky.
Worse, at nite also toss here toss there

Really causing me some sleeping problem

Diaper Bag
============
Wah skim thru the thread seem like some MTBs are getting EXP ones wor..
Me "bu she de" invest lor..

BBSitter
============
Anyone will be hiring bbsitter to look after your baby ? Ever consider asking the nanny to stay with u instead of sending/fetching the baby everyday ?

piggy_jas,
oh. u are sure v young
dun worry. u have so many experienced mummies here to lend u support

FLos,
my hubby is not a pilot or frequent traveller
i think maybe we'll hv to depend on the Shettles method for #4 to get a double 好

sunrays,
youtube website is blocked by company. so cannot see it now. will go homw take a look.

Flos

I already joined this thread very long le. Haha! Just that i hardly post but i read everyday without fail. =) Ohh, cos i love pigs and piglets. my hb and my unborn bb both in the year of mickey. haha

stef
Yup that is y i always read in this forum to gain experience from all the mummies here. Well,i'm lucky to have my MIL to take care bb after i deliver and return to work.

sunrays
the video i jux watch. the baby is so cute and pretty. So ke lian she died at 3yrs old. Hate those ppl who abuse the kids. So black hearted!!!

flos, the little frog who could do the backstroke? that's a v cute ad! but not me la. i didn't get into it till i finished school.

lim, like live-in bbsitter? or the kind that comes in the morning and goes off in the evening?

eve,
yes la, as i last checked, they only hv 1 4-bedder. rest assured ok.. =)

lim,
ya, same here lor, the way they cried is like weeping...like heart-broken like tat! but sometimes will throw some big tantrum, and scream if we walk away... haha! no one can explain for such phenomenon! my girl even controlled my movement, speed and position! how fast i walk, how i sit, where i sit, must suit her mood! i was irritated so much tat i screamed at her coz i was so tired after work liao then she still ma chiam ma chiam CONTROL me! kekeke... =P

in the end, i use the LOVE approach, and things hv improved alot since... she feels more secured i guess...

Hi Lim, aloevera, momoko,

My son has also been crying for nothing for the past 3 days. He just turned 2. He cried and said he want this and that but when I gave it to him, he would push or kick it away. Really dunno what to do. What causes this behaviour? I don't think I want to distract him to stop crying, and I would try the trick of asking him to stop crying otherwise I would not talk to him, and he would stop after a while... but I am concerned...what can I do to stop this from recurring? He's totally a good boy and fine with my FIL and maid in the weekdays.

limyg,
I tried the shettles method in a way for this pregnancy for a girl, but still end up having a mickey leh. hmm...

Flos (flos) : yes, the SA at the Paragon outlet confirmed with us yday when we were there. Will give a shout about the sale once I get notified! ;)

hey, got an embarassing question to ask the mummies. I didn't used to have a problem with body odour. But over the last few days, I suddenly noticed that my arm pits will smell around afternoon at about 4pm! I was shopping on Sat and I thought the BO came from this guy who was beside me. Then when I reached out to get something in a corner by myself, I realised that the smell came from me! I was shocked as this is the first time I encountered this, even when I was in track & field in my younger days, I can perspire but not have BO!

Anyone else got the same problem? Can preggies use deodorant?

I dun wanna be smelly! *sobs* so I wipe myself with baby wipes now when I'm out now by lunch time.

sunray,
now let us watch this kind of shot.. will cry one leh.. actually got a friend who bb was born in 1 april but was dead just after 2 weeks later.. recently only.. think due to heart problem.. when i read his blog about his bb.. i tear leh.. so poor thing... feel bad for him.. but told him he's still young.. must move on... my heart go out for him and his wife..

Lim & Aloevera,
yes.. actually it started 2 months back too.. but guess it was a bit out of hands these 2 days.. really can get fustrated.. i know.. i will give her more huz... just need someone to tell me tat this will be over soooooonnn...

flos, sarahmay
actually hb and i are seriously consdering homseschooling. we are trying out until kindy, then see if we want to proceed from there. that is why we arent sending our children to any schools yet...

there is a singapore homeschooling support group which organises many activities and support forums too!!!can join in their email loop.

benefits of homeschooling (major ones considered by me)
1. the kids get to mix around with people from different age group and background and not put into an artificial classroom environment since young (no where in our workplace will we find all workers from simlar age groups or generation). so socialisation is defintely fantastic for homeschooling!!!
2. Tailored curriculum! the best!!! you go at your child's pace. there is no holiday but learning is ingrained into every aspoect of your life and most importantly you can make it soooo fun!!! Eg. study astronomy at night and wake up at 10am the next day!!!if you like, do research on ferrets from 3pm till 8pm withouth having the bell ring on you!!!

i think the above 2 reasons got us hooked on homeschooling!

stef
haha..i only quickly browse through the many posts, then saw you saying something like 'gave up teaching him how to swim.." thinking it was your son,..turned out to be your HB!!!!!! :p

xuanting
Hehe...u're so emotional, then u better not watch tat clip i posted... i watched Kite Runner recently too, it's a really good movie..was it based on true story??

Momoko
sorry lah...like i say, dun mean to dampen your mood liao..anyway i tot u suppose to collect the shu uemura stuff frm me today? can sms me?? cos i dun have yr number,paiseh...

hi bacon&eggs,
contrary to the term 'water retention', it actually means your body is in need of water and not that you have too much water. when your body lacks water, what it does is it retains whatever water there is in you, therefore the term. so drink lots and lots of water, elevate your feet whenever you can and most importantly, if you can help it, don't walk or stand too much/too long. hope this will help. of course like the other mummies say, don't take too much of salty food... but then again, who am i to give you advice on that when i was eating instant noodles like crazy!!! i also happen to like that A1's bah kut teh noodles!!! thinking of it makes me wanna go buy and have it for dinner... hehe

goldfish,
yes. you are normal. eating for two is a myth. like you said, we only need extra 200 calories and that's rather sufficient. i've learnt since my first pregnancy not to overeat coz will regret after giving birth. my overeating then turned to stubborn fats which i only got rid of 2.5 years later. during which i had my second child so... hehe, slightly forgivable.

momoko, lim
it is definitely the terrible twos phase. my son went through it and we are still going through it though it is quite a lot better. he would wake up in the middle of the night yelling for us to switch on the lights, switch on his thomas and friends and insist that the air con be switched on as well. else he will just sit around and WAIL. IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT. it's so terrible coz it wakes the whole household so most of the time, we accede to what he wants. i know it's the incorrect thing to do but i hardly want the neighbours to come knocking wondering what's the prob with our kid. he would also wake up from naps and whine. then if he wakes and on one runs to him immediately, it'll turn into loud wails... super irritating. so after he calms down in like half an hour or 45 mins, then i'll try to talk 'sense' to him. ask him why he cried, tell him there was no need to do that bla bla bla... don't know if he really understands or not but i still do the same thing. so there were days when he woke and he just walked out of the room himself, we would tell him 'jared is a big boy right? doesnt need to cry when he wakes'. so he kinda got the idea coz there were times he'd say 'jared guai. jin tian mei you ku'.

terrible twos is a difficult phase lah. have to be super tolerant coz they are testing both their and our limits. we cannot be irrational and get easily agitated. as far as possible try to remain calm... but it is something that will definitely pass.

stef&babes,
hey! we're rather close in age then. by the time i give birth to my 3rd, i'll still be 29. hehe.

jasmine,
you are really young!!!!!

sunrays,
ya. what is the video about?? i don't dare to watch anything sad. will cry buckets full of tears.

lim,
you mean you are asking the person to stay in your house? as in overnight as well? or just go to your house to bbsit then when you're home the bbsitter leaves?

sorry..on homeschooling again...

i know of a mother of homeschooler. cant rem what topic they were working on frankly. something to do with supermarkets and the arrangment of products...

she actually fixed an appointment withthe manager of one major supermarket here. let the child interview the guy...then started up their own mini supermarket at home, with goods arranged at appropriate places, prices include, music played and check out counters devised..huge amount of work, and she claim that will be the last time she is doing that...but what did the boy learn in the process?

1. interview techniques and writing up, reporting etc
2. consumer psychology (music, display etc)
3. pricing of goods, marked up and purpose of it...
4. learning to count at check out counters!!!!

btw, the child was only 5 then!!!!amazing right?the child would never be able to do it if in school, coz too troublesome. too much 'logistics'. the best teachers are the parents coz they are most motivated to see the child succeed and learn!!!frankly i ahve never never seen a teacher who is as motivated as a mother in making sure the children/child will succeed in learning and love learning...

sunrays,
just saw that the vid is abt kid being abused and died. sorry. won't watch... i will cry nonstop..........................

l'lcy,
is that your intention for cy? sounds great. i was thinking of roughly the same thing but will need to read up more on homeschooling. anything you recommend me to read?

wow! seriously?? that sounded like a lot of work but i'm sure it was fun too!!! the mum/teacher would have seen for herself the child's progress and was with him every step of the learning process. i'm getting really interested in the idea.

aiyo... i refuse to see the video on youtube... i cannot take it one... think will feel sad for days... I saw the one on Baby Even... he is v cute taiwanese boy... his mummy blog abt him and how he die... i cry till i cannot cry anymore n my hubby scolded me for seeing all these sad videos... and tat is even before i am preggy. Happen to saw the blog link in one of SMH thread

sunrays, there is no mention of it being based on a true story. but i do get the feeling that child rape might have been (or still is) rampant in those areas.

Xuanting/Sunrays
Kite Runner was based on a novel, don't think it was a true story, altho the two boys in the film had to leave their home country after filming due to the controversial "scene"...i have not watched the movie..only read the book.

Jaymickey
I am weighing in the 60s now...a heavyweight compared to everyone here

xuanting, sunrays
you watched hte movie? izzit good?i only read the book when it was published some years back. love the writing, so simple yet poignant.

btw, dun think it is a true story...

alabone..
eh, actually many resources on the web for homeschooling. you can also join the singapore homeschooling support group. and on facebook there are a few groups for homeschoolers!

books ah? i have one on socialisation and homeschooling...but i dun wanna lend you leh...where is my book by A. mccall smith huh???

kekkekeke...

mrs yap
yes i read it sometime back...aiyoh, dun read such things lah...there are a lot of sorrows in the world...too many ....

Ava, how heavy are you before you were pregnant?

Stef, the px on the website is valid till this tues.. cos wed, there will be a coe bidding..

my food intake is as per normal..nothing too saltish..i dont add extra flavouring to what i eat as well. i continue to drink plenty of water. I do enjoy something sweet than spicy.. so far been eating few spoonful of ice-cream here n there...if i attempt to take more, hubby will nag..

i enjoy instant noodle, esp the dry ramen..

l'lcy,
it's either my memory failing me badly or yours. but if it's a book i took from you, then it's definitely sitting pretty in my cabinet full of books. won't be lost. but hor, you know lah... i simply refuse to step into my study anymore leh. can you remind me the title?? then i can get hb to retrieve it and return to you??

abalone,
wow u are really young.. when i give birth to #3, i'll be 30..
so u know gender of ur #3 yet ?? mine is a minnie. though i was hoping for a mickey. but i tell myself, nvm.. as i'm going to hv 2 好s

so finding ways to get a boy for #4
hee.

l'l CY,
yup. it's my hubby i'm talking abt..
he is really hopeless in sports though i'm a sporty person. no sense of coordination at all.. hee.

RXmom,
huh.. so shettles method failed on you too ? oh no.. so how am i to complete my 2nd 好 ??

stef&seanbabes: but u already hv a mickey right? it's ok to hv one boy, 2 dotters I think!! having 4 kids can be quite taxing on the parents, wouldn't it?

shazz: ok, shout out when the sale is on. About your BO (kekeke!), I think u can use deodorant la...I'm also spraying my freshener after i come back from the hawker centres/coffeeshops/teppanyaki. I usually hold my breath and spray my armpits and on my clothes!!! try not to inhale lor...the whole purpose is to let your surrounding pp smell the fragrance. u dun hv to smell it right?!!! hahaha!

piggy jas: oh, i see the registered date that u joined earlier than me

bbmouse: hmmm, i was just looking at all our registered dates. Goodness gracious, I noticed the no. of posts u hv put up is over 3,000 in only 2 months!!!! You sure are addicted to this forum!!!! If not, your bank is really lax

lilboymum: I think HS is quite fascinating. Flexi-house education? Is the approval process very tedious? I suppose it's easier for ex-teachers like ur goodself to be able to customise a really solid syllanus for ur kids. I am not familiar with the ed system and I dun even know about Shichida and Glen Doman!!

Eve: I've booked a one-bedder cos I really need my hb to sleep with me. I visited my SIL in the two bedder and think it could be a bit noisy when ur neighbour's relatives come visiting.

The one-bedder at TMC costs $400 per nite right?

sunryas: ok, i have watched it but didn't shed a tear. I'm already hving a headache this Monday!!! I wish I could just sneak home now.

Afghan and Iranian movies are always about innocent children (of God). They hv strong religious undertones and tend to avoid casting adult females in the show.

These sad videos are surely no good for us at this stage. I dun think I can bear to watch them...

Abt homeschooling, I agree with you L'l CY - mothers/fathers are still the best source of motivation and care for kids. However, I guess there are exceptions of cos. HS success depends on how hardworking a parent is too. I think HS will be quite fun just that I dunno if i can also juggle housework...Bleah!

Alabone: You are so young! Very good! Govt shd use someone like you to endorse their family campaign!

Shazz: Why can't preggies use deodorant? I still use my Nivea whitening one. Hehe.

Pilots & Radar: I dun think radar is supposed to help men have more male offspring. I heard from my friend who used to serve NS at the signals unit tt a lot of the regulars there have females!Apparently the radar and whatever other radio signals that are in high concentration there causes the men to have MORE X chromosomes...giving rise to more girls. Heheh... I heard someone tell me that TCM has specific herbal prescriptions to help ppl conceive either males or females. Dunno if it is just urban legend.

Jasmine: You are also a young mummy! Well done! So many young mummies here. the govt will be so proud and happy!

Hi, Ladies

Just woke up from a 4hours+ sleep after taking the cough syrup.. Gynae said it is ok to take.. Thanks for your concern...

Hi, Aloevera

I also cough till my left rib pain.. can cough still so bad.. and it is dry cough.. tickish at the throat.. very sickening..

Hi, I'I CY

Hubby said will get those baby stuff after he buys his first car.. We are not very well-off and depend everything on ourselves.. he intends to buy a 1.3litre as a start, wondering if this capacity can handle us as we are quite big size..

Jaymickey
I was 56 before my first preg, then went up to 72kg. I lost all the baby weight after birth, then after stopped bf, gradually climbed to 60+.

Started this preg at 63kg! Now 66-67 kg already!

Wow, a lot of young mummies here! I must be one of the oldest already! 34 this yr.

Durians? I just had many durian puffs from Goodwood Park last nite. I'm feeling nauseous today...The Chinese believe it's "bu" but my gynae says dun overeat.

stef and sarahmay,
hehehehe. actually, by the time i give birth, i'll STILL be 29. but abt a month after, i'll be 30 la... you know lah, women, can cheat on age then cheat lor. hehehehehe.

stef,
i dont know the gender of my bb and don't intend to find out. anyone not going to find out like me?? you are soooooo... errr... what's an appropriate word here. daring?? to wanna have a fourth kid. i was going to stop at 2 if not for this accident. it's so much to jaga.

flos,
i just went to buy the durian puffs and cakes from goodwood park!!! yummmm yummmm. going to feast on the durian crepe NOW!!!!

LC: my exact pains "I also cough till my left rib pain.. can cough still so bad.. and it is dry cough.. tickish at the throat.. very sickening.."

My bb was moving so much as I coughed. Better rest well...

lilboymum: i like the supermarket project u wrote above. I've always wanted to take my child(ren) abroad and give them the map to guide us around a foreign city. I want my child to be streetsmart, not exam-smart.

Hey, just wondering, can a homeschooled child be considered by those UK/US/Aus universities in future? They won't hv a properly accredited institution to indicate in their application form right? Must homeschoolers take GCE O and A levels?

I know they need to sit for PSLE.

I am turning 27 this year and it's only my 1st baby... Guess I will wait till 30 before trying for 2nd one..

I already put on 7kg since preggy.. But most of my colleagues and friends said they can't find much difference in me, except for bigger boobs, hips and tummy... haha..
I guess the 'real weight gain' would be the 3rd trimester.

sarah- mi yest just went to sengkang cold storage to buy durian. at 1st smell its smelly dun dare to eat much. left two packet to go i ask my hubby to eat hehe

LC,
u also left rib cage pain ar??? sometimes cough until i must grab my tummy or i will feel the tummy jumping and i feel uncomfy. i never saw a doc for my cough, coz i dowan to take cough medicine or my little one inside will be more drowsy than me!

Ava,
me also started this preggie in the 60s, so far the first 3appts, i didnt gain any weight. but i'm sure my reading will jump this Fri!

b4 i gave birth, i was 57kg, and i put on some 19kg just b4 i popped! hahaha... literally a BALL rolling around then. for current preg, i started with 60+ and let's see how much i will gain this time bah! =P