(2008/09) Sep 2008

Morning , Ladies

I am on MC today
down with sore throat and dry cough. can't sleep well at night.. so m oody now..Tot I can stay away from MC for baby princess till full term.. now kanna cough, irrritable one somemore.. anyone got cough before during pregnancy? the black cough syrup that cause drowsiness
from GP can consume?

<font color="119911">wow! So much chatting over the weekend! How come you guys are getting stuff so early already? I am not buying anything till the GSS, and also cos my hubby has been 'banning' me from going on a buying spree

Anyways, I am FINALLY off for my detailed scan today at 4pm!
Am abit apprehensive, am happy as long as the baby is doing well &amp; healthy, regardless of gender. Wish me luck! Also going to book for the pre-natal class (Sat 4.30pm @TMC - has anyone booked the same time slot?)</font>

Mei: My hubby was also carried away when we saw the aprica pram last time. Smart of you to ask him to wait and see first. Look around for more choices.

LC
It's better to go see a doctor than self-prescribe. In the meantime, drink loads of water &amp; rest.

bbmouse
We have decided to get the Bugaboo Bee but I don't want to buy so early, I got storage problems as I'm living with my in-laws. I told my hubby it's not as if there's a 50% off or something, then sure grab. I guess for guys.. anything with wheels, they get all excited.. lol.

Bigtoes
So exciting, you're going for your DS today.

Here's the link for the Bugaboo Bee, it's selling at Mothercare, Mothers@Work &amp; The First Few Years. It's a stroller, not a car seat.

http://www.bugaboo.com

Hi, Mei

i went to see the GP just now and he gave me the usual black cough syrup that makes me drowsy..maybe I should call my gynae to confirm..

Hubby and myself went to mother care to walk walk.. hubby see the stroller price, his eyes drop to the ground..when I go thr all the postings, it seems like the husbands are excited and willing to spend..

Mei (meie) - oh, thanks for clarifying. What is the Bugaboo Bee's price range like? We have shortlisted a combi (The one with the 4 wheel swivel &amp; egg shock headpad, mainly cos its quite light), but will start to look out for Bugaboo Bee

faintz
nono...my hb wasnt willing to spend!!!!hahah..we got our Maclaren at discount, so that he was happy...

my hb is very very very practical...

sarahmay
hgahaha...you mean if you ever had a girl, you wouldnt dress them like that????many think it sexy leh, especially with their pudgy legs sticking out!!!!

omg so many posts!!! I shall not even attempt to reply to all the many lines of thought

bbmouse
Yup, we got our picnic a few weeks ago. it's a second hand one tho. 3 yrs old. Fuel consumption wise, on a full tank (2 L) we can go about 500km my hb says. it's not that bad. hyundais are worse it seems...

LC
Yup.. to play safe, just call your gynae &amp; check with him/her.

Bigtoes
The Bugaboo Bee costs $999, it can fit a newborn up to around 4 years old. There's another called the Bugaboo Cameleon which costs $1799.

Mickeymouse
I test drive the Mazda 5 and Honda stream. I would say I like both cars and Mazda 5 has sliding doors.Both care very spacious and the ride is very comfortable. I'm not sure on the specs of the cars but I like the Mazda 5 better. Not sure if hubby will buy for me. We saw the picnic too but hubby says like driving van, he don't like the outlook of the car and I think it's too long for me too.

My hubby also went crazy over the Aprica prams, like them cos they are so light and can stand on is own when folded. We already had a Peg Prego and he was complaining about the weight. We bought the Aprica when my girl is about 9 months old. But we have yet to get enough mileage out of the prams cos my girl hates them. Sigh! Both are in 'cold storage'.

Yanling
Our girls are only a month apart, mine is 18 months. She's in JG playgroup twice a week and Shichida class. She was in Little Gym too but we are taking a break cos she was somersaulting and climbing everywhere. She do 'home practice' which freaks me out sometimes.

<font color="119911">Mei (meie) - thanks
Found the price &amp; description at the Mothercare site. Love the yellow color &amp; its cute name, but kinda heavy at about 8kg. Anyway, will go check it out.</font>

sunnysunny
Your description of your daughter sounds so cute.

Bigtoes
I love the yellow too.. gonna get that colour.
Do check it out.. the sales people at Mothers at Work at Great World City are really helpful &amp; friendly in explaining the Bugaboo Bee to us.

Sunny sunny, the cars you test-drove are 7 seaters? We have to get a 7-seater, cos we're thinking of hiring another maid as well. So there's be 2 babies (carseats) and 2 helpers + hubby and I when we go out..
My Aparica pram is also very under-utilised. Good thing we have #2 now, can continue to amortise the cost..

L'L Cy: No way! I dun think it is sexy at all! Anw bb and young girls just need to be themselves..need to be sexy so young meh? Heheh. I also dun think I will dress my girl/s in skimpy clothes or stockings...Eeks! Seen it before. Quite gross.

Bigtoes: Smart to wait for GSS.I think I know which COMBI pram u are talking abt. I quite like the combi prams. Let us know how ur DS goes!

LC: Oh dear! Hope you get well soon! It took me like a month to get well! Is your black cough syrup Dhasedyl (not sure if I got spelling right)? If your GP knows u're preggers, shd be safe. Call your gynae to double-check? Gargling with warm salt water will help. Gargling every hour does really help.

Stef&amp;seanbabes: Wow! 4 kids! btw, sorry to be ignorant, but what exactly is 'haos'? Your bb is doing well!

I'm from Feb 2008 thread.
I've the following to sell:

(1) Chinese Herbs for bathing (Da Feng Cao/Da Feng Ai) - 29 packets. $0.70 per packet paper packaging removed for easy storage
(2) BN Medela PureLan 100 nipple cream, 37 grams - $13
(3) BN Pigeon Milkbag, 20 pcs - $13
(4) BN Lansinoh Milkbag, 25 pcs - $11

Pls PM me or email to {[email protected]} for fast deal.

Mei: That's a very good price for the Bugaboo Bee.. I alwasy thot they are more ex than this.. Think this must be the Cameleon model then.. We didn't come across this model at all then..

bigtoes,
i am not big big yet..but i find bending or reaching for my legs stressful. I went for pedi last sat..it was nice having someone scrub and clean those toes! I am definitely getting water retention...cos my feet swells up really bad these day...at noon, i cant fit into my shoes..

shazz,
wow.. you can really cook alot of jap food man.. kekeke. better than me i guess.. tried some.. but maybe not as nice as urs one.. i always love cooking and baking.. but always learnt from failure.. kekeke.. if u understand wat i mean.. kekeke.. any mummies out there love baking as well?? kekeke
Xuanting,
you also study japanese before ah.. kekeke.. u can teach ur bb next time lor...

Storeberry: now that u talk abt instant noodles, i'm starting to crave for it too. U know, I've been consuming quite a lot of Banmian, Mee Rebus, Ipoh Hor fun, Wanton Mee. Starting to get very rice-averse. Unlike u, i'm craving for sour stuffs all the time. I love to add the vinegared green chili on my mee.

Mei/Storeberry: I got my first leg cramps last night! It lasted for a few seconds...OUCH.

How experienced is your acupuncturist? Last week, I mentioned I went for my facial during which the therapist massaged my shoulders and legs. For the rest of the day, my bb was moving a lot. Not sure if that's good or bad.

SarahMay/storeberry: great to find another BCN and Gaudi fan;) u will be delighted to find many Gaudi souvenirs there too.

Good to know u hv already found your calling in macau...Just that those headhunters asked me to pass them contacts of those who dun mind working in HK's creative/comms field.

LC: I'm sorry to hear that you're sick, just like I was last mon. Anyway, I still haven't recovered cos I resisted all forms of medication. Try to eat apples and drink some honey.

xuanting: Yes, Channel 48 is TVBJ. Leslie wasn't exactly my idol.

Hey, do u hv an elder bro? I used to hv a guy fren whose younger sis does voice overs for Chinese and English commercials/jingles too.

lilboymum/shazz: ok, i'll go to mothercare to take a look at those rompers. My hb was shopping for all the bb clothes yesterday in Shanghai's H&amp;M flagship store. He is more excited than I!!

Lilboymum: not so soon, will move only after bb has finished most of the key vaccines. my hb has has informed his employer not to post him overseas so soon.

alabone: 4 milk bottles in what sizes? I am also going to be like shazz, half bf, half FM.

Big toes: fill us in when u come back from your DS!

wow bacon&amp;eggs
u getting swollen feet at 4.5mths??
I thot swollen feet n nose is at later stage of the pregnancy... oh dear, u must be feeling terrible. Heard elevating yr legs on a pillow during sleep will relief some swelling... take care!

Meie... any idea if Bugaboo Bee prams in Australia will be cheaper than in Spore?

teachers in this thread:

read in ST yesterday abt homeschooling picking up. is it really better than having our kids go to school to receive proper 'training' from trained teachers.

asked this cos a colleague of mine just tendered yesterday to soend full-time to homeschool his 3 kids. his wife is currently not working. And yes, u might hv guessed, they are devout christians.

I always find it rather taxing to give tuition to children. I'd rather outsource it to some tutor...I won't even know how to customise the syllabus for my kid next time.

Hi LC,
I'm also down with dry cough and running nose.. sign.. think it's a virus.. and i have not seen any doc yet too.. only taken the lozenges only.. so have not been feeling too well since last week.. but last nite after my FIL birthday celebration.. today they throat thing make u dun feel like talking alreadyy..

Bbmouse,
Eh hmmm.. I'm also a car sales person leh.. but not all of them are like tat one lah.. some yes.. i do agree with u.. if they are desperate for sales.. they might not inform them the whole truth maybe... for me.. been here for long.. so.. i always think u must like my car to buy from me.. and I do appreciate some customers who buy from me becoz of me.. and not the cars sometimes... tys...

momoko, which brand of car do u sell ? i actually like the RAV4 2 door version. but it's not available anymore.. am looking for simialar ones. dun mind those hyundai getz 2 door kind.. but hyundai fuel consumption is high. any recommendations ?

Flos: Quality of homeschooling just like schools depends on the commitment of the parent i guess. HS is very demanding. Takes a lot of discipline. There is a homeschooling community in SG that support each other. Wow! Your colleague and his wife will be both homeschooling their kids? How will they earn income to support their kids? Anw, I think there are both pros and cons to HS. As for syllabus, there are packages you can buy. I've considered HS ...but we'll see. Prob HS for pre-primary with supplementary enrichment classes for music, dance, art and Chinese. HS is unlike tuition also.

Momoko - Go see the doc if you dun feel better soon!

Bacon&amp;egg: How have you been? Glad to hear u enjoyed a nice pedi!

Momoko: So it's you! Yah, I remember when this topic came up last time one mummy said she's a car sales. Paiseh, too many mums here and I don't remember who it was actually. Good to know it's you.
Yah lah, in every trade, there will be black sheep. You're one good one.

What do you recommend again?

Jaymickey: You're in the car biz too?

No, Jaymickey..
I'm with Ni**an.. kekeke.. not PI.. so u r with PI? just join them??
Stef&amp;sean,
think for RAV4 2 door one usually u need to look for PI, coz borneo dun bring in tat..i mean they carry the 4 dr one.. but not too sure r they still selling tat... maybe if Jayickey is in the biz for PI can assist u too..
hmm, ya.. Hyundai r known for high consumption.. but bear in mind tat some model.. not all of them.. getz is a very small car.. so dun think it will be tat bad.. but dun buy matrix.. heard it's bad lor.. kekeke

momoko, i heard even the PIs for Toyota also dun bring in the RAV4 2-dr model, cos it had stopped production.. that is the car that i really like..
the hyundai getz 2-dr is nice. but it's hyundai. not sure abt the quality.

Yah man, all of you are buying things so early now!! I am planning not to buy stroller &amp; car seat till later cos bb won't be able to use in the 1-3mths period as neck is still soft. But I would want to get the steriliser, some bottles, hanky &amp; clothes at GSS!

Flos: Maggi mee is my cravings nowadays!! Tsk tsk... I must control cos its not healthy!

Bigtoes: All the best to your DS!! I am seeing my gyane today for the DS results! Excited to see bb again!

LC: Drinks lotas of water yah? Take care!

Shazz: Ok I will make a trip to Daiso soon!! And you have any receipe or website to cook Jap food? Thanks!

Jaymickey, do u carry the toyota RAV4 2-dr model ? or u hv any 2-dr cars which is japanese made and price rather reasonable ?

Stef, I personally don't really like Hyundai.. cos petrol consumption is high and resale value is not very good...

there are still other 2 doors car around.. like Honda civic... etc...

momoko: so u r in car sales? great, next time when my hb is back, we know who to look for

sarahmay: oic, i'm still fascinated by the concept of HS. Both of them are masters degree holders and are financially indept.

Gee, i'm having a blooming headache this morning...i wish I could just go home after lunch. I think it's the morning heat...

For those FTWMs: when r u all going to apply leave? 4 weeks before EDD? 2 weeks? or until your EDD? I think I can't be working till my EDD. Am really very tired.

jaymickey, i know 2-dr may not be baby friendly.. but i jsut love 2 dr cars..
there's one suzuki model that looks like the RAV4 2-dr version.. not sure the model name though..

Stef, let me check with my hubby... cos the coe is already reaching 16K+ for Cat A and Jap Yen is appreciating.. i am wondering if we still can get any good cars within the range...

Stef, I am like you.. i almost rush in to get a SLK.. but after i know that this baby is coming, we have to put it on hold first.. cos the 2 seater will not allow us to bring the baby out together...

storeberry: same same. i'm still very lost reading all the posts about baby milk bottles and breast pumps.

i'm expecting a whole container of personal effects/assets from Shanghai to arrive at my place in two mths' time. My home appliances, kitchenware, books and clothes are currently not in SG. Yep, i'm living in a spartan bare shell!!

I think i'll need to do some unpacking before buying those strollers and car seat. GSS will be a great time

no lar.. not rich.. just wanted to own it for a year or 2.. drive sports car when you are young... but in the end we still never buy..

honda civic is not a bad car... quite economical...

jaymickey,
yes. i love the honda civic.. hubby used to drive a mazda astima followed by a subaru impreza.. i did not like the subaru cos the steering wheel is v huge and difficult to handle. honda is my fav..