(2008/09) Sep 2008

stef&seanbabes
I've always admired gals in engineering...i guess cos I could never imagine myself as an engineer...and it seems quite overwhelming...

I was always more skewed towards life sciences (bio/pharma/med) myself rather than engineering type sciences..but didn't end up in that field either...cos was scared of becoming dead-ended and of long hours/years in med school...(who knew about life sciences become so happening later on)...so went into law instead...but now in creative/comms.

avalyn,
engineering is over flowing with guys. in my final yr in NTU, majoring in semicon, only had 7 gals
actually, in singpore uni, there are not many courses that u can choose from.. actually i would like to study astronomy or major in geography, but majoring in those subjects in singpore will only land u into teaching. And my mum is a teacher and i told myself not to be a teacher. so i ended up choosing science in secondary school and engineering in university
well. medicine is too tough for me.. so i've got not much of a choice actaully

i have not logged in for some time and wow, so much talk about branded stuff.... i never owned one... cannot afford...

i was an engineer, went into creative/comms, now just tutoring secondary maths... still doing a little bit on creative/comms... so anyone who is a freelancer, do let me know... need to work with others at times...

Flos, Ava: Yah, last year and year before last banking was definitely the right industry. This year it becomes the complete opposite. That's why they have to give high pay to people lah, got to compensate for the risk.

Flos: Your friends are quite drama to borrow money to spend on these things.. Guess these people will fit into your des as being "ATAS" right?

Bigtoes: I've also been in banking all my life.
Got used to the hours liao. That's why after #2 comes along, plan is to quit to take some time off.

Flos/bbmouse
Was sleeping the afternoon away cos I'm down wif FLU!!! I'm sick today after having the PH's desserts last nite!! Too sinful and rich??!! Flos-I'm gonna email you the pics later..supposed to go again tonite but I'm really not up to it,sob!!

Okie, this place in Florence is a must-go!! It's called THE MALL. It houses many brands, but the Gucci outlet there is the biggest..nxt time you go FLorence must check it out!! Juz have to take a shuttle bus and u got 3hrs to shop...juz like those in Vegas & LA..

http://www.intuscany.net/guides/the_mall.htm

Btw, at long last, my lazy Charlotte kicked me first time(finally!!) yesterday afternoon!! Amazing feeling...but today no activity alrdy, maybe bcos i was too drowsy frm the medication...hehe...

hey, will anyone of you be trying to teach a dialect to your kids? was just listening to my fave eason chan and thinking that my child will probably never grow up to understand a word of all these lovely cantopop.

Sunrays: This is the outlet I was referring to.
Didn't know can take coach there.

Millie: How's your gynae visit today? GOt any jshoppers orders? Cos I've got enuf to qualify for free shipping now, want to check if you have add-on. Email me at [email protected]
I will order tom afternoon.

ok mommies, i've surveyed the DBs. Conclusion is:
Gucci - only left the tote bag, not the sling one.
LV - very heavy and of course, didn't like the one and only brown piece at Taka. Changing mat embossed with LV momogram.
Prada - black nylon bag. changing mat and towel without Prada logo! No big deal.
Chanel - they dun carry DBs in SG
Kate Spade - a bit hard and stiff

sunrays: sorry to hear that u r sick, erm, like me

And thanks for the link! its in toscano then. OK, when I make a trip there with more cash there next time, I'll surely drop by THE MALL...

xuanting: yes but of course. My ILs are Cantonese. Will let them pick up the dialect so that they can understand what daddy is singing about

bbmouse: ah, those girls? I hope u r not one of them
They would borrow $3k or $1k on an ad hoc basis becos they need to pay up their credit card bills timely. It's just a bad habit lor; nothing to do with "ATAS" or not really. I won't even call them materialistic cos I also buy branded goods myself. Actually, they all married well to investment bankers but wondering why they need to borrow?

Ava/yingling: when u say creative/comms, are u freelance web designers? or those freelance graphic designers who help co. design corporate identities? or u are freelance copywriters?!

So many posts!

Flos - My gynae was the one who told my tt i can buy the vaccines from Singapore, get them packed nicely and i can bring them over with me to Macau. She said it is not good for me and bb to be apart from husband for so long. I will ask my GP again. You are one fashion guru eh? Are u a Sex in the City fan? Hope you get better soon! Will check out the bb store u told me. So when do you think u will be relocating and where?

Sunnysunny: I'm also terrified of episiotomies more than the labour itself. Told my doc tt i rather not do it...She said normally first timers will need but of course we do our best. Also said I do not want the epi.

UNDIE TROUBLES - Hehe! Heng ah...I thought I was the only one who have trouble wearing them, and I've yet to balloon much yet. Does anyone feel clumsier already? Sometimes I feel like I'm waddling like a duck! My ligaments around the pelvis hurt that I kind of have to swing from side to side to do so.

Ava/Yingling: I was from advertising doing acct servicing before doing education. But I still do freelance comm work i.e. copywriting.

Aloevera: You don't like Melbourne? Why? I love that place...used to live there for a while. Can you drive? If you do there are great places to go to! Also a wonderful place to raise kids. Did you go to the Dandenongs to have their Devonshire teas? They are awesome! mmm....thinking of them makes me crave for fresh whipped cream. But of cos, I can understand that homesickness. My hubby often asks me why I love sg so much. Hehe.

Ying Ling - eh...actually everything with a brand is branded. hahah...sorry...corny la. But it's ok not to have branded stuff. To each her own. I'm not into them myself. Nice to look at...but I think the super chor-lor me will ruin them in no time. And if not me, my pupils would. I used to drop markers so often I can stain even my Giordano pants with them. Clumsy right! So cannot imagine what might happen to the expensive goods with an active bb and all.

Flos, I dabble a little bit in still images, moving images and web... but specialise more in video production... like corporate videos, promo clips... I work with people like script writers, Voice over talents / DJs, models, videographers... u are in the creative field as well?

Sarah May, any specific kind of copywriting you do? and about "branded" goods... never had enough $$ to ever even consider buying one... $$ spent on other stuff... stuff which cannot be seen... haha... like food... i also quite chor lor so think i am better off without the branded stuff...

my hubby is a photographer... in fashion... sometimes will need creative people like makeup artist, food dressers, models etc etc... if anyone here is interested in these fields or are already in these fields, do let me know... if anyone is keen, he has a short write up in one of the german online photography magazines at http://www.lfi-online.de/gallery/index.php?exhibition=38

hi sarahmay,
i'm same like you. firstly i've no money to buy these branded items. secondly, i feel so much pinch when i spend so much on a bag/shoes. my most expensive bag to date is a big one from mango. and i simply bought a puma bag to use as diaper bag. now a bit lan lan already. you're not the only one clumsy. i'm only in my 15th week and already quite clumsy and forgetful... i think this will only get worse.

cutting toenails and such:
when the tummy gets bigger and bigger, bringing it towards us is also difficult. for me, previously my hb cut my toenails for me. so i think he will continue to do so now. hehe

ying ling, i did a few voice overs for tv and radio ads when i was younger (freshly out of school and jobless then). it was really fun. do you work in a studio mainly?

alabone, really going to be so difficult reaching the toenails? jialat la, relying on my hubby to cut my toenails = growing talons man.

Ying Ling: Wow! Your hubby is a fashion photographer. So cool! That means you have tons of really nice photos! No need to spend money to do your preggy pics. And your kids have great videos too! My bro does photography on top of his interactive media work…but I can’t quite ask him to do my preggy pics…Think it might be awkward. Hehe. However, he wants to go with me into delivery room to take photos. I have done copywriting for property…but mainly educational-related. Now may be starting some food editorial work. I’m game for anything really. Would love to give voice recording a shot,esp if it involves kids stuff. Have only done them for community children’s work.
Alabone – Glad to know someone is also clumsy. Hehe. I don’t even think I’ve got an expensive bag. My mum is the one who has them…maybe she is so vain that I cannot be bothered to be. When I was young, she used to dress me up in fancy dresses…Prob tt is why now tt I m all grown up, I unconsciously fight that ‘gu niang’ image. But unlike you I don’t really feel the pinch when I spend on shoes…though the only shoes I really splurge on are Birkis, which compared to Ferragamos and such are peanuts. Actually right, if I could go every where in Birkis I would cos I am super comfort-conscious. Haha. Btw, how big should a good diaper bag be? Some mothers told me any bag can be a diaper bag as long as it can hold what you need. True?
Xuanting : Hmmm…you must have a really nice voice!
TALONS: Maybe that is why pedicures should be a ‘must’ treat for preggies then! I love pedicures! Toenail trimming aside, I’m more concerned about slathering on my lotion. I find it difficult to apply lotion on my calves now. I have to sit down to do it, and I hate how sometimes the lotion stains my bedsheets….

sarahmay
morning!!! didnt know there is another early bird around!! or are you at work?

branded goods.
dunno why. i will feel the pinch like alabone and sarahmay. i will worry about damaging the bag after all has been spent on it. to date,t he most expensive bag i hve is bought from HK and the leather is already damaged. so i swore myself off bags oredi...

oooo...i love birkis too!!!! sarahmay, are you sure birkis are not gu niang? i think they are leh...

The only thing i would spend lots is on books. but how expensive can books be right?. even then my credit card bill can be scary when i go on book sprees...(to me lah)

Ying Ling
your hb works his own studio? im alwys intrigue by people in the fashion/creative industry. maybe coz hb and i were/is in the most boring jobs you can imagine. hb's friends and mine all in the same industry as us...super super boring (ooopsss...sorry alabone :p)

Sarahmay
sorry, just noticed your other post.

if your ligament around your pubic area hurts. it might be first sign of pubic symphysis. if may get worse as the preg progresses. so try to exert yourself less. coz it may eventually make simple walking and standing difficult...

i had it in my first preg but it only came in my 8plus mth...super uncomfortable, and dragged all the way till after pregs...not nice at all..

L'l CY: I'm up early cos my husband's alarm clock wakes me up!

Public symphysis??? What is that? It's not the same as the usual ligament stretching? Anyway, I don't have it now...it is usually after I had a large meal...So hopefully it is not the same as this scary-sounding condition! hehe. Eh! I'm the same as you...I splurge a lot on books. Last Dec, I spent like 350 on books at one go!!! And they are all storytelling books and resources. So i tell myself I better work on my craft...if not spend all that money for nothing. My hubby and I spend way too much money on books. My kids will read out of my home library or go to the library. THink cannot afford to spend that much more money on books already.

Birkis - gu niang?? Are you sure? Actually....can be hor. I literally live in Birkis most of my walking life. Ever since I left the corporate world I hardly wear heels or proper shoes. Hehe. Then, I think the Birkis kind of spoilt my feet. I can't seem to fit into those really pretty, gu niang shoes without my feet feeling pinched.

Aromatherapy Mists: I just remembered someone saying they're using this still. Was it you BIGTOES? Anyway, just double check and be sure it doesn't contain any of these cos they are not supposed to be used during pregnancy. Some can cause premature uterine contractions:
Basil, fennel sweet, geranium, lemongrass, marjoram sweet, peppermint, rosemary.

eih...then basil can eat or not???lemongrass leh?what about such infused tea? can drink or not?

yes, hb and i spend way too much on books too. dun wanna think about it. but when there is a sales, we literally go kookoo (cuckoo). then there are those secret sprees i have over amazon...shhhhhhh....

hey you do crafts!!!!!??????i wanna learn leh.im not a crafts person, but wanna expose my children to it. my son now is the least 'crafty' person ever lived. what is easy to do and fun for 17plus mth huh?can get any resources for it?

pubic symphysis is the fusing or rubbing of ligaments together or something like that...coz of pressure from the womb or what...not very sure leh..just be careful loh...

wow, a day never come in here and so many posts.

all the talks about branded bags... i'm not very into branded bags, cos i don't know how to take care of them. :p my only LV bag that i bought few years back was stained quite badly and i never use it for very long. i like the kate spade diaper bag, but don't think my hubby will buy for me. he's a practical person who won't spend money to buy expensive bags for me.

so many of u in education, banking and creative/comms line ah. anyone in IT line? everysince i'm pregger, i felt rather redundant at work. i'm doing technical support, those hardware and end-user kind, so now there are alot things that i can't do. have to get the guys to do it. so quite sian..

xuanting, i also hope my kids can pick up some dialect but will have to learn from our parents cos my hubby and me can't speak our own dialect. i always feel quite embarrass when people ask me which dialect i am then start speaking to me in that dialect and i will have to reply that i can't speak.

ying ling, my hubby also frm air force and he's leaving to be a photographer. but he's more into gigs and weddings photography.

sarahmay, i also like doing craft works. doing more crochet and sewing stuffs. but now my mum dun allow me to do any sewing, she's pantang lah.. say will affect the baby..

Morning everyone! I'm also at work now.

I'm also a birki fan, it's especially comfy now during our pregnancy.

SarahMay
Thanks for the info.. hmm.. I am using the Body Shop relaxing peppermint gel which I slather on my feet to cool & relax my tired, swollen feet, oh dear..

I'l CY
Yup, same question as you.. coz I like to eat that thai beef basil leaf dish.

On dialect, I'll definitely speak to my son in our dialect hokkien too.. I feel it's important he knows the language too. Then, he can also converse with his great grandmother.

I took up a diploma in makeup & hairstyling before I was pregnant & I just 'graduated'. Last week, I had to do my portfolio & create four different looks, from full makeup, outfit & styling for photography & boy, it wasn't easy. I had to stand from 9am to 5pm, short of a 15 min lunch break & by the time I got home, my feet were so painful & swelled, my feet looked like pig trotters! lol..

L'l CY: Basil can eat la... But cinnamon cannot. Not sure why. Was told nasi briyani cannot eat. Everything in moderation. Btw you got MSN or not?

Toddler crafts: Home-made play dough? Finger paint? Potato printing? Home-made, recycled music instruments? Can get messy but will be great fun for both u and kid. Just dun expect like straight lines and them to be neat.

U can make paints and play dough at home. Easy and not ex. I'm not a 'crafty' person per se...but I like them. I grew up doing craft like cross-stitching, beading. My younger bro and I did them together too. He cross-stitched and even taught me how to bead flower necklace when he was 7!

Here is a page you can get ideas:
http://familyfun.go.com/parenting/child/dev/specialfeature/famf0703familyfun123-crfts/

For toddlers, they enjoy rhythm and stories. So can do fingerplay stories, rhymes with them too! Also fingerplay stories as well as other rhythmic and repetitive-pattern stories work great with active kids!

There are some really nice compilation of classical and instrumental music that you can also buy and play for kids. As they listen, they can move about- just body or with home-made props, play on their home-made instruments. Works great even when they are older and more verbal. Remember playing Tchaikovsky for a class of 6 year olds...and they gave me wonderful stories inspired by the music.

JESSI - Just enjoy being treated like a princess!

morning morning early birds!

l'lcy,
surprise to see me here at this time??
don't worry la. my job/your previous job IS boring. you know that for the longest ever i've been wanting to leave. but i don't think your hb's job is that boring is it? at least in the recent years, you have become so much more knowledgeable in this. hehe

sarahmay,
i feel the pinch when i buy shoes coz i've ugly feet. nothing seems to fit me well. so i become super particular when i buy shoes. whenever i see that there are shoe sales around, i'd go and look and find NOTHING that i can buy. my toes are long and skinny and the front of my feet are wide and flat. when i can get a pair i look nice in, i buy two of it to keep so that when one spoils, i still have another to wear. then if also spoil, i just bring down to the good old cobbler right downstairs to repair. damn cheapo hor? sigh. so usually, i'm decked out in flip flops. even when i go to school these days, i'm in my flip flops (a nice pair of coz). i wear them with pants so it's not so noticeable. but since i'm pregnant, i think the other's around probably just close one eye. birkis are good! but i've never owned a single pair. like my toes to 'kiap' something when i walk for more security so i buy flip flops.

however, i must add that though i don't splurge on bag/shoes, i splurge on spas and pedis. hehe. i spare no expenses on expensive spa treatments to pamper myself... and like you and l'lcy, i also spend lots and lots on books.

diaper bag size:
i got a medium size one. actually what i have is more like a sports bag but with different compartments. it has to be big enough for you to put in extra clothings for bb, milk bottles (after you stop bfing or shd you give formula), diapers, diapers cream, hankies, snacks, water bottle (when they are older), changing mat. ya. i think roughly that. recent reports say that women have been carrying bags too large too heavy which is not good for us. so perhaps too big also not good. personally, when i bring along the diaper bag, i still have to stuff in my silly daughter's bolster and my son's doggie soft toy. they cannot leave home without it...

xuanting,
dont need to grow talons la. now's the perfect time to give constant reason for splurging on pedis to get those fabulous looking toenails. i only got my hb to cut for me coz during pregnancy, my sense of smell is heightened and i could not stand the fumes of pedicure places. also, i think i read somewhere that it was not advisable for pregnant women to take in the fumes. but these days i hardly bother.

sarahmay,
just wanted to add, you are so multi-talented. can do copywriting, voice over and such. so these are what you do over and above the teaching in school? how do you handle? where do you get these deals?

Hey... I remember potato printing, we used to do that in school, slice the potato in half, cut patterns, dip in paint & print on paper.. makes a nice wrapping paper!

Jessi - Hehe...i also heard of that but not crochetting. I thot only like cutting...cos wait bb got cleft lips or something. Haha.

Flos - it is shazz and i who know each other from poly and church!

Mei- Congrats to your graduation! Wah! Stand for so long? Not tired ah? Raise your feet to help with swelling.

About peppermint oil, apparently got contradictory info depending on which book u read. Some aromatherapists say ok. Some say not. Here's an article for you:
http://www.aromatherapy-essential-oils.net/uncategorized/can-i-use-peppermint-essential-oil-for-pregnancy/

The best guideline it seems is 'If in doubt, leave it out.' But since u haven't suffered any side effects from your peppermint gel thus far, think shd be ok to continue.

I still drink peppermint tea infusions at times to help with gas problems.

Alabone - Haha...thanks for the compliment..but ah! I don't think I'm that talented...cos you know la the saying goes, 'jack/Jill of all trades, master/mistress of none'. Though I seriously hope that is not true of me. Still got a lot to learn and improve on. For sanity's sake, I left school teaching life...and I freelance. So other than teaching school programmes, I also must do a variety of things to survive esp during the lull periods. BUT it is also cos of my personality...I need variety in my life. As for deals... i know it is divine intervention. Pplask me if i can do something, I say 'ok' even if i haven't done something similar. A bit over 'gung ho' at times. But i like challenges. That was how i end up storytelling, writing, and teaching...and product development etc...hahha.

Btw, your kids big enough already. why don't u make them carry their own comfort items? If not ask Daddy to help! Must watch your back!

Anymore Birki Fans? Maybe we shd do a collective shopping spree!!! Heheh. Since my feet isn't swelling, i think it may be safe to do some shoe shopping.

Hi SarahMay: Thanks, my throat is much better and ironically,the daily intake of apples has made my complexion rather great!

Yes, I watched all seasons of Sex in the City. I do takenote of their hangbags. My hb is in the process of getting approval to be transfered bk to SG HQ but will eventually be posted to either South Asia or Southeast Asia once my bb is big enuff. When is your hb's term of posting going to expire?

Alabone: Dun be mistaken, I also hv other types of bags from Charles and Keith, Mango (many!), Furla, and Zara. Most of my branded bags are, really, from my mom. She and my sis are the ones totally obsessed with branded bags.

lilboymum: I also love Birkis but certain designs tend to rub against my heels. Are yours like that?

Jessi: Me too. ever since I announced to my boss that I am preggers, he's reduced my workload.

Why can't we eat basil and lemongrass? Are they harmful? I eat Rendang, TomYum soups, Indian curry, etc.

Mei: I'm using Clarins Energizing Emulsion Soothes Tired Legs lotion. It doesn't stain my bedsheets and works well into my skin.

I love Kinokuniya bookstore and am in fact a member. Dun really like to purchase books on Amazon cos I love to flip and feel the crispy pages and smell the new sheets of paper
Like Lilboymum, I love buying and collecting books. Used to hang out at Charing Cross London during my school days to browse thru the latest research bookson sale at WHSmith, Foyles, etc.!! I'll pass my books to my kid in the future cos all my books are dated and labeled (city of purchase, e.g. London, San Francisco, Beijing, Shanghai, Phnom Penh, Dubai, etc.). They have my annotatons too
I think it'll be incredibly meaningful to hv my kid see mommy's footprints and read mommy's scribblings!

sarahmay
gotgot...add meeeee... [email protected]

eih, die i love nasi bryani leh...now that you mentioned it....yuuuuummmmmmm,,,

i tried homemade dough before when he was younger. he gave me a yucks look, poked at the dough for a while then turned away in disgust...

fingerprinting..have been wanting to do...but ehhh...messy hor....haiz..think i shall try the dough again...

mei
yes and i rem lotus roots create pretty prints but real messy coz it sticks all over the place :p

alabone
gooooodddddd morning!!!! not very early anymore lah...why surprise..kekekekek...

leave lah.leave lah...join me at sahm club...then we can meet for playdates and lah kopi while the kids play :p

birkis

there are a few designs which i feel was uncomfortable for the arch of my feet...initially kept thinking i have flat feet :p

flos
you compulsive obsessive...hahaha..you labelled your books!!???!!wow...

i love amazon coz there were books that i wanted that were out of print and i could get it so easily off amazon!

off loading at work
you mean you gals get off loaded once they know you are preggies???!!!!!! sure or not??? it never happened to me leh...

sarahmay
are you the one who is not in singaproe now?i rem there was someone...

sarahmay,
oh so you've left teaching. am i the only dumb one presently still sorta stuck?? you're modest. you must be talented. else why would others have approached you? unlike you, i'm dull. if i leave teaching, i wont be looking for challenge. will look for l'lcy and lah kopi together! hahahahahahhahaha!

my kids are not that big yet leh... son is two half, girl is 16 mths... they don't want to carry them own things la. i tried asking my son if he wanted me to get him his own thomas and friends bag, but he said he didn't want. but it was so cute i still wanted to buy. then hb said that if jared's not carrying that, he's also NOT carrying. so i also don't want to carry. end up didn't buy the bag. when we go out, the maid helps to carry the diaper bag.

flos,
don't be mistaken too. this is really each person's likes. branded bags are good for keeps and they are branded and expensive for good reasons. i know from colleagues and friends who share a passion for buying LVs and such that these bags are long lasting and to them, somewhat of an investment. they take real good care of the bag. taking it out to clean the leather, putting it back into it's bag when not in use and stuff like that. If people could well afford then go ahead. personally, anything that looks good and doesnt cost me an arm or a leg will do.

l'lCY,
hehehehhe. lah kopi ah?? grand idea lah! since two of our kids will be of the same age, we can let them play/fight and we enjoy our 'taitai' life! eh, next week you free?? i do need a pedicure you know??? been deprived for lonnnnggggg.

sharing here a pic of my kiddoes.
1366328.jpg

1366329.jpg

flos,
are you a fan of SATC??? i also watched all the season and in fact, own them on DVDs. got my hb to buy it back for me when he went to states last year. and i can keep watching and watching...

alabone
Your kids are so adorable.. love their eyes!

SarahMay
Thanks.. yes, my feet were so painful after that, so my hubby soaked my feet in warm water & massaged for me & it was better after that.

mei,
thanks for compliments. look adorable only. not so adorable when they are not sleeping...

you're sooooo lucky! your hb is so attentive and concerned. soaked your feet and massaged for you? did he volunteer to do this or you requested? usually, when hb does nice things for me, i have to request. not complaining though. at least he accedes to what i want.

hi wingkei,
have you found a chance to talk to your hb yet?? how have you been?? hope your morning sickness has gotten better.

sarahmay, ya lor was told that will have cleft lips or when natural birth cannot dilate or whatever.. so many of such sayings, but i also see people doing sewing during preggers also nothing happened. hehe..

me also birki fan! if gonna do a spree, do count me in ya.

mei, congrats in graduating from the course. makeup and hairstyling sounds very fun. i used to be quite keen in taking up a makeup course but procrastinate too much till never get to go for any. hahaha..

flos, eventhough my workload is reduced but afraid that it will affect this year's performance review that is coming up soon. cos now alot of my tasks are being passed on to my other team mates.

alabone
My hubby volunteer one.. he's a sweet hubby.

jessi
Yup, this course was something I always wanted to do, so I finally gotten around to doing it & I feel a great sense of accomplishment now that I have 'graduated'.

Flos - U are sure organised la! Label books and all. Heheh. My husband is employed by Venetian/Cirque...no expiry date...Until he sian lor. But I hope we really get to go Spain. Haha. But he says he needs to go learn French first cos Cirque is French Canadian company. We can eat basil and lemongrass....just be careful with their essential oils. Apples are yummy! South Asia - india??? Where are you hoping he goes? You really don't like SG huh?

l'lCY: I'm in macau now visiting my hubby. Back next month. You can add fragrance to your play dough too you know? Just use those baking essences. Quite fun for building sensory awareness. Try again now... Maybe he will like to play with them with moulds.

Alabone: Pls la...all teachers can multi-task lor... N you are not stupid. We still need great teachers in the service. You sure can find work if u leave. Trust me. Wat subjects do u teach again? I am amazed at how u cope with all the teaching load and your kids...now u're third one!!! You are super mummy!!! Ur kids are adorable!!!! Where did you take those pics? Not those neoprint booths right? They look too good to be neoprints.

2.5 yrs old can carry right? But clever la...dun want to do work...hehe. let mummy do. Aiyo i think u are v patient. If my son's like tt I will prob not give chance. He can stand there and cry all he wants but no way will i carry for him. My hubby says I'm the strict disciplinarian. He is more compassionate. Haha....we'll see.

SATC: My hubby is the one with the entire collection. Dun ask me why. But does anyone has season 6 collection? Mine spoilt...watch only a bit. Fed up. Can lend me? Who's ur fave character? I like Sam the most...I can't stand tt Carrie - ever so whiny.

Mei- good to hear ur legs are better! ur hubby is sweet. where did u do ur hairstyling course?

Jessi - yes! will let u know if there are any promos on Birkis! hehe. Dun worry too much abt the perf review...u know tt ur bb is the greatest reward of all at the end of the yr!

Mei: I also love the potato printing.

Flos: I'm like them in the sense I love branded bags. I hv a shelve full of them at home!
But I won't borrow money to buy the bags. And I don't even like to "owe" credit card companies - I always pay the full amount at month end.
But to each his/her own.

hi sarahmay,
hi 5!!! sam is my fav character too! she's real and is so candid and direct. you're lucky! i've season six. mine was spoilt so got hb to specially buy it from states for me. i can lend it to you.

i'm hardly capable la. i've my mum and maid to help me with my two kids, else i pengsan-ed already. i guess i never trained my kids to carry stuff so they don't do it. hey. we've the same parenting style. i also just let my son cries all he wants when he throws a tantrum. i don't coax or bribe him. he can cry until his voice goes hoarse and i won't bother. so after a while, he will stop and finally relent. between hb and i, i'm also the stricter disciplinarian.

i'm teaching el, lit and drama. the only thing i can do after i leave teaching service would be... tuition??

yeah. those are not neoprints pics. you can do it too you know? just go to www.magmypic.com and upload a pic, select a cover and bingo! you've your own magazine cover!

Wow, so many posts in a day!! Have a hard time catching up!! Now its the "IT" bag topic??

Crayonshinchan: Yah man, should have bought the NARAYA bag. I checked on the web, its not really a disper bag rite? Just a big bag to store your stuffs. Glad that you & your DH went thru all these to be together, it definitely make your r'ship stronger!

Shazz: Yah, you never know the person you are talking on the forum is your fren!! Kekeke...

Sarahmay: I was previously from advertising too then switch to Financial advisory for about 8-9yrs liao! Times files! But advertising is so political that I left after one year, plus I don't like the nightlife the people were enjoying daily! AND I still haven't managed to buy the cha soba & sauce, my loucy NTUC here onlt sell the soba one & I was at Yishun the other day, thought I can but from cold storage but its closed for renovation! Darn!

Alabone: You kids are super cute! How did you managed to get them on the cover? I want to recommend my nephew also! Kekeke...

I love branded bags, that's my weakness!! My DH always cannot understand how I can spend hundereds & thousands of dollars on a bag! But I am spending my money so... he cannot complain much! Haha!

My lazy bb gave me a few kicks just now!! DH still haven't feel the kicks yet, smallberry always don't kick when daddy is putting his hand on my tummy!

Storeberry: my bb also doesn't kick when hubby puts hand n tummy....Eh...how come u like MIA for a while? You were in advertising? Which aspect? I was a suit....the worst place to be in ...sandwiched between clients and creatives. Plus my creatives always asking me to do copy instead...wah. Up to this day, i still boycott one of my clients who gave me 'hell' during my advertising days. Eh! Naraya is cheap in Thailand right? Or do I have the wrong Naraya?

Cha Soba/ Sauce: Try another NTUC or cold storage branch? Daiso also has. Trust me. After you cook it at home, you'll never want to really spend that money on it in a restaurant...unless of cos they are serving freshly made soba...hehe. Been craving for sushi... but yet to satisfy. We still haven't gone for our Jap pig-out yet!

Missy/Alabone: Sam is the most real character. At least she is honest and authentic... Think she is the best friend amongst them all.

Alabone: Can lend me ah? Ok ok...yippee! Meet up when I'm back in Sg ok? hehe so happy. Actually you heard of Learning Lab? You can teach there...not as demanding...and you really get to teach. I was there for a while. You can also work with enrichment companies and do stuff. Not hard to get contacts.Can tell you more if you want. Plus, you teach drama! That is high demand la. Didn't i ask u before if I might know u from NIE? hehe. You can work w theatre companies to do drama/theatre enrichment or in-curriculum programmes. Big demand for it now.

I hate tuition and it is the one thing I've never done since i left. I can fall asleep giving tuition ( which I've done before when I was a poly student giving tuition). Hahaha! If don't want to teach, can go into educational publishing line too. Got million and one things u can do!

Hi Sarah may: Haha.. didn't MIA, just that Fri had meeting then rush off for an appointment so didn't have time to post here...
I was previously doing online & print advertising sales, yah some customers really cannot make it but there sre nice ones too... And yes, Naraya is very cheap in Thailand!

Jap food: Wait till you come back then we can go pig out!! Kekeke...

flos, who will be doing the teaching of cantonese to your kid? i presume your in-laws? lucky child! i really enjoy cantonese songs by leslie cheung, eason chan & sam hui but too bad, they'll be greek to my child.

mei & jessi, what dialect group do you belong to? it's hard for me cos my dialect group is rare to begin with (hainanese; not much use being the only kid who can speak it) plus the fact that no one really uses it at home anymore (all my relatives below 70 converse in mandarin rather than our dying dialect). cantonese will be even harder to teach cos of the zero exposure.

sarahmay, i love mimicking people's accents for fun sometimes and esp love to sing (and re-sing to death) the parts of the weirder characters (like innkeeper & his wife in les mis, eliza doolittle [pre-transformation] in my fair lady) so i guess i was useful to the voice production people in a way.

crafts: i have this pair of manek-manek (peranakan slippers) which has been "in progress" for 10 years. maybe it'll be completed in time for my bb's wedding? i'm a starter of many projects but finisher of none. :p

xuanting: you are very talented! your kids will surely be amused to no end with your voice! so do you read and sing a lot to you bb now?

hi storeberry,
you've been mistaken. my kids didn't appear on mag cover la (though i wish). it's from the website i gave above. you just go to the webbie, upload a pic and select a cover. then you can be on the cover too!

sarahmay,
yeah i've heard of learning lab. you're superb. thought of so many different way out for me. must tell me more in details next time. hmmm, if you knew me from NIE, you'd probably know l'lCY too?? we were classmates for like 4 years and known each other for 10 now. i was in NIE from 1997 - 2001. you?

alabone, your kids are cute! are they child models?

there are loads you can do if you leave teaching, methinks. there are lots of teaching-related stuff like what sarahmay is now doing that you can explore. ex-teachers are esp sought after in publishing cos of their familiarity with moe's requirements & syllabus. sure can find lots of things you can do if you decide to freelance instead.

jessi, my husband also used to be from the Air Force... he also started with wedding and events... easier to look for $$... but gradually, they will probably select the area they are interested in which might or might be in the wedding and events field...

xuanting, wow, ur voice must sound nice... u are an english or mandarin voice talent? I work from home when I need to do post production... else I am out on a production... had to give up my nice and cosy engineering job cos was pregnant with number 1 and none of our parents were free to look after my daughter.. so last year, at times, we will have to bring her along... my mil just retired beginning this year thus freeing a lot of time up for me to do more teaching... now that #2 is coming, i thought i better dabble more in teaching so that at least next time got some time to spend with 2 kids....

SarahMay.. that's where u are wrong... my hubby SELDOM shots his own family... i am not pretty enough to be his model... so sad hor... i think when photography becomes a job, he doesn't really want to hold on to the camera all the time cos it seems like working.. haha... only once is a while, he will take the camera out for the purpose of family...

lilboymum, my husband decided not to have his own studio cos for fashion, it is not really done in Singapore... so he rents one if he needs one in Singapore... the creative life is a hard life man... an engineer's life is probably better... but i want to spend time with my kids so no permanent jobs will allow that to happen... so just doing different things here and there...