(2008/09) Sep 2008

Shazz - About the hospitalisation plan for babies, how come can only sign up after a month? I thought can do it as soon as child is born and birth cert is processed? Which insurance companies have a good deal for this?

When do your gynaes offer the package? From which month onwards? My previous was a twin pregnancy so that wasn't offered to me so each visit I had to pay thru my nose (and her rates are super duper high).

As for feeling the baby in my tummy, so far, there has only been a couple of times that I felt something pushing from inwards in a straight line, with no output of gas *hee* cos usually, I feel very gaseous, like some minor combustion inside after which there will be a release of gas *hiaks*

SarahMay, we did a comparison after the birth of our twins last year and decided to go with GE. I think Prudential was also not too bad but AIA was out cos' it was relatively more exp. given that the coverage was not much better. But I can't recall the details, so it's best if you talk to your agents.

<font color="0000ff">Koras / Jessi
hey... both Sunrays and I oso signed up for the Sunday 12.30pm class.. it's Mrs Wong's class btw.. hehe.

Twendy
ur MIL so nice...</font>

Slychua, stef&amp;seanbabes
My next visit is on 28th, detailed scan already...can't wait!! I think I paid $50 for consult and $30 for scan my last visit.

Caffeine in Milo
There is some, but they offer it so readily to nursing mums, that I don't think the amount in it should be worrying...

avalyn,
my gynae visit on 19 Apr is also detailed scan. cannot wait to know baby's gender too. u know ur baby's gender yet ?

sasa, then it'll be like a mini gathering at the class.
yup i also specially choose Mrs Wong's class. saw her at the parentcraft centre yesterday, she was helping a parents with their 3 weeks old baby. see the way she handle the baby very skillful leh..

so ok to drink milo? cos i cant swallow my vit pills hence most of the time i will melt them into milo to drink. i drink milo zero, no sugar or milk..twice a day.

any 2nd time mummies going for refresher anenatal course? i kinda have forgotten how to breathe &amp; pant :p dunno can survive another natural birth or not. should i just refer to previous notes &amp; hope for the best?

I am oso doing my detailed scan next Wednesday. Aiyoh.. cannot wait for the day to come! Is there anyting to observe before the scan like avoid eating too full lah etc?

Btw, if delivery wif epidural, still require breathing techniques?

bacon &amp; egg
I guess it should be ok but chek with gnae to be doubly sure...afer birth (i was breastfeeding) i was offered milo twice a day for morning and afternoon tea at TMC...

good morning mtbs n mummies,

shld we really consider getting a insurance policy for our babies? hmmm......i didnt get any for me first one, except a life insurance policy.

my detailed scan is on 25 April afternoon, so exicted! i forgot if we need to hv a full bladder to be able to hv a clearer scan...??

aloevera
You don't need to have a full bladder anymore for the scan at this stage of your pregnancy.

Looks like a lot of us are going for our detailed scan the coming weeks.. mine's on 29th.

Aloevera/mei
yup we are all half way thru our pregs already!!!

Insurance, i only got an edu policy for my son...have not got life ins.

Xuanting: Hi sorry wasn't able to come online yesterday... No, I am not doing only insurance, that is only part of what I do, we also have unit trust investment, stocks, forex, managed accounts...etc.

And yes, as what Shazz has mentioned, hospitalisation for your child is the most important as children are more prone to falling sick. And I always tell parents to get the best plan for their kids (Either Private or Class A) as you don't want your sick child to be staying with 4 or 6 more other kids, with crying disturbance &amp; virus spreading in the room. For this kind of plan you can use your medisave to pay (but not 100% claimable) and use cash to buy a rider to cover it.

Some of the parents who are also concern with the Pediatrician's cost, they will buy a more comprehensive plan to cover outpatient as well, but of course that will be more expensive. And these plans also cover when you are in ASEAN region.

After that we will look at the Parent's coverage to ensure that both of them are adequately covered for life insurance then we can look at children's education plan. Most parents either get endowment plans or regular unit trust investment plan to save for their kid'd education.

And yes, cha soba is my favourite! Sarah may told me to cook myself as it is easy to prepare. I will be going to buy the stuffs this weekend to try out. Yummy!

Sarahmay: Yah, the one mth period is what is stated by the insurance companies. As newborn baby is still fragile now &amp; susceptible to all kinds of sickness, they will only accept applications after baby is one mth old.

As for the plan that covers outpatient, they will start to cover baby who are 15days old.

Twendy: You are very blessed to have such a great MIL!! Must treasure &amp; love her like your own mum!

Mummies, we should have a gathering soon!! Imagine all the pregnant ladies meeting up, chit chat &amp; gossip together!! It will be such a scene! Kekeke

Jessi/Sasa de mouse/Millie (millie22) : so we be seeing each other in the class... think i better go sign up mine also when i go for my
checkup this mth le

twendy,
you're so lucky your mil is so good to you.

SarahMay,
no. she didn't bring the bb to see a doc. Ever since she started on being a raw vegan, the healer's been teaching them that the body can heal itself and eating medication is not good for the body. so she has refused to bring the bb to see a doc when the bb is sick.

Any mummies signed up for prenatal classes. Can I have the contact??

Twendy - you are so lucky to have a good MIL.. wat is worrying is some MILs only hearsay hearsay and start to fix up soup that might not even be suitable.. and taking care of grandchild with the same old mtd that they use on their children. No doubt their children grown up to be well and sound, but some upbringing is simply unacceptable..

Koras/ rabbit/ abalone

I did not drop much hair. In fact the hair condition improved a lot.. you might wan to try eating black sesame.. books said it helps.

alabone, so dangerous to self "medicate"! things might very well have turned out another way, if it wasn't just a simple fever your friend's bb had.

thanks, shazz. once hubby decides on his career direction, we'll probably have to sit down and discuss some plans for the bb.

ava/mei,
yes!!! halfway thru liao finally! the MS is all behind us now! just starting to enjoy the preg, but i realised tat i get tired easily.. esp the weather these days are so warm n humid during lunchtime, i feel so lethargic after makan and can barely make my way back to office lehz... =(

i'm in my week 17 now, our EDD is very near, 12th-mei, 14th-ava and 16th-mine. =)

hey sarahmay, we've got the same gynae ;-)
she's waived off for me too! esp in the beginning when I had to take bloodtests, v scan and watnots.. cos baby was hiding.. heee and i think she's pretty too!

when's ur next check up??

sept mummies, its been a while. Hope everyone is doing well.. i think last wk i was talking abt feeling popcorny like pops in my tummy and i think its most likely my baby cos i'd been feeling it daily since then.. yeah! hope everyone's feeling their lil one inside too!

thanks for the further elaboration, storeberry. i guess if finances are tight, the hosp plan should be the one to get first?

the other day, i noticed that my armpit lines are getting darker. You know the creases in the armpit?? Ewww, i complained to my hb abt it and he was nice enough to say "its ok dear, u are pregnant." (Thats his standard careful and tactical answer to all my grouses)

Will it go away after pregnancy? Its the so called pigmentation issit? And the corner of my lips also has darkened spots, like i nv clean my mouth after eating, it tat the pigmentation also?

Anyone having them like me?

;-(

Just had my lunch.. I told fish "you mian" and topped up with black fried carrot cake (shared with colleague).. sinful sinful... should not take the carrot cake but feel like eating..

Hi, Aloevera

Me too.. getting tired easily..and worse still I can't sleep well.. have you your baby movement? Me in my 18th week today but still dun feel anything yet..a bit unsecure..

did a quick run through and i think u ladies are moving soooo fast for me!! heee.. from breast pumps to ins for ur bbs now..

and I haven even decided what pump to get/ or whether to get or not in the first plce / to get second hand ones..

oh no! am i procrastinating too much?

Hi Crayonshinchan...

I oso notice my armpit lines getting darker oso leh.... hope it will disappear after we gif birth,.........

Hi, crayonshinchan

no worries.. me too, haven get anything and din even give much tots to the things need to buy yet.. hahaha.. but I booked my confinement lady and massage lady when I was in my 12weeks.. I am considering getting a pump after i deliver cos I might not use it in the end of the day for various possible reasons, say no breastmilk.. Baby stuff I will wait till sale in Jun/ Jul..

What I am doing now is to think of how our baby princess will be taken care of, the logistics.. also thinking of what soup &amp; nutrients to make for myself and baby.. haha...

SarahMay (sarahmay) : Most companies have a waiting period of 28 days for newborns as there's a high chance of infant death and other implications especially in the case of premature babies. The insurance companies will take into consideration the health of the newborn, based on information such as birth weight, size, and the reports in the health booklet, as well as parent's health, eg, whether there's any hereditary diseases etc.

Most companies offers more or less the same products and benefits. In my opinion, it's best to sit down with an adviser to go through your plans and needs before deciding on what's best for your family. The plan that suits me the best may not be the best one for another person as our needs, resources and responsibilities are different.

For a start, you can start looking for the hospitalisation plans that offers you the coverage and the premium you're willing to pay. Then when your baby is out, you can sign up after 28 days. For the rest of the plans, if your resources allows you to start early, do so asap. If not, you can always wait for a few mths to see how your household expenses is like after the new addition to the family, and from there, work out how much you can set aside for your financial planning.

See how basic Medishield works:
http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/hcfinancing.aspx?id=306

Medisave-approved Integrated Insurance Plans
http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/hcfinancing.aspx?id=342

-> please take note that some of the information on certain plans may be outdated. For eg, Prudential has additional coverage for pregnancy complications and congenital abnormalities but the document on the website is not updated, NTUC made changes to their rider.

Hope that helps!

hi..
just to see if any mummies interested to join me for a spree of elmo toy which babycenter having a sales on.. already got 3 orders on hand.. but would like to gather another say 3 more to get going.. interested can email by [email protected] or over here.. see who interested.. tys..

avalyn,
ur first is a boy ? so u hoping this one will be a gal ?
i already hv a boy and a gal. for this one, my preference is boy. but it's ok if i get a gal too, most imptly must be healthy

my DS on 19Apr. really looking forward to know baby's gender.

LC,
yes, i started to feel my bb's movement since week 16, the very first time was due to the hipccupping! it was so cute! and at nite, whenever i place my palm at where the BB usually show up during the gynae appt, i can feel something stirring inside, not so much of a thump at my skin. actually the stirring didnt feel good... =P maybe it disturbs my bladder abit and i feel uneasy..

really look forward to the detailed scan 2 Fridays away... sure hubby will be very nervous tat day coz he is hoping tat TC Chang would announce "IT'S A BOY!!!" kekekeke......

i had the popular duck porridge/rice at macpherson road for lunch, it's called "cheok kee".

hi mommies! Help!! I think i just realised that i cant use Palmer's Cocoa Butter. My tummy is itching very very badly and its red with rashes now.. I panic every time i look at my tummy. Any old age remedy how to reduce itchiness??

crayon,
i have dark coloured armpit since second mth of preggie..1 huge patches across the armpit..

i also get dark color spot on my neck...like extra flesh..small tiny ones...v ugly...

oh no missy.. i think u are one of those tat r allegy to Palmer.. think u faster see doc to see whether can solve ur rash.. of coz.. stop using already.. think need some cooling gel to relieve the redness..

millie, i will be attending the class that starts on the 15 june. i think we should be starting on the same day rite?

crayonshinchan, i'm also having dark patch on my armpits. very ugly if wearing sleeveless top.
wondering if scrubing it often will lighten or remove the dark patch or not..

Hi,Aloevera

I know that stall.. yummy yummy!!!!!!!!!!! so you have not know the gender yet? I tot u know.. I am also doing my detailed scan 2 fridays later.. I know my baby gender by mummy instinct since 12 weeks and true enuf it is confirmed baby priness on the 16weeks
happy.. you will feel happy too when you get to know the gender.. so envy you that you can feel the movement and can interact with the baby

Aloevera
I still get MS from time to time...sigh, esp on days when i wake up saying, "I feel great today!" then that afternoon or night, surely will gag or puke...

stef&amp;seanbabes
My first is a boy, turning 4 in June. Next up, twins...hb thinks may be boys too!!!!!!! I'm just gonna wait till DS to see...

hihihi mummsies
alabone, stefandseanababes(am always worried i might get one name wrong on your nick)...
actually i read some bfg webby and the advice if you want to start progesterone based contra is to test with a less permanent one first. coz some mothers will experience a sharp drop in milk ss even with that...then like super chiong heih leh..

i have absolutely no experience with formula feeding and all the ff stuff i prepared before my firstborn was born is dunno where now...my steriliser spoilt...etc..so if this time round cannot bf hor, i surely kelang kapor (how do you spell this one) one...

regarding bfg
was at carrefour the other day, and saw a man buying like 5 tins of GainIQ. was thinking, wow not cheap leh that brand...was sooo glad i persisted with bfg my son till now (now have to supplment with soya milk loh).

alovera
izzit the stall that sells deep fried pig intestines too? the yummy yummy one???

faintz
will have bm one. dun worry. many singporeans think they dun have enough bm, actually all have enough, it;s just whether we latch on frequently enough or not...jia you!!!

regarding raw food
just eat lah...i think it's ok...the worried is only salmonella poisoning or other forms of food poisoning.if your stomach are those made of steel and can withstand street hawker food voerseas, just go aheaed and eat.

regarding mercury and lead
all seafood contains it. and contamination happs all over the world...larger fish like stingray, tuna, sword fish has more. eat smaller fish and try not to eat fish from the same supplier over too long. rotate the regions where the fish comes from etc..

jo, bacon&amp;eggs and jessi,

at least i know I am not alone ;-)
but most of the clothes passed down by my sil are sleeveless and now I am paiseh abt raising my arms esp when I need to write on the whiteboard in class! And u wont know what will come out from the kids mouth! the darnest things that they say!!! hahahaa...

initially i tot it was cos i din scrub properly and dirt accumulated there! so i scrub and scrub until my armpits were sore lor! and the marks were still there! bah! and i have this naggy feeling that my nivea deoderent is making it worse.

lets pray it goes away after delivery ;-)

caryonshinchan, how about wearing a little short-sleeved light-weight jacket over them?

kids can be quite straightforward... a bunch of them once shouted "BYE-BYE BIG NEH-NEH AUNTIE!!!!" to my friend as she was getting off a bus. she was so, so mad!

LC, I am also constantly worrying abt my nutrition. Cos I am currently staying with my sis who orders tingkat and u know when u order tingkat, u cant really choose whats on the menu. Fish is rare lor!

And my mama is bz looking after my nephews so not much time to cook fish and boil soup for me like in the past when there's maid. Once in a while, she'll cook birdnest or soup for me though.

Then weekends we usually eat out. Lagi worse..

Do hope that my baby is getting enough nutrition..

LC,
no la, i still dunno the gender coz last appt my BB was shy, and dowan to face us..>_< then we saw something down there, but gynae said it could be the umbilical cord, so she doesnt wanna confirm anything... she said it's best tat we wait till detailed scan...

actually hor, not much of interaction with BB this time, coz most of the time my older girl will want ALL our attn the second we step into the house! after we switch off the tv, i'm already dead beat and can knock out within mins... the most is i sing the same song tat i self-composed for my girl when i was expecting her. kekeke...... only consists of a few words la, like "baby", "my", "little", "girl" and "mummy's"...etc.

my fren who is a father, also composed a song for his baby girl. we found it so amusing when we shared abt this and found out both of us are "composers"!

ava,
oh no, u still hv MS until now? did u take vit B? it helped me tide thru the MS period, and it ends my MS early. so u might wanna try. =)

l'l CY,
i dunno if they sell fried intestines leh... it's a small stall by itself. it actually moved from somewhere next to the UOB branch at MacPherson Road to somewhere near CitiMach Bldg now.

mtbs/mummies
do u know if we can eat raw oysters??? Hee...i had 4 small raw ones when i was in Aust...but i put alot of lemon juice to kill the germs la... my mom said since i'm into 4th mth liao, shld be fine for me to eat tat... =P

hahaha.. xuanting!!!! really??? the kids are arrgghh!!!! sometimes feel like strangling them!

omg! but cant blame them if they are young cos they do not know what can be said and wat cant! but its evil nonetheless!

i usually will wear light cardigan over when i am wearing sphagetti straps but not when i wear sleeveless. Cos its getting warmer in the classrooms..

eating duck rice
i love eating duck rice oso! esp the braised ones.. and my mama said it was bcos she always had craving for it when she was carrying me! So she thinks that the braised sauce could have contributed to my dark skin.

Any truth to it? ;-)

twendy,
wow.. i thought I'm lucky already.. keeke.. coz i stay with my IL's too.. my mil also mo ta den one ah.. (pls translate in cantonese)..
think ur Il is better than mine.. hahaha.. but we must learnt to appreciate them lor... every wk still got tonic to drink.. mine not as well verse in reading up books.. but she go and find out from other people lor...

aloevera,
dun say raw oysters.. i already eaten sashimi already.. kekeke.. think of.. so long dun get infection as in not fresh raw food can already.. if u can trust wat u r eating..

avalyn,
so u are expecting twins ? wow.. so u'll be a mother of 3 soon.. same as me and abalone. u intending to go for any contraceptive measures after ur twins are born ?
btw, i am also a twin..

lilboymum, so the mirena IUS will reduce breastmilk supply ?? i intend to bf for as long as 3 yrs.. i hope the mirena IUS will not affect bm supply. i think my next gynae visit on 19 Apr, i will ask her if the Mirena IUS will affect bm supply.. i read that the IUD success rate is lower than the IUS, furthermore, the IUD will cause heavier periods..

u girls are making me regret not eating sashimi when i went for the uberly exp buffet at shangri la 2wks ago!

Hmmph!
Ah lao and all my frens who were there asked me not to eat and i was just soooooo close to stealing just one pc of swordtail to eat! argh!