(2008/09) Sep 2008

Bigoes, is IUCD beri gross? I dunno leh… my colleague tried it and say it is ok one.. bt sometimes may bt out of position if do it too vigorously :p
LOL. I dun like pills cos’ nid to eat tat everyday one rite?

Abalone, what is mirena?? Not the sticky patch rite?

Ava: me too me too!!! I also love Middle Eastern cuisines....shish kebabs, hammus, etc. yums!!!

Can't get enough of lambs.

I'm also obsessed with beef steak!

Ava/xuanting: I dun think anyone really cares or remembers what u say about having intercourse with your hbs lah!! Come Sept, we'll all go and give birth oredi...It's a great forum that allows u to use a nick. Besides, we dun get to meet each other hbs, so it's not awkward!!!

I had beef sukiyaki for lunch..

These few days, I've been feeling the bubbly feeling in my tummy.. especially more so at night. Think it's my baby.

koras
I can't sleep well at night too.. just feel like I did not have a deep sleep every night.

was just musing...those MTBs in the middle east are still eating lamb chops and kebabs, but they dun have kids with "yang dian zhen". Those MTBs in Sichuan, China eat "ma la" hotpot and still survive...those Korean moms eat kimchis too right? and bet those Indian ones eat curry as part of their diet...and Malays eat coconut based food too...And those American/Aussie MTBs still eat their burgers and steaks, rather than drink tonic soups... what's the fuss all about?

hmmm...

Flos
I totally agree with your statement lor.. that's why I continue eating what I want.. lol. Anyway, my japanese friend also continued with her normal diet & even ate pineapples lor.

Abalone,is mirena also IUD??
goldfish, i am intending to use IUD after my baby is born as this is my 3rd kid. really dun wish to hv anymore kids..

hi everyone, sorry to interrupt
i'm selling my quinny Buzz 07 model
(lime green colour) for $450 inclusive of basket which is sold seperately. it's in good condition used only for last 9mths.

interested pls let me know!
PM me!

Hi Blue_roses
I do experienced some discomfort along the tummy area. feeling like the skin is pull or contract or sometime a sharp. all the funny feeling. not very sure how to descript the feeling. wonder is it becos i whole day sitting at the desk.

xuanting,
ya, my hubby even contemplated to change back to wk tan after my last appt. but we've paid half the package liao, so we thot beta now lor... if not, will be so awkward if m tan finds out! =P ya, i also feel tat i learn more thru my own reading/goolging than from her! sigh... she's only good if u see her only once or twice for other appts, but not preg i feel...

xuanting/limay,
ya, when i think back, i still feel the "tiredness" from those experiences... my siblings also feel tat they are selfish but i still sided them.. am glad tat i survived thru the post natal blues n nothing happened to me n my girl coz i did think of doing silly things then! ="(

my MIL was really really really very good to me until BB arrives... n i also started to find tat we have differing ways of raising the child. she even asked my mom if i ever caned my girl! n she will carry my girl away whenever i try to discipline her when she does wrong things...etc. in the beginning, she even refused to let me carry my girl whenever i rushed home after work just to be with my girl... =(

after we dun stay together, she will request my mom n i to stay in our room whenever she's here to play with my girl! if we come out, she will bring my girl out of the house! faintzzz...

leobbsmom
I don't have a strong relationship with my MIL already, so I can't imagine what will happen after my baby is born.. I am mentally prepared for the 'challenges' ahead of me.. moreover, it doesn't help that my MIL is a super control freak too.

Your MIl is so weird to forbid you & your mum to come out of the room when she is here to visit your girl. No offense, but I find it ridiculous.. you're the mum & she forbids you to go near your child?

hi stefandseanbabes,
it's a form of contraception also. my gynae is going to insert for me after she delivers my bb via csec. not sure inserted where though. i'm also doing this coz this is my third kid. how old are your two other kids?

leobbsmom,
huh? why your MIL so bu jiang li one? when she plays with bb you and your mum must stay in the room??? how can???

ya, when i told my mum, ppl say eat lamb will get 'yang dian feng". she laugh. i find it funny also, then all the india and malay will have yang dian feng, cos it part of their food. My mum say we can't eat too much cos it is very heaty , specially those lamb cook with chinese herbs, will be very 'bu" and heaty. india are having lamb cos they are drinking coconuts. coconut is very liang, so i think that is why they can balance it.
they just just my tot, i'm sorry if i offend anyone.

I think for diet for pregnancy, just eat everything in moderation & just avoid the obvious NO NO foods like raw stuff.

sasa,
glad to hear things are ok for you. I know how you feel ah. Being a first-time mum, sometimes you get worried over small little things. Anyway, it's good that baby is ok.

So when you sign up with TMC for the FBI, they gave you the complimentary coverage from AXA? Do you need any help with that? *winks*
Think a lot of insurance companies nowadays tie up with hospitals, just like GE ties up with Mt Alvernia.

Hi, Ihy

Dragon fruits are rich in vitamins, especially the red one but not all people like that because of the colour even though it tastes sweeter than those white ones. Kiwi is good too. Mindful dun take fruits that are just out from fridge.. I usually wait for the fruits to be near to room temperature or slightly less cold before I cut and eat.. But if you can get your tongue numbed from eating them, think better dun take.. cos I understand some people are allergic to some fruits.. u can take strawberry and grapes too. those red purplish grapes..

Hi, Flos

I have no "craving" for that sex too.. and, too tried to try to have too and my hubby like ok not to have so I just leave it.. I am concern if I will have any sex craving after birth..as I do believe sex is part of the element to healthy marriage..

Hi, Aloevera

It was very tough on you during your stay with your MIL.. I can understand.. If you and your MIL can see eye to eye on things, it will be a breeze but that is beyond the true hard reality. Some MILs cannot "see open" a bit with things.. First, they get insecure and weird when son marries a woman.. Next, they get hard up for a grandkid. Followed by the possessive element over grandkid... If they can see things from her son &family's angles, freed themselves and dun be so insistent, perhaps everything will be easier.. and I am sure they will be happier..I spoke to my hubby that baby is ours and it should be our upbringing and not MIL's upbringing. We are a family too by ourselves..I am keeping my finger and toes crossed that things will be ok when baby princess is with MIL to take care.

leobbsmom, i find your mil's request ridiculous too. i don't think it's for anyone to dictate where others should "station" just cos she's there to visit. did your mom say anything about it?

Yah I think everything in moderation yah, I also ate salmon sashimi yesterday, with the wasabi it was yummy!!! The only thing I was so full that I didn't managed to eat my cha soba!

leobbsmom, I think your MIL too possessive towards your child but by forbiding you to carry your child abit not right...

Mrs Yap: I think body shop one might be cheaper than Kiddy palace palmers strectchmark. I know the other time bbmouse was doing a BP on Palmers Stretchmark cream on www.drugstore.com i think & its cheaper than what local stores is selling. If not can but eleancy (i don't know if its spell like that) from robinson, think its $39.90...

I cannot remember what AXA is offering but most likely I will not continue with the plan. Cos I think AXA not strong in their education or whole life plan. Mummies who need advice can ask me lah, no selling of course. Jus here to help.

abalone, glad to know a mummy here with 3rd kid coming in sept

my 1st (gal) is 4 yrs old. my 2nd (boy) is 2 yrs old.
my 3rd is due on 4 Sept. gender not known yet cos the last gynae scan, position is not right.. baby was all curled up. couldnt see anything.
i hope my DS on 19 April will be able to see baby's gender
ur first 2 also gal and boy ? u know gender of ur 3rd kid ?
i spoke to my gynae on contraception. i wanted to do ligation. but she forbid me to, saying i'm too young for ligation. furthermore, i will be going for natural birth, so ligation is unlikely.
this 3rd kid is by acident, so i'm really determined to go for contraceptive measures after my 3rd kid is born, and my gynae also recommended me the Mirena IUS. so most likely, i will go for IUS.
the Mirena IUS is like the IUD - also intserted thru the vagina. u can read some information here : http://www.asia.mirena.com/scripts/en/3_is_the_ius_right_for_me/who_cant_have_the_ius/index.php

bacon&egg (baconegg) - Hmm, I'm told Milo contains caffine. so don't drink too much
Momoko (momoko76) - Boobs? Good, for breastfeeding :p

Oh I can't wait for my next gyne visit...

bacon&egg,
ya lor.. tat's wat i find amazing.. save elec mah.. kekeke..ya nick name make me wanna eat american breakfast... yum yum... i like

Discourse on intercourse
lol....anyway, even if we meet each other next time, u think we'll remember our discussion on breasts and nipples, sex etc? no lah, we'll be talking about babies only!!! I meet my June/July 2004 group from time to time and altho have discussed fairly private stuff, we don't remember when we meet each other...have more fun playing with the bubs!!! and chatting with one another...

what is this "yang dian zhen"??

i love cha soba too, storeberry! but haven't had it in a long time liao. only managed to start eating handrolls and chawan mushi lately. waiting to be able to eat tempura now.

are you in insurance? what are the basics to get for bb?

ava, yang dian zhen is epilepsy.

My gynae is Eunice Chua at TMC. but recently she has taken out the package offer already, so when i visit her everytime, i have to spend more than $100. Very expensive men.. and i have intend to change my gynae to another gynae who has package offer. Is it adviceable?? anyone can recommend female gynae at TMC?

hi stefandseanbabes,
my first born is a boy and he is 2.5 yrs now. my second is a girl. she's 16mths old. all my three babies are accident babies. so with a third one, it's gonna turn the household rather topsy turvy. my gynae also said the same thing to me. that i'm too young to go for ligation so i'm doing the mirena. this time round, i'm choosing not to know the gender of my baby. but then, coz i'm doing csec, i'll be the last to know the gender. so sad. so what i'm gonna do is on the OT, i will ask my gynae, 'so now, can you tell me the gender of my baby?' hehe. so i'll be the first to know and not my hb!

ava,
yeah. i agree with you. everyone's gonna be too busy talking abt bfing, bb's poo and milk intake to worry abt our private chats here.

christine,
i also can't wait for my next gynae visit so that i can see bb. i miss seeing bb.

sly chua
should be ok to change gynae. i'm with Paul tseng, so same payment terms as eunice (same clinic)...sticking with him tho...

xuanting: after reading what u type i feel like eating sia.. but my huby sure to eat salmon in front of me de which i cant stand fish smell or even fish in front of me.

mei: i try now not to drink too much water at night but seem no use. still wake up either 3am or 6am.

koras: i'm alo tempted to take sashimi!!!!!!!!

I just had D24 durians and birdsnest

Alabone: you're having your third baby? wow!!!

Vhris: milo has caffeine? didnt realise that...i still milo:p

Mei: yeah, just stay away things that u r not sure abt. my sis was soooo careful with her meals as in she'd only eat codfish and no other meat. she wears no makeup, no mani/pedi/facial...and breastfeed till 6 mths. well, it doesn't prevent her son from falling sick very often now. sigh..

helloe mummsies

alabone, stefandseanbabes
im having my second, after this round, im going for IUD/ligation liaoz. i dun want to take a chance, cannot take mirena or anything else coz i'll be bfg, so cannot take hormonal stuff.

cannot take chance here lah, if hb and i die, we only have enough 'funds' left for two, not three...heeee...

Milo
yes, milo and all chocolate stuff contains caffeine.tea and many fizzy drinks too...actually second tri is the best time to take cafferine leh. third tri avoid coz of inherent risk of premature birth and residual caffeine left in bb making them hyper in the first few days (caffeine stays in bbs body longer than ours)

hi all mummies,

finally going back to work tmr. today went for checkup as well as my triple test. so sad still can't see bb's gender. i also made appointment for my detailed scan 3 weeks later. still thinking if i shd pay more for the 3D/4D scan or not. hubby said all babies look the same, no need to pay extra to see the face in detail. :p

i also went to book for the tmc antenatal course for sunday class in june. anyone signed up for that class too?

Wah! All this take of sashimi and kebabs making me water!!!! I really admire all those of you who dare to eat sashimi. I'm still a bit paranoid about it after what I've read about listeria.

SLY - You're only 4 months. It is ok to change gynae. In fact if you are not comfy with your gynae you should really look for another one. The gynae is such an impt person in your entire pregnancy and delivery process. You would want to feel comfy and happy with him/her. Better now than later.

As for good and competitively priced female gynaes at TMC, you can try mine - Dr LN Sim at Level 4. 6353 9270/71. She is an excellent doc in my opinion - very warm, caring, patient and detailed. Her package is 700 from wk 12 on. Consult $60, U/S scan $40...but it seems that she sometimes waives off scan prices. She's done it for me and other patients. Several times she waved off scan prices cos I had to buy hormone pills tt were quite ex. She did that out of her own initiative so I really appreciated it. She is also not pushy with non-compulsory tests and vitamins etc.

Another doc I've heard is good is Dr Jocelyn Wong at ACJ Clinic. A few of the ladies go to her. Can ask for their opinions too.

CAFFEINE - I've read that even 3 cups of coffee or tea is safe to drink per day. Milo has much less caffeine than coffee and tea...so shd be quite safe right? Other than caffeine making our babies hyper, we should really watch our sugar intake too...That is the greater temptation for me. Hehe...

flos : u tempeted but i cant eat. cant stand fishy smell. mi also having milo but not so often. seem like after i pregnant a lot thing seem lost interest

jessi u taking in June. i might be taking in June also.. which timing. i should betaking the 12+

sarah - heard that cafferine not good to drink during pregnancy. that time heard news mention can cause miscarriage.
i like to drink coffee but cant stand the smell
end up have to give up 1st

Milo
i can't seemed to take in Milo or any chocolatey stuffs since pregger. i will feel nausea after eating, maybe my bb dun like chocolate. don't think is due to caffeine, cos occasionally i will drink teh si and i feel ok.

koras, oh.. if u sign up for the june class then we will be in the same class cos i signed up for the 12.30pm one.

jessie u sign up already ar. i havent wor.. i thinking of next month then call them up to book

o that good i will be signing up that timming also then we be in the same class.

same as me cant take chocolate.. i that time intake a few. went to bath then vomitted out, now dun even dare to take or touch chocolate

by the way i just pm u

koras, ya i signed up already cos i was at TMC today so went to the parentcraft centre to take a look then decided to sign up today. got ur pm.

by the way anyone encounter also hair dropping. mine seem like seeing the floor clean now an hour later or so see the floor got a few hair le

flos,
yes. i'm having my third. i still can't believe it at times.

l'l CY,
you are going for ligation? very sure? is mirena hormonal or affects hormones? you mean it's not good for use if i'm going to breastfeed?

i haven't been so disciplined like a lot of you are. i feel like drinking coke, i just drink. i wanna drink my honey red tea, i just go. i remember for the second pregnancy, i even had honey red tea almost everyday. it was a huge craving (or addiction!?!). but i'm definitely not touching raw food during this period.

speaking of raw food, i just heard a piece of news from a friend today abt our common friend. she has turned to become a raw vegan recently and eats all her veges, nuts and stuff raw (no meat). soup - cold. like blend raw broccoli and make into soup but it's never cooked. she also changed her son's diet to the same as hers. no meat no fish. just raw vegan stuff. so apparently, recently her son fell sick. he came down with a 41 degree fever and she refused to bring him to a doc, insisting that the son will recover just by drinking juice and water. her hb was very angry as were her parents. so she locked herself and her son in the room and fed him just juice and water. three days later, the son really recovered. so i heard she's been going on telling others about how this can work and the body will heal itself. i wonder to myself if the boy has damaged his brains already...

koras,
me me me!!!! and i thought during pregnancy, the hormones would make our hair stay so healthy. previously during pregnancy, my hair didn't drop. now, i swing here, drop a few strands. i don't move also drop. i wash hair worseeeeee!!! damn scary. there was one time i was so paranoid i picked up all the hair i dropped and sat down to count. it reached a three digit figure. hundred plus i think. apparently it's normal to drop so much in a day but it is still scary and messy.

alabone- same lowash hair also hair drop a lot

i still dun dare to keep long hair.. i din really count how much hair i drop during washing but compare to last time sure more.

xuanting (xuanting) : not storeberry but I'm also in the financial planning industry, so can answer your question.

The basics to get for baby is hospitalisation plan, which you can sign up after 1mth. There are plans which you can pay for the premium via your medisave and riders (payable via cash) which takes care of the deductible and co-insurance. Which means, should the baby be hospitalised, there will be no bills to pay as it will all be taken care of by the insurance company.

Most parents would also start planning for baby's education funds and look into policies that covers their baby in case of major illnesses, death and disability, personal accidents etc. What most parents forgot to do is review their own insurance coverage.

Personally, family income protection is one of the most important thing to look at when you have new responsibilties as parents because should something happen to the parents, who have the capability to earn income to provide for the child, how would the child be taken care of?

rabbit and koras,
yes. hair dropping is a lot worse after birth. at the same time that your newborn starts dropping hair, the mother will too. i was dropping so horribly that i had receding hairline. i'm only thankful that it grows out. but will look damn ugly, especially where the fringe is. sigh... the downside of motherhood.

been diligently looking through the archives. thot i will contribute smtg on TC Chang's detailed scan. i did mine with him (since i'm w WK Tan too) for my 1st gal. pls note this scan is not included in WK Tan's package. i searched back my old receipt, i think i paid $150 for it. that time, there was no CD provided, and video technology not common. but what i got back was A LOT of photos - all the different body parts. pretty cute lah, can show my immediate families.

nobody from the clinic mentioned anytg to me. but if really got a CD this time round, wow, even better, man... more keepsakes to pass on to my bb when he/she grows up. but i would expect to pay more for the scanning this time round.

as for the arrangement for taking care of the baby after birth/maternity leave, it really depends on ur circumstances.

we live right next block to my ILs. every morning i pop over with my gal, every evening i pop back for dinner then fetch her back. i never trouble my MIL for weekday nights and weekends cos i think she deserves her rest. and i also want my bonding time with my gal. she is so kind to offer a friday nite off for us, so that me & hubby can go "pa-tor" & have our couple time. should there be any special occasions whereby we need her to do "OT", she always take it up very willingly. so, you can say she's really the MIL anyone could wish for.

as for her childcare techniques, i have even more confidence in her. she was "trained" under TMC (SIL paid for her to attend the course) and she literally breezed through the course w her prior knowledge and personal strict hygiene. she borrowed books from library to read up on pre-school education (she's open to new-age techniques like right-brain stimulation & stuff) and food recipes (when my gal starts weaning). in fact, she is so much more diligent than the dear mummy herself! my gal gets a fresh supply for 10+ library books to read every week. if my gal turns out to be a genius or child prodigy, i guess she has the most part to play for her success!

other than being a fantastic granny, she's really nice to me too. she will brew tonics for me twice a week. she reads books on nutrition for pregnant mummy and also confinement recipes. when i was breastfeeding my gal, she diligently brewed fish soup for me so that it will boost my milk supply.

really, with my mil, i can rest assured my gal is 100% well taken care of. i doubt my mum can give my gal this same standard of childcare :p so, that ends my long posting on my childcare arrangement.

twendy: you're so blessed to have such a wonderful MIL! =)

my MIL is nice but she frowns upon the "ang mo" childcare techniques when my SIL tried to weane my niece off breastfeeding at 15 mths. She said there's no such thing as weaning during her time and for all her 3 children! I'm pretty concerned she's against my SIL reading books on childcare, setting up sleep routine etc. I'm reading them too and she thinks all these knowledge from books are not practical! sigh

abalone, the Mirena IUS hormonal changes are just local (within the reproductive system only), that us why using Mirena, the periods will get lighter and shorter. it's not like the pill where the hormonal changes affects the whole body. So even with Mirena, we can still breastfeed. cos it wun affect us.. the hormonal changes are just within the reproductive system.
you can read more here:
http://www.mirena-us.com/index.jsp

Slychua, Avalyn.. i am with dr Eunice Chua (TMC level 3)..
so we are from the same clinic. my next gynae visit is 19 Apr (sat). how abt u gals ?? maybe can meet up and say 'hi'

Slychua, i am expecting my 3rd child, and i hv been with Dr Eunice Chua since my 1st child. I find her v patient and is v willing to explain things to you.. she is also very caring.. though the TLC clinic hv removed their antenatal package, i think the charges are still rather reasonable. scan is $50 and i forgot the consultation cost. i get my vitamin supplements from CGH online store. so the cost is slightly less.
each gynae visit will be abt < $100 (scan + consultation).
Dr eunice chua stitching skills are v good too. i went for natural delivery for my 2st 2 kids. and i recovered v fast, abt 3-4 days. intend to go for natural delivery too for my 3rd kid.

HAIR LOSS - I read from a book by Dr mariam Stoppard tt the hair loss is due to the rapid hair growth and reduced hair shedding during pregnancy caused by increase in certain hormones. So our body makes up for this increase during pregnancy by the shedding of hair after pregnancy. The Chinese Herb 'Shou Wu' is good for 'bu'-ing hair. Can go ask the TMC doctor to 'zhua' the herbs for you to boil soup now.

CAFFEINE - I think the research on the links between caffeine and miscarriage as well as fetal development is still inconclusive. There seems to be some contradictory info. However, I think excess caffeine per day is at the 8 cup mark. A cup isn't proven to have direct links to miscarraige. Of course to be on the safe side, we should minimise intake. The CNA article talks abt not eating raw food too...But then, from this forum, some gynaes say it is ok.. Aiyo... I think at the end of the day, we just need to do everything in balance, and do our best to eat and drink as healthily as possible. No point over-worrying also.

Here are two latest articles I found on the web:

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/21/health/21caffeine.html

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/health/view/337056/1/.html

ALABONE - Wow! Your vegan friend is very disciplined hor? I cannot imagine just eating raw veggies man....Plus, I know my tummy cannot tahan all raw veggies. I sure faint one! But did your friend take her kid to the doc to do a check after he recovered to see if he is really well?