(2008/09) Sep 2008

bigtoes, mine is with dr m tan (paid half also; other half upon delivery) but i noticed that dr m tan's package is a slightly cheaper than dr wk tan's so perhaps dr wk tan's package already includes the detailed scan. is the machine in dr tc chang's room clear? tell us all about it when you do your detailed scan ok.

jaline: o start during third trimester still ok as i amd in my 2nd now. my neighbour de having a boy her leg i saw swell a lot sia. isnt pain when walking

Anyone has pain or soreness "down there"? Have been having this feeling for the whole day since mon..not sure if it is normal...esp uncomfortable when i sit, even on toilet bowl! but can't pinpoint the exact location for pain/soreness.

I've gained 5.5kg and i'm only 19.5wks preg! think mine is too much!! sobs! keep telling hb i'm super FAT!

Bigtoes - How did doc know u've slight UTI? is it thru the normal urine scan? btw, the nurse alrdy told me need to pay extra arnd $220 for the detailed scan..

thanks, yvonne. i did my oscar on level 4 too and got the fbi discount. my detailed scan will be done in the doc's clinic downstairs so i won't be entitled to any discount this time.

by the way any one encounter difficuities in sleeping at night. i keep turning and tossing even when i am very tiring. can nearly doss off while watching tv.. but go back room cant really sleep. end up morning i wake up around 11+ or 12+. Even going to the toilet in the middle of the night after that cant really go back to sleep immediately

thanks, lhy. i'm glad to hear that!

fbi:
those who signed up, did you opt for the free 6 mths insurance coverage for bb from axa? am thinking that we should get some form of insurance coverage for bb but i've no idea what's good to get. experienced mommies, any suggestions? thanks!

<font color="119911">I am also up about 3kg since preggers (18 weeks+ now). I guess that is about normal? Have no MS, so it was constant weight gain for me all the way! Am not making a conscious effort to watch what I eat, but maybe I should, if I don't want to gain more than 12-14kg in total

xuanting (xuanting) - the GE ultrasound scan machine at Dr Chang's office is quite okie. I have some photos from the last scan (OSCAR) ones here: http://smallfattoes.blogspot.com/ (the light brown photos)

lhy (lhy) - UTI usually creates a burning sensation when u pee &amp; u feel like going to the toilet, thou there is not much urine. For my slight UTI during the wk 11-13 tests, i didn't even know i had it - guess v mild.

On the FBI at TMC:
I am also intending to sign up, &amp; do that before i sign for the pre-natal class at week 20 (u get 10% discount off pre-natal classes). Quite decided on this &amp; to go with FBI's CordLife discount - unless preggy reverts to us on a better bundle package for CordLife.</font>

flo, i also cannot wear my wedding band now. if i try to wear it, i have to apply moisturizer to slip it in..taking out is another hassle.

mrs yap, my bb's gender not revealed yet..next visit hopefully can see. I have red and slightly bigger than usual nose..can also spot some red vein on it..

Bigtoes - So u did ur normal urine test then a separate urine test for UTI? or the normal urine test will be able to detect UTI?

<font color="0000ff">Ava
Idea leh... but den hor.. i'll be shifting so far away from u le...

lhy
mayb u would like to inform ur gynae abt it? think someone mentioned juz now.. it could b bcoz of bb's kicks tats y abit sore...

lhy / xuanting / bigtoes
TC Chang is the head of foetal assessment unit.. so he has the most up to date machine. even the machines upstairs at 4th flr canot be compared with his. the reports we get from 4th flr will bear his name n signature de.. coz he's in charge there.. hehe

FBI can be used at 4th flr.. but if detailed scan or OSCAR is done by TC Chang.. den no FBI / SBI discount le..

JJParents
hhmm.... for me.. was calculating tat it'll be worthwhile tho i might not end up storing cord blood. coz get 10% for OSCAR and detailed scan.. and $100 off coz i'm choosing 1 bedder. and another 10% off when i signed up for antenatal class.

Xuanting
i signed up for the AXA insurance.. tat day the lady juz called mi say wanna explain more to me. but felt kinda put off by it.. coz its still so early b4 bb is due den they wana talk to me abt it le.. so told her to call mi nearer to my EDD lor.. didnt go n read up on anything lah. told her to send mi brochure, she say preferably to meet up face-to-face to discuss. faintz</font>

<font color="0000ff">lhy
yup.. i think so.. but the last time i kena UTI.. i eat the cranberries instead.. juz went carrefour and bot a packet to munch. it really helps..

but den u dun feel pain when u pee rite?</font>

thanks, bigtoes. the 4th level is also using GE. UTI seems quite prevalent amongst pregnant women. am glad yours was mild and has cleared.

sasa_de_mouse,

erm, dun think so. But its like slightly uncomfortable feeling, tho not burning nor painful. Even when i'm sitting down or walking, it feels sore and "weak" down there..not sure if u noe wat i mean. That's why i aso dunno if it's UTI. My hb got UTI before, and when he pee, he said it's not painful nor burning sensation leh...

ladies...
wat is the cause of UTI?
I mean if u drink sufficient water and change yr underwear everyday and dun control yr bladder for too long, the chances are not high right?

RXmom, jaline, bacon&amp;egg,
ok. then i shall remember to ask gynae on next visit why there's the pain. yeah. i also have the itch at wound area, but then again, like i posted previously, i've itch all over me. so i think i'm expanding everywhere and got super dry skin.

bacon&amp;egg,
i get up to pee in the night very very often. like what you mentioned, at least twice a night. very annoying. later on in the pregnancy, i think have to camp in toilet liao.

flos,
no prob. we all are insecure at some stages. oh man, the mention of ya kun half boiled eggs make me crave for them so so much!!!

koras,
i have same prob that you do. even though i'm very tired, i toss and toss in bed and can't fall asleep immediately. i don't know if it's my depression though.

thanks, sasa. fwah, didn't know dr tc chang is in fact the head of the foetal assessment unit. guess bigtoes and i are in good hands for the detailed scan then.

someone from axa called me yesterday too. he was so unclear that at first i thought he was calling from tmc about my future admission. only after a while did i make out that he was calling to talk about the 6-mth complimentary plan. a bit put off also although i know that this is their sales gimmick. have asked him to call back much later too. will probably listen to what the plan has to offer but i'm so not going to get pressurised into signing up with them just cos i took advantage of a freebie from them.

mrsyap,
UTI is basically caused by bacteria infection. This can be from the rectum or regions near it. So say if one does not clean from front to back after taking a dump, the chances of contracting UTI is significantly higher. also, sexual intercourse can also be one of the causes coz the motion also can bring about bacteria from the rectum to the vagina.

<font color="119911">lhy (lhy) - Don't think yours is UTI then, most prob nothing to worry about. Anyway, UTI is not serious, usually don't even need medication. I have had it before (maybe cos i sometimes have the habit of not going to the loo when I need to), &amp; it goes away with cranberry juice (just get the concentrate from supermarkets) or cranberry tablets. Meanwhile, take yogurt &amp; drinking lots of water as prevention. Just that we have to be more careful when preggers incase the bacteria infects baby.

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - didn't know that TC Chang is the head of the foetal assessment unit -he is quite young, think 20 years younger than Dr WK Tan, based on his certification dates outside the clinic.</font>

lhy
if you wanna take cranberry juice for UTI, best is those organic types with no sugar, but warn you, they are expensive and taste REALLLLLLY sour. u can also get cranberry capsules from healthshops...

<font color="0000ff">lhy
hhmm..... okok... juz soreness lah.. mayb ur hb's one was mild case like bigtoes' bah... coz tat time when i had it.. was really painful. got abit of blood.. n each time i go pee.. v painful.. den the pee like cannot come out like tat lor..

so it was really an experience

Mrs Yap
yeah.. i guess u r rite bah.. think the most impt thing is drink more water n dun hold urine for too long.. haha.. was reading ur post abt changing underwear daily. u mean got ppl dun change their underwear everyday????? oops!!!

Xuanting
how come u did ur OSCAR at 4th flr den detailed scan will be done by Dr Chang??

hi alabone...
thanks... usually i will avoid cleaning from back to front. BTW, u ladies still having intercourse? I would'nt dare esp cos i used to have heavy spotting.

The wound area of my previous surgery is also itching... the rest of the tummy is ok... i have yet to start with any stretch mark cream though. Any good n budget one? I saw tat the Clarins one is $75 odd... so exp

Hi, Flos and Bacon&amp;Egg

You sure put on so much weight... hmm.. am I putting on too little? me only abt 2kg+.... Flos, I guess maybe it is the milk powder consumption that give you the extra weight.. I dun drink a lot of milk and my calcium intake come from the calcium milk and other diary pdts like cheese &amp; yoghurt..

Today, I have so far/will have the following:-

Breakfast - Sardine bun with soya bean (half cup only)

Lunch - Grilled fish with pork chop and vegetables and fries (din finish the fries) + dessert + ABP fruit juice (Red Apple+Beet Root+Green Pear)

Dinner - Chicken porridge with silver fish, peanut and ginko nuts (which I cook with the cooker this morning)and Kiwi fruits

I seldom take supper, tea brak and brunch.

Hi, Storeberry
Think you have a good MIL so things should be ok. and it helps if your hubby can stand by you when there are differences.. I can't help to give you a guage on the additional cost..

Hi, Momoko
the magic cooker is taken from my mummy's home cos they have extra. should be abot that price. It is different from thermal pressure cooker.. think thermal pressure cooker is more expensive and thought I saw a posting last night that such cooker can explode :p

Mrs Yap,

We have no sex intercourse since I am pregnant. My hubby dun wan to have even though gynae assured it is safe after 1st trimester.. He still tahan on.. hahaha.. but i bet he DIY one lar..Imagine no sex for the 9mths of pregnancy + 2 months after birth??? hahaha.. really have to be a temporary monk..

sasa, i was supposed to do my oscar at dr chang's office but he happened to have taken leave for that period so they booked the upstairs facility for me instead.

o ya, your tightening, is it at the lower abdomen generally or a very specific spot? still find it quite unbelievable that it's gas, unless you've been eating truckloads of onions and beans??? could it be your muscles being put to work cos of the expansion going on at the uterus?

xuanting,
wk tan's fee is higher than m tan bcoz she's more experienced n popular, she delivered for most mediacorp artistes. wk tan's style is quite different from m tan's. wk will explain things to u and tell u all she knows abt ur BB without u asking. she will do ALL necessary to satisfy ur curosity as a mom, and she's very informative! i really like her alot.

LHY,
try to get the brand "harvest field" cranberry juice, coz the rest taste very artificial and medicine-like.

LC,
read abt ur concern abt inlaws will be looking after the BB when it arrives. just something to share, it's tat beware tat the inlaws will get possessive with the newborn. so try not to "give in" too much to them or it'll be hard for hubby and u reject any request they might put up later on.

my own experience was i did my confinement at my inlaws, and they didnt quite approve when we wanted to move back to our own place after tat. my MIL even cried every nite, and it was so hard for us... but we really hv to move back coz we cant possibly accomodate hubby, me, newborn and my mom in a small bedroom! coz tat time my mom came over to cook for me n look after the new born. and my MIL has no basic knowledge of looking after a newborn at all, if u all rmb the nappy ball incident tat i shared b4... >__<|||

other than tat, i gave in alot coz i know my inlaws love my BB alot despite of their handicap of infant knowledge. i even went to stay at their place every fri nite till sun, and we had too much to pack n bring every week! i almost died of exhaustion then! literally no sleep for me coz i b-fed my girl n i took care of her at nite.

we were supposed to go to my mom's place every sun noon, but it just somehow got dragged every sun! and it became sun evening then we are allowed to leave inlaw's place... it's not the timing tat i mind, but it was only me alone who did all the work for BB when i was there! they only wanna play n let bb entertain them...

so in the end, things got abit ugly when i finally decided it's enuff for a working mom to WORK 24hrs, 7days a week! and we stopped staying at the inlaws, n they are free to visit BB when they r free anytime! coz it jus doesnt make sense when they can just drive and come empty-handed, whilst we hv to pack SO MANY things just for them to PLAY with the BB.

guess i still cant let it go until today, coz it was too painful for me then... i regretted so much tat i gave in to them until i got post natal blues TWICE!

for those mtbs who are very soft-hearted like me, pls be strong and learn to say NO NO NO!!! when u know very well tat it's outta your limitations, ok.

LC
Tell ur hb, it may be more than 2 months after birth! we were at it till about 8 months before delivery (not v often lah) and after, i think only ard 3 months cos tired plus a host of other reasons...but this time, too heavy and tired to consider hahaha... anyway, u WILL need lubricant after birth. astroglide has my vote hahahaha!

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Yap
we have not resumed intercourse oso.. coz i juz feel so clumsy and worried might harm bb. i oso had spotting in 1st tri.. so think better not bah.. haha.. hb commented.. he has to be a monk for the nxt few mths...

Xuanting
oooh... ic ic... which is good rite.. den u can make use of ur FBI, get discount

it's at the lower abdomen generally.. seems to shift around but coz the lower abdomen (at the panty line) is not very big.. seems like the tightening is always around that area. yes.. i find it hard to believe tat its gas.. coz i really dun think i have SO MUCH gas throughout the whole day. now i'm even beginning to feel it while sitting or even standing up.

oh... n i dun take onions and very little beans so nvr eat those really gas producing food leh. i once tot it could be muscles coz it really feels like the muscles suddenly becoming v v tense den relaxing after 10 sec or so. but y would the muscles tense up everyday?? i dun even get leg cramps every nite...</font>

aloevera, now i'm quite regretting not changing to wk tan! m tan is fine but she really doesn't share v much. i think i find out a lot more online and from books than from her.

i remember the nappy ball your mil made. guess when you give in too often, things that originally start out as thoughtful gestures become an entitlement in their minds. that schedule you were keeping up sounds really hectic; am glad you put your foot down and set things straight again. whew!

keke!! thanks mummies/MTBs for ur advice! will try the cranberry juice just in case! drank before and ya, it's super duper sour!!

I aso having tightening sensations on and off. It will tighten at the middle of my tummy (just arnd the panty line, same as sasa) and tighten so much that it feels like a hard rock and i can't move at all! Not even a step! and had to hold onto something for support! is this normal?

Btw, mummies with experience, how does Braxton Hicks contraction feels like? Read that we're actually having it even now, just that some mummies won't notice till later into preg.

<font color="0000ff">lhy
yes yes... tats juz how i feel leh... tightening middle lower tummy around panty line and when i press... its really hard like rock. but my gynae tell me its gas lor.. duh!!!

think dun need to worry lah.. i went in for CTG and no contractions were picked up. n my gynae said tat its not braxton hicks oso.. coz wont be so early..</font>

AVa: you live in Australia? Yup yup...lamb chops with mint sauce!!! ooh la la..

Jaline: you mean those kopitiam runny eggs with soy sauce?! Can preggers take those? Thought it's not recommended?

Mrs Yap: I have a stuffy nose for 4 months liao. I was told not to eat Lamb Chops too by my MIL. But I have only taken it twice in the past 17 weeks. I think moderation should be ok lah...

sasa: I know, but I haven't heard about Dr Cheng's stitching skills, that's why I asked u
Constipation almost since tri 1. Today, bled some more!!!!!!!urrrrgh!!!

lhy: you're not alone. I'm 2 weeks later than u and hv gained 5 kgs.

Agree with sasa that drinking cranberry juice helps. I drank a lot of Ocean Spray.

Mrs Yap: "i have yet to start with any stretch mark cream though. Any good n budget one? I saw tat the Clarins one is $75 odd... so exp "

I'm going to get that one. Right now, I'm using the treatment oil which is really nice.

The "tired legs" can reduce swelling for those who suffer from swollen calves.

LC: I also abstained from sexual intercourse since preggie. Dun really crave for it anymore

I think your diet is really nutritious!! I will try to add more fruits to my diet.

sasa,
i think urs might be baby moving leh..the tightening and hardening feeling somehow feels like baby tossing and turning so much there's a ball rolling inside me! dun think it's gas lah..that's too much gas liao rite? i have alot of gas and bloatedness aso, so i roughly know the difference..
fyi, i felt the baby move at the start of 16wks and this is my first preg

FRUITS
Is dragonfruit and kiwi good? coz once i had kiwi and my tongue went numb! hb is badly allergic to kiwi aso, so advisable to take? will bb be likely to be allergic?

Flos, heehee, think i'll get scolding from my gynae again for eating so much! She insisted only 12-15kg ah! think at my rate gg to be 20kg liao!

My gynae said no to intercourse for us without us asking ah! coz i have spotting on and off. Anyway not much mood for that now too

aloevera,
i'm glad you put your foot down and said no to your ILs. not many of us are lucky to have good ILs... isn't it good that you don't have to stay with them? sometimes it's really a case of xiang jian rong yi xiang chu nan (easy to meet and see each other, difficult to live with each other)

mrsyap,
i've not had intercourse for a while too coz of slipped disc prob. i doubt i can have it anytime soon.

Hi Ava
For a moment, I thot u stays at Bishan.. so just checking.
IN the past, I do swimming bt nowadays I find it such a hassle to wash out after the swim.. the chlorine smell too overbearing for me :p
Bt I know swimming is good for preggies so keep it up!

Intercourse – ON and off but we are not so hyper all along but I heard that nearing delivery time, not advisable issit rite?
Btw, anyone intending to do IUCD as birth contraceptive next time huh??

lhy, i hear that red dragonfruits can bu2 xue3 while kiwis are a good source of antioxidants. but if both your hubby and you have an allergic reaction to it, better check with doc before consuming or better yet, choose other alternatives. prunes are also v high in antioxidants.

aloevera (loever) - thanks for sharing ur experience with your in-laws. At the moment, i have a very good relationship with mine, but of cos, am wary how that would change once we leave the baby with them everyday &amp; if they have differing ways of raising the child.

On intercourse - We didn't stop even when Dr Tan said "no intercourse during the first 3 months". (Didn't ask her why, but we continued anyways since i didn't have any spotting or discomfort.) The only hassle now is having to change positions to accomodate the growing belly! I would hope to continue until at least 8 months (maybe just abstain for the last month incase we trigger premature contractions).

Goldfish (goldfish1395)- why are u considering IUCD? Can't imagine how uncomfy it might be...after birth, breastfeeding should act as a natural contraceptive for the first couple of months, then after that, I plan to go back on my pill.

Any mummies experiencing sharp pain below their adominal ? Sigh.. the pain has been with me for about 1 day(on &amp; off), dont know whether is it i hurt myself while waking up to go to the toilet.

blue_roses...
try to get up slowly from bed. There are a few times i got up too fast from bed / chair then i experienced v sharp n brief pain at the lower abdominal. But it didnt last 1 day. if persist better change with doc to see if its muscle strain or wat

Flos
No was on holiday in Australia over x'mas/NY.

Today, I met a friend of mine who's due in aug and she's smaller than me...and we both gorged on middle eastern food for lunch...yums! (I had lamb, couldn't resist after reading the post) lol...

Mrs Yap,
i think i got up too fast from my bed too.
Like now just merely sitting infront of the computer, the pain still comes too.. hope it's just muscle strain. >_<