(2008/09) Sep 2008

Flos - I think you shouldn't worry about what people say about your bump at all. Size is no indication of anything. Anyway, there is NO one way of carrying a child during pregnancy. Don't worry ok? Just enjoy your pregnancy.

DETAILED SCAN CD: I just called my clinic to ask if TMC Level 4 will give us CD. The nurse said that they only give CD for the 3D scan later on. BUt not for detailed scan. How come TC Chang is so good?!

AMAZING MIRACLE ON MRT: Today a lady gave up her seat for me on the train during peak hour!!! And I didn't even think I looked that pregnant!!! I was so so grateful...and pleasantly shocked. There are CONSIDERATE ppl on this island afterall!

LC FAINTZ: THe Thermal Cooker is pretty amazing from what I hear from my friends who use it. Very cost efficient and easy to use!

hhee, xuanting: nope, i mean those LC uses to brew soup. Big big one

SarahMay: I just wonder if baby is growing at an astronomical rate?!!! I havent seen baby for 1 month
Maybe baby is really tall...

Is the Thermal Cooker really good? I dunno...I use slow cookers.

May I know where are you all buying your cots?

Hi, Flos

My baby bump is small, consider the fact that I am tall and bid sized..I gained abt 2kg + since pregnant till now (18 weeks).. could it be the food you eat? Tonic?

For peanuts, u can get from provision shops.. they sell big ones or u can get from some TCM hall..

sasa: I just read your horror story about the auntie! I had a nasty experience with an auntie today during lunch time too! I was Q-ing for food and then this auntie just conveniently sneak up from behind me to standing beside me and then ahead of me in the Q! My tummy pretty obvious today leh, I wearing tights and a maternity long top. She retended she's ahead of me lor. She made this hungry pregnant so pissed that I went up to the guy who was taking order and tell him I'm here b4 that auntie! Then that auntie, even though she ordered after me, can still squeeze me out of the Q again and bypass me and went to get a tray! I had to ask her to lift up her tray with chilli sauce so that I can take a tray beneath her stack of tray.

Sometimes I wonder what goes on the mind of these aunties. If they had given birth before, shouldn't they be more considerate to those who are pregnant now? Even if they had not given birth before, I'm very sure they have encountered friends or relatives who were pregnant before, and should empathise with them right? Anyway, it could all just boil down to the civil consciousness of Singaporeans, nothing to do with their gender.

LC...I'm now worried...the bump is really big. could it be water retention?????? but in the morning, it's not big...hmmm. they thought i'm 7 months!!!!

should be fine, Flos.. How many KG have you put on? water retention should not be so obvious at this stage ba.. is it really wat u eat? for me, my intake is the almost the same before pregnant, just that I now drink extra milk/ soya bean milk and eat a lot of fruits (eg today, i took one apple, half dragon fruit, half mango and ABC juices, not at one shot lar but after 3 meals)..Maybe that is y I din grow a lot.. but gynae asked me to exercise at least thrie a week..imagine all intake but no exercise??

Flos: I don't think its water retention, some bump are bigger than others. Like mine, not so obvious. Hopefully 5th mth it will pop out! Kekeke!

LC (faintz): My MIL will come & stay at our place to take care of smallberry. She is currently staying at my BIL's place taking care of his 4mth plus bb. So next time everyday my BIL will bring his bb over. Initially I thot I will bring my bb over so my MIL no need to stay at my pl cos I am afraid of conflicts but she didn't asked us & decide that she will stay at ou place cos both me & DH work till quite late. I also don't know how to reject... Haiz.. She treats me very well now & will come over & help me do housework when I had spotting the other time but I heard so many horror stories of MIL so abit scared! But the good thing is she will help us with the housework & stuffs. And cos I don't need to go work so early, I can help to take care of bb also.

I am also worried about increased of expenses after my MIL come over cos most likely we will need to cook dinner for both my BIL & SIL and also for their bb. Not to be so "ji jiao" but I am just worried... My DH told me not to think so much, am I thinking too much? Kekeke..Anyone knows the rough estimate cos now we are not cooking dinner at home.

Sa sa & Shazz: Aiyoo.. the auntie really horrible leh.. Haiz..

Maybe I will call clinic tomorrow & ask if TMC give CD for detailed scan if not I will bring my camera along.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mummies,

Im from march mummy, selling 1pkt Nepia NB diaper, used 4pcs left 56pcs asking for $13. Keen parties can sms me at 91466419. Due to cant fit my gal. Thanks.</font>

shazz
I can't stand people who cut queue.. it's already not excusable in the first place, not to mention for a preggie lady.

flos
Don't worry, gal. My tummy also looks small in the morning, but after meals &amp; by afternoon, it swells!

storeberry
You sound like you have a nice MIL.
Maybe if finances are a bit of a worry, maybe you can get your hubby to talk to his brother to chip in a bit for the meals.

SarahMay - My next checkup is coming up pretty soon, on 22nd Apr. :)

sasa de mouse, Jaline - I think I gave up. Not to say Aunties, even those Uncles and Sec kids do not give up seats for pregnant ladies. My blood pressure has been low before I get pregnant, now it's lower. Most of the times will get fainting spells in the morning. I tried waking up earlier to skip the morning train traffic. But the trains were still very packed. No one offered seats for me. Sometimes I needed to alight from the train because I felt dizzy and on the verge of blacking out. My husband always accompanied me. I feel very bad because I made him late for work. Now we are taking cab to the office in the mornings; only to take trains at the evening.

morning ladies ,
flos , dun worry about the bum la .. as long as friday doctor says bb is growing well .. who cares about bum .. keke.. u will enjoy carrying the bum around for the next 5 mths .. cos bb inside is more comfortable than when they are born .. keke
Storeberry ,
u have such good MIL .. shoudl feel blessed already .. extra expenses will come ...after bb .. anyway she is helping u means that u save on maid cost , caregiver cost which might be more .

<font color="119911">xuanting (xuanting) - I already signed up &amp; paid for the 1st portion of my package with Dr WK Tan - I didn't have to opt in for the detailed scan with CD. Was just told that it would be done by Dr TC Chang at week 20 &amp; no seperate pricing of $200 was mentioned....hopefully they won't charge me additional money cos her package is already not cheap!</font>

koras (koras), yap.. i was told to visit level 4 for the detailed scan in week 20 and i have booked appointment for review with dr khi after the detailed scan. I was told that the report will be given to me immediately after the scan.. i just need to bring it to her during my review appointment with her.. she will explain to me...

xuanting (xuanting), i'm in my week 18 now.. and yes, my oscar test is the 2 pages report.. i'm not sure abt the price for detailed scan alone.. i signed up a package (oscar + detailed scan) at $470+.. and yes, u can use FBI card to entitlted a 10% discount.

I still dunno why TMC level 4 doesn't give CD for detailed scan... Sigh. But I noticed that on the orange form my clinic gave me there is a package that you can take up for TMC LEvel 4 tt includes 3D imaging. Was told that for 3D scans can take back CD.

Bigtoes- You are doing detailed scan PLUS 3D scan? Is tt why you getting a CD? WK Tan is Zoe Tay's gynae right? Do you have to wait very long each time for your appt?

Looks my next appointment is going to be a half-day affair cos I've gotta be at TMC Level 4 at 9.30 for my 10am detailed scan. Then gynae appt at 11am.

Christine - So exciting!!! You will get to see more of your baby!

SPEAKING OF SCHOOK KIDS...Seriously, they can be worse than aunties! Yesterday, this girl from a reputable school in the East pushed her way past me to get onto the bus.

CYCLISTS...are also another BIG annoyance in my life in Tampines. Some MP here had the brilliant idea of allowing cyclists to cycle on the pedestrian pathways. Yday I almost got hit by an auntie 'tumpang-ing' her primary-school-aged kid on the bike as she swerved dangerous into the bus-stop. Then barely 5 mins later, I had to dodge out of the path into a tree cos of bicycles coming at me from BOTH directions. None of the cyclists signalled! Wah! So annoying! i'm still not an 'elephant' yet cos my baby bump is so small...but cannot imagine what would happen when I am bigger and less agile.

Storeberry: You've great in-laws...and rber Deut 28! You shall have no lack. So don't stress over the money. You have a good Daddy!

ANYONE WHO'S LOST WEIGHT IN 2nd TRI? Is there anyone of you who is losing weight still in this trimester? Just wondering...cos I did though I do eat.

Flos - I think fluid retention happens more around the joints like ankles, and feet, not so much your abdominal area. Anyway, your doc will usually check and inform you if you have it at every visit. Here's a link to an useful article abt its causes and simple prevention tips.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/swollenhandsandfeet/

SarahMay - Me! I do not eat much rice lately. Though so, my weight gain is pretty steady, about 0.8 to 0.9 kg every gyne visit.

I agree with you, cyclists are a terror on the pavements esp they don't sound you of your presence with a bell or something. You be careful alright?

<font color="119911">SarahMay (sarahmay) - honestly, i have no idea. All the nurse &amp; Dr Tan told me was that I will get a CD for my detailed scan, &amp; that includes a video clip of the baby (Cos i wanted to use my own digicam to take a video clip at the last visit). No mention of 3D imaging or additional cost involved.

And yes, Dr WK Tan is the gyne for Zoe Tay, Huang Bi Ren &amp; some others (I wasn't aware when I signed up with her). She has been my gyne for the last 1+ years (since my fibriod removal) &amp; is pretty experienced. Her stitching skills is also said to be the best (my 8cm fibriod scar can hardly be seen &amp; recovery was painless), which is impt to me cos i am going for a C-section. Wait time is about the same as everyone else in the clinics at TMC I suppose. I usually book the 5pm slot, leave office about 5, get there by 5.15pm, &amp; see her by 5.45pm. Only time i had to wait long was during my OSCAR when both her &amp; Dr TC Chang were called for surgery!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Omg.... i think it has become part &amp; parcel of life tat we will see such 'horrible' ppl around, be it aunties, uncles, school kids and even huge hunks!! Wonder if the govt would come up with a campaign like wat they did for 'Speak Mandarin', 'Courtesy'! mayb can forget it hor.. coz if the ppl were willing to be educated, they wouldnt even behave like this in the first place</font>

<font color="0000ff">Oh yes... ytd i rushed down to TMC for an urgent check. coz been feeling the tightening and hardening at my middle lower tummy (around the panty line area) daily and for a few times each day. Not so worried, juz tat coz it was in the middle, i needed an assurance as to wat was it.

Ended up, Dr Cheng told me to go in for a CTG monitoring for 1 hr.. wah.. i go there the nurses were so shock lor.. coz nobody does CTG on a 18-19weeker de. so early, they say cannot pick up anything de.

Anyway, i still did it for an hr.. heng no contractions were recorded. juz some tightening and abit of cramps which i couldnt feel. guess wat.. gynae told mi its gas again!!! faintz..

spent over $100 ytd coz unscheduled visit and had to pay for the CTG too... but managed to see bb... n it's really CONFIRMED i've got a boy. coz saw the 'birdie' a few times. Dr Cheng even commented bb was super active.. haha

So much for my worries.. anyway, can confirm, now we won't be able to feel bb kicks yet but prob will feel abit of fluttering and bubbles bursting which i have been feeling the past few week le... hehe</font>

hi flos,
i don't look pregnant at all in the morning. just look like i've eaten too much and am bloated. but once i've consumed food, i look like i'm six months pregnant. however, when i lie down, my tummy is relatively flat (but wobbly la). is that normal? i thought that by 14 weeks there should be some bump liao?

SarahMay,
i've been eating quite a bit recently too. but am not gaining in weight though i'm not losing either. however, it seems pretty clear that my arms are getting flabbier by the week...

poor you. gotta 'battle' for space with cyclists. here in woodlands, we have the same problem. and there are lotsssssss of china pple here. they do not hesitate to zoom by pedestrains at great speeds. In fact, there was one time when i was crossing the road at the traffic junction and this stupid person was riding on his bicyle and getting all shaky coz a lot of pple were crossing the road, he became unstable and knocked into me such that i fell in the middle of the road. and at that time, i was with my two year old son. luckily it had been me who had fallen. if it had been my son, i'd have 'murdered' him liao.

sasa de mouse,
it must have been painful to spend the amount. but at least you have a peace of mind. i've also been having a lot of bubbling feeling. hope i can feel bb kicks soon. such a wonderful feeling.

i just wanna ask those who had gone for previous csec deliveries. when you cough and sneeze now, do you get a pain near the wound still? recently when i cough and sneeze especially, my insides hurt so much it's like everything's twisted...

Hi alabone,

I am the same as you, i.e. my tummy is wobbly and relatively flat when i lie down. I can only feel more of a hard bump, though a small one, near my pubic zone. Not too sure if it's normal, but I rationalised that the reason why I can't see or feel a significant bump is because the bump is growing amidst my tummy fats! :p I am 16 weeks along.

I had c-section before, no pain near wound leh.. but the wound area is starting to itch recently... not sure if because it's being stretched?

Bumps
Not to worry ladies, now I don't even have to wait long and I get a seat already...people will give up once you are obviously preg. I know we always think we look huge, but to others, it's probably touch and go and they don't wanna risk humiliating themselves and us if they ask a non-preg woman to sit.

For now, if I am not v. tired, I will accept any seats offered but I will still give up my seat to an older person or a person who looks like they need it more than me...

Flos
If you were chubbier before preg, chances are bump will be bigger cos fats don't disappear, just get pushed up...don't worry about it too much...just smile and enjoy the attention!

sasa,
are you taking foods that produce a lot of gas? some vegs and stuff cause more gas than other foods...try googling and see if u can change your diet a little to avoid producing too much gas...BTW, yoga and swimming will help get the gas out...

Goldfish
You asked a few days back if I stay at Bishan. I stay at potong pasir and bishan is just a 5-10 min drive away..so easy for us to go there for swimming.

Hi alabone,

I had c-sect for my first one abt 18 mths ago, so far now cough or sneeze no pain. Same as RXmom, the wound area get itchy nowadays, maybe due to expanding tummy i guess...

hi flo n alabone,
i am same as you gals too..tummy wobbly in the morning, it turn hard and protruding in the nite..i am gg into week 19 i think...lost track

i get swollen feet n toes in the morning and evening..cant even wear my shoes though i bought them one size bigger already...anyone like me?

anyone still pee 2-3 times at nite?

<font color="0000ff">Ava
hhmm... not tat i notice leh.. but anyway, gynae did tell mi to restrict taking onions, garlic, beannie stuff... basically things tat produce alot of gas lor...

but u noe.. till now.. i still dun believe tat the gas can cause all this uncomfort!!! hhhmm... swimming?? i would love to go back to swimming.. but den i really feel so shy esp with the bump now.. n all the stretchmarks on my thigh.. some more.. my leg is full of scars leh.. coz of my eczema...</font>

bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - I had 'hard' toes once as well...quite weird, but no obvious swelling visually &amp; still comfy in my regular shoes. Just need to keep your feet elevated, and the swelling from fluid retention will dissipate.

LC: You certainly eat a lot of fruits. I only take one portion. Like yesterday, I had:
Breakfast: 2 buns and glass of milk
Brunch in office: one muesli bar
Lunch: Ipoh Horfun (upsize with leafy veggies, charsiew, mushrooms and 2 prawns), cup milk tea from Ya Kun
Dinner: Swensons Lamb Chops, one Large apple, sugarless soya bean milk
Supper: one bun and water

I've put on 5 kgs! I make sure I eat normally and drink milk daily (alternate Enfamama and fresh milk to cut down weight).

I dunno if it's cos I've wide hips, so the bump looks especially big;)

storeberry/Mei/Qiuling: ok, I'll not bother about what they say lah...Perhaps it was the dress I was wearing. When I tie the ribbons behind my back, it tugs at the bustline, causing the tummy area to thrust outwards.

LC,
the magic cooker that u talking about i think my mil just bought too leh.. thought it was good.. though it was amazing not to use electric and yet soup still can keep warm and cook... hahaha.. she just bought in OG one.. think about $69.9?
Sasa,
Are u ok??? no wonder yesterday suddenly u not around.. so went to see doc ah... ok lah... at least doc confirm nothing much than dun have to worry lor...
Christine,
so good.. u only put on so little.. think everytime i go at lest 1kg... trying to control.. coz the last pregnancy i put on a total of 16kg...hmm.. as of the first check up for this 2nd bb.. i already put on.. 4.5kg.. eehh.. think some go to my boobs lah.. kekeke..

flos,
i put on 6 kgs since preggie. my appetite is super..

breakfast: 1 slice of bread and fried beehoon + milo
Lunch: rice or noodle
teabreak: pastries, sometimes kueh
dinner: rice, veg, meat and soup + apple
supper: milo

in between, i would eat bread or nuts and fruits, soyabean milk etc..

i dont take formulated milk, only fresh milk (low fat).

my arms, butt all look huge!

bacon&amp;egg
Try not to drink too much water during the night cos during the last pregancy i had terrible swelling ankle n feet (really look like an elephant legs), can't really squat or wear my pants properly (need to sit down when wear pants or shorts), when i sleep i need to put my feets up to prevent swelling during the last trimester... terrible feeling

sasa
don't be shy about body and "flaws"...frankly don't think anyone notices...wear bicycle tights to hide stretch marks and stretchy tank over bikini top to hide bump... or go when less ppl.

Hi Christine:
I'm also taking cabs in the morning, and MRT in the evenings. I cannot be half-awake in the mornings and standing from Punggol to Tg Pagar.

Storeberry: I don't think the expenses will go up very much cos old folks dun eat that much and if you hv a car, they can tongpang u...otherwise, they travel using senior citizen MRT pass.

Sarah May: thanks for the useful link! I think it's what Ava said, it's cos I was already pretty chubby prior to pregnancy. Maybe there were already some fat deposits around my waist that I didn't realise?!!! kekekek!!

Alabone/RXmum/bacon&amp;eggs: thanks for the assurance...guess i shdn't worry that much...

sasa de mouse: you gals have gas? I'm suffering from constipation! I wonder if it's cos I only take one portion of fruit per day?

Big toes: So your gynae is a celebrity's gynae!!! Usually female gynaes are very good with stitching...

Sasa de mouse: You're seeing Dr Cheng too. Have u heard about his stitching skills???? I might consider c-section cos I want to pick a good date.

bacon&amp;eggs:

I'm surprised you don't take Bacon &amp; eggs in the morning! those are my fav!!!! WAHAHAHH!!!!

jaline,
u r rite, i cant squat or sit down on the floor crossing legs..the leg feels numb and squashed..
i thot its too early to get swelling..but i got them...my fingers also turn hard in the morning..

Jaline:

Don't drink too much water at night? Hey I am suffering from constipation...It helps when I down a glass of water!!!

bacon&amp; eggs: Nope, I don't pee as much as before in Tri 2 now. I think it's normal cos the womb has moved upward away from the bladder I heard...

bacon&amp;eggs: agree about the swelling part, cos I stop wearing my wedding band liao.

OIC, I also stop taking those Korean hot-stone rice with raw eggs, and those Japanese teriyaki or unagi egg rice cos of the raw eggs.

When the nasi lemak stall guy gives me the runny egg, I would only slice off the egg white portion to eat.

I also dun take Ya kun half-boiled eggs anymore.

I had bacon &amp; eggs for brekkie yesterday (at hm) and maybe again tomorrow! I had that almost everyday when I was in Australia in Dec...when I was a few weeks preg only! yum!

Lamb chops...double yum!!!! Yay, going for lunch in half hour!!!

Flos
If u dun encounter swelling legs then good for u. I was told not to have too much when i kanna my swelling legs...

I had half-boiled eggs during weekends as my mum told me it's good for me. So far i m quite ok with it.

bacon&amp;egg
are u having a princess?
Anyone having a swollen nose? Or rather a nose that looks red for no reason.

Ava
Aiyo... u eat lamb chop? Everyone told me not to eat lamb for fear of "yang tian feng"... think u shd eat too much

I put on 3 kg since preggy and doc ask me to go exercise cos he says by 5 mths increase 3kg is the normal. My rate of 3kg at 4 mths is too fast

<font color="0000ff">Flos
yes yes... i've got abit of constipation. on-off lah.. certain days ok. certain days.. wah.. terrible.. muz squeeze leh..

yeap. i'm seeing Dr LC Cheng too.. rem the last time i told u.. hehe.. i finally got kaki same gynae as me le. ytd he charge me $70 for unscheduled visit leh... not sure abt his stitching skills wor.. but should be good.. coz didnt hear any complaints abt it

Ava
haha... think its in-born lah.. guess i muz get past this psychological barrier den i'll feel ok.. even now.. i feel kinda self-conscious whenever i wear skirts / dresses

Momoko
yea yeap.. i'm ok.. hehe.. ya lor. coz the nurse tell mi.. if wanna go down den gotta go immediately le.. coz kinda late. was actually still tinking of going today leh.. but since hb insisted on going ytd.. den juz go lor.. for peace of mind lah..

see bb moving around so actively.. i oso relieve lor</font>

Thanks mummies fot your kind response. Yes, sarah, GOD will provide &amp; I will not lack!! Must knock my sense into me when I think too much! Kekeke...

Bacon &amp; egg: I still pee in the night but only once but still disruptive to my sleep.

Sasa: glad that everything is fine for you! BB is active &amp; its great news!

Below is what I have read from Asian Child care book:

On average, women gain about 10-12kg during pregnancy. In the 1st few mths may be slower but from 20th week onwards, the weight gain is faster, with a steady gain of about half a kilo a week. The most rapid is between wks 24-32. An example of the weight is distributed:

Baby 3kg
Placenta 1kg
Amniotic fluid 1kg
Womb 1kg
Breast 1kg
Blood 2kg
Mother's body fats 2kg
--------------------------
Total 11kg!

Old ppls were saying if u have swollen legs during yr pregancy meaning ur baby is a girl. So far quite true for me for the first one. Not sure if goes same to the rest...

Mrs Yap
I have red nose like Rudolph now

koras
for my previous case it started when i m on my third trimester, initially didn't really noticed. Until i outgrown my shoes size and my skin ard ankle feel tight.