hi Flos, no lah..Justin Quek not my hb, he's too old for me,haha! Anyway Justin Quek alrdy left Les Amis for almost 4yrs liao. My hb is Chef Pang lah.
http://www.canele.com.sg/chef.htm
Hav u tried Laduree's macarons in Paris? Cos i tried the ones frm London Harrod's and it was disappointing!! The ones frm Paris are way nicer! When I was in PAris with hb, we went CRAZY..everyday was 'shopping' for desserts!! Imagine every shop we went we bot different sizes of watever packaging they have..we end up wif so many bags tat we've to offload them at the htl before we continue our 'quest'..haha! Even Laduree candles also buy!! The 'damage' was abt EU$2K!!! For a while I wish tat those were bags of LV/Dior/Chanel!!
But my favourite is Pierre Herme's creations..If Laduree is Mother of Macarons then PH is the Father of Macarons hehe..
www.pierreherme.com
He's soooo big in Paris & tokyo that there's a Macaron Day in Paris,can u imagine tat??? By the way the master will be in s'pore nxt mth for World Gourmet Summit, this event is making my galfriends excited,haha.
Anyway go paris sure siao...cos endless list of really famous patisseries.. La Maison Du Chocolate-their pralines outta of the world..we were in their shop when it started raining, so to 'protect' our precious purchase, they actually have a 'raincoat' packaging!! The boxes are placed in a beautiful paper bag tied with ribbons(ala Prada) then another plastic bag with snap buttons goes over it!! Fully protected frm rain!!
oh ya, the purplish macaron in pic not TARO la,dear... it's Violette(violet flower) Actually hor,ALL the macarons in Laduree are MACHINE MADE not handmade...cos if each of them is handpiped...then Laduree will sell nothing but macarons liao!! Imagine the volume of macarons Laduree sells,it's impossible for them to be handmade. The inconsistency of size in Canele was bcos they were hand piped individually...but hope that will be a problem in the past cos my hb said he juz ordered a machine which pipes out macaron shells..so we shall wait and see?