(2008/09) Sep 2008

storeberry
Me too...don't like sweets now and I have a major sweet tooth usually. Now ther slightest sweet thing makes my mouth taste sourish...yuck.

JJParents
To post pic, click on the button on the bottom right after the box where u input text called "upload Attachment" and just browse and upload from there. Ther are size restrictions: 500 x500 px I think and not more than 50KB if i'm not wrong.

Oh gosh, all these talk on food is giving me cravings.

I am starting to feel less tired & more energised now.. it's a great feeling. I guess that's why they say the 2nd trimester is the best period of a pregnancy. Plus, I'm now so addicted to the online Viwawa game, I play every night until 1am.. Gosh.. lol.

Aiyooh.. I ate too many macarons and tortilla chips in salsa sauce, woke up with a slight sore throat..

Ava, Storeberry: I'm the opp leh. Particularly like sweet stuff now. I didn't use to have a sweet tooth.

Oh my! The macaroons like super yummy! I think Bakerzin quality kind of dropped over the years. Canele is really yum! The sour cherry tart there is super! Not too sweet and just the right tartness.

Reading about how each of you are having different cravings make me feel less guilty about my eating. Yday was like my junk food day. All three meals I ate out....and I even had a Mos burger with fries tho I have been coughing like for 3 weeks! hehe

hi sarah, i love mos burger - unagi burger with corn soup and fries!!

know that salmon and cod fish are good for bb but i dont like the smell...is unagi a good substitute? any mtb knows?

<font color="0000ff">Ying Ling
Congrats on the good news!! Really heave a sigh of relief.. do take care of urself k

bbmouse
u going for OSCAR today mah?? good luck &amp; have fun!!!

wah... all the talk about food really tempting.. luckily i had my breakfast le.. else think i faint from hunger

ladies... try not to take too heaty food like milo, fries, chips etc. March alone i fall sick twice to flu &amp; cough... B4 i am preggy, i probably have flu once a year only. I dare not take medicine this time round... Feeling v bad and guilty if i were to harm my baby in anyway. Been drinking lots of water. I read in the web that pregnant woman who are more than 3 mths preggy are most prone to Flu attack... so take care.

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Yap
Thanks for ur reminder
but i really love fries &amp; chips now.. haha... n i can't take white milk.. so have to settle for milo or choco milk.. both are equally as heaty i guess..

some more my hb is down with a flu virus.. got fever wor.. i'm praying hard i dun get it.. coz i oso heard preggy women have low immunity</font>

Mrs Yap
I am coughing badly now....in the end I had to go get medicine from doctor cos it was getting really bad. Heard stories of water bags bursting from severe coughing etc...

<font color="0000ff">bacon &amp; egg
hhhmm.. think milo got abit of caffeine ah... even choco milk oso wor... but 2 cups a day is ok lah... everything in moderation.. remember?? hehe

i oso take abt 2 cups of milo / choco milk daily.

high-5...
which brand do u take?? i no $$ to buy fresh milk de wor.. haha... so in the end have to settle for magnolia or dutch lady lor.. would prefer dutch lady.. more chocolatey!!

sasa,
do take care ya? my hubby down with stomach flu I think. Think maybe the past few days I didn't feel well also cos of him la..
maybe we pass to each other. hehe
The flu virus seems to be spreading around.

hi Flos, no lah..Justin Quek not my hb, he's too old for me,haha! Anyway Justin Quek alrdy left Les Amis for almost 4yrs liao. My hb is Chef Pang lah. http://www.canele.com.sg/chef.htm

Hav u tried Laduree's macarons in Paris? Cos i tried the ones frm London Harrod's and it was disappointing!! The ones frm Paris are way nicer! When I was in PAris with hb, we went CRAZY..everyday was 'shopping' for desserts!! Imagine every shop we went we bot different sizes of watever packaging they have..we end up wif so many bags tat we've to offload them at the htl before we continue our 'quest'..haha! Even Laduree candles also buy!! The 'damage' was abt EU$2K!!! For a while I wish tat those were bags of LV/Dior/Chanel!!

But my favourite is Pierre Herme's creations..If Laduree is Mother of Macarons then PH is the Father of Macarons hehe.. www.pierreherme.com
He's soooo big in Paris &amp; tokyo that there's a Macaron Day in Paris,can u imagine tat??? By the way the master will be in s'pore nxt mth for World Gourmet Summit, this event is making my galfriends excited,haha.

Anyway go paris sure siao...cos endless list of really famous patisseries.. La Maison Du Chocolate-their pralines outta of the world..we were in their shop when it started raining, so to 'protect' our precious purchase, they actually have a 'raincoat' packaging!! The boxes are placed in a beautiful paper bag tied with ribbons(ala Prada) then another plastic bag with snap buttons goes over it!! Fully protected frm rain!!

oh ya, the purplish macaron in pic not TARO la,dear... it's Violette(violet flower) Actually hor,ALL the macarons in Laduree are MACHINE MADE not handmade...cos if each of them is handpiped...then Laduree will sell nothing but macarons liao!! Imagine the volume of macarons Laduree sells,it's impossible for them to be handmade. The inconsistency of size in Canele was bcos they were hand piped individually...but hope that will be a problem in the past cos my hb said he juz ordered a machine which pipes out macaron shells..so we shall wait and see?

<font color="0000ff">Valnsw
*waves good morning!!! ya lor.. praying hard i dun get it too.. aiyoh....

ya.. u might have gotten the stomach flu bug from ur hubby leh.. coz u mentioned ur tummy not feeling well ah. hope u feeling better now. u muz take care too k. it muz be the weather!!!</font>

Bacon&amp;egg: I'm going to chiong down to Mos burger for lunch liao. Love the corn soup too! yummy yummy..

I used to alwasy order the musscles when I eat there, then now cannot liao..

Sasa: Thanks for remembering. Hope to have good news to share later. Appt is in the afternoon.

Sunrays: Even if your hubby is not justin quek, you will still get to eat the cusines. *envy* Dunno why I have cravings for ang moh food this pregnancy leh.. Particularly like the olive and salt mix taste..

sunrays
Waaaah everything sounds and looks yummy...*jealous* I must go and try...I admit to being a macaron suakoo/virgin... I am also a macaroon virgin...didn't know they were different till I checked them out on Wikipedia!!

Ava - Hope you recover soon! I have been coughing too, for like 3+weeks. First started as sorethroat, then become cough. Was on verge of recovering already then relapse last Thurs. Couldn't take it so went to doc who gave me antibiotics. Just finished antibiotics but coughing still. Sian! I spent like 200 bucks on bottles of Manuka Honey from Nature's Farm yday. HOpe the Manuka Honey will banish my cough and keep the flu away! I super-kiasu bought the highest UMF Manuka Honey they had.... Also haven't been eating chicken and eggs cos my TMC friend says will make it worse.

There is a flu bug going around again. I read that preggies in 2nd and 3rd trimester shd take flu jab. So those who are well here might want to consider tt. Tt is the first thing I will remember to do when I recover.

Good health to all of us mummies here!

<font color="0000ff">bbmouse
rem to update us on the good news after ur appt k... btw.. i oso like mussels leh.. but now i dun dare to eat.. unless muz tell the chef to ensure its cooked!!!

Ava
haha.. i'm a macaroon sua-ku too!!!! muz take care of urself k.. dun cough too hard.

SarahMay
hope the honey works for u

Can take flu jab meh?? tot cannot leh... anyway, my flu jabs have always been given by my mum (she's a nurse so she brot back the jabs). but seems like after i got preggy.. she nvr insisted that i take any of those jabs le..

hey bbmouse... i dun really eat gourmet food even if my hb is a chef lah, cos honestly food scene in SG not very exciting!! i also prefer ang moh food leh...or junk food also can,haha.. Cannot stand eating white rice,dunno why...I juz told Sasa later i going to eat carl's jnr...she drooling liao,hehe...

Ava...first time i tried a macaron when i juz knew my hb, I HATED it!! Too sweet for me...i was still thinking-how can anyone eat smthing so sweet?! Think it's an accquired taste..only bcos of this pregnancy,i picked it up again...before i was preggie i dun have a sweet tooth wor... think my bb gal inside likes sweet stuff, hehe.

Good morning mommies (&amp; one daddy) - wow, so much chatter about food!

Btw, we went to check out Baby Kingdom and Baby Hypermart at Kaki Bukit yesterday after work. Their outlets are quite dingy, but I suppose prices are more competitive. Shortlisted a baby carrier (Lascal), car seat (Safe &amp; Sound) &amp; a stroller (Combi). Baby stuff are overpriced! The car seat itself is already $599. Anyway, won't get anything yet till the GSS rolls around.

Ava - saw the dark wood cot at Baby Kingdom - its very practical (can convert to a low toddler bed), but quite plain looking.
Will continue scouting other non-conventional baby places or get a customized one from a furniture shop at Dempsey.

<font color="0000ff">Sunrays
wah.... all this talk abt Carl's Jnr is really making me drool leh... esp the Portobello Mushroom burger..

hey hey.. me too.. i can't stand rice.. if i have a choice.. i would rather eat fries!!!</font>

sasa, i take HL low fat choc milk..alot of my colleagues told me to stay away from full cream and formulated milk cos put on weight fast..and i am quite plumpy already
plus i take calcium pill daily..so low fat milk is good enough for me..

bbmouse, i think i will eat mos burger later too...
i like japanese food...esp those with terayaki sauce..

bbmouse
my hb is a WORKAHOLIC...always working,working and working...i can't blame him cos he's running the whole show....always have to think of menus, have to manage all his staff, even interior design of the shops he also interfere..then pricing also he decide...he basically micro-manage everything...poor thing whr got time to cook at home?? I think he'll wish I cook tho...haha but I dun like the kitchen lor...only knw how to eat,hehe..

Sunrays: I see.. If my hubby is a cook, I imagine him in the dry kitchen cooking something up for us every meal.. Yummy yummy.. Hee hee.. *get back to reality, my hubby is not a cook and he doesn't even know how to cook*

for mommies with persistent cough, can try to double-boiling those light brown pears (huge ones) with rock sugar... supposed to help nourish the lungs and get rid of cough..

Hi, Sasa, was told my mum that there is a substance in it which is not gd for our body system,it will be harmful if taken in too much.
So she keep remind me not to eat spinach since i'm pregnant. She say not gd to me, specially the baby. Otherwise, she got no comment of what i eat. also ask me to eat a lot of fish, since i can't take in daily products too much.

Hi Bigtoes
What times does the baby kingdom &amp; hypermart closed? Do they open on weekends? I want to go last sunday, but my HB say they where got open on sunday, he say kaki bukit on sunday is like a dead city. Search internet, they don't have a website.

Jasmine
Baby Kingdom &amp; Hypermart are open on Sundays and even public hols.

Bigtoes
Just dress up the plain cot with nice bedsheets...and once u hang a mobile on the ledge and have your cute baby inside...voila! You won't be looking at the plainess anymore!!!

<font color="0000ff">bacon&amp;egg
ooohh.. ic ic
btw, thanks for the suggestion on pears.. but would it be better if we juz eat it like tat? *juz wondering*

Jasmine Yeo
oohh... like tat ah.. aiyoh.. i juz ate it last nite onli.. haha. nvm lah.. heng i didnt take alot oso...

yes yes.. i tried searching for baby kingdom &amp; hypermart webbie.. cannot find oso

Ava
Thanks.. will drop by soon to take a look.. hopefully the staff there are not like those at furniture shops hor... who will follow u all around, wherever u go!!!</font>

Jasmine
The harmful food - were u referring to unagi? I've heard that too, even for non-preggies, should not take too much. Think the basis for that is that eels are bottom feeders (a lot of mud in their system)...

sasa
kaki bukit stores: They may ask u to buy this and that, but not so pushy util cannot tahan...can still smile at them and say...still looking and then leave shop.

bacon&amp;egg, for salmon, you can fry it until it turns golden brown, then pour over some mushroom sauce for flavouring. simmer it with low fire for a few mins and the fishy smell will be gone. and the mushroom suace will make the fish tastier.

i ate this twice a week on top of the DHA i took daily, and my elder girl is now so chatty n eager to learn! and her memory is superb i must say.

i've started on DHA capsules this week.

all the chatter on food makes me hungry liao... my colleagues are ordering pizzas for lunch, hopefully the delivery wont take too long.. =P

Mrs Yap, Ava &amp; Sasa: I am down with flus &amp; cough the 2nd time in a mth liao... Think I caught it from my nephew.. Haiz.. But not taking medication now, will drink more water &amp; wait for it to be healed. But my frens says if we are sick also gd cos bb will have antibodies...

Sunrays: Oh your DH is Chef Pang? He appear on TV before.. Keke.. Its good to have a hubby that knows how to make cakes &amp; desserts.. Yummy!

Ava: I am also a a macaron and macaroon virgin.. kekeke..

I thot spinach is good, my MIL &amp; SIL says its "bu" blood...

sasa - they close at 9pm weeknites (i think there is a website - at least for Baby Kingdom - they lady sent me a photo of their cot before I went down &amp; listed their opening hours etc). They aren't pushy at all, very friendly and accomodating in fact! Just that the shops are abit old (and some stocks in Baby Hypermart look kinda dusty).

aloevera (loever)- am also on DHA, ever since I found out i was preggers in January. I think my hubby's worry is that our baby will end up TOO chatty! According to my mum, my sisters &amp; I all started talking before 1, &amp; my nephews &amp; niece likewise...hubby thinks that little kids should be seen, and not heard!

Baby Kingdom/Hypermart
Oh yeah, when u go to these shops, don't let the dilapidated baby stuff outside the stores distract you either....those are displays to tell people where the shops are, and they are just left in the sun and rain so they really look like been thru WWII or something... :D

<font color="0000ff">Ava
aiyoh.. i dun like these kind of salesperson leh. would rather they leave mi alone to see for myself.. :p

Storeberry
aiyoh.. u muz take care hor.. tat day see u still ok leh.. drink more water ya..

Bigtoes
wah... realli ah... hhmm... but guess as long as they deliver new &amp; clean stocks, should be ok lah. think their prices are quite reasonable rite...</font>

I just had mos burger terriyaki burger, fries, corn soup and orange juice. And 2 slices of juicy water melon. Yummy yummy.. But I puked some stuff out liao. So in actual fact, only a fraction gets into the body for baby.

Ava... wow, waterbag bursting from cough?? U are scaring me to death liao... I bought starfruit Juice to drink... hopefulli will have good effect.

Storeberry... u also having cough n flu ah?? Same as me lor... 2nd time in a month liao... U sure bb will have anti-bodies if we sick? Pros more than cons? I also kenna the virus from little cousin... Hopefully will not affect baby.

Mrs Yap: Yah lo, we same same... I had just recovered then kena again... Thats what my frens say, I am also not sure. I think our bb will be strong &amp; healthy cos mammas is protecting them! Kekeke!

Storeberry... i feel so sorry i haven been taking care of bb... i dunno what i did which makes myself fall sick so easily.
Can u feel yr baby kick yet?
Btw i realised my MS gone le... haven been hitting my chest to ease the nausea feeling for 3 days liao... Hopefully its gone for good
My appetite is huge despite the Flu... been having Lunch with Carine_Ezki for past 2 days and she was shocked tat i can wipe out the huge portion of food on my plate... keke

bbmouse, i puked too last night. kind of sian with this already. every time i throw something up, i'll be less inclined to eat it next time. i really can't wait for this to go away. am in wk 14 already!