(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hello L'L CY and Aloe Vera..Thanks alot...

I just kanchiong only..hahaa...
My Wife nw busy studying so i m more active in the forum nw...haha...

Actually my wife seldom travel alone.. Most of the time we will be together, so heavy or light stroller doesnt matter... I do all the carrying...hahaa

What most impt is the baby comfort and off course the stroller muz look good...

So far only saw Aprica and Combi... will head down to baby fair this weekend at the expo to hunt for more stuff

Hi sasa,

Thought I pop by to say hi. I finally decided to register. hehe. In case you're wondering who I am, I met you last Sunday ;)

Saw your post about the discharge. Don't worry about it unless there's spotting. I also have the discharge. Just that mine sometimes got smell. Told my gynae alrdy but she said prob will see if it's that serious towards the end of the 3rd trimester...

jjparent

wow, didnt know you are daddy!!!im impressed!!!so sweet of you to be here on behalf of your wife...if weight isnt an issue, then can consider maclaren or peg preggo...

there is a range of maclaren with the front bar (most maclarens dont), you can consider getting that...

<font color="0000ff">StayHappy
Welcome!!

Ying Ling
aiyoh... i understand wat u r going thru now.. coz i often get infections too.. so did ur gynae give u any med to insert to clear the infection? try eating yoghurt. it helps.. at least for me lah..

Millie
hehe.. i should be in my wk 16 le..

Valnsw
Hi val... hehe.. u noe.. for a moment.. i juz forgot who i met on Sunday.. wahahaha
Welcome to our little thread anyway!! hehe.. i wasnt so afraid of the discharge lah.. unless i see red *touchwood*, hehe, juz tat i wanted to see if there was a link between walking fast and discharge lor. coz so far i observed it twice happening like tat le..

hhmm... think last tri they will do a V swab bah.. to test for Strep B infection which is harmful to bb when bb passes thru the birth canal..

Anyway, nice meeting u tat day!! Cheers!!

L'L CY

hmmm will take it look at it... Most likely would get 2 strollers....

Think i am just 1 kanchiong daddy who juz wanna find out more...

Hi gals..
just wanna say "hi" even it so late now.. wow.. got a hard time trying to catch up wat u gals have to say man..

JJparents,
Warm welcome to u.. you must be one of those sensative new age guy yeah.. hahaha... young daddy>>?? kekeke
oh.. for pram.. i'm using Combi.. i bought it becoz it's light-weight and my buddy gf having the same model too.. kekeke.. tat's gals..

StayHappy: Yah like what Mrs Yap said, we had spotting from the time we know we are preggy &amp; my spotting stop at week 13th. But I am still taking hormone tablets, Dr say just in case..

bbmouse: Yes, mine is a boy.. So excited to know the gender!! Update us yah? Actually I have more ideas for gal's name, boy's name like not so much to choose from...

Mrs Yap: Any webby for Christian / Hebrew name for bb boy?

Jasmine Yeo: I am not sure why she stayed for 6 days, she might have some pain that's why but $10K is alot of money!! And bb had jaundice &amp; fever so stay in hospital for 2 days &amp; costs about $2,000...

lost track le...can tell me who ordering the Neurogain Plus and how much it is per bottle? Thnks thnks! :p

spotting
i had a bit of spotting for a while, then it stopped after i took medicine (duphaston).

well, technically i should be hoping for a girl coz we always wanted a girl anyway. in fact, i was so disappointed when the sonogrpaher told me it was a boy that i nearly cried...so silly of me then...but now, looking at the amount of boy's things i bought at home, toys (lotsa cars, engineering stuff, clothes from ON and RL(his entire wardrobe), thought if get another boy more 'worth it'....the clothes all so new...wasted if the next one cannot wear.

if it's a girl, im going to eat air and drink rain water everyday liaoz...

jjparents
get one first, then try it on your newborn, by then you will have better idea what your bb likes or dun like.

Yvonne (mrsgan) &amp; other mommies - Are u all going to sign up for CordLife at the Expo Baby Fair this weekend for the $300 discount? Wondering if its too early, but not sure if they will have another promo before Sept!

Millie (millie22) - am in week 15 now, how about u? Baby bump has grown abit the last few days
Have to take an update photo soon.

Hey Ladies
I went for my gynea checkup on tuesday. Thot can see gender bt alas, the baby was swimming upside down. Cannot see anyting. Sianz

I am into my 15th weeks and i asked doc abt the blood test and told me that i can opt for the triple test wor. Bt told me that the accuracy for Down Syndrome is not high. And in the event the risk is high, most parents will opt to do Amino to ease their anxiety bt Amino is not safe. Tend to miscarriage in 1:200! Wow.. i din know so jialut one leh :S In e end, i din do wor.. bt will do the standard blood test 1 mth later together with detailed scan. Anyone does detailed scan so far? Able to deduce most of the abnormalities through detailed scan?

Anyone has a high sugar content in their urine? Mine is lo.. the gynea pre-warned me that bt told me not to worry too much bt i still freak out. Cannot tahan if i turn diabetic

storeberry (storeberry) - 10k is very ex for a govt hospital! A friend of mine was worse - she had twins last year, but had placenta previa, so needed bed rest from month 6 onwards &amp; ended up having them prematurely thru C-section. The babies were 1+kg each, so they had to stay in Mt E for 1+ months. Think the final bill was $30+k, and she is a foreigner, so no medisave and such! But all worth it, the babies are so cute and chubby now!

sasa,
Yup, sometimes i also notice an increase in discharge or the discharge becomes more fluid when i walk more or quicker, especially when i go shopping.

anyway, thanks for helping me get the stuff!

BTW have added you to my msn but most likely online at night.hehe

lilboymum
i find it ok. Mebbe cos i dun travel by bus or mrt. But i did use on mrt before on my own and found it ok too but that's cos the mrt near my in-laws place. If still have to take bus to the mrt stn i confirm cannot make it with the maclaren techno!

My pet peeve is that it got no front handlebar and the net basket is kinda useless. Almost impossible to take my things when my girl is sleeping and seat is fully reclined!
Is it? Now Maclaren got front handlebars? So good! Is it the three wheeler one where can attach car seat?

I like peg perego very much too. But too bad it is more ex and most imptly, once it is closed i got pblm lifting it up. Too heavy!!!

I am impressed by the light weight of combi and how easy it is to open and close, but it is too small for my liking. I put my 18mth girl in to show my SIL who was preggy what a real kid looks like inside and it was so cramped! And i have a personal pref for stronger and sturdier european brands.
I also dun like aprica, graco n quinny cos I dun like their design. Esp the quinny. Too rugged for me and I dun like the colours it comes in. But that's just my personal bias! =p Hee...

Bigtoes, i planned to go down on friday to check it up.. but dont think i will signed.. cos i think it is still too early... now in the stage of doing my research... My friend told me to check with our gynae, some of them has ties with the cordlife or steamcord bank, and will also entitled to some discount.. she signed up hers thru her gynae and entilted $300 discount with steamcord.

Btw, anyone knows if to get baby stuffs at baby fair will be cheaper or during great singapore sales???

Goldfish, how old are you now? If above 35, better just to do the Amino test... I did the OSCAR test which cost almost S$400... just to prove that my chance of getting a down syndrome baby is 1 in 49... in the end, still have to do the Amino test to confirm.. will be doing on Monday... the miscarriage from what I know is not so low... about 0.3%... and in your 15 weeks, might be a bit too late to do the OSCAR test...

but if you intend to keep even a down syndrome baby, then no point doing any test in the first place... unless you want to have the option...

Mrs Yap: Yah lor, came back to work yesterday. Hope will be able to remain at work and not be on MC again. When is your gynae visit again? Must update the gender.

Storeberry: Will update when I know the gender. But won't be so soon leh. At which week did you know the gender?

Good luck to all MTBs...

I love combi cos of the soft colours they use...very comfortable to look at..

Thanks L'L CY will get 1 stroller first n c how...hahaa..Actually its the parents and nth to do with the baby...
We grow up in some ulu brand strollers too...
Its us parents that wants the very best for our kids thats all...hahaa

Yvonne... its Stemcord, not Steamcord...keke...
When i read wat u post, i can imagine someone steaming the cord... yucky... esp now i still nauseous... hahaha

BBmouse.. i will be seeing my gynae on 7 April when i am week 16... so long wait siah... Hopefully can confirm the gender 100% liao...

BTW... anyone less then 30 yrs old and have high risk result from Oscar scan. I am not able to do my Oscar and i am still worried until now.

isabelle.
the maclaren with front bar quite ex still, not sure if it is the modular system one. but think around $800plus.qutie nice looking though but not sure weight lah. a mummy was selling hers second hand online..saw it and thought it looked very good....

Storyberry, u can check for Bible/ Hebrew names from Yahoo search engine. Some names for boys v nice eg
Aaron, Abel, Amos, Jonathan, Josiah, Jeremiah, Cephas, Joshua, Joel, Isaiah, Isaac, Thaddeus, Timothy, Titus, Benjamin, Joseph, Elijah, Samuel, Daniel, Rufus, Gaius, Ehud, Enoch, Emmanuel, Matthias, Matthew, Zachary... these are jus some examples of names of kids in my church

bbmouse, talk to yr bb for cooperation... keke
My baby is cooperative but i blame myself for not having a bladder full enuff for a v clear scan

Mrs Yap: Why need a full bladder for the scan? The first thing I do is clear my bladder and do the urine strip test everytime I go to the gynae leh.

bbmouse cos if yr bladder is full, it will push yr uterus up n the doc will have a better view of yr Baby
Everytime i go, the 1st thing i do is do urine test but for that day, the urine test is postponed till after consultation

Mrs Yap: I dunno leh. All thie time since my #1, the gynae assistants always ask the preggies to clear bladder and do uring test before seeing the gynae. Some of us don't even need to be told anymore. We enter the room, help ourselves to the test strips, goo to the loo, then come back and wait.

<font color="0000ff">Valnsw
hehe.. okok sure.. i was juz thinking who was tat who added me.. haha
i should be online mostly in the day.. coz at nite too tired to be on the comp le.. anyway see how lah.

hehe.... mayb its a hint hor.. to tell us not to walk too much / too fast.. like tat cannot go shopping lor..</font>

bbmouse.. hmm depends on gynae bah... maybe he thinks not necessary for u or maybe his machine is clear. My gynae machine super blur... hai.. i onli see a black mass of shadow nia...

Hi Mrs Yap

When i went for the NT scan early this month, the doc also commented that my bladder is not full so cant see anything..very blur...so he ask me to drink water then when i go back to him 15 min later with a full bladder...i am able to see bb very clearly on the screen...
i will going for the detailed scan on 15/4, he tell me must have a full bladder for the scanning...

Mrs Yap, I am coming 30 this year and OSCAR results were no good... so doing the Amniocentesis on Monday...

If u are really worried, then do the Amniocentesis. But if you want to keep the baby no matter wat, then dun worry and just carry on to be a happy MTB!

Mrs Yap: I see. Yah, my gyane's machines are quite advanced. Sometimes there are other gynae's patients (usually the ones whose foetus are detected with congental problems) who are referred to him cos the scan is clearer.
Actually he could tell the nuchal translucency of my bb at week 10. He said it's on the high side.

bbmouse, I also clear my bladder before going in to see him... my gynae also detected a high nuchal translucency of my bb at 11 weeks and thus advised me to go for an OSCAR test... how was your result?

sasa de mouse... yes, my gynae gave me something to insert for the infection... do you have any spotting any insertion? I have been spotting for the past couple of days after insertion..

<font color="0000ff">Ying Ling
hhmm.... i didnt get the infection after preggy, it was b4... not sure if it matters anot leh.. coz during preggy.. tho felt abit itchy.. i ate yoghurt everyday to clear it, den dun need to see gynae lor

i think by rite shouldn't spot leh. did u tell ur gynae abt the spotting? but i heard, if got infection, would be more prone to spotting. doubt if it's linked to the insertion of pills</font>

<font color="0000ff">I also had to keep my bladder full.. wah.. so kelian lor.. can feel the bladder bursting le.. yet gotta tahan for the scan. after tat really rushed to the toilet</font>

Have not posted today...busybusy...next visit is on Sat. Hope all is OK, cos dont seem to be gaining weight, altho my tummy is exapnding... :S

Bigtoes
Wah, your friend's bill so ex....man, I hope I don't have to pay that much...luckily got Medisave, and SOME small coverage from a small policy which covers NICU. Very small amount only tho. You mums working in large co with co insurance are v lucky! I was hoping to join a large co before pregnancy, but in the end, also joined a small company...sigh ...

jialat, i'm really growing a lot of hair on the centre of my stomach. just checked it under sunlight by the window and it looks like a small strip of putting green now!

ying ling &amp; bbmouse, i hope everything will turn out well for you. try to stay positive ok.

ying ling &amp; bbmouse, i hope everything will turn out well for you too... can understand the stress.

Xuanting, i also realised i am growing hairs on the tummy, or rather the hairs grow faster now... so hairy now

Ava, small company nv buy insurance for u? Isit? i thot is compulsory de

Ying Ling, I'll be doing the OSCAR next week. You?

Xuanting, Mrs Yap: Me try not to think aabt it now. Pray for the best.

Ava (avalyn) - not sure if her company's insurance covered the bill. Hers was high cos the babies were very premature. She had a very complicated pregnancy, poor thing. Had to go on bed rest for several months! Quite weird how the life changes so much - from a couple, to a family of 4 (with the twins) + 1 nanny + 1 maid! From 2 people to 6 people! She even had to take no pay leave for 1 year cos of all the complications....

Btw, my company insurance covered most of the fibriod surgery, but don't cover any pregnancy cost, cos its not a compulsory surgery. Plenty of women in my company have babies somemore - if they did that, the insurance bill would be massive!

mrs yap, are you hairier all over or just certain places? mine's all on the stomach and i think the hair on my legs are growing faster than usual too. thank god my face is not becoming hairier also.

i went to thyme at taka to look at some jeans but found that most cuttings they carry are too big for me. besides the shops at suntec, where else can i go look for jeans?

<font color="0000ff">Ying Ling
Good luck for ur Amniocentesis on Monday. Have faith in bb and everything will be fine

bbmouse
Best wishes for ur OSCAR... have faith too k..