(2008/09) Sep 2008

hi bacon & egg
depends leh cos Storeberry knows the baby is Boy at week 14 already. For my case, my doc suspect boy at week 12 and I need to confirm it at week 16. It all depends on the position of the bb during the scan. But i think a boy is easier to detect compared to girls due to extra organ..keke

Strollers
L'il CY, is maclaren very heavy? I was thinking of getting the twin Maclaren...if a single one is heavy...don't even want to think about the twin one!!! we've got two baby bjorns so maybe we'll just use those + our old stroller (combi - very light)

Hmmm, wonder if I'll be able to see gender this sat...only 14-15 weeks...so not v likely ...

Aiyoh, my so-called "cute" son made me so angry this morning. I walked off in a huff to avoid smacking him..until now, am still fuming....

Ava
the average weight of maclaren is btw 8-15kg...mine is considered 'light' for maclaren, around 8.5kg. but quest and volo is very much lighter, but cannot recline much...

what happ to your handsome boy?

l'il CY
Wow, that is heavy! Aiyah, he's just at the age of major tantrums...and I hate him throwing one when I'm about to leave the house for work, and when I am telling him off...it's been like this for last few days

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - yes, WK Tan's office is always v packed! Thats why I always opt for the 5pm (last slot), so there is less of a spill over & i don't have to wait too long, since the clinic closes by 6+ anyways. They don't even have wireless, if not still can surf net/check email when waiting....
How clear is ur linea nigra already? Maybe u can use that to determine the baby's gender
I am quite fair skinned, so hoping that i don't get it.

Ava - little kids at this age all like that, don't get too irritated. My sister's son had the terrible 2s and 3s also!

<font color="0000ff">Bigtoes
haha... yah... Dr Cheng's office oso pack de.. some more he only comes down at 12pm.. even tho i take the first slot.. sometimes still gotta wait till 2+ ah..
this always happens when u see popular gynaes hor..

oh yah.. if onli they've got wireless. actually i think they do, coz my dh tried to surf b4.. but its protected with password leh.. so cant use lor.

my linea nigra ah.. initially i tot it goes all the way above my navel leh.. but was observing last nite.. the line above my navel nvr grow darker. instead its the line below the navel... very very dark leh.. haha..

anyway, i tried to ask around lah... the old wives' tale seems untrue..

Ava
dun fume already k. mayb he's trying to seek ur attention coz he's jealous?</font>

Bigtoes/Sasa
NOt fuming already...luckily got work to distract me...but apparently he's being punished at home now for exactly the same behaviour (at home due to HFMD outbreak in school)...

it's an age thing, not really jealous yet...
altho some kids get jealous of new arrivals, I think he seems to be looking forward to it...he was wearing my babybjorn yesterday and carrying around his elmo doll very happily...hopefully stays that way after babies are out!!

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - i tried with my laptop the last visit at TMC, they don't even have any wireless@sg point nearby
So must make sure there is plenty of reading materials. Your waiting time for Dr Cheng is 1+ hours? Mine is about 1 hour for WK Tan, not so bad for the 5pm slot. Last visit was bad, cos they made me go at 2pm for the OSCAR test, but the gyne stepped out for surgery. Waited till 4.30pm for my turn! *pengsan*

Ava - hmm..in that case, I need to start observing if my linea nigra starts forming...

<font color="0000ff">Ava
hhmm.... sounds good tat he's trying to practice and prepare himself for the arrival of the little ones, hehe.

Bigtoes
think they dun have wireless@sg leh.. onli delifrance there have isit? ya manz.. gotta bring lotsa things there.. haha.. my last visit to Dr Cheng.. think i waited nearly 2+hrs nearly 3 ah.. wah.... thankfully i brot my sudoku along.. so it was a mind-wrecking game experience while waiting for him.. haha..
after tat i was super duper hungry..

oh yah.. surgeries are unpredictable lor.. so boh pian one.. aiyoh... poor thing.. tats y sometimes the nurses will tell us to go eat something.. or go walk around hor..

everytime i go there.. i'll feel relief if i see the clinic empty.. haha.. coz tat would mean i dun have to wait long.. but once i see the seats occupied.. sianz le...</font>

wow, this forum sure moves fast.

i'm just curious how most of you went around choosing a gynae and hospital... i decided to choose KKH mainly because its near my place and its a government hospital (so much cheaper and i'm a civil servant).. after deciding on the hospital, i looked through the names of the gynaes and did some research on each.. in the end i chose the one right at the top - Tan KT.. frankly, i'm quite happy with KKH, the nurses are really very friendly, i've just converted to the Private Suite at KKH (heard that it has been service and ambience, i'll only get to experience it for the first time on the 29th) and i will be choosing a Class A ward.. heard that the cost is only around $2k to $3k.. my neighbour who delivered at KKH only paid $500 cash (after deducting medisave and she had a normal delivery).. whereas my colleague who delivered at Mount A had to pay $5000 in cash for caesarian.. although they are different delivery methods, the difference in cost is very big..

gail li
I chose doctor cos of his reputation for natural births. He's also good with multiples, I hear. So am sticking with him for my second pregnancy at TMC.

gail
i choose based on pricing. hb works in nhg, so i get 70% discount at NUH A ward. Gynae, recommended too...

i havent even receive my bill for first delivery...good hor..maybe dun need to pay liaoz...hahahah..

welcome JJparents! nice to see a DTB here! think u are the thorn amongst the roses! haha!

sasa, there is wireless at delifrance anot ar? i tried @ WC Cheng clinic but no connection at all.. =( my next appt is next fri morning, hopefully i can know the gender tat day! =)

<font color="0000ff">Discharge
Can i ask u gals.. do u all realise that there will be an increase of V discharge if u were to walk too fast / too much??

juz wanted to see if it's the same occurrence or isit juz *qiao he*.

Or should I ask, when do u all experience / observe increase in V discharge for that day?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Aloevera
hey hey... i heard my hubby say delifrance there have leh.. mayb can tried lor.. WC Cheng clinic dun have de.. sob sob.. haha.. if not think all of us wont complain le..

hehe.. i oso hope to be able to noe gender on nxt visit..
how many wks would u be by den?</font>

Hi Hi, too long never log in due to internet access down the last few days. going for my gynae visit tmr...:>i m 15weeks hopefully i am able to see my bb's gender too...
MS getting better and apettite getting better but still sometimes MS will strike back dunno y.

sasa de mouse..
regarding discharge...
From week 5 to week 10 i have brown spotting
From week 10 onwards i realised my spotting ceased
From middle of week 10 till now week 13 i realised i got an increase in yellowish sticky V-discharge... sorry for the gross description
Sometimes it came suddenly n esp when i am walking. I can feel it coming out type and also freak out worrying it might be blood. However somethings its watery.. i am v afraid the sac leaking
so i sms-ed Storeberry... she says she also got sort of increase in V-discharge too. As long as it doesnt smells n itchy ... think shd be ok... otherwise might be an infection

hi sasa de mouse,
i get what you described. initially when i felt heavy leaking, i was worried. will go toilet to check. it's usu colourless &amp; ordourless. subsequently, i noted that this "abundance" occurs when i walk too fast or too much, or when i super stressed. So i figured tis was normal &amp; nv brought tis up to my gynae.

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Yap
hehe... i get wat u mean. i oso freak out worrying tat it'll be blood.. but i've learnt to take things easy le.. mine no smell and not itchy de.. so i doubt if its infection.. juz wanted to see isit walk fast = more discharge..

dmbb
haha... it happens to me once a while leh.. den some more i wear disposables hor.. so can feel it lah.. (hehe.. paiseh tmi).. hhmm.. so i guess this is normal bah...

muz make sure i ask gynae how come this happens... den at least nxt time i make a mental note not to walk too fast. but sometimes boh pian one leh.. like chase bus lah, muz walk fast fast mah..</font>

sasa de mouse...
ya walk too much or too much will affect
Nowadays i dun run after bus le...
For e.g yday... i am only a few steps away from boarding the bus but i refused to run... i dun wan to regret later if anything bad happens to bb. So now i jus walk slowly to work n take my time. Late jiu late... no choice. Better play safe than sorry.

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Yap
hhhmm.... ya.. agree with wat u said... dun wan anything to happen to bb oso...

yakult.. can can... no prob.. in fact its good.. juz like yoghurt.. i'm still taking these 2.. even tho its cold lah. it helps in digestive system</font>

I did check with my gynae on the V-discharge.. She say as long as it is not yellowish/greenish/brownish in colour, not smelly and not itchy.. it should be alright. The volume will increase, sometime will even wet the panties.. this is normal...

If it is yellowish, you have to check whether if it is once discharge, it alr yellowish.. or it turned yellow when dried up.

But best to check with the gynae...

I had pale yellowish v-discharge, my gynae asked if i want to take a lab test to confirm whether is it alright... I took it.. spent abt $40.. to me.. i think to find out is better then guess...

yvonne... wat prob it can be? cos mine also yellowish once discharge leh n i hv yet to inform my gynae abt it. The discharge is something like ovulation mucus after menses. My frd also got this prob and her sis also... she said yellowish maybe indicate a Boy u are carrying... sounds a bit not realistic lor but apparently nothing happen to them leh. When yr lab test result coming out?

mrs yap,
yakult should be ok, i drink too..usually leave it in room temp for a while b4 drinking.

sasa,
I also had alot of yellow discharge few weeks back..panic a little and ask gynea to check, he did a swap for me to determine if its infection, turn out not..just discharge which is normal. If not smelly or itchy should be fine...

ava

i love my maclaren techno xt! Mebbe u can go to baby hyperstore to see if they got the twin stroller and u try it out? Cos some dept stores may not carry it.
I saw a mummy pushing a blue one at suntec before. Looks very nice and I thot then if I have twins I wld go get one! Hee hee...

Mrs Yap,

My gynae say if yellowish, it could be infection... but my result shows it's alright, just a normal discharge...

errr... so far i have not heard that if got yellow discharge is expecting a boy.. heeee...
But i have a feeling that mine is a boy.. :p

sasa n yvonne... since yellow discharge is alright then i assume mine is fine cos not smelly n no itchy. Its v v light yellow not dark yellow.
Yvonne u hv feeling is boy? Mama's instinct can be right too. I also got feeling mine is boy and i jus cannot associate myself having a girl. I dunno why i feel like tat. Infact eversince doc suspect a boy last sat, i started calling baby by his boy name le... I dunno if its stupid to do tat cos i might anger the bb if its a girl :p

Mrs Yap.. I just have that feeling.. not sure why too.. My colleague told me if it is a boy, it will be able to scan after 3 mths.. heee... cos boy's part is very obvious.. unless he cross his legs... going for my follow up appointment on tuesday... i shall see if my feeling is right or not..

personally i perferred a girl.. cos they will be very close to mummy.. and very sweet.. like my nieces.. one 8 years old and one coming to 2... they will go and hug my mom and me.. and says.. "ah ma, gu gu, i love you.. cos you treat me good"... i find it very sweet.. while my nephew will sit on his seat watching his TV...

Mrs yap.. please dont be angry with bb.. if it is a girl... No matter is a boy or girl.. they are our children... we have the bond with them.. so i think even if it is a girl, u wouldn't throw ur anger on them.

aiyoh
isabelle...i use maclaren techno xt too!! not heavy meh? i prefer combi for it's lightweight, but the one i have not suitable for newborns.

ava
my boy is 16mths now...

Hi gail li: I chose the doctor based on convenience cos he is near my house &amp; the comments from forum. He is really reassuring &amp; nice.. keke.. But not neccessary KKH is cheap leh, my fren jus gave birth in KKH, had c-section, stayed 6 days, &amp; the bill was $10,000!

Mrs Yap &amp; sasa de mouse: Yah man, sometimes I so scared its blood when I feel something wet there! But its usually colorless &amp; odorless. But I will ask gynae next week when I meet him..

I also had the feeling I am having a boy as well &amp; really got a boy!

heeee...

girls are nice you know. they are usually developmentally more advanced compared to boys. it is not uncommon to see very fluent girls at 2 years, but rare for a boy. many boys at 2 at still in a single word/short phrase stage...

heee... ava, thanks... if mine is a boy.. also hope that he will be the loving one.. :p...

Anyone going for this weekend babycare fair at singapore expo?? wonder what will there has... I heard that AIA, cordlife will be there... and cordlife will be giving a discount of $300 if signed on the fair..

Yvonne... haha of course i will still love the bb if is a girl... confirm will dote like anything, will not be angry... think my hb loves girls too. He is more gentle to bb girls also.
I will be going to the Expo baby fair this sat

cos i will be going there for wedding dinner too

i love both girl n boy..been thinking abt girl names though
i m thinking i just might want 1 kid only..so if its a boy, can fulfill my in-law's wishes.. i also hope to see the gender in the next visit..

<font color="0000ff">hehe... actually my discharge not yellow lah... juz tat on certain days is really alot lor.. can practically feel it flowing out (oops.. paiseh.. sounds gross).. so i wouldnt think its infection.. but juz wonder where all these discharge come from.. haha...</font>

Hi, i am new to this thread. And, i am expecting my first child. EDD: 14 Sep.

i would like to find out if anyone knows the reason for spotting during Wk 14? i had taken a jab and am now back on medication. when i first found out that i am expecting, i did have spotting but the problem went away after i was given injections, medication and medical leave to cover me till Wk 12. however, it seems the slight spotting i experienced a few days back is due to a blood clot. Does anyone know more information about blood clot?
Thanks in advance for your advice!

StayHappy... welcome
So far in this thread, me and Storeberry had bad spotting eversince we knw of our pregnancy... We spot from brown to red blood...
Gynae scan found blood clots near placenta... My gynae cannot fully explain why got blood clot, he onli says cos early pregnancy not stable and it will go away eventually...
True enuff for us, it went away by week 10 for me. But for yr case in Week 14, u might wanna check with yr gynae why cos wk 14 considered 2nd trimester and bb shd be quite stable already. Take care and its best to clarify with yr doc. Stay home n rest if possible. Take care.

StayHappy: I join the gang who had spotting on and off in the first trimester and had to be on bedrest from the time I know I'm pregnant til now. I've lost count on how many jabs I've been given so far. Am still on Duphaston. The doc also saw there is blood clot in my womb, but could not confirm for sure if the spotting is due to the clot or not. Just went back to work today. Am in my week 11.

Storeberry, Mrs Yap: Storeberry, you're having a boy right? Mrs Yap, you think you're having a boy too? Let's see if there's any relationship between spotting and gender. But for me, you've got to wait for a while more. Cos my gynae i on holiday. I won't see him until week 15. But I will be doing my OSCAR next week. See if the sonograhper will tell me the gender or not.

i am having an infection at the moment... itchy and irritating... it is always safer to go for a test... though not harmful to your baby at the moment, but you have to sure that the infection is gone before you give birth else the baby might be infected on the way out and this will create problems...