(2008/09) Sep 2008

Bigtoes
haha...yes, twins will up the ante a bit! We are on the brink of buying a second hand Toyota Picnic, cos we will be going from 4 pax to 6 not inlcuding a second maid (which we are trying to avoid getting)...

Insurance
Actually I dunno if it is compulsory...my last co lagi worse...no doctors (GP) claims even! at least here i can claim GP and dental! and they hired me despite being preggers!

<font color="0000ff">**sasa puts her hands up**

I'm hairier on my tummy... n find tat the hair on my legs realli grow faster leh.. i'm now plucking more often den in the past

Good luck Ying Ling!

bbmouse
did ur gynae recommend for u to take Amnio? Have u combined NT scan with the blood test result yet? After combining sometimes the risk will go down by alot.

bbmouse: Amniocentesis test has some risks of miscarriage... I will have to rest for an entire week after the test and have to be very careful not to catch any infection as the baby is exposed to our environment due to that small prick... so might be worth to spend the money to try to avoid taking the Amniocentesis... but if the results from the OSCAR is no good, Amniocentesis is still unavoidable... you can treat the NT scan as a chance to have a clear look at your baby... the machines are really detailed... I believe same ones as the ones used in the detailed scan...

wow, so many hairier mommies! At least its just temporary!
I am not even hairy to begin with (don't remember the last time i shaved my legs), and so far don't see any changes. I think my pregnancy exhibits one of the least signs of being preggers. Really no difference other than expanding tummy...very weird.

Ying Ling: Thanks. You confirmed my initial thoughts that I shd go for OSCAR first. And yes, I'm treating it as an opportunity to see my baby's gender. Where did you do the OSCAR? I did it at NUH for my #1. I felt the machines weren't as clear as the one my gynae has actually. Maybe it's just NUH.
Hey, good luck for the Amnio test. Rest well after that. Treat it as a mini "leave time."

hi bbmouse, i agree with ying ling. i was supposed to go straight for amnio (i'm 36) but because i'm really reluctant to put bb through that 0.5–1% risk of miscarriage without first finding out if amnio is really necessary, i opted to do the oscar test first. thankfully, the results were quite good so i've decided not to do the amnio. but then again, oscar sometimes gives "false positive" readings (telling you bb is high risk when bb is actually fine – quite many cases in the other threads in this forums). many mtbs with these readings later go on to do the amnio and then find that bb is ok after all.

Xuanting: Good to hear your OSCAR result is good. Yes, I've come across cases of false positives in OSCAR results. I hope everything turns out fine for me.

Hi bbmouse,

Some docs wll say it's week 12, but i went to babycentre and it says the start of 2nd trimester is week 14..

hi <font color="0000ff">bacon&amp;egg</font>
i'm from Aug MTB thread, saw your question posted there regarding detailed scan (DS).
Basically as the name suggested, the scan is really very detailed.
The sonographer or ur gynae will scan at the bb's heart, see it's pumping, check the both valves. Then scan for the spine, measure something (hee..i not sure what). Then also will scan the brain, left and right part (or dunno what's the technical term).
The i saw her take measurement's of my bb's head size, also measure the nasal bone.
Apparently she also got scan for lungs, kidney, stomach and other organs, but those i didn't notice...keke.. But it is stated in the report.
Then if u wanna know the gender, she will zoom to the right position to see and show you. The gender is also stated on my report. I did my DS at TMC.
The DS also got measure my blood flow to the placenta/uterus.
HTHs.

hello girls, super sian... had my cough for a month and finally got better and guess wat? Today i lao sai 5times and went to the family doc, and was told gastric flu!!!

wah piang! I ish suay!
Anyway.. i googled quite a bit on whether it'll affect pregnancy or not but cant seem to find something concrete that sets my mind at ease. anyone here knows?

crayonshinchan: Gastric flu is highly contagious. DO you have any young children at home? Do take precaution. Wash your hands with soap everytime after visiting the toilet and before you eat. The entire family may be down with this if not careful. Take care. Sorry, don't know much abt impact on preggies.

crayonshinchan: nope, dun have to worry. I have stomach flu for 4 times when i was in my first trimester! Dr gave me meds (diarrhea, cramps etc) everytime and said it'll not harm the bb. Just that u need to drink lots of water coz scared of dehydration. My gynae aso confirmed not harmful to bb. So no worries :p

<font color="0000ff">bbmouse</font>
Detailed scan is different from OSCAR. DS is usually done between week 19-21.
I did mine yesterday, I was in week 20.

Hi MTBs, I think everyone of us is due for the detailed scan at wk 20 as well. Its not an option like OSCAR is, but a standard procedure if I am not mistaken.

i hope you'll get well soon, crayonshinchan. did you come into contact with someone who was having it or the flu? do drink more water; once you get dehydrated, you can get cramps very easily de.

has anyone used or is planning to use the bb "sarong" (the one tat is attached to the ceiling) instead of a bb cot? i've heard tat bb can slp better in a "sarong" than in a cot. my mum also told me the same thing...

bbmouse and xuanting! yes its super contagious! I think its my sis's maid who passed it to me and I think my bil oso got it!

And I have 2 young nieces at home! I'll be running away (to my ils to hide somewhere for the long wkend!)

lhy, thanks for the info! At least I can put my mind at ease.. now its time for water parade!

I think I ish very suay leh!

Bigtoes: I think my gynae did the detailed scan for me in his clinic. I didn't go anywhere else. I remember he told me abt the 4 chambers of the heart, the 2 kidneys are normal sized, the 5 fingers and toes on each limb etc.

Eve: I have the yao lan. But it's not attached to the ceiling. There is a stand where the sarong hangs from. Mine is an electric one. I intend to use it this time too. My #1 used it for abt 3mths and her head ios round round..

crayon
take care. I am just recovering from my flu too. I kena 2 weeks ago. Saw the GP THREE times liao... I took antibiotics last Friday cos it got worse after i got caught in the rain! And i also quite suay. The very day my MC of abt 2 mths ended, that very night i kena flu. Then gotta extend MC... I almost got no MC left liao. Only 4 days left for the entire year! After that gotta take no pay if i fall ill again. TOUCHWOOD!!!
So u be careful too!

bbmouse: do u knw where to get the yaolan n how much it cost? issit really true tat bb can slp better in it? do u still use the bb cot since u hv the yaolan?

sorry so many qns n thks!

Hi Eve
i am planning to use the sarong in my parents' place..currently i m staying at my parents' place coz my house not ready yet till next year...
my mum also say bb will longer and head will be rounder sleeping in sarong...but have not decide when to use the stand type or ceiling type...most prob will be ceiling type coz dun really like electric type

eve
me not planning to use sarong though I have heard bb's head will be nice and round! =)
Cos I wanna tbf and lying down beside me is easier. Plus for #1 I din want to 'wean' her off the sarong and easier for me when I took her to HK for holiday when she was 6 mths old. Cos I can't bring the sarong and the stand there!
So depends on what u prefer i guess...

bbmouse
how did u coax ur #1 to sleep in normal bed/cot after that? Also, is it can only use till they start to turn and toss/crawl? Altho I'm not planning to use I might just be forced to cos my room got no space for 2 baby cots! And I live with parents so dun have another room...

winnie &amp; isabelle:

i didnt knw abt the part where bb's head will be nice n round if slp in sarong... but tat just adds another pro to using it! do u all knw where to get it cos i really hv no idea where to get it leh.

btw, my mum say those electric type not as gd as those "manual" ones

Eve: I got it as a gift from a friend. You can buy it from those neighbourhood baby stores. I think Cheong Choon sells it too.
I also have a cot and a rocker for my baby. This is the story.
When the CL was around, she sleeps in the cot. When the CL left, we couldn't handle her. Then we discovered the magic of the yaolan! It soothed her and she could sleep in there, so we put her in there. At the same time, we're afraid she would get addicted to the yaolan, (there're horror stories of how you can't travel cos the baby has to be rocked to sleep etc) so at night we sometimes transferred her to her cot/rocker after she's asleep. Or we alternate that daytime she sleeps in her cot, nite time she sleeps in the yaolan, or vice versa. Then we discovered if we put her in the yaolan, she was able to sleep through the nite. So it was yaolan all the way. In short, there was a lot of trial and error.
The yaolan came to an end one fine day when she was 3 over mths old, she decided she's got enough of yaolan all of a sudden. Cos she stopped liking it and will fuss if we put her in there. From then on til now, she's been sleeping in her cot.

Eve:
my mum will be sourcing for one...she say those 'wu jin' shop got sell the spring thingy then can also ask them to fix for u..from what i understand the cost is not that expensive..anyway i will also be getting a playpen to put in the living rm so that can put bb in it during daytime...

Isabelle: My post to Eve has the asnwer.
I didn't coax her out of the yaolan. She got sick of it herself one day. We were ok with her decision of course.

Eve: Yes, the baby's head will be rounder if they sleep in the yaolan. In terms of functionality, there shouldn't be any difference between manual and electric. Electric ones allow you to rely on the electricity, instead of someone always having to be there to rock the yaolan.

bbmouse i hv also heard negative side like yaolan no good for bb's spinal development
The whole idea of yaolan is to shake and make yr bb drowzy and giddy so it will make bb sleep in no time... no good for brain development. Dunno how true...

Eve: Another point. The sarong stand is portable - as in, you can move it into the living room in the daytime and into the bedroom at night if you want. That's what we did for sometime.

I love it!

Mrs Yap: Actually my PD doesn't approve of the yaolan. Personally I think it depends on the strength of the swing. For the electric one I had, I can adjust the strength. We always used the min strength to give minimal motion. We also place a bumper mat at the bottom in case she falls out of the yaolan.
I don't think it makes the baby giddy, it wraps and bundles the baby up and provides a constant motion. This becomes very soothing to the baby.

actually my mum used the yaolan when my 2 younger sisters were bbs n they grew up smarter than me! i think like wat bbmouse mentioned, as long as the strength is min, it shd be ok...

I will also be placing a mattress below the yaolan just in case...my mum used to do that also...to me i find yaolan quite safe...me and my 3 siblings all sleep in yaolan last time...but it still depend on individual.

Mrs Yap: Rest assured regarding gross motor development as well. My baby started crawling at 4mth and took her first steps at 9mth. So no issue there.

Isabelle
My son used the sarong to sleep at the nanny's place for naps, but he slept in a cot at home (we brought him home every night), so he had no problems adjusting when we were travelling etc.

Hi Mrs Yap, Bbmouse and storeberry:

Thank you very much for your advice and encouragement.

BBmouse: You mentioned that you are back at work and you are now at Wk 11. It's nice to be well and be able to go back to work, right? I would have to wait till this Sat for confirmation from my gyne. Sorry i don't know much about the Amniocentesis test except that it carries some risks. You mentioned that you will be doing the OSCAR scan next week. You may like to wait for the OSCAR scan results before you decide if you should do more test. Maybe the OSCAR scan results will be good and you don't have to worry anymore! =)

Storeberry: You mentioned that you are still on hormone pills. My gyne has put me back on duphaston, and she suggests that i take the medication till Wk 20. Did your gyne mention the duration for the prescription of your hormone pills?

Mrs Yap: Thank you! Yes, i will be seeing my gyne again this sat. Although she has mentioned that spotting is probably caused by a blood clot,i will ask for a more detailed explanation.

Ladies, Thank You once again for your advice. Have a good rest this weekend!

jjparents
i did hear of this...dunno whether true or not...

if the flat you are staying in is an old flat, around 20 years or more. you can safely drill holes in the ceiling and hang your yaolan, but if it is one of the new flats built in the recent years, the advice is not to.apparently the building material for ceiling have changed slightly due to consideration that people dun use yaolan these days...

dunno hor, heard from elderly folks when we wanted to put yaolan...

hi mummies, went for my gynae appt today. sigh, still cannot see the gender. have to wait for the detailed scan during next visit.

Hi BBmouse: I know the gender at week 14th. Take care &amp; all the best! Dont worry so much yah? You too, Yingling!

Bigtoes: Yah man! When I heard about the bill, I was so shocked! I cannot imagine paying $10K for pregnancy! I think most prob I will wait till later then take up cord banking.

*Storeberry also puts her hands up** The hairs around my stomach like more, I was telling hubby my stomach so hairy leh.. Jia lat!

StayHappy: My gynae only gave me the medication fro two weeks the after that I will be seeing him again, wiat for the scan &amp; the whether he willa sked me to take the pills again. I am hoping not cos its really making my nauseous &amp; its expensive!

StayHappy: Yes, it's good to be back at work. I'm also taking it easy at the moment and not overstress myself. You take care, soon you can start working as well.

Storeberry: Thanks..

jjparents: You can place a bumper mat or mattress below the yaolan. The height of the yaolan shd not be too high, so even if *touch wood* the yaolan falls, the impact shd be ok.
I'm using the yaolan stand one - it's worked for me so far. I am able to increase the number of springs to use as the baby grows heavier.