(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="0000ff">Momoko
hehe... congrats on ur likely boy!!!! now u got a 好!!!

I'm so looking forward to my appt on Monday too.. hopefully can see gender le..</font>

Bigtoes
Most brands would have bottle warmers. Avent does. You add in some water and place bottle in it and it heats up with electricity. Takes about 8-10 mins if i remember correctly

momoko, i'll be in my 15th week for my next appt, hoping can know the gender b4 the detailed scan! shld be exciting!!

ya, pumping is so diff from latching, my nipples machiam straws afer pumping, it takes while to relax to normal size! =P used to feel so ugly n unglam! hahaha!!

Jo
Mei gave a good run down on oscar earlier today:

The OSCARS test consists of a NT (nuchal translucency) scan as well as a blood test. They'll measure the crown-rump length of your baby to make sure they are growing well in relation to the number of weeks you are at now. They will also check for the presence of the nasal bone. Then they'll measure the thickness of the fluid at the back of your babies' neck &amp; from there, they'll generate a report to estimate your risk. They'll also do the blood test &amp; from there, a overall report will be generated.

If you are interested to know more, here's a website that is very useful.

http://www.fetalmedicine.com/f-fmc-scans.htm

ooo... thanks ava...

ya lor, jo! we just talked some previous days tat how our breasts hv changed. and we all entitled to "SBC" members - saggy breasts club! kekekeke.... but when we look at how well our little one grows, it's all worth it lah! =P

wow....all the breastfeeding things are so confusing...

I am definitely intending to breastfeed as long as I can..will learn slowly..as a first time mum, everything kinda sounds quite confusing.. HAHA.. never mind.. will learn, will learn.

My mum says she only breastfed me for only 11 days!! cause she got no milk! Haha... so funni..
but I drank my auntie's milk, cause my auntie got too much..overflow... Haha..Her son was also born very near to my birthdate.

That's cute. Really.

Hopefully, i will have more milk than my mum!

wow seems like many people here have a feeling their baby is a Boy...
I hope mine is a boy too... but however, the health of the baby is most important. Whatever the gender is secondary... girls are great too.

i c loever...

bt still abit scarey hor.. esp the changes in our body leh....

o ya.. this is my 1st baby... tat's y abit sounds scarey to me.

it doesn't feel that scary to me though...just pretty confusing with the latching, or expressing thing.. or how to store, etc..

my hubby feel that our baby will be a boy..thou i kinda feel that it will be a girl.
Haha, gotta just see who's right. :p

BigToes
I just looked at the newspaper. That's the double mini electric. I think that's what my fren is gonna lend me. she said 10 mins and she cld express 2 bottles full!!! Sounds good to me! But I understand PIS is more advanced etc...

Ava (avalyn) - okie. Maybe get one of each - PIS and the cheaper $279 one - can leave one at office &amp; one at home to express when engorged or to store for hubby's night duty!

Do u ladies know how frequent these baby fairs are? Wondering if I should just skip the Taka &amp; Expo fairs in March, &amp; buy during the next sale when its closer to delivery date.

Bigtoes, I think there is definitely more than one baby fair per year. I won't be buying anything as I think it's still early but I'll go to take a look &amp; check out the products &amp; prices.

I need toothpicks to hold my eyelids up, so sleepy.. going home now to roll on my bed.

Bye &amp; have a great weekend!

Bigtoes: Yes, the PIS stands for Pump In Style. There is a newer version with "advance" behind. It's the top end series for the Medela pumps. I don't think it's the same one judging from the price leh. The PIS advance will cost more than $600 on its own in Singapore. So if that package has a few other things, surely won't be at a lower price than this.

Just to add.. I use a PIS advance for my first pregnancy for more than 6mths. Everything - the pump, the mini cooler bag (the milk bottles can go in here), the pumps (ie funnels), the adapter etc, can be packed into the backpack. I even have the space to squeeze a tupperware container to put my funnels. I like the container cos that's how I "sterilise" the funnels at work. Pour boiling water into the container with the funnels inside, close the lid, shake a bit, pour out the water. It just looks like I carry a gym bag to work everyday and back. Actually some of my colleagues thot it was a gym bag cos they said I lost my weight quite fast and must have hit out at the gym. Hahaha..

The pump has served me very well. I'll recommend mummies to get it from US direct though. It's cheaper, after shipping, will prob cost $400 sgd.

Jaline: You went to Taka fair right? Is there any promotion on Avent? I desperately need to change my girl's bottles.
There is no promotion for Avent products at both Robinsons and JL sale.

Ava: Just to add. One troublesome thing is you have to replace the adapter as the one provided works only in the US. The adapter is not difficult to find. Get the specs of the pump (the voltage, watts, ohm) and your hubby can get it at Sim Lim. The adapter costs less than $10.

bbmouse (bbmouse) - thanks for the link!
The PIS advance is only US$230 + 60 for overseas shipping. Still only about S$406, maybe even cheaper if I use shipping via V-post.
Seems like everything is so much cheaper from the US - we ended up ordering alot of stuff (from home accessories, to watches etc) from US!

Bigtoes: Am most glad to share good things. This forum has lots of good ideas to offer us mummies.
This pump is definitely one good buy from the US. By the way, you read what I posted to Ava re the adapter hor?
I will be getting new parts - tubings and funnels there this time too.

Hi bbmouse,
Not too sure if avent has any promo cos too crowded liao, didn't really went inside to take a look... sry, can't help u much.

Jaline: No prob.
These days I also do shopping like that. No time/energy to look around. Just zoom in to get what I need and go.
Haha..

hey ladies,

read that you guys have been going for oscar tests but dr hasnt aked me to leh . just asked to go for blood test in about 3 weeks when i am 16 weeks. however dr did measure brain matter,nuchal translucency as well as nasal bone yesterday. everything was good and normal.baby was very active during the scanning. is the oscar test? or is there another test? mine was done as part of the check up. tho i paid for normal consultation and medicine only.

Hi Preggie, if you have done the NT test which is the measurement of Nasal bone, it should be ok to determine the risk of down syndrome bb. Oscar is a more detailed tests which include blood tests as well (3 blood tests I think). I also only did the NT test only. My Gyane don't have the facility so I went to TMC to do it.

I also hope to BF as long as I can!! But I am fearful that bb will not latch or I will not have enough milk...

hihi mummies,
PIS was my good old "comrade" thru'out my bfg journey. even brought that to hotel during conference, overseas personal &amp; work trips. people bring laptop, i bring breastpump on-board :) am glad that i'm going to "enlist" its help again. was in a dilemma before i made a purchase cos really not sure if i can succeed in bfg &amp; PIS really not cheap. but hubby said go ahead &amp; once we made that decision, i became more determined to go all the way. and since now using for 2 babies, i guess the initial high cost was really justisfied.

however, i'm not advocating PIS here. medela double electric works just as fine, just that no backpack for u to put everything in. i still feel every mummy shld find a breastpump u are comfortable with. i know of people who swear by ameda and avent. they feel medela is more painful (&amp; exp). and i heard avent is quieter (good for people pumping in office). so, i feel it's best to compare. someone did mention can go bfg society to test out all the diff pumps.

bigtoes, sad to say, pumping (vs latching) still gives u saggy boobs. it has nothing to do with how u extract milk. maybe like one of you said, if u expand ur cup too much, that's when it will sag with all the excess "flesh" after u stop bfg.

i stored &amp; froze my expressed bm in milkbags, not containers. it must be thawed first in the fridge. and when u ready to use, warm it in hot water or use bottle warmer. and pls dun use microwave, bcos of uneven heat distribution, the milk will not be warmed up to the desired temp &amp; may scald ur baby instead. when u attend anenatal classes by TMC mrs wong, she also doesnt advocate microwave bcos u never know how microwave is affecting the food molecules, just to be on the safe side.

bbmouse, i'm also getting replacement parts from hackleyhme. will also get some from self expressions. going to change all plastic parts and i'm getting 2 sets cos i pump twice in office. going to cost me >USD70 :p

Twendy: Where do you stay? You want to order together? I'm looking at self expressions as well. They are cheaper. There is this softfit shields, have you heard anything of them? Are they better? I will try this this time round.

Hehehe.. Same as you leh. When I go on biz trips, I lugged a backpack. I remember I had to do one pump while on air - and I did it in the airplane toilet! Got to throw away the milk after that cos storage was always a problem. Felt so sayang..

i stay in the west. am buying together w my sil &amp; cousin. not sure if can still squeeze in ur order. how much is urs?

i heard abt the softfit shields. they are for people who have bigger breasts &amp; cannot fit into the standard size ones. i dun like it cos it is like a 2-piece assembly (the funnel and the stem separately), instead of just one (like the standard one). that would means more hassle in washing &amp; assembly. already got so many small parts, dun want to complicate thing further. anyway, the standard ones work fine for me :)

i timed my flight &amp; adjusted my pump timing, so i actually pump in airport toilet, not on-board. luckily, no long trips that time. when overseas, yah, got to dump the ebm. i used my ebm to wash face cos sayang to just dump. but still not enuff volume to bath in it, else i will :) i tried freezing &amp; bringing back mine when i was in phuket for personal trip. that's bcos got freezer facility so easier to manage.

Hi mummies and MTBs
Had my OSCAR at the unearthly hour of 8.15 this morning...had to wake up earlier than when I go to office LOL. Scans look OK re: fluid space, just waiting for the blood test results now.

Both babies about 6cm in length and were v cooperative during scan. After measurements were taken, they started moving and kicking all over the place
Whole scan lasted about 45 mins ...and luckily did not have to pay double! The twins OSCAR package was just under $400 including blood test and with SBI discount.

bbmouse
Ordering together can save on postage cost is it? If so, I am considering ordering the PIS and can travel to pick up from you if u want to combine order. I stay @ potong pasir and work at raffles place.

Twendy: Hahaha.. Me too, use it to wash my face. But I doubt got effect lah. I had the choice to pump in airport toilets too, but thot it must be an experience to do it onboard! Hahaha.. heard of people having *ahem* on airplane toilets, well, at leasat I can say I pump in airplane toilets. Hahaha!

I thot the softfit size is standard 24mm? That's the standard size for the 1-piece shields also leh. My original shields are still in good condition, cos I only stopped pumping less than 1/2 yr ago. I will change the value and membrane for the old shields and buy the softfit shields to try out. It's ok, I'll try to organise an overseas spree when the time gets closer.

By the way, I read that for selfexpressions, you need to have a US credit card leh.

babyatom.. *hugs* and take good care of urself..

and i tot all of us here are in the so called "safe" period liao and will follow each other thru til sept... ;-(

bigtoes, my sis told me to wait til the GSS...my niece was born in late aug last year and she bot the more exp stuff during GSS. other stuff, she just bot along the way..

Ava (avalyn) &amp; bbmouse (bbmouse) - before you order PIS, let me know okie! I might want to join in as well to share the shipping cost. Will let u both know in a bit, cos I want to ask my sister if she has another pump to lend me (I need 2) &amp; I might order thru VPost if the charges aren't too high. Am also getting the BabyPlus Pre-natal Education System from US - the shipping charges are like 1/2 the product cost!

crayonshinchan (crayonshinchan) - thanks! Other than the breast pump, i most prob will wait till GSS first to get the other stuff. By then, the risk of anything bad happening to the baby would be much lesser.

twendy (twendy) - am not looking forward to saggy boobs
...in that case, i better not be greedy and wish for a 2 cup size increase when preggers! Was hoping to grow into D cups somemore!!

Hi bbmouse,
Are u referring to Avent PIS breast pump ?
BTW to all the ladies here, anyone can tell me where to buy Ameda brand breast pump ?

jus came back frm gynae appt n saw bb swimming upside down, so funny...
doc also drew some blood today n i was sooo scared when i saw the needle. didnt dare to look but hubby say he took quite a lot of blood! *faint*
will be going for NT scan next week, hopefully everything will fine. i suppose the NT scan is not included in the gyane pkg... anyone knws how much it will cost n wat is the procedure like?

bigtoes
yeah. Better not wish for too big! haha
My SIL said her fren grew from A cup to C cup when bf. After she stopped, she shrunk to AA! Guess the happiness was short-lived!

MillieL I was referring to Medela PIS advanced. The same link I post above sells ameda too. You may want to check it out.

Bigtoes: We can remind each other when the time gets closer. Agree now too early lah.

isabelle
Aiyoh...that poor friend!!! At least if u go back to normal, not so "sim tiah". Sigh, I've been using my nursing bras at home which are a C cup and they're already feeling "tight"...guess I gotta go buy bigger ones...hope my boobies cooperate and don't shrink too much after i stop bf.

Palmers Stretchmark Cream
I have a tube of this and used it a few times...however I seem to react to it (tummy shows small red bumps). I even stopped for a few weeks and tried again and those bumps showed up again. Generally have sensitive skin anyway...anyone wants to buy the remainder off me? I bought it for around $20+, and will leylong for $10 plus the breast firming cream which came as a bonus (used once). Anyone keen??

hahaa.. Bigtoes.. u wanted to grow up to D???? u look petite in ur pics leh and D will look heavy on u lor!! better not ask for too much.. nv underestimate the power of gravity! aaahaha..

isabelle, the same thing happened to my fren's wife too! Seems like she went up one size and after breastfeeding and all, went down one size from her normal size... happiness is shortlived! haha

Momoko (momoko76) : congrats! I also saw my baby's genital when I was 12 weeks 3 days preggie. Oh, that means I'm not alone with the 3kg weight gain. ;) I'm hungry all the time, so I have to munch on crackers and raisins all the time.

But I'm recovering from a case of food poisoning, so I just lost 1.5kg, think it's mostly fluid that I lost. Hope baby is not affected by my food poisoning, thank God it's only a mild case and not more than 24 hours.

Spree sounds good for the breastpumps and related items! But from my experience, it may cost more if we do a combined spree for pumps itself as there will be 7% GST charge for anything above S$400. Vpost charges are based on volume weight, meaning they take the measurement of the box, so if we have 4 sets of PIS Advanced, they will probably send in different boxes etc. Use Vpost only if you're ordering low quantity. Large quantity spree, it would be better to use direct shipping from US.

@loever@,
oh yes.. i know how it feels to be excited about the gender.. kekeke.. good luck... u wanted boy or gal ah?? second one right?? first one for u is a ....??
ah yor... ya lor.. nipples like supper long like tat.. lucky only 3 months for me.. if not hor... think the nipples have to "FOLD IN" whenever wear bras... hahahaha

Sa sa xie,
ahh.. u going for appt too tomo ah.. great for u.. let us know whether is a boy or a gal.. of coz, like doc say.. mine is a boy likely.. hopes it stays...

Mrs Yap,
your name there got write.. oneboyonegal.. so u already have one boy and one gal already ah??? sorry.. forgot.. read so many posting..

jo,
dun let us mummies scare u lah.. it always depends on individual one .. so dun worry too much.. we are just preparing ur mind.. hahahaha
sympton for boy or gal... not too sure.. but for me this time round.. i got breakout as compare to the first one who was a gal... wat about the rest??

bbmouse...
good leh.. to have u around... coz i thinking of getting the PIS advance too.. but i know there's lot of gadget inside.. so not too sure how and wat to replace.. u can help us around rite.. hehehe..
as for getting the PIS in US.. think unless u know someone in states.. or someone going over there.. if not, as wat i know.. they dun ship it to singapore...

Ya gals.. count me in for the PIS spree.. maybe we can organise something from MTB sept..hmm.. can get some advice from those mummies who have done any spree before from States? coz i always tag in to other nice mummies spree..