(2008/09) Sep 2008

momoko: my symptoms for the boy, I got breakout, I used to have flawless skin and hardly breakout. If I do, it's usually one pimple. But during pregnancy, I got spots all over my face! Another symptom is that I'm always choosing beef when it comes to my meals. Was told by my friends that when expecting boys, you'll tend to eat more beef. I'm actually a salad lover, but I don't fancy it that much these days since i got preggie.

shazz,
actually i always a beef lover too.. kekeke.. i love beef noodle.. omg.. u make me wanna eat i t now.. hahaha.. me too seldom have breakout..only when menses coming or wat.. but this time round.. it's on my cheek.. sop sop.. but well.. lucky already recover from it.. hope it will stop..

Shazz/Momoko: Yes, the website only delivers within the US, so there's a need to have either a vpost or cwg account. And Shazz is correct. For breastpumps, I don't think can order together. Cos if the item + shipping cost is above $400 sgd, then we will incur gst. Bo-hua. So breastpump got to order on your own.
For those 2nd time mums who were using the PIS before, now we only need to order parts, the value is lower, then makes sense to together.

Breakout: I got breakout for #1 and now #2. First one is a gal leh. I hope to get boy this time round. This time round I also prefer meat, usually beef, to vege.

momoko: i just made hubby buy me beef noodle after I wrote the post! LOL

bbmouse: sounds like you're having a boy too!
I'm buying over a 2 mths old PIS Advanced set from my colleague, who only used it for 6 weeks. So I'll be getting spare parts as well and lotsa milk storage bags. We can do a spree nearer to our EDD! =)

Hey, I have brought prune juice from sunraysia yesterday..it costs doubled compared to del monte but i find it tastes much better too..

Buy the prune plus+ series..which has added calcium and folate, which is good for us mum..

note that it costs more... a bottle is about $8 plus.. del monte is only $4 plus..
but i think worth a try cause it doesnt taste that bitter compared to del monte..
and most importantly, it works too! Haha..

just to share with u mums...

bbmouse,
tys for letting us know the information.. let wat u have say.. so long we have an account with Vpost than can already it is?? hmm.. think i have an account with them.. but so long ago.. so not too sure where it is..
but wat about the differences in the back pack or the metro bag thing or even shoudler bag?? just a difference design??

tys lemon for sharing.. keke.. i dun have constipation problem.. did not take iron pills.. so tat's y

ladies...sorry to side-track.
mei: I saw that you are with KKH and have gone for the OSCAR scan. I will be going to scan at ADC next week. Can you please share with me some of the procedures? Can my husband go into the room with me? Thanks.

Wow, spreeing is fun!!! Kekek... yah nearer to the date we can then discuss further!! Still not decided whether to get breast pump or not, shall see how...

I am going to see gynae tmr!! Excited to see my bb again!! Hopefully can see the gender... Kekeke

momoko... though my nick is oneboyonegirl, this is my 1st pregnancy...
My ideal no of children is 2 and hopefully its a boy n a girl lor... guess this is a common wish.
Will be going for my week 12 scan this sat...
also hope to see gender. I also crave for beef now, i used to like vege alot but now see liao like v sian... vege is like tasteless to me now.
I love Beef, Chicken, Pork now... however my mum advise NOT TO TAKE MUTTON... she says bb will kena the "Yang2 Dian1 Fong1" Anyway i hate the smell of mutton

bbmouse, i will be ordering from self expressions using CGW concierge service, so there will be an additional 5% charge on the item cost. but it is still cheaper than hackleyhme. think will order by this week. if u interested, pm me ur order, shld be able to fit in since need >USD150 for free usa shipping.

Good morning everyone! It's Monday again, back to work.

rabbit
Hello! Yes, your hubby can go into the room with you. The OSCARS test consists of a NT (nuchal translucency) scan as well as a blood test. They'll measure the crown-rump length of your baby to make sure that your baby is growing well in relation to the number of weeks you are at now. They will also check for the presence of the nasal bone. Then they'll measure the thickness of the fluid at the back of your baby's neck & from there, they'll generate a report to estimate your risk. They'll also draw some blood from you & the blood test result will be out within 2 working days. From there, a overall report will be generated.

hi momoko...

hw i'm oli 11 weeks, haben get any breakout yet... I went to c gynae on sat.. he says by next scan, shd b able to see whether the baby is a G or B liao....

So fast can see the gender of the baby? My gynae says depends on whether baby is cooperative or not. I also hope to know the gender soon so I can start shopping for baby clothes!

i also hope can see the gender.Very eager. I have breakouts too.I have very glowing skin for my first pregnancy even though i seldom maintain my skin.This time round is breakouts after breakouts...haiz...

hello ladies,

lhy, if you dont like the taste of prune juice you can try fybogel also. i tried both. think fybogel more effective. and is recommended by gynae and gp also. the first day i drank fybogel, next day i shit like twice . but when i drank prune juice i had diarrh shortly after.different pp different effects i think

rabbit
In TMC I was allowed to bring my hb and son into the room during the OSCAR. My son kept making naughty comments like talking about my "fat fat tummy" and made the sonographer smile a lot...! He (my son) was't that interested in the babies' ultrasounds tho...

bbmouse
OIC, then will make own arrangements for the PIS. Thx!

jo.. when is yr next scan?

ydnic... i suppose yr 1st pregnancy where u had glowing skin is becos u having a girl? Heard girls make mummy prettier n boys make mummy looks terrible.

There is one saying which is super accurate
If you have swollen nose, u are having boy
if u have swollen feet, u are having girl.
So far v true, but i wonder when these symptoms will show

hi lemon, ya the del monte prune juice really not nice, everytime i drink sure puke out. now also dun dare to drink, still got 3/4 bottle in the fridge so wasted. i think i will give the sunraysia's one a try. :p

hi jo, my next appt also 1 mth time when i'm 15-16 weeks. hope i also can see the baby gender by then.

i'm also have breakouts. it's those small small pimples around my cheeks and chin. so ugly!

Symptoms
I looked great when carrying my son...now look horrible with zits all over my forehead! But I think the swelling legs = girls symptom has been true for a few of my cousins...i guess that means I'm having boys??

I have also known people carrying girls with swollen noses
hard to pinpoint lah I think. really depends on the mumtobe and genetics

Jo
I did the ring thing on a friend when we started working in 1998...for him, i got one boy, one girl, one boy and one girl. He now has one boy, one girl, one boy and everytime he sees me he says...I am not looking forward to the fourth child!!! I guess it was v accurate for him!

Hi Shazz

What are the replacement parts that u are getting for PIS? I am going to borrow it from a friend of mine who used it onie for a month or so. I hope i will not spoilt it though
:S

I have checked with the distributor and they have given me the following details. It looks arabic to me though. Have u figured what are the replacement parts to get?

1) Tubing- S$15.00 per pc.
2) Personalfit Breastshield w/connector- S$13.50 per set
3) Valve Membrane- S$8.50 per pair
4) Valve Head- S$6.50 per pc
5) Milk Bottle- S$8.50 per pc
6) Bottle Lid & Disc- S$5.00 per set
7) Bottle Stand- S$5.00 per pc
8) Adaptor- S$45.00 only upon presentation of our Medela Warranty Card, if not will be S$65.00 per pc. (*purchase at Medela Service Centre only)

this was 10 years ago so my memory a bit fuzzy...i think u use a gold chain with a ring at the end. you hold it over your palm, not sure which side tho, and if it swings back and forth, it's a boy, if it goes in a circle, then it's a girl. Or maybe it was the other way round...lemme see if I can confirm that!!!

Here we go:
Needle or Wedding Ring Gender Prediction Method

This an easy baby gender prediction method to try. Take a pin, needle, or wedding ring and attach it to a thread or strand of hair. Hold the dangling item over mom to be's belly while she is lying down. If the needle or wedding ring swings in a strong circular motion, you will be having a girl. If it moves in a to and fro motion like a pendulum, you will be having a boy.

An alternate version of this baby gender prediction method is to dangle the needle or wedding ring over the expectant mom's wrist instead of belly.

And for what I did last time (to see how many kids u'll have), once it moves a certain way, you stop it and then hold it over the hand again. do this until the time when the ring no longer moves. that means no more kids after that already.

Goldfish,
I think u could ask bbmouse.. think she ever mention can get the adaptor from sin ming or wat.. and less than $10 only.. dun have to buy directly from medela lah..

Ava,
so u getting on ur own too ah.. for the PIS. when u doing it?? can share how u do it to guide me thru.. i very blur one leh..
scare later can't order on my own.. wait will get lost...

Momoko
This is first time I'm ordering something from US too...I might just get it sent to my fren's house and ask her to post it to me, then pay her some how or other. Or use the vpost one. I'm only doing this later on...once I do it successfully, will be able to share...

or mayvbe more experienced online shoppers can help us now??

long time no long in..heehee
busy with work..sigh..
btw,
anyone taking nature care(natal care plus) fish pill currently ?
Cos i see the content is from tuna oil..tot tuna mercury content is quite high, wonder if safe to take the pill a not.
Anyone else taking ? Or those taking neurogain know their fish oil content is from where? heehee

Needle or Wedding Ring Gender Prediction Method

Of my my friend's mother did it for some of us ladies when we were in the US (about 10 of us), and the predictions for all of us came true! I am supposed to have boy, then girl, then girl. My first one is a boy, but when I did the test again just now, my second one is a boy leh! Maybe I need to find my friend's mother to do the test for me again.. haha.

goldfish, the prices given to u by the distributor are so expensive!!! think still better to get from US. check out the prices at self expressions website.
i will be getting items 1-5. these are all the plastics parts that are in direct contact with the milk.

Goldfish (goldfish1395): I haven collected my set from my friend yet. So I have not figured out what parts to get yet. I'll probably order in May/June period.

Borrow from friends can be tricky leh. I read that the motor for the breast pumps usually last at most 1 year, depending on usage too, some models like the Medela Mini Electric can last some for only half a year with daily usage. When buying 2nd hand, you ought to check how long the previous owner used it, and what was the frequency.

Momoko (momoko76) : The adaptor bbmouse is talking about can get from Sim Lim for $10 is a adaptor for local use, cos the set she got is US set, which has a different voltage from Singapore.

bbmouse (bbmouse)/shazz - On the PIS, I think I am going to go ahead to order one set of the PIS advance (backpack style) from US thru vPost, maybe in the next 1-2 weeks.

There are distributors in Singapore, Medela doesn't ship overseas. So if you want to get direct from US, have to go thru other sites. I am getting from Medela, but asking them to send to the vPost US address, then consolidating that with something else that I am getting to save on shipping. (Ordering early cos I need the other item soon.)

Total shipping cost for the 2 items about S$50, still quite reasonable. Only getting one PIS cos my sis has the exact same one & will be lending me hers

crayonshinchan (crayonshinchan) - heh, yes I am quite small build, so D cups would be abit big on me :p Am a reasonable B now, so was thinking i don't mind ballooning into C or D! But if I am going to end up with saggy boobs after that, then better not be too greedy!

shazz (shazzerlyn) - i usually don't fancy beef, but have been eating more beef that usual also! My sis was the same and her baby ended up being a boy
On pimples, I get them ocassionally, so cannot really tell from that.

storeberry (storeberry) - let us know after your scan if u can see the gender of ur baby
So exciting! I still have to wait another fortnight!

Ava - yes, vPost is very reasonable. My hubby orders alot of stuff from US online, and vPost is the cheapest and most reliable. $50 he thinks is the max estimate already (based on the weight of the 2 items i am getting. Abit more ex than usual cos the PIS backpack thing is almost 4kg!)

Bigtoes - heh. OK, I'm planning on getting the backpack too...keeps the hands free! I hate totes and sling bags...already ahve to deal with a handbag and sometimes laptop bag!!!

dreamt that i'm carrying a boy....saw the "zoomed in" penis during the scan, and i screamed, "but i already have 2 boys!!!"

woke up in horror and told my hb, who was watching soccer. He just smiled and asked to go back to sleep. And this time, i dreamt that I was delivering a boy after 2 days of labour pain!!! woke up in fright again and hb laughed at me...

scary...

i know its a 50-50% chance and i must be prepared to hv another boy..but still...the fear is there...sigh..

going for the NT scan at TMC on 25th Mar (Tue) 2pm. anyone happens to be there too on the same day/timing???

TRaz
You already have 2 boys?? lol...that's probably why u r having the dream...fear of having another one. Aiyoh...hey, don't stress...we may be in same boat remember? And mine will be born at the same time!

Jo
Yeah, soy is fine. go for sugarless one if u can tahan the taste. I get soy milk frm a shop that makes it fresh everyday wtth no sugar. Or check stores for brands whgere they don't add additives to it. better for u.

Momoko: Yes if you already have an account with vpost, then can use liao. You may give them a call for a refresher on how to use the service. Very briefly, vpost will give you a personalised account number. When you order from the US merchant, advise the merchant to ship to your account in vpost usa. Vpost usa will then ship your item to your doorstep in Singapore. The difference between the Metro and backpack in the bag, you're rite. I prefer the backpak cos it's easier to lug around. But own preference only lah.

Twendy: I won't want to get so soon. Maybe you go ahead first. Thanks..

Traz: The way you describe your dream is really funny..

Did I miss out anyone's questions? Pls let me know. Thanks