(2008/09) Sep 2008

Jo (jgwee) : it's ok to drink but please buy from reliable source, those in the supermarket should be reliable, but those in hawker centres, please be careful as they sometimes add "cement" to thicken the drink. I was told the cement is not healthy for our fetal.

limay: good idea to use vpost now cos they have a $15 discount now for charges above $40. Am also getting the one with the backpack from my colleague. Do update us on the final cost! ;)

Hi LC,

Yah, soya milk is soya bean drink. Like what Ava mentioned, you can reduce the amount of sugar. I get mine from an uncle who mixes the soya milk with horlick at Maxwell Market. Very thick and yummy.

If you are particular, you might want to make your own organic soya milk... buy organic soya bean, soak them for a few hours, blend, strained, and boil the milk. V good for bb.
I have friends who like to do their own soya bean milk.

bbmouse, me also looking at buying the Medela PIS from US. Can I find out where did you buy the adaptor from? $65 for an adaptor from the distributor is very ex so I was hoping there is a cheaper source. So as long as we buy the adaptor, the US unit can be used in Singapore? Is the voltage compatible?

I just called the Medela distributor here (the one at Toh Guan Centre) and they say the adaptor sells for $85!!! Wow, that's like daylight robbery! Think they are trying to discourage us to buy the PIS from US cos the extra $85 will wipe out half the savings we enjoy

Hi Shazz

I am abit skeptical abt borrowing from friend. She did not use it for 1 year+ liao and i oso read it from somewhere that the motor not beri long-life one leh. I scare wait i used halfway ad the motor die on me and i haf to get a new one for myself and a new one for my friend

OMG

now i m having second thots liao
How much cheaper is via US through Vpost huh? Which website to order?

Flora/Ava: Don't have to get the adaptor from the distributor. Can get form any hardware shop. Just provide the specs of the motor eg: voltage, ohm, watts etc. It works. My adaptor broke down on me after abt 4 or 5mths. We just went to another shop to get a replacement. That's all.
Bear in mind we use the pump very very often. So I'm not surprised if it breaks down.

It costs us less than $10.

Ava/Flora: Don't even have to go Sim Lim if there is a nearby hardware shop at your palce. I said ISm Lim cos that's where my hubby went lah, and I think there're a lot of hardware shops there.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - Just sign up with vPost to create an account, then u can just order from the Medela website itself. But in the delivery address, put the vPost US address instead of your Spore addy. Medela will send domestically, and vPost will do the international shipping. Cost is based on what you are buying (shipping content) & weight. The Medela PIS is about 4kg, & based on that we estimated shipping to be about S$40-50. Like shazz said, vPost has a S$15 discount for shipping cost of >S$40 now, so quite worth it.

Ladies - I am assuming that the PIS comes with a build in transformer (most electronic stuff like laptops do)? So just need an adaptor. If not, its easy to get a transformer here also

good monday everyone!

been busy with packing and house moving the last few days and have finally settled down. just a few more trips to the old house to pack some items to be stored and we'll be done. i'm really tired!!!

i bought my sunraysia from cold storage.... once i drank it yesterday, i shitted twice yesterday too..very smooth.. ahhaha...

fybogel also can..i tried that before too. also work as well, just that alittle more troublesome cause gotta get spoon, then stir...and drink it as soon as you can, else it all becomes too jellied...then you kinda gotta to eat it then drink it.. haha...

Hi Limay,

No, there is no built in transformer for the PIS that I have. I used a transformer but that broke down after a while. Since I was pumping intermittently previously, I just used batteries in the end.

bbmouse,
do you mean we can get adaptors here that can work for 110V designed PIS?

Hi Bigtoes
Thanks for the summary. I have never done internet shopping before bt US230 sounds much cheaper than SGD600++ that i saw at the recent taka fair! I tink i might do just as tat. Bt i am worried tat scully i no milk den waste $$

How u all weight the pros and cons in getting an expensive pump huh?

Goldfish
Even if u end up not bf'ing, you can always sell second hand, esp if u bot brand new. There will always be mums interested.

ladies is it cheaper to buy the breast pump in US? cos my hubby working there now. Dunno if buy in their shopping mall will be cheaper or not leh
anyone can advise???

Hi Ava
Do u knwo how much is the resale rate for PIS?

Mrs Yap,
It is 100% confirmed guarantee cheaper wor.

One question -- If our US set is faulty, can we send to local service centre for servicing mah? :S

Mrs Yap,

It's definitely cheaper to get your hubby to buy there. Can ask him to check out Target, Toysrus, etc. How long is he staying there? Can just order online and send it over to his place. My hubby is going to the US for 1 month in May and I have 1 looonnnggg list of things for him to bring back for my son and the baby (I will be ordering them myself online and shipping it to his place)! haha

Ruixiang: Yes, we can. I have 2 adaptors which worked. I find using batteries less powerful than using electricity.

PIS Adaptor: One more tip. If possible, bring the pump along when you buy the adaptor, can test if it works. Then for sure you'll find one that works.

Ava/Goldfish: No. My set is working well, so I haven't sent it for repairs yet.

ladies sorry for being so blur cos i didnt really follow the thread postings on the breast pump. I only start to 'wake up' when u all mention wanna buy online from US. It makes me suddenly realise i can ask my hubby to buy lor... he will be there for another 2 to 3 weeks..
Hi Ruixiang mum... Target sounds familar leh... Australia also have Target right? Cos my sis studying there... will it be cheaper too? Cos if so i rather ask my sis to buy rather then Hubby cos hubby maybe too blockhead to buy. My sis smarter when it comes to shopping...keke

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - the S$279 one is not the complete set. Just the pumps and something else.

Btw - Not sure if Target stocks Medela - but I am going to Syney in May myself, so just dropped their Aussie distributor a note to check where i can get the PIS advance from, and for how much. Will let u know!

wow bigtoes... u travelling with yr big tummy ah?
I really wish to go for a holiday too cos during CNY we suppose to go Japan but realise i am preg somemore i had bad spotting. Did u seek yr doc's approval? Thanks for offering to help me check.

millie, added u to the list.
i think i miss a few out..and also those who k now the gender can also update me

babyatom, sorry to hear about ur loss.
pls take care *hugz*

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummy Nick</TD><TD>Baby Name</TD><TD> EDD </TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD> Hospital</TD><TD> Gynae </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelinegoh</TD><TD></TD><TD> 020sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> ALLim </TD></TR><TR><TD>aisha8314</TD><TD></TD><TD>02-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> KKH </TD><TD>Dr Marianne Hendricks </TD></TR><TR><TD>isabelle</TD><TD></TD><TD> 03-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> TC Chang </TD></TR><TR><TD>skinny pig </TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD> Prof Yong EL </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippie</TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> Dr sF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>hp_babe</TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>storeberry</TD><TD></TD><TD> 04-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>twendy</TD><TD></TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>WKTan </TD></TR><TR><TD>crayonshinchan </TD><TD></TD><TD>06-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim </TD></TR><TR><TD>mrsgan</TD><TD></TD><TD>06-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr KHI </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaline</TD><TD></TD><TD> 07-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> MT A</TD><TD> Dr Esther Ng </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ying Ling</TD><TD></TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunrays</TD><TD></TD><TD>08-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shazz</TD><TD></TD><TD> 09-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> RH</TD><TD> Dr Lee I Wuen </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jane</TD><TD></TD><TD> 09-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Chen Chern Yi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Precious</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winnie</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>preggies</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MtE</TD><TD>Dr Kowa </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine</TD><TD></TD><TD>12Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aloevera</TD><TD></TD><TD> 16-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr M Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bigtoes</TD><TD></TD><TD> 10-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr WK Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>yun</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD></TD><TD> 11-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi </TD></TR><TR><TD>juz_jewel</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD> Dr Tan LK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ava (avalyn) </TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Paul Tseng </TD></TR><TR><TD>qiuling</TD><TD></TD><TD> 17Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Momoko76</TD><TD></TD><TD> 17-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> ESH</TD><TD> Dr Heng Tung Lan </TD></TR><TR><TD>lemon</TD><TD></TD><TD>17-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>milky</TD><TD></TD><TD>17-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>Dr Heng </TD></TR><TR><TD>fsa</TD><TD></TD><TD> 18-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Judy WongTPS </TD></TR><TR><TD>Millie</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonneho</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>dr lawrence ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>rabbit</TD><TD></TD><TD>22-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>mrsyap</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Lim </TD></TR><TR><TD>jeanling</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Yong </TD></TR><TR><TD>blueroses</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ruixiang</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>milkmilk</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Kee KH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Traz</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Sept</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian(SK) </TD></TR><TR><TD>l'l CY </TD><TD></TD><TD>29-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Dr Vanaja </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbmouse</TD><TD></TD><TD>end-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>XuanMummy</TD><TD></TD><TD> end-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A </TD><TD>Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>storm</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD> Dr Joan Thong </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - hah, yes, but for work
not holiday! I am travelling right till end-June, so I will be like 7 months by then.
I actually dont mind, &amp; want to travel more before i get "grounded" when the baby comes!

I didn't ask my gyne yet (need to get a letter to show the airline), but if there are no complications, we can typically travel all the way till week 36.

updated jo, mei.
Welcome

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummy Nick</TD><TD>Baby Name</TD><TD> EDD </TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD> Hospital</TD><TD> Gynae </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelinegoh</TD><TD></TD><TD> 020sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> ALLim </TD></TR><TR><TD>aisha8314</TD><TD></TD><TD>02-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> KKH </TD><TD>Dr Marianne Hendricks </TD></TR><TR><TD>isabelle</TD><TD></TD><TD> 03-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> TC Chang </TD></TR><TR><TD>skinny pig </TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD> Prof Yong EL </TD></TR><TR><TD>hippie</TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> Dr sF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>hp_babe</TD><TD></TD><TD>03-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>storeberry</TD><TD></TD><TD> 04-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>twendy</TD><TD></TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>WKTan </TD></TR><TR><TD>crayonshinchan </TD><TD></TD><TD>06-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim </TD></TR><TR><TD>mrsgan</TD><TD></TD><TD>06-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr KHI </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaline</TD><TD></TD><TD> 07-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> MT A</TD><TD> Dr Esther Ng </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ying Ling</TD><TD></TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunrays</TD><TD></TD><TD>08-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shazz</TD><TD></TD><TD> 09-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> RH</TD><TD> Dr Lee I Wuen </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jane</TD><TD></TD><TD> 09-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Chen Chern Yi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Precious</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winnie</TD><TD></TD><TD>09-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>preggies</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>MtE</TD><TD>Dr Kowa </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine</TD><TD></TD><TD>12Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD></TD><TD>12Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Tan KT </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aloevera</TD><TD></TD><TD> 16-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr M Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bigtoes</TD><TD></TD><TD> 10-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> TMC</TD><TD> Dr WK Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>yun</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD></TD><TD> 11-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi </TD></TR><TR><TD>juz_jewel</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD> Dr Tan LK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ava (avalyn) </TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Paul Tseng </TD></TR><TR><TD>qiuling</TD><TD></TD><TD> 17Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Ho HK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Momoko76</TD><TD></TD><TD> 17-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> ESH</TD><TD> Dr Heng Tung Lan </TD></TR><TR><TD>lemon</TD><TD></TD><TD>17-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>milky</TD><TD></TD><TD>17-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD>Dr Heng </TD></TR><TR><TD>fsa</TD><TD></TD><TD> 18-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> KKH</TD><TD> Dr Judy WongTPS </TD></TR><TR><TD>Millie</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonneho</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>dr lawrence ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>rabbit</TD><TD></TD><TD>22-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> Dr SF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>mrsyap</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> Dr Lim </TD></TR><TR><TD>jeanling</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Yong </TD></TR><TR><TD>blueroses</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ruixiang</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jen </TD></TR><TR><TD>milkmilk</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Kee KH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Traz</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian(SK) </TD></TR><TR><TD>l'l CY </TD><TD></TD><TD>29-Sept</TD><TD></TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Dr Vanaja </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbmouse</TD><TD></TD><TD>end-sep</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>XuanMummy</TD><TD></TD><TD> end-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> Mt A </TD><TD>Dr Adrian </TD></TR><TR><TD>storm</TD><TD></TD><TD>01-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>RH</TD><TD> Dr Joan Thong </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Lim,

Would you mind changing my nick to Ruixiangsmom instead of Ruixiang? Don't want to usurp my son's name.

Lim: The motor of the pump is the most expensive. If you want to buy a spare motor, then it's almost equivalent to buying a new pump.

My gynae is at Mt E, Dr Chew. Thanks.

hi ava,
thanks. will drag hubby in. feeling excited and nervous. sigh.

can anyone share with me if there is any way to improve sleep? I have a feeling as if I did not sleep for the whole night, the brain seems to be dreaming or somewhere else. Been like this for weeks.

Bigtoes (limay): my friend, who is in the travel industry, told me the airlines stop letting pregnant woman board the plane once they are 30 weeks pregnant. My friend had to deal with an emergency case of a traveller giving birth prematurely in Prague last year! She was barely 30 weeks pregnant then. Very complicated!

But I agree with limay that we should travel as often as we can now before we're grounded by the airlines and by our little ones! =)

I'm travelling to Israel next monday for 10 days, following that will be in Ho Chi Minh for 3-4days in early April. Hopefully can still go for 2 more trips in May and June. ;)

I got a letter from my gynae to state that I'm healthy and able to travel.

hi everyone..
busy day for me today...couldnt keep up with all ur chats...

Lim(xuanmommy), you can add these information..
my doctor now is DR Tracey Lim,..hospital haven't decide yet.

Hi mummies!! Jus saw gynae &amp; he was surprised to see me again cos I just saw him on thurs for flu. Had to remind him that I was there for check up.. Kekeke..

Then as he was doing the scan, I casually asked him if can see boy or gal, he scan and show me a thing sticking out &amp; is a bb boy!! I was so happy!! BB is 8.6cm long liao. And Praise GOD, my blood clot is gone!

Bigtoes, update us your scan also yah? I also hope to travel but all my frens asked me to rest cos I was spotting the past few mths...

Shazz: Two holidays? So envy!! I also hope to go Isreal someday... You going with your church?

Xuanmommy, can help me to update the gender?

Seems like can buy the breast pump first then sell off later if no BM.. But still don't know which is better.. Decisions decision....