(2008/09) Sep 2008

xuanting,
my blood tests also includes all the HIV hep B tests etc etc.
Hmmm mebbe it's cos he charges for consultation too then since not his patient. But I'm already under his package so no charge on that I guess.

Burd's nest for baby to have nice and fair skin

Hi xuanting, yes, I did my NT test at TMC x-ray centre. Costs about $110.

I want to eat bird nest but I don't know how to clean!! Keke.. I was thinking of buying those bottled ones..

Isabelle: Is it worth it to get the TMC FBI card?

Wingkei,

I was laughing so loud when i read ur message about ur hubby not letting u buy the butter cocoa for ur tummy.. so funny/... and also on the massage lady thing... i think hor.. u must let ur hubby know the norm of things to expect.. but dun worry about reading the forum.. we just sharing over here.. take in wat u think is good ke ke ke.. P/s: dun be angry tat i laugh ok.. :p

Milky, wow.. we have the same EDD and doc leh.. who knows we will be next bed with each other hor.. kekeke.. think likely i will go for 2 beded.. u leh??

Hi momoko,

haha true. who knows... we will moral support each other on the same dae.. i will also go for 2 bedded too.. :p

will u aso b taking up the antenatal class too?
do u noe r they charging?

i still dunno if i shld b gng for the DS test or they call it triple test.. nt sure.. my family advised me nt too cos nt over age 35 yr old.. confuse

hi storeberry, my family told me bottled ones effect is nt as gd as tos "raw" ones..

i hav another dilemma.. to keep my big dog or to give away??

anyone of u keep dog too and will still keep it with u even aft the bb is born? how will u cope wif it?

my prob r my dog drops alot of fur everywher @hm and plus he is tos jealousy type.. so my family v worried n has been nagging @us to give the dog away.. but i cnt.. cos it has been wif us since he is 2 mths old till nw 3 yrs old..

storeberry
we got the card only a mth plus b4 i birthed cos at that time if pay by citibank got offer. That is, the discount on the maternity room package is greater than the amt we paid for the card. So we took lor.
After that I took my girl to Singapore baby and Child Clinic and got discount also. Other than that i can't rem using it for anything else. Until I was warded for bleeding and was pleasantly surprised that I still got 5% discount on room rate!

Momoko, don't worry about me getting angry at your laughing. I just wish somebody would knock some sense into my HB!

milky
what a dilemma! But guess u know ur dog's character best, if it will harm bb or not.

A stray dog (silky terrier) wandered into my PILs place a week plus ago and my FIL refused to keep it cos he said the fur might trigger asthma and got babies in the hse. We had to send to SPCA.

I tried to tell FIL got many ppl still keep dogs even after bb is born but he was insistent. My SIL loves dogs but not her hse so she cldn't say anything. Same for me.
And the dog looked abandoned by ex-owner as it looked so depressed. It wldn't eat or drink at our place. Was so sad when I dropped it off at SPCA with hubby. Somemore the person said if 2 days still cannot find original owner, the vet will decide if it's suitable for adoption, else put to sleep. I look at the dog, looks so depressed and weak. I think it's "xiong duo ji shao". So sad

sigh.. at the moment i tik he wont harm.. he likes to pounce n lick ppl dat all.. so dunno in future will he pounce on bb too

ya it v sad to give dog away.. esp to spca.. heard bout putting it to zzz too..

milky : hi, jane here. i have 2 dogs myself. both with skin problems need home cook food....so far my husband is helping to cook and clean... they r like son & daughter to us.. i know we r going to have lots of time taken up by our bb next time....but we cant bear to part with them...1 with us for 4 yrs another 6 yrs plus... we will try to work things out! ... make sure u keep them clean and healthy..tat will not affect u & bb...BTW i grown up with dogs....my old dog at my mum place for 13 yrs liao.....

rabbit.. i asked my doc wats the bb heart rate... it seems that he dun hv anything to measure the heart rate and based on his own hearing judgement he says it is between 130 to 160... so he say already also like nv say... cos the range is so big... keke

isabelle
yap mothers are the best..haha..i m consider lucky coz i am staying at my parents house even after marriage (coz i cant get used to sleeping at my ILs house..a week after marriage i moved back to my parent house le..haha)..stay at ILs house need to do own washing and house chores but at own home, mummy do those clothes washing for me and my husband..
I got rear hamsters..before pregnant i m the one doing the cleaning but now my husband doing the cleaning coz i told him i got read up an acticle that cat litter not gd for pregnant lady coz will affect bb..then i tell him i scare hamster also will affect bb so he got no choice but to do the cleaning haha

hi jane, do u confine ur dogs to an area so dat they cnt walk ard the hse n drop fur? im tiking of dat solution but dunno if it works..
do we nid to do any other things else like giving the dog any special jabs or etc to prevent spreading disease or germs etc?

the best part is my hubby is always on biz trip every mth (bout 2 weeks) thus, I hav to do poo cleaning n bathing myself for the dog etc..

winnie, do u noe if dog poo is nt gd too?

milky
this is wat is stated in the acticle :
Pregnancy is the prime time to get out of cleaning kitty's litter box. Why? Because an infection called toxoplasmosis can be spread through soiled cat litter boxes and can cause serious problems, including prematurity, poor growth, and severe eye and brain damage. A pregnant woman who becomes infected often has no symptoms but can still pass the infection on to her developing baby.
the acticle only mentioned cat litter so i dunno about doggy poo..maybe u can do a research online on that...

wingkei, forgot to add, u tell your hubby tat confinement(jamu) massage is different from those aromatherpy massage. jamu is for after delivery women, to release the wind n blood clots in us. esp after those 9mths of no menses.

but if without massage, you can massage urself everyday after delivery! u just need to press and push downwards from your tummy to lower ab. just to get the wind n blood clots out. so really no issue if hubby is against jamu massage... =)

another way to get rid of blood clots, is to eat lotsa black fungus with ginger!! tat's wat we shld eat for the first 2-3weeks of confinement, the very last week, then we start to take tonics like pork trotter's in vinegar, n all those tonics soup. tat's why some confinement is 40days, not 30days... i did mine for 40days.

first 2-3weeks is to clear the dirty stuff inside us, after tat, the tonics we take will be absorb easily. if we start to BU too early, then the impurities will stay inside n will form cysts or other illness as we age.

ur elders or CL(confinement lady) will be able to advise u. my cousin's MIL didnt know, and BU my cousin in the same week, and her menses came so much until she fainted, n admitted to hospital again... anyhow BU can do more harm to no BU!

but after delivery, we can take DOM, rice wine, Wicarnis and Brands Essence of Chkn everyday. this is for strengthing.

hi mrs yap,

that's what my gynae did as well.

hi Winnie,
my TCM says ok to have it now at first trim..not too sure if true or not.

Crayonshinchan: eermm..... think can bah.. haha.. usually i'll juz drink those in cans.. or if i happen to go restaurants, those that they serve lor.. juz remember k.. MODERATION is the key word!!

Jasmine: that's such a relief to hear... hehe. now muz make sure u dun walk too much k.. n YES!! i agree with ur hubby.. haha... no more shopping for u for the time being.. hhmm... which reminds mi.. i haven been out smelling the shopping ctr's air-con for a loooonnnnggg time le...

I'm juz back home from my OSCAR test at TMC. wah... so happy and tickled to see bb bouncing around and moving so actively. so glad that bb is growing bb den he/she should be. by dates, i should be only about 11w5d (which makes mi officially entering my 2nd tri tmr, according to Dr Cheng). from scan, bb is 6.5cm which is about 12w5d... hehe.. so happy..

oh yes.. i paid nearly $300 for the OSCAR test (after the 10% FBI discount) and another $177 for blood test (all kinds of tests including thalessemia). burnt a BIG hole in my pocket wor..

i read that some of u were asking if the FBI was worthwhile signing up. hhmm... i think it is wor. coz upon signing, u get a goodie bag full of things, including 3 books written by Mrs Wong worth $48. and with this card, u get 10% discounts whenever we do our scanning at the 4th flr (for OSCAR and detailed scan). oso, can get some rebate off the room fees (1 bedder, can get $100 off). n if we are considering signing up for cordlife, another $450 off... full of discounts.. hehe. oh yes.. if ur gynae so happens to be under the panel of doctors, den can get 5% off delivery fees oso... too bad Dr Cheng is not in the panel of doctors

hi ladies, thanks on the tips of the ginger tea, think unless very bad,if not i really dare not try.

milky, wat dog u hv? we also own a big dog,GR. she's been around for many yrs, now probably 8-9yrs old liao. my son grew up with her n her 'tons of fur' too. u can asked yr gynae, n they will say no harm at all. but we do limit her space now and also play time for her n my son is supervised. n we shave our dog too, so she's a short hair GR. in all, need to be hygience consience n keep the house clean when bb arrives. as usual, my mum also nag at us to give up e dog during my last pregnancy, but hb insisted, n its been so many yrs already. i think its all an individual decision. if u really dun wan to keep yr dog, can try to find him a good home via yr own means or thru those re-home agencies. but pls dont send to SPCA, cos if no new owner found there, he 's likely to be put to death.

hi milkmilk, mine aso a GR.
yes, u reminded me..to get him shave short hair..
eventualy tik i will still keep him..but i jz wonder how to tackle the fur prob n aso in case he pounce on bb prob..

milky, ya agree GR likes to pounce on us humans. but since my last pregnancy, i stopped her from doing so, by saying no. n eventually she stopped that, so i think its abit of discipline to let her get used to certain ways of behaviour. u may wan to start training yours too, cos GRs are so rough, can imagine e pain when they pounce on yr tummy as it grows. in fact,initially she's roaming e whole house including our rooms, but after bb arrives, she's restricted to living room, n when bb start to crawl, we restrict her to kitchen only. somehow no choice cos u wan to limit e fur from flying all over. hb will play with her in kitchen nowadays. even thou with short fur, still drop alot. must sweep/vacuum everyday lor. but then bb will eventually get used to the 'furry' environment. actually e GR is not mine, but my hb, so i also always wanted to get rid of her, but somehow its fated, she'll stay with us forever :p

oh yes, hving a dog has trained my son to be a pet lover now

milky, i have a border collie and he is almost 3 now... my daughter has been living with him for 1 year plus now... generally they get a long ok but I NEVER put them too close to each other as he is playful and his nails are always so sharp... and he has so much strength... my only problem with him now is his fur... my daughter is at an age where she picks little things up from the floor and puts into her mouth... so unless you have a maid who mops the house every single day, else it is difficult for your child to crawl and walk around... and I actually stay in a pretty small place and restricting the dog is not fair to him as well... anyway, his fur flies around and we humans also carry his fur all over the house... as I do not have a maid, I am trying to give him away but am also facing difficulty in trying to find a suitable home for him... thing is with #2 coming along as well, I dun think I can cope with him and 1 baby and 1 toddler... will keep him with me until I find a suitable home for him... anyone wants a border collie?

jane,
wow.. u really a dog lover.. milky.. think u should seek jane advise too... i afraid of dog one.. but not against them just tat when i was young got bitten by them so.. i very scare...

milky,
i dun think i will be going for the antanal class coz this is my 2nd one.. already gone once.. kekeke.. and usually on a weekend.. and i have to work too.. ahhhh.. i hate working now.. wish i'm rich than can just take care of my babies full time...

As for the test.. watever the doc ask me to.. i just do.. if no harm... why not.. especially during my first one.. i was tested tat i was a carrier for thalessemia.. but lucky thing is tat if ur hubby is negative than likely chance ur baby will be alrite..

Sasa de mouse..
Wau.. ur tests r all so expensive.. more than $300 plus.. omg.. hmm.. i dun remember paying so much for it during my first pregnancy.. guess different clnic hor.. got package for ur doc?

Morning, everyone..

I nearly fainted on the train this morning, when on way to work..feel scary at that point...anyone experiencing such fainting spell at this stage? . anyone have good idea to curb?

Morning ladies! The nurse called be back today on my OSCAR test - everything is well
Phew.

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - I also paid about $500 in total for OSCAR & the slew of blood test, but don't have the FBI package from TMC yet. Thanks for highlighting that. Just dropped them a note for more information - would be quite worth it if can save $100 off single room & on the cord blood storage.

LC,

I also experienced black outs for the past 2 morning... For that split sec, I was breaking into cold sweat suddenly, whole body aching like hell and almost fainted as well... I was close to throwing up but I tried hard not to vomit...

The moment I alighted at my station and started to walk around, I felt better..

morning ladies ,
Loever, i think can "bu" after the twelve day .. my CL gave tonic after the 12 days of delivery .. hmm and all the wy till the 30 days ..

mummies who feel faint ,
Please take care and check of your blood count level is low , ie , need to take iron tablets .. cos last preg i also experience and was given iron pills to eat

hi bigtoes,
congrats.

hi LC,
I have the same feeling too. i do not dare to go anywhere alone because I often having this feeling.

hi Qiuling,
So far, the gynae did not provide any iron tablets. does it mean we have to request for a blood test?

I just went for my blood test, nearly fainted at the sight of the blood that they withdrew! Thank God the nurse is fast cos my blood circulation is slow and it tends to get clogged up. But she forgot to press my wound after she removed the syringe, so my blood was still flowing and it soaked the plaster. When she replaced the plaster, she told me it'll be bruised for a few days.

I paid $486 but I have no idea what the test will entails! Will know the results on Friday, when I go for my detailed scan and review with my gynae.

LC and skinny pig,

aiyo, pls take good care. i also used to hv those dizzy spells and i put a small bottle of medicated oil in my bag, and some sour plums to suck when i feel nauseous.

i find tat sometimes the train is too packed and not enuff oxygen to go around, hence we will feel the cold sweat bursting out, and hv the blackout feeling for a while. at tat point of time, so scared rite!! really xia si wo leh...

sometimes wanna get out of the train but so scared tat i might just faint... so just put alot of medicated oil on my temples and throat.. and fan at my face to get the air more regulated around me.

hi qiuling, coz your CL is there only for 28days, and usually the menses will come alot at the first 2weeks, so they will start to BU you after 2weeks. but if it's your mom or mil, u can prolong the confinement period, and only tell her to start the tonics after your menses more or less reduce.

think it's personal preference coz some women tend to hv menses for 5-6days while some only 3days, the flow is different, so no hard n fast rule really. but one thing i realised is tat after abt 40days, i can feel the "heat" on my back if i still take tonics liao! hahaha... so it's really true tat our body does react differently before n after the confinement period.

Momoko: ya lor... so exp leh.. ytd spent nearly $500 le. and i haven included the $148 which i paid to sign up for FBI... no leh... this OSCAR test and blood test not inclusive inside doc's package de. think none of the gynaes offer such good deals leh.. hehe

Bigtoes: yeah.. faster sign up for it.. hehe.. coz i really think its a good deal. of coz thats provided u gonna sign up for cordlife, and be staying in TMC lah.. n oso, can check if ur gynae is in the panel of doc. can get 5% off their delivery fees leh.. good good... too bad Dr Cheng is not. i've got the email which they sent to mi regarding the FBI. can forward it to u if u wan..

Yeah... the nurse called mi this morning and told mi results for my blood test.

She said: "You are not in the high risk group". For awhile.. my heart stopped and skipped a beat before heaving a sigh of relief.. sighz.. y cant she juz say results look very good????????

aiya.. forgot to ask her abt my thalessemia test...

Hi, Rabbit & skinny pig

So, I am not alone.. before preggie, already got this prob of fainting anywhere any time.. haiz.. now seem worse..

Hi, Quiling

I suppose headache also associates with the supply of iron tablets? My gynae has not given me any yet.. maybe this friday will ask.. i always tot iron tablets are given after the 1st trimester...

regarding the FBI card, it gives you discount off the hospital room stay. to us, this is more than enough to cover the cost of the card. then, we try to make purchases from the pharmacy, visit the 24-hr clinic, use for my PD services @ SCBC. in fact, i have already signed up for SBI card since my FBI is expiring soon.

bigtoes,
this card is not applicable for WK Tan's services or scans done with TC Chang.

as for having pets, we have a cat and i got tested for toxoplamsis (i know i got the wrong spelling) last time. no issue as long as i'm not the one clearing the cat poo. in fact, my gal grew up loving the cat so much. she waved morning to the cat every morning after she wakes up, in fact, she goes ard "hunting" for her. then, my SIL got a dog which my gal got to see almost every weekday. she simply love the dog too. her fav past-time: chase after the dog & pull at his tail *sigh & shake head* anyway, i'm glad she's growing up to be an animal lover.

twendy (twendy) - thanks for the update

sasa de mouse (sasa_xie) - yes, will be staying in TMC and keeping the cord blood. Since the discount for cord blood is quite abit already, worth paying that $148 to sign up for the FBI. Can you send me that email you mentioned? My addy: [email protected] Thanks

Meanwhile - Won't be online the next 2 days, will be out of office for work. MTBs take care & catch up next week!

bigtoes, sent le... happy reading!!

oohh.... bz with work huh?? sure thing.. enjoy but do take care too k.. will miss u de

sasa de mouse

Have to listen to him.. no choice for the sake of the baby but i sure not used to it. I hate staying at home.

storeberry
have you took the test for down sydrome? what will the nurse do for the test?

hey ladies,

personally i have 3 small and one big dog which stays with me and 2 cats which belong to my inlaws. I am a believer in growing up with animals as kids will generally be more loving and caring afterwards. Fur is a problem but i suppose if proper cleaning entails there shouldnt be a problem .

hi gals, tks for the advises. tik for the moment i shld keep his fur short, a clean home n start to discipline him nt to pounce n aso get him used to roam oni living room (no bedrooms) le. i will try to go look for tos baby gate.

hi momoko, as wat u mentioned, tik i will go for the tests then since tis is my 1st time..

hi LC, fainting spell due to low blood suger lvl too.. probably u can keep some sweets wif u n do take the sweet whenever the faintness is coming..

when are u guys planning to start getting baby pdts? after the detailed scan or wat?
Btw, how many detailed scans do we need to go for?

my gyne told me tat my 1st detailed scan will be at week 20 lo. Damned far wor.

heee.. ladies with big dogs.. i think my dog must be envying ur doggies. cos she is a miniature poodle and she gets bullied by my nephew and niece. One likes to treat her like a horse and the other likes to get the dog into trouble. And my dog will run away when they get too hyper! haaa... But she is quite barky though. Not too good when babies are slping..