(2008/09) Sep 2008

Yvonne
Your hb very caring that's great!

I am on unpaid leave. have discussed with my husband, he is ok with it..that's why take till so long...stay at home is much better for me..coz i now staying at my mum place...whenever i hungry even in the middle of the night she will cook for me...

Winnie: I see. I'm thinking if I shd clear some of my leave now. I have more than 30 days entitlement to take this year and with the 3mths maternity leave at the end of the year, I don't think I have the chance to clear all the leave. So thinking to take some to clear off first.

I am taking the PREMIER FETAL SCREENING..think is the same as Oscar test? KKH term it as PREMIER FETAL SCREENING...my husband also say just take any test to play safe..though is not cheap...will be taking the scan early next month...

Hi bbmouse

Wah so shiok, u have so many leave...*envy*
perhaps u can consider taking 2 months maternity n carry over the remaining 4 weeks to next year so that u can clear ur current year leave 1st lor

Babyatom: My company only allows a carry forward of 5 days. Not sure if I can carry forward maternity leave.
Plus I think 3mths maternity leave is just nice. I think 2 mths too short, not enuf leh.

the oscar scan really not cheap, 2 tube of blood, u onli get to see a piece of paper... tt time, i tot also will see something like detail scan...
talking abt detail scan, was suffering... cos baby don wan to coorperate... den the dr have to press and shake mi... but still nv move, so waited for half hr, end of scanning, everything also agar agar one... hope this time baby better coorperate with mi, must tell baby before going to the scan...

thanks, bbmouse. i think i should mull this over. you should take your leave as and when you feel like resting since you got so many days left for the year. think you can start planning how to use them before sept le.

yvonneho, how much did you pay for your oscar?

Ava, thanks for sharing ur scan photos. wow, 8 weeks can see ur twins very clearly leh. take good care ya.

storeberry, thanks for ur praying. hopes we can carry our bb till full term alto so many obstacles. last scan Dr Woody did the v scan for me...i was like so paiseh....

hi Traz, i am also seeing Dr Woody at SK tmr. what time is ur appt ? mine is 7-9pm. how many weeks are u now ? hehe.

bbmouse, yvonneho and winnie, welcome to join our chat here. congrats too !

Hi bbmouse

Hi bbmouse : I thought according to MOM rules,for maternity leave, the 1st 8 weeks must be taken as a block then the remaining 4 weeks can be taken flexibly over the next 6 months (for us up to Mar 09 lar)...Dec got alot of holidays, bo hua to take maternity leave so better to cover w leave...haha...

ava, thanks for uploading your scan shot for us, it's amazing to see twins! =P

babyatom and bbmouse, maternity leave cannot be carried forward, encashed or used for any deduction...etc. the 12 weeks must be cleared within the same calendar year.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Aloevera : Previously my maternity leave can be used for the next year ley as long as its within 6 months. y must be cleared within same calendar year ?

Below is what I have copied from MOM website. Might be useful for working mothers.</font>

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/mompo...dards/the_employment_act/Maternity_Leave.html

Guidelines for employee to take extended 4 weeks of maternity leave flexibly

The extended 4 weeks of maternity leave may only be taken flexibly with the consent of the employer, and must be completed within 6 months of the birth of the child. The employer and the employee should discuss and come to an agreement before she goes on maternity leave. It can be taken on a stretch of 4 weeks or by working days capped at 24 days to be computed as follows:

4 weeks X the number of working days in the week

Example:
If the female employee worked 5 days in a week, the number of maternity leaves to be flexed is computed as follows:

4 weeks X 5 days = 20 working days

If the female employee agreed to work 3 days per week and take the remaining 2 days as flex maternity leave, the 20 days of flex maternity leave will be consumed by the 10 weeks.

The employer and the employee should also anticipate and agree on an approach to deal with possible situations that may arise from taking the leave flexibly. For example, how the employee's work performance will be assessed when she is on flexible leave, whether she can go back to taking the maternity as a continuous block subsequently, and whether she can bring forward her flexible leave if she resigns or her contract ends within 6 months from the childbirth.

The employer is not obliged to consent to the employee's request to take the extended 4 weeks of maternity leave flexibly. If the employer assess that this will adversely affect his business operations, the employee will have to take the extended 4 weeks of maternity leave as a continuous block immediately after the first 8 weeks.

The employer can work out any flexible arrangement with the employee that best suits the needs of both parties. For example, the employee could, after 8 weeks of maternity leave,

a) return to work on a half day scheme;
b) be on a shortened workweek of say, 3 days

until the flexed leave (maximum 24 days) is exhausted.

Whichever form it takes, both the employer and the employee must mutually agree to the arrangement.

storeberry, ya ya i have been drinking tons of water and always rem to take the hormones pills. u also at home resting now ? me doing nothing at home. only eat, surf net and zzzzzzzzz. hahaha. btw, has ur spotting stops already ? mine no more see red liao. touch wood ! better remain like this until my scan tmr.

ava
ur babies look so cute in the sac! I've never seen twins scan before either. Congrats again!

xuanting
hope u get the desired birth experience u want

yeah, mebbe u take the OSCAR first before deciding? One of my colleagues went for amnio but v unfortunate. She fell into that small cat of ppl who got an infection after that and had a mc at 5mths after the test...
Another colleague din even take amnio cos she n her hubby said they wld want their bb no matter what so they din take any tests.

yvonne
how old r u? U have 2 kids already? Wow!

Hi winnie,
i'm also 10 weeks plus. Currently also on leave, but hospitalisation leave. It's nice that ur employer lets u take unpaid leave.

Porky: Yah one wk MC, nothing to do at home also. Same as you lo... later going for a short nap.. :p

My spotting like stop today, no brown discharge. Hopefully will stay this way.

Babyatom: You are very well-informed abt the MOM policies.

Porky, Storeberry: Good to hear the good news the spotting is reducing. Mine look like it has stopped too.

Isabelle: Why are you on hospitalisation leave? I mean, why isn't it just normal medical leave?

Does anyone experience very bad breathlessness? Mine got much much worse this week, I couldn't sleep for the last 3 mights, the third night was the worst, totally didn't sleep at all, cos can't breathe no matter what position I try. Then now, it's the same. Breathless when I'm sitting down, standing or lying down. It's driving me nuts.

thanks, yvonne &amp; isabelle. i still have a few weeks to think this over. hope i'll make the right decision then.

wingkei, i experience breathlessness now and then too. try and slow down your breathing, inhale slowly and deeply each time. it works for me; hope it'll be helpful to you too.

storeberry
u r better too! Nice to hear that

bbmouse
i bled early on, the dripping out like period type, so kenna hopsitalised. Then after discharge, still unstable so doc kept on extending my hospitalisation leave.
I also found out that for this HL, I have up to 60 days and that I don't have to be physically warded for all 60 days. As long as dr states it is hospitalisation can already.
Otherwise i wouldn't have enough mc! Was quite worried before i found out...

babyatom, u r very well-informed hor! haha...
my ex-co. told me tat my remaining balance of ML must be consumed with the same yr, and some of my frenz were even forced to clear the balance ML by bloc of week! luckily mine allowed me to clear by days...

think we preggers must really find out our rights or we'll get bullied or makan-ed... @__@

wingkei (wingkei) - maybe try to sleep facing up (I know some people curl up into a ball)?
Also, some light exercise &amp; walking should help. Like I still make it a point to climb up all the stairs at the MRT station when i go to/return from work to make sure I get at least some light exercise. Need to start buying flat shoes to wear thou!

hi wingkei...i also experience breathlessness..but i usially felt better when the room is airy. I dun feel comfortable in the office and at night when i slept, becoz of the aircon i think. I have to breath very hard...sometimes even use mouth. But, if i leave all the windows open and switch on fan..i will not feel the breathlessness. Maybe u can try it too!

Bigtoes, I even tried to sleep sitting up. I propped many pillows behind me so that I'm half sitted, it also doesn't help. I still can't breathe properly. It's getting so bad that I keep feeling lightheaded and just walking up a flight of stairs is very tedious.

Hi Shirley, I don't sleep with the air-con on. Actually, I've tried both, with air-con and without but both don't work for me. My windows are all open at night and the fan as well, but still doesn't help.
I'm really at a loss now.

hi..want to ask wat problem with me..iam so scared.
this afternoon while Iam waiting of a friend at a shopping mall.. dunno why suddenly i sweat alots on my forehead and very giddy, nausea also (got sweet inside my mouth somemore).. after that i rush to Toilet and vomit out.I never feel like that before.

do I need to call my Gynae for a check up ? my nxt check up supposed to be on 01 march.

Yun
Probably you had low blood sugar or low blood pressure. That can cause dizziness and nausea. I break out in cold sweat when too hungry or low blood sugar...plus I have low BP too normally. If it happens again or if you faint then better call doc. Otherwise, it was probably a one-off thing.

Yun: Why not you call your gynae and tell him what happened. See what he advises. But actually I think I'm also liddat. When I sleep at night, I alternate between feeling too warm and too cold. I also can't explain. Hope the 1st trimester is over soon and I can start to enjoy the pregnancy.

Isabelle: I see. Take care of yourself. My gynae also wants to hospitalise me. He wants if I'm the type who has to do housework if I stay at home. I say no. Then he said in this case, can rest at home, no need to waste money staying in hospital. Hospital must be even more boring than staying at home hor?

isabelle,
i don have 2 kids... the one in my tummy is #2... going to 21 this yr..

anyone go to the spring sales? i went today, alot of sizes OOS... onli first day... but still quite good grab...

Hi isabelle, thanks! You fell down sometime back, how are you now?

Wow, yvonne, you are so young!! What were I doing when I was 21??? Kekeke... I was together with my then hubby... Almost 10 yrs together liao, seem so surreal...

bb mouse: I also hope this 1st trimester can pass soon so I can enjoy my pregnancy!

Storeberry: Yah lor. This pregnancy is more xin ku than my first. And I have strange cravings - see or hear some food, I will also want to taste it. But as soon as I taste the food, I have enuf liao.

yvonne, wah u really very young mummy leh. #2 at 21 years old. makes me think that i am quite old liao. hehe. btw, r u SAHM ?

yun, is it bcos u have eaten too full earlier on ? cos sometimes if i eat too full, i also will feel giddy and like want to vomit. but after vomit out then i feel ok liao. btw, anyone knows is this call heartburn ??

hi wingkei, mayb u want to try sleeping on ur side. i also cant sleep facing up. then i will feel like cramp on my tummy, if sleep side way then feel better and can sleep more soundly.

wingkei (wingkei) : I read on What To Expect When You're Pregnant, that sleeping on your left side, with a pillow in between your legs, in a curled up position, is the best position for preggies as it allows the maximum oxygen flow. Try it out.

hi gals..i am feeling very worried now..i went to see my gynae last wednesday, after v-scan she said baby grow in size from 0.2cm to 0.8cm..(in abt 2 weeks) period, but she couldnt detect any hratbeat yet. During my 1st visit, baby is also 0.2cm, then one week later it's still 0.21cm. That time, gynae ask me to do blood test, but i have to travel the next day, so i didnt do any test. So, on wednesay she told me to do blood test to check the hcg level, then yesterday another blood test. She said if the pregnancy is going well, the hcg level will increase to a certain range. But my gynae sound very -ve, she said from her past experience, my pregnancy is not good. She even told me yesterday that i have to fast for 6 hrs, so she told me to have breakfast at 7.30am on saturday, so that she can clean the womb in the afternoon...Initially, i was still very +ve, but listening to what she said made me very upset and scared! Does it means that if the hcg level is not good, i have to do abortion straight away? cant i just wait and see how it goes...?

Hi Shirley, don't be too stressed &amp; upset okie? Like Porky's case, everything turned out fine right?

How many weeks preggers does she say you are? Maybe your cycle is longer, so thats why your baby is still small? I would think if you have no spotting, u should be fine...? Take care ya!

Hi preggie, tat's wat i m thinking too..but anyway, i will wait for the blood test result 1st. My gynae said she will let me know either tonight or tomoro morning..

Bigtoes, my 1st scan shows baby is 5wks+, 2nd scan also abt 5wks, 3rd scan i dunno, she never said. But if counted from my lmp, she said i should be abt 10wks pregnant liao. She said the growth is too slow. So, best is to check the hcg hormones in blood. Yup, i got no bleeding, only at the very early stage have some light brown spotting, but now no more.

good morning and TGIF to all mummies and mtbs!

i realised recently tat i can ONLY take small meals, coz i will vomit after a full meal. i simply hate the naeseousness tat sticks with me.
but once i start to eat and hv good appetite, it's hard to stop halfway... i'm at my 9th week now, really hope i can get over the MS soon.

I WANNA BE NORMAL AGAIN!!!

porky, rmb to update us after your appt this evening.

hi shirley

okok.will be praying really hard for you .if you need second opinion, i can recommend you my gynae. My first experience with a female gynae was really bad. My Current gynae (male) more sympathetic and genuinely caring.

Shirley, are u having bad MS, and so haven't been eating well? At 10 weeks, the baby is abit small, but fingers crossed everything will work out well ok

Meanwhile, MTBs - remember not too be too stressed or worried ya. See this article about "Severe Stress in Early Pregnancy Increases Schizophrenia Risk in Offspring"
http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/569915

hi preggie and bigtoes, thanks a lot for ur concern? I m reading the thread abt Dr woody at compasspoint, think he's quite nice. I choose Dr Chen, becoz she's a female gynae, so i will feel more comfortable, nearer to where i stay also. Me staying at sengkang now. Anyway, just hope that everything goes fine...same to every mtb here! All the best ya

Yvonne
Wah you are a baby compared to me! And SAHM as well...very nice
I don't have patience or inclination to be SAHM...sigh, tho I lurve my son dearly! I think he'd drive me mad!!!

Preggie
You can see an osteopath. My usual ones are:
David Tio (Tel: 67346440) and
Jo Dela Cruz (Tel: 63278545)

David is at Tanglin Shopping Centre (the older building, not Tangling Mall) and Jo is at China Dq Central near Raffles Place.

Hi..

Popping by to say hi to all mtbs.

Im a sahm to one 16mth old boy and #2's edd is 29th Sept.

Are all of you on your first pregs?

Hi l'l CY
Nope, some of us are on our seconds...not sure if anyone is on thirds or more! My first son is turning 4 this June.