(2008/09) Sep 2008

Goldfish (goldfish1395): hi, my son is taking TCM. Its working very well for him... it started off with his sensitive nose and PD has given him Singulair and Zyrtec for 3 mths and it does not work for him... so after we tried TCM for a week we see result....last week he was down with cough and flu... tot western medi will fasten the recovery,... but after 10 days we send him to TCM ... now taken 4 days ....cough is better....phlegm is clearing...

i am also looking into play group for my son around fort road but around here all very costly.. not sure where else can i enroll my son to for half day session

I am oso looking for playgroup too.. was interested in mindchamps.. but the $$$$ just puts me off!

am wondering are they really that fantastic and worth the $$$???

Mummies..

Just feel so bored.. dun you all feels that our life becomes a timetable?? Life with a baby changes so much.. of course I know we need to be a responsible parent but sometimes really feels that I need to take a break.. a break from baby, a break from DH.. Just feels like going back to my mummy's arms and be the little gal again.. haha..

Need 5 More Parents to Take a Quick Survey - help a grad student

This is the last time I will bug you about my survey.
I need to have 5 more surveys completed by March 12 to be able to do my study. If you haven't taken it already, could you please take 5 minutes to respond? I really appreciate your help! The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Robyn Maley
University of St. Thomas
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

I didn't post here for a long long time. Any1 interested to organise trial enrichment classes for our 18mth old? Class at kindermusik, gymboree, zoophonics or maybe GUG??

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mommies, been some time &amp; this thread has gotten alot more quiet. Guess alot of mommies are busy busy with no. 1, and no. 2 for some of us as well
Wonder how many of us who delivered in late Aug-Sept 2008 have already had our 2nd one or are currently preggers? At least 30-40% ya?

Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim) - Yes, i know where you are coming from! Today, i am on leave - no hubby, no baby (he is with MIL today), no work. So its just myself - and i don't know what to do! Hah, so used to having no time for myself, now that i do, i am at a lost.</font>

yurieve (yurieve18) - i think cos the mommies are too busy, or have formed their own seperate cliques!
And nope, am not preggy with 2, not yet!

Hi Bigtoes and yucrieve 18 - yes, the thread is static for months and yes most have formed their own cliques!

i guess its all about chemistry as well but our little toddlers are the pride and joy for all of us. I miss their baby phase but am enjoying their growing up every minute.

so should have a gathering from this thread ?

need recommendations for duo breastpump , due in aug , for my 1st (lovelle) i brought the avent iq single breastpump and did'nt really like it.

Anyone use ameda or medala before? was thinking bout the medela freestyle but cost 700+ while ameda cost $300+

ya.. recently heard from a close friend of mine that she will be sending her gal to Eton House for half day CC. I kpo kpo went to check on the school fees and was super SHOCK!!!! So ex!

Bigtoes,

hee.. sometimes I do that too.. take leave to recharge myself. But end up missing my boy and fetch him home early.

hi sorry to interrupt
I have a BNWT Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Stevie (Black) selling at S$288 only and Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Jillian (pink) selling at S$268 only. All items are BNWT, comes with original Kate Spade dustbag, care card and hanging tag. For fast deal, please email [email protected]. Prices nego. Thanks

<font color="aa00aa">♥Mamyvelle♥ (mamyvelle) - wow, you are due in Aug? CONGRATS!
Is no. 2 a boy/girl?

On the breast pump, i am a fan of Medela PIS (left in office) &amp; had a Medela Mini-Electric for home use. Was lucky cos both were from my SIL/sis &amp; didn't need to spend on them. PIS has a stronger suction &amp; is more efficient (but bulky &amp; need power point) whereas the Mini-Electric is smaller &amp; portable (can run on battery) so i used to carry that around on days when i needed to express outside. Medela is expensive, but i think they rent the pumps if u don't want to buy?</font>

Lovelycloud : thanks , i not fast , some even give birth few months ago

Limay : its a boy , don't think will rent ... Don't really mind preloved if in really good condition. Was considering Medela PISA also. cause cheaper then Medela Freestyle.

But like u say bulky lor , but think will invest in 1 ba. (no $$$ to buy 2 pump hee...) don't think will go out often after 2nd born , and this time i die die must bf for at least 1 yr :X Lovelle only 3 months.

Have not posted here for sometime also. Was tired out and busy last mth as my son got chicken pox and after that me..haha..Din not enjoy my CNY cos' stayed at home. I guess it is chicken pox peak season as heard alot of cases recently.

I'm still at no. 1.

My boi just joined PG this mth. How time passes by..

Kel,
U have any info on the trial enrichment classes?Interested to join also.

Mamyvelle,
Congrats to you. I got the Medela duo breast pump..I find it better then the ameda as it is less noisier and less painful.

There is a Babycare Festival at Expo Hall B from 19 Mar to 21 Mar.

I've a tin of GainIQ 3 (FOr 1yr onwards) 400g to give away. It is a sample tin from abbott.
Expiry date: 13 May 2012.

Self Collection at Toh yi area or Science Park I.

If interested, please email [email protected]

Hi Koras,

I've just signed up with Sean Lau during the BB fair. Package was $188.

Have you all started giving supplements to your babies?

Any recommendation?

Mamyvelle,
Congrats to you too.
I brought a Medela PISA for my no.2
Maybe can sell to u later on when i;m done w/ BF, HEHE......

Just to update, i'm going to induce birth tonight for my no.2 bb gal.
Hope every goes well.

Hi snowyee11,
As far as I know, most enrichment has trial classes. I thought of having a group to go for trial together since our child is the same age. Trial classes are usually categorize into age grp like 18mth-36mths. Which i think the gap is quite big. It'll be great if we can form something for our 18mths+ kids.

But I'm due for my 4th child next mth. So not sure if we can organise 1 in time or have to wait till after my confinement.

Koras,
As for phototaking, In the business thread there's this studio call dreamgarden. I may be trying their service for my newborn next mth. it's cheap but I'm not sure how's their work like. There's still a March promo going on. Only $128. Can check it out if any1's interested.

Hi snowyee11,
wanted to ask u more about the GNC vitamin C. It's liquid form? Coz most vitamin C i find at pharmacy for kids are for Pre-schoolers. around 3/4yrs.

What other vitamin/supplements to introduce?

Hi Kel,
Actually I'm looking at the around for these enrichment classes but only thing is they are mostly in town area. Ur kids attend PG alry?
Wow u are having No.4? U must be a super mummy!

As for the GNC Vitamin C(childlife) is in liquid form.

<font color="aa00aa">Koras - I think a number of us sent out kiddos to Sean Lau for the photo shoot. Pictures turned out quite ok for Kieran's case, but had to wait like 2 months to collect them.

annteo (annteo) - So you have given birth to no.2 already?? Congrats!!

Tinkerbell Lim (tinkerbell_lim) - On supplements, I started Kieran on Fish oil (Nordic fish oil) &amp; liquid multi-vits quite some time back - just add these into the final milk feed. I got these from Vita-kids (One outlet in Paragon, the other at United Square).

kel (optimus_ke) - Wow, no 4?? Congats! Are u expecting a boy or a girl this time round?

Hi snowyee,
My 18mth old(Jayden) not attending anything yet. But I thought it'll be great if he can have once a week enrichment before I send him to pre-nursery next year. I agree most enrichment are mostly in town. Any1 interested to go for kindermusik in tanglin or GUG in united square? Or zoophonics they have it around neighbourhood area.

BTW, do you also add vitamin C into your child's milk feed? 1 kid or 4 kids it's also tiring rite. haha.. so we're all super mummies.
But for me, I'm struggling as all of them wants attention from me and it's difficult to handle 3 now.. Can't imagine what will happen when no.4 pops next mth. hahahaha

Bigtoes,
hihi.. chat we you long long time ago remember?
My no.4 boy again.. I really want a little princess but.. hai, it's Gods will that I have 4 boys to protect me plus the country next time. haha.. Guess I won't try for the 5th child already.. Don't think I got daughter's luck. Jayden hasn't started any vitamins yet.. So if I were to buy him vitamin C, Can I still give multi-vits? Fish oil should be can right, since it's for the brain and eyes am I right???
I can't remember when I started my twins on vitamins.. Guess it's after 2yrs old.. So now I'm super blur.. haha

Kel,
Yes, I add the Vit C in my boi's milk feed cos' it's quite sour, I tried it myself. He rejected when I feed him with the spoon so have to add in his milk. 1 disadavantage is sometimes he cannot finish the milk.

Wow, 4 boys. So u are a SAHM? I can't imagine if I have another boi as naughty and hyperactive as my no. 1. Taking care of 1 is tiring for me.

Big Toes,
U went to Sean Lau for photoshoot? heard he is quite Exp right?

Snowyee,
I haven't got time to buy the vitamins.. Maybe will do it tomorrow.. My twins usually fall sick.. So sometimes pass to Jayden. Guess if I give him some Vit C will hopefully prevent cold.

I'm a FTWM, but now on leave already.. resting till baby pop.. Just meeting my clients if there's a need to. I agree boys are super active lor.. how I wish I got a baby girl. haha.. I think it's definitely different bringing up a boy and bringing up a girl.. So sometimes I'm like a mad woman shouting at my twins.. Not scolding Jayden much yet cause he's still young.. But soon he's going to be like his bros asking why here why there.. then irritate me. haha

<font color="aa00aa">kel (optimus_ke) - wow, 4 boys! Pei fu! I can't imagine having Kieran times 4
Plus working full time - *faint* Good thing is they are so active you would lose your pregnancy weight in no time!

On fish oil, I started K on this way back, think once i started supplementing BM with FM after he turned 6+ months. I used to take fish oil capsules when i was preggers &amp; when nursing (my BM was super oily), so figured i would supplement him direct since he is already used to the fishy taste! I suppose multi vit would replace Vit C? Unless they are running a cold &amp; you want to up the Vit C dosage?

snowyee11 (snowyee11)- he did the Sean Lau photoshoot some time back (about a year ago) so i can't remember the exact pricing. There was a bundle pricing (20+ mommies signed up) thru the forum though, so we had a slight discount. I think price wise, there isn't much variation company to company?</font>

Bigtoes,
Ic, because I heard Sean Lau photoshoot not bad so but also not cheap, prob it's the add on that is expensive bah..ya i guess it's not much of difference in pricing.

i m may mummies.
thinking for a small gathering my gal 1st bday.
if u happen to have neo garden $68 voucher for 10pax mini buffet, can give or sell to me?
Pls PM me. Thanks.

Kel,
You are in the sales profession? It's more flexible as you can planned ur own time.

For the Vit C I started to give sometime back because my boi often catch a cold. Agree with Bigtoes, Multivit should replace Vit C bah, if not can check with Doc to reconfirm.

Cheap Huggies for Sale. Drop me a PM if interested,

Huggies ultra - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies pullups - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies comfort (red) - $15 per pkt
Huggies dry (blue) - $15 per pkt

Collection at Punggol/ Toa payoh (fri evenings &amp; sun mornings) / Amk (prearranged) / Pasir Ris ( prearranged) / Science Centre (prearranged)

Hi mummies!!

Bigtoes,
my boys are really active. But i always gain alot during pregnancy.. as of now 35weeks, I already gain 20kg!!! Imagine if I were to pop at end april.. I think at least 25kg.. then after baby is out i need to clear almost 20kg.. faintz!!

As for fish oil, i doubt Jayden will like the fishy taste.. I bought the scotts capsules for 4yrs old and above for Isaac and Ian. but in the end the whole bottle went to waste.. I think multivits should be better tasting.. So maybe I'll start him on that first. Thanks for sharing.

But Jayden is a super fussy eater!! Any1 of u of this prob?? He don't like his meal time food like porridge or pasta.. but prefers out adult food.. Always when he see my helper bringing his food to him he will try to run away.. then when want to feed him, he'll use his hands to cover his mouth.. can faint ar!!

Snowyee,
yes, i'm in the sales line. So very flexible.. But the downside is sometimes, I don't even feel like working or going out to look for sales.. How I wish i can Stay at home.. But if I were to really stay at home everyday with my boys, I don't think I can take it too. haha.

As for vitamins, i'm more concern Jayden lacks nutrients.. He looks small for 18mths. Doc say his height slightly below average.. But overall development ok lar.. He just started walking this mth!! At 18mths lor, i was so worried at first. But his speech is alot faster then his bros, so doc say at least other developments are alright.

I'm thinking of sending him to playgroup mon-fri, 9.00-10.30am. If not then it's once a week enrichment.. but really dunno where to send him. Playgroup I can send him to a montessori at bishan, enrichment wise, I find GUG ex and I went for their trial, only soso..

So any1 of you looking for enrichment yet?

Oh ya, any nice boys name to share starting with J or K?

I'm looking at Joel. And Bigtoes, Kieran sounds nice too.

But hubby super weird, haha, he wants to call baby Kenneth.. I feel it's abit lao cock cock. but the good side is not many pple will use this name rite.

Kel,
Haha, me too. Dun think I can take it too if I stayed at home and be a SAHM. For me, I prefer a balance lifestyle there should between work and family.

As for fussy eater, my boi also dun like his porridge alry since he joined PG as he is having more variety of food there. So now I also started to switch him to adult food gradually..

For development, I think every child has it's own development pace, my friend's nephew same age as Jayden, but yet to start walking..but like urs, speech development faster.

For enrichment, I gg for a preview session this weekend at little neuro tree. Quite interested in their enrichment programmes. But I think the course fees not cheap, $550 for 1 term(12 weeks) +$50 annual membership Fees. Each session oni 1hr. So 1hr $50. Must reali make sure it's well invest before I signed up.

BTW, dreamgardens photography having promo at the forum now. U want to sign up? Check with them, can retain the package price for 3mths after signing up.

For Names starting with K/J, how about Keon, Keith, Kenji, Kyle, Jordan, Javan.

Haha, my hubby name also Kenneth..Actually the meaning for this name is "Handsome". Can consider..heehee

Hi Cloud,
My 18mths old is call Jayden. hehe.. Thought of Kaeden too but alot of pple says sound like Jayden. haha.. Troublesome lor..

Hi Snowyee,
I just saw your posting in Dreamgarden too. I feel that their promo is cheap.. If all my kids wanna join in the photoshoot need to top up $50.. Which is think $178 is still reasonable for a photo shoot with all photos given back in high resolution lor..

You going for the preview at which LNT centre? I was considering that too.. But, 1 thing I'm considering is the price, another thing is I actually prefer it to be english and Chinese only. I feel Jap not much use.. And further more we don't speak Jap at all, eventually once we stop LNT, Jap language that my boy learn also slowly disappear. Language must frequently converse then u'll remember how to use it mah. Maybe i'll all them to check if it's possible to just have english and chinese lessons lor

As for baby name.. I chose a few over the mths.. Like Jordon, Kaeden, Jacob, Keegen.. But alot of comments from my relatives.. haha. Like Jacob's biscuit. Then Keegen my twins say like kitten.. hahahha.. But I think Keon and Kenji sounds nice. But my husband like's ur hubby name!! haha.. I think it's not bad.. but haven confirm yet.. my sis they all sure say old fashion. hahah.. Like my hubby name, kelvin lor

<font color="aa00aa">kel (optimus_ke)- I am sure u will clear the 20kg in no time with so many active boys! I gained about 12kg for my pregnancy &amp; lost that within the first 3 months, and more. The weight fell very fast cos K was nursing every 2 hours &amp; he has a very good appetite. Was <3kg at birth &amp; 12.5kg now!
Nursing is definitely the most effective weight lost mechanism - 500+ calories a day - and best of all, u just need to sit there &amp; do nothing!

On J/K names, we were deciding between Kayden/Kaiden, Kieran &amp; Keegan - but ended up with Kieran cos Kaiden would sound like Kai-dan (chicken egg in Cantonese) if my MIL said it. I thought Keegan was ok, but hubby thought it reminded him of the actor Keegan Kang (which i thought was cute anyways) &amp; didn't like it. Kenji reminds me of Benji (the dog), and Jacob might not sound right with a Chinese surname? I rather go for something more traditional otherwise (like Keith, Kenneth, Justin) than to have something too forced/pretentious &amp; have his friends making fun of the name</font>

Kel,

Ya, I think the package is quite reasonable. But hor the photos taken back in DVD is only the 30 touched up photos in high resoultion, not all. If all have to top up $30 I think. I will prob sign up as it is still reasonable.

I'm going for the LNT preview at JE branch.
Ya, I also hope can only conduct in English &amp; Mandarin. So I will check that out as well 1st.
Will be bringing Pierre along as they encourage to bring so as to see their response to the preview session.

I think Kenneth sounds more traditional. Agree with Big Toes also, choosing name have to be more careful, rather be traditional.

am new here, hope it's not too late for me to join in.

m SAHM so hoping that here can b a good place for me to get to know other mums and exchange pointers on baby stuffs.

my boy is now 18 months, he's attending Pat's Schoolhouse Dstory Club once a week. Tried trial classes at GUG and Kindermusik also and quite like Kindermusik but decided on Dstory Club coz it has more varieties in their weekly activities, tho not s professional s the other 2 enrichment classes. M looking for a kindergarten for him to attend next year, wonder if any of you have any recommendation. He's on a long waiting list for St James Kindergarten =(

Hi snowyee,
Just double confirm with them. Guess you're right.

"30 photos will be touched up and return in hi-res format at 300DPI. Other will be web friendly format, about 1000 pixels x 1500 pixels at 72DPI."

Hi, long time din post here as well.. saw some of u discussing abt LNT.. i let my gal attend @ their toa payoh branch since she turn 1 last sep but decided to stop her nw. reason becoz she is not concentrating anymore! keep running ard during the lesson.. ;p Yes, their lessons are conducted in eng, chinese n jap.. and they are actually repetitive.. eg, they will learn counting 1-20 in eng, chinese n jap.. then the next cycle they will change another topic etc etc.. but of coz their activities are different in every lesson if nt the child will lost their concentration very fast..

Btw, are our kids going to attend kindergarten next year?? thats fast leh.. im looking for daily playgroup for my gal. those 2hr kind.. any recommendation in jurong/ toa payoh area??

Hi Kel,
Yes, I've signed up the package. I guess will prob top extra for high resolution photos. At least I can still do the printing at other photoshop if quality is good.

Hannah/rlrenn,
I heard my first skool not bad as a few mummies I knew enrolled their BB at their IFC and PG. They have many branches in singapore. For me, I enrolled my boi at Cherie Hearts Justkidz as it's nearer to my hse.