(2008/09) Sep 2008

Hi tslittleone,
My boy is 19months old now and drinking 240-270ml/feed(2 or three times a day ) + 2meals (rice or porridge) + 1 snack time (fruit,bread or cereal)..

He wake up at 10am and will be taking his long afternoon nap at 2pm (2-3hrs)

My boy also not talking yet, I know he is trying but he just couldnt speak it out...

thanks , mommies. i'll try feeding bb a bit of rice then to see if she can swallow. she's a great vomitter since birth, hence my hesitation. she's very fussy to open her mouth. she only recognise spoon feed with porridge and cereal.

Hi tslittleone,

My son is 19 months and he is drinking ard 240ml of milk 4 x a day (alt choc and milk flavour)
Is your son taking more solids now? Maybe thats y he is cutting down on his milk intake.
What I did was to continue giving him milk even thou he cannot finish and introduce choco flavour milk.

Sleep
My son only sleeps at 11-12mn nowadays and wakes up at 10+am. He usually takes 2 hrs nap in the afternoon.
I am quite concerned about his sleeping pattern. How much sleep do our kids need at this age? Is it unhealthy for 18- month to sleep late?

tslittleone,
Mine drinkin around 200ml 3 times a day but recently his milk intake dropped to ar 120ml. I realised everyime aft his Jab, his milk intake will drop, after a while his appetite will return. Not sure if that is the cause aso? But he eats alot, 3 solid meals + snackb+fruit He is coming 19mths.

For sleeping, he sleeps around 8+pm till 6+am.
I tried to let him sleep early else next morning if he's sleepy, I will hv problem getting him to sch.

cordelia,
What type of milk ur boi drinkin? I wanted to get those flavours kind of milk but not sure which brand/type of milk type can drink?

Re:sleeping
I think most of the kids sleeps late and dun sleep so much when tey are older. Is ur boi attending ChildCare now? If so, it's better to cultivate him to sleep early.

Hi Cordelia,
My boy also sleeps late at 12-1am..
If he sleep early, he will wake up 2-3am for play and expect me playing and chat with him too...faintzzz

<font color="aa00aa">snowyee (snowyee11) - I hope so
I think he would 'deh' more when we are around, but be ok once we leave him alone at the CC. I can't ask my MIL to bring him there to peek though, cos the CC is quite far from their place, like a 15-20 minute walk away (though its the nearest already).

Cordelia - Choc milk? Do they have that for toddlers? I am still giving Kieran his regular milk powder - he doesn't drink too much at one go - max is 180ml, but likes to have milk regularly (like 5 times a day)! For him, milk is a must, even after a full meal. Its like he has a different stomach compartment for milk vs. other food (like how we sometimes have for desserts).

Sleep pattern - he goes to bed by about 9pm most nites, and is up before 7am. He survives on just 1-2 hours (one nap) a day, which i think is too little at this age (they should have a cumulated sleep time of about 14-15 hours). Even the CC where he starts next month has daily nap time from 12.30-3.30 and i am sure he would be the only one awake when everyone else around him is sleeping!</font>

Milk intake - My boy who is coming to 19mths is drinking 3 x 250ml milk and 3 x porridge.

But recently, started to reject my porridge! Aiyo.. every time need to crack my brain on what to cook and prepare for him..

Sleep routine - goes to bed by around 9pm oso.. but may toss and turn and keep calling out for "mummy" for the next 10mins or so before he falls asleep. These few nights am trying to wean him off pacifer.. so he takes longer to fall asleep..

And the worst thing is he is still waking up for milk feed! sigh.. and sometimes i'm too tired to get up and just stuff the pacifier in for another 10mins before I force myself up to make his milk.. sigh..

Enrichment classes - Any mummies signing up ur todds for these classes? Phonics? Right Brain Training? etc?

Hi...your baby older than mine is sleeping 10hrs overnight + 2hrs daytime is much, much better than my bb gal of only 16mths.

Hi Tinkerbell, how much longer your boy takes to fall asleep after you try weaning him off pacifier? I also want to try wean my bb from pacifier and from arm rock. My bb now got the message that she won't want to be arm-rock when i let her sleep BUT she will toss, run around her mattresses that we put on the floor, sit on big bolster and gallop on my tummy, slip-in and out of pacifier. All in all, it will take her 2 hours before she gets tired and snug herself on to my adult contour pillow and doze off at 11pm-12m/n. Wakeup at 9am.

Mommies, any suggestions how you handle a baby from taking so long to sleep? I'm afraid if mine is a hyperactive or her sleep mode switch in her brain not fully develop yet..

snowyee/ Bigtoes
My son takes Dutch lady (TT ratio advance). We tried the sample and tot it tastes quite yummy. The cocoa smell is pretty strong. If I am not wrong, Pedisure also has choco flavour.

Yun
Me facing the same problem now. I knock off from work at 10pm everyday so he follows my timing and wont sleep until 11-12mn. On some nights, he will walk ard and refused to go to bed.
The funny thing is my helper and mum can make him sleep in 10 mins time. If its me or my hubby, he will resist sleep and wanna play. SIgh. -_-

hi tslittleone (tslittleone)
thanks for your advice.
my gal still drinks around 3-4 times a day and average 240 ml per feed (night feed with cereal).

hi yun, onsansg and cordelia
my gal sleep ard 10/11 pm to 7-8 am in the morning with 1-2 naps in the day (2-3 hours).

tinkerbell : Just wean my girl off pacifier 3mths ago... not easy job , must preserve. will be good if u throw the pacifier away. Cause i know i sure give in de , so i throw first. But luckily she adapt quite fast (but can see her mouth moving when she slps) but now she dun look for it anymore le.

She sleep late also 11+pm , will play with us , jump ard on the bed for ard half and hour before she fell asleep.

Hi mamyvelle, how long did your gal took to adapt to non-pacifier. what were your steps on the nights of weaning off, besides throwing pacifier away. surely, she will asked for it - so, how did you distract her? any, by not having pacifier, do you do arm rock, bring her to your side and pat her, let her cry for pacifier or let her hold a handkerchief or your ear lobe, etc, etc? can share with us your method? does your bb sleep face up, face down or sideways?

mine, will lie face down on the contour pillow next to me with her pacifier and one hand holding my earlobe. i need to break all these bad habits of hers, otherwise have problem when going to childcare centre. her peers will surely be disturbed from sleep..no one will let her hold earlobe..

That day not false alarm. At nite 10plus got alot of blood (show) so reach hospital around 11plus. Then pop on 14th April 04:44am.

Bigtoes,
I haven got his name!! His already 4days old lor. Was thinking of Jayven/ Javen. But I think sounds alot like Jayden. Then now calling my poor boy baby everytime lor. Previously I chose the names before my boys were out, duno why this time so difficult. Further more the fortune teller I use to see on holiday till next fri, so baby also dun have chinese name yet. haha.

Hi Koras,
But your boy got his molar out already? Jayden not yet. So he eat lesser rice issit becoz his teeth not all out? But it's a headache to fed jayden his food. He prefers adult food like ban mian, chicken rice.. salty mah.

Snowyee,
haha, just as you guessed. Baby's out.. I think subsequent delivey is more painful. Pain super intense.. And this baby head bigger then the rest of his kor kors.. 35cm.

Autum,
Your girl at 1yr old can chew the gummy? That's fast.. I just started to give Jayden the Yummy Bears from NAture Farm. But recently just purchase a number of lil' critters vits for my boys. Alot cheaper..

Hi yun,
Your boy is eating so well. How heavy is he now?

yun- mine only caling out papa and byebye(which sound a bit like papa)
drink around 220 3 times a day
sleep sometime one- 3 hrs a day . night he will sleep around 8+ , sometime will sleep thur the night wake up around 6+ am
sometime after drinking milk dun want to go to sleep after an hr + tiring sia
Wa you boi will awake for how long. mine around max 2-3 hrs awake

kel- molar out but he lazy to chew on rice.. super slow.. duno isnt cox rice mixed with veg or other food he doesnt like it cox not very tasty. kalyen also love to eat adult food. recently heard my mum when she eating chilli wantan noodle, he want to eat so my mum bite a bit off , surprising he did not reject and din want drink water also haha

well as for sleeping, kalyen normally want us to pat him to sleep. dan he like to hold on our hand. if after seeing his eye close we move our hand he will wake up so got to wait til he in deep sleep dan able to move

Big Toes,
Yes the CC nap time is between 12.30-3.30. I guess when Kieran goes CC, he will slowly adapt to the sleeping timing and slp longer bah. Pierre also usually take short naps at home during weekend, but he can slp at least 2hrs and sometimes 3hrs in school. I guess his CC have slowly build this routine plus the others are sleeping so he also slp lol.

Ongsansg,
Mine still sleeping in Yaolan with his precious bolster and pillow so usually he falls asleep quite fast. But still prefers him to slp on the bed he takes longer time lor and sometimes dun wan so no choice lor, let him slp in the yaolan until he dun wan lor..but funny is un sch he can do w/o it.

Kel,
Congrats to you! BB hw many kilos?
Wow, u did not use the epi, can tolerate the pain ah? I think I will faint w/o epi cos I can't tolerate the pain wan.

Oh ya, juz went for the photoshoot at dreamgarden studio tdy. It's inside the HDB flat. The photographer has her own studio at home. I was quite shocked also when she gave me her address. Was so shack as Pierre was not very co-operative..Haiz, luckily the photographer was patient and it took ar 2hrs but no extra charges. So overall quite comfortable and happy with their service. Photos shld be ready next week bah.

Hi Snowyee &amp; Big Toes, if by what you said that they can adjust their sleeping pattern in childcare, this may be a console that perhaps my "rascaline" should be able to , when i put her to cc, once she reaches 2 yr old..

Hi Kel, Congratulations to you.

Hi kel,
yah.. My little j is a big eater, he eat almost everything except banana..

He was weighed 14.8kg last month..

Hi koras, mine can say papa, mama, duck, bus (sound like calling papa too... Haha )

and he still can't sleep through the nite too, will wake up to ask for milk ...

kel - congrats for your newborn baby!

thank u for all your feedback. my boy (victor) starting to increase his milk intake back to 180ml, whew.

read from babycenter that 18 months should have 13 1/2 hr sleep in total (http://www.babycenter.com/0_how-much-sleep-does-your-child-need_7645.bc) so i have been trying to make sure that vic sleep that much. he usually naps around 1pm for about 1-2hrs. at night he'll toss n turn n play by himself in his cot for 30min - 1hr before falling asleep. no matter wat time he sleeps the nite before, he'll wake up at the same time (7/7plus am) every morning so i have to put him to bed early (ard 7plus pm) to make sure he gets enough hours of sleep. but whenever other mums hear wat time i put vic to sleep, they would exclaim "so early?" so made me wonder if i should let vic sleep so early. after hearing from u guys, i'll continue with vic's current sleep routine =)

vic started throwing away his pacifier n fall asleep without it at around 10 months so i just stop giving him slightly before he turns 1yo.

o...18 mths can eat chocolate already? m afraid vic will become hyperactive after eat anything with chocolate and also not sure if the caffeine in chocolate will be harmful for him so have not tried giving him yet.

vic is down with cough and fever now =( he loves grapes, is it ok to give him while he's having cough? if got cough, should avoid what food/fruits?

Hi tslittleone,

oppss, my boy had chocolate several times already.. No wonder he is super active...

My boy got cough with phelm abt two weeks ago, his pd said can only eat papaya, no other fruits...

cutieyunyun : wow good weight... my girl just reach 9kg...envy..

onsansg : hold ur earlobe ... so cute leh. not really of distract , we play with her lor ... start weaning her coz angry leh , brought her 2 new ones coz her old one chew till spolit le. den less den 2 days , the 2 new ones also spolit. so throw away lor.. but when she wake up in the middle of the nite , i pat her to slp. but nw i dun pat le(lazy) , dun wan to let her get use to patting... but she still wake up for 1 feed. slp 11+ , wake up 9+

we let her slp on our bed in the begining... but have transfered her back to her cot. she sleeps faceup or sideways holding on to her bolster. told her dudu she chew till spolit no more le...

or try giving her pacifier when she slps , but when she fall asleep u take it out? and if she cry looking for it , pat pat her to slp ? den slowly slowly wean her off?

dear mummies.. kalyen have been throwing his temper recently and whenever we tell him 3 time not to touch before we smack his hand. he will just throw his temper again and if he cant reach or we cant guess what he want he will cry and arch his back. i really duno what else can i do. As when i smack him we wont really go and carry him or sayang him.

Ongsansg,
Yes, their sleeping patterns shld change. No worry yah.

tslittleone,
It's gd that Vic can slp. If they had sufficient sleep, they will grow up healthier.
When P was in the IFC previously, dun sleep alot, so come home always quite tired and very cranking plus always fall sick. Now I think his routine has been built up, so it's much better.
Probably they are older, they may not be sleeping early lor. I thought P sleeps quite early, glad to know that I'm not the oni wan.

As for chocolate, hv yet to let P tried yet.
Yes, it is better to avoid fruits when coughing esp grapes and Oranges.

Yun,
P also a big eater, but he likes to eat banana.
Saw ur earlier posting, ur boi sleeps around 12am to 1am. Does he needs to wake up for milk still in between?

Koras,
Mine the same lor, the more we ask tem not to touch, the more tey wan to touch. I also smack Pierre's hand but he's not scared leh. Then i gave him a stern stare and turn my head away then ignore him, let him know I'm angry. He will also cry lor then awhile stop cos' he knows mummy is angry. Sometime it works, sometime dun.
I guess children at this stage are playful and curious. So sometimes come to think it, i felt I'm too strict. Most impt is, when tey did something good or rite, muz praise them. I guess children like adults, like praises too.

Mamyvelle,
U put gal's cot is inside ur room or she is sleeping in her own room? My boi slps in his own room but need 1 person to sleep inside the room with him. Just wonder how abt the other mummies here? Does ur child sleep own their own?

snowyee- think that a headache when they dun even listen no matter how many time we tell them or smack. Yest i bring my son over to my MIl hse, when he want to throw things i told him many time finally i pull him and smack him he cry very loudly and want his daddy to carry him. my sil tell us all dun bother him, he keep crying very loud even smack and pinch him daddy. dan when i put him on the sofa he just keep arch his back .
my mum also smack him before he dont cry 1,only when i smack him he will cry haha

Hi Mamyvelle, thanks for tips on pacifier weaning.

i put my bb gal in the centre room to sleep with me recently as she is currently sick. noticed, she will toss and turn around 4am. so, i will make a small bottle of milk and feed her while she's still drowsy/dreaming so that her waking time can stretch a bit longer in the morning.

snowyee , my girl sleeps with us in the same room , but when the 2nd born due in august , she will slp in the other room with her daddy ... den perhaps after tat will train her to slp on her own.

or should i train the baby to slp on his own? lol ... dunno also leh.

<font color="aa00aa">Cordelia (evan_gigi) - I haven't thought of getting choc flavored milk for K, i guess because there is a risk that he might want that all the time in place of his regular milk! He is quick picky about sticking to this one brand also, and doesn't like the soya milk replacement i got for him (which the PD said to feed when he had diarrhoea the last time). The CC he is starting at gives them Nespray for breakkie, not sure if he would take that too.

snowyee (snowyee11) - guess maybe in CC they would nap longer cos there everyone else is napping &amp; there is nothing better to do? I would be surprised if K can nap during the day for 3 hours straight though - he hasn't done that since he was a little baby!

tslittleone (tslittleone) - K is the same as well, we tried to push his bedtime back thinking that he would sleep till later in the morning (for weekends at least), but that doesn't work. Guess they have an internal body clock that is timed to ring by 6-7+am, even if its rainy and still dark outside on a weekend morning!

yun (cutieyunyun) - 14.8kg? Wow, that's a great weight! K is about 12.5kg now, which is already quite sizeable.

Chocs - yes, they get hyper with too much sugar in the bloodstream. K is already quite 'siao-siao' to begin with (u will know what i mean when you see his videos on FB), but gets worse if he has too much grapes/raisins/yakult &amp; even after abit of choc &amp; ice-cream. We try to minimize these treats.

kel (optimus_ke)- wah, i guess mommies get less kancheong about stuff, including names for babies, once they are experienced... That being said, we already have a name shortlisted for when we have no. 2 (if baby is a girl)!</font>

Koras,
Tey juz wan to cry until we give in. Sometimes, I no choice hv to give in lor. I told my hubby, we got a prince a home and we are his servants..kekeke

Big toes,
Yes, you ar rite cos' everyone is sleeping, he oso slp lor, nothin to do mah. Tat y sometimes during the weekends when he is at home, I roughly know his napping time then he can slp longer. Funny hor, I oso thought they slp late, tey wil oso wake up late, true lor, P oso wake up ar the same time no matter wat time he sleeps at night unless if he is reali tired then maybe wake up 1 or 2hrs later. That is bonus for me lor!

Me on FB too, my email is [email protected](Sherlene Wong). Quote ur nick when u add me cos I dun add ppl I dun know.

Other mummies add me if u have FB too

Hey Kel,
Congrats on your new baby! Good job!
My girl is tum-jiak type.. i dun think she actually chews the gummies until very lan4.. she just chew 2 chews then swallow! :p

Bigtoes,
Initially I also thought my elder boy (in CC all these while), won't sleep during the afternoon nap.. and won't eat (cos he picky eater).. but after a while he does all those.. i think in large part it's due to "peer pressure" cos every kid around them is doing the same thing, so they would more or less comply.

Yun,
wow.. your boy is 14kg already? My girl is only 10kg.. and guess what, my 3yr old boy is only 14kg! Ooops!

Snowyee/Bigtoes/Breadmum,
Guess most of the mummies still bring homecook food out. Hmmm...my gal doesn't like the porridge that I cook anymore (she used to finish it up when she's younger). Both my mum and in-law have been telling me to add light soy sauce/bouvil/marmite? into the porridge for taste so she will eat (I'm still quite hesitant though), and it's true because she will finish up what they cooked for her. I'll even gulp down my mum's porridge if my gal doesn't finish it, but if it's my cooking, I can't even bring myself to eat. hmm...maybe it's my cooking skill. :p

Bigtoes,
I've been wanting to try cooking with spices/herbs but was staring blank at the shelf at cold storage the other day 'cos I've absolutely no idea what goes with what!? heehee. Can share some of your recipe?

Kel,
Congrats on your newborn!

tslittleone,
My gal was also down with fever and cough. Her fever even hit 40 deg last week and we had to rush her to the hospital. She hasn't been sick too often since she's born, so this time I'm worried sick. Haven't had a good slp for past few days. Her fever was around 38-39deg for the past 6 days and only subsided thoroughly this morning. The cough is still there with lots of phelgm and she has a burst of ulcers in her mouth too (hopefully it's not hfm, no spots on hands/legs yet)
The weather is just too heaty nowadays.

Pacifier/thumb weaning
My gal is still sucking her thumb/s...Anyone's kid is still doing that? Any tips on thumb weaning? hehe

chillicrab- my mum also tell i add a few drop of light soy sauce in as their taste bub is developing and have taste outside food. they kind of find outside food more tasty. so now i added a few drop and add a bit pork floss.
He now everytime want to make sure he sees floss inside then he want his meal

chillicrab,
I usually add dried scallop to the porridge to add some taste or more troublesome, will boil the soup(sweet corn plus spareribs) separately then use the soup to cook the porridge. Add a few drops of light soy sauce is still ok.

My boi(Pierre) oso down with slight fever and cough recently. I think the weather is juz too unpredictable, sometimes raining very heavily, sometimes so hot. Hope ur gal recover soon^-^

Koras,
I oso thought of adding Porkfloss. But it is not heaty rite?

<font color="aa00aa">chillicrab (chillicrab) - I think at this age, some condiments should be fine. I don't add soya sauce, but use some oyster sauce when i fry veggies for him. Otherwise, if its porridge, i add pounded ikan bilis, scallops, or har mai (small dried prawns) &amp; some sesame oil, or the salt-free herbs (bottled) from Cold Storage.Not alot, but just enough for the flavor. Also add stuff like baked beans, canned peanuts, etc sometimes into the porridge. For variety, I also make other stuff such as alphabet pasta with bolognaise sauce, or soups (like carrot, potatoes, tomatoes, onions &amp; chicken) to go with rice. Have to be one-dish meals though, cos otherwise it would be too troublesome to pass to my MIL to feed.

On recipes, i basically just cook whatever i can think of, and to ensure that there is variety. For instance, last nite, i made pork porridge with tomatoes &amp; asparagus, with some har mai &amp; salt-free herbs, &amp; seperately cooked choy-sum with bean sprouts with some pounded ikan bilis as topping to go with the porridge. This was for his lunch today &amp; I usually cook about 3-4 portions &amp; freeze the remainder.

snowyee (snowyee11) &amp; Chillicrab - Hope ur kiddos gets better soon! Kieran is also down with a bad cough &amp; flu.

Hi Snowyee,
yes.. My boy still asking for Milk once at 4-5am...

Mummies, Yes.. My boy is real big build tot.. everyone who see him will asking how/what I fed him ? but I think he is just inherit His Daddy Family genes of "BIG SIZE"

snowyee- it heaty is you put a lot into their porrige. I normally just put a bit so when you scoup a bit to let them see there is this brown color pork floss.

snowyee ,Bigtoes
ya...hope vic will not start sleeping late and wake up early else no time to rest. Bigtoes, guess our kids are morning person. sometimes wish vic will wake up late if he sleeps late coz m night person n waking up so early is a great challenge, haha.

chillicrab, snowyee, Bigtoes
weather is really bad. hope all our kids will get well soon. vic also hardly sick, this time is first time so bad. he has been down with cough n fever for 2 weeks already n today his fever finally seems to be coming down but he starting to have running nose =( hope he won't get another bout of fever again. Both me n hub also take turns to be down with flu n fever n still recovering, really terrible coz we don't have extra help. can't imagine how we r going to cope if we ever plan for #2, especially if all fall ill at the same time.

sleep - think some parents prefer to have their kids sleep with them while others prefer otherwise. for us, we felt that it's beta to sleep separately. when vic started to sleep through the nite at around 4 months, we shifted him to his own room n he has been sleeping alone since then.

Bigtoes,
same to u, hope kieran get well soon!
Saw ur videos on FB, kieran very clever leh, can said so many words and sing singapura..early foundation is reali very impt. GREAT JOB! K looks very cheerful too..always smiling. U ar hot n pretty mummy too^-^

Yun,
Did u try to take out his nite feed? Maybe ur boi alry used to it liao..I oos managed to takeout P's nite feed when he was 13mths.

tslittleone,
Wow Vic got fever for 2 weeks alry, tat is very long..did he had a throat infection? Hope he gets well soon! U muz take more Vit C..For me, my boi always passed his flu to me everytime he fall sick. So I took the seasonal flu jab, touchwood lah, so far did not did not get his flu bug or if I'm down wif flu, will recover faster. Think it helps abit.

Bigtoes/chillitcrab- bubs take care and get well soon.
For meals, my mum will prepare it for my boy on weekdays and the menu is yummy, sometimes its pork porridge, beef porridge, steam fish or steam veg with plain porridge. On weekends, I will cook one pot meal for my boy, add a tsp of soy sauce , peppper and sometimes brovil. I do add pork floss occasionally as well.

All the meals are cooked out of a cheap claypot from ntuc and transfered to the shuttle chef to simmer.

I do make bread and muffins for his breakfast, so he gets a variety of food. For me, my main concern is my boy refuses to drink plain water or out of bottles or training cup. SIGH. I can open sippy cups store already.

He drinks 4 x 150 ml of milk daily and 2 x 150ml of ribena. Spoonfed.

Cooking
Thanks mummies for the tips on your cooking! I'll definitely try them out..shall try to make my gal like my food again hehe

Snowyee, Bigtoes, tslittleone
Hope your little ones get well soon too!

Breadmum
Your boi only want spoonfed water? Wow must be really tedious on u...have you tried putting coloured straws in normal cups for him to sip or just pass him a short adult cup with a little bit of water to let him try drinking it by himself? Will be messy at first but soon he'll know and want to drink from a cup?

<font color="aa00aa">Sick babies - hope all the babes get well soon
I think K is getting better, at least his flu is subsiding, but he still has the phelgmy cough. Last nite, he coughed &amp; puked out his last milk feed all over the bed :p Thank goodness he is a good natured toddler, doesn't cry/whine abt it, &amp; was still his usual silly self after that

tslittleone (tslittleone) - Wow, good job in getting Vic to sleep alone in his room from young! K is still on his cot mattress, on the floor in our room! He was in his own room only during the 1st month when the confinement lady was with us, but cos i BF for almost a year, it was just easier for him to be in our room &amp; for me to nurse him on the floor...and now, we are so used to it, love having him sleep beside us
Have to move him to his own room eventually when we have another baby....but i am sure there would be tears of protest!

breadmum (breadmum) - wow, u spoonfed little E? That would take alot of patience! LIke chillicrab said, try using an adult cup? They like to emulate their parents, so if he sees u drink from ur cup, i am sure he would want to as well!

snowyee (snowyee11) - thanks for your nice words!
Yes, we are thankful that K has been very cheerful (somewhat silly) right from birth. He definitely talks too much though - even talks out some of his dreams, &amp; disrupts our sleep sometimes!</font>

breadmum,
try using hard-straw type of bottle? or u can also try using those small short straws that comes with yakult. Put the liquid in a cup and let him use the small straw to drink.

chillicrab,
we use soup stock to cook porridge for my girl. what we do is, normally when we cook soup for our dinner, we will cook more and then scoop out to freeze in little tupperwares.. so each day, we will use one box to cook porridge for my girl. In that way, the porridge will be quite yummy already. Then we will add in the other ingredients such as fish, brocoli for that meal.

Bigtoes/Chilicrab/ Autum - tried straw method and failed miserably too :-( He is a kid with his own mind. My parents have tried making him drinking straight from the cup, but somehow he does not know how to contain the water in his mouth. he just lets it drip.

I guess, its about being persistent with him. i just don't understand how he can wean himself off the bottle and now totally forget how to suck. PD says when he is 2 or older, it will be a natural reflex. Am crossing my fingers though.

Its similar to his walking speed. he is a late walker. He started walking on his own only at 18 mths and has so much to catch up on.And so i can only attribute to us spoiling him too.

Little E also sleeps with us, and i agree with bigtoes that its part convenience due to breast feeding. Am very tempted to move him to his own room, but worry we have to shuttle back and forth from our room to his when he wails wheneever he has nightmare.

snowyee - o he had fever for a few days then ok for a few days after taking antibiotic but a few days later fever came back again. PD said the 2nd round of fever prob viral fever, usually take 5-7 days. today is the 6th day n vic's temperature coming down to normal so think he should b recovering. still coughing n running nose tho.

I breastfeed vic till 1yr old too. ya definitely more convenient to have him in the same room n we love having him in the same room with us. however, i was thinking the later we transit him to sleep on his own, the harder for him n us to adapt coz he will be more aware as he gets older n we'll b too used having him sleep with us. whenever he wakes up crying in the nite, he'll fall back asleep on his own after a while. we'll only go over to pat him awhile if he cries extremely loud or longer than usual.

Breadmum,
Dun give up, juz hv to keep on trying..sooner or later E will learn to drink from the straw bottles and cups. P oso a kid with his own mind, I juz hv to be more patient with him sometimes.

tslittleone,
Glad that ur boi's fever has come down..U must take care too

Looks like most mummies here having their little kiddos sleeping with them. P only wans to sleep in his own room. We moved him to our room aft the confinement lady left but he juz cld not sleep and keep crying so no choice we have to switch him back to him room. Since then, we take turns to sleep in his room with him.

Autum,
That's a good idea too. I can get leftover soup from my mum to store in little freezer cups for my porridge use!

Sharing room
My gal also sleeps with us in the same room, in her baby cot still. I removed one side of the cot railing and stuck the cot beside my bed, so her cot mattress is a small step lower than my bed mattress. She loves crawling/rolling from our bed down her cot when it's time for bed. If I have another kid/s, think we'll all still squeeze in our room since I've knocked down one room, can't move them to study room so no more spare rooms to move to! hehe

My gal also same sleep with us. No spare rooms even if i want her sleep alone. =(

She used to sleep in her playpen now she sleep between us. She sleep with me in the queen size bed while her daddy sleep in the single bed beside.

My gal is still waking up for milk every night once.