(2008/08) Aug 2008

Nana, go n hv #2 then u know.

Wat I doing down is cook & wash then put both hands in boiled warm water... Hope it will help since today only 1st day doing own confinement . Hub helping to wash , hang laundry since big wind outside. Nw is to make sure supply maintain n enough.

hello mummies.

sylvia
i noe it doesn't make sense...but still the same words, rest when u can...u still have a long road infront, if u din do ur confinement properly.

nana
wait for ur gd news! ;P
anvelle need a sibling who next time she can discuss with...hee hee...jia you! jia you!

Snow, ok!! I doing in slow speed nw. Today no lunch coz they chg gas meter n nt in time to cook my soup. Ask hub buy from 老火汤......

Bb going growth spurt too.... Will Fi my beauty sleep whenever possible

come in & greet early!

Huat ah!!
Happy SNAKE NEW YEAR!!
恭喜发财!身体健康!万事如意!年年吃蛇!!哈哈大笑!

morning mummies. =)
a "troubled" yr to start with, lotsa mini-minor problems.
they are not big in nature, but all added together is enough to keep my life busy liao lor. -_-"

sylvia
thx...was thinking potong this water snake to make snake soup, 1st day of cny already can see a diff liao...ha ha... -_-"

morning mummies. =)

sylvia
hope u are coping well till now.
ya lor, out of a sudden both my gals like have a switch in thinking leh. =(
think must get some feng shui thingy to put at home then can. >P

celyn
yup, masak -> makan -> all over....my wish...ha ha...

mommies,
what would you do?

yu ze wants to stop violin classes after 7 months. he suddenly wants to stop and refuse to attend class.

will you change him to another school and teacher? allow him to stop since he is not interested now. switch him to another instruments, piano?

i was with him most of his violin lesson. i find it very boring. for 7 months, he doesn't play on the violin at all. only learn how to stand and bow. the correct position to hold a violin and the bow. learn the parts of the violin, recognise how the strings should sound for each strings (note).

i don't know how to play an instrument myself. not sure if this is the right method of teaching. have the correct posture and technique before one can play on violin or just play and correct posture and technique as they learn.

morning mummies. =)

celyn
just like maegan and zynn, after learning music for a yr and they decided to drop.
they dun wanna go music class although it does had hands on, they dun want mean everything stop progressing from there.
now the qn is, does he really still like music?
can 1-to-1 ask him this qn?
if he does, find alternative....maybe violin is not his interest after he tried?
example after 1-to-1 talk and get to noe zynn's interest is in ballet, we give her a chance to switch to ballet.
so far no regret lah, cos her interest in that area helped her to promoted twice in level within 1 yr....so qn is, is music an interest for yu ze?
what about art or sports? =)

Snow74,
I ask him many time last week. He will just tell me don't want. Violin is yucky. Cannot go so many, go Chinese only. 1 only. But this week then I told him, we have to go violin he don't resist it so strongly. He even agree to go. However, we end up skipping class cos babysitter was caught in a jam and can't make it to send him. So I told him, he has to go violin and Chinese next week and he is ok.

I didn't force him to pick up violin. He told me he wants it and so we go for it. We are going to change teacher for him. It's either go private to a fierce male teacher or medley, a female teacher

celynlee, how abt considering to switch him to a class instead of pte 1-1 lesson coz for their age 1-1 with the teacher alone can be boring. In class if he ve good frens there he will like the class better but of coz progress will be slower as its not 100% attention to ur kid.

morning mommies

rata,
i'm not sure how classes are conductedin a group. usually, they will have a group class after a few of individual class. i don't mind progress being slow cos its already super slow. just want him to continue with it and not give up easily.

celyn, then u can consider to switch him to grp class at the same time save some money when they ve frenz to do things together more fun

morning mummies. =)

celyn
if he is the 1 requested, dun give up so easily.

actually he can shake hand with zynn liao, she recently also keep weeping saying she dun wanna go classes. -_-"
she is so fun loving, din expect her to do that.
i take it as just a passing phase lor, cos her jie jie used to be like that too.
they just wanna stay at home, like scared we run away...ha ha....
after awhile of insisting, they noe crying can't change anything, then they will stop le.
but that will take some time lah. >P

snow74,
i do go in with him for his violin class. so i don't think he scare i run away loh. even if i don't go into class with him, i will make sure i'm outside waiting, once he finished he will see me. on occasion like, it will be papa going with him too.

i think he is just super playful loh. even his teacher told me, he always ask to play and play. but in k1 now, more work needs to be done in class. sometimes really no time to bring them out to play, he will frown and want to cry.

celyn
yup, they are too playful to sit down properly.
will u consider to 1-to-1 at home? i mean if u want him to continue violin. =)

Snow, I am still ok. 既来之则安之. Just do what I can handle.
Nw #2 still gng for jaundice test, hope it's last trip.

Celyn, unless u go for group but usually alot of theories as exam will require it. For violin, those are must but strange why no learn violin with theories.

U monitor if no interest then stop, if nt just continue. Nw too young to see whether real Interest is there.

hello all,
this is my first time posting here.
I got twin boys born in july 2008 but their EDD was actually in august 2008.
As they were born before 17th August 2008, my twins were not entitled to the Enhanced Baby Bonus.
Last week, I heard from one of my relatives that there were people who successfully appealed to have the Enhanced Baby Bonus for their children as long as their children's EDDs were after 1st August 2008.
Were any of you mummies/daddies in such a situation (ie children's EDD between 1st and 16th August 2008) and mananged to appeal successfully?
We are thinking of appealing as well but want check with other parents first.

hi all, long time nvr post already. finally decided to be more active coz' my new job is quite "senang" for now :p

boyfriend,

i was one of those who appealed and managed to get the enhanced bb bonus. told my gynae to confirm my EDD was after the cut off date in aug 2008, although my son was born in end jul. u can give it a shot!

celyn,

for yu ze, maybe u can observe for yourself if he's musically inclined or enjoys music. he must want to learn and find learning enjoyable to enjoy classes. for me, i find that #1 enjoys art more than anything else, and #2 is more musically inclined coz' she loves to dance to music and her rhythm is very good (so may send her to music class when she's older).

krex78,
girls are usually more inclined to music and dance. yu xi sings and 'dance' a lot. she also likes to be a 'teacher', speaks and acts like one.

yu ze favourite is still trains and play. hahahaa..... he enjoys music, whether he has the 'talent' for it, i'm not sure.

well, i finally realised why he says he wants to stop his class previous week. i remind him about going to violin class yesterday. he shake his head first and nod his head. then he say he can't and don't know how cos his hand is painful. (he had blister on his thumb previously for plucking the strings on the violin.) i told him we go to another teacher, the teacher who willl teach him how to play twinkle twinkle little stars (i show him a video of my friend's son playing twinkle twinkle little stars after 2 months into learning). he then show me in action of 'plucking strings' and say no like that (the action), only like this (action of playing violin). i say yes only play violin, no pluck strings. then he nod his head again. so i think its not that he don't want to learn, its the 'painful' experience of the blister that make him want to stop. so we are going to change another teacher this week. hopefully, he will perform better with this new teacher.

celyn,

hmmm...but isn't plucking string part of learning how to play violin? unless the new teacher got a painless method of teaching this? b4 i had kids, i told hb i will send my kids and myself to learn violin coz' i always wanted to learn (i grew up playing piano). now i'm a bit half hearted abt it, haha. no time and $$$.

Sylvia
Hope ur #2 recover by now.

Boyfriend
My gal also, I got gynea to write letter to prove her edd also.

Krex
Welcome back! ;-)

Celyn
For older kids, they can start learning using bow after a couple of lessons.
My #1 learn plucking for 1 mth only.

morning mommies

snow74,
i don't know. my friend's son is able to play twinkle twinkle little stars (though not very good, at least there is sound from violin), 2 months after learning. i think they do get to play on it since 1st lesson and slowly guide them.

celyn
ya...i'm not so such about violin also, all heard from my #1 de.
she told me once she can familiar with where are the notes then no need to do plucking any more, and after 1mth (4 lessons) she really started learning using bow le.
detail i also not very sure....cos she follow school team, so i just let the teacher handle and decide lor...hee hee... =X

Long time no come in. Hope everyone's fine.

Sylvia,
Enjoying the new baby?

Re: Violin Class
Think every teacher has diff styles of teaching ba. As parents, I think the last thing we wan is for the teacher to kill our child's interest in the activity.

snow

jaundice nt fully dwn but doctor said it's ok, unless turn yellowish again. anyway I told doctor I will nt send weekly blood test esp it's so big tube after 1st mth & so much blood were wasted as due to the poor skill of the staff & overdraw blood ( draw till she didn't realise that the mark has reached & still pressing! 1/4 of amt draen wasted.)

#2 cry so much till knock out.....

nana
i'm enjoying times with both.