(2008/08) Aug 2008

morning mommies

krex78,
i'm not sure if its will cause decay or not. my dietician tell me its beter to eat the whole fruit then just the fruit juice cos in a way its just 'sugar water'.

celyn,

yah quite true. but i guess if don't add sugar, fresh fruit juice shld be fine, as compared to packet juice. he doesn't hv prob eating fruits and the only beverages he likes are plain water and juice. so if he's not drinking milk, makes sense to give him juice, then water in the morning.

Krex, Sorry but I dun mean to be rude. Sometimes ur own kids matter better rely on urself than others (pil). coz u know all grandchild bully grandparents de. If you know it cant work to get him to brush teeth at ur IL place then wake up just a few mins earlier to brush his teeth at hm b4 going over to IL place. Last tims Jac used to ve milk at my parents hse but being notti she will take a ver long time n my parents will ve to nag n nag (this does not happen at hm). To make thanks easier for everyone. I will make her milk at hm n she will drink it in the car on the way there n the rule is she got to finished within the 15mins car ride. Same for Jarrel. So both my kids upon reaching parents hse ve already finished their milk.

As for the tooth brush Jac is using oral B n is fine for her n us.

krex78,
when i say 'sugar water' doesn't mean you add sugar but the extracted fruit juice is basically natural sugar and 'water', there is no extra benefit in drinking that compare to eating the whole fruits which provide you with the fibre too.

rata,

i understand what you mean but sometimes, things are beyond my control. these days, i'm feeling very jaded and don't even want to know what my ILs are doing behind my back. if J tells me, fine. if not, i don't want to know.

as it is, i'm already struggling as a working mom. by the time i get to my ILs place at 7pm everyday, the kids are not even half done with their routine. J either hasn't eaten dinner or still eating half way. then he needs to go poo. my MIL doesn't even bathe him now coz' she can't get him to bathe. she's decided he will only have one bath...sometime ard 3 or 4pm (so he doesn't bathe immediately when he comes back from sch). by the time i reach my own home, it's abt 8 plus or 9. he only gets to sleep ard 9.30pm (earliest) and wakes up at 6.30am the next day. he survives everyday with only 9 hours of sleep (sometimes even 8 hours on bad days). no nap coz' he refuses to sleep at ILs place, so they end up letting him snack the whole day.

he already takes very long to eat breakfast everyday and we're late for sch almost everyday. don't know how i can even squeeze time to brush teeth after breakfast each morning.

it's a very XIAN feeling...if u know what i mean. sometimes i just wish i didn't have to care so much and close my eyes on everything.

krex, I got what you mean but you see the problem is even u ve a hard time controlling them so it will be worse for ur il. btw u used to ve maid wat happen? Every weekday night I will send my kids to bed by 9pm n eventually ko at 9+pm n they wake up 630am too (here I am waking up at 530am tp pump, prepare milk for them b4 we set off). On wed when Jac ve class they will onli be ko by 10+pm. but my kids do nap. but to me if they r tired they will sure nap mayb he is reali not tired. get him to do more things to get his mind tired so dat he will nap? or set rules dat there is to b no snacks no tv no toys even if he dun nap so eventually he might get too bored n end up napping?

celyn, what I am trying to mean is if our kids even ourselve also having hard time to control them then cant expect IL able to do it. There is no way we can get full control of our kids when we are working mum.

rata,
my parents and in laws don't take care of my kids, i don't know how easy/tough it is. however, if they were to help look after, i expect them to follow rules i set. if not, i will not let them take care and send them to other alternative like childcare.

even in the childcare, on bad morning that the kids throw temper at home. i will tell the teachers to keep them in naughty corner when they reach cc. they are not allowed to play during the 'free time' while other kids are not here yet.

the teacher will ask me what happen and pull the kid to a side and talk to them. how long is this 'naughty corner or talking take' i don't care, just want to make known to the kid that i don't punish them at home, doesn't mean he/she can get away in school with teacher.

rata,

the strange thing is...my kids are well behaved when with us during the weekend. even when i was taking care of them last dec (coz' i was not working then), i did not have any probs. but the moment they're left with my ILs, things just go wrong. and it's during this time when i have absolutely no control of them. so unless i quit my job to take care of them full time, i have to live with it lor.

celyn,

what time do u need to pick your kids up from childcare and do u get penalised when u can't pick them up on time? i was contemplating childcare for J but my friends tell me not a good idea when he's so old already. if want to, shld start right from the beginning, like 2 or 3 yrs old. but i do plan to put him in after sch care when he goes to primary sch next time. i would need some help with daily homework coz' if i leave at IL's place, definitely no time to do any revision with him, looking at his daily schedule and situation now.

krex, if u can control them then the brushing teeth part do it b4 going to il place. cc must pick up by 7pm. From what I know is they will fine you if u pick up late. Mayb once in awhile they might not depends on how strict the sch is. I usually pick Jac up by 6pm so I not too sure abt dat too.

for now close 2 eyes 1st ba

krex78,
i adjusted my working hours and get a pay cut for it. my working hours now is 8.15 - 4.45pm. i pick them up at around 5.30pm, reach home and have dinner by 6-6.30pm. when days that i can't pick up, i will get hubby to pick up and latest time to pick them up is 7pm. how much is the penalised fees, i'm not sure.

if you intend to change for j, please do it asap. for your girl, you might want to start sending her to cc right away to avoid all these 'issues' you have with your in laws. it's definitely very tiring to look after them ourselves, but once you set a routine to it, its not that bad.

kids will know how to adjust to the routine. i have no issues in getting them to nap over weekends. they know when i say its nap time, you want to sleep or don't want to sleep, you just have to stay in bed and be quiet. their life is very 'fixed'.

weekdays:
6.30am - wake up, drink milk and get ready for cc
7am - leave for cc
5.30pm - time to go home
5.45pm - first thing, reach home is bathe and wait for dinner. (i cook rice and put soup to warm and then i bathe them) they can watch tv or play while waiting for dinner.
6.15-6.30pm - dinner is ready. (tv can be on but must finished dinner fast)
7pm - if dinner still not finished, off tv and stay there and finished it alone (cannot come down). when this happen, dinner is finished in next 10 mins

then its play and tv time till 8pm

8pm - back in the room for story time (yu ze will be practice violin first (how long the practice depends on how well he does it) then story time)

8.30-8.45pm - brush teeth and drink milk and sleep.

krex78,
i might even cut my time further to half day when yu ze goes to p1 then he will not go student care but at home with me. still planning, not confirm yet.

rata,

doesn't look possible for now. unless my ILs can get both of them ready to go home by 7pm so i get to put my kids to bed early, J is going to wake up cranky each morning due to lack of sleep. i'd rather him catch more sleep than struggle to make him brush his teeth.

celyn,

lucky for you. it's not possible for me to end so early. the earliest i knock off is 6pm but there are days i stay till 7 or 8pm - thankfully it's not so often now. my schedule looks like that:

6.45-7pm: reach ILs place
7pm: feed #2 if not fed yet. if #1 hasn't eaten, usu ILs will start feeding him. i don't have this prob at home on weekends coz i make sure he feeds himself no matter how long it takes.
7.30-7.45pm: poo poo (sometimes delayed coz' he takes more than 1/2 hr to finish food)
8pm: leave for home
8.20pm: reach home
8.30pm - 9pm: brush teeth and get ready for bed
9pm - 9.30pm: read storybook and sleep

the only time they get to sleep at 8.30pm or 9pm is on sat/ sun coz' i force myself to stay home and cook dinner. make them eat early ard 5 plus or 6, then quickly put them to bed after bath. J "catches up on his sleep" mostly on sat now coz' sun he has to wake up early for sunday school in church.

well, that's the very sad and pathetic life of my kids.

My Schedule goes:

5.30am: I wake up to pump, make milk, shower
6.30am: wake the kids up n off we go to my brother hse (parents staying with them now). They will drink their milk on the journey.
7am: reached my brother hse both have to finish milk by then. My dad will help to send Jac to cc at 7.20am after she wash up, change into her uniform n tie her hair
7.30am: reach office
5.00pm: off work
5.40pm: pick Jac up fr cc
6.00pm: Reach back my brother hse. By then Jarrel most of the time finished his dinner n ready for shower. Jac to take her dinner. While my parents wil shower Jarrel and I pump milk.
6.30-6.40pm: Jac got to finished her dinner else will kena from me. then I will shower her
7-7.15pm: Off to go hm. If hubby is working late we will take bus hm. *Note on wed Jac on TH enrichment at JP @ 7.30pm so I will send her in then proceed to take feeder bus hm with Jarrel.
7.45pm: home sweet home. *if wed then i will make milk for Jarrel and he will drink while i shower
8.00pm: both Js will drink milk (non-wed)
8.30pm: Both Js will brush teeth n prepare for bed time. *Wed I will set off with Jarrel to go JP to pick Jac with her milk readily made with me
8.45-9.00pm: Js to be send into bedroom (non-wed)
9.15pm: *Wed Jac enrichment class end and we head hm and Jac drink her milk on the way hm.
9.30pm: *Wed Home sweet home n quickly brush their teeth n send them to bed by 10.00pm

Same like Celyn, though I opt for pay cut but my pay was low to begin with liao n i choose to stay in this job coz it allows me to leave work on the dot most of the time and I cant rely on my husband as his job nature he will freq work late n dunno if he will need to work late till the every day evening. I am lazy mummy never read storybook to my kids so they sleep slightly early than Celyn's kids else is abt the same time.

Wed is mad rush for me, but no choice coz I didnt wanted to squeeze all program on weekend wan them to ve time for play n rest on weekend. Currently Sat jac onli ve swimming in the morning and both Js ve phonics on sun morning so 2nd half of the day can relax n enjoy abit.

morning mommies

rata,
don't say that. my pay also low but no choice. previously the kids take school bus, so i have to be home for them. now i send them but i also don't want to go home late cos they sleep early. if i pick them at 7pm, they will have dinner at 8pm, how to sleep? hubby can't send them in the morning, evening on some days he can't make it too. so i have to make sure i can do it 90% of the time.

sat, yu ze have violin at 9am. sat for us is house cleaning day, so no gai gai and fil will come over in the evening. sun, both have berries at 8.45 - 10.30am then its gai gai day after class loh.

no more other classes for them. next is to wait for yu xi to be older to sign her up for piano only.

as for reading story book, its a must for the kids. they wants it and enjoys it. some days, they will opt for puzzles. 80% of the time, its story time that they want. so i make sure they clear up all the toys that they have play before bedtime or storybook time will be gone. its has been very effective for them to keep the toys.

Celyn, at least you are brave enough to drive which I dun so I ve to rely on public transport to get hm fr brother hse. more xin ku but no choice blame it on myself. hahahaha

same sat Jac swimming at 9am. we hardly clean hse (close 2 eyes). Sun both phonics same time juz dat Jac one is longer duration 11-1230, Jarrel 11.30-12.30. Same timing lessons reali helps alot especially when hubby ve to work. I can mange it all by myself
phew...

wow, i dunno how you gals still make time to send your kids for enrichment. i've decided no enrichment for them until they need it. any enrichment is taken up at J's sch, e.g. he goes for extra class on certain days for abt 1 hr plus because the sch ties in with external vendors to get them to teach at the sch. would love for J to try out berries or music class, but i guess i can only attempt when both kids are older.

in my case, my job does not warrant me to work part time or with shorter hours. if i want a 9 to 5 job, i have to totally switch line. tried looking but cldn't find any.

i think i will continue to struggle even when J goes pri sch. if i pick him up from after sch care, it will also be ard 7pm. still have to find dinner for him after that, bathe and put him to sleep. i don't forsee him having a much earlier bedtime, but hopefully that 9 hours of sleep will be enough for him as a growing kid.

rata,
you just need a refresher course and you sure can do it too.

we only clean the house once a week loh. house also dirty but who cares right. :p closed my all my eyes on this.

yes, having both going for class at the same time really helps a lot. that's why i quickly send yu xi in for berries since there is slot available, thinking that i might have to queue one year to get her a slot in future and might not be same timing. i queue 1 year for yu ze and still no slots till they start another branch and i requested to go to the new branch.

krex78,
i have to send them to berries cos both of them tell me chinese is yucky, refuse to watch any chinese shows, not even cartoons. after sending them to berries, they start speaking to hubby in chinese (auto) and me in english. even teachers in cc commented that they speak more chinese now.

violin cos yu ze wanted to learn so i send. now that i have the car, its easier for me to send them. i also sign up enrichment class for them in cc provided cc makes arrangement.

celyn,

i had a slot for berries this yr on sun but hb says don't want to send. J is my social experiment now. when he struggles in p1, i'm sure hb will agree that both can go for berries, haha. by then, both #1 and #2 shld be able to go for same timing at the centre, provided no queue.

for the time being, we're getting J to choose 1 eng and 1 chinese book for bedtime story. he speaks a bit more mandarin now (most likely due to sch influence) but prob not enough to survive p1

krex78,
i'm not sure if by p1, sending to berries is good or not. i heard they are only good for pre-schooler. come primary level, not as strong.

my friend is changing his son to other school comes p1 and drop berries. as i mention, most feedback is not so good for primary level.

for me, i will drop all enrichment class except for music when they goes to primary school. unless they struggle with their work (i don't need them to get As), then i will look for enrichment class.

celyn, i dun ve the courage to drive liao lei. yes lor u know b4 Jarrel turn 18mths my sun schedule is horrible when hubby ve to work or out of town n i cant manage alone need my parents to help. Dat time Jac phonics lesson was the same 11-1230 so morning I will bring Jarrel over to my brother hse so dat he can take his morning nap as his lesson was in the noon while I send Jac for class come back take lunch, pump n is time to bring Jarrel for gym class (2.15-3.30) at diff location as Jac phonics sch and leave Jac with my parents coz Jarrel lesson parents ve to go accompany then by late noon i return n bring both hm.... can u imagine...... once he turn 18mths can start phonics I swap him over n phew such a relieve now.

For Jac Tien Hsia class actually her command of chinese is ok juz dat she need to learn to recognize, read n write so i send her for class coz i lazy to teach n i cant teach.

As for swimming main reason coz is a life saving skill which i think is good to achieve and also good for strengthening her lungs as she easily down with cough.

rata,
you can make it one. you just need to try out a few times with help. then you will be fine. my instructor tell me once you know how to drive, you will be able to drive just rusty only. after a few times, you will be fine like riding bicycle.

celyn,

which sch is gd for P1 chinese then? the sch i'm planning to send him to seems to offer higher chinese...not sure if that will help or demoralise him, haha.

for now, he seems to be doing ok. every sat, he spends the afternoon doing hw and he is able to keep up for both eng and chinese. chinese teacher only commented he doesn't speak enough mandarin in class.

rata,

with practice, i'm sure u can drive. i'm not very gd either but becoz sometimes my hb comes back late, i also have to drive my kids back. during sch holidays if i want to bring J out, i also try to drive and use the GPS, so i can practise more. if it's short distance and familar route, shldn't be too bad. unless your hb has a very big car and u find it very hard to manouvre...

Celyn, Krex, thanks for encouragement but I still cant move the reluctant legs. I tried once n i was so rusty till my hubby got to move my sterling wheel for me not to talk abt parking sia....

Celyn, same like bicycle i used to know but so long no ride dat I dun dare too.

Anyway hubby job he need the car so when he work late I ve to go hm on my own too onli dat if he is out of town n I dare to drive then it will helps quite abit

rata,

i thought u were cycling last time when preggie with #1? i was also quite scared to pillon #2 on my recent cycling trips but with practice, it gets much easier. it's a scary feeling when the life of your little one is dependent on how well you can balance the bike and your personal road safety :p

morning mommies

krex78,
i'm not sure what is good from p1 onwards. i didn't survey the school and check for feedback.

they have homework to do? basically, yu ze is idling around at home. only berries has a 1 page, 4 - 5 question homework.

rata,
go try, its easier when he is not in town and you can take the car. basically, now i don't have to care whether hubby needs to work late or work on weekends cos i have the car, i can just do all the picking and sending. the kids don't have to stay at home whole day just cos papa is not in and no car to bring them out.

btw, do you pay bus fare for j? i want to bring them to take bus but don't know how to go about paying for the bus fare. both of them can go without paying but with only 1 paying adult fare, can they go for free? end up, i never bring them take bus on my own. its always cab.

Krex, When did u see me cycling? no la I last cycle in sec sch days.

Celyn, Jarrel is still not 90cm so officially no need to pay. For Jac I never pay lei. Think the bus driver see my so poor thing carrying Jarrel and so much things n hold on to Jac they also dun bare to ask me to pay then i will start digging for money. hahahaha

rata,
for me, both will be walking and going up bus themselves, i don't carry them. that's why i wonder how i should pay for the bus fare loh. yu xi is below 90cm, yu ze might be there but he still looks below 90cm. so most of the time, i can pass him through most places free even though they say need to pay at 90cm.

celyn,

kids below 1.2m no need to pay. for train, height limit is 0.9m. so J pays for train but not for bus. i bought concecession card for J. btw, u got your licence recently or many yrs back?

rata,

i rem reading somewhere u fell while cycling when preggie. not u? maybe my memory is failing me, tsk tsk.

rata,

how u escape mrt gantry? u carry jac? i bot J a concession pass partly to make him excited abt tapping lah. so donate a few cents to transport operator lor. when i bring him out on 1 on 1 outing, i will make him wear the pass around his neck...gives him a sense of responsibility, haha.

Krex, I juz let her walk thru. avoid the gantry near to control station hahahaha carrying a 22kg load is no joke. Wait till they tell me to buy then i buy. Anyway I take bus more freq than mrt when I am alone. coz all her classes are within Jurong area so bus will do.

morning mommies

rata,
must encourage you to take up driving again. my colleague who is 50 just passed her driving last year too. now with auto car, its easier.

Celyn, mine also auto car. The problem is when i think of my kids life in my hand n wat if i bang the car i will call off the driving.

rata,
don't think that way. within a year from getting my license, i bang twice. both good thing is kids not in the car. once i'm in between a cyclist and a bus. i try to avoid the cyclist, and bang into bus which i didn't see it coming. it happen so fast that i don't even know its my fault and i bang into the bus or the bus bang into me. another one is i'm turning and didn't see the car at the corner cos being block and we bang.

when accident happens, it can be your fault or it can be other driver's fault as well. we just have to be extra careful about it.

rata,

who is 22kg? jac? that's heavy!!! err...does it help if i tell u i drive a manual? heehee.

celyn,

the 2 times my car met with a minor accident (bang car in front), i had a child inside. first time was me banging taxi driver when i was preggie and J was inside. second time was hb banging car in front and both kids inside. but thankfully all minor accidents. the kids were unfazed...still happily playing their games in the car

Celyn, but my fear is there. also thinking apart fr the injuries fr accident also the amt i ve to pay for.

Krex, Recent MOH check in sch shows dats her weight (over weight)!!! but i am not doing anything abt it coz she dun look over weight to me lei. mayb coz her bb tummy still there dats y.

We had one accident with the whole family on board dat was juz a few mths after we bought the car (though is 2nd hand still heart pain). It was rainning and there was a jam so our car was stationary just as the traffic starts moving and hubby getting ready to move off we heard brake sound n fllow by a bang! A lady bang into us. lucky no one injured best part is Jarrel was in my arm n not car seat as I was feeding milk then. The impact not huge but our boot got dented in once open cannot close back liao.

Apart fr this hubby also scrap the side of the car twice at car park dat we dun bother to get it rework.

I took 3 attemp b4 i gotten my license so u all can imagine how bad I am.

rata,
i see. last time is different lah cos its manual mah. if you ask me to take manual, i think i will take a few time to pass to. even with auto, i took 2 to pass.

rata,

wow, J is only 16kg (i think). has been at this weight for the longest time. i think he stopped growing temporarily already, haha. even his shoe size didn't really increase. he's been wearing the same shoe size for more than a yr already :p

krex, Jac weight still grow but slow down, her height is wrose onli 5cm per yr.... Jarrel is weighing 16kg liao. anyway most impt is healthy