(2008/08) Aug 2008

Good Morning Mommies!
Happy Mid-Autumn Festival to all!

Toilet-training - I go straight to normal panties for the gals. Yes, I agree panties/underwear for kids aren't cheap nowadays!

Snow,
I think some toilet-training must be instilled in the kids because if not, they will continue to rely on diapers as it is definitely easier as it is anytime anywhere type heehee Coz at the kiddos' age, they aldy can understand instructions and simple communication, so I think it is good to start teaching them
Seems like Zynn already know

Morning Mummies!

How's everyone? We juz came back fr Hkg this morning. Stupid flight was delayed for 3 hrs becoz there was only 1 runway open due to typhoon and a broken down plane. So sleepy... Only had 2 hrs of sleep before I had to get up to come to wk. Gng to scroll thru the posts I missed now...

celyn,

tks for the pics. will go look for it this weekend. all along i've only seen the ones sold at kiddy palace, like TFY, etc. they look comfi but i think that kind must take on and take off kind, which is troublesome.

m2b,

looks like i shld seriously start training J again. i've this nagging feeling that he'll take better to sitting on toilet bowl coz' he always sees us sitting on it and knows it's the place to poo and pee.

Nana,
Huh, why dun take leave to rest today then? I sure can't survive a work day with just 2hrs of sleep heehee

Krex,
Start training J from this weekend? But your ILs must be persistent and determined to help in the training during weekdays too

I am getting it soon too. Cos Kai will also want to take out diaper n pass urine cos we always ask #1 to go pass urine on the morning.

m2b
ha ha...maybe lor, just that none in my family went thru toilet training so far.
ya, they already can understand.
maybe thats also why some of my nieces and nyphews auto go diaperless when they are around 18mths, its a natural process lor. =)

M2b, Shint,
Hw I wish I can sleep in... Gotta come back for meeting and to settle some nagging work. The issues have been haunting me from before I went for the trip. Better to come back to clear it. Now thinking whether to take half-day leave on Friday for Anvelle's bday or juz walk over to sing bday song den come back to wk.

nana

welcome back!
n hv a safe day wor. working with 2 hrs slp n right after trip is v tired.

airport near sea lah.... they cant hv the possibilities to let plane go into water due to typhoon. safety safety.

rata

I dunno the one u hv. I got mine ( 4 layers) specially fm Japan. very gd. also consider cheap compare to those I bought here. material is gd n not so bulky & very cute! Hahaha!!

they have stage 1( 6 layers/ 4 layers), stage 2 ( 3 layers), stage 3 ( special layer) which is like brief/panty with a layer in case of leaks.

SAHM so can save me cleaning floor all the time n give me more rest. hahaha!! even trained liao, i still let her wear like brief. BBM diaperless n nt wearing for a long time before I intro training pants. she can hold diaperless, but with pants still thinking as diaper, so hv to let her used to it.

Snow,
My nephews and #1 all trained when they are 18mths (that's when they can understand) but Mae takes longer to understand hahaha...but ok lah, eventually they will be trained

At least now I know I dun need to bring diapers when I go overseas in Dec liao...that saves alot of luggage space! haha

Mtb,
Day training was ok for #1 but nite training ... Still outstanding. Train both together, haha.
So go trip I still needed to bring diaper for nite.

shint

i go check for u then pm u.

actually for me, I go overseas I still bring pull up n diaper as want bbm to play freely without worrying need to go toilet. plus toilet might nt be easy access when needed.

her diaper can be dry for whole day as she will ask to go toilet.

then no accidents too.

shint

think quan will be ok after u nite training pah. maybe too much milk before sleepin?

hope he can keep dry then u save money.

sylvia
no lah, just that my mum also never train us and we still able to go diaperless ourself so its like sort of no one in the family bother liao....ha ha... >D
i can still remember #1 told me when she nearing 2yo that she dun wanna wear diaper any more, cos its very hot.

m2b
its ok lah, diff kids progress differently. =)
mae might be faster in another way.

ya, think thats the diff.
cos this mummy here is those lazy to go oversea type...ha ha...go chalet also i lazy liao, maybe thats why no "force" pushing me to speed up anything. =P

Shint,
I think boys can't hold pee as well as gals...my coll's sons only stop wearing diapers for nite at about 5 or 6yo.

Snow,
Yes, each kid is diff so I will not try to rush Mae...was just chatting w my colls over lunch that #1 is more advanced in most ways, that's y I always use it as a benchmark for Mae which is wrong so I must always watch what I say and do...I'm patiently teaching Mae now

Nevertheless, I love both gals all the same

Sylvia,
Hahaha, with 2 kids, sure have to go toilet (coz #1 needs to go), tats why I let Mae goes diaperless outside now...*touch wood* so far no accidents and hope no accidents at all coz I dun bring extra panties and bottoms out too!

m2b,

so far, my MIL will ask him to sit potty if she thinks he's going to poo. if he dun want, she also dun force. so even though he sat for fun a few wks ago, i think till now no progress. and watching elmo's potty time doesn't seem to help too. he knows what the potty is for but he won't tell us he needs to go and then sit on the potty.

need advice. J has been having ugly scar marks on his legs coz' he always kena bitten by mozzies and he will scratch a lot. is there any cream i can put that will prevent mozzie bites? my friend mentioned that some body lotion with calamine helps. any idea? btw, i do have california bb's calendula cream, but not sure if i can use it on his whole body on a daily basis. right now i'm using it on the bites/ marks only.

Good Morning Mommies!

Krex,
Have to continue getting J to go either potty or toilet...he will get the idea real soon

I oso keen to know what cream is good for scars as Mae kena bites and will scratch thus sometimes leave scars too =(

morning mummies...

I am guilty of being lazy to apply creams leh... :p and P is a mosquito magnet... every week sure have... then a simple bite can become like pig trotter... hiaz...

Morning Mummies!

Krex,
You wan to try those anti-mozzie patches/ buglock sold in BP? Alternatively, you can also use the CB Anti-Bug Spray. Quite good too. The SB Calendula Cream may be applied for whole body but it does not prevent mozzie bites. Besides Calendula Cream, I also use Dr Lily's Aloe Vera Gel (from BP). The aloe vera gel is good for ulcers, cuts and bites. I use it on my face and for pimples too!

Sylvia,
Damn tired lor. Last nite can't sleep early too coz bz buying and packing Anvelle's bday goodie bags in case I wk late today.

M2B, Shint,
Not a gd trip, i feel. Typhoon started on Monday when we went to Disneyland and din stop raining. Sprained my foot as well. Things are very ex in Hkg now. A simple local meal at the cha can teng is at least SGD4 exclusive of drinks.

Cat,
If you are gng to HKG, I would suggest tt you bring a stroller tt is lighter and not too big. We had lots of problem moving ard with the strollers via MTR coz not every exit has a wide gantry. You gotta either squeeze the stroller thru the normal gantry, fold it up or walk a long way to the wide gantry. My Maclaren Triumph is just nice for most exits but I still needed to tilt to get thru the turnstiles. Dun think the Toysrus stroller can survive the Hkg streets too. Pavements are bumpy and lots of steps to climb. Be prepared to have to carry the stroller up n down stairs at MTR stations. Overall, I feel tt Hkg is not really a child-friendly place if you are taking the MTR. Told hb tt if we r staying in Hkg, I can forget abt gng out shopping wif Anvelle n stroller alone on weekends.

But I think Bernice would love Disneyland. Anvelle was such a good gal on Disneyland Day. No "mummy bao bao". Only keep pointing to the rides and Disney characters. She was so happy abt seeing Mickey n Minnie tt she dropped her pants while running towards them! Hahhahaa...

nana,

what is SB? CB = california baby? can I apply it daily? the CB calendula cream won't help prevent mozzie bites rite? oh, is there anything i can buy from pharmacy? i seldom buy from BP these days.

hello mommies,

We're thinking of sending Ashley for some class (like finally, right?).. So far we're looking at
Pat's Schoolhouse's D Story Club
Act 3's Drama class
Any reviews from yourself or from others?

I'm actually quite keen to send her to some dance class.. Any ideas on this?

nana,

i'm ok using calendula cream for scars but looking for cream that i can apply to whole body or at least the legs and hands to prevent mozzie bites. not really keen to put mozzie patch all day as smell is quite strong.

krex78,
the mozzie patch i got from bp quite ok leh. when you first paste, maybe a bit strong lah. after that, ok liao. i get yu ze's teacher to put for him at the back of his clothes after bath so that he can't remove it.

Hisstory
Act3 is fun, but location very inaccessible.
If u drive more worse, most of my friend decided to drop cos its super difficult to park or drop kid there if u drive.

Morning.
Mossie bite. I use tea tree oil after that.
Prevention before that, o sometimes put tea tree oil or axe oil on the pillow, etc ... Cos spicy smell the mosquitoes don't like ma. Don't believe in putting the cream, spray .... Too much chemicals I feel.

Good Morning Mommies!

Nana,
Think the kids will enjoy Disneyland the most coz of all the characters! =) Mae loves it when we were there last Nov...so wish to go back w the gals again during a Xmas season...

Hisstory,
No comments on both as both gals never attended the classes...dancing class, think there's a school in Millenia Walk and Funan Centre but can't recall the names...

shint,

my fried puts OFF! cream on her kids and they don't get mozzie bites. but i'm a bit reluctant to use the repellant on such a frequent basis, so thinking of using organic cream. maybe apply thin layer would help?

mozzie bites

tried J&J mozzie repellant.. it's clear lotion n deet free.. quite soft to b use on baby 6 mos onward.. will last ard 4 hours.. if u need longer protection, need toput again.. very effective.. I have 2 bottle of it..hope that helps :p

Serene
there's also one at the cathay there.. depending where u stay lor..
most of the class is still on fun movement only though
plan to try 1 of the class for N, let me know if u r going too..

ipod touch:

hi, i'm planning to buy J an ipod touch for entertainment, but can't decide if i shld get the 8GB or 32GB one. is 8GB one enough for photos, videos, games and apps?

kipling bag:

anyone knows where i can get kipling bag in singapore? the bugis outlet has closed down, and i need to get another haversack diaper bag for J.

lingling,
i bought that too but still sitting there. hahaah.... this lazy mummy just can't be bother to apply even though i see mosquito bites on yu ze's legs and leave ugly marks. :p

krex78,
wow!!! he knows how to use?

snow/ celyn,

err, i tot some kids from this forum already using iphone? i'm getting the touch so he doesn't have to keep on using my hp to see video, etc.

i let J try ipad the other day and he was happily touching and swiping. he seems to be able to play some of the no brainer games. although he will prob enjoy the ipad more than ipod touch, have decided not to spend so much on a high tech toy. moreover, the touch is more portable and will come in handy during my 7-hr flight to melbourne