(2008/08) Aug 2008

snow,

tks for the reminder...will limit use. at least i dun have to let him play with hp next time coz' that i feel is more harmful.

krex78,
i'm not sure but i'm definitely not for it but like what snow74 say, its your choice. i don't even have anyone of those myself. :p

i will be flying to tokyo in dec, its also a 7 hours flight. flying by united airlines, not sure if they have in flight entertainment for kids? i'm thinking of buying a portable dvd player or maybe borrow an external hard disk to connect to net book and let him watch thomas. but still haven't decide cos not willing to pay $179 (cheapest, i found for dvd player) for it.

celyn,

i did consider portable dvd player but even his fav elmo show won't calm him down if he's edgy during plane ride. it used to work when we cut his hair but now even elmo shows won't make him compliant. kids these days, so difficult to please!

krex78,
i guess sometimes it could be all these technology that makes the kids hard to please now. having too much choices. we didn't grow up having all these right? maybe our parents find us hard to please when we are young too.

morning mummies

just sms hubby to scold him. he got a new pc yesterday and was playing with it till very late and didn't wash all the pumps parts and bottles. this morning, i wake up see that its all there and i have to wash before i can use. lucky the 2 babies are still sleeping if not how i pump and how to give milk when i got no bottles to use. i told him since he choose not to sleep then please don't tell me he is tired.

Celyn
Agree, rather give kids crayons n paper to draw till they dropped then stuffs biscuits into their mouth if on long journey..ha ha..
But if parents nowadays buying IT personal entertaintment stuffs for small kids, ofcos i happy lah..so that i can receive higher bonus mah. :p

Think ur hb troubleshooting problem on his new pc till too tired?

snow74,
yu ze still don't really like drawing. so i should be stuffing him with biscuits, walking up and down the plane bah. hopefully, there is some form of in flight entertainment for him. really don't wish to get him a portable dvd player. cos he will know and next time will ask for it whenever we go out.

Celyn
If ur job is also inside lab testing all the lux and fps of those portable players, think u wun even need to consider liao..hee hee..
Ya, hope the flight u taking have those flight entertaintment.
Else read him a book can let u rest awhile?

celyn

that's what I tot so, so hv been delaying the buying of a dvd player to bring out. i dunna bbm to ask for it when we eating or watever she does. like that... the world become only inside............

n nt gd for eyes. at home watch hi-5 on tv... i think is enough.

n 'attraction' to Cancer... dunna it to happ if possible for her whole life lah.

entertainment............ if united airlines is the same as delta airline. they will be just monitor kid's show, movies n games. if nt, some hv drawing set n bag,etc. Just in case, bring ur own pah.

or make him so tired that he power nap most of the journey? Hahaha!

sylvia,
yah loh. can't imagine i have to bring a dvd player out everytime we go out. then he will never learn to sit down and eat together. my house only got 1 tv and that is like his already cos he always watch thomas, mickey mouse clubhouse, little einstein and alvin and the chipmucks. though his eyes are not stuck on the tv 50% of the time but i still think its enough liao.

yah, i hope he can nap on the plane when we go loh but then it might be so new and interesting to him that he don't want to nap loh.

Sylvia & celyn
Ya, start kids on personal digital entertainment too early will "trap" them in their own world.

Would u rather see ur kid talk to u, or keep playing their players few yrs down the road?

snow,
Thanksthanks! We gave it a try today, coz hb's very keen. U're right, the parking's quite limited. Had to park at NEA & then walk up.. Quite fun, but coz the kids can't really sit down all the time, Ashley also got distracted. But quite good

M2B,
No prob!! Went thru some websites, most recommend age of min 2.5yo
Still got a couple of mths

Krex
u r most welcome

celyn
u r not lazy lah.... I also almost never use it here... Bought if we go hb's hometown coz mozzies there bit scary :p

Use of iPhone, iPad, Itouch, computer,
My colleague said he had a nephew who is very smart n talks very well when young. So his parents rewarded homeothermic psp. In the next year, this boy is always stuck to the toy n no longer socialize n talk to adults anymore.
He had lost his conmunication skills n now stuck to playing games, even if educational, it's still not balance.

I am quite mindful where possible.
Do "spoil" them n give 20 mins of computer once on a while.
Most important ia limiting the use.

Limiting is the most difficult.
Self control is very difficult for the kid n though we say we can limit but often they can get away with more than what we plan for. We tend to give in n say to ourselves, 5 mins more only. Add that up is alot for the kid.
If u place a temptation for the kid, dun expect them to tell u "I've had enough". Even adults can't have self control.
My son said "mama, if the game is there n I cannot play, I am very sad"- this is the mindset of children.
So he suggested to delete the games off n he really fun bug me much after that.

snow74,
i guess we can't escape them from using pc in a few years time when they started p1. right now is so long we can prevent from getting to it.

shint,
its very sad for the parents loh. do they regret doing so?

yah, limiting is tough especially when we are tired. sometimes, we just give in to them to stop any 'kicking a fuss' from them cos we are too tired to handle it.

shint

aiyo.............

actually my distant cousin also like that. used to be IQ very high n in gifted school. but everyday struck with games in tv til now....... nt really very sociable n abit solo. can sms n write alot, but when face to face like stone.

the other one is a frd's daughter, also gifted. the mother v proud that she can sit quietly as once she finish her meal, she will be sitting there watching her dvd. nw... her eyes r glued to tv. 1st time wake up switch on tv n even do homework, eyes also there. unless mother in front, if nt, eyes r on tv no matter where she is...

ur #1 still will ask ? temptation is the thing. I agreed even adults also hv prob.

celyn

ya... that's the best way to knock out thru out the journey. Hahaha!

hmm.......... limiting not easy. i will try to use my laptop only after bbm slps. usually for her, watch youtube/fb mean laptop. other than that, she is ok. just hope i can delay longer.

morning mummies

sylvia,
yah, i use laptop when i pump milk. now yu ze will come and close my laptop cover so that i can't play. last time, he will want to see and touch. now he will see a while then will close it liao. so end up, i can't use laptop too.

tv, i will make him off at 8pm sharp on weekdays cos going to bed. weekends then no choice, it will be on but he don't glue his eyes to it.

celyn, sylvia,
ya, I'm sure ... i guess if we believe that they need it, then they will go down that path. I think some families dun even have TV. The kids grow up to appreciate different things in life.

Both hubby and I agreed not to get the XBOX for him (my hubby) cos he saw how soon my #1 could get potentially addicted to the iphone.

We can put off as long as we can and put it clear to the kid on time limit, guess we have to be firm. I must say I do give in.

My clever #1 came to me just now and asked to eat a sweet and i said ok, just one. To know from my SIL that he asked for 1 from my FIL and 1 from her .. so that makes 2 oredi ... Immediately I scolded him and din allow him to eat anymore. He fussed but now, he's happily drawing with my SIL.

#1 stopped asking for games since I had deleted them in front of him and cos I dun play games, so it's good. I dun secretly keep some for myself and mind you, he tries to check my phone ok ....
Sometimes he comes and ask to check the application on maps, weather .... but i said, no, he's not allowed to touch my iphone cos it's bad for his eyes. He's quite accept that fact that he cannot use it.

I think once we give, they will ask and we give, the more they ask ... can be vv FAN when we try to stop them ... so dun give, they know that's the limit. Give them, they can't tell the limit cos sometimes can play longer, sometimes shorter. Sometimes papa says can, mama says cannot - who to listen to?? They get confused. Hhaha, tough for them to handle at that age.

celyn u vv good leh .. 8pm oredi go sleep oredi.
Mine, dun sleep until 830 and then with my 1 hour of reading, they sleep ard 930 and fusiing ard, prob ard 10 then really into dreamland.

can't start earlier leh.
by the time reach hom oredi 7pm, then eat dinner, bathe, watch a little TV, play some toys, should be ard 830. dun think i can do it any earlier unless no TV. but even without TV, i oso dun start before 830.

Sylvia,
Tat time i contemplated installing a DVD player in the car cos the kids can't get use to seat belts .... heng i din ... else they will get addicted to the show oso.

anyway, it's a phase they have to go through ... once they get the idea, they will get by without the DVDs, iphones, etc.

of course, if we do give them then have to be sure to be firm and mindful not to let them get too much of it.

even TV. I know how much knowledge they can gain by watching alot of educational shows but that may turn them into a different breed.
My fren's son oso dun like to go out, always want to stay at home ... they have to entice him to go out. Sounds bad cos i tot kids love to go out. perhaps at home there are other things that attract them mroe ... hopefully it's not the computer!

shint,
8pm go to room with last feed milk loh. inside, drink milk, read book then brush teeth and sleep before 9pm. if its me who put him to bed, then its 8pm off light and drink milk. :p

yu ze finished his dinner by 6.30pm loh. that's why i have to change my working hours and he reach home by 540pm. eat dinner and bathe, all done by 630-645pm. on weekends, we also eat dinner so early one.

shint

kids r very smart. ur #1 check ur iphone? wah........

celyn,

for me, gng out is meal, library n zoo, bird park. think rather spend time meeting animals then window shopping. dun think I wanna to train a shopaholic in the future. Hahaha!!

if nt, stay at home, watch hi-5 n do workout! i got audio cd for her n realise that like yuze, most of the time nt watching too. just by listening, she can rem the dance steps liao. very funny sometimes. but... if go out also watch, then i think overdose liao

oh... bbm used to slam my laptop. nw she will ask to see bb n korkor. :p

if nt, she wanna join in the typing......

celyn

alternative...... i bought those books/toys with keyboards or music buttons, so can actually learn rather than watch dvd.

maybe u wanna try on plane?

sylvia,
i do have one book that is like that, comes with 4 nursery rhymes. doesn't work for long loh. maybe i shall bring my mp3 player, then he can listen to songs.

our going out does includes shopping but more of grocery shopping which is going ntuc or shop n save. yu ze will say i want go save (shop n save).

morning mummies.
oh....happening topics....ha ha...both my gals playing with my old cameras nia. =P
think now even my #1 go PCF also have computer lesson, so when its time they should touch just let them touch lor. =)
i agree kids above 3yo can let them start exploring IT stuffs, with time limit.
my tv at home normally will only switch on after zynn sleep, something ard 9pm.

celyn
does yu ze have time to watch tv after cc everyday? by the time i pick kaer, it will be late afternoon, and thinking back..kaer like quite deprived...she doesnt watch tv at home since i put in her full day cc..she only has her toys and the furniture to play with!..haha...

i read that most of u mummies dun agree with dvd players..but honestly, that has been our life saver since we bought it..we will show kaer hi-5 or super-y when we have our meals outside (weekends)...this speeds up our meal time and she will throw less tantrums....each time we show her..its only for abt 1/2 an hour (or the time we take to finish out meal) i agree that it may lead to a bad habit..but it does bring a lot of convenience for us...and kaer doesnt ask for it at home ..so i think its ok for us...thats just a personal opinion and judgment...it really depends on how u use the convenient tool at an appropriate time..

yln,
yes. he reach home around 540pm. sometimes he will ask for it liao. if not, then when we eat dinner loh. so say from around 6-8pm, he gets to watch loh. if we need to go fetch yu xi, then its from 6-645pm loh. after fetching yu xi, come back go straight to bed liao.

i agree, as long as kaer don't ask for it at home and its helps you in your lifestyle then go for it. right now, i'm still sort of able to control yu ze most of the time when we are out having dinner so there is no need for it yet.

Snow,
So your girls dun watch tv? Wow.
My boys do have about 30 mins of tv time but sometimes mommy very free then read book n sleep, they forget about it also.
Kai prefers books for now. Quan wants both!

Ya, quan also come back says teacher shows volcanoes on computer n wanted to see.

shint,

it's true if u keep buying kids too much high tech stuff, they will get addicted and lose contact with the real world. my hb's nephew is like that. very talented and his mom buy him PSP. now he's so "tao" he doesn't even want to talk to ppl and he just stays one corner and play his game during CNY.

that's why i was a bit half hearted in buying the ipod touch. but both hb and i feel that this would be a useful tool to keep the boy entertained during long car rides. we don't plan to buy those portable DVD player that some parents install for their kids in the car so they can watch cartoon.

i'm thankful J is not addicted to any cartoon character yet. he's not been exposed much to mickey or thomas, but he does like elmo, though not crazy over him. dunno if that will change when he goes to sch and is subject to peer pressure.

i am tempted to buy him education CD rom later on this year, to build up his chinese vocab. will let him use my old laptop on weekends for this.

hb & i still make it a point to bring him outdoors during weekends, like grocery shopping, swimming, walks in the parks, etc. in fact, we hardly watch TV at home. mostly at my IL's place since he only gets his walks in the morning and evening. rest of the day they play with him, teach him and let him watch TV lor.

shint
cos zynn sleep early, so time i have left with her is so little that i dun wanna focus too much on watching tv. =P
#1 does watch tv after she finish her homework + mei mei sleep liao, but that is also when she is older.
all after all, i cannot guarantee my sis dun let them watch tv...so its better i limit...ha ha...

I think we are all mindful cos we see n hear examples of -ve effects. I guess we r all trying our best to be good parents.

Educational games, shows are nothing bad if not used all the time. Different standards each person has, in the end we all have to live with the final result. Some people find it a great solution for their problems.
For me, I try to minimize cos I know my son will bug me n of course Kai is an ardent follower of #1.

shint
8.30pm.
by the time i free after dinner, its either 7.30pm or 8pm liao. =(

if any of u have empty milk powder tin intended to throw away, kindly pass it to me instead hor.
friso having some promo in guardian now lor, thx.

wa! all ur kids sleep so early i will only order Jac to go into her bedroom to sleep at 10pm. we train & set 10pm for her so dat our life will b easier when out to wedding dinner. hahahaha guess ve to tune her to sleep earlier b4 she start P1 in yrs to come

CD rom:

any of u bought the A-star edu CD rom to teach Mandarin? tempted to buy leh. i saw it again at funan during lunch time and i have this week to figure if i want to spend the $$$.

rata,

dun worry. J is a late sleeper also. on most nights, he sleeps at 10 plus, heh. on nights when i get back really early, will start putting him to bed by 9 plus.

#1 slept by the time I got home and maid told me he said "i am waiting for mama's call, she's calling me in 10 mins" ... aiyo ....

Just now he called me twice to check on me, ask me where i was and requested me to call him when I am on the way home ... i think he waiting for me to read story books for him.

U see la, like tat how to go out in peace? always have that feel bad kind of feeling when I have to be out somewhere else rather than at home reading for him.

Morning mummies.

Shint
Thats why since centuries ago, i have not been going out w/o my gals liao..unless they in class..hee hee..
Even if they dun call me, i'll also miss that 2 little active monkey. :p

morning mummies

snow
u r right..now i seldom go out w/o kaer..even if very inconvenient or mah fan..i will still find a way to bring kaer out with me..:p

morning mummies... children's day coming... any plans?

alamak snow, I just threw away one container yesterday... :p go back and find...

Re: entertainment for kids
We have a DVD player in the car... I'm ok with it cos it's not "portable"... they do not fuss when we reach a destination and I switch it off... if they are throwing a tantrum, I will withhold and will not play the disc... I seldom play the discs at home though we have a DVD player... excuse is the DVDs in the car (hahaha!)... I'm so far ok with it even if they like certain characters... children and children only once... I personally feel they will outgrow the "addiction"...

#1 will read before bedtime... #2 milk and lights out is enough for him... but my kids sleep late... 10pm-11pm... how huh? By the time we finish dinner is about 9pm after wash up leow... then I got to do work with #1... Hb will make #2 sleep at 9.30pm... is it too late? I'm worried cos #1 will not have naptime in P1 leow... hiaz...

jen,

i think 10pm+ is ok as long as they get to nap the next day. P1 still can have afternoon nap rite? my son will usu have 8-9 hrs of sleep at night and another 2-3 hrs of sleep in the day. total ard 10-12 hrs which i think is quite decent.