(2008/08) Aug 2008

Sylvia,
Yep, I used to give her the original flavour but she doesn't like, even tho it's cold, she doesn't wan.
So i changed to orange flavour.
Taste quite sweet and dun have the cod liver oil taste at all.

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Oh dear.. And the worst part is him being able to climb down &amp; head over to your room. Why would he wake at tt hour??

<font color="#CD3278">ReiRei</font>
Gd tt Char is better... The horrid part of kiddos being sick is them not being able to articulate which part they are feeling most uncomfortable with..

Now it's not just with my niece.. There's also my nephew, 3mths junior of Ashley. They take turns to fall ill and pass the virus to each other..

What form of Vit C do you give her?

Snow, sorry I din get to check forum thru weekend... I'm interested to get the Aloe Vera cream? Price is ok with me if fixed at $14 each. Will check my stock of Calendula as well...
Thanks, babe!

Re: Sick
I also sick wif flu last week... sibei jialat, first week of work oredi 2 days MC... but doc no say is H1N1 leh... but now still hving sore throat... how huh?

Kids also having runny nose and cough... #1 cough can hear phlegm... P has been waking up at night every 1-2 hrs to cough and cry... last night screamed and threw out some phlegm...

Rona, I am also giving the same CLO as u... at what age to switch over to the Scotts? My #1 not very receptive to new stuff...

hisstory,
yah, he will climb up and try to sleep with us. but sometimes he can't sleep, he will turn and toss cos his pillow and bolster not in our room mah. so after about 5-10 mins, i will carry him back to his room to sleep.

if he finally do fall asleep in our bed, half the time, he is taking me as pillow or his meimei as pillow (sleep on my tummy).

morning mums,

J has not drunk his milk the entire weekend. only giving him 200ml in the morning and he totally rejected. *xian* i'm so tempted to ask PD if i can totally CUT his milk supply!!!

btw, any of your bbs poo more than 3x a day? J, on average, poos 5x a day and sometimes can be more. dunno if there's something wrong with his system. we've tried cutting his veg and fruit intake the whole of last week and his average is now 3x. still feels quite a lot to me. how to potty train like that?

krex78,
maybe you should raise your concern with your pd and see what he say.

i feels it a lot loh. yu ze poo once a day and rarely twice a day. whenever he poo twice a day, hubby very gan cheong liao. he will start to wonder what happen to his baobei. is his baobei sick or what liao.

celyn,

haha, J has been pooing at least 3x since he was born! at first i tot it's becoz i give him BM but it continued right after 1st yr. asked PD before and she said give less veg and less water, but still not much difference leh. will have to flag to her again end of this mth.

krex78,
yah, better ask her again. when yu ze is still young, he also poo a lot of times then slowly becomes once as he grow older.

won't giving less water and vege cause constipation especially when they are on full FM which is consider heaty?

hi celyn...
read ur posts. is yuze sleeping in bed or cot? if cot, can try a cot tent. my friend's using it and it helps to keep her daughter from climbing out @ night.

celyn...
i read in a book that if they get out of their toddler bed, then have to take them back to their room quietly, even if it takes many times. they may be getting out of bed for ur attention. but can be quite tiring for u. hopefully things get better for u soon.

rona,
you still at speech delay? heheh....

ask you, i will need to have 2 car seats when #2 comes righ? how to maximise my $$ on car seats?

ceyln,
jia you!

i prob be starting to let jer sleep in the same room as the older siblings. except that he sleeps early while his sleeps late at 10pm. prob let him sleep in one room first and then after the older kids are settled in bed, i bring him over? a bit funny hor...

ceyln,
how are you and baby? i've been very busy at work...
and now trying to switch no 1's swimming coach so need to take half day leaves quite regularly. very soon will be out of leaves liao... i so wanna go parkway for my tea!

rona,

how do u get all your kids to sleep together if they wake up at night? and how do u put the older ones to sleep later if their night routine consists of bedtime story, etc.? won't it disturb the child that is already asleep?

Very morning Mummies, i'm awake cos my yu ze just slept. He wake up at 2 till now, drink some milk. Self entertain himself till now. Most likely going to take morning leave to sleep in. Afternoon got meeting that i can't miss.

morning rata,
takin morning leave, just eat breakfast. preparing to sleep liao.

rona,
we are fine. thinking of you when i drink bubble tea yesterday. heheh...

krex,
jer will sleep first in the guest room while i get the older kids ready to sleep, consist of brush teeth, clean up and change, read books then lights off. they don't wake up at nite any more. #1 kicked the habit when he was about 6 mths old, #2 kicked the habit when she was only 2 weeks old. jer's first feed is around 6am. he will sleep again after that and wakes up to play around 7-ish. They are ok lah... with this arrangement, i'm still not training jer to sleep by himself yet... the two older ones can sleep independently when they were 18 mths old. got to think how to do it properly.

A Spanish teacher was explaining to her class that in Spanish, unlike English, nouns are designated as either masculine or feminine.
'House' for instance, is feminine: 'la casa.'
'Pencil,' however, is masculine: 'el lapiz.'

A student asked, 'What gender is 'computer'?'
Instead of giving the answer, the teacher split the class into two groups, male and female, and asked them to decide for themselves whether computer' should be a masculine or a feminine noun.
Each group was asked to give four reasons for its recommendation.

The men's group decided that 'computer' should definitely be of the feminine gender ('la
computadora'),
because:
1. No one but their creator understands their internal logic;

2. The native language they us e to communicate with other computers is incomprehensible to everyone else;

3. Even the smallest mistakes are stored in long term memory for possible later retrieval; and

4. As soon as you make a commitment to one, you find yourself spending half your pay check on accessories for it.

(THIS GETS BETTER!)
The women's group, however, concluded that computers should be Masculine ('el computador'),
because:

1. In order to do anything with them, you have to turn them on;

2. They have a lot of data but still can't think for
themselves;

3. They are supposed to help you solve problems, but half the time they ARE the problem; and

4. As soon as you commit to one, you realize that if you had waited a little longer, you could have gotten a better model.

rona,

nice joke!

how do u train your kids to sleep indepenedently so young? i've a feeling by the time i have #2, J is still going to depend on us to sleep well. sometimes i find him to be quite needy...like in the morning when he gets up, must be carried and he will cry and cry if we put him down or ask him to go walk around. end up we're always late for work. leave him there to cry he'll just wail and wail till we leave the house, sigh.

rona,
don't drool lah. i didn't sleep from 2-5am leh. so tired. yu ze is wide awake, walking around, climbing up and down the bed, talking, all in darkness cos i refuse to on the light hoping that he will sleep. sigh....

then he wake up at 630am without me waking him again. he is still very alert loh.

i wonder if its the multivits that cause him to be so alert. i told babysitter to stop his multivits for now and monitor. almost for a week liao that he wakes up in the night.

krex78,
i guess it becomes a habit for j that you all carry him when he wakes up. so when you try to change the routine he is uncomfortable and thus crying. is there any favourite toy or things that keep him calm? let him sit or stay near you all while you are preparing and he hold his favourite toy/things.

if yu ze wakes up before we are ready to leave the house, we will carry him from his room to ours. leave him sitting on our bed to see us preparing for work. he either sit there or come down and walk around us. open and close our wardrobe and take a comb trying to comb his hair. when we are all done, then we walk out to wear shoes together. of course, there are times that he wants to be carried. then we carried him for a while and sit with him on bed loh. if he is crying non-stop then i give him something to play, if he still don't want. i will leave him to cry for a while before i hug him again and talk nicely to him.

celyn,

if he wakes up before 7am we usually try to put him to sleep, but if he doesn't want to, then no choice have to take him out of bed. for the past 2 mornings, he will cry and want daddy to carry. when we try to put him down to walk and explore, he don't want. put him on our bed and give him things to play he will also make noise. i'm quite tempted to dump him in the play yard and let him cry his lungs out next time. somehow, this only happens in the morning. at night he's ok when we leave him to do his own thing in our room while we change to home clothes, etc.

hi mummies, yesterday cannot post is it? i had problem...

celyn, wow! yz kept u up so late! should hv login to chat wif u... p woke and cry and cry, then vomit phlegm... has been going on for a week... wonder how long it's going to last...

I tried to give EYS bao ying dan... mixed half tube powder with some water and stringe him... but he spit out leh! any mummies can pls help share how else to feed? thanks!

rona, haha... funny joke... i admire u for hving 3! for us, 2 oredi one taken by hb one taken by me... and they sleep at 11pm! if got 3 dunno how to make them zzz man...

jen,

wow, i tot J sleeps very late already. he does sleep at 11pm sometimes during weekends, esp on sat after dinner with ILs coz' it always ends very late. we try to let him sleep in on sun if he wants to :p

Jen,
the cane works very well.
Got to set a routine, then will be easy. But when I'm not in in the evening like last Sunday ( went for wedding dinner) the kids will bully hubby and sleep at 11pm! Except jer, he's out usually by 9pm. Now I'm thinking if I should bring him to my god bro's wedding dinner this sunday...

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 12 responses!! I am hoping to get 18 more in the next week so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), currently participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education.

* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?
* Do you want to share information that could help other couples transition into parenthood?

If you answered YES to these questions, and are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to participate in this parenting research study. It only takes 5-10 minutes to complete. To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary, anonymous, and confidential.

Robyn Maley

krex78,
maybe you can try to be hard on him for a few times and not give in. hopefully, he will learn that its useless to cry cos he won't get his way.

jen,
though i didn't sleep i can't on pc too. if i do that yu ze will party more leh. i already pretend to sleep and he is alone by himself entertaining him, he is so awake liao. if i on pc or light, i think it will be worse.

- is there anything wrong for a 18 months old toddler to take school bus?
- is there anything for me wanting to down my time and be home to cook dinner for yu ze?
- is there anything wrong to cut yu ze off babysitter totally and go cc?

why is it that when people heard that yu ze is taking school bus, me wanting to down time to rush back to cook dinner for yu ze, is a wrong arrangement?

ceyln,
Personally?

there is no right or wrong. everyone has their own perception of things and their own opinion. But they are not in someone's else position so although they can advise, their advise may not be sound. If you think that you have made the best possible arrangement for yu ze, then there's nothing wrong with your arrangement.

So for your three questions, my answer is NO.

Having said that, if you look from another angle, the people who make this kind of comment may think that you are trying too hard especially now that you are pregnant too. so maybe they are thinking that you need not rush back to cook dinner for yu ze, let the babysitter take over when yu ze comes back from school and cook for him too so you just need to bring him back when you are done with work for the day. Will you be tired rushing home from work to prepare dinner for yu ze (and the family too, i assume, since you are cooking, might as well right?)? cos since you are pregnant, you also need to take it easy and not to tire yourself too much.

rona,
i agree. maybe they think i'm being hard on myself bah. i do know that they meant well too but don't make me feel like i'm super wrong loh. they always feel that i'm wrong for not asking for help.

anyway, school bus don't send to babysitter's place leh.

celyn,
you check around for the school bus already? if you need, can your babysitter fetch yu ze from school? say if yu ze is not feeling well? you are due in april right? when is yu ze starting cc? i know at least when you are at home for maternity leave you should be fine. be flexible. and in cases when you can't be back early from work, you should have some fall-back plans...

celyn

multivit bcme superactive ar? aiyo... then hw u hv rest?

ur 3 qu............. I dun think is wrong. Just dat ppl like to criticise n be judge, no matter wat u do, they will just point n point. Just do wat u think is right.

- is there anything wrong for a 18 months old toddler to take school bus?
NOTHING WRONG TO GO ON SCHOOL BUS LA.
I sent my #1 on a school bus cos Kai was coming soon &amp; I needed to train him to go on the school bus so can go CC when I am on maternity leave. It's good planning - dun wait till #2 come out then how?
Good thing u can find school bus-not easy know. Jus make sure the school bus helper can take care of YZ well. U try to take the school bus a few times to see how ....
I WAS also contemplating to send Kai on the school bus but hubby wants me to fetch and plus #1 too .... not for safety lor but to save $$. Cos now 2 of them, the costs doubles and i oso take cab to work daily. Furthermore, they are going to the CC at my office! hahaa. so my freedom days are numbered. Can't go out after work, must go earlier to send them in and go back to my office .... *sigh ....

- is there anything for me wanting to down my time and be home to cook dinner for yu ze?
Good planning. So YZ can come home with dinner ready rather than u fetch and still have to wait for u to cook rite?

- is there anything wrong to cut yu ze off babysitter totally and go cc?
Makes sense. Why need babysitter if YZ going full day CC rite? Some more transport dun fetch there .... for dinner, if u can cook then tat settles it, alternatively if cannot cook in time then sometimes eat Da Bao food lor.

Babysitter can keep as emergency source.

How about your hubby cook and u rest? hehhee.

pple TELL me ... u NEED a car cos got 2 kids ma ... SO? do i buy a car? not yet lor .....

Cos do I really NEED a car? i dun ... cos i can take cab.
No stress, no maintenance costs, no worry of banging others, no need to park, no need to walk after parking, no cost when not using the car, no need to lug the bags and kids to the car (raining how?) ......

and I dun go out much except work n home ...

I rationalised that it is not much value add .... take cab is easy, just hop on at pick up point and drop off at the destination and if not convenient to get a cab, at most call cab ..
I will be more stress if I drive. The thing is, I dun like to drive cos i prefer to be driven.

Pple asked me why I leave Kai with maid alone only? why i left my #1 previously with ex-maid alone only? it's situational lor. Do i travel to the west cos everyone is bringing maid and baby to in law's house and pick home at nite ......
They do it cos they can't trust the maid, the distance is ok, etc etc ...but different situation from me so i listen and take those suggestions that i find is valuable to my situation.

Do what best suits you and be happy with the decision is the most impt.

Leaving with maid, taking school bus is a risk to some but it's a learning experience for others.

Just make sure there's a helper at all times in the school bus, the seat belts are functioning and the helper is not too old.

The school van #1 is taking used to have an old lady, who i think looks like 60+ and quite frail. I wondered if the bus jerks, her bones will shatter or not .... then how to take care of the kids?

Later came another rather fat lady ... then i think, she so fat, got space for her to move or not?

Anyway, now the helper is neither old nor fat. Like my #1 would say .... Not too fat, not too thin .... it's just right!

hmm .... looks like i am talking to myself ... good nite mommies ... me damn busy .. will post again soon. Another busy week ... sianz.