(2008/08) Aug 2008

haha, Jen, my own mother said it to me too! *Hi-5*

Halo Good Morning!
So happy, finally submitted the major proposal that has been so stressful!

Yday my BIL told me that my mom dozes off beside Mae who was playing her toys and guess what, Mae continues to sit gwai gwai next to my mom, playing with her toys and “singing” away (with rhythm somemore)…My 1st sentence was “Is that my Maegan you telling me about?”…hahaha, coz the Maegan I know will be walking abt and taking this and that =P

Snow,
Its our 2nd kid thus we aren’t so bothered right? Coz at least now we can relax abit before 2 babbles away…hahaha

Yuuri,
My coll’s son also talks later and guess what, my coll says her son can’t stop asking why why why now…she so fan now hahaha, so dun worry k?

YLN,
Hope you have cool down by now…cheer up…grandparents are always spoiling the kids 1 so bo bian…as long as they know they can’t get their own way with us will do =P

Celyn,
Yalor, I also agree that your hb already very good liao, loving, helpful and patient so dun be angry w him liao k? You also know he is trying to earn more $ for your sake so forgive him k?

celyn,

dun be angry lah. i think it's a heavy burden for your hb considering the financial situation. maybe ask him to put phone on silent mode and leave outside room when putting yu ze to sleep? it's worse if your hb is insurance agent or doc. don't even have the luxury of not answering phone calls :p

jen,

oh, so it works like echinacea huh? is it effective when u give only if he shows signs of falling sick? i don't really want to give him so often coz' there's a lot of sugar in it.

cat,

i haven't done any research but my godma who works in kindi before says montessori will teach your kid to be very independent but they have difficulty integrating into mainstream sch next time coz' they can't do teamwork. so guess got pros and cons bah.

Celyn,
Maybe these are the potential students who are calling him and he doesn't want to miss the calls? I think you are prob tired so you got angry. Hope you had a good rest last nite and you are feeling better already. My hb left everything to me leh. Most of the times, i have to handle the two older ones myself - so at times, i am so tired that when hb got back, i will scold him until he surrender and come back earlier for two days to help out. then he is back late again... :p and he is only working at one job and i didn't even ask him for allowance leh.

YLN,
hope you are feeling better now. i also don't like sichuan soup, very very salty and the ingredients not so good for kids. i won't mind if its the ABC soup or lotus soup, they are much healthier. Next time if she put sichuan soup in the noodles, you can throw the soup away and add hot water or you just bring kaer away saying kaer is full already, better don't eat anymore, else she may vomit... heheheee... it works for me with my MIL, the vomit thing... My MIL is trying to be MOTHER to my #1 EVEN WHEN I'M AROUND. I'm also not happy, but no choice, cos we are working and I rather she disclipine him when i'm not around then spoiling him.

celyn,
i'm not going to bring him now. will wait a while. maybe i let him join a playgroup for once a week and see if there's any improvement. if no use, then i will seek help. He is #3, but still not a word... my maid is very good leh, she is teaching him to talk. i caught her teaching him to say UP this morning.

rona, krex78 & m2b,
i know i really cannot complaint about him liao. really consider myself very lucky to have him loh but just can't take it yesterday when he walk out 3 times loh.

anyway, forget it loh.

now i have to start preparing yu ze for his school which is like 1 month away. so fast, i got nothing done yet.

school bus can't fetch him in the morning and can only send him back in the evening. so i still haven't confirm the arrangement. now is to get fil to send him in the morning but can't confirm till his medical report is out next week. i guess only can start planning next week.

Morning, Mommies.

Sylvia,
Maybe we can arrange a BP to buy wrist leashes? Hahhahaa...

Celyn,
U r a lucky gal. Got urself such a nice hubby. No worries. We understand hw u feel. Juz rant it out to us anytime u bua song ok? My ears (or eyes rather) are always here for u...

Rona,
I m also thinking of sending Anvelle to a playgroup. Anyone has a recommendation for Punggol?

Mrs Teng/ Vern/ Lingx,
Are you sending ur gals to CC or playgroup? I need some recommendations. Or maybe we can send all our gals to the same place? =P

im ok liao...how to be angry with them for long long time...everyday have to see her face..if she got no nonsense...i m ok one...

hisstory
i will be sending kaer to half day cc..actually i can enrol kaer in cc now..cuz she almost 18mths liao..but becuz i am going to start sch soon, i wont be able to take time off to be with her for the first few days..i will only send her to cc in my march holis...very long time still leh...so, i will bring her to cc in the morning..afternoon MIL will bring her back..give her lunch and nap..n if i come back early..after her nap..i will bring her home..n go back again for dinner @ 6plus..when hubby comes back...in anycase..i have doing this all this while when im working..when i finish early..maybe 2-4 plus..i bring her home even for 2 -3 hrs n bring her go back there for me n hb's dinner..so, i think with kaer going to CC halfday..it will really minimise contact time with her..:p

yestd told MIL will send kaer to a cc ..told her she need to take bus there..just 2 stops nia..she NAG liao.."ah yo...rain how? my leg pain leh..cannot walk far far leh...etc etc.."..now it seems that i have to choose another cc which is closer for her to bring kaer home..sigh..

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
wah, still must go over every day.. Very siong leh! But no choice, coz if ur MIL fetches Kaer home, then it wld be logical lah.. But if you pick her up, then still have to go over, it's kind of restrictive, at least I know tt's what I wld feel. Afterall I would like to spend time as a family unit, you know what i mean?

Oh my 2 bus stops also become issue.. Any others nearer?? Or you convince her tt the one is a good CC?

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
Go for a gd dinner today... Eat away your anger!
Or more birds nest? hee

Talking about CC, I will be enrolling Chevelle hopefully this month if I can get the special approval.

sorry if miss any posts, it's been a nerve wrecking and stressful 3 days for me. Sending maid back in the midst of the clash with my parents, hubby and in-laws.

YLN,
just have to close one eye. The past few days i hv been battling with my in-laws, hv to keep quiet and let them nag and suggest things, much much worse situation than u. Everything all jus throw at me, so your problem is minor as compared to mine.

Guess u shd jus bring Kaer to one more nearby.

As for your ulcer, if u feel something wring, just go to the doc for peace of mind. I went to gynae yday too jus to be sure nothing's wrong w my womb etc as I got on off cramps.

Cat,
I heard the same things as what krex mentioned about the Montessori program. My bro's gf's mum is doing some childhood studies and this is what she said too.

Celyn,
Must be your pregnancy hormones working up lah. Hehe now ok already right?

YLN,
Your mil don't want you to send Kaer to cc is it?

hello everyone,
i am back frm hk

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!!!

sorry, need time to read post....

mummynana,, HELP IN LOOKING FOR CHILDCARE
i also need to look for a gd CC...dunno where to go. tot of sending my girl to brighton at river valley cos next to my place only but very ex n short hrs
tot of lorna whinston but need to travel n i dun drive n dun wanna rely on hubby. wat about jhs? or pat;s sch hse?

celyn,
childcare can have sch bus? they r not too young to b in seat belts meh? wah, i left YZ in bed b4 her sleep? i tried tt n gg will end up playing
mayb u can tell hubby to put his hp on silent wen he settles Yz. my hubby does tt. cos if not we will all b tempted to ans the hp. natural reflex ba. dun b angry with yr "ideal" hubby....jus tell him. i;m sure he will accommodate

YLN,
in laws r there to spoil kids one, it;s like tt, we r the ones to discipline, cannot expect them to do tt. i already resign to the fact that they will do the spoiling n i the disciplining but it;s true, i made it clear not to interfere with me too. the rest.....CLOSE EYES is bliss

cat,
my friend;s wife is one of the supervisor at the MMI at orchard. i will ask her more. according to her...they do expose them to daily stuffs n dangerous things so they will learn how to deal with it n not jus avoid it. they give them scissors n teach them how to use glass plates n cups etc

M2B,
yr mae is such a dream bb, easily sleep thru the nt n so gwai. mine is entering TERRIBLE 2 \!!!!! seems n throw tantrums but lying on the flr face down n crying loudly. i scold her n at times out her in my room;s play pen n closing the dr to teach her a lesson

sambucus:
is it a multi vit...is it gd?
i jus bot 2 bundle boxes of vit fm kk pharmacy. dunno gd or not. hiaz guess have to finish those first

krex,
i tot of buying the little tites princess toddler bed. she is starting to wanna climb out of her cot bed n it;s getting worrying. if u got lobang let me now k. i saw bp selling this thou

hisstory,
hahaha.... no special dinner one lah. maybe i shall go eat salmon sashimi tonight. hmmm.....

yuuri,
hahaha... maybe loh. :p

little twin stars,
yah. i'm the only one who can do that to yu ze. i can tell him that i'm going out, he sleep sleep. then i kiss him and say goodnight. so far, no issue one. he will guai guai stay in bed or roll in bed or whatever except for coming down his bed. once i walk out, i will avoid walking pass his room till i think he is asleep liao then go in to check on him.

hubby must stay till yu ze sleep then can come out. my way doesn't work for him cos yu ze know how to bully him. :p

you must start right from your first day lah. the very first day, i let yu ze sleep on toddler bed. i already 'warn' him. he is not allow to come down cos its sleeping time. when he attempt, i will block him or move his body to stay in bed. don't let him have the chance to get out at all. then before i walk out to take his pacifier for him, i told him to stay in bed and wait for me. if not, when i come back, no pacifier for him. and he really stay there loh, not making a single sound. since then he knows he can't come down with me putting him in bed.

celyn,
yu ze is very guai with you leh. my Jer not like that, a bit like how your hubby tuck him to bed. only thing is my maid will tuck him to bed. got to do leg massage for him also hor. He will give her his leg and will keep doing so until she massage for him. :p i think spoilt liao!

hisstory
even if i pick kaer up from cc myself..we still have to go IL place for dinner @ nite..cuz hb insist on going to eat 4 days a week..so, i have no choice..so, i have prepared myself long time ago liao..as long as i bring kaer home..even for a few hrs..then return there for dinner..i also kam guan lor...cuz i dun want kaer to stay with them for too long..u know until nw, kaer hasnt stayed overnite @ their place even for one nite...even if i go for wedding dinners n come back @ 12mid nit..i will never let kaer sleep over @ their place...thats how much i resent having kaer @ their place...when i go to work..i have no choice..but when im off work..i try as much as possibe to not let kaer spend too much time there..i sound very bad hor..:p..cc..got one nearer one ..my first skool...maybe have to consider that one lor...

yuuri
ya..MIL dun like to send kaer to cc...but the prob is,, she dunno she is incapable of looking after a growing toddler liao..last time bb..fine...feed , sleep, play..now..they need to learn other things..not the same as feed, sleep and play..but of cuz i didnt tell her she is incapable ...i just said kaer needs to learn things in school lor..:p

valnsw
hope ur check up was ok..

celyn,
Don't be angry anymore, I guess your hubby also wants to get business to feed the family.
Just tell him that you don't like it and let him learn from his mistake ya?

little twin stars,
Welcome back! How was your trip? Mega shopping?

YLN,
Haha, my reproductive system is normal. In fact, my gynae told me when my ovulation will be and that it will be the best time to get pregnant :S
If I wasn't so stressed up with everything that happened the past few days, I would like smiled at my gynae, but I was so totally no mood at all yday.

I know what you mean u don't like your girl to stay overnight there. Cos you don't really like associating yourself with ILs, I guess you prob prefer Kaer to minimise contact with them right? That's how I feel about my in-laws but sometimes LL have to bring visit else ppl complain me bad DIL or comment that my girl is mo4 sheng1 cos seldom bring her to visit.

val
haha..so now u when u can plan for #2 lor...heehee.

u see, i dun like ILs also bo bian..i everryday have to see them..even sometimes weekends also hb will bring them out..so u can imagine..my kind of suppression..in front of them have to act okok..but actually dun like them lor..
..sad rite..i think i this kind..skali become psycho next time old liao..:p...

YLN,
This month cannot plan for #2.
Relationship between hubby and me, between hb and my parents and btwn me and ILs are strained cos of the maid issue as it involved too many people already, including my parents and ILs.

Sigh... I just take one step at a time.

val
poor thing..u take care lah..dun think too much..now that u have settled to put chevelle in CC..hopefully all goes well for u..then next month can plan for #2 liao...heehee

rona,

wah, your J is a little prince man. leg massage???

YLN,

why do u need to bring kaer back for dinner when u already collected her? do u live very close to your MIL? i find it very "leh cheh" to do that.

hisstory,

i know what u mean abt wanting to spend time as a family unit. i've always told hb we spend too much time with his family. we eat at ILs place everyday and on sat, there is another family dinner with his ILs (incl MIL/FIL/SIL). so i see them 6x a week. on sun, i go back to my own family. on top of this, my SIL will want to go for family outings with us. she also comes over to my MIL's place and bring her kid to play with mine. i think it's overkill, and i told hb that when kids are older i'd prefer to cut down on weekend family dinners and keep the family unit to just immediate family, i.e. hb, me and our kids. he said it would be tough. he grows up in a family where they have extended family dinners weekly, whereas i grow up in a family that only has immediate family dinners weekly. so different lor! so looks like i'll be living and breathing my ILs for the rest of my life! so sad

nana,

i also want to send J for play group, maybe during weekends ard punggol area. if u got any lobang, let me know ok? or maybe we can go form our own playgroup for all those living in sengkang/ punggol, haha. i think J is not very social coz' he's never been exposed to "school" environment so scared he can't adapt when he goes nursery next yr.

Valnsw,
All's well after the checkup wif gynae?

LTS,
Happy New Year! Welcome back to Singapore! Had a great time shopping?

Krex,
Din noe u stay at Punggol too? Whh part are u at?

Re: Childcare Centre/ Playgroup in Yishun
I tink someone stays near my own place, near Orchid Pk Condo. May I noe who is it?

celyn,
u very gd lei, i dunno how to do tat to gg...my hubby tried to leave her there n walk off. she will end up playing instead. i wanna wean her off pacifier but dun dare think about it cos she is in her cranky season. plus now she has 16teeth!!!! n seems like got more coming. faint

val,
did i miss something? u preg huh?hehe

mummynana, val
HK with gg was great. she slept while i shop at times, jus tt hard to find toilet to change her diapers at some places. shopping: more like disney shopping only. haha
i jus bot 3 simple dresses frm I.T tat;s all the shopping i did. i know it;s hard to shop wif her la..but i manage to get another camera there. cheap n gd

krex78,
they will learn and adjust themselves to school life. yu ze also never go to school or any class till now.

rona,
yah. i would say he is more guai with me. can tell the difference one.

wow, jerold so good life. still got leg massage.

valnsw,
glad to know you are ok.
work hard on #2 ok. hahah.... :p

little twin stars,
yu ze also got 16 teeths liao. i still haven't wean him off pacifier cos i think when he go cc, he will be off cos can't bring pacifier right? hahaha.... cold turkey treatment time. :p

just now, hubby try to use my method. he tell yu ze that he is going out and ask him to sleep and say goodnight liao. after he walk out, yu ze climb down in less than 3 mins, walk out of the room to find him. hubby tried 2 times and still fail. hahahah.... he is still in the room with yu ze now. :p

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), currently participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technical University.

For my doctorate program I am conducting a research study in which I am requesting your assistance. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood. Since this website is designed for parents, I thought you and/or someone you knew may be interested in helping me with this project. I am hoping to compare my data from USA parents to Sinagpore parents.

This may or may not apply to you. If you doesn't, please forward this to people you know so it can reach other first-time parents who may want to participate. Thanks for your help!

Do you meet the following criteria? Do you know someone who does?

* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to two years?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?
* Do you want to share information that could help other couples transition into parenthood?

If you answered YES to these questions, and are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to participate in this parenting research study. This survey is being conducted through an online questionnaire and is estimated to only take 5-10 minutes to complete.

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

If you have questions about this study, e-mail [email protected] or contact Dr. Kurt Gehlert at the University of St. Thomas Graduate School of Professional Psychology at (651) 962-4656 or the University of St. Thomas Institutional Review Board at (651) 962-5341.

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary. All information will be kept confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

YLN: maybe we should set up a PIL HATE CLUB :p
I absolutely ahor my PILs too! Simply bo sim and bo chup.. They used to visit Braiden once or twice a month.. now simply disappear into thin air! My gosh, their only grandson they also like dont like... My blood boils when i think of them. My MIL is those very lazy and nua type, never do housework one.. yet she claims she come from hougang to my house Queenstown is TOO FAR. What a lazy bitch! I used to be very nice to them, but i realised they are taking me for granted way too much.. so when we bo chup them, they also dont bother us. Grrr.. Simply hate them to the core!!

LTS,
Mae dream bb??!! You are wrong man, she has her throw tamtrums days and we also cannot take it but Mae unlike Raine, must use the soft method...scold or beat will cry even louder type hahaha

Glad you njoyed the HKG trip w GG...so more travelling liao ya?

YLN,
guess we are more sensitive to what ILs do and say coz they are afterall not our parents... but guess you can ren and handle the situation well

Snow,
You bz w work ya? BTW, Mae will attend the Sun lesson this week as I'm gg to attend a fengshui talk on Sat afternoon
So I see you and pretty Zynn next Sat ya

rona,
i hope i didn't jinx myself by saying yu ze is quite guai with me. just now, hubby try my method on yu ze twice and twice yu ze walk out. so i carry him back and told him to sleep. if he come out, i will beat him. he did stay in bed for a good 10 mins before he try his luck and walk out. 'faint'

so i carry him in again and beat his buttock. this time, i told him again. no more coming out and he is supposed to sleep. lucky the 2nd time work. hopefully, this is the first and last time he try his luck with me.

<font color="#CD3278">krex</font>
Sometimes I kinda like how in US when couples travel to other states to work &amp; then start their family, they are some distance away from their parents. Gives them more breathing space and when the family does get together during festive periods, it seems so much more meaningful..

But having said tt, I think grandparents are also wonderful help for us.. Whether are they providing the physical care or just a good pair of eyes to monitor the helper. Just praying real hard tt they don't spoil the kiddos.. *cross fingers*

<font color="#CD3278">twin stars</font>
Tt's really gd!! Can plan more trips with Georgine oredi.. I wanted to get some fr I.T. too, but the wide array of choices just made it so diff to look for sthg..
What did Georgine get fr her trip?

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
Why does your hb want to eat at ur ILs 4x a week?
Right now we're going on a Sat and the following weekend, a Sun. Coz my ILs are still working, so got to make this arrangement. But I was thinking since weekends are quite precious as family days, I proposed to hb tt we find a weekday evening to have dinners with them instead.

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Was at the NEL station at your place just now, and wondering if I might bump into you!

MummyNana

I won't be sending those 2 to CC yet... they can be quick rough to handle.. This afternoon my neighbour complain about Clara.. ( just teasing her lah) Asked my maid who was the one crying every morning and so loud... Cos Clara kept crying when daddy sets off to work..

Furthermore, Cheril is an extremely light sleeper, dun think she can survive in the CC..

Below your granny's block has got a CC, why dun you check it out?

Celyn

dad = playmate?

dat's why yu ze wants him all the way?

he looked so happy with his uniform leh.

if he dirty pant, also nvrmind. top can cover. hahaha!!

morning mummies

today, i saw a little boy going to school. i think he is only pre-nursery bah, he wasn't crying when walking up the stairs. he only started to fown a bit and wanted to cry when he reach the level of the school and wanted mummy to carry. look so poor thing, make me think of yu ze and wanted to cry too. wonder what will happen when he goes to cc in a months time.

anyway, yesterday he didn't have a good sleep. keep waking up and walk to our room to find us. he no longer stay in bed and cry liao. he actually climb down the bed himself and walk to our room to find us. is it the start of him trying to train us for #2's night feed? hmmmm.....

sylvia,
playmate is not really daddy lah. i will be more crazy when i play with him. but daddy will give in to him more loh. he can get at least 80% of the things he wants when he request loh. from me, maybe 50% or less. :p

hahaha... no need to worry about him dirting his pant at all. he got to bring so much things to school with him leh.

1. towel
2. fm
3. 2 extra set of uniform
4. milk bottle
5. toothbrush
6. mug
7. 4 diapers
8. water bottle

i was like how he can carry so much things. then the principal told me, i will be carrying them. if he takes school bus, then bus driver or teacher will help to carry.

celyn, got to b stern to them de. for me, i juz carry Jac into the cot. Told her sternly 'mummy say sleep' then i will leave the room to pump my milk &amp; when i m done wif it &amp; check on her, she will ko liao.

rata,
all along he is ok one. he had been sleeping through since 5 months. sometimes will eh eh a bit but still go back to sleep.

but yesterday, he just wake up at 130am leh.

morning mommies. =)

m2b
sort of lah, 2 projs on hand.

okie dokie.
last nite i'm still asking zynn wanna go school play with mae anot, she is so happy till can't sleep and keep climb up mumbling "mae mae".
hee hee....think gotta let her noe this week wun see mae le. =P

jen
if u need calendula cream, let me noe.
i got lobang.

celyn
ha ha...yu ze so cute in his uniform! >D

Morning, mommies.

Rona,
Thanks. Will check out the link.

Celyn,
Think the uniform is quite big. Can last him quite a while. Save $$... Hahaha...

Good Morning Mommies!

Snow,
Aiyo, so sorry to disappt Zynn...my coll helped to sign up for the fengshui talk but crashed w Mae's class so bo bian have to change...we will meet next week lah...miss u and Zynn too

Must refresh Mae the zoophonics liao...hahaha

snow74,
i can't stop laughing at him yesterday. he looks so funny in them.

mummynana,
its the smallest available liao. babysitter suggest to alter for him.

Celyn,
Dun need to alter la. Can wear for longer time. Hahhaha =P

Krex,
My gran's place is at Punggol Field Walk, next to Mrs Teng's blk.

Mrs Teng,
I hv been observing them for a while. I dun like the CC downstairs. Personally, I feel tat the teachers are very fake and not really friendly. Only the auntie and Chinese national teacher r friendlier. I saw tat there is a playgroup at Blk 126. Maybe will go check it out. Need to give my gran 2hrs of off-time. Hahhaha

snow, how much ur calendula lobang cost?
will it be cheaper than rona's link? i'm actually thinking of trying the aloe vera for my cracked and itchy hands too. got use before?

rona, thanks!

nana, ur link is v addictive... :p

krex, sambucus contains echinacea so i guess it works like that. it's a supplement, not a magic medicine.
fyi, my kids still get the usual runny nose &amp; cough even with taking these supplements maybe becos they have sensitive noses, but fever is quite seldom.

Re: EYS products (20% off)
Ordering later at 3pm, sms me if got last min orders.