(2008/08) Aug 2008

Celyn,

no worries. Thanks for your info, really appreciate it!

Haha you so cute, ask doc if confirm girl and your doc also give v cute answer haha.

About the slow cooker, means when u want it then u put in to cook right? This one cannot keep warm unless I transfer to thermal cooker? So I suppose slow cooker wil take 20-30 min to cook porridge? Pardon me, I never used these below.

valnsw,
hahah.... yah, he is very fun and caring kind. i always disturb him too.

slow cooker takes a long time to cook cos its slow cooker mah. so you must be prepare to cook for more than 2 hours or more for it to be cook. my slow cooker is super small one, i will start cooking about 8/9am and its ready for yu ze by 12noon. slow cooker also had an option of keep warm. eg you cook for maybe about 3-4 hours liao, then you switch from cook to keep warm. it will definitely take more than 30 minutes to cook porridge to cook.

Rata,
If you find one, tell me ... think you can read some of the JW threads...

mommies,
what can I feed my ger to improve her appetite? my mom said she very gum jiat now, dun like to eat, even if she eat, she will hold the food in her mouth for vv long time, making it torturous to feed her meals... haiz

Morning Mommies!

Re: Sambuccol
Anybody ordering from iherb? I wan to get one too.

Sylvia,
She is starting to do many silly things. Nw can walk liao, wan to walk everywhere on her own. Thinking of getting a wrist leash but den again, it would look like i m walking my dog. So if I bring both of them out for a walk, i would be holding on to 2 leashes! Hahahaha...

doing speed reading here.. Very caught up with work, so only posting abit

<font color="#CD3278">Cat</font>
Do hope the phase is over and Bernice resumes her sleeping routine.. All the best

<font color="#CD3278">M2B</font>
Maegan's sooo cute!

<font color="#CD3278">yuuri</font>
Erm, I think Ashley is also in the club of not calling me.. She can call my hb &amp; my mum though.. *faint*

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
You take gd care.. Must make full use of the hols before you get back the drudgery of things.. heheh! I'm stuck liao

Good Morning Mommies!

Hb just told me he will be gg away for 2 weeks in end Feb...hiaz, but what to do, its work...

Krex, Celyn, Yuuri, Val &amp; Hisstory,
Ya, heart-melting so tats why I feel like hugging her at that moment

Yuuri,
your K not the only one leh. mine worst, everything also eh eh eh... not speaking yet. I'm giving him another 2 months before i bring him to a speech therapist.

Hisstory,
will PM you later...

Nana,
is it urgent? I maybe getting some stuff, but later, maybe after CNY... I just ordered a big lot before x'mas.

Yuuri,
thanks for asking. Everything went well. He took the school bus to school which is just a stone's throw away. but still, its the most convenient way to go school by. i think he is happy. He has a P2 buddy who brings him to the canteen to buy food. last nite, he asked me for $4 to buy diary (?) from the bookshop. I'm not sure if its requested by the teacher or not, he just told me that the other kids bought this from the bookshop. may have to check it out later.

val,
yes, my MIL allows her maid's sister to come visit cos she didn't want her maid to go out. Actually for me, I'm more concern with keys. I don't wanna the maids to handle keys and very worried if they have duplicate keys or not. that's why i will change locks esp when an old one leave. Poor you, must have been stressed out this couple of days. but with the maid gone, you should feel liberated.

Rona,
Glad your buy handles 1st day at P1 well...my gal born in Jan 04 kept asking me why she not P1 yet as my fren's son who is just 9 days older than her goes to P1 yday...hahaha, guess she is really anxious to start school...

Yday, she told me she is looking fwd to starting P1 next year so I told her: "enjoy your last year of holiday then" ;)

rona/ nana,

count me in if u ordering sambucol. can't find in the normal pharmacies here though they recommend echinacea in liquid form. how much is sambucol anw?

yuuri,

jonah started calling mama and papa randomly when he was ard 7 or 8 months. then it progressed to "mi" and "di". still can't say "mummy" and "daddy" yet. and he doesn't call unless we ask him "who's this?" i'm waiting for the day when he can call "mummy" when i come home, haha. wait long long bah!

celyn,

u can still rem yu ze's weight? i clean forgetten J's progress already (unless i go back to read my blogs, haha). must be very exciting...giving birth in 3 mths' time?

Cat,
Sounds spooky. No harm getting the hse blessed.

M2B,
U lucky mummy! My Anvelle woke up looking for daddy and kept playing wif the word Daddy, kept calling him this morning. She even cried when I showered her coz she wans him to do it. Upsetted me a little.

Rona,
Let me noe when u order ba. I need supplements to prevent Anvelle from falling sick.

rona,

that's strange...i tot younger kids pick up faster with older siblings ard. why dun u check with your PD before going to speech therapist? boys generally develop slower so he might take awhile. just like how J only started walking at 16 mths (and still not very steady yet, haha).

i leave a spare set of keys to the main door and gate for my maid to go out and throw the rubbish. she's not allowed to bring the keys out of the house - just to open door only.

nana,

i was in your shoes a few mths ago. J was closer to his dad coz' he put him to sleep every day while i did my nite pump. so when i stopped BF, i tried putting him to sleep and he would cry and cry every night. nowdays, he's quite adept to both parents although my hb insists he's more clingy to me. i only get a bit disturbed when he cries when we have to go home from IL's place. he seems more attached to his grandma and grandpa now *sob*

Celyn,
Sigh, at least Yu ze verbalises Mama...K doesn't ley....

Hisstory,
Sad case right? K only calls Daddy with conviction. Sometimes also call me Dada...

Rona,
Musto speech therapist ah? Aiyoh think I need to go before you ley. K also not talking yet!
Glad ur #1 is enjoying sch...henry park ah?

Yuuri,
yes henry park. But Jer has 2 older siblings playing and talking to him and yet he can't talk yet... like what krex said, a bit strange leh. he has his teeth super early but can't talk at 16.5mths... that's why need to monitor a while more before i bring him for assessment.

Rona/ Yuuri,
Dun be too disturbed by the speech thingy. I tink dun need to go see specialist yet. See hw it goes ba. My male cousin did not start talking till he was nearly 3. Once he started talking, we can't shut him up. He's 5 now and can talk on n on n on from the time we reach hm till we bring Anvelle hm...

Rona &amp; Yuuri,
Frankly, Mae talks slower than Raine too although she has #1 and my nephew as companion but I'm not too bothered as I know it is just a matter of time when she can start talking non-stop...relax ok? Both Jer and Kes will start talking real soon
Mae babbles most of the time but when #1 calls, she will readily follows!

ladies...ladies....
my hb started talking when he was 5yo, now his job is to talk non-stop.
so, dun worry okie?
especially for boy, they tend to start talking later. =)

m2b
sama sama, zynn started to talk later as compare to nynn. =P

Mummynana, M2B, Snow,
Frankly I'm quite 任命 that K is a slow developer :p The other day I read this thread about a mummy who was worried that her kid is not talking at 3 yrs old yet and I told hb i think K also will be like that :p

Snow,
Your hb talk non-stop? Haha..sales ah?

yuuri
hb's job is co-ordination based, whole day running between diff mtg rms de. =P
so, dun worry if ur boy begin to talk slightly later...who noe once he talk, can out talk u some more lor....hee hee....

yuuri,

dun need to worry about K lah. boys tend to develop slower and my godma has had to remind me many times about it when i was lamenting how J takes so long to start walking. my hb says during the "incubation" period when J was not yet walking, he was busy honing his fine motor skills and speech. his vocab is pretty good now and we're fascinated with his fine motor skills, e.g. screwing and unscrewing bottle caps, putting stars into a bottle with small openings, etc. i think this boy can't be athlete but can be a swiss precision watch maker, haha.

<font color="#CD3278">I'm sooooo sleepy!!</font>

But I'm sure you're still Keston's fave person!! *heheh*

<font color="#CD3278">snow</font>
Your hb only talked when he was 5yo! Scary for his parents...

hisstory
think last time women bo charp 1 lor, most of us are being left there struggle and grow up by ourself ya? =P

Krex,
Haha good that J is speaking and developing well...and he'a already walking! So all's good

Hisstory,
The problem is, I AM his favourite! hahahaha...I even tried ignoring him until he calls me..but it only resulted in him looking miserable!

Snow,
Haha I also thinking 5yo then talk abit worrying ley...

Eh, you mean becoz girls back then are left to their own devices,they tend to speak earlier, to voice their needs?

Oh dear... Can imagine his scrunched up face *ooops*
Now tt we're on the point of the differences between girls &amp; boys, I recall my hb's nephew (son of his cousin) who up to 2yo still cldnt string a sentence and was still babbling.. But my niece who was just a couple of weeks older cld go on &amp; on...

Having said tt, I sure hope Keston can call you "mommy" soon!

im feeling so tired..found an ulcer on my throat..damn pain..
..then i panic ..cuz u know..i got one colleague...who got a throat ulcer for a while..then went to check..throat cancer...
..im prob scaring myself..but quite hard not to go n think abt it leh..cuz very pain..cannot swallow much..only had two pcs of bread for lunch cuz too pain liao...anyway..pray hard the stupid ulcer go away..

yestd my MIL did something to pissed me off again..but i dunno if im too sensitive or what..need u mummies point of view..cuz im very biased against her one..:p

kaer had her dinner @ home yestd before we wwnt over to have our dinner..n there was also fried noodles..so i took the noodles instead of rice cuz of my throat..i gave kaer some, it was a mix of mee tai mak and the yellow noodles..cooked for awhile..cold liao but can still eat..n quite soft still...then kaer wanted more..so MIL said.."OK..ah ma give u liang tiao.." ..her 2 strand came up to half a bowl cuz wanted more..i thot ok lah..kaer want to eat, better than dun wanna eat...then this MIL..she go and pour SICHUAN soup into her fried noodles!!..i was thinking..HAH...the soup so salty ..y go and pour in?? she said...oh,,scare the noodle cold liao..veryt hard...*faint*...my gosh..how hard can the noodles get? she think kaer still bb? kaer apple also eat like that..so, hb told her NO NEED TO PUT SOUP...n i added, "ur soup very salty leh".....then she show black face..pour away the soup in the noodles..but hor..whats the point..the noodles already kena the salty soup..anyway, then i reassured her, " ur noodles very soft.."...u know what she did?...gosh..she told a strand of kaer's noodle in the bowl n ate it...to check if i was lying...!..OMG..i really feel like punching her man..sorry ah ..but why did have to do that? dun she trust me? or doesnt she trust HER OWN COOKING???

ok..so, am i too unreasonable here to get pissed with her?

Hi Mummies, my first post of the year...

Re: Eu Yan Sang
Anyone wants to buy Eu Yan Sang products? Office has 20% discount off normal retail prices until this week only. PM me if you want as I seldom check here lah. I'm probably buying tomorrow or Friday.

Re: California Baby
Experienced mummies, is the price ok to order from this BP? I remembered last time I only paid about $16.50 per tub of calendula, now $18.50?

Mummynana, I ordered Sambucus during the 10% discount leow. My #1 is taking it.

snow,
luckily both your gals are quite advanced in their speech...so shld be follow mommy and not daddy hor? hee..

yln,
don't panic. it should be just normal ulcer. i always have it when i am heaty. oops..or maybe i am?!

on your MIL, i don't think you are sensitive. i will react the same if i were u too. i thought si chuan soup is quite sourish and spicy too? somemore kaer just recovered from HFMD, so better be more cautious.

yuuri,
mommies will worry anything and everything. i share the same sentiments as you.
some babies can only count 1-10?! omg...haha!

yuuri,

he's still not that steady with walking yet but i'm not complaining coz' he's busy pulling my drawers and exploring the house these days! maybe K is deliberately not calling u to get your attention :p

YLN,

your MIL is prob not easy to handle but if u want less conflict, suggest u just distract lor. like if she pour salted soup for kaer, then tell kaer "enough noodles, let's go to playpen and play your fav toy", or something like that. that's what i do to avoid conflict with ILs and i leave my hb to explain the rationale most of the time. older generation tend to get offended when u add words like "your soup very salty leh". so best is get your hb to do the talking and u distract the kid to do something else.

i'm also quite unhappy that my FIL buys J so many toys each week. if it's not a new ball, it's some cheapo china toy that is very loud on the ears and sometimes, in my opinion, quite unsafe to play. my MIL told him not to buy but he still has this very bad habit. i'd rather J play with educational toys than these battery operated ones which a) make a lot of noise and can damage the ears, b) are not made with any QC and can be dangerous to the kid. but what to do? hb already try to rationalise but FIL still continues buying...

jen,

do u give sambuco everyday? is it effective in preventing sickness? i only plan to give J when he's about to fall ill, e.g. coughing/ sneezing/ fever, etc. dun need to give everyday rite?

yuuri
i'm not sure leh, but my mil obviously got no concern over it lor.
olden time women dun focus on such things bah....think so. =P

hisstory
biangz! ur ang moh very chim leh. -_-"

missysz
if the daddy saw what u wrote, he will immeditely agree...ha ha...
man always think women talking non-stop de, dunno why they can talk at work but not home leh. =X

yln
understand ur situation.
but like what krex said, i'll also try to walk away instead of direct conflict.
u relax lah, sick liao dun angry angry okie?

krex
i usually give in to MIL cuz i know they mean well too..but she is always purposely doing things i tell her not too..u know the soup thing..her first scoup of noodles for kaer to try..she already ask to put soup..then i tell her say my bowl of soup got pepper liao..the second round she come and take some more noodles..she went to pot direct to take...i firstly already told her no need to put soup..second time she still insist her way..how??
@ that time, i was taking my dinner..so she will always give kaer something to eat when we r eating..i dun like initially cuz otherwise kaer will be stuffed..her stomach always round round one...then HB always say..we come only eat dinner for one hr..let them handle kaer n feed kaer if they want..ok..so i give in..but now u see..she always do things i say cannot do..now its my holidays...when i return to school, kaer will get worst..u know..whenever we r @ IL's place..kaer always always always throw tantrums if she dun get what she want..then they always give in to her..cuz i ren..my hb ask me to ren..cuz they only see kaer for one hr plus everyday...ok..fine..but when i return to school..she is going to let kaer get ANYTHING she wants..which is something kaer knows...that will never happen @ home..kaer has never once thrrew any tantrums @ home cuz she knows she wont get her way..so she will just walk away and take other things or do other things..but @ ILs place...thats it..she rolls on the floor..she stretches her body straight..n keep bouncy..n both the old poeple @ home give in...i dun mind they giving in..but they dunno n dun want to listen to me..that some things can give..some things cannot give..so..thats y i'm so fed up..

snow
i know lor..my throat hurts like mad..n to keep thinking abt that old woman..my blood boil liao..so i really try to ren and just let go most times...

missysz,
Tell me about it man! I saw there's a Sept baby (BOY!) who can say Q for Queen, A for Apple, etc...crocodile,etc etc.
How demoralising?! haha

YLN,
Can understand why you're pissed lah...but the older folks don't like to listen to us lor. They think everything they do is correct. Next time leave your hb to fight the war, you just find excuse to bring Kaer away.

Krex,
Actually it's a nice thing that your fil wanna dote on Jonah and buy him many toys.

YLN,

if you can't win, then "ren" until kaer goes to CC (which is very soon yah)? or sometimes u got to practice reverse psychology on the old folks. tell a horror story about some colleague's bb who had to be hospitalised becoz her stupid mother (note: not granny hor, else she will get offended) gave her daughter pepper fried rice, haha. i sound so evil!

yuuri,

yeah, my ILs are very doting on him but i also dun want to go overboard. like what kaer mentioned, i want J to have some form of disclipline and not be able to do anything he wants with his grandparents.

YLN,
Dun be angry la. The old folks are all like tat. I juz went thru 2 nites of nagging from the old ppl in my family. Anvelle vomitted and is kinda sick (fever n cough) and they said tat it's becoz of the food I gave her. Said I shld not let her eat our food. But Anvelle has been eating adult food for mths. She doesn't even get sick after eating curry!

yln,
dont be upset la. like ur hb say ren loh.. 1 hr a day.. just let it be. close eye.. eat faster.. go home

re: montessori
want to ask mummies here about your opinions on montossori. it seems they use a very different approach to learning.. the kids are more creative it seems. any mummies did research on this ?

just now, hubby put yu ze to sleep but before yu ze sleep, his hp rang and he walk out without telling him. so yu ze make noise a bit lah, so after he hang up and walk in again. so i told him, you must tell yu ze that you are going to answer phone then yu ze will stay in bed and wait. the 2nd time, his hp rang again. again he rushed out without telling yu ze. this time, yu ze climb out of bed and walk out of the room to watch tv. i saw yu ze coming out of course, i stare at hubby lah. he just look at yu ze and me without any action. i waited for a few minutes and still no action. i just stand up and carry yu ze back into his room. of course, yu ze will cried for hubby to rescue him cos he want to play. then hubby quickly follow me into the bed to put yu ze to sleep and ask me to go out. yu ze is stil talking to him now in the room at this hour. sigh.....

then just as i was typing this halfway, he carry yu ze out of the room again and talk to me and trying to make phone call again. im so angry. i told him off and carry yu ze away and go back to the room to make him sleep.

not that i don't let him talk on the phone but why can't he settle yu ze first before answering the phone. so important meh? i know he wants to give tuition to earn more $$ cos of my parent's rental fees, yu ze's cc fees and #2's babysitter's fee, its all a lot of $$. i'm not stopping him though he can't fetch me from work and yu ze home on certain day. even when #2 is born, i will have to handle #2 and yu ze alone on that day. i think i will also have to try to handle them myself. i just don't understand why he must walk out to answer call? he will get the missed call message anyway and can simply call back when yu ze sleep what. argh....

rona,
so fast bring to speech therapist? give him more time lah.

krex78,
of course, can't remember lah. i check back my record. :p

yuuri,
cos ma ma is close to mum mum mah. then he so greedy, always goes mum mum. so easier to teach him ma ma. hahaha....

missysz,
i only take lo hang kai leh. still got stock. :p

yln,
don't angry ok.

YLN: dun angry lah...u got a pretty face if angry not nice k!

cat: i'll be enrolling Braiden in the montossori programme.. not that i purposely want to..But its just 5 mins walk from my place.. Haha.. Now that you mention, i think it's a 'branded' programme so wonder its quite exp.

celyn: cheer up lah..
Think ur hubby is already trying his best to cope with work+yu ze+stress so sometimes can give n take abit lah... I think ur hubby is very good already! Can put yu ze to bed... If my hubby.. he not so patient.. if after 15mins Braiden doesnt sleep he'll give up..*roll eyes* So usually its me doin all the work lor... So i think ur hubby is really very good already.. Mai hiam liao ah! :p

huh? Aiyoh.. Like coz girls are ignored mah, so to get attention they make noise &amp; therefore learn to speak faster?

<font color="#CD3278">celyn</font>
*ooops* just remind him not to pick up the call before he puts Yu Ze to bed tmr.. Maybe he didn't want the phone to keep going on?

Don't think too much hor, sleep well tonight!!

<font color="#CD3278">YLN</font>
So when Kaer goes CC, she is going full day and then spend abt 1 hr with ur ILs?
Tt shd help with not getting her way tt much.. I doubt the CC tr can afford to give in to her &amp; she knows when mommy is ard, the likelihood is also lower.. And just say out loud to her to tell her otherwise, rather than to your ILs.. It's subtle but shd be sufficient enough to get the msg across. Hopefully by then Kaer is also better with responding to instructions
*hugs*

Nana

welcome to the stage where independence is declared! Hahaha!!

for her safety, then dun think like dat loh. u dunna her to meet accident or gone MIA rite?

YLN

dun be angry!

sometimes the elder will hv diff thinking n habit.

Just act blur or think of other solutions to reduce the frictions.

celyn

man r really man..... hahaha!!

they dun think the way we think. sometimes I know is like boiling.

Yu ze slept soon after that?

snow

I read ur post, wanna laugh. start at 5yo n now talk non stop. Hahaha!!

Actually think when time comes to talk, they will just blah blah blah

as u wrote.. dat's hw most of us grew up. our parents too.

morning mummies

nini,
i know he is really very good liao. but i just can't take it when he leave yu ze alone and answer the call loh. worst is that he actually do it 3 times in a row loh.

hisstory,
i didn't talk to him last night, still angry. anyway i told him off when he walk out the 3rd time with yu ze liao.

sylvia,
yah, he slept about 15/20 minutes after i put him to sleep. though i didn't stay with him till he sleep but at least i told him and kiss him goodnight before i walk out. so he knows that its time to sleep and won't cry when i walk out.

YLN,
MuSt give and take when it comes to in-laws, i guess... Mine also like tt... I alr close 2 eyes.. Let them feed my son whatever they/he wants. But when it comes to discipline, I made it very clear to them - Don't interfere when i discipline my son. I place lotsa emphasis on jia1 jiao4, so dont even attempt to shield or cover up for your grandson's ill-manners or bad behaviour. So now they know where i draw the line.

krex, I give Sambucus everyday for 6-8 weeks, then stop 2 weeks, then start again.

YLN, dun be angry. It's always hard to tell ILs/parents what to do. I have been told this straight in my face: "grandkids are for grandparents to spoil and parents to discipline".