(2008/08) Aug 2008

Morning Mummies
It's a sunny morning!

Nana, yeah, heard lots of cheap stuff in BKK & hopefully everything will turn good by that time

Yuurri, PM-ed you
thx!

Shint, ur baby quite big size huh.... Allivier only 8.8kg last week!

Long time never login.

It's been a chaotic 2 weeks. First I got bad stomach cramps and diarrhoea then throat inflammation, took lots mess and antibiotics. Then last fri was my girl to hv throat ulcers and came down w fever. After her fever went down, she developed rashes plus realized she's teething!
Yday went for my specialist check up and looks like I hv sensitive bowels, yet another course of meds.

Sorry if I have missed out any posts.

Happy_mummy,
I will transfer money to u later tonight as I am out. If I decide to bring my helper but she eats at home first, can I just cater for 1 pax? Looks like my hubby will not go. U are definitely right about the men being slow to give a yes or no. Had to chase him for answer!

Hisstory / happy_mummy / aurora,
u ladies going HK? Hmm wondering if I can trouble any of u to help me get something from there?

Shay,
welcome back! How have u been? U on FB? Add me!

Celyn,
quick jio your hb to let u go gaigai overseas, 2nd trimester is best!

Reirei,
sorry to hear that the Tokyo trip didn't turn out as expected. Char must have looked cute in the grey jacket ;)

Re: overseas trip
seems like most mummies are going somewhere. I so wana go too!

valnsw,
he will never agree one lah. last time without h1n1 and yu ze already can't travel. now with h1n1 and yu ze, its even harder for him to agree.

hi happy mummy
trf $24 to you 2555092664. am bringing my maid and just in case she eats the food so I'm paying for 2. better pay extra than accidentally eat the buffet.

morning mommies. =)

sylvia
normally go oversea tour is to see things lah, but if go home empty-handed also very that one lor...ha ha...

celyn
this 4yo chix still need de, old habit die hard. =(

jen
in the beginning gotta be very hard hearted de, the best is to put inside a bb cot so that they cannot climb down and run back lor.

shay
alarmak!
nynn is only 14kg last wk....let alone zynn... -_-"

cat
just pay lor, its $12 and not $120 mah....
maids are very pitiful to stay there 4hrs w/o food or drink, and looking at others eating some more.
even if u let them eat 1st, think most ppl will be hungry after 4hrs ya?

happy_mummy
think some of them might be oversea on holiday now, they might not noe need to pay by today. =P

snow
yes thats why i paid for her too. cos sometimes i ask her to eat but she will refuse to eat.. so better i pay. cos who knows her mood that day maybe wana eat.

snow, you dunno my ah boy... he can scream the house down for 1 hour... tried to and now he learn new trick... stack things up to step and climb higher... u can login to msn now?

cat
understand, especially when they saw other maids eating rite?

jen
ya, zynn did that also....some time my not so friendly neighbour will slam door when zynn is shouting....sad rite? =(

i cannot leh, co network block msn.

Happy, have informed Msapple to transfer $, she will do so this afternoon...

Snow, what! that's not nice leh... FB chat also blocked? Got something to tell u lah...

morning mommies...just finished reading up all the archives since 2 days back :p

been bit hectic for me arranging my trip to Jakarta :p looking for bbsitter so I can have extra hand then can more free time to eat n shop hehehehe

happy mummy
I read the posting.. someone offended you uh ?? Well well maybe she missed many post lor so... :p hahaha, anyway I also do think it's quite straightforward amount leh.... hmmm, dun wanna remind u of the story hahahaha...

btw, mommies. it's a big possibiity I wouldnt be able to make it to xmas party leh
Mite still trying to have fun at Jakarta :p

MummyNana
thanks for the offer.. looks like now I have to depend on you liao leh to rcvd the Tees for me... thanks so much hor...

Yuuri
hohoho, reading ur post made me chuckled in the middle of nite n bside N's bed too !!! lucky she doesnt feel disturbed
but 'URINE' ? LOL

Celyn
wahhh hor... I rem the last time u told us that ur hb wont let u travel til YZ bigger, now since u r having #2 , just realized will b diff for u to travel in the short future eh ?

Thumbs up for all the mommies who dare taking bbs for hol on quite long hour flite
me refused to go HK,scare N only wanna walk walk in the plane

Mel
my N also used to b very choosy n diff for solid.. even I resumed to give her Pediasure just cos I worried her solid intake is very bad.. but now after adjusting the texture n taste ( make with more ingredients like those jar food ones ), she starts to take leh... not a lot or full bowl but I'm happy she starts eating liao...

Snow
for me, N's security is my hand leh.. especially cos I got mole on my wrist, she has been using it to soothe her to sleep... so now she'll b sleeping in her cot but holding my hands... like that will b easy to move to her room onot ?

will b very sad couldnt meet up with u guys during the xmas party

Cat,
Dun in case she eats la. You can tell her "MUST" eat cos u oredi paid for it ... and it's a special christmas treat for her. haha. Then at least they wun feel bad or scared to eat.

Ling,
your hb still playing badmitton or not? else i can also collect for you and pass to your hb... see whichever is fastest for you to receive the tees... heheheee... am very anxious to get that tee! When are you going to Jakarta? I've got no more leaves this year liao, else i also want to go for a holiday!

Paying for maids
Dun hantam me but I jus wan to share my thoughts on paying for maids.

I would pay for my maid to eat for few simple reasons :-

1. She is a normal adult like everyone else so I have to pay a fair share.

2. She will feel bad looking at other maids eating. Maybe not becos she is hungry but she will feel underprivilege. It's psychological.
Think about it, if your boss brings you to a function and staffs of other bosses gets to eat and u don't, u think u will be happy to go? or even work for this boss?
Bottomline : She must feel happy working for me.

3. Like Snow said, the maid will be hungry after 4 hours. Then she wun have strength to help me looking after my kid rite?

4. If I feel that it's too exp to let the maid eat .... then dun bring her along.
That was what I felt when I had that replacement maid for 1 month. I got her sent back to agency anyway. I din even feel like bringing her to a cheaper restaurant cos she was not in the mood to work.

Well, $12 to buy some appreciation and loyalty ... not exp la. Worst if they feel u dun treat them well and how'd u think they'd treat your kids with extra care?

They're all humans like us and we dun like bosses that are too NIAO, too strict, too demanding ... etc etc. They too.

Cat,
Thanks for paying. Very generous of you to pay for your maid too even though you are not sure if she is eating or not. Anyway, if she doesn't eat, you can pack the home food for her until she got mood to eat.

In my previous gatherings, to make admin easy, all adults pay a share. Maid or no maid, grandpa, grandma(cos they oso dun eat alot or dun eat) ... so no confusion, no extra request to eat not to eat .... coordinating difference demands can be even more demanding that the task itself --- which is already alot of work.

Kat,
u still there? poor mommy. Need help?
Let's all be nice to her ok

shint,

someone asked me a funny question:
do you share your cod fish, threadfin (wu yu) those fish that cost over $40/kg with your maid? say not just fish, how about beef etc...

mel,

eating out with J is no joke. he used to eat up all his cereal when we first started him off on semi-solids. then as he progressed, he grew more fussy. not with the food, but kept on wanting entertainment while eating. so during every meal, we have to entertain him with bottles, stars, magana doodle, books, etc. used to take only 10-15 mins to feed him. now average abt 30 mins (if lucky, 20 mins). my MIL can spend up to 1 hour feeding him. wah, where she get the patience man?

mul,

wah, 2 consective weeks sounds gd. forced leave? it's so diff for me to get hb to take one week leave, and he's told me 1st half of the yr can't really take leave so dunno if i can still plan a holiday with J before june. if want to fly, must do it before he turns 2 yrs coz' that's when they start charging 75%.

nana,

phuket was nice but i think it's a very "germy" place. J got sick after coming back (luckily not H1N1). my colleague says phuket has a lot of viruses...everytime ppl come back from there they will fall sick. hmmm...actually i was well after coming back so dunno how true.

krex,
J is your MIL little darling mah, and she wants him to eat, so can spend the time to feed him lor...

I see people bringing portable DVD player to let their toddlers watch and eat at the same time... I personally do not like it, cos I want my kids to have proper eating habits... But there's no rules on this lah, most impt is to get the kid to eat right?

Lastest updates on payment

1) Vern (2) paid
2. April (1) paid
3. happy mummy (2) paid
4. Jen (2) paid
5. celyn (2) paid
6. Yuuri (2) paid
7. Rona (2) paid
8. von
9. catherine (2)
10. aurora (1) paid
11. Shint (2) paid
12. Mrs Teng (2) paid uob
13. YLN (1) paid
14. Mousse (2) paid
15. MummyNana (2)paid
16. Babyemma
17. Sylvia (2) paid
18. faeriekim (2) paid
19. mulberry (2) paid
20. snow74 (3) paid
21. vone (2) paid
22. M2B (1) paid
23. twin stars (2) paid
24. msapple
25. balugu (1) paid
26. aphrodite (2) paid
27. Hashisan (2) paid
28. Valnsw
29. Rata (2) paid uob
30. Ruixuan (2) paid
31. melmal12
32. nini (1) paid
33. fairybees
34. Mel-Ocean (1) paid
35. Hui Chin
36. cocomo
37. Dongle (2)paid
38. hisstory (1) paid

Mummies, pls pls pls check your name and your payment by the number of people you have paid for. Pls inform me if there is a mistake.

Shint, applause! I was trying to say something but dunno how to say and sekali I say wrongly again then kanna left right centre... you know I not so good in talking...
You hit the nail on the head babe! Cheers to mummies like hashisan, snow, cat & shint who have done so without a second thought! sorry if I missed anyone out though... $12 is not very ex lah... you buy baby wipes also about there leow...

Speaking of baby wipes, anyone got lobang to do BP for Pigeon wipes or something? Maybe can get bulk discount! Anyone keen? I keen but no lobang leh...

1) Vern (2) paid
2. April (1) paid
3. happy mummy (2) paid
4. Jen (2) paid
5. celyn (2) paid
6. Yuuri (2) paid
7. Rona (2) paid
8. von
9. catherine (2)
10. aurora (1) paid
11. Shint (2) paid
13. YLN (1) paid
14. Mousse (2) paid
15. MummyNana (2)paid
16. Babyemma
17. Sylvia (2) paid
18. faeriekim (2) paid
19. mulberry (2) paid
20. snow74 (3) paid
21. vone (2) paid
22. M2B (1) paid
23. twin stars (2) paid
24. msapple
25. balugu (1) paid
26. aphrodite (2) paid
27. Hashisan (2) paid
28. Valnsw
29. Rata (2) paid uob
30. Ruixuan (2) paid
31. melmal12 (1) paid
32. nini (1) paid
33. fairybees
34. Mel-Ocean (1) paid
35. Hui Chin
36. cocomo
37. Dongle (2)paid
38. hisstory (1) paid

Jen,
seeing the list, i think we have about closed to 60 adults (if all pay up by 2359 today) and 40-50 kids... will there be overcrowding?

Rona
Hi hi...well well for my hb badminton is his other life :p But nowadays office very busy by the time ur hb n gank plays, he mite still in ofc.. plus busy at home being chased by his wife LOL... but he said himself lor need to get back to the baadminton.. He used to have 3 other playmate on diff day lor.... now bit lack behind... I'll ask him, anyway after eating humongous food at jakarta, he will need to shave off his tummy badly hahahahahah.......

ling,

i haven't played badminton in ages but it used to be my fav sport since i was a kid. now the only sports (if i even have time) are swimming, jogging (and using the cross trainer in my house). i've been dying to go cycling...hb says maybe can bring J out on a bicycle and put him on a back seat or something...can't wait to try.

rona,

last time my MIL fed J in front of tv and i told hb not to let her do so. for me, tv while eating is a no-no. if he goes as far as to throw tantrum and the "distractions" dun work anymore, we'll just end the meal. anything more than 1/2 hr for feeding is atrocious.

krex,
I know some childcare centres do that - only limit to a certain amount of time for the kids to eat. after that, food is down the chute and the kids who don't eat will stay hungry. good point if that this will train them to eat by themselves - cos they don't want to be hungry mah, and eat within a limit amount of time. bad thing is as parent, a bit heartache to hear that our kids got to be hungry...

snow /shint / Cat

Haha thanks for the feedback on paying for the maid's share.
Don't hamtam me for asking that questions hor, cos I also wana sound it out here, lest there are any misunderstandings.

It is not a matter of niaoness.

I had an experience when hb and I brought the maid along for his grandma's bday celebration at a restaurant.

They gave her a share, and mind you there was sharksfin and all the good stuff but she simply refused to eat! We kept telling her it's ok to go ahead but she still insisted on not eating.
End up she ate something we tabao from outside as we didn't cook lunch that day.

Now, like that I got dilemma liao. Don't know whether to bring her out.

Moreover, this maid of mine, she doesn't quite seem to like to go out, she would rather stay at home and "do" her stuff during free time (aka when we go out). Sometimes bring her out, she will show "black" face.

But I think if I were to go for the xmas party, I would need a helper else difficult for me to handle Chevelle alone.

So really tough, to bring her or not to bring and my hubby is really not very helpful, he isn't keen to go.

rona,

Just to share with you, when she is at my parents' house during the day time, my parents will buy the ingredients i.e. cod fish etc and the maids also have a share.

Whatever we eat, we ensure there is a sufficient share for the maid.

val,
yes i understand what you mean. but for expensive fish like cod or threadfin, most of the times my mum also could not bear to eat as she wants to reserve the best ones for my kids and her kids (ie, me lah). then in this context, i really don't think i can share this dish with my maid. I think if my parents can't bear to eat for themselves, then my maid should not eat also. But otherwise we share all our food with her.

I know of someone - very very rich, she separates all the dishes with her maids. that is, the family will eat the dishes and their two or three maids will cook for themselves with other ingredients. even the rice also gotta cook separately using different kind of rice!

happy_mummy,

sorry for the late payment.. had been very busy at work, hence didnt managed to log in.

I've just made the payment of $24 for my maid and myself. hus wouldnt be there as he will be on biz trip.

Amount S$24.00
Transaction Reference 2555488379

Please check.

Rona,

It depends on your choice, there is no hard and fast rule. Just go with what u feel comfortable, so long as the maid gets enough to eat.

My personal opinion is that the maid can eat the basic stuff but maybe the more ex stuff u can leave it for your own family. After all, you are the employer, there has to be some differentiation between the employer and maid.
But having said that, my parents and I are just too lazy to separate out, usually they just eat what we eat and my parents will usually buy more as we have to feed 2 maids, mine and theirs.

Hmm anyway I didn't expect my question to be such a HUGE discussion. It was an innocent question but I'm glad I raised it up otherwise there would have been misunderstanding!

Happy_mummy,
I let u know by tonight whether I will be bringing my maid along or maybe somebody else. Thanks for co-ordinating.

Celyn,
tell your hubby to be more adventurous and let u go on overseas trip. Otherwise baby born even more busy no time to go.

Mummies, this is the lastest confirm list according to my bank accounts. Please check your payment and let me know. There has been some changes to various peoples' payment. It has been noted.

Appreciate all your help to check your own payments pls.

1) Vern (2) paid
2. April (1) paid
3. happy mummy (2) paid
4. Jen (2) paid
5. celyn (2) paid
6. Yuuri (2) paid
7. Rona (2) paid
8. von (2)
9. catherine (2)
10. aurora (1) paid
11. Shint (2) paid
13. YLN (1) paid
14. Mousse (2) paid
15. MummyNana (2)paid
16. Babyemma
17. Sylvia (2) paid
18. faeriekim (2) paid
19. mulberry (2) paid
20. snow74 (3) paid
21. vone (2) paid
22. M2B (1) paid
23. twin stars (2) paid
24. msapple
25. balugu (1) paid
26. aphrodite (2) paid
27. Hashisan (2) paid
28. Valnsw
29. Rata (2) paid uob
30. Ruixuan (2) paid
31. melmal12 (1) paid
32. nini (1) paid
33. fairybees
34. Mel-Ocean (1) paid
35. Hui Chin
36. cocomo
37. Dongle (2)paid
38. hisstory (1) paid

Celyn,
have trf $3.50 for Dongle's kid's goodie bag.

Appreciate if you can help to remind these mummies or if you are online, to confirm if you are coming
1) Huichin
2) cocomo

Appreciate if you can help to remind these mummies or if you are online, pls do trf the $ before 2359 today.

1) Huichin
2) cocomo
3) fairybees

The other mummies who have not paid but not included have responded to me about the payment.

linx
abit difficult...hmm...unless u change her "comforter"...hee hee...
especially now they teething, if they used to bite on something, most likely that thing will ended up their comforter in future de. =P

shint
alarmak!
how come u got such long theory de? ha ha...
i thought just "pay -> inform -> full stop"?

valnsw
eh...i'm not an expert in this area also...hee hee... =P
my maid can't eat much too, eat too much she will vomit de wor.
if its expensive meal, most likely will not pay and let her join in lah.
or else if go out with a group of friends with maids, then we will share order plates of fried rice for the maids to share lor.
this time is a special case, u go read archive then u noe why i wrote that post in the morning liao...ha ha....

good afternoon mummies

sorry if my posting on paying for my maid caused any problems with other mummies here. i think it's a personal choice on bringing & paying. no one is right or wrong.

again.. my apologies.. i have learnt the lesser i speak the better.. so my apologies to val and snow.

rona,

actually i read somewhere that ending the meal is a good way to discipline the child. besides, children who don't want to eat aren't really hungry anyway. my doc once told me if children reject food, don't need to force it down their throat. they will never let themselves go hungry.

krex78,
yah yah, i agree. now i will ask yu ze if he wants to eat. after feeding for a while, if i put the spoon near him and he shake his head. i will not force but ask again and try feeding another time. the 2nd time, he still shake his head i will stop. get him out of high chair and we continue our meals. anytime, if he comes back to me then i will feed again. but usually by another 1 or 2 mouth, he will stop.

i also tell hubby, no need to force. he won't let himself go hungry.

Val , Snow, Rona, Cat

Yes, different individuals have different views of handling maids. It also boils down to the character of the maid.

I'll be changing one of my maid at the beginning of next month, so I dun know whether to let them eat or not. But I believe, so far I din deprive them of good and luxurious food during their stay, they eat wat we eat, Those of you who see the food I posted in FB will know what they eat..

So when it comes to special gathering, I will access the situation whether they can eat or not. Normally, will explain to them that it's rather difficult for them to eat and will let them eat a bit before going and buy them after the event. They are pretty ok with it. In fact one of my maid refer to tapao, cos she feels that she can eat in peace at home.

The other one that is going back (cos she miss her home and she wants to go back for x'mas) Fine, her heart is not here, no point keeping her. This one very 'Ku niang', likes to play with food and take ages to finish. Sometime go out, my hubby, me and the first maid will be struggling with feeding C & C and eating fast.. That one, hopeless, take own sweet time to eat.. Told her off so many time also no use.

Rona

My maid eats everything we eat, so if they dun eat in the buffet, no a problem. Both so good life at home, what more they want.
My maid also take Threadfin. Where got time to separate their food? These 2 very 'hor mia', Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Western and Indian restaurant all also been before, no just once but many times.. They better not complain if they dun get to eat during the buffet. Anyway, they need to take care of C & C while Mummy network.

Wah! you very very rich friend very calculative leh! I bet they are regular shopper in Giants.. Sure won't buy from Jason's or Cold Storage.

Mrs Teng,
I don't know where they shop, cos its their mother who does the marketing and shopping. They don't even need to work, every quarter collect dividends also cannot finish spending the dividends alone - there are so many zeros behind... they have two kids, the insurance they bought for their kids - must be specially underwritten and its for USD10m each, if i'm not wrong. And yet, yes, they even separate the rice - this rice for the family and that is for the maids...

M2B,
Wow! Enjoy the holidays this coming week! Heard it's pretty cold at HK.

Hisstory,
Hehee.. yah lor, more people means dun hv to carry him alone. V tiring lor.. think hands will cramp if i carry too long. :p

LTW,
hahaa.. no lah. U let GG eat anything that u r eating over there?

valsnw,
I'm going only late dec. If u r not in a rush to hv the item, i can help.
Just PM me to let me know.