(2008/08) Aug 2008

Thanks for the kind words. Just to let you guys know that I can be a joker, but not very patient with people who want to ask for absolute details, when they can really do the calculations themselves. And pls, if you really need to find out anything about the $, pls ask me direct. Any passing of comments can lead to alot of misunderstanding.

And hor, I am not really frustrated with mummies paying up slowly. I know it is sometimes difficult to convince/ co-ordinate the men. But after the closing date, pls do not make any more requests to add payment.

Dateline for payment : Tomorrow (wed) 18 Nov 23:59 pm.

Right now many mummies who have ordered shirts have not paid. After Wed, I will assume that you are not coming for the party and Mrs Teng will take the head count for cupcakes from me.

Ok, having said that, case closed can ? I want to be back to my he he ha ha self again.

Payment :
Mummies who have paid, will check and let you know. Dongle, thanks for the prompt payment. Will pass your $3.50 for Celyn for your daughter's goodie bag.

Snow,
What about sleep in our room but seperate bed? Next time will be difficult or not? Cause A sleeps in the cot beside our bed as easier for me if he wakes up.

Mel,
I so wanted to go bangkok ! But hb say not safe cause got protest. In the end, go HK, such expensive air tickets !

Happy_mummy

Me more or less confirm the bangkok trip but i'm worries the politic over there. Plus dun noe the food is it suitable for our bb?

so, at the end u confirm go HK?

happy_mummy
ya, most mummy did that leh....as long as its his bed u see, its that smell that they are looking for during bed time...hee hee...
most of my friends gave a pillow or bloster for their kids during bed time, so they only need to bring that pillow out to make their kid sleep or nap.
for me...sad to say, i'm that pillow lor.
(pillow a.k.a chow chow, thats what most of our parents called it.) =(

Snow,
can imagine you been the pillow... so soft and comfy... **yawn yawn**
;P

mine #3 uses a napkin. #2 uses her thumb and #1 uses a bloster

Mel,
yes, I am going. But paid a bomb ! Anyway, I am not sure about the food leh, but of the so many times I have visited HK , I always eat the Japanese restuarant at Siam paragon, the pizza , swenson's etc. If you are not fussy about what your child eats, should be ok, just nothing too spicy and oily.

Dun worry about politics. To me, it is all about luck. But my HB doesn't want to take chances. While waiting for the place to be safe, so many of my friends have gone and come back in ONE piece !

happy,
pardon me for asking. is it easy to find halal eating place in HK?

regarding payment for the Tees
i thought no payment by deadline no tee and goody bag?

Mel,
I mean I visited BK and ate at siam paragon. Anyway, if you are really worried, buy pigeon porridge and feed her there ! i am bring boxes of it to HK too. Now Taka having 20% discount of pigeon food. Worth it !

haha! Happy_mummy, see, my colleagues oso tell me same thing, i wonder u gals just now having lunch together!

As for food wise, think i can't be fussy liao, in thailand, most of the food are spicy, unless i go for western food or look for chinese restaurant lor....

Rona
thx! Adults definitely will luv bangkok bcos food & the shopping, but with bb around, dun noe what will turn up!

Happy Muumy,
no problem... thanks for being the co-ordinator for the party

pigeon porridge very expensive... i bought a variety of baby food jars for my trip & some of them contains rice... plus cereals with milk also a lot more easier to prepare lor... also remember to bring lots of baby biscuits to entertain them...

mel,

i haven't been to BKK with kid yet but i went to phuket with J this yr. if you're scared of the hygiene level of food in restaurants, eat at hotels. my hotel managed to cook up some nice purees that i requested for. else bring bottled food? when i went to bintan in oct, i bought the heinz mom's recipe for 10-15 mths. he seemed to like it, though it was served cold. u can also check if BKK supermarkets sell bottled food, then u can buy from there and not have to lug all the way from singapore.

dongle,

tot u'd have bought the bottled food in oz since heinz originates from there :p i reckon they would have more variety at coles and woolworths!

for short trips, i also buy the heinz cereal (150g) good for abt 3 feeds. but actually, most of the time, i was able to find something to feed J during the breakfast buffet in the hotel. they have things like porridge, scrambled eggs, bread, fruits, etc. more than enough to feed the kid.

Krex;

Allivier don't like bottles food at all... so a bit "ma fan" lor... May be will bring some of Pigeon porridge to BKK as happy_mummy suggested. If not, 2-3 days without solid food for bbs shld be ok, rite?

krex78,
i bought some organic ones + heinz + gerber bottled food from carrefour earlier & bought more over there cos scared 1st few days cannot find supermarket as my trip was quite long... anw the heinz stuffs arent cheaper due to the exchange rates... cant find enfagrow over there plus huggies pull up pants also cannot find... it's another version & very ex! abt A$1 per piece... i quite kiasu & bring along most of her essentials including some drinking water... her 30 inch luggage alone weigh 32kg & me+HB share a 25 inch luggage about 25kg...

Mel,
Dun deprive Alliver of solid food lah ! Not so good leh, that's what i think. I agree scrambled eggs good enough really, at least better than nothing.

Dongle,
I was telling my hb tat A needs his own luggage, but he said no !! When he pack for our trip next month, I will laugh !!

Wah all the talk abt going HK..

I'm back from a 7-day tokyo trip wif bb.
For the first time, i was soo glad to be back home!
Char was very cranky thru'out the whole trip..din sleep well..din eat well..oni wanted to get outta stroller and play..it was pretty tough for me & hb..actually harder for hb, cos i got PMS for the 1st 3 days..:p
when we came back to sg, we then realised dat her bottom 3rd tooth has cut thru! gua gua gua...
but seriously I think tokyo is too bustling and hectic for her..she oni enjoyed going to the park and imperial garden where she got the freedom to run around in the nice cool weather!

So in the end, i din get to shop much..sob sob!

Btw anyone who has seen Char wld know she's pretty small-sized and japan is the oni place i went where pple commented dat she's big for a 1-yo! haha..made me sooo happy!

So hmm..here's some advice for anyone whois comtemplating on a tokyo trip wif bb..
Go oni IF:
1) ur baby is NOT teething
2) ur hb is good at directions and has the initiative to look for lifts and ramps
3) u are not expecting aunty flo during ur trip
4) u are not there to shop (err..i doubt anyone falls under this category..keke..)

dongle,

wow, she actually has her own luggage? i think i'll still buy the bottled food in oz or just make special order from restaurant if i do travel to oz next yr with J. i'm a bit more confident that ozzies will be able to cater to requests for special menu. as of now, i think the kid's menu in most restaurants aren't suitable for J coz' it's mainly fast food, like burger, fries, etc.

does oz have other diaper brands which are reasonably priced? like pampers active bb or huggies ultra?

hmmm...no enfagrow? will prob give J fresh milk, haha. only thing is...how to warm up??? anw that boy only drinks milk in the morning when dopey. for his afternoon feed, if he's not asleep, we'll give yoghurt, which is prob not too hard to find in oz as well.

mel,

u thinking of just giving milk for the entire trip? i guess whatever works bah. my J won't even drink his milk, so he will definitely need solids...

snow74,
you are the 'pillow' for zynn? hahah....

i'm the 'pillow' for yu ze in the car when he refuse to sit in his car seat to sleep.

reirei,

think u very brave to plan shopping overseas trip leh. i dun even enjoy shopping with J around in singapore, haha. i'd rather speed shop alone after work or during lunch time :p in singapore, even a simple grocery trip can turn nasty if the boy is cranky. then my hb will ask me to hurry up and get what i want...dun even have chance to stroll down the aisles in the supermarket. so shopping trips to BKK or HK are no-no for us. hols with kid are usually R&R ones, where all we do are eat, sleep and swim, haha. next yr i'm still contemplating a road trip to oz but will see how lah. dun want to travel with a cranky kid in tow...how to enjoy?

Snow,
Got tis place called 'akachan honpo'. It's like Kiddy Palace in Singapore.
I shopped halfway and Char threw tantrums..she kept walking around crying..aiyoo..no choice, had to quickly pay for my stuff and get outta the building.
Once out, she stopped her nonsense..haiz..probably the mall was too warm for her..they seemed to haf turned off the aircon..plus she was wearing long-sleeve bodysuit wif a jumper and tights..:p

We went disney too..but it's all xmas merchandise..dun really fancy, so in the end din buy much..

And oh, i went taka, isetan & odakyu baby depts..aiyoo, the toys there are sooo pathetic..not much variety and clothes oso very expensive..
Saw the monril bibs and disney training pants dat the bp is selling...not cheap leh! Wld rather shop from bp..:p

Came back home then realised dat we shld have gone to Yodobashi Camera for toys cos i rem they have more variety...
then again, if we go there i dunno how to bring Char outta the shop..
She was in isetan toy dept playing wif some legos when we had to leave cos it was her milk time, plus mommy got nuttin to shop there..haha..wah, she put on a fight wif us leh..din wan us to carry, kept crying and struggling until she was almost lying on the floor...sooo embarrassing!

Rona,
Harnor, wif a baby, esp a cranky one, how to shop?

Everyday we left hotel ard 10-11am and back by 7pm..
minus away the travelling and feeding/changing diaper time..watz left man? haiz..

Krex,
Yes u are very right..too bad loh, paid so much to learn the lesson!
In sg, shopping was OK for char cos it's usu max 3hr shopping and then nap in car on way back.
But overseas, it's almost whole day out..plus travelling in japan is not easy..had to walk quite a bit (wif a direction-less hb it's neeedless to say).
Now i'm very scared to bring her for hols liao..unless i'm going wif relatives who can take turns help me take care of her..or wait till she's 3yo when she's more expressive of her needs..:/

rona
oh...jpn really so many things to see ah?

celyn
zynn still ok, cos i learned my lesson.
its nynn lor, she so used to "smell" me to sleep...ha ha....
now she day time at my sis house cannot nap de.

reirei
sounds tiring ya?
how come they never carry more kiddo's stuffs?
parent is a very "easy to earn from" mkt leh, they more willing to spent on their kids lor...hee hee...

Krex;
if Allivier refuse to eat food there, think milk is my last resort lor. she is a fussy xiao jie, hopefully she'll corporative & enjoy herself during the trip!

reirei,

yeah, hb said wait till J older then try further destinations or road trips. my worry is having to deal with J in the car while navigating for hb. if there's another adult joining, it would be helpful of course, but most of the time, when we travel, it's just the 3 of us.

next yr, i'm contemplating between perth (coz' we're more familiar with the road) or tasmania (coz' it's a quiet place and roads are less complicating), or the usual R&R getaway, maybe bali. there's this family friendly hotel that i feel like checking out, heehee.

mel,

yeah, whatever works. for me, J always insisted on eating our adult food, so we had to feed him his bottled food first, then ask the waiters to serve our meal, after which he will start pointing and asking for more, more and more!

Popping by... all this talk about trips is making me itchy! Sigh... really missed my Tokyo trip 2 years ago... argh...

Reirei, I thought travelling in Tokyo was easy... except for the time when my gal threw tantrum in the middle of the train station during peak hour and everyone was stepping all over her!

HappyMummy, you are absolutely right about a separate luggage for A... the diapers is gonna kill... unless u planning to buy there?

J sooooo cute! So far we haven't hear A ask for any food from us
whenever we're dining, she totally bo chap & continue play the cutlery set! Piangz!

Mel,
Dunno abt BKK. My family hv this annual trip to Phuket in Mar. Found tat Thailand is pretty much bb friendly. They have those pkt version of Pediasure, Enfalac, etc. So it's pretty easy. Milk powder there is cheaper but the diapers are a bit more ex. If your bb is ok wif normal adult food den no issues. Not everything is spicy. The steamboat chain restaurant (available in Phuket n BKK, etc) is gd too. If u r still BF-ing, can buy the Pigeon breastpads. Very much cheaper.

Mel,
Pm-ed you. Bkk itself is not really baby friendly hor. The streets are quite difficult to navigate strollers so you'd be better off using a carrier when needed.
Import stuff are expensive. So if you want to buy imported baby food, diapers, quite bo hua.

Reirei

it's winter nw, where got on aircon one....

anyway... u cld let her take off to like rainy days in sg LS romper n pants coz bb wont be comfortable with heater on. even adults wont feel comfortable.

I will take off all my winter jacket n sweater when in train, if nt, i sweat. hahaha!! while u see them all like ba zhang. :p

plus........... think u gone to wrong place or level liao. Dept store's kid level is always very huge. or maybe nt wat u wanna see n buy?

FYI- in overseas spree... those r manufacters.So price might be lower.

Akachan honpo is my fav store leh!! hee hee!1

anyway...... think the teething prob is really stressful for u, plus learning to walk...

then ur pms...

next time when older, then bring her again pah.

snow

I'm there to see things n really alot to see. shopping nt my prority. but will get to buy things here n there too.

hee hee!!

celyn

kick to rm during 2nd mth ar.

wah... i kick nt successful leh. always cry n cry n cry.......n those loud cry...

sylvia,
ya lah. can't tahan him sleeping with us. i wake up to feed him before he wake up every 3 hourly. so he gets his milk in his sleep. not much chance to wake up to cry due to hunger. hahaha....

snow74,
hahah... nynn still need her 'pillow' now?

<font color="#CD3278">happy mummy</font>
Here goes the transfer

To Account POSB Savings
173-04476-3 Kat-SMH
Amount S$12.00
Transaction Reference 2554631120

<font color="#CD3278">twin stars</font>
Me going HK on 6 Dec.. Thanks for the heads up! At least got more ideas liao.. I prob go night mkt just to look see &amp; Tsim Tsa Shui also.. Shd be spending abit more time at Ocean park &amp; Disneyland

IFC maybe if I happen to be in the area, coz I also reckon most of the brands are also available in SG.. hee

<font color="#CD3278">ReiRei</font>
Shopping for myself was also pretty diff in Tokyo, moreover the stuff not quite suited due to the wintry season while I was there

Nvm, maybe can consider the next vacation destination which allows her to play more? Then you won't be so disappointed tt shopping was shortchanged for you

wah...so many mummies go holidaying with bbs? i tink unless got extra help going beside ur spouse, it will be easier (to go shopping!) lol..thats why now we didnt plan any holidays despite the fact that both me n my hubby needed one badly :p But hor Braiden is a difficult n demanding baby lah.. Bring him go troublesome, dont bring him oso cannot. hahahah:p

happy mommy &amp; team of wonderful volunteers, thank u all so much for contributing your help in organising the x'mas party. We are all very lucky to receive the kind help! Feel that u all like Santa... so nice n kind!
Thanks again!

mummies gng hkg

As to last nite n tonite's temp is <font color="ff0000">7 degree C</font>!

So prep ur full winter gear n make sure bb r warm enough as temp will drop further!!

celyn

hahaha!

but mine... nt hungry, mouth wont open one leh. once full, wanna feed more also no use wor.

got 1 nite... i hear something moving.. is her cot. she swing her leg left to rite n waitin to feed. But most of the time, even if dad feed her, she also dunna. only when mummy feed n carry, then she calm down.

dongle

ya.. nw walking period........ so they just want to walk n walk. so hv to think of diff methods to keep in a small area.

Hahaha!!

SQ improve due to sales drop badly? n nt NO 1 anymore?

Happy Mummy

diaper cheaper in hkg wor!!
bb food can get easily in hkg too leh. u want the locations to where to buy?

hehehehe!!

Jen

step over her?

I think is either they walk around her n she is like in the middle while all walking rapidly around her? or her feet off the floor as they carried her along?

Snow &amp; Celyn, can u gimme idea how to kick P to another room?

Sylvia, as in step "over" her... not on her lah... cos she throw tantrum sit on the floor... though place big but lots of pple cos peak period... so gotta step over her lor...

Shay,
OMG .... your little bumble bee is so big now. Kai is 13kg and oredi a vv big boy liaoz.
My colleague's 2.5 yo is only 11+kg ... cos he is of the smaller frame.

am still awake coz was surfing BP section :p

<font color="0000ff">Mrs Teng</font>
ooo choc n orange butter sounds yummy! shall leave the baking decisions in ur expert hands ;)

Holidays with bb
me no plans to go this year but should be going for a holiday next year (n hopefully every yr after that :p). Coz hubby need to take 2 consecutive weeks leave every yr.
hee so got plenty time to plan and get travelling tips from mommies here

morning mummies

jen,
i just throw him back in his room in his cot loh. no special method. cos yu ze can be dream feed when he was still on 3 hourly feed. so no problem in feeding him before he gets to wake up from hunger. as long as he don't wake up from hunger, he will just sleep in a way. hehehe....

sylvia,
before yu ze start solid at 5 months, he was on 3 hourly feed daily. i just dream feed him loh. he very good at dream feed then. hahahah....

she is used to you lah, so only want you to feed. there is a period of time, yu ze also like that. so when comes to feeding, i just stay away from him and hide. he can't see or hear me. then hubby feed. so slowly he is ok with hubby feeding. only when he is very comfortable liao then i start feeding him again. in this case, there is no restriction to who feed.