(2008/08) Aug 2008

<font color="#CD3278">Celyn</font>
I'm also more of the disciplinarian than daddy is.. So maybe like what snow &amp; missysz mentioned coz daddy is often seemed to be more fun, they are closer to daddy?

But one thing I've got to mention, I've seen this happen ever so regularly.. When u discipline YZ, ur hb must sing the same tune. Otherwise he wld know he can get his way out thru daddy..

Guess right now quite hard to feel them appreciating us, and even more so when they reach adolescence.. Can you imagine how much they wld withdraw fr us at tt age?

celyn
dun feel hurt lah, yu ze definitely love u. =)
he boy boy leh, less sensitive and dun always express his love around only lor.
no 1 will understand how much yu ze love u, so no need to take their comment as a benchmark.

ppl who bb not close to them wonder what they did wrong, ppl who bb like post-it keep pasting on them wanna take a breather.
see the problem? =P

YLN,
are we still going to the gymboree trial this weekend? what time ah?

vern,
I want a tub of california calendula cream. thanks.

dongle
yup yup...this sat still on!...it starts at 10am..so we meet there @ 10am lor..

for mummies coming along for the gymboree trial..see u at 10am..think must bring the free trial voucher?

hisstory
ya lor, eat dinner also cannot eat in peace... =(

yln
oh ya hor....gotta go home dig out that voucher liao.
we got 10 mummies going for the trial already? =)
need to wear socks rite?

snow
only got me, u, dongle, shint, valnsw...i think thats all...no need to have 10 cuz they have an existing class on @10am..so we just join in..
..ya..must bring socks..
..my pedicure gone liao..

rona
wah! u're quite out of the ordinary! heehee... even goat's milk also can! blue cheese also can! ur kids leh? also take blue cheese? heehee...

wendy
i guess FM will always taste like FM. so is he taking fresh milk/ uht now? my E hates FM too.

krex
when E had trouble taking milk, i wanted to try choc/strawberry milk. but my hb didn't let me. he said once i start it, there's no turning back. but i just wanted him to drink milk! so i understand how u feel.

celyn
hee...i guess whether a baby is puipui is really dependent on the baby's own gut. that was wat my PD told me.

mmr/chix pox jab
any babies here had fever after a week? my doc told me that may hv fever. but don't need to give meds. E's hving low grade fever after 6 days. sigh... did mummies here give fever meds? i'm just a lil worried.

hisstory
krex said maybe friso most preservatives leh. u wanna check it out?

celyn,

i also got same prob as u. jonah clearly loves his daddy more. some examples i observed:
1) when i come home, he doesn't smile. when daddy comes home, he will smile most of the time.
2) when daddy walks out of the room he will cry. when i walk out of the room he doesn't bother.
3) when daddy is carrying him and i extend my arms to him, he will wrap his hands around daddy. i can only carry him if i distract him hard enough. when i carry him he will sometimes point and want daddy to carry.

i also feel hurt that he likes daddy more but can't be helped lah. it's his preference mah. maybe that's the opportunity cost for mommies who are working full time. i dun think SAHM have this problem!

i try as much as possible to play with him and spend time with him. maybe one day he will prefer mommy. else i will go bang my hopes on #2 lor, haha.

snow
oh ruixuan coming also..:p..okok...
..my pedicure gone liao anyway..the flower drop liao...so sad..n kaer thot can eat..want to put in her mouth!..

there are a few things i noticed about J and i'm wondering if his dvpt is slower than normal:

1) he's still drinking from milk bottle and has not been able to drink properly from sippy cup. definitely can't drink from straw cup.

2) he doesn't want to hold his milk bottle. he could do so at 4 mths, then decided not to shortly after. at ard 8-10 mths, he started holding his own bottle and at 11 mths, he insisted that we hold for him again. to date, we're still holding his bottle to feed him.

3) he wakes up crying everyday...seems like an unhappy child each morning. he cries and fusses a lot also before sleeping. not sure if pacifier is the cause of it.

4) he hasn't shown any interest in walking and can't really talk. he just babbles.

5) he can't feed himself and refuses to. at 9 mths, he did attempt to hold his own biscuit and then later on he decided he didn't want to hold it at all.

hmmm...any of you experiencing the above with your bb or am i the only one here? sometimes i feel that jonah is developing like a 6 mth old, not a 1 yr old leh.

yln
oh oh, how come ur flower drop out so easily?
can go back to that shop and tell them?
cos normally this kinda 3-d flower can stay very long 1 leh, some time after 1 mth still gotta use force to clean it off ya?

hee hee....its lucky that kaer din try to eat it when its on ur toe, cos zynn did. =P

maybe u dun give them attention, the more they wan it ... the more u give the more bo chap they are ... hahaha.
depend on each individual baby's style la. i'd prefer them not too sticky to me .... oredi got no time to do own things ... Kai is getting to wan to demand more attention cos now he can eh eh eh vv loud. can cry if u walk away some more .... be it me or hubby but we still walk away lor .... then he'll stop shortly. hehehe.

1.Drinking from bottle. My #1 still drinks from bottle .. hahaa. dun worry la ... maybe i vv slow to train him. hehe.
Kai dun like sippy cup but can drink from straw cup.

2. Holding own bottle. Just keep putting his hand on the bottle and tell him to hold ... it's work one day.
Not good to keep holding for him till too old .... saw 1 kid vv old and parents still holding for him. it's habit ba.

3. Kai sometimes oso wakes up crying cos no one around. He cry vv long then we hear. poor boy. Generally is he a happy boy?

4. Walking. A few steps only but he prefers to crawl and climb. Talk - a few words here and there and eek eek ah ah alot. He can say "Eeeee" very well cos #1 always say "Eeeeee so dirty".

5. FEeding himself. Kai dun even wan to eat alot ... so dunno abt feeding himself. got take small food and put in mouth. haven't give him his own biscuit, scared he choke.

Enjoy them as they are ba.

Snow,
It's the same here. Velle is worse than a post-it. Think she is a plaster man! Tat's y I always say tat after 6pm on friday, it's the end of my wk week but the start of my 24hrs amah days. I am always very drained on Monday.

Krex,
When the new maid comes, go thru her belongings and state clearly wat can be worn, wat is not appropriate and the ground rules in the hse. Ask ur MIL wat is expected of the maid too so tat everything is properly addressed 1st. Give the maid a list of things tat she needs to do daily, weekly n... Den assess her and push her towards the positive way of wking.

As for bb J, I think he just wants to get adults to do stuff for them.
1) Anvelle is still drinking from the milk bottle. Tried MagMag cup. But she only drank a little den mai liao.

2) She only holds her bottle when daddy is feeding. Both my granny n i r the bottle holders.

3) She used to cry every nite before bed but ok recently. Nw I jus leave her to crawl and roll around my bed until she falls asleep. She will take her smelly pillow, put her pacifier into her mouth den roll ard. When she stops moving, u noe she's asleep.

4) She will only race in her walker. Take her off it. Aad she will prefer to jus stand there. Limited speech: Nehneh-Food, Daddy-Me!, Mai-Dun wan.

5) She only holds food tat is not messy e.g. bb bites. Food tat will dirty her hands has to be fed by us. if not, she won;t eat it.

Snow,
Maybe it's becoz we've gt little rats. I was wking on my laptop n left Anvelle on the flr next to me. She was juz touching my pedicured nails. Next thing I noe, she bit my toe and said neh neh (meaning food)!

mummynana
i also scared non-working hr more, working hr i still can rest abit. =P
next time when u have #2, both fighting for u then u will know why we are born with 2 hands.
ha ha....eat also no time to eat. >D

hi Krex

1) A dun drink milk from bottle, sippy cup or straw cup, refuse us put teat or straw into her mouth, simply dun suck...

2) She doesn't want to hold anything...

3) she is ok when she realized nobody around when she wake up.

4) Walking... learning stage but doesn't want ppl assist her.

5) she still wants us to feed her, including biscuit &amp; bread although she know how to feed herself.

krex, think my gal worst than J, yesterday spent 2 hrs teach her how to drink from straw cup, she still not interest.... i gave ribena le, still refuse to suck... give up

mel,

i getting worried for J already. i'm not home to teach all these and i think my MIL won't do all these also coz' she's busy worrying abt the maid. somehow J seems to be going back in time. some things he could do when he was much younger he doesn't want to do now. dunno why also. i think i will let him practice feeding himself cheerios again on sat morning. must give him more incentive to learn over the weekend...maybe more biscuits, haha. as for milk, a bit difficult since he already doesn't want to drink. make it even more painful and he might boycott milk altogether, sigh.

Krex,
I also have similar worries...but then just keep consoling myself that boys develop slower than girls, so don't compare.

1) K still drinking from milk bottle. Takes some water from sippy cup but mostly just to chew on the teat...some water just by luck flow into his mouth, the rest drip all over his neck. Doesn't know how to drink from straw.

2) Holds milk bottle only if we place his hands there, but dunno issit he v nua or cos we're using glass bottle, he cannot hold up properly and alot of milk will drip out...then we will revert to holding for him.

3) He wakes up ok but when he tries to wake me and I refuse to wake, and he can hear his daddy walking outside, he will start crying and crying! Recently become v hyper before sleeping, he will climb off the bed and demand to play with every single object in view..play until he sian already then will fall asleep with whatever he was playing with-- usually my hp!

4) K can cruise holding sofa, wall...but if we hold his hand, he will sit down immediately. Doesn't seem interested in walking.

5) Can feed himself baby biscuits...earlier told you how we trained him.

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies</font>,
Few days never read so many posts liao!!

<font color="0000ff">M2B</font>,
I also start to give Sher Scotts Emulsion Cod Liver Oil last week. How much you give huh? I just started so only give half tea spoon, will it be too little???

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>,
1) My gal is drinking milk from the milk bottle and water from MagMag cup or normal kiddy water bottle (She likes to drink from his gor gor's Thomas water bottle). Whenever she is slow in sucking milk from milk bottle I will just feed her from a cup (like us) or let her suck from straw.

2) She can hold her own bottle but my maid will bottle feed her coz she likes to play with the milk when half way thru!! Will normally let her hold her own mug mug bottle for water.

3) My gal will only cries when she see me and I dun carry her. Be it before or after sleep.

4) My gal cannot walk yet. Can only stand for a short while. She very 'kia si' one, I let go my hand then she will quickly sit down
She can only speak a few words such as nana (mummy), mummum (for food), dadi (daddy), cat, ber (bird), da (beat), lai (come).

5) She will hold her own biscult, strawberry, kiwi, baby bites etc.

krex;
sama sama here, sometimes really wants to give up when u see she do things backwards.... i oso v worry abt her behavior &amp; why only my child doesn't want drink/eat by her own.... dun want hold things by her own.... she oleli turn one no more excuse say she still young....

She is weird....

My MIL told me dun waste times to guide/teach her since she got no interest sucking milk/water from bottle unless drink directly from cup.

celynlee,
re: cling to Daddy
Because ur boy play more with daddy? Talking about disciplinary, be sure that u and ur hubby is in the same tune when come to discipline. If not u will result in my case.

If you feel sad, You will feel even more sad when u are in my shoe. My girl's very clinging to her daddy, wake up first thing find Daddy, if cannot find him, start crying and screaming, throw tantrum liao. Sometime in the middle of the night wake up cannot find Daddy, start to cry. During the day, if suddenly Daddy missing without telling her where he go, start crying and scream also. Everything wanna her daddy to involve, Daddy carry her sister, she also cannot, pull her sister away from her Daddy. When her daddy touch me, hold my hand, she also cannot start shouting, or if we talk too loud to each other, she thought we fighting, starting to throw tantrum. When her friend wave bye bye to her daddy or talk to her daddy, she start shouting saying "That's my Daddy". When hubby picks her up from school, she see her Daddy super excited one. Till now still the same. I picks her up, so so only. Sad right? But to me I'm ok lah, not that concern already. Cause I am disciplining her, so she favourite my Daddy over me, I'm ok one lah. I still insist myself to be firm at her. If not for my girl such a wayward character, no one can control her except me.
She super scare of me when I get angry.

I alway blame my hubby for being so lenient toward her. Result in her being so stubborn, abit abit also throw tantrum cos she know there is someone (her daddy) siding her. I am alway the one who said cannot and no to most of her request. No softdrink, no sweet, no chocolate, I'm so much strict than my hubby. Everything she do, she wants her daddy, eg want her daddy to shower for her, feed her eat, play with her, change her diaper. When she request for her daddy to shower her but hubby not free to shower for her hence get the maid to help, she starts screaming and crying said only want daddy, i got so frastrated over her being disobedient and said I will shower for her instead, immediately she cry even louder saying "I scare of mommy'. cause she knows i wont give in to her and get her to shower if not she will be in naughty corner. She alway do something hurtful to get our(hubby ba) attention , like pulling her hair, bite herself. Think aurora and snow saw it that day.

We bring her to see psychiatric for her temperamental behaviour. It do help abit, cause hubby learn the lesson and start to be more firm to him (but often still give in to her). She's still a very difficult to handle kid but slightly better. I believed it take time.
And I got to be more patience toward her, at time I feel so stressful handling her. Even my parent and in-law raise white flag.

shint;

Ribena - tried to tempt her drink from bottle/straw cup, not really give her drink. Anyway, i'm still fail to tempt her.....she dun like ribena taste....

hello mummies, when clearing my email, i saw the collage we had done for aug babies months ago.. i find it kind of sweet..

shall we org for another one.. with all the aug babies photo taken with their birthday cake.

i dont mind to do it, you guys can forward me the photos to [email protected]..

msapple,
i know what you mean. i will make sure when i discipline, hubby don't involve. but he will be the first one to hug him and sayang after i discipline. then i will hug and sayang him after hubby.

maybe that's why he prefer daddy.

like shint, i actually don't mind that he prefer daddy. then i have more time to myself too. its words that people say that hurts bah. not so much of yu ze's action loh. sigh....

krex78,
1) yu ze still drinking from milk bottle and don't drink from sippy cup. straw cup, he will drink half of it and half will flow out onto his shirt, hasn't really master straw cup but still let him try.

2) he does hold his milk bottle after 8 or 9 months cos mummy thinks he is old enough to do so. so if he refuse to hold, he won't get his milk. i will guide his hand to hold and told babysitter to do the same thing. initially, he will drop his bottle halfway while drinking then we hold for him. but we still guide him to hold. or hold his hand together with ours to hold the bottle. after some training, he hold it himself now.

3) he wakes up crying if he don't see anyone and most tim he won't see anyone cos he is sleeping alone. he will stop once we carry him or give him his milk. will toss and turn a lot before he sleep and must have pacifier.

4) he now walks with us holding his hand. he just babbles not real word.

5) he choose to feed himself as and when he likes. he don't always do it even with baby biscuit. usually we are the one who feed him 90% of the time.

snow74,
hubby say yu ze is a sticky. once stick on him can't remove. hahah....

Hi msapple,
I also got problem discipline my #1 also especially come to his dinner time. What I learned from my fren is to use rewards systme on him. Eg he likes sticker so whenever he behave and good boy I will give him a sticker to reward him. Whenever he naughty I will cane him and his daddy keep quite and once he stopped crying he will explain to him why I cane him and want him to appologise to me. Sometimes these method work but sometimes dun. sigh. . . you know there was one time I cried infront of the teacher during teacher-parent meeting time coz I really dunno how to discipline him and I got myself very depressed. paiseh right??!!!

msapple
can see ur "problem"... =(
u must be very tired, but gotta jia you just for her gd okie!

mrsgan
zynn dun have a nice photo taken with her bday cake, can send u her photoshoot pics instead?
thx. =)

celyn
as long as he stick to 1 of the parent, u can be more fang xin le.
only scared those kiddos that are not near to both parents nia, then keep everything to themself type.

Snow74,
hai...sometime is not the matter of we tired or not, but is how hurt it were when you see ur kid hurting themselve. Hai...

cocomo,
I'm the same as you. And I also do what you do like giving sticker to reward but like you said sometime work sometime dont. But for my girl, most of the time dont work at all. Psychiatric want us to be more patience lor to see the improvement lor. It is a torture to us, I cried many times too. What to do right. It's really not easy to handle my girl lor. Sometimes also feel paiseh on how my girl behave, cause it do affect others. Many time outside, alot of peoples (some even is a mother) looking at us, y my girl behave in such a way, as if we torture them. Give her continue scream, scare disturb other, go coax her to stop shouting, she screams even louder. Difficult right. Now I alway let her scream until she siong, dont care about her, how people see me, I dont care. But my hubby alway the one give in. Faint!

snow
my 3d flower is the jolin tsai kind...the very tu come out kind...so ..very very easy drop leh...i tried to put super glue back..but kena my hand with all the glue instead...i threw away liao lar..sat u see..my toe nail only got a few round round things...then got lobang for the flower there..heehee..so ugly liao..

got got! kaer got try to eat the flower, while its on my toe!!..so silly rite!..then she bend down like sit and reach..n want to lick my toe!..damn er xin lor...heehee

cocomo, received.. you are fast

ladies, let's keep the ball rolling.. looking forward to receive all your cute precious gems photos.

mrsgan
ok, will send to u asap.
thx.

msapple
understand...

yln
oic....wear socks cannot see le lah. =P

hee hee....rat lor, just like what mummynana said.

msapple,

u're referring to your #1 right? yeah, if i were u, i would feel very hurt. hope J doesn't grow up to be like that. my hb is strict with him also, so i dun think he will like daddy more coz' daddy always give in. i think for me, prob is daddy is the one who bathe and put him to sleep. i want to suggest to hb to take turns doing so coz' he always insist he wants to put J to sleep. maybe that's his reward bah. that's why J prefers him to me and when he wakes up at night, only daddy can put him back to sleep.

msapple,
There is one way you can try, sometime works on my boy, to distract him. If he cries for something then we pretent we did not hear but speak loudy to distract his attention to other things. Like. . . did you see there is a lizard crawling on the floor just now. quick quick mummy carry and we go find where it is now. something like that.

krex
wah..ur hubby will insist to put J to sleep? good leh...my hubby? only know how to sleep lor...until now...never bathed kaer once!..sigh...

cocomo,
it doesnt work, she will scream even louder, even if work, after awhile she continue screaming.
We try distraction, reward, naughty corner. it do help but not of much effect. Just got to continue and hope it do get better and better.

msapple,

I also tell myself to be very very patient on my #1 but when I angry sometimes hard to control one lo. Then sometimes after I cane him I really regret you know. Keep telling myself he is still young and should talk to him and be patient to him. sigh. . . sometimes after we scolded him he will look for maid, which i really dun want this situation to happen lo. I dun like my kids to close to my maid. But then one thing about my son, not matter how I cane him he still closer to me than to my hubby. So when he in good mood I will talk nicely to him and explain to him on his mistke and it sometimes works as he is older now compare 6 months back.

I got another problem on discipline my boy coz whever I scold or cane him my mum will come and side him and scold me for being so strict on him. I was like ergggg . . .

von,
gam gam I eng now else hard to find time to post and read post. hee. . .

Brie,
Adel was sitting at the balcony one day, and the next thing i knew his pants was down on the first floor ! Apparently, he got out of his pants and threw it out of the balcony!! I thought that was funny enough! But your bb really POWER leh ! I would also grab the camera !

Krex,
my hb would sleep first and leave adel tossing and turning on the bed.

happy_mummy,
i m like ur hb. I let Anvelle roll around in my bed n i juz watch her. Many a times, my hb will come into the room and find me asleep while she is still watching TV... Hahaha. Nowadays, I think our roles are reversed. Anvelle pats me to sleep! Lolx

<font color="FF1493"> Pinky, Hisstory, M2B and Medusa15,</font>
Thank you for all the compliments. Very time consuming and tiring to do all the balloons and decor by ourselves. Hubby says I pay money to make ourselves xinku, haha.

<font color="FF1493"> Hisstory, M2B and Rona,</font>
I did alot of research online about the feedback on the different caterers before finally deciding on Stamford. The reviews on Stamford were good leh, so I was expecting the standard of the food to be above average. To my horror, it was HORRIBLE. Not only was the food bad, they also mixed up my order with another order and charged me more than what was stated. Feedback to them via email, all the co-ordinator did was to inform me that she will inform the kitchen about my negative feedback and refund me the difference via cheque. Bleah.

<font color="FF1493"> MummyNana,</font>
When is A's birthday celebration? Have you placed the order for the cake already? You might want to consider getting the Hazelnut Chocolate Crunch. It's a new flavour, consisting of hazelnut cream spread between layers of chocolate sponge containing chocolate pops. I decided on Hazelnut Chocolate Crunch for the top tier and Lychee Martini for the bottom tier because there were hardly any kids present for my girl's party. To my surprise, the adults prefer Hazelnut Chocolate Crunch to Lychee Martini. I just called PG yesterday in the evening, to order a 1/2kg Hazelnut Chocolate Crunch for the celebration with my in-laws tomorrow. The lady was telling me that they will be coming up with another flavour, Milo Dino. She was saying that they have too many of those liquor cakes liao, therefore need to come up with some non-liquor flavours.

<font color="FF1493"> Rona,</font>
The medium sized helium tank costs $70 to rent. They claim that it can inflate about 100 balloons. These 100 balloons are based on 12" latex balloons. I'd actually wanted to rent a small tank because I only have 3 jumbo mylars, 6 18" mylars and around 50 12" latex balloons to inflate. But Freddie the owner advised me to get the medium tank instead, to play safe.

<font color="FF1493"> Krex,</font>
I read that you're very worried abt J's calcium intake since he is not taking to milk at all. Would you like to consider Calcium supplements like this? http://www.childlife.net/node/63/

<font color="FF1493"> Cod Liver Oil</font>
I'd just started giving K Childlife Cod Liver Oil from last week onwards. 1/2 teaspoon once a day, luckily she is willing to take it. Maybe because it is strawberry flavoured? Very expensive for such a small bottle. Didn't want to give her the Scotts Emulsion Original Cod Liver Oil because of the fishy aftertaste. The fishy aftertaste from Childlife CLO is also present but not as strong as Scotts Emulsion's. My mum advised me not to get the orange one as it will encourage phlegm to form.

Liz,
Ask you ah...the childlife cod liver oil, what is the correct dosage for our 1yo? Cos they only wrote for 6-12mths and then 2-3yrs old...so in the end I dunno how much to give.

<font color="aa00aa">Rona/Dongle</font>
Got your orders!

<font color="aa00aa">timminbuzz</font>
I PM you oredi! let me know if you still want yeah?

<blink><font color="aa00aa">last call for drugstore spree</font></blink>
give me your orders by tonite can? I will order tmr

Yuuri,
I give 1/2 teaspoon. The instructions so misleading. I can't find any 1-2yrs old so I followed the 6-12mths by giving 1/2 teaspoon. How much you giving K? I read he refuses to take?