(2008/08) Aug 2008

jen,
may i know what is this list for?

msapple,
sorry didnt see ur msg. i think it should be safe but best to let the doc know tat u are still lactacting. take care adn get well soon.

missysz,
i have given egg to yu ze long ago in term of chawamushi, steam egg. 2 weeks ago, i cook hard boiled egg and feed him like that. i have give him both yolk and white. he eat the whole yolk and half white. the balance white, i eat. hehehe.... i don't restrict his diet in a way. he eats what we eat. i give him normal yogurt yesterday. he loves it but i only give half a portion.

Hisstory
Yes better stay away. My #1 was exactly lidat.. Vomit after taking eggs. He cant even take cakes. Only recently then he is ok with egggs. My pd say most children will outgrow their allergies when they are older.

SINGAPORE: Singapore has confirmed its first case of Influenza A (H1N1).

The patient is currently being treated at the Communicable Disease Centre at Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH) and is in stable condition.

The patient is a 22-year-old Singaporean woman who was in New York from May 14-24.

She arrived back in Singapore from New York on SQ25 on 26 May at 6.30am.

She began to develop a cough while onboard.

She passed the thermal scanner uneventfully as she did not have fever then.

Later in the morning, she consulted a GP who decided to send her to TTSH via a 993 ambulance, given her travel history.

She was immediately admitted for testing. Laboratory confirmation of her infection was made by midnight of 26 May.

The patient has been vigilant in monitoring her own condition and had sought immediate medical attention once she realized that she was unwell.

Her attending GP, through his quick response in activating the 993 ambulance for the patient, had also helped to minimize the spread of infection from this case.

The Health Ministry says it has initiated contact tracing of her close contacts. They will be quarantined and provided with antiviral prophylaxis.

Passengers who had travelled in the same flight and were seated in rows 52 to 58 are urged to call the hotline at 1800-333 9999 to enable the MOH to check on their health condition.

The MOH adds that all medical practitioners and healthcare institutions should continue to be vigilant to suspect cases.

Singapore will continue with temperature screening for passengers entering Singapore at all checkpoints (land, sea and air).

All passengers passing through or entering Singapore are given Health Alert Notices on board their flights, advising them to monitor their own health if they have been to affected areas and to seek medical attention immediately if they are not well.

- CNA/ir

Rata,
You no need leow... I got all... unless you got blog?

Yuuri,
For you, ur mobile # and MSN address (if any)... I've got the rest...

Missysz,
I was actually compiling my guest list for bday party and since I use the same format, I thought might as well at the same time set up a detailed list for the Aug-08 mums. The list can be useful for contacting each other for gatherings. Once complete, it will be sent only via email, not posted here. Pls PM me so that I can compile the info. Hopefully, I only do it once for as continuous updating will never end.

The following info will be shown:
- Baby Name
- Baby DOB (age will be auto computed)
- Mummy Name
- Mummy Nick (in SMH)
- Mobile
- Facebook (If have, pls provide email address in FB)
- Email address (if different from FB)
- MSN address (if different from FB)
- Blog (if any)

<font color="#CD3278">Medusa</font>
Once bitten twice shy.. She puked like nobody's business, made my mum very busy &amp; made me wait at KKH for so long

Maybe try again in 1 mth's time.. Dunno what hb prefers

Eve

Thanks for the detail on H1N1 case.. umm any idea where she stay hah? Aiya... doesn't matter where she stay.. the flight from New York is long enuf to contaminate the entire plane.. Tracing just that few roll also no use.. must trace all pax n crew in the flight mah! Aiyo... better not go out for the next 10 days.. Dun know who n who stay aroung the same area and get it also.. See what happened in Japan?

Tweety, Eve

Yeah, the PD is Dr Zainal.. he's a very nice PD.. very friendly. I went to him becos he's the standin PD for my regular PD from the same group. She's on at least few months MC. so no choice got to go to him. Otherwise must go to Dr Ang Poon Liat at TMC, very troublesome lor.

RE: Egg Yolk

I've also give my gals egg yolks too. Detail in my blog

But maybe a pic on how I gave them during their first try.

Sieved ~ hard boil egg yolk
2501521.jpg

Egg yolk mixed with Pork n watercress porridge (the gals love it, esp the slightly textured yolks)
2501522.jpg

Yesterday's menu was Egg yolk with Pork n Spinach porridge
2501523.jpg

Today's similar to yesterday but added a few wolfberries to sweeten the porridge

Ling ling, Shirley

Clara's much better now, the baluku kind of subsided. My neighhours brought her downside walk walk, wah she's so happy..

Krex

Live near Coral Edge LRT station, directly opposite Punggol Plaza..

haven't been here for a long time. Struggling to cope with Adel being sick and myself down too... Adel has had temp for 2 days and a persistant cough with phelgm. Andhe has runny nose too. His nose is stuck which makes it difficult for him (and) me to sleep at night. I only sleep a total of 3 hours or less before going to school every day. And most nights have to cradle him and sit up to sleep. Sigh.... now i am having throat inflammation and bone ache. I really wished Adel can be well fast so that i can get my regular life back.

Last night went to the PD, she used the machine and sucked all the mucus out from Adel's blocked nose. It was so much , but machine is definitely more effective! but when he came home, same story again. Nose was blocked again, and we sucked it out, he was just screaming like in the torture chambers.... His apetite also very small now, total of not more than 500 ml in a day, no solids, doesn't want anything, just wants to be carried. Not sleeping in the day also, just cry cry cry. How ?????

RX,
Hope SL is better now. You and I in the same boat, only your HB better,can take 3 days leave. Both of us can't . sigh....

Happy_mummy

Sayang Adel... Hope he'll recover soon.

Think you got to be tough when sucking him nose, get those that can cover his nostril complete to get the vacuum effect. Otherwise, won't be effective. I once used the pigeon one, but find that nuk is better lor. And you got to be hard hearted when sucking.. no point doing half way n giving in to him.. That will deplete the purpose n Adel also suffered unnecessarily. I did that to Cheril also, no choice... want to stop but since she's suffering already, do a clean job and she'll feel better also.

Mrs Teng,

Thanks ...I think we are using the pigeon one, the one that we put in his nostrils then we suck out. Dodn't know tht nuk has one too. Where to find ?

Happy_mummy

Kiddy palace, metro, robinson, mothercare.. even those shops selling baby items has it.. Can forget about NTUC or Cold Storage.

2501906.jpg

Happy_mummy,
sayang... think he is sick so more clingy. and he needs to be carried upright lah, cos lying down his nose will be blocked more. hope he recovers fast.

Ruixuan,
don't feel so bad ok? you are a very good mummy lah, but cos of your work, so you can't be with him. but SL is in good hands lah. i think he should get well liao, maybe starting now. SL, get well soon!

Mrs Teng,
remember the rice i told you about? i bot from organic store? its very good. i got the pix taken but didn't have time to upload it. will try to do it tomorrow afternoon.

ok, here's the plan:
next time on tue, pls bake whatever you like - in MORE portions... then you pass to Ling2, but you have to tell her its for me, else later our hbs ate them up... then she can pass the goodies to her hb to pass to my hb and then finally to me... heheheee, tedious process... Thanks in advance, but anything to have that delicious cake, pie and bread!!!

Ling2,
plan set lah. But hor, you have to restrain yourself, DON'T EAT MY PORTION! ;P

Rona

Hahaha! great idea! Will do that as plan..

Anyway, won't be going unnecessarily for the next 2 weeks.. Got to check how many more cases of H1N1 going to emerge.. dun know who, where and when any one can get it. Especially when the case is new and the incubation period takes awhile.

thanks for the replies. It is not due to mastite. My fever is still not down yet. went to see doctor yesterday midnight. actually know that normal panadol is safe (not the extra type)but still dont dare to take the risk to take. Fever very high till cannot tahan so went to see doctor in the end. See doctor I also sacre later doctor prescript the wrong medication which is not safe for breastfeed. haha too pananoid liao so though of asking here first. But after taking the medication the fever still come back leh. sian

Mrs Teng,
what is ur blog url huh? think you given me before? maybe can i link ur blog to mine?

catherine,
yah very long nv post very busy lor. i cant imagine aisleyne bite when she got teeth. It is very painful cos my #1 also bite me when she got teeth, that's y in the end i decided to wean off latching. but both my girls will only bite when they dont want to drink milk. So when they bite i stop. You try to slowly give more feed with bottle lor so she will get use to bottle

happy mummy

hug adel n u leh. must be very mentally n physically strain.

he wants comfort n security fm hugging, so hv to bear with his discomfort.

any way to reduce his mucus? stay in aircon so drier?

I used to sleep hugging M when she was very young every nite. so can understand wat u gng thru.

cry - discomfort? too hot? block nose? want hug? teeth pain?

maybe he telling u smtg.

take care!

Mrs Teng,
sayang Clara. Glad she go downstair walk walk n happy.

aiyo.............. ur food always make me hungry n maybe I shld consider move next to you.

Happy mummy, aiyoh... take care... recently very easy to get sick but not easy to get well... sayang Adel...

Sylvia, no need to consider moving next door to Mrs Teng... her neighbour die die oso wun shift leow... hahaha...

Mrs Teng,
Anyway, got flat upstairs downstairs wanna sell then u post here... sure got pple want to buy... wahaha...

Re: Mummies List
Dunno why PMs are ending up in my Spam folder... will be sorting out...

quite long neber post liao. Haha...does anyone here still give your bb rice cereal ah? Falisha like got not much interest in eating rice/brown rice cereal anymore leh..seems that she likes porridge more!

Can i do a survey? Lemme get the ball rollin yea.

Your BB's food/meals survey
-------------------------------------------------
-> How's the menu/planning like? <-

1) Hui Chin's Falisha

Meals per day?
- 2 porridge meals per day + snacks + milk

How often?
- 5x per wk eat porridge
- 2x per wk eat cereal (with fruits add on)

Oh No... Sg now got case uh.... Haiiizzzz

Msapple
u got fever ? Do take care uh

Sylvia
with recent development like this, r u still going to Japan ? Cancel lah

Jen
Have pmed u

I got an acquantance who just passed away this morning... She got cervix cancer... Been struggling for ard 1,5 yrs.. I just know recently.. SInce hb heard that, now he keep pushing me to take the cervical vaccination... :p

Mommies
need info here... I got an old friend back home.. Seems she never get her period.. When she was 17 yrs, doc gave her med to enable the period. This still going on til now.. News is she mite doesnt have any egg cell !! She just told me recently cos now she's married n really wishes to have her own child... What to do uh ?? any fertility doc or some other way to recommend here ? She doesnt mind to travel here if it helps...

Thanks before uh... posting a long story here :p I can understand her feeling lor so try my best to help if I can....

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies coming for the gathering I have PMed you about it. Since now got confirmed case of H1N1, would you rather I cancel or reschedule? I have no preference
you gals let me know yeah? will check back later tonite... bye for now</font>

hi vern,

will b joining yr gathering. =)

Gathering at Vern's Place
-------------------------

Date: 30 May
Time: 2.30pm
Place: Punggol

1. Vern &amp; Izzy &amp; Hb &amp; maid
2. Linx &amp; Nandini ( hb n else will confirm later )
3. April and Denzel
4. HuiChin &amp; Falisha (HB will oso confirm later)
5. giraffe, Ashley &amp; Anna (tbc)
6. tweety, javier (tbc)
7. Jen (tbc) - no need food
8. Happie and chiemi ( HB tbc later )

hi lingling,

my menses has been irregular and when i was studying in Uni, there's once my menses did not come for 10 mths. so was put on medication for my menses to come monthly. was on medication for few yrs and i was planning for kids after marriage, so stopped the medication. but cos i cant ovualate, was put on medication again... to ovulate...
ok, the whole point is ask your friend to see a gynae (esp those who specialised in fertility) for a thorough check up, then can advise further. but ask your friend to be patient hor, sometimes after taken ovulation medi, may not see results so fast...

Tigg3r
Glad Clara is getting happier liao.... So good uh ur neighbor can bring her go down n walk walk... U r not joining uh ?? My gal still got this stranger anxiety kick in.. need warm up long long :p

Rona
Ahh.. u remind me... How if the baking is so YUMMY, I ACCIDENTALLY eat up all ? heheheh
Anyway can do this not in the coming week lor... Hb's not ard...Overseas again.. WIll b back only in June.. Then I have to urge him for badminton lor... so can pass u everything :p Hope he'll recover fast from his tiring trip or else I have no choice but to finish them myself hihihihi :p

Sylvia
hehehhe, tompang our hbs uh ?? in that case u mite get it only on thursday since Rona's hb will b home very late on Wed so 2 days from the baking hehehe, how ??? :D

Happy mummy
Understand... Nandini just recovering... 2 nite she couldnt sleep properly, next time I'm the one who went down like u hehehe..
Mayb wanna try Karvol ? I used it cos it said the vapour help to unblock nose.. then before sleep, mayb u wanna massage Adel's back n front to make him warm.. Hope his nose got better n mummy can have a little proper rest..

Ruixuan
dont b too sad uh... SL sure know his mummy loves him a lot but just cant b with him for that moment..

Survey on milestones:
1. valnsw's Chevelle - Clap, cruise with support, stand unsupported, walk few steps without support.
2. vern's Izzy - open/close both hands, furniture cruising, stand unsupported only for 2-3 seconds
3. giraffe's anna - open/close both hands, clasp own hands, clap, cruise with support on our hands/furniture, stand unsupported only for up to 10sec (only hb seen, not me.. haha..)
4. eve's Kieren - sit w/o support, stand wz support, turn 360degrees on tummy
5. Linx's Nandini - sit w/o support, crawl on 4s, stands w support, wave, stand unsupported very short while, recently

Huichin
wanna fill ur survey but got bit confused cos I do want ideally bb get at least 2 times solid a day but sometimes not really esp if I'm only by myself :p

Hi Lingling,

My gynae specialises in fertility cases but his charges are not cheap...he has lotsa foreign patients too. If you wish to have his contact, can PM me.

Happy Mummy,
Hope Adel gets well soon and you can have your deserved rest.

Gemini
Thanks.... so ovulation medi helps uh ? let me check with u, prev u have had ur period rite ? in my friend case she never got so they wonder n went see a doc when she's 17.. Got the medi to make her period come.. til now lor... still have hope uh .. ?

Lingling
oh no worries...actually u havent give ur bb solids for normal meals?

For me, if i give porridge i will cook for 2 meals' portion, so can give 2 times...sometimes got abit extra then Falisha will hv porridge for 3x a day. Hahaa..

Survey on milestones:
1. valnsw's Chevelle - Clap, cruise with support, stand unsupported, walk few steps without support.
2. vern's Izzy - open/close both hands, furniture cruising, stand unsupported only for 2-3 seconds
3. giraffe's anna - open/close both hands, clasp own hands, clap, cruise with support on our hands/furniture, stand unsupported only for up to 10sec (only hb seen, not me.. haha..)
4. eve's Kieren - sit w/o support, stand wz support, turn 360degrees on tummy
5. Linx's Nandini - sit w/o support, crawl on 4s, stands w support, wave, stand unsupported very short while, recently
6. HuiChin's Falisha - sit w/o support, furniture cruising (crab style), pick up snacks with index finger n thumb, crawls very fast if excited, clasp own hands, stand in her crib for at least 5-8mins w/o sitting down (haha), sit down on her butt if feels unstable/going to fall

Hisstory
RE: EGG YOLK

Same.. the last time I fed D hard boiled egg yolk, he threw everything out after his nap. In any case, my PD said to hold off eggs till they are one.

We asked about it because we want to give him a flu vaccine before we leave for Melbourne/ Tasmania in late Sept. PD said they can only take the jab IF they are not allergic to eggs. And how to test? When they are one, just give them a tiny bit of cooked egg yolk and if they are allergic to it.. it will show IMMEDIATELY.

hi lingling,

i had my period when i'm 15 but very irregular, like every 2 mths then come. i already see gynae long before i get married... my best advise is to ask your friend to see a fertility gynae (mine is also 1) for a thorough check up then can advise the next course.
i will say that ovalution medi works well for some people which after 1 round, hit the jackpot. for my case, i was not ovulating after 1st round, supposed to start 2nd round, but was preggie liao.

<font color="#CD3278">Wendy</font>
Dunno why she has no problems with the egg yolks we fed fr the kuay chap.. So odd leh

Gd thing the jab u want to give him is after he's 1y.o, so u can still test for egg allergy. What kind of signs may appear?

<font color="#CD3278">happie</font>
Am quite likely to go.. Hopefully HB's onz abt it

Hisstory
PD said a rash will straightaway be evident. Since I already gave him egg yolk the last time and there was no rash.. just the throw-up.. so I reckon he is not allergic? She said probably his stomach was not ready to digest it.

Anyway.. will have to try again when he is one.

Hisstory,
what time u goin? i', going round 11plus 12, mayb can see u there, =)

Snow74,
Its at pit building. It's actually a bazaar for club 21. hopefully i can find some gd buy for chiemi this time. the last time only manage to get 1 dkny top for her at $5 coz i went on the last day .

WEndy,
I got it, they sent to my place a small tin.

Thanks for all your concern. Just would like to ask, do your bb sleep alot when they are sick ? Adel hasn't slept for the whole day even though we gave him 2 drowsy medicine liao ! How ??! Is it normal or he just very uncomfortable?

Bleesed,
No need to worry about the medicine. Doc should be responsible and give you something suitable for BF. Better eat medicine else cannot get well leh

wendy, hisstory
sorry reply so late. am down with viral flu.

my friend who has an older gal also used to nurse bb to sleep when younger as part of bedtime routine. but she managed to transit her gal out of having milk right before sleeping. she now puts her gal down to bed awake and jus tell her goodnight and exits. so it's do-able!!!

happy mummy
when E was down for viral fever, he had difficulties taking longer naps. tink he was uncomfortable. he was able to sleep @ his normal scheduled timings, but would only take 30-45min naps.