(2008/08) Aug 2008

krex78,
ic. no wonder she talks like tat. well, if wking p/t is better, than by all means go 4 it. some1 once told me, we can go back 2 our careers later on in life, bt we can nvr go back 2 our kids' childhood. tis is wat i told hb whenever he complains tat i m not working hard enough. coz i dun wan 2 miss out on their milestones. :p

briebaby,
hang in thr... c things got better tday...

Yuuri,
next time if i get lost in this part of the world, must call you liao..... you can be the mini travel handbook for us!

krex what nonsense! If she has a go at you again tell her that people who work smart are the ones that don't need to do OT!
Hee! Hee! My ex-director used to tease us by telling that when we mentioned we were OTing. Anyway they have no right to force you to stay after office hours.

Yah agree with rona better check out the terms of part time work and make sure you'll not be taken advantage of. I have a friend who's contracted to work on part time basis but ended being given as much work as a full timer but on part time salary!

Eve
kao_welcome.gif

morning mummies

after yesterday long day, today is going to be another long day for me. and for the first time, hubby is going to handle all by himself for the day. don't know if he can make it or not, so worrying. hehee.... but he needs to be independent too. i think he will either keep calling me or i will keep calling back to check on yu ze.

yesterday night, i reach home late too. then hubby call me to say yu ze only drink 80ml of milkm, how? he try all sort of method that works with me also don't work for him. then call me back in 30 mins and say, yu ze drink another 80ml only, still got balance 30ml, how? yu ze sleeps liao, don't want milk already how?

really can't imagine what will happen to my poor yu ze with hubby today.

brie,

no lah, dun need to wait 20 yrs. my friend just related to me that day that her elder son (4 yrs) told his younger brother (2 yrs) not to make mommy angry while she was driving the 2 boys home. the younger one was throwing a tantrum, i think. so yes, kids are getting smarter these days. but i guess this will only happen if u consistently show love for them. no wonder motherhood is so tough. u have to keep working to perfect your mothering skills all the time...no room for slacking :p

rona/ mrs n,

yah, i also feel ppl who work OT just do so to show their boss they're very busy or they can't manage their work well. for me to go home on time each day, i stay very focused during the day. most of my colleagues would be gossiping and taking breaks at each other's cubicles but i'm always in mine trying to finish up everything. my only break is lunch time and toilet break, haha. i guess that statement hurt coming from a woman. if men can't understand, i expect women to at least show some empathy.

i guess i can negotiate on workload and all. i feel if i stay in my position, it's hard to keep up on BF coz' i need to respond to situations very quickly and get out of the office more often. so difficult to pump. and becoz team is lean, work is plenty. not that it'll be smooth sailing when i take on another portfolio when i turn part time, but i guess i won't know until i try. working PT also gives me more time to look for another more suitable job and get out of this awful culture that does not support family life. sigh, i really dunno how. decisions decisions, always so hard to make!

ceyln,
hey! i thought will be seeing you today?! aiyoh, so busy and still got time to buy the t-shirts for us... thanks! you see how lah, if you can finish come join us. i will be going with jerold only too, cos hb got to be the driver for the kids today...

BBs swimming session in the West
1) YLN
2) HuiChin (tentatively)
3) Sylvia
4) interrace (tentatively)
5) missysz

snow,
am i too late for the ON spree? i am so upset. i cant log in from office since Thursday. i hope they didnt ban this site.

krex,
your boss is a lady? hang in there. meantime, maybe can look out for other job?

have been busy past 2 days - so only skim through all the posting and read up a few more recent ones.

a warm welcome to eve and other mummies who have decided to join us!

aiyoh, jerold is still coughing, saw dr cheng two days back and given rhinathiol and zrytec. but the phelgm still there leh... **sigh** and i'm going away on monday... *sigh* *sigh*

Krex,
Like you, I was also marked down in my job because of my pregnancy last year. And I was very upset with Adel because I was on my way to the top when things started crumbling down for me. But mum reminded me that life's like that, you gain some, you lose some. I still can't really come to terms with this, but I have decided to start somewhere else next year. I will not work for people who mark me down.

Tree,
hope jerold is better liao ....

Brie,
Issac ate yesterday ! Dun fret too much, babies also have bad days. If Adel doesn't eat, I'll just eat his nutritious meal all up ! kekekeke

rona,
is jerold cough still bad ? bernice is almost ok le. i stopped all medication already... cos already 1 week i dont want her to keep taking them. the last i gave was zenmolin for the phlegm, i feel quite good lei. after 2 days the phlegm all gone. is he sleeping well at night ? got snore ?

re: maid
aiya i wana complain again. that day i asked her watch bernice while i go shower and then she got a bruise on her face. very small one la but lasted about 5 days. now still got abit.. then yesterday i had to go to the room to take her clothes so i asked my maid to watch bernice who was on the bumber mat. then suddenly i hear her cry very loudly and my mom screaming at "me" cos she thot i made her cry... went down the maid say bernice tried to stand up but cannot thats why she cry.. then i carried her away.. calm her down and saw another small bruise near the eyes. Then hb came back shortly and asked me why bernice face so red is it fall down, i ask him go ask the maid. then the maid say bernice try to stand up but cannot. then i say what else, did she knock anything ? then she said she fell on her face... i said if fell on the face why got bruise mark near the eyes. Then again at dinner i asked her to see the bruise mark (it was still red la) she say maybe insect bite... i said tomorrow let's see if the bruise come out or not then you tell me is it insect bite. this morning i see, abit bruise already. i havent ask the maid to see yet.. actually i'm not really angry cos i know it's very diff to watch her esp when she is SUPER hyper. but i dont like that she deny. this is the 3rd time than when she watch bernice something happen. And we only get her to watch IF we need to do something and it wont be more than 30mins. Anyway then i told hb, "see this is what happens when u get the maid to watch her" cos he always complain that i refuse to let the maid watch bernice. That day she tried to teach bernice speak tagalog, hb scolded her.

Cat,
got phelgm kinda of cough, should be similiar to waht bernice had, except his lungs all clear and the phelgm sounds like its from the throat. yeh, zenmolin is good for opening up the airways, don't know if this is the medicine to dissolove the phelgm and so that bb can pass out (from their motion). Yes, jerold is sleeping well, but not much snoring. hope he is recovering and not getting worst lor, cos i'm going away and will be worrisome if he does.

rona,
i think as long as he is sleeping well thats impt cos means he gets good rest and body can "fight" the germs better
initially bernice couldnt sleep and woke up every 1 hour to cos she gag on the phlegm.

Brie

Glad to hear that Issac took the Chicken porridge, try giving it to him again for lunch this afternoon, dun change just yet.. yah!! get him used to this taste first, den you add one type of veggie (small amount), subsequently add a little more the next feed... Yes, I understand it may sound boring to have the same thing, but trust me... at these age, they still can't really figure out what boredom yet. They haven't complain about boredom from taking milk rite? This menu will probably last you about a week.. den change to fish but stick on with the veggie that he likes, that way, he can't tell the difference. Use small amount of fish, dun use Cod fish yet, there'll be a very distinctive and he may reject it, use Ikan kurau (thread fin aka Gor Hu).

Catherine

My tactic towards my maid being honest with me is:

Eg, if baby cry suddenly, I ask them why, if dun tell me, I'll ask if they fall? knock against anyway? Which part of the body was hurt? Initially, they gave me blur look becos they scared I scold them, I told them it's okay to tell me honestly, I won't scold if they are honest but if they lied and my babies show any signs of abnormalities, I'll scold more fiercer den if I scold them now.. I'll not just scold at home but be at clinic, hospital or public area.. especially in front of their country man.. They can't afford to loose face one.. so they now very honest with me.. show me wat happen, tell me where the gals knock.. Even, when they play with the gals, they are extra careful lor.. ALWAYS use reverse psychology.. It works on my cases..

If tell them going out, they automatically pack bags n milk supplies.. Dun have to do it myself.. All I need to tell them where we are going, and they'll know how many things to bring and how many milk feed to bring lor...

mrs teng,
i just got back from the market. got the shou rou (the uncle said also known as ruan rou). is this the one that u mentioned? i tried to tell the uncle like what u said its the only ONE pcs in a pig but he looked at me w his puzzled look full of question marks. haha..

cat,
your maid ah...actually u have quite high tolerance threshold.

snow,
thanks for replying to my sms.
so funny that i was the one who hinted openly to u to organize the ON spree but i missed it myself. haha..but nvm, hubby said take it as savings! ;p

mrs teng
i not so lucky like you have so trainable maid. my maid each time i go out will ask me how much milk to bring, need water or not etc.. i pack her own clothes to bring. cos she dono what i want. My maid is very scatter brain one. each time must remind. she can forget pillow, ever forget milk powder, wetwipes etc.. sigh ..

and i also ever told her what you said .. just maybe like i say u luckier with maids

missysz
for porridge i buy "mei rou".

catherine,

i dun understd ur maid at all. she was d 1 who kept clamouring 2 look after bernice. yet when she has 2 d past few times, bernice managed 2 fall down in her care?? my gal has been trying 2 std up aso. i c tat my maid is always beside her. so thr's no way tat she can fall down 1.

Cat,
Is it like the "watch the fire" incident some time back? Maybe you have to tell her to "watch Bernice so that she doesn't fall". Since she isn't that smart, gotta spell that out for her as well.

Krex,
Yah, I hope I dun have to wait 20yrs!!

rona,

actually, my big boss is trying to conceive. all my colleagues are praying it will happen so she will mellow down and stop screaming at us. but i also told them given her temperament, it's likely she will scream the whole dept down when she's preggie, esp when she has hormonal changes :p

happy mummy,

yah, it's like that. i've come to terms with it already. i don't even aim high these days. all i ask for is a 9-to-5 job that gives me a decent pay. we spend too many hours working and too little time with our loved ones.

good afternoon mommies

krex78
Yr big boss so garang ha??????
Hmmm..im sensitive i dont think i can stand people shouting at me...duhhh

<font color="ff6000">krex</font>
Your boss sounds like she doesn't empathise w your situation.

As for the part-time job, I think gotta look carefully. As what some mummies mention, sometimes it's more like full-time job with part-time pay.

<font color="ff6000">vone</font>
What you say is so apt. Can always go back to career later but the yrs spent with my baby cannot never be recovered.
Ya, sometimes I also think to myself, should I just let go and spend the best yrs of my life with my kid? Not easy decision.

<font color="ff6000">Cat</font>
Your maid is really quite jialat.
Anyway, my maid does tell me if there's a v obvious bruise somewhere, she will tell me what happened. I guess it's cos of my mum managing the maid. She's v strict w her.

Talking abt maid, my maid is also not that great either. We found out thru caller-ID that she has been receiving calls from overseas and from the neighbour's maid! And this neighbour's maid is v bold and brazen. No discipline at all. When her employer (this old man) is not around, she will starting singing and talking v loudly to the other neighbours' maids. My mum is concerned abt this neighbour's maid being a bad influence on my maid. So now we're just keeping quiet and monitoring, finding a way to warn that neighbour's maid.

Thanks to everyone for the warm welcome! :D

Interrace
I also silent read mostly cos most of my time is spent handling Kieren lor. even go toilet/bathe also must see timing

Mrs Teng
hahaha. sure no problem. at least u are a much much better cook than me. thats for sure! so far so gd (*keeps my fingers &amp; toes crossed*), he's been rather appreciative of my cooking. actually he used to be in the 10th/25th percentile until recently when he shot up to 75th percentile. think its bcos he started to take semi-solids liao.

btw, wanted to ask u how to blend the brown rice in bulk huh? if i wash the rice before blending then it'll not be powder form liao right?

April
hello! thks for the compliments. i'm sure ur baby is also cute as a button. in fact, all babies are cute! actually mulberry told me abt the gathering but i was too shy to join in... hee. i'll join in when there's a gathering again

snow
actually being SAHM is also not a bad idea. u can consider n try persuading ur hubby. btw, babies this age are too young to "molest" each other lah so dun worry abt boys n girls slping next to each other ya.

krex
oh my gosh... ur boss is so mean lor. so insensitive. tsk. wanna gv her 1 tight slap (sorry ah i v chor lor one). hope the p/t position will work out for u.

i also had a female boss like urs (when i was still working) n i hated her to the core

mulberry
hahaha, ya finally right. I want to see ur princess Jasmine leh. I also always pinch my Kieren's cheeks. hahahaha, bth lah.
actually i'm free most of the days. but me hor, still havent hv the courage to bring Kieren out by myself (yes, not even to nearby compasspoint...). v lousy hor?

valnsw
ya, i must agree that this thread is really really happening lor! the thread moves really fast!

fairybees
I can say that I'm officially addicted to this forum... hiakhiak. so much so that hubby n me have to fight for use of the PC at times.

catherine
wow, another holiday! envy envy... i thought u just came back frm Japan not long ago?

Catherine

I'm not as lucky at the beginning lor.. also vomit blood during the first 2 months when the maids were here..

Missysz

I really dun know if I got it wrong...I always tell the uncle I want 'Yao rou' ~ 猪腰肉 (not sure is it the same as 'mei rou' that Catherine mentioned..

Eve

Wah! Keiren really progress so fast.. so happy for him.. How I wished my gals be like him.. How much he normally eat per meal?

To get powder form,

Wash the brown rice,
Pat dry
Sun it or dry fry the rice until fully dried (For best results, dry fry (more hygienic) and and put in the oven for about 5 mins (100 degree C )to get rid of any excessive moisture that may not have been totally dried.

Cool n den blend, keep in air tight container..

For me, I normally use slow cooker, so I dun do the powder form.. And I also dun use a lot when I make porridge for the gals..

Mrs Teng
She is so cute
Your twins are they identical? I can't tell who is who? By the way, thanks for the yummy recipe. Gonna to try it when Trudy is fully recovered

Eve
Welcome tho this thread. Keiren is so adorable

yuuri
ya ..
start with C one...

BBs swimming session in the West
1) YLN
2) HuiChin (tentatively)
3) Sylvia
4) interrace (tentatively)
5) missysz

i think 1 may is a good day..cuz PH..i noticed lately quite hot..so maybe we make it at 10am? otherwise, by 11am..very hot liao..

i got abt $150 worth of orders 4 HT oledi. i need another $100 to get d 15% d/c. anymore mummies wan 2 order? pls pm me.

Graduated from the toothless club:

Miss Misaki Abigail Hashimoto

from: a proud and worry mummy (because she'll soon know how to bite my nipple ouchhhh)

eve: welcome! I also stay in sengkang. your baby is soo handsome

Girraffe: was that u who asked about katuk leaf capsule. If u want to try I can give u some. just let me know.I'll send it to u

Krex: try to take it easy yeah. some people say nasty things sometimes because they are actually unhappy people. If u set your priority right, and do it for people u love the most, you will not regret whatever decision u'll make.

Mulberry: I still havent got chance to upload the pics.. sorry bit slow.

vone,
cos my stupid maid sit behind her so when bernice stand up she fall fwd. thats what i think la cos when i came down bernice was seat in front of her.

hashisan,
welcome to the nipple bitten club

Catherine: u really dont want to find new maid ah? she doesnt sound okay to me ..hmmm
I mean last time u wanted to return her to agency then took her back, won't she have some ill feelings towards your family bcoz of that?

yeah yeah I know the infamous electric shock nipple bitten club.

why hubby cancel the trip?

Rona: hope Jerold recover real soon. Zyrtec and Rhynathiol can work well if u give them regularly.

Dp Group Photoshot
Hi, nice meeting all mummies who turn up... hope u all had fun.. me and hubby plus SL very tired after the event...
Hope the pics turn up nice...

SL sleep alot
Before and during the shot. after the shot, SL slept too...

<font color="0000ff">April</font>
yea! denzel can crawl liao. eh i think it's coz of peer pressure...haha.. coz he saw the other babies crawl during the gymboree class.

<font color="0000ff">Brie</font>
good to hear Isaac finished up mommy's made with love porridge

<font color="0000ff">eve</font>
no lah u not lousy. i understand ur worry.
i only brought Jasmine out by myself when she's abt 5mths old. the 1st time i brought her out it was just to compasspoint and it was very quick trip, i think 30mins only..haha. Then slowly slowly went out longer time and then further distance.

U wanna try bring out Kieren next week to compasspoint? i can meet u there and help u (in case u worry cannot handle him by urself).

<font color="0000ff">hashisan</font>
congrats misaki graduated from the toothless club liao ;) hmmm...actually should congrats or not ah coz like u said the biting will begin now..keke..
Jasmine so far (cross fingers) doesn't bite my nipple. only once many weeks back, she bit me coz i forced her to drink more. thus she protest by biting :p
eh no worries abt the pics. upload when u have the time ya.

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
envy u lah, u going for another trip?

<font color="0000ff">ruixuan</font>
when can see the pics? i wanna see the all cutie babies pic. ;)

dphotofolio Lost and Found
any mummy left a timberland pink shoe after the photoshot?? Kindly contact DP..

Look like finding Cinderella

hi ladies.
again, i make both my gals so tired till i'm so free after 8.30pm...hee hee.... =P

m2b
nice meeting u just now, mae is really a clever gal. =)

actually my #1 can differentiate between gal and boy de, she noe go toilet cannot let boy see 1 hor.
ha ha....dun ask me why, even zynn also dun let boy or uncle touch 1 leh.

vone
i saw most cc did that when i went cc hunting previously, actually i dun like to give my gals an idea that they can shower with boy.
but i agree that they can build up on their comm skill if go to cc.

valnsw
actually me very bad 1, i crossing finger that my sis din get the unit she ballot...ha ha... =D
but once she got it, really sian liao lor.
i'm ok with being a sahm, but sometime its not easy using man's $ leh. =(

rona
beside shower together, i also concern how they shower actually.
cos both my gals skin sensitive, shower not clean very problematic 1 wor.

missysz
so sorry that i din manage to wait for u, cos this round really too many order liao.
actually i'm taking a risk also, hopefully dun kena gst.

next round if got sale, will let u noe again okie!?!?!

eve
my gal noe de.
i only afraid that if she refused to shower with boy, how will they force her?
can u imagine how torturing if u are in her shoes? -_-"
i did not teach them anything, they auto noe the diff de leh.
so maybe like what vone said lor, look for a cc that dun do that.

hashisan
congrats on misaki graduation....hee hee....

brie
isaac look like xiao da ren in this photo, so cute.

okie mummies, think i better sleep early while i can.
"see" u!

Photoshoot DP
nice meeting many mommies n cute bbs there
Hope many pics will turn out nice.. We practically almost tore down the place uh ? heheheh

Ruixuan
Finally can meet u n saw SL... He really have a very cuteeee smile uh
many gal mite fal for that hehehehe... too bad got match oredi :p

Hashisan
*high five * graduated also from toothless club :
Ms. Nandini Rajeswari Raman hehehehe
now she bites everything she can get hold to but still refuse to show the pearlie :p

Eve
hehehehe.. now u mentioned, me n hb oso competing to get hold of the laptop.. he said I'm very addicted liao :p

tried latching jonah on again yest but was unsuccessful. this time, he didn't even attempt to drink milk. the moment i put him to the breast, he started to bite liao. then when i said "no" and "slapped" his cheeks, he started wailing miserably. i think that affected his milk intake. when i gave him the bottle shortly, he refused to drink. in the end he only managed to drink 100ml and wasted 50ml, sigh.

dunno whether i shld try again next week or give up latching on. i hate being a slave to pumping, esp during weekends.

*xian*

hashisan &amp; ling,

Congrats to the graduation fm toothless club!!

usually they wont show them till later. tongue will be there to 'protect'

oh........... latch-on might be painful as they are unaware that they hv 2 extra below. So hv to teach them. I think upper n below will hurt more?