(2008/08) Aug 2008

Good Morning Mommies!
Yday on leave so brought #1 out shopping…went Isetan w fren and bought Mae’s new milk bottles, lingerie and toys for the 2 gals…then went Taka BB Fair and bought Mae’s somemore toys…bb items should get from Taka instead coz got additional 10% if Taka member…

Snow,
Haha, looks like we each have a lazy rat at home…
Gym – me going today too, trying to keep to 3x a week…

Nini,
You must be feeling so upset when your hb slapped Braiden…like some mommies comment, how about sleeping with bb in separate room so his crying won’t disturb your hb?

Hashisan,
Mae wants to stand too! When we carry her, she will sort of struggle to be placed on the floor standing up…

Giraffe,
Sorry to hear about your grandma. You take care too.

Melmal,
I brgt Mae to Jacob Ballas before…can be quite hot for bb but Mae was ok and enjoyed the walk…try to go early morning or maybe evening?

i just came back from kk. brought yu ze to see doc. he got running nose. he is so poor thing, didn't really sleep last night. then this mummy choose to ignore him and only give him pacifier. only realise that his nose is blocked by the mucus this morning that's why he was so uncomfortable throughout the night.

the doc at kk commented that yu ze is light for his age. he is 6.72kg, 7 months and 1 week old baby. doc ask about my weight history. so i can expect hubby to nag on this issue again for a few days.

then send him to babysitter's place, now i'm pumping and later going back to office. i was not in office for 3 days liao, today still don't go back sure got a mountain of work to clear.

hubby is away for camp again and will be back only on sun. luckily, babysitter says she will help me to look after yu ze tomorrow afternoon so that i can rest.

Interrace, Catherine

I dun serve just the bottled food like that to my gals. Just like wat you girls mentioned, smell may be too strong for them.
I give one tbsp each of the veggie together with cereal or porridge to my gals. So sometimes can give them 2 types lor. My only advantage is 2 gals can finish one bottle within 24 hrs.

SURVEY - WHICH BABY IS ON PACI? Reliance on it?
1. Shint, need it before sleep and when bored.
2. Sam, need it to sleep or when blasting off. Will suck so vigorously tat you can see the print of the paci around the mouth & foam under the paci
3. Tigg3r, need to sleep or when blasting off. Suck vigorously too, Wail out loud when paci drop during nap in the day time.. put back auto sleep mode again...

celyn
same with ethan!! he woke up @ 12mn 2 nights ago. i thot he CHU pattern again. i ignored him...then he went back to bed. the next morning, i realised that he was having a runny nose! that's y he woke up. think had nose congestion too. last night, he woke @ 2.30am and coughed. but went back to sleep. poor babies! but also glad that they can go back to sleep even when nose blocked. cos what i can do also right???

cat,
can get ht bottled items from cold storage?
which flavour u bought ? feed just like that after scoop some out from the bottle, no need to warm huh? did u try eating some ? i added water to the heinz one, not nice lei..tasteless...maybe i spoilt the thingy by adding water?

Mrs teng,
oh..too strong to feed on itself ah?

celynlee,
i also fear of my son's light weight, tat's why avoid doc like flies..kekeke..
so yu ze will be fine after some medication?

Nini,
ask your hb not to slap braiden lah. he's too small to understand and I'm pretty sure nobody likes to be slap. Its a very demoralizing act. Even if next time you need to discipline him, use the cane on the hands or legs, but ever slap across the face.

Burberry sale
can share if anything's good this time round? didn't go this year...

krex78
yah, my gynae also didn't use the scan to check if womb shrank or not. think the gynae knows if womb has returned to normal by pressing.

Sam,
Did your gynae pick up anything when you were preggy so he did a scan for you when you went for check-up after delivery? It could be the case... I had a fibrod in womb - picked up during scan when preggy so when i miscarry that time, the doc scan to check if the fibrod is still there or not...

Celyn,
Hope yu ze is better now. Jerold has cold too and blocked nose. his condition has improved but still having the cough. going to bring him back for tuina today.

Sylvia,
you seem to have a good knowledge of japan! next time i go japan will ask you to plan my itinery...

Timmin,
yah, the traffic there is very bad during IT (especially) exhibition. Hope you are feeling better today too. How's ethan?

Brought Jerold to see the doc too and his comment is that babies will start to fall sick after 6th month as his own anti-bodies built up during womb time is worn off... natural...

val/m2b: yes talk to him liao but he always say in a fit of anger he do this, he do that.

I do think my Braiden is very terrible too. He is really a monster at night..Can u imagine.. Suddenly wake up n cry 1.30am..no matter how u pacify him he jus refused n cry even louder. Ignoring him n he jus scream n scream v v loud. That is why hubby slapped him.. He stopped for awhile n then cried even louder! Yesterday he cried for 2hrs which i sleep at 3.30am then 4am, 5am, 6am make noise like cry for a min or two..

Today im goin to buy earplug for us. Hubby hear no noise, dun need to slap bb. Then i can really harden my heart n let Braiden CIO.

Braiden is the worst bb i ever seen..at night i mean. Never seen of such a terrible bb before. Argh!!

rona
my turn to see the doc today. my previous UTI didn't clear totally. had remnants of it. thank God managed to track it today. so got to take another dosage of antibiotics. SIANZ! and got to go back after 2 weeks. i also kena fungal infection. doc said it's normal...if take antibiotics, may cause fungal overgrowth. sighhhhhhhhh...spend $ again.

ethan's better...i guess. but nose still runny. tho' he's still as active as ever...wch is good! oh...i didn't know that anti-bodies wear off by 6mths. feel better that it's normal.

timminbuzz: my sis also prone to UTI.. u know wat.. her secret to clearing it.. drinking raddish juice.. Smells/taste awful but it works v well for her..

NiNi
raddish juice?!?! hmmmm....
i heard of cranberry. i did take cranberry juice when i had it... then stopped. i tink i must keep taking it and continue with it for long long time. sianz...

timmin,
Take care take care. its very tough to fall sick as a mummy... still got to take care of kids and housework etc... Remember to finish the antibiotics... wait, you say the antibiotics may cause fungal overgrowth? then do you need to take another dose of something to stop the fungal growth or treat the fungal later?
*scratch head*

Interrace,
not sure leh. some people say can take some multi-vit to booast up immunity, one of my friend likes to give Sambacus, but these are usually for kids above 1 yo. think not much choice for now, our babies still have to fall sick on and off to develope immunity on their own.

rona
i'm hving a fungal infection now n it may hv been due to my last round of antibiotics. doc gave me cream n itch meds. but may not go away cos i'm taking another round of antibiotics now. so got to go back in 2weeks to make sure uti clears then treat fungal if it persists. now i may jus hv to bear with it. boohoo...

timminbuzz: yes..the raddish make into juice. My sis say it v awful to drink. but she claims after drinking it, she can go toilet instantly liao.

interrace,

not true bb has to fall sick lah. So hv to improve their immune system.

I noe mediacorp has the seminar on it, nt sure end or nt.

but coz age 12 kids nt allow... so I cant go in without the bb......

rona,

nt a prob. u can pm me when u need it. but u hv to tell me where n wat u want to see n go leh. coz jap very big.

I usually will send a summary of recommended places of that particular city that ppl want to go, then they read up n decide themselves. coz diff ppl like diff things.

Nini,

Braiden is not a worse bb in the night.

It's just his character. Understanding it as he's trying to communicate with you as parents.

Maybe he's teething or nt feeling well?

Day time we r more patient as we r awake, night time as we are sleepy so the temper become short.

re: isetan sale
nuttin fantastic..i went around 8pm+..alot of pigeon stuff like the made in japan trg cup i wanted to buy all dun haf..sooo disaapointed.
Fisher Price toys got 30% off, but no interesting toys to buy..
oni got char a HK haversack which is on 20% off..hee..

Valnsw,
U were asking if changing to enfalac will affect bb's stool rite?
So far Char's stool has been quite watery..maybe becos of the apples i give her every morning.
she oni got "pastey" poo once in a while..

re : sick to boast immunity.
tks tree & sylvia..will google it out..

re : enfapro.
who drinking enfapro 2 liao ?

re : ht bottled food.
just went to grab the peas and cereal. will try feed over wkend. cos usually wkend i dunno what to puree (lazy to puree) then plus wanna go out, so buy instant food, more conveninent gua.
will try to mix cereal and bottle veggies like what mrs teng recommend and also feed straight from bottle like wat cat did, test and see my son's reaction loh.

I'm so sad...hb called yday and said might have delay and not able to come back next Fri...sob sob...after waiting for so long...so near yet so far...

Interrace,
I feed Mae the bottled food directly from the jar...she can finish 1 bottle now...sometimes not enuf too...if it is meal like turkey with vegetables, I will heat it up

wa..M2B, mae got good appetite..

turkey and veggies got salt rite ? i just saw from the label at carrefour.
for stage 1 bottles, no salt.
stage 2, got salt liao.

<font color="ff6000">sylvia</font>
Got pumpkin fair at Carrefour? mb shd ask hb to buy but think he also doesn't knw what to get.

<font color="ff6000">interrace</font>
hehe for a while I almost tot u're preggie again!
My bb is taking enfapro.

<font color="ff6000">reirei</font>
I wanted to knw anybody whose bb has switched from Enfalac to Enfapro and how is the poo like? Cos noticed my bb's poo abit harder, not as watery after switching from Enfalac to Enfapro.

<font color="ff6000">M2B</font>
How long more does your hb have to be there? If just a lil while more, just be patient ya? After all, u've alrdy waited for 3 wks.

<font color="ff6000">RE: TV</font>
I realise Chevelle only laughs/giggles when I play the Baby Noah disc of the Baby Einstein. Duno why.. play other discs, wun have such happy reaction. Seems that she likes those animals and puppets making action. weird...

I switch it on whenever I need her to eat her porridge. But seems now she's not so interested in the disc, she will grab the hanky to play!

<font color="ff6000">RE: babies falling sick</font>
Seems like a number of babies sick. Take care! Especially now the weather hot and cold v fast.

Tim &amp; Interrace,
Yup, I have intro meat to Mae already...frankly, Mae tries many stuff that we ate lah...coz she greedy and will swallow saliva when we eating lah...so kelian...

Interrace,
I have given Mae Stage 2 HT bottled food already but home-cooked porridge is still without salt or sauce though

Valnsw,
I was so pissed yday when hb told me delayed so I can't be bothered to ask how long more liao...hiaz, so sad!
I think Mae will TOTALLY reject hb when he is back!

Valnsw,
Char switched from enfalac to enfapro for 1-2 weeks liao. Stool still watery..not hard at all.

M2B,
Nvmd le..where's ur hb? ask him to get u a gift loh..or u got his supp card? Swipe it!! >;P

some maid questions:

1) do u have to buy undergarments for her? eg bra n panties??

2) how does she do her own laundry? i intend to let her do 1 load a week. is this ok?

3) how much clothing should i provide for her? eg. when she arrives should i bring her out to buy? i thot of buying her 8 sets of clothing, this enough?

4) what kind of snacks do u provide for her? im gonna provide her w a bunch of biscuits/ bread n fruit ok?

* any other tips to handle new maid will be much appreciated

im so happy w my sleep training...yesterday she only cry less than a min when we put her down! n slept all the way, she woke once..eh-eh a bit then sleep again. lovely!!

M2B,
Don't be upset lah. Me feel more kelian for my YUMIN cos hubby confirmed overseas posting for her 1st bday. Also got news he might be posted out during the 2nd bday... I even more sian...

m2b,
cheer up okay? his extension was due to work? i think you were anticipating for his return and now feel disappointed? hugs.

gayle,
hope this helps.

some maid questions:

No, she brought her own undergarments.

2) how does she do her own laundry? i intend to let her do 1 load a week. is this ok?
She washes her clothes on alternate days.

3) how much clothing should i provide for her? eg. when she arrives should i bring her out to buy? i thot of buying her 8 sets of clothing, this enough?
I didn't buy clothing for her when she came. Her clothing seems decent and clean so I was ok. But got her some tee shirts and a pair of jeans for her to wear out, i.e CNY.

4) what kind of snacks do u provide for her? im gonna provide her w a bunch of biscuits/ bread n fruit ok?
She eats what we eat most of the time.

thanks missysz:

u say ur maid do her laundry on alternate days...using washing machine right? does she wash just her own clothes? not together w family clothes right?

gayle,

some maid questions:
<font color="0000ff">no, she brings or buys her own</font>

<font color="119911">I told maid to handwash her laundry everyday. not that much what... If possible, handwash our laundry too</font>

<font color="ff0000">i don't provide clothings. unless you want her to be dressed in uniform. but i will tell her to wear decent clothings, ie, no spaghti straps tops and short shorts since there are men in the house as well</font>

<font color="aa00aa">she usually eats what we eats. if she wants extra and its not too ex, will get it for her too. Like my maid likes a particular brand coffee, reasonable price, i get for her</font>

Nini,
Just my 2 cents..since u wanna try the CIO method - when babies cry, they take in a lot of air, which can cause gas. Therefore, it is common for crying to cause gas as opposed to the gas causing your baby to cry. So he might repeatedly cry throughout the nite with gaps of an hour or 2...so try finding out if this is the cause. I had this problem with mine..because she cried too much during the day once..and caused so much of discomfort for her at nite...she was getting up like every 2 hrs and when i burped her..she was asleep again.

valnsw,
tks for the milk changed info. think diff baby diff poo poo after changing milk powder. reirei baby poo still watery after changed.i havent switched yet, will switch once he finished the last two stage 1 milk.
very ex, stage one cost 41.50 at ntuc now..must change to stage 2.

coolsnow,
nope, me bought the stage one bottles.
m2b feed her baby with stage 2 ones, should be okie to feed stage 2 bottles lah, cos is in puree form, they will be able to swallow and digest well.as for feeding baby meat, my boy taking fish porridge also, will let him try the stage 2 food next wk ba..

today thread very quiet hor, mommies all went to sale liao ?

Thanks interrace..u know what..mostly i buy branded jeans for myself..but nothing really fits perfectly or satisfies me the most as compared to the brandless cheap jeans...like the one i bought at isetan sale recently..capri jeans for 10 bucks! heheheh...so maybe the bazaar shopping will benefit me too...

melmal..
i always buy cheap jeans..esp those at bkk..only 8bucks!! fits nicely loh..

sorry ah, me is a cheapo mom, tend to go for
便宜货.

Regarding the CIO method, since all bbs are different so Nini, maybe thsi method isnt suitable or doesnt work for Braiden? Hope all will go well for you soon.

ReiRei,
Yalor, I will swipe his card this weekend to make myself feel better…

Sam &amp; Missyz,
Yalor, I’m anticipating his return and now he says extending again so it REALLY pissed me off! What kind of stupid planning is that lor?! Sure must do something to make myself happy man…hiaz

Coolsnow &amp; Interrace,
The Stage 2 is for 6 to 9 months and Mae is coming 8 months this 29th liao so can lah…she takes all sort of food well…heehee

Interrace

Well! which ever method you prefer, as long as baby is happily eating the food. My PD said my method is acceptable, cos it give them the balanced diet. Just as long as babies eat can liao. Cereal is iron-fortified and also help fill the tummy while the veggies provide the mineral and vitamins.. Just the way we eat dinner outside, rice and side-dishes. Personally, I think that would train them to differentiate the taste. Like porridge is plain, veggies are flavoured. Den in future, they won't bargain for food.

Today's lunch is Pork, potato and sweetcorn porridge for my gers... It seemed that they are not used to the fresh sweetcorn I used. They still prefer the Heinz bottled ones.

Dinner will be Threadfin, potato and carrot porridge, top up with 1 tbsp of Heinz Golden mash vegetable (think got pumpkin n sweet potato inside)

Rata

Have you sold your 2 panels?
Are you letting go the door panel as well?
Thot of getting one plain and a door panel from you.
Where are you putting up?

M2B,
like mae, i like to expose my son to all sorts of food too.

very fast hor..8mths on 29th mar... time really flies sia.. very soon they will be 7yrs old, gg primary school liao ?

Interrace,
Hehe, yalor, I give Mae abit of whatever we eat...find her a better eater than my #1...she drinks and finishes her solids so much faster...hope she stays this way man.

Time really flies, imagine last year we still preggie this time...now they are out and giving us headaches...haha

Celyn

Dun worry so much about Yu ze's weight, you are not alone. Cheril is only 6kg when she was 8 months old, isn't she more lighter den him?

Val,

ask him buy each type of pumpkin loh.

Hahaha!! dun buy those in a whole one lah. so big. those small ones can consider too.

Mommies asking abt sureclean products,

I have the whole range. I must say the SUrface cleaner and kitchen clean is a very very good buy.

I use the surface clean on the floor n its darn good.

was thinking of getting the surface clean and the dish clean. the dish clean is very cheap! even if i buy mama lemon, mama lemon is so much more then the dish clean... will order now