(2008/08) Aug 2008

Megan

Wat to do? only me taking care of babies, will die ah! My mum can't help cos she taking care of 3 kids liao.. My MIL dun want to help, only want to play with bb. So my hb very siong lor, esp now got economic downturn...

Hi Samantha,

Was thinking to expose him to Baby can read, baby einstein DVD... But was concern that the TV might not be good for his eye. Both my hubby and me have serious myopia, so worry baby inherit our bad eye genes... hahahah

Jojobar

My gals started watching TV since they were 4 months plus.. Now they are addicted to Playhouse Disney. I got a small LCD cum dvd player TV for my gals... that way it can save energy and prevent them from watching to close up.

Jojobar,
i aso bought baby einstein for her, but she doesnt like, however she's glued to what we adults watch... i feel can watch lah, but not too much & not too near, juz my two cents...

Hi Mrs Teng

I was thinking of investing a portable dvd player ? or a proper 20inch tv with dvd in his room...

Was debating which to get, i check out the IT fair during lunch time.... prices are not exactly cheap for 20inch tv... the bigger tv have better deal....

Jojobar

I didn't go for branded one, I got a 19 inch LCD cum dvd player for $349 (if I remember correctly) from Giant. The only drawback is that it's got no surround sound. But not a bad deal lor.. Very clear and got HDMI, SD card reader, USB port... A japanese brand all TEAC

Samantha

Was the cereal too watery? Did you add on purees or bottled veggie for her? Could it be she's bored with just plain cereal?

samantha
mine bb is like yrs...prefer drama series...she loves HK drama series n taiwanese variety shows. think cos i was chasing the "abalone series" when i was preg...oh she also LOVES desperate housewives. she will be glued to that show n only respond to me when it's commercial time!!! wat drama does yrs like?

tigg3r
i also tot could it b that her nose is blocked so she struggle so much....in fact when she was really sick, she kwai kwai drink n drink alot!!! an extra feed. then now no fever liao, better already, her legs start kicking n pushing...think i got internal injury liao cos she is very "bull strong" but at night n the first morn feed....no issues! jus drink.

yr hubby very shiong. got so many mouths to feed but dun worry, girls always help daddy;s career one. duno how true but 4 my case, it is true n hubby say becos girls waste $ so God need to help the daddy make more money to take care of bb girl. hehe.....wat logic right

portable dvd player
any mummies bring it out n put on the stroller 4 yr bb to watch when u guys r out? my hubby strongly object when i request 4 it. hehe

melma, tigg3r
which region is tat? but too bad i already have tis maid for 7mths liao n i;m used to her. jus now she come n tell me she want to continue to work for me n she is not unhappy thus her mistakes. think it;s her personality.....jus careless n blur at times lor n must always be careless wen i am around. when she first came she was fantastic, help me so much i can wake up late n sleep late cos she sleeps with bb to do the night shift. now the lesser she do, the more careless or slipshort she is. dunno y.

mine loves to cook. think i better print some recipes 4 her to learn to cook 4 me. do u have the laksa or curry chicken etc recipe in fhil? she is waiting 4 me to teach her how to make cupcakes. she went to "secretly pick up" how to cook "bee hoon kway" n ginger chicken frm confinement nanny. haha. so i better use her strengths

tigg3r,
yr maid is so much better than yr first one

Little Twin Star

Your hb very humorous... how I wished his theory is correct, den dun have to worry so much..

Yeah, this 2 maids are way much much better den the first one, that one can vomit blod... caused me so much stress until I hospitalised early and got to deliver prematurely... somemore drive me into post natal depression by telling me want to go back on my second day after delivery... faint ah

Sorry, recipe not in fhil leh.. all based on estimation..

My baby likes to watch tv too...especially news. He will smile when he sees the reporter reading news

For mummies who bring their bb for swim, what time do u normally do it? I'm still trying to figure out when is a good time to bring him to the pool.

timmin,
*sayang* it's one of those days.. and yes traffic to suntec was crazy. i drove pass.

jojobar,
i let bernice watch selective TV programs and DVDs But i will not put a TV in her room. so far i know she love DIBO cos she will stop wat she is doing and listen to the song everytime it's played. Then there is Pocoyo and wordsworld. On babyTV I she loves pitch & potch and Eggbird. The rest colors are quite dull so depends on her mood. DVDs she watches Baby can Read.

melmal,
i remember reading somewhere before that LKY never allowed his kids to watch TV while growing up.

twinstar,
at least ur maid can cook.. or interested. mine is F#$@*-ing hopeless in the kitchen. Ask her fry fish she will deep fry or she can put like 1 spoonful of oil and try to fry fish. Super fedup. usu hb or mom cook ma.. but after 9 mths of watching and helping, simple thing also should know ma. not reactive, just follow la.. that also cannot do. Hb out of town these few days, so no one cook she happy la. i told her off that day .. say she no initiative. I say it's my resp to ensure you are eating well, but u make it seem that I need to cook and serve it to you. Then next day she ask me if she can try and cook the chicken i said ok. Told her fry the 1/4 cabbage left in the fridge. in the end she used 1/3 bottle of oyster sauce and 1/2 tin of chicken stock to cook. So F@!#@! salty !!! Can die. sigh .. but at least she tried. or maybe she trying to kill me.

<font color="CB3558">timmin</font>
Oops, no lah, where got so much milk! I woke up at 2+ and 3+ for nothing. My own night wakings! Haha. Finally 4+ then pump.

Ethan so good in the car - if we get stuck in traffic, I'm pretty sure Isaac will sound his siren off no matter what I do.

<font color="CB3558">krex</font>
I bought the healthy sleeping book from Kino. Got a few there. Borders oso OOS

<font color="CB3558">twin star</font>
I was also chasing the abalone show when Isaac was born! So according to the date, you wouldn't have seen the last episode cos I went to the hospital after the last episode and Isaac is born 1 day after Georgine
Isaac let me see the finale.

<font color="CB3558">tv</font>
Isaac just watch what we watch. When I'm not really paying attention, I just switch the tv to some cartoon channel that I find the cartoon looks nice. A bit bochap hor. But I see Isaac doesn't really pay attention anyways. He rather prefer to crawl around or play with toys. I am quite worried when he watches action movies which my hb loves to rent DVD though. He also likes to watch my hb play his PS3 shooting games. Again, I'm quite concerned there. I wouldn't want to give him a tv in his room until he proves to me he will study, so there's like more than a decade or 2 to go. Hahaha

Briebaby: sometimes i do get fustrated with Braiden but i never slap him. I do beat him on his thighs when he's naughty (moving alot during diaper change) but then again, he is just a small bb.. dont even know how to walk or talk yet. I told my hubby.. u beat him, he cannot run away or defend himself. only lie there n let u beat. My hubby oso like u, feel v guilty after beating him..then will go kiss bb/sayang bb/say sorry the next morning. i mean dont do it lor.. when they r old enough to be discipline, they will be disciplined. They LEARN from our behaviour..

krex78: i bought the book from PageOne @ vivocity. Hope it helps

catherine: yes lor..i read his memo too. His children all bookworms.
I let my baby watch Starhub Baby TV. very interesting! my two nieces love it too!

i went to the burberry sale today. They didnt allow my stroller in, so me one hand carrying Braiden n the other hand browsing at the clothes.. no joke carrying him around cos he's quite heavy. And it's sooo crowded n HOT totally no mood to shop liao. 5 mins come out liao.. haiz. So if u r going to the sale with bb, use a carrier..easier to manuveour also. The sales quite worth it leh. the bb polo tee after discount abt $30-$40 only

nini,
but i find the babyTV colors very dull. very disappointed. thot colors should be sharp for babies. i love the colors in dibo, pocoyo and wordsworld

<font color="CB3558">Nini</font>
I agree. Children learn by observing adults. If a child grow up in a violent abusive household, he learns to protect himself in an abusive manner as well. Parents are adults that grew up in all kinds of environments, sometimes good, sometimes bad. Whatever it is, if they do not make changes in their adulthood which go into their parenthood style, they perpetuate the problems they grew up with in their children. So scary the thought right? Worst thing is some things are impossible to change psychologically. I am trying very hard. Really.

Play Yard : (CC=$140, KP=$149)
1. Vern - 6 Panels
2. Krmeow - 6 Panels
3. Dongle - 6 Panels
4. interrace - 6 Panels
5. april - 6 Panels
6. jojobar - 6 Panels
7. Shint - 6 Panels

Any mommies dun need 6 Panels? Pls update if u dun need.

Shint
Photo of the play yard - http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/2004639.html

Rata/Krex
Hope u gals managed to share the panels

Dongle
thanks for feedback on KP's price... Didn't manage to call today cos I on course :p

Interrace/April
Now that we have 7, hope we can push the price lower. If the lady dun call me back tmr, I'll call her on Sat and check again
And also ask for lower price lah keke

Watching TV
My gal loves her Wheels on the Bus DVD and all the BabyFirst Songs on BabyTV. Actually BabyTV is pretty good. Catherine My gal also quite riveted when Pitch &amp; Potch is on. She esp loves it when the Birthday song comes up hahaha

Taka Baby Fair
agreed with gayle, nothing fantastic, see a lot of pregnant ladies there. Good for those stocking up or prepping for baby I guess.. Who went to Isetan sale? Anything good?

Nini
You sound more upbeat tonite keke.. more
emoticons. shopping therapy yeah!! Best kind of mood uplifter!!

vern,
ya bernice loves the birthday song too.. i thot babies are very drawn to rich colors so i expected the colors to be very bright like playhouse disney. ohh i'm so grateful i dont have to watch the stupid thomas. eeekks.. the cheapest production cartoon i have ever seen !!

<font color="ff6000">nini</font>
Just read that your hb slapped Braiden. Sayang Braiden. U need to tell your hb off that babies still duno how to talk, if they cry, there must be a reason. Slapping doesn't solve the prob.

Ask your hb how he would feel if one day he himself is immobilised *touch wood* and the only way he can communicate is thru making some noise, and Braiden slaps him in a fit of bad temper?

Sometimes, must use this method of talking to men...

<font color="ff6000">linx</font>
I better train my gal fast to sleep thru else I think the maid will go bonkers soon too.

<font color="ff6000">dongle</font>
For CC, maybe u can let Cayla go to a half-day one then mb no need to have maid liao. At least half the day your mum can rest and maybe if u want, can get part-time cleaner to clean house.

I wana stop having maid once my kids are more grown up. Cannot imagine hving to manage a maid on top of kids.

<font color="ff6000">krex</font>
For water, when I feed Chevelle using the spoon, she also blows bubbles like it's real fun! Aiyo...

<font color="ff6000">interrace</font>
U preggie again? hehe why ask abt learning how to cope in 2nd trimester again? ;P

RE: Sales
Seems like Suntec alot of sales going on but after I hear abt the horrific traffic, I think I better skip that place.

<font color="ff6000">YLN / dongle</font>
I'm thinking of getting part-time cleaner if I do away with maid. But then again, it's now. Next time gotta see if the situation requires me to hire maid or not.

<font color="ff6000">celyn</font>
Talking abt ELFA, there is one right next door to my new house. haha thinking of sending my bb there if I'm going to move her there.

<font color="ff6000">RE: maid</font>
Guess they can never be perfect. Now I'm just waiting for my bb to be able to go childcare, then I can do without the maid. But then if have a 2nd kid, then prob need to hv maid for another few more yrs...

brie/ nini,

how much is the bk?

sam,

my gynae never do scan leh. feel so cheated. i dun think i have fibroid, just piles only.

rata oic.. okie then
1. Vern - 6 Panels
2. Krmeow - 6 Panels
3. Dongle - 6 Panels
4. interrace - 6 Panels
5. april - 6 Panels
6. jojobar - 6 Panels
7. Shint - 6 Panels

Any mommies dun need 6 Panels? Pls update if u dun need.
*Rata has 2 panels

Catherine
Yeah playhouse disney not bad.. but think I like it more then her haha. Thomas a bit too much talking, more for big kids? keke.. Try Wheels on the Bus (the one with the little gal) before? Songs very catchy.. its the only show my gal can complete. Tried Baby Einstein, she got bored within 1 min hahaha..

personally, I think baby watching TV is ok lah.. just in moderation. maybe not all mommies wanna expose kids so young but I think it really helps baby develop the creative side of their brain.

Though I was at Suntec, din get to go to any sales. Meredith was very tired after swimming and licking pool water. ( she was hungry while having aquaduck trial class).

She slept while latching on in nursing room.

Reirei,

tks!! I think I steam too short. No wonder always got pieces nt able to mash.

Pumpkin Fair

Carrefour having pumpkin fair. Got butternut and different types of pumpkin. Some very small, palm size.

jojobar,

Meredith like to watch TV. I will let her watch Disney Playhouse in the day. Evening time usually when I watch mine when she's sleeping.

Now she loves my remote controller. If I din switch on TV, I let her press, then wont keep changing channels.

any mommies here got anabel karmel's books? saw a few at MPH yest. i think there was one on top 100 bb purees, and another on healthy super foods for bbs and children. quite tempted to buy although all her recipes are very ang moh.

oh, and anyone reading happiest toddler on the block?

Vern,
Thanks for coordinating.
Please drop me from the list ... cos i think i got no space for that. I wanted to find something to block one section of my living room .... but dun need to surround it into rectangle area. Just one side will do ..... cos now living room vv crowded liao. Maybe a few panels to build a horizontal line .. but not sure if this can stand on it's own if it's only 1 side ie like a gate but it's a long section. U know what i mean? Dunno what can be used to do that. Will look around first.

1. Vern - 6 Panels
2. Krmeow - 6 Panels
3. Dongle - 6 Panels
4. interrace - 6 Panels
5. april - 6 Panels
6. jojobar - 6 Panels

Kai .... vv happy that these 2 days Kai and my #1 din wake up at nite for milk feed almost.

#1. I psyco him and keep telling him that he's 3 yr old liao, dun need to drink milk at nite .... he seems to get the idea wor .... only this morning he woke up at 5am. Last 2 day ard 7+ then he woke up and asks for milk. Kepping fingers crossed.

Kai. He will oso wake up , maybe disturbed by #1 .... but these few days he oso din wake up ... he might eh eh eh but i just ignore him .. then he goes back to sleep wor. So happy. At least i can go back to sleep until ard 6+ to 7 then wake up to pump milk.
I hope Kai gets the idea that he can sleep through liao .... hehe. But of course i still use Paci for him if he eh eh eh abit.

SURVEY - WHICH BABY IS ON PACI? Reliance on it?
1. Shint, need it before sleep and when bored.

TV for baby?
My view on it.
I used to read about it and it's not good cos TV programs that are for adults are not suitable for babies. Their brain cannot process so much info .... something like that.

Baby TV is boring but it does not have too mcuch movements, etc. which is suited for them. Then again TV is not too good.

If can have choice i'd not let Kai watch. My #1 seldom watch TV last time when young.

Also, those who watches alot of TV might become couch potatoe cos they learnt to just receive information, rather than explore and feel things .... so everything just comes to them through the tube and they'll believe everything from the TV. At least if they learn to explore through other ways, then it's better for them lor.

Much said. I have seen some kids who learnt alot of things vv young by watching TV alot. Then again, why would I want the kid to learn so much so young? cos i might not be able to provide the stimulus for him if he needs to learn so much so fast.

I'd better go read up some more first before deciding to let Kai watch or not .. haha.

good morning mummies

re: TV
the strange thing abt kaer..is she likes to watch soccer!..ai yo...i want to faint liao..everytime daddy carry her or sit her down on his lap..he switch to soccer channel..she can watch for many mins leh...im thinking ..*jialat* become tomboy in the future liao...sigh...nowadays i only let kaer watch bb enstein once a week...now she is more active...i let her explore the things in the house to entertain her lor...think she also dun like to sit still for too long and she is moving about so much..behaving so chor lor..sigh...there were many times i brought her out...many pple say...wah..boy boy hor..children see kaer..also go 'didi'..hmm..cham..better put more dolls or girly stuff around her...

morning mommies..

re : tv.
my son like advertisement i think..
good lei ..Kaer can accompany daddy watch soccer...my hubby trying to get his son to watch with him..but think his son got better things in mind to do ...

valnsw,
bo lah..just tot of listening to how they are coping loh..cos not easy wor..to handle few mths old baby while preggie loh. i handle without baby already feel very tired and worn out liao mah..

Vern,
tks for the effort, pls drop me from the list, sorry.
my hubby not interested to invest in the play yard.

re : isetan sale.
who went ? grab anything ? missed gg..think should be gg to taka fair instead..less crowd ??

interrace
i went to IPS yestd..actually nothing much..i onl got stuff from mphosis..a toy for kaer..n a cute little tank top for her 2...not much interesting toys on offer leh..clothes for adults also not fantastic..the crowd seem to be lesser compared to the last one they had...

re : bottle veggies.
which brand is recommended ? i bought the heinz brand the other time, got salt lei.
for bottled food, just warm and feed ? need to add water bo ?

1. Vern - 6 Panels
2. Krmeow - 6 Panels
3. Dongle - 6 Panels
4. interrace - 6 Panels
5. april - 6 Panels
6. jojobar - 6 Panels

*Rata got 2 panels

msapple,
taka fair got avent and medela. it's the same usual stuff.

interrace,
i give bernice heinz and HT quite often but i prefer HT cos the texture is thicker and doesnt smell so sour. She can finish 1 bottle sometimes. I dont warm i usu i just pour out to a bowl and feed. once open can keep in fridge for 48 hrs. once from the fridge i will warm it in a bowl of hot water then feed. the purpose of pouring out is because if u use the same spoon that u fed bb to scoop into the jar and if cant finish, her saliva will cause the jar food to become watery the next day. so i pour out.

little twin stars,
think my ger likes channel 8 ones, cos my mom &amp; mil always tune to tat... haiz

krex78,
dun feel tat way. my gynae did charge for the scan, so izzit good? hmm...

SURVEY - WHICH BABY IS ON PACI? Reliance on it?
1. Shint, need it before sleep and when bored.
2. Sam, need it to sleep or when blasting off. Will suck so vigorously tat you can see the print of the paci around the mouth &amp; foam under the paci :p