(2008/08) Aug 2008

Nini,
Itz very bad to slap a kid on the face...lowers the self esteem of the child - please explain to ur hubby - otherwise ur child may become rebellious and hyper-sensitive. I too can snap at my baby at times..especially when she throws tantrums and refuses to sleep - the other day i just hit her legs(not hard la)...but ended up feeling really bad and to tell u the truth --i am afraid of myself - scared that i'll do the same thing again! The thing is - child rearing is really complicated - when do u start to discipline ur child - we keep telling ourselves that our baby is still too young to understand...but they seem to become more stubborn and infact mine has got all of us wrapped around her fingers!

Mrs.Teng,
I too dont feel too good abt myself..my waist is around 27cm i think..but boobs size E - damn big rite!! I went one size bigger..now i feel itz too big for my body..sigh sigh..
..somemore i got thunder thighs and huge butt..no time to exercise oso! My sex life oso not so happening anymore la..maybe my hubby not so turned on with me - I dont wear those sexy lingerie anymore - baby need my shoulders ...bare-skin not so comfy maaah...sigh sigh!

morning!!

so many posts !

Shint,

think you can only warm up those portion that you need, not the whole container.

u take gd care of urself!!

kicking while drinking

guess most babies do that?

Mine too. Sometimes she is happy to be able to drink, so she kicks. While sometimes she still want to play, though tired, she will be playing her hands and legs.

Mine too will drink,turn away, sit up, make ehehe sound, the drink the other side, drink, turn away, sit up. Sometimes a few times, sometimes if she is very very tired, she will just close her eyes immediately once latch on.

On drinking milk, My son is really drinking very little. Like 90ml per feed only. Sometime he cannot even finish ! I think he is still not receptive to bottle drinking as i let him latch on most of the time when i was on maternity leave.

Luckily he is receptive to semi solid food, so my mum and me add BM to all his puree and cereal to increase his milk intake loh....

There is also another hurdles i need to overcome which is baby m is not taking formula ! At this point, he is also not receptive to breastmilk thru bottle unless he is very hungry...

Anyone face the same problem as me ?

Wah! so many events in suntec today?

Hmm... must be crowded then. But good news for me, coz after aquaduck trial class, can jalan jalan.dunno how much I will contribute for the economy!

Thanks mommies..
Braiden is fine. I mean I understand my hubby is having stressful, long working hours so when braiden kept waking up n cry every night at 4am, hubby got fustrated n beat him. I told him NOT to slap bb face but sometimes he got so angry he forgot. I told him many many times liao but when he v v angry he dun listen to me. So i have to block his slap.. Actually its not painful la (to me) but i dont know how bb wil take it. maybe he feels pain..
So i pick him up n sayang him more.. Sometimes bbs cries r v fustrutating..3am, 4am..crying n screaming cos nobody attends to him.. cry non-stop. I can't bear to leave him in another room. I cant sleep..

hubby is a loving daddy, v commited n protective. Just that i hope he can learn to be more patient..

Seems like most of the mommies here quite bad tempered too? hehe. i oso actually. but hubby's temper bigger..so i no choice but to learn to mellow down. so bb will learn to be good temper too. hehehe

jojobar,

mine is too.

What I am doing now is add FM into cereal, to slowly intro FM n wean off BM in a long run.

Nestle cereal

any mummies giving it?

I tried the sample pack, is more fine. Yesterday I started the tin one, seems like more coarse.

Tried giving it to Meredith, she rejected and pushed out the pieces.

Plus... I think used blender for pumpkin, mannually mash, think there r some fibre like and she can't swallow?

Eh... how long do u usually steam ur pumpkin? 15min enough? Coz I find it still quite hard...

Hi Sylvia,

That is also my plan. But need to do it over a long weekend, thinking of taking some leave to transit him into formula... The problem is if he do not want to drink BM from bottle, let alone FM.

So far, we had try frisco, similac and nestle... he reject all of them
. For BM, at least he drink 30ml....

sam,

did your piles go away after that? i finished my suppository but it didn't go away so i didn't bother. how many packs did u finish? how's your fibriod? it was there already when preggie? cld it be removed?

jojobar,

oh... mine also refused bottles. So I intro sippy cup to drink water. She was playing, so I dunno how much she drank...

But if I open up and drink like a cup, she is happy. Think she saw us drinking this way.

Maybe try Mamil Gold 2?

For me, I gave up on giving bottle no matter is BM or FM. Already wasted a few tin of diff brand FM. BM..... is totally rejected fm bottles.

Hi Sylvia,

Can you share with me how you give milk to bb then ? Via Sippy cup ? I have a couple of sippy cup but so far, have not try giving milk via sippy cup to him....

thanks Interrace..wah ..so many things happening in suntec..hmm..very tempting..but dunno have time to go...later going isetan..heehee..going to collect my loots i reserved yestd from mphosis..

<font color="CB3558">last night sleep</font>
Last night he slept right through till 5+am after crying for 20mins. I think quite good ald. Me on the other hand, woke up at 2+, 3+ and then 4+ to pump. I'm the one that need to sleep through but I cannot cry it out - hahah. Anyway, after feeding him, he slept back and my upstairs neighbour started hammering something at 7+! I so angry cos they woke Isaac up. They hammering like trying to slowly lightly somemore, so irritating - like it helps! Want to hammer go out to the balcony or what lah! Hammer in the mbr! Piangz. Next time I see them, I want to politely ask them why they like to drag furniture and hammer late at night or early in the morning.

<font color="CB3558">Nini</font>
I think it's very amazing of u to mellow down for Braiden. I find it so hard to do. I try to control until I burst sometimes. I confess I actually slap bb twice since his birth, but not hard - the thing is no matter how light, it just make the crying even more worse. So I tell myself cannot do it anymore - 1stly no use, 2ndly he doesn't mean to irritate me. There's just no other way to express himself, and 3rdly I remind myself I will be v guilty after that. I told myself I don't want Isaac to grow up constantly in fear in an abusive environment like I did. I even ask my hb to remind me I cannot become like my own mother how she treated her hb and me in the past. This reminder really works for me.

krex78,
mine didnt go away. hope it wont stay there forever...

fibriod is discovered when i went for postnal checkup. Think it shrank abit. Was 6cm after delivery, 3M later its 4cm+. Hope it will go down before i get preggie again. Yes, can be removed but need sitches kind. Im very againsst the idea cos I delivered naturally.

jojobar,

I can only latch on.

but since she like sippy cup, might try, just worried the hygiene as hard to wash.

So BM is latch on, FM is with cereal.

<font color="CB3558">latch on</font>
I thought I'll never give up trying to latch Isaac on. All so maybe my life will be a little easier when we go out. So I try every now and then. But after last night, I think I'm happy he doesn't latch on. Cos he bit down so hard until I nearly fling him away! And while I was complaining and yelling (in a joking manner), he thought I was playing with him and he was going for the nipple again! Especially for mummies whose bbs have teeth - you gals are GREAT! *ouch*

briebaby,
ouch!!! must be real painful man. i don't latch on now. i won't want to try now cos yu ze got 2 little teeth liao.

dongle,
actually i didn't do research on kinderland, pick yio chu kang cos its the only kinderland that got 'land'. surroundings got trees and grass, not conceret everywhere.

i'm not the best person to comment on kinderland. anyway, kinderland at serangoon is a kindergarten not childcare. if you want childcare, then there is elfa children's place there. same place as kinderland.

yah, very siong to have cc and babysitter. anyway, let my hubby decides. since he is paying. hahah....

catherine,
i have 6 bottles of pre-packed enfalac. i think expired in sept. do you want them? yu ze don't like to drink the pre-pack one.

taka bb fair:

didnt realy find have much stuff to buy. think we mummies will have all we need already. the clothes they have r so-so only. i only bought a pack of bibs. as usual pigeon/ munchkin etc all having 20% off. so i just bought a sippy cup n some snacks. i also got the bb monitor...stupid right...after so long then get :p this time i got the video one, last time sound one i got i find useless...bb in room next door when cr i can hear liao. now w video monitor i can watch bb trying to fall asleep...so funny. she will roll here roll there, thumb in n out until she find good position then sleep. haiz...shd have got this from the beginning.

i think is quite normal for bb to kick when feeding..now she start to pat pat my boob when nursing too. funny

Wah soo many posts! I thot i saw burberry..then suddenly became blueberry..hahaha..read until blur! @-@

<font color="119911">Cat</font>
Yeah, ur niece sounds like an ang mo!
i've seen ang mos in those american game shows, or on their blogs, who can't spell vv simple words! I was SHOCKED!

Btw re: Japan, i rem u said not bringing bernice to disneyland..abit sayang leh..cos tokyo disneyland is different from the other disneylands.
For one, their merchandise is so v cute!! i always buy their cookies &amp; cakes dat come in super cute 'gongs'..hee..
If not for shopping, go for the experience, i love their electrical parade!
http://www.tokyodisneyresort.co.jp/tdl/japanese/dreamlights/index.html

and oh, if u run out of pampers in japan, dun fret, cos u can buy japanese pampers..i got 2 pks from a japanese fren, it's pretty good! according to him, it's the Best diaper in japan!

2242151.jpg

brie
wah...u actually wake up every hr to pump!! pei fu leh!!!

ethan woke up @ 12am last night. i just ignored him. i tink it's cos he's not feeling well. but he managed to fall back asleep after a while.

yeah...it's really hard hearing them cry. i tell myself that it's really for his benefit to know how to have uninterrupted sleep. gambatte! jia you!!!

celyn,
I'm going to let bernice try one of the premix enfalac later then i let u know if she likes it or not. dono whether taste diff.

gayle
ya bernice also like to feel the other boob when latch on.hahaha.. sometime she will hold onto the nipple and feel feel.. hahaha. then i tell her "oi that one not the switch hor"

reirei,
i feel she's too young for disney or sanrio world. go also more for me than her. then abit wasted time for my mom and hb. but i will sound them out if they interested or not. i also think got alot of cute things there to buy lo. hahaha'

ohh the jap pampers good ah ? my mom very sucker for anything made in japan.. hahaha maybe i stock up on pampers come back. hahaha

re: bumbo seat
those mummies whom put their bbs in the bumbo cannot leave bb unattended.. bernice manage to twist herself out of it and fell onto the floor. so it's not really like fall-proof. either that or her thighs not fat enuf to confine her. hahaha

re: durian
i gave her abit of durian to try.. she seems to like it.. will ehh ehh for more. hahaha

sylvia
I cut my pumpkin into small pieces and steamed in the electric steamer for 25mins.
It'll be v soft and i can jus mash it wif a spoon.

gayle,
the way u described evie trying to pat boob is so funny. hehe. is she trying to pat whether got milk? or trying to sayang boob boob for providing her milk :p

re: feeding
ytd my mom fed my ger mashed potato &amp; carrot. think she dunno how to swallow cos too thick &amp; was making those vomit actions. izzit normal for bb to react in this way when they first start on semi solids?

Catherine

You can latch during take-off. Just like wat Hashisan mentioned.. need the baby seat belt for baby's safety.

Hashisan

Me too! got tummy after birth, dun know is it bcos of the C-section. My neighbour told me it's like that one, the wind gets in when you cut... Dun know true or not?

Nini

Blueberry is definitely good, you got to consider about the coloring hor! Baby's tongue may turn purple.. Best is to serve it on the same day. Dun know will the berry's skin have any fermentation effect or not. (Not too sure, got to read more about it)

Melmal

Wah! you mean 27 inch waist and a Size E... Won't it be difficult for you to move about? Btw, wat your hb thinking of? Got such nice top and still want to be choosey... I think it's the breastfeeding part that turns a man off.. We should check with with the 3 mums who are preggie now, how did they managed to get hb hooked and make a bun in the oven so soon!

Samantha,

Have you given her cereal before?
If yes, give her cereal as the main, mix the potato n carrot as the side dish. Gradually, over a couple of days, she will get used to it.

It maybe bcos she's not used to the texture.

I gave my gals in the following order

Start cereal for 4 days
Cereal plus bottled veggies
Plain Porridge plus bottled veggies
Meat in porridge plus bottled veggies
Meat porridge plus home-made purees
Meat w potato n carrot porridge
Meat w spinach plus home-made purees

For now, I'm trying out new food every week, but I still stick to the 4 days rule lor

celyn,
oic... shows that i reli know nuts abt cc...

cat,
pampers can get from toy r us or their local pharmacy... shopping centres cannot find... it is abt S$25+ for a pack of 58pcs of S size ones... quite reasonable...

sam,
have to add water or milk to the mashed potato or carrot... are these the 1st food you gave? did you give cereals 1st?

re: baby kicking/touching
cayla also like to kick &amp; touch plus wriggle &amp; look everywhere with my boopies still inside her mouth... ouch!!! actually i stop direct latching except weekend morning feeds around 7am+... she also like to pull at my necklace &amp; my shirt... go out cannot wear tube tops anymore cos sure kenna expose one!!! kekeke...

Cat
U mean Puroland? It's quite far to go on ur own..plus the place is quite old and not much attractions other than the HK house. I was sooo disappointed when i was there. Not worth going at all.
The oni ting good abt it is i got to eat my HK lunch..hehe..and buy HK stuff..then again, HK stuff can get anywhere in the shopping centres.

Oh yea, if u see HK stuff jus grab!! cos it's so much cheaper than SG and lotsa variety too..
And oh, rem to tell them it's 'presento' so dat they will add a cute gift tag!

aw! Wish i can go!! Sobs!!!

mrs teng,
I wear minimizers..so dont look too big la...but yes it is rather heavy for me..sometimes i wish i had smaller boops..hehhehhehe..u know even my massage lady told me once to surgically make it smaller - what to do..had to digest such insensitive comments! So if i ever meet up with you..dont stare at my boops ok!

finally got some time to post

briebaby
seems like we have similar upstairs neighbour. we went up to tell them off a few times liao. works for awhile only..old habits die hard. hehe, ya u r the one tt needs to sleep thru

tigg3r
gg got better than cos it rained yesterday, today she have slight running nose in the morning. cough still there. that one need some time ba. but she got no fever liao n has more strength than me. tossing n turning n playing even while bathing.now she keeps kicking me while drinking milk n now she takes a long time to finish her milk n at times dun even want to finish it. but at nt she'll finish it.
now she knows how to act liao. when i scold her, she put her head down like very poorthing, then i carry her to sayang her n her nonsense start again. aiyo i;m very tired looking after her

maid
this few days keep complaining to cat about my maid. hiaz. she getting more "brainless" she left my bb with tummy expose to take the dirty flr mat to clean the pile of water on the flr cos gg kicked some water off..n left her expose to wait 4 her to wipe the flr first then she will put the "ru yu yio" on her tummy!!!!!! all these while i was there holding bb;s hands to stop her frm scratching her tummy n preparing to feed gg meds n do nose spray n nose drip 4 gg. tt's y i can;t do the tummy oil for her. i scolded her abit but gg very kpo listening attentively so i scolded her only downstairs at the kitchen. today i ask her to pass gg the teethers, she put all the teethers in a grate cup with handle n a sharp mouth on the bed 4 gg to help herself n take wat she wants!!!! i told her, i can tell her wat to do, give her instructions to follow all the time but i can't teach her common sense! hiaz. i;m so tired liao, still need to be wary of her. now i can;t even take PM naps cos i dun dare leave bb with her. r all maids like tat? sorry for vending. m very tired n moody

cat,reirei
enjoy yr trip cat. ya i intend to bring gg to tokyo when she is prob 2 or 3...hey we all sanrio fans shld organize a trip together with our babies

melmal12,
Jacob Ballas is quite small, can bring baby go walk walk but of course the activities are more suitable for toddlers. I think I took 5-10mins to walk around the whole place with my stroller.

sam,

how was fibriod detected? i only went pap smear after delivery. no scan leh.

gayle,

my bb sometimes play with my breasts. he will suck one side and pull the other side. so playful!

timmin,

where did u buy your healthy sleeping habits bk from? went mph today and it was OOS.

Pardon my ignorance, what is jacob ballas ?

Yuuri, hi ! You are from the Aug 08 thread ! I just join this thread and had order a flatout bear from you.

Hi Jojobar
Haha yah I just noticed :p Abit late, but welcome to the thread

Jacob Ballas is a children's garden, under Botanic Gardens...but not inside Botanic Gdns

i need to vent! i'm having like the WORST day ever! arghhhhh...
i woke up feeling SO gd...cos ethan was gg to hv his 1st swim today! then he kena flu! cannot go. but missy was taking ethan's extra swimsuit. btw...thanks missy! so i thot...nevermind...i'll go and pass her and since my hb working there...can hv lunch.

i had to wake ethan up from nap. then took everything down (inc stroller). once i reached the car...SHOOTS! no car key!!! got to go all the way up again. rushed to suntec...wah lao TRAFFIC CRAZY!!! i forgot it's the IT show!!! missy collected the suit. wanted to park, but the queue SO LONG! so i called my hb..say cannot lunch already. i'm gg home. my poor boy is sick. i'm not gg to queue to find a park! took so long for me to get out...i was like tearing in the car... argh! had to meet all the red lights too. dropped by macs drive thru for lunch. came home, ethan spilt my water bottle and i had to clean up. then clean him up cos he pooed. OK...i tink my day is bad just simply cos of bad traffic!! i hate traffic!!!! and i'm never going near IT show ever again!!!

krex
i bought from an online bookstore. but i waited quite a while for it. brie bought hers recently...maybe brie can let you know where she got hers?

oh and i forgot to say that the whole drive was made so much worse cos my boy was sneezing and coughing in car seat. but i must say...the saving grace was that he was so good! we were driving for like >1hr and he just sat in there the whole time.

Melmal

hahha... i won't stare but maybe drool lor... want also dun have... haiiizzz..

Little Twin Star

It's natural that GG will not drink much milk or drink very slowly when she's got flu.. It's so difficult to drink and breath at the same time. So it's very frustration for them also

Re: Maid

Think a pep talk would work better for her? My second maid also gave me lots of problem... at one point really scold until she's worthless and wants to leave. Told her to work with her heart, not to be lazy.. told her to show me some efforts in doing things well and proper. That I won't scold her if she'd done things the rite way and anticipate what I want. ALL THESE, works for me. Now she's really very good in doing the things I told her. Very good in cooking lots of dishes that I've taught her, such as Chicken curry, Braised pork, Laska, Bibimbap, Miso soup, soy sauce chicken, fried veggie. etc Household chores, automatic, dun have to ask.. First maid would take care of the babies and she'll assist us. So 3 of us work hand in hand.

Try talking to her and highlight the important rules again.. Ask her to think along the line and she'll be able to work better.. I told my second maid the 2 things that important to me, Babies and communication. She got my hint and work along that way.. So it's rather easy for me to teach her what to cook now..

dongle,
my mom mixed in some porridge water wif the potato &amp; carrot, but still... sometimes i wonder if she's ready for semi solids, cos her rice cereal must be very watery too...

krex78,
my gynae did a scan for me after delivery to see if my womb has shrink. tats how the fiberiod was discovered... aso did pap smear at the same time. how &amp; when you discovered urs?

Mrs Teng,
thanks for the info. we have been feeding her rice cereal for a long time... Juz ytd, my mom cooked some potato &amp; carrot for her... my ger likes to watch us adults eat &amp; drink, but when it comes to her cereal &amp; milk, she lacks interest. haiz...

Maids:
Just wanted to share with u guys...i got my maid from north east india - they look like chinese/nepalese speak english -mostly educated up to sec..99% christians. My maid so far is good - she has no exp prior to working at my place but learnt very quickly as she is quite intelligent. The most important thing is we have to teach from A to Z - and give them time to adapt and learn. My maid writes down recipes as i tell her - and cooks on her own. I am also happy with her as she sings christian songs to my baby and takes her to the altar every morning - infact she can play the guitar too! Of course she makes mistakes too..but i take it lightly and reprimand instead of showing the "red-face"..makes her try harder and not so demotivated la - I've had other friends who took maid from same region and they all express satisfactory - so if you guys are looking for one - try them.

Hi Timminbuzz,

I can understand the traffic that you have to go thru ... pretty stresful. I work around the area and the lunch crowd is crazy today as the IT fair is SO crowded.

However manage to go to the burberry sales and bought a t-shirt and a pair of shoe for baby. Hubby is going to say i crazy as the shoe will have to wait for at least a year or more before bb can wear....

Still thinking on whether to buy a tv to put in baby room... so have any of the mummies here expose the babies to TV yet ?