(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hiya mummies...

Won't be able to log in often this week.. my granny just passed away last night. Will be busy at the wake.
Only managed to pop in now to make couple of payments at the BP side.

"cya" all in the thread soon..

cat,
enjoy your japan trip.

hashisan,

hahaha!! I know that feeling, very tiring.

Imagine we went to see PD for jab. 30mins waiting, she was practising her standing up.

so can imagine Michan trying while you want to change her.

ganbatte kudasai ne!!

sam,

yes. I oso hv a frd too. His dad slapped him when he was very young, deaf for one of the ears.

ya...... bb are very fragile, so hv to be careful.

Nini, when possible, bring him away if HB angry. Coz angry will lead to abuse too. so hv to prevent it loh. maybe that was his childhood??

Hard on u .......

I'm alive (still) and been a silent reader for the nick "shint" .... hhaha.

So tired of housework, washing, sterilising, pumping, etc etc ....
just back to work today after 2 weeks of leave.

Busy at work oredi, no time to read or post.
At nite pumping must be quick .. speed read but no postings.
wee morning pumping dun even turn on the laptop.
go back sleep then must wkae up to prepare #1 for school and myself for work.

Maid. still outstanding.
Kai. eating vv little cereal cos i so busy and now i back to work .. worst.
Parttime help. Getting part time cleaner.
Milk ss. getting a little lesser for these few days.
ironing. I have 3 baskets of clothes to iron!
work. getting busy.

i bought the purple sweet potatoe and pumpkin .... hopefully daddy can steam and puree for Kai tomorrow.

Might be a long time before i post again .... thanks for your concern

Sylvia: haiii gambarimasu hahaha.
eh ya Aso san was beautiful, went there 6 yrs ago in ags also. hot and humid.
so u think jul or sep would be better?

now very tiring our babies want to stand, next time when they want to walk but can not even WORSE, more tiring hehehe

Mummygiraffe: sorry to hear about your grandma. my deepest condolence.

crying in the night

maybe teething or growing stage.

Meredith is having her 2nd tooth , so waking up n moan. just to latch on or carry ard.

Guess is a growing stage.

hashisan,

sept will be better.

this year.... weather shld be low temp.
now still winter, nt even early spring.....

timmin,

how many feeds u drop so far? i'm wondering whether it's too early to drop milk feeds at 7+ mths. tot of waiting till 8 mths to replace 1 milk feed. then at 9 mths maybe another milk feed. so far haven't intro porridge yet. btw, u mix your puree into the porridge and cook separately, or u cook everything together?

i dun think jonah sleeps 4 hours straight lah. he drinks milk at 8am, prob goes to sleep ard 9am, then wakes up maybe ard 11.30am and then have milk at 12pm. something like that, according to MIL. but he seems to do most of his sleeping in the morning. by afternoon quite active liao and doesn't sleep long. i think he's sleeping more in the morning to catch up on sleep. we only get to put him to bed ard at ard 11pm, which is quite late. he has to wake up at 7am to go to my MIL's place. so actually, he doesn't get adequate rest at night.

vern, april,
KP no more discount cos $149 is offer price & usualprice is $209!!

val, YLN,
good to research on CC early... me dilemma on CC cos if send to CC, then my mum will be jobless... unless i send to one near my house for few hours kind... if not, for convenience, will be my workplace CC... then no more maid & home cooked food anymore

Celyn,
which CC you eyeing?

msapple,
hehe... just wondering if it's you or J... now i know...

nini,
oh dear... sayang braiden... best to get away from your HB's path when he gets upset... maybe you room in with Braiden in another room?

cat,
for liquid like juice etc, the airport staff will open up & inspect, they even wanted to open up my ready mix FM which i took from hospital but we told them cannot open... thermos flask oso open up to smell.. hehe...

dongle,

u mean the airport staff in sg or Japan?

Ya.... Japan staff even empty flask, they will open and inspect n ask why empty................ *sweat*

dongle,
it should be kinderland at yio chu kang. i was telling hubby that we might need to register first in case there is a waiting list. then he think think then tell me, maybe send yu ze to kindergarten and let him continue to go babysitter's place after that. he say go cc like going to work, very poor thing. so i need to find out the school fees for kindergarten and cc before he deicdes again. my cha bao hubby.

nini,
sayang briaden.

dongle
When I went overseas last week..I brought a cooler bag full of ebm and I just told the airport staff (in Changi) it's milk. They never open up and check....then told them got hot water inside hubby's bag, they never even open his bag to look!!

nini
Sayang you and Braiden....really dunno what to say except you very xin ku!

Mummygiraffe,
sorry to hear that. my deep condelences.

Nini,
Were your hubby temper like that all along? He treat you like that previously also? I do heard cases like what samantha said. Braiden is just a baby, slapping face is a nono.
*Sayang Braiden*

BrieBaby (brie)
Me too like you, not very good temper but definitely wont slap Baby cos like what haishan said, I know they knew nothing and cant express in word so the only way is to cry.

wow..so many many posts..dunno where to start.

so tiring today went out to run few errands w bb in carrier. after 4 hrs i wanna die already..happen to pop by taka n saw the bb fair. so tempted to buy a lightweight stroller to use when i bring bb out myself...wah lau..i put her down to try for like 5 secs n she start wailing. even when i pick her up she still angry n fussing. have to walk one round calm her down then come back browse the bb fair. think shes too used to the carrier. but really jia lat to use carrier whole day leh...i always beo other bbs happily sitting in stroller n wish evie can be like that.

see some mummies talk abt sleep training...i recently let evie CIO too. couldnt take it liao, she was waking like 2-3 time a night...cannot rest properly. so in the end, i 'ren' n use the CIO method. its quite amazing leh...she sleep the whole night 1030pm to 8am! think she has learnt to self sooth. of course it was heart breaking to see her cry...i look at her until i start tearing myself. lucky got hb there stop me from picking her. n tonight, she only cry 2 min! amazing! so happy!

she got 1 tooth coming out! can feel n see liao!

ive been feeding her alot of things...me not too good, let her try alot of stuff she shouldnt. i swear she can bite the food im eating already. she doesnt like to eat puree stuff, but soft solid stuff she will eat. i fed her my red bean ming chang kueh (dunno hw to spell) n she happily take little bites!...so bad yet so cute :p

RE Flying:

may look glam..but its hard work lo. i used to think is so fun until i tried it. thats y all become auntie after flying..hehehee. i dream of the day i can zip up my uniform again! wahaha!!

yay!..i got a maid today...fingerscrossed she turns out ok. shes a transfer maid so got to meet her at the agency, seems quite good leh. but u nvr know...i pray hard hard! my house is a mess! think i might scare her away when she come.

sleep training.
Kai wakes up once a nite between 3-5am for a feed. Is that ok?
I had been waking up and kinda got used to it ... not starting any training yet .... cos be too tired to hear him cry. Rather feed him and let him sleep, the most i take is 20 mins - finish feeding then sleep. He doesn't fuss.. only for his milky.

Is this bad habit ah?
My #1 still wakes up for milk at nite ... except yesterday cos i told him 3 yr old liao, dun need to wake up and if wake up, i give water. Hope it works with him ... dunno. only 1 nite ... maybe he too tired to wake up .. haha.

Now gotta go prepare his school bag, hang the laundry and iron clothes! his school uniform esp.

Nini,
sayang Braiden. Remember to prevent your hubby from shaking him ok .. dangerous.
U have to be stronger than you think - for your little darling's sake. Sometimes Kai cries and dun wan to sleep ... i will carry him and walk around and talk to him ... dun get too anxious myself cos he'll feel it and be more edgy. We mommies have to keep our cool(even though we are not - have to act cool u know) and the baby will feel secure.

Gayle,
Good for you to get your new maid. Me still settling mine. Looking forward to end my maidless days.

hashisan,
u back yet?

Me din bring Kai for his 6 month jab yet cos i was too busy! should do it soon. latest by next week.... terrible.

Just brought him to a barber yesterday for a nice haircut ... quite good leh. Cheap and good .. hehe. Anyawy, it suits him with his Armani hairstyle. kekekke.

Vern,
Play Yard : (CC=$140, KP=$149)
1. Vern
2. Krmeow
3. Dongle
4. interrace
5. april
6. jojobar
**Rata has
7. Shint (where's the link for it ah? can i have it so i can take a look?)

gayle,
hehe i am still waiting for ur monster tank. hehe but nvm lah take ur time if u are busy

shint,
now u no maid? u seems overload with housework. Remember to rest k

CC - i oredi registered Kai. The waiting list can be long so better register earlier. No harm registering .. else gotta wait vv long.

msapple,
Maid went home for a month due to family problems .. then wan to come back oredi got problem with passport, gotta get new one then now got MRI or was it MBI issues .... say got someone with same name but has criminal record issue ..... so she needs time to get it cleared before she can make her new passport.

I was on leave but just ended ... went back to work today and now still haven't settled the maid dingy. For now, i am the maid lor. With hubby of course.

msapple:

hehe...sorry...yes, i still remember! keke..now v busy, starting work..but i will get it done for u eventually! promise! :p

puree.
tat day i steam some sweet potatoes, then i put it in the 2 oz container. .. when i wan to use it, i just scoop it out into the 2 oz container and then use hot water to warm it up is it?

I forgot how to do all these things liao.

Also, if it's frozen, how to warm it up?
can that 2 oz container be put into the warmer?

sorry mommies, i "spam" the thread .. hahha.
gotta go do some work liao before i get some beauty sleep. Do respond to my queries ok? ;)

shint,
hope u can settle ur maid issue soon.

me also very tired handling my #1, super mischeivous, hyperactive, keep throwing temper with no reason, she torture herself by pulling her hairs (alot), biting herself, fisting. No one can handle her. Jialet. Am planning to bring her to see child psychologist if not me and my hubby will be the one goes crazy first.

Btw any babies here when latching on like to keep shaking and kicking the legs non stop? Mine keep kicking like hyper active like that keep movement one

shint,
the 2oz container you mentioned is it freezer cube? If it is safe to be use in warmer. For me I directly warm the puree that is stored in the freezer cube in the warmer. If it is frozen, I thaw it overnight then before serve warm it up. Remember to stir the puree while warming.

gayle,
no worry take ur time.

msapple,

mine also distracted when latch on sometimes. definitely will kick legs one. then after sucking for abt 3 mins, he will let go, sit up, bang on the cushion, drink again, sit up, bang on cushion, and the rest is just short bursts of drinking before he switch to other breast. most of the time, won't last 5 mins on each breast.

gayle,

anything to buy at taka fair? thinking of going on sun but nothing to buy in mind. maybe stock up on pigeon detergent and wet wipes (if on offer). any nice clothes?

dongle,

what is CC? community centre?

brie,

u sleep training your bb is it? not sure what your bk says about signs of tiredness but i was told that when bb's brows turn dark, or when he starts to yawn or rub his eyes, means he's sleepy. for jonah, he will have all these signs and the last straw would be when he's playing and starts crying (that's a very late sign if we have not reacted earlier). sometimes he has the other signs but don't want to sleep, esp if outside, as he's distracted and wants to stay awake. of course he'll end up crying in the car. as of now, he fusses a lot when we towel him at night. we suspect it's becoz he's tired already by the time we get home and towel him ard 9 plus. we've shifted his last feed to 10pm. he's pretty gd once we give him milk and starts smiling after that. we put him down ard 10.30pm and he takes about 1/2 an hour to sleep. gave up on CIO method liao. what daddy does it wrap him up in blanket and sit beside him and put pacifier in his mouth. he tends to move his arms and legs a lot and if we don't use pacifier, he will start crying to wriggle out of the blanket and move his arms and legs. after awhile, he gets tired and dozes off to sleep. he can sleep thru but stirs a bit at night. sometimes can go back to sleep on his own; other times must put pacifier in. but we never had to carry him. may not be the best solution but so far, it seems the best method already w/o having him cry the whole house down. realise if we use CIO method, he ends up sweating so much it's no use towelling him liao. he'll end up a smelly and agitated bb.

morning mummies

krex78,
cc is childcare

shint,
hope you settle your maid issue soon.

is it harder to register for cc or kindergarten?

gynae follow-up:

any of you mommies got to see gynae around now? i recall my gynae said to come back in march for follow-up visit. any idea what happens during the consultation? i've still got piles from delivery...can see the growth but not pain anymore. dunno if i shld do anything abt it

bb poo:

anyone's bb poo 3-4 times a day? my bb still poos very often, although stools not watery like last time. is his digestive system very good or what? i think he's like his dad, never has constipation problem one. after eat already can go toilet and poo!

blowing bubbles:

jonah also recently started blowing bubbles. for the past few days, MIL feed him water and he doesn't drink. just blow bubbles and play with the water. maid says he learnt that from me coz' that day was playing with him and i tried to blow "dry bubbles"...die! dunno if it's a normal bb trick he learnt or he really tried to mimick me! seems like he's not drinking much water now. thank god he doesn't do that to milk!

celyn,

what age can go childcare? 18 mths? seems so early to register. haven't even settle his 1st birthday celeb yet, haha.

krex78,
cc is 18 months. if you want popular school, must register early. i have a friend register her girl once she is born.

blowing bubbles,
my girl, blow when latching. She will suckle for awhile, then blow while my breast is still in her mouth. Then suckle again, then blow. But very cute to see that. Dunno what she trying to do. haha

Kicking while drinking milk.
Kai does that now. He's vv distracted nowadays. Still finishes his milk but will want to twist here twist there to see what's happening .... then takes longer to finish his milk or fall asleep.

I will talk to him and say "If u are not concentrating to drink then i'll put u down in the pram/cot ok?". Next, I place him down on his cot/pram (when i outside) ..... until he fusses for his milk again then i put him up. Then he'll guai gual finish.

For sleeping, the other day i went for high tea and he oso distracted to fall asleep though he making noises liao. I carried him and tried to get him to sleep (normally a few minutes does the trick) .... but this time, he still look here look there .... some more he so heavy ... i become tired carrying quickly .... and i told him "I am going to put u down in your pram if u are not sleeping". Then put him down. A while later, he fussed again then i pick him up and he's still not sleeping then i put him down again ..... a few minutes later, he slept by himself. Hehee. So i gotta take him up and put him down to let him get the message.

Holding bottle
I oso constantly tell him to "Hold your bottles" and then make his hands hold the bottle. Now he can hold the bottle on his own if i tell him so - frees my hand to pick things/do something else if necessary. I want him to be independent earlier

Prob some other babies here oredi know how to hold bottles much earlier and it's definitely benefial to let them learn. I've seen parents still holding bottle for kid when there were oredi quite big.

Paci
For his paci, i haven't train him to pick it up himself when he wakes up from his sleep ..... i have to get it and put it in his mouth sometimes. Now he can put it in his mouth if he sees it. Good thing he doesn't wake up so often for that.

Previously for my #1, i was so tired to keep waking up many times to put the paci in his mouth that i taught him to "MUO" (search) for the paci on his own then i can have good nite sleep. #1 will eh eh eh and then once he finds his paci on the bed , he will take it and place it in his mouth.

Dunno when i want to cut his paci leh.

val, celyn, dongle

havent found a suitable cc yet..just looking around..actually have the same concern as dongle..if send bb to cc, then no maid liao lor...then i become maid lor..heehee...initially was looking at littleskoolhouse near my school..seems quite good reviews...but hubby said to find somewhere near our place instead...but havent made up mind on many things yet...was also thinking maybe just send for playgroup that is 3 hrs everyday...saw some montessari places like offering quite good playgroup programs...so have to go look at the places too..sigh...dunno how...
ya..if looking for a better cc , must quickly chop a place lor cuz usually have long waiting list..i was also quite interested in Chiltern house, but that place damn expensive...sigh..

krex78,

me aso piles after delivery! so sian. Somemore got fiberiod too! double sian.

for piles, my gynae gave me this insert, to be used at nite as we are less likely to pass motion at nite. piles shd be treated continuously for like 3-4mths to make it go away

morning mommies..

Hashisan,
IFS , CSS & LSS : all aunties and uncles ah..i get it..tks!

re : baby kicking leg while drinking milk.
mine also got this habit..i tot it was becos i keep kicking/shaking my leg when preggie..that's why he do this too ? so happy am wrong..lolz..

shint,
u sounded overwhelmed..one full basket of clothes to iron....ur hubby got help bo ? when is ur maid coming back ??

re : play yard,
thanks vern/dongle for checking out, if we bulk purchase no more disc from CC ah ? me also cheapo mom..if can get at cheaper price, then i can pursue my hubby to invest..kekeke..also tot can use for 2nd baby next time (not preggie, just toking abt next time hor,must clarify, later u all think am preggie.)

welcome jojobar..

re : aug mommies who are preggie again.
who ah ?? should be in 2nd trimster by now ? not sure how tough things are for them...will like to learn how they coping loh..

was tempted to bathe and bring bb to isetan pte sale .. hahah but sigh .. my mom say wait for her in the afternoon.. hehehe.. ok lo

dongle/yuuri,
I will buy a new tin of FM unopened, then will bring new bottles of heinz juice open it on flight. sometimes these procedures of checking so funny.. anyway my fren passed me 11 bottles of enfalac milk from the hospital so will bring some onflight too.

re: sleep training
I havent started sleep training cos my mom and hb cannot bear to let her CIO. less than 3 mins and they will insist to pick her up. she doesnt really cry alot and is quite easily soothed back to sleep. sometimes she ehh ehh all she needs is she open her eyes look at me, then she goes back to sleep. else she will shift herself to snuggle closer to me then imme KO. yesterday she pushed herself to rest on my breast and then slept in like crawling position.. hahaha like those little puppies/kittens. so funny. i dont know if i will do any sleep training. so far she wakes up at 10+ and 2+ for milk. she will drink up and sleep. dont need carry, dont need pat. so i just leave it till she can sleep thru.

gayle,
all the best with the maid

re: CC
My niece attended Chiltern for 2 years. well from what my cousin says it's very good. <font color="0000ff">(of cos la pay so much)</font> but she has switched her now to Pat sch hse instead becasue she feels that Chiltern doesnt prepare them very much for P1. Mainly also cos alot of the kids there are foreigners so they go to international school. so they method of learning is more play and explore than academic focused. <font color="0000ff">( my niece couldnt even recite her alphabets or read after 1year there !!)</font> Even now after she put my niece in Pat Sch Hse she sends my niece to Lorna Whiston for english reading &amp; writing lessons to prepare her for P1. But Pat Sch is also not cheap la. But my cousin feels that it gives my niece the X-factor <font color="0000ff"> (my cousin is the type very want face, so even after her regret of chiltern she still claims it's good .. BUT .. if you sending to international sch then ok.. BUT still good. - i find her very irritating..haha)</font>

re : see doc few mths after delivery.
i only went back to see him a mth after do pap smear and breast check..next visit will be one yr later for pap smear ?

brie,
tks, will try out egg yolk this wkend then.

re : burberrys sale
anyone went ? baby clothes and shoes at 70-80% wor..

catherine
ooh..thanks for the review on chiltern house. I have a friend who sends her son to chiltern house too..she say its very good..her son is very vocal and very knowledgable now..hmm..but she paying like 1K plus for CC and bus to/fro school..so expensive..

Hi April

Re: the NorthEast Gathering
Can i last min join in if i can? Cos i might have some family outing going on, not confirmed yet cos still very early haha. Then i strike off my name 1st better. Should i remove my name off the list 1st then?

:)**** NORTHEAST GATHERING @ 10 Apr 2009 (Its a Good Friday Public Holiday) ****
(Location at Compassvale Road (Opp. CompassPoint) approx. 5 mins walk):)

Shall we make it in the afternoon starts about 1400Hrs onwards??

1) April, Denzel and Hubby
2) Mulberry and bb Jasmine
3) Vern and Izzy (Bringing Cupcakes)
4) Reirei and bb Charlotte
5) Happy mummy, hubby and Adel
6) Ling Ling and bb Nandini
7) Celynlee and yu ze
8) Roiv (Ivey), Allivier and Xavier
9) Jen, Hb, Phil &amp; Jean
10) Shint, hubby/maid, bb Kai and #1
11) Shay and bb (KIV)
12) Nini &amp; Braiden (KIV)
13) Hui Chin &amp; BB Falisha (might last min join in)
14) Hashisan, Misaki, (hubby,Ryo and Maid - will confirm later)

Re: child barrier
thanks Vern for giving more info. I will go ask my hubby and discuss with him 1st. We got space constraint, so duno if it's a good idea to buy. Sekali by the time my MIL and the rest move out Falisha can walk liao, so abit no point. Haha.

Hi Valnsw,

Same here. I am also itching for a trip... Was thinking of cruise or a weekend to bintan. But so far, hubby is not keen on Bintan as he is worry abt mozzie...

Vern, i will upload the cupcake picture when i am back home. I dont have it with me now as i am at work.

YLN,
the burberry sale is at suntec

ya my niece is more vocal but cant read/write properly. in fact my niece even speaks with a angmo slang .. hahaha

YLN,

is at suntec along with bodyshop sale and IT show.. :

Burberry Sale
11 - 14 March
10am - 9pm
Suntec Convention Hall 303-305

Body Shop Warehouse Sale
Up to 70% savings; FREE Gift with purchases above $50 or more (Valid for
the first 3,000 customers only)
11 - 14 March
11am - 8pm
Suntec Convention Level 3 Gallery West (near Pearl River)

Crazy Warehouse Sale
Brands like Renoma, Goldlion, BUM, The Cocoa Trees etc; Ladies/Men’s wear,
Undergarments, Kidswear, Accessories, Chocolates etc; Prices from $3
12 - 15 March
10am - 10pm
Suntec Convention Rm 202

Jean Perry Home Linen Fair
Special Buys from $1; Discounts up to 80%
12 - 15 March
11am - 9pm
Suntec Convention Rm 201

IT Show @ Suntec
12 - 15 March
12pm - 9pm
Suntec Convention Levels 1-4 &amp; 6

Tempting.. I am working around suntec area but already have lunch appointment today. Else will check out the burberry sales. I really like the burberry baby clothing but hor i already stock up during the last taka sales (even buy up to 3years shirt) ..hahaha Kiasu mummy !

Was thinking to go IT fair initially as i wanted to buy a small tv to put in baby room... Check with you ladies, have you expose your baby to TV yet ? So far, i plan only to start letting baby M to watch TV after he reach 1 year old ...

sylvia,
it's actually the Japan airport staffs... mb they duno english very well lor...

celyn,
oic, did you happen to do research on the kinderland serangoon ctr?

like that v shiong to spend on both babysitter plus cc fees right?

yuuri,
oh, different standard from the airport staffs lor...

krex,
cc= childcare...

btw, have you receive the tea bag ah? paiseh, i din write your name cos im not too sure if it's kxxxn?

YLN,
duno whether i can cope with no maid or not... housework sure pile up like shint's!!!

shint,
take care &amp; rest well... hope you find a good maid soon...