(2008/08) Aug 2008

fitbaby,
can PM me her blog link pls ..

Ya I've looked at Aquaducks but not sure if i want to send bernice there. My hb say he rather he teach instead.. haaha

Hisstory & Timminbuzz ,
when's the gathering ?

Hey Ling Ling,
i din realised that u are linx la .... dun be sad .. sayang sayang ... i wun forget u liao ok

gdnite, me just finished pumping ... and need alot of sleep to recover .. still coughing big time and on MC for the next 2 days.

i pumped at 7pm and it was normal, now this pump only 120ml ... *faintz. Perhaps it was due to me drinking this drowzy cough mixture? then the breast oso drowzy .. not producing the normal volume .... wait till tomorrow and see how.

nite nite mommies.

Val,
I also think Adel can recognise pp at 4.5 mths though hb say not yet... Last night my parents drop by and when he saw them, he immediately chuckled and bah bah bah alot. That's because my parents really dote on him and will carry him all the time when they take care of him. When Adel sees me, he doesn't really act up because I am the no nonsense parent whereas my hb will play with him...that's why he only smiles to them, seldom to me...

counting down towards the end of my maternity leave, going back to teach next Friday liao.. sometimes looking forward to work as staying at home can be quite boring.... but looking at the amount of marking and CCA committments, want to stay home... dilemma, dilemma....

hisstory, i tried but she dun wan also. hai.... thanks gal

yuuri, ya we go on 1st feb then see ruixuan & yln for trial. but then i was thinking in dat case the class super crowded coz already got 5 babies so total 7.

fitbaby,

Bernice is doing great in her kindermusik, we're almost finished with the 1st unit and I'm going to sign her up for another one.

timmin,

decided i want to witness my son's 1st taste of solids so took my 4th month ML to try out lor.

hisstory,

i appealed to get 4th month and since i was clearing annual leave in nov/ dec, decided to take 4th mth in jan/ feb lor. now i dun feel like taking leave in feb. feeling very slack already.

went to buy a pair of jeans finally after much mind-struggling that i have to buy the biggest size!
Very xian... My hips have expanded n I dont think it will go down any smaller liao.

Val yah yah you read correctly about the chillies. Want to teach Dominic to eat spicy food so that next time we go back to Sg he can eat my Dad's cooking.
So far have read that spices can be introduced after 8 mths. But these are the not very 'spicy' spices. Hee! Hee! But I won't make chilli his first solid food lah. That would be too cruel.

hisstory you're welcomed.
Sometimes good to rock the boat. That's how we learn new things.

krex I've been using bumwear since Dominic was 9 weeks old. He is on bumwear throughout the day and only use disposables for night and going out. If you have been using disposables all along changing to reusables takes a bit of getting used to.
Have to do more nappy changes compared to disposables but after a while it becomes so routine that now I think nothing of it. A lot more laundry as Dominic uses about 5/6 a day but it's not so bad. We wash every alternate days along with our other clothes. Trying to be enviromentally friendly as much as possible. Yeah, it's better to get bumwear from the motherhood fair as they might have promos then. We got them from the fair when we were down last year.

nini,

i bought my first pair of post maternity jeans when i went back to work. very lucky to have found one suitable one from dorothy perkins. i think that brand has great jeans. my pre-maternity one also from them but can't get into it liao. the cutting is good and it doesn't feel tight and the price is reasonable even w/o sale. levis jeans, on the other hand, really give me a big headache! now i feel like buying another pair coz' i keep on wearing the same pair out! btw, dun be too gan chiong to buy new clothes. i kept on buying while on ML and now some of them look baggy on me, like my size 12 dress from robinsons. now i dunno what to do with it!

mrs n,

i was waiting for my son to grow older coz' the bumwear newborn can't last very long whereas the standard ones can last from 6 mths till about 3-4 yrs? now that the time has come, feeling lazy to change due to the add'l laundry, so tot of getting for my MIL lor, heehee. so how does it work? when he pees, u just change the insert but not the entire bumwear but when he poos, must change everything? where do u throw the poop? does it stink if u throw it into a normal bin? right now, when we use disposables, we wrap it in the diaper and throw it into a normal bin in bb's room and then clear the bin at the end of each day. i guess once bb is on solids and poo is not sweet smelling, will have to re-evaluate that!

krex the standard size diapers can be used before 6 mths. I think once baby is 5 kg and above. I didn't get any newborn ones as not worth it.

I usually change everything whether he pees or poos. Now that he is still on milk his poo is very runny so just throw nappy liner in the dustbin or flush down the toilet. It will depend on the nappy liner you use as some are flushable and some are not. I tend to recycle the nappy liners if it's just pee.

It can stink a bit if thrown in the bin. But once bb is on solids, the poo should be less runny and more solid so you just need to empty contents into the toilet bowl.

lingling
hi lingling! welcome back...was wondering why i didnt see u on the forum =) r u on facebook?

Vern
easy to clean. the surface is not a smooth slippery surface...its like the non-slip rubber changing mat for babies...(except a lot thicker and with a glossy laminated surface)

valnsw
ya its enfalac pro 2 ..sorry sorry was just quoting what was used originally in the forum.

Good Morning Mommies!

Catherine,
Did you bring Bernice to the Studioloft PS?

Nini,
Dun be kancheong...as you walk and move abt more, hip sure will go down further...I agree with Krex Dorothy Perkins has jeans at affordable prices.

today my son started rejecting the breast..sigh..i had wanted to carry on till after CNY cos we travelling next week and latching is so much more convenient...but i guess maybe he feels walao no milk liao still want me to latch :p

<font color="0000ff">shint, cat, hisstory</font>, thanks for the hugs... The cut has healed with the hard skin still there... hope he doesn't scratch it off, else sure scar...

<font color="0000ff">sylvia, snow and those who went for the gathering</font>, I'm still blur who is who... can you tag happy mummy's pics in FB so I know it's you? paiseh ah...

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>, hmm... I use Heinz, not HT so maybe instructions different? Last time my #1 give 1tsp also dun want to eat, so now I more cautious lor... Nvm lah... now he is taking about 2 tbsps which should be ok since he is not yet 5mths...

As for latching during CNY period, all the new clothes I bought are nursing wear... haha... if he latches during the day, I will only pump twice, once morning and once night...

<font color="0000ff">Wendy</font>, Phil is above 8kg but I find the Pampers M very tight... now using NTUC size M, planning to upgrade to L soon... scary! My #1 only wear L when 2YO?

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>, I pump 4x a day if I can... if too tired, will skip one pump... supply will drop after a few days... but since he is still latching, I am not so worried about not enough supply... very tiring hor? I wake at 6.30am and sleep after 12MN... sianz...

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>, yeah, Phil is in IC... bo bian leh... no one take care of him... at least I get to drop by if I free...

<font color="0000ff">rata</font>, Jac drinks so much! I also started Phil on semi solids leow. He only takes 4 x 100ml milk during the day excluding latching when I am around. I'm also worried he is not taking enough too...

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>, so early start to wean off BM? I don't intend to... will do it as long as he wants to drink or as long as my supply permits...

<font color="0000ff">sylvia</font>, Phil sticks out tongue too! Esp when after he take some solids, he will lick and suck his lips... hehe... very cute! Then he will stick out tongue and smile, as if asking for more... am still thinking whether to buy the jshoppers stuff... have you ordered? when is the deadline?

<font color="0000ff">fitbaby</font>, thanks! Do drop a msg when you are reading.
Too bad I can only update during weekends if free.
Steph's place is in Pasir Ris. But I think Trudy is still too young for her classes. Min age is around 3YO, I think. I can find out for you. Email me as I think the previous mails sent to you with photos all bounced.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: CNY Walk In</font>
Anyone went? Can I view your photos pls? I posted my kids photos on my blog... but no time to try how to do it in FB...

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Facebook</font>
Anyone can advise me if I post pics on FB, can I delete them later so that it cannot be viewed anymore? What if people tag on them, then can they still be viewed? I notice FB keeps a list of the profile pics uploaded but I hv no idea where to delete the old ones? Can anyone help this FB idiot pls...

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Westside gathering</font>
Let me start the ball rolling... anyone who is willing to travel to westside are welcome even if you stay in the east!
Venue: Hillview area (TBC)
Date: 15 Feb (Sunday)
Time: 11am (lunch)
Attendees:
1. Gayle ?
2. Interrace ?
3. Snowhamster ?
4. Yuuri ?
5. M2B ?
6. Sylvia ?
7. Denise ?
8. Jen
Pls vote: Potluck/Cater
I noticed that there's always a difficulty to cater the number of people and some don't turn up but still have to pay. so I think best is everyone bring a little something so if there's more people, there's more food; less people, less food. What do you gals think?

Back to work... check end of the day...

M2B,
did you go to the PS at studio loft ? If you did, post the pics ! So eager to see how your gals looked =)

Megan,
Dun be disheartened ! Adel rejected my breast from Week 1 of his birth ! So he was bottle fed since then... well, the down side is that we have to deal with his colic problem all the time... so you did it till now, well done already !

Celyn,
Are you serious about YZ not liking ladies in tudung ? Well, kids grow out of it.. just a bit pai seh if he acts up in front of a muslim lady hor...

re: SAHM gathering
how abt after CNY? what days and time are good or no good for you gals?

venue: AMK (my place)
date: weekday
time:?
1. timminbuzz (OK with anyday except wed)

anyone else interested??

Jen,
Under the album privacy, you can actually select who can see your photos, so not all your friends can see. You can even select for yourself to see only... so no need to delete mah !

Re: Westside gathering
Let me start the ball rolling... anyone who is willing to travel to westside are welcome even if you stay in the east!
Venue: Hillview area (TBC)
Date: 15 Feb (Sunday)
Time: 11am (lunch)
Attendees:
1. Gayle ?
2. Interrace ?
3. Snowhamster ?
4. Yuuri ?
5. M2B ?
6. Sylvia ?
7. Denise ?
8. Jen
9. happy mummy + HB + Adel ( I vote for pot luck ! )

mrs n,

ic. i tot if he doesn't soil the diaper that much, can just change nappy liner since that is cheap. do u use bum wear nappy liner or those from kiddy palace, etc? my boy is now 6.6kg...he didn't hit 5kg till last month only. i'm only considering bum wear coz his poo is more solid now, so not so disgusting to change, heehee.

jen,

same here! i bought nursing wear from moms in mind but all look very casual one. i dun like a lot of their designs, so end up getting those sporty kind of tops with easy access to bra. now i dunno what bottom to wear. maybe jeans for the 2 days? boring!

me also pump 2x a day since i nurse him direct now that i'm on leave. i guess that's why my ss not enough coz' for my last pump, i dun get much, since i pump at 11pm and his last feed at 8pm. yest i had to give FM for night feed liao *sob*

<font color="0000ff">sylvia</font>, you did not include my order right? Even if you did, it's alright. Just let me know.

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>, me too got from MIM! I got this. Very cheena hor? Now thinking only can wear during CNY. Haha...

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Facebook Pics</font>
Thanks! I have uploaded the studio pics in FB leow... but only viewing for friends only... for those who are not under my friends list, here's wishing you a Happy Niu Year!

mommies thanks for the welcome

fitbaby
it's not my family lah... my ILs :p tiring trip man... long hours journey n bb couldnt sleep properly cos so many hb's relative wants to see her n carry her.. think she bcome bit confuse lehh being carried from one to another :p
til now havent unpack everything but am bit lazy n tired liao

baby_emma
yes I'm in facebook.. just add me [email protected]...

Shint
hehehehe... no problem lahhh .. it's understandable so many of us around hehehe

aquaduck
planning to give my bb try... dunno good or not...

Cat
Kindermusic only available at tanglin ? What do they teach ? is it good ? What has bernice learned so far ? I'm thinking of more useful activieties 4 my gal now :p

Ruixuan
hv u received my trf ?

Jen,
Just being kiasu...ha...haa...haa. Caused read that Stephenie can take only 5 so I want to pre-register her first (if possible) paiseh...

Catherine,
Trudy is going to St. James but in 2012 hee..hee.. Very impressed with it's surrounding and 'Growing Up with Maths.' Since I don't drive she will be taking the school bus (afternoon session). Who knows she will in the same class with Bernice

At the moment, I'm in dilemma for her primary school registeration (cham...super kiasu). Next to our door step there is Canberra primary school but very tempted to try our luck with MGS or RGS. Back home in Indonesia, from Kindy up to U, was from Methodist but don't think got any affiliation with MGS
Told myself, let's see first. If Trudy is just so so n super relax girl will register next door but if she has the 'X' factor then maybe will fight for a place haa...haaa

jen
ya...i had wanted to BF for 6 months only...plus..now i only pump 3x a day..ss going down abit..just enuff for bb's daily feed...plus, i notice kaer like not putting enuff weight leh..so will put her on FM more now...cuz she is very active now..maybe my BM not enuff nutrients liao..she growing longer..but not bigger..hoping the FM will beef her up a little (with the all the energy she is exhausting..)

will want to start her on porridge soon also..after CNY hopefully..

jen,

i saw that too but decided not to buy since my boy wearing yellow on 1st day and blue on 2nd day. cldn't find any nice blue or yellow tops so i'm either wearing my orange jean basic, which looks really casual, or my cindy light green top, which is closest to yellow. i also got a tie dye blue joy racer which looks really sporty.

krex
Oooh.. heheh, yah i agree, sometimes it can be quite boring to stay home. Sometimes I look fwd to going back to work sooner, but I dunno if i can cope with the workload cum baby..

U gotta clear 1 whole mth at a go ah?

mommies, can u let me know when there's a BP for those 3d bibs again? the ones that can catch feed when u buckle at the bottom and made of plastic material? missed it out the last time. tks!

ReiRei
Aiyoh, then I must be quite blind to have missed it.. I reckon the next cardmember sale is prob ard GSS hor?

2. hisstory (anyday except Tue &amp; Thur)

anyone else interested??

M2B,
no we didnt go for the shoot in the end.

fitbaby,
so you didnt sign up for pre-nursery ? Ya maybe they can be classmates then
I've looked at RGPS too cos we have a hse just beside there. Just a note on RGPS, they are not affiliated to RGS. So I wasn't sure if we want to move there since so affiliation. As for me, I'm "old girl" to CHIJ Katong, so that is an option for me.

linx,
for the baby prog it's only avail in tanglin. Well it depends on what you're really aiming to do in the class. I think at this age, it's the exposure more than learning. They sing songs, dance around, experiment with different instruments, let them "feel" the sound of things etc. I think it's to create their awareness to the things around them.

Reirei,
Normally there are people organising BPs for this in the forum, can check it out. Sells only 20+ USD without any books. Each book can costs USD 6.99 onwards, depending on discount.

The books order from spree cheaper.

Reirei, hisstory,
I mean to say the little touch .... it's quite a good item i bought for my #1 but depends on baby.. some dun like it.

Catherine,
CHIJ Katong is a very good school, too. Lots of expat lined up to register (if not mistaken, last year news). Lucky Bernice
Mommy is an alumni. I wonder if I can register at two schools at the same time? Doubt it!

No, didn't sign up for pre-nursery. Don't like the idea of her taking a bus at such a tender age (2 n 1/2 years old by Jan'11). Will sign up for Montessori (twice a week) @ Upper Thomson and Zoo Phonics also @ Upper Thomson. My Hubby said I super kan ceong..haa..haa..For him, if a child is smart, put him/her anywhere she/he will stand out. I believe in nurture and nature
so voila, here I am planning ahead;)

3. fitbaby (anyday)

anyone else interested??

hi fitbaby,
yes my hb also think i super kiasu..haha. He wasnt for the idea of SJK cos of the distance, and ask me why cant I just send her to Bethesda Frankel which is so near us. And he tell me since I am from that kindergarten so send bernice there too la. haha.

I've signed her up at JG but on waitlist
I did look at Zoophonics cos there is one near my hse, but wasn't totally impressed. I want her to go one place and be able to learn various things rather than go diff places.

3. fitbaby (anyday)
4. catherine (tentatively anyday until kindermusik next term day cnfm)

anyone else interested??

Shint,
Too late liao, cos i oredie bot mine..:p
luckily my girl likes it!

Hisstory,
May not haf to wait till then..now economy no good, i tink the next sale may be soon..

mommies, i got a qn: is it ok to put bb to sleep after cereal feed? or is it like milk feed, must burp and wait half an hour before lying bb down?

ReiRei
Heheh, yah man... I didn't know the year-end cardmember sale wld last so long. If I had known, I wldn't have chionged the post-Christmas one &amp; kena wait so long just to pay up

krex,
I dunno what is the most right way, but usually i burp adel and put him back to sleep....esp at night, won't have the stamina to wait half an hour ! =)

krex can just change the insert and nappy liner if you want. But I prefer to change everything. Actually I started using before he hit 5 kg. Just use the smallest setting.

When we bought the bumwear at the fair, we were given a box of tollyjoy nappy liners. When these were used up we bought the nappy liners from mothercare.

Ha! Ha! Yah found the cleaning disgusting at first. Now think nothing of it. I usually handwash the pooed diaper off immediatetely with detergent before putting it in the wet bucket containinnng the sanitiser.

Another change to get use to when changing from disposables is that babies bottom tend to be more bulky. Especially for boys when they are using long pants quite difficult to get their bums in! Easier if they are wearing something a size up.

krex
after milk and burping has to wait half an hour bfore can lay bb down ?? Wahh I didnt know that .. in the nite, I just feed her while she's still asleep, dont dare to burp her else mite wake her up :p how then ?? wah.... no wonder bb spits is still there :p mayb cos of this

Cat
may I know how much u pay for the term ? Do u like it ? Find bernice enjoy the class ?