(2008/08) Aug 2008

hey...

yday was a busy day...went to sign my gal up at Mothergoose..hoped its a better environment and then went to view some units at this new condo..I love it..though not the price

anyway..the napa aire bag was 590..and i guess good deal lah cos last week I almost buy at DFS sale..for 980..urgh..

Sharon...if u scout around for a good foto-shoot studio and if they say if more cust, can give discount..can u add me in..
i would like to do a shoot for my gal/boy...

I am going to take adel's foto at The studio loft. THe price is $170 for 7 photos of different sizes.

You can check out the website and make an appointment with them if you are interested. 2 weeks ago i book, already until 24 jan then have slots. They also have CNY promotions of their photo taking. Their christmas one was $25 for 2 shots.

Website is http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg

Just an update on the list in case you forgot or cannot find the list =)

Food :

What do we all suggest ? Catered meals like previous times or just pizza and drinks ??!! Cause for 20 people , the cost per person may be quite high...

CNY gathering 2009 !

Date : 17 Jan 2009 (Saturday)
Time : From 1 pm onwards
Place : Happy_mummy's place at Bishan St 24
Attendance pre-requisite : For fun-loving and pretty mothers, super daddies and very very very cute kids ! All are welcome =D

1) Happy mummy (Kat), Hubby (Faroek) and baby (Adel) - 2 adults
2) snow74 (may), hb (bw), toddler (nynn), bb (zynn) - 2 adults
3) celynlee (celyn) and baby (yu ze) - 1 adult
4) cocomo (Joey), hb (Steven), toddler (Jayden) and baby (Shervalle) - 2 adults
5) apriltan (April) and baby (Denzel) - 1 adult
6) M2B, toddler and baby - 1 adult
7) Essie, maid, toddler and baby - 2 adults
8) shay (Shila), toddler (Ayden), baby (Ashton) and helper - 2 adults
9) vern (Laverne), baby (Izzy) - 1 adult
10) nini (Winnie) , baby (Braiden) - 1 adult
11) Shint, baby (Kai), toddler (Quan) - 1 adult
12) vone, toddler & bb - 1 adult
13) Sylvia, HB ( Edward) & Baby ( Meredith) - 2 adults & 1 baby
14) Aurora, Baby (Reagan) - 1 adult, 1 child

total - 19 adults, 7 toddlers, 14 bbs

krex78,
i use milk bag before but hoh i waste a lot of milk leh. i keep spilling them. i don't use all bm in 1 milk bag so when i try to pour the right amount out, i will sure spill it. sigh... 'hand like leg, leg like hand'

i do standby milk bags at home. if really can't find anymore bottles, then got to use milk bag loh.

now, that i have store in 3 fridges. i wonder if i should get a freezer to store bm. at the same time, i'm worried that once i got the freezer i don't have chance to use it or it will be under utilise. headache...

msapple
u saw me ar?? heehee..never call out to me?? u were in the q?? u also bought burberry? i saw one dress, whole thing is the burberry checkered kind..$300!! wah...so expensive!for one tiny little dress..*faint*..

celyn
wah..u still storing BM ? me..deciding to stop storing liao..cuz freezer got so many..n now my daily pump enuff to last for 3-4 days...now i only pump 3 times a day...think after CNY , will slowly go to 2 times..then will stop breastfeeding ler...maybe when kaer is 7-8 months will stop liao...

rata / Princess&Prince T (gemini),

Thks for the info on NUK teats. Mb will poke the hole bigger.

Princess&Prince T (gemini),
I don't think you're a bad employer, cos else these maids also take us for granted.
Thks for sharing your experience.
Didn't think of asking the maid agency to talk to her but I think also no use, must be us tell her directly.
Actually, I think she's more scared of my mum than me. For me I'm more easy-going, but that doesn't mean certain things can be compromised.

Was thinking to let her call back using hp and calling card that she wld pay for, every Sunday but now on 2nd thoughts, I hv to reconsider liao.

U knw what? My hubby thinks I'm "unfairly" treating the maid by not letting her call back. Men!

M2B,
Actually I'm more mad at my hubby, he thinks managing a maid is so simple like that, nvr think of the consequences.

dongle,
I also have similar experience. Cos that time wana use calling card to let her call back on Hari Raya but end up the lines were so jammed, had to use the house's fixed line to call. So I guess it was from there that her hubby or her mom (duno in the end whom she talked to after calling a few numbers that she provided), their caller ID can see our number here.

That's why end up can call my parents' house number.

krex,
If I were you, I would immediately confiscate the hp alrdy. After all, as the employer, you have the right to do it if she's not performing. If the hp handset is provided by you, all the more you can confiscate it.

dongle / krex / Princess&Prince T (gemini),
I was thinking with all these maid probs, maybe I shd just terminate her when bb's 18mths old, bring her to full-day childcare. Then can let go the maid. Cos w one maid around, hv to manage her is alrdy one big headache.
Unless the #2 comes along, then I guess bobian need the maid around. Else hv to change to another maid if this one doesn't perform.
Actually work-wise, she's ok but I can sense she's "itching" to hv more freedom. Cos w baby, she is tied to the baby. Now somemore, we don't get her to cook, cos we want her to spend the time to tend to bb so that we adults can do our own thing.

Sorry for the long rant again....

M2B,

After reading what Lorraine said, kids do say the darnest things! haha. Guess they are still at the age where they can say anything they want and we adults won't be mad at them.
And she's really super sweet!

valnsw
yup..i was thinking of that too..when bb reach 18months..send her to CC..then can let go of maid..very stress to manage another person ..but ya lor..headache again if got #2..sigh..

YLN,

U planning for #2 alrdy?

For me it's just a thought. Brought up the subject to hubby but he's not v keen, citing the economic recession now etc.

For me, I rather quick quick go for the next one, then close shop liao.

Not like his younger bro, now I think his wife is preg w #3. All 2 yrs apart. Haiz, means MIL will be fully utilised by them liao. They v strategic planning, still living at my ILs' place. No chance for me to even let my MIL to help take care of my bb.

Oops... another rant again.

val,
the hp is hers. quite koyak but she still treats it like gold.

celyn,
try the first years one? that one got handle. bots take up a lot of space one. actually, why dun u bf yu ze more often instead? i only use fbm if not enough fresh one to give him. now that my ss is dipping and i'm trying to finish the older bags, i will thaw 120ml or 150ml of fbm then give 30-60ml of ebm so he gets 180ml at night. his day feeds will be ebm if i'm working or direct latch now that i'm on leave. if u scared spill, then freeze abt 10-20ml more lor. i think u have plenty to go ard, unlike me, heh heh.

val,
i also thinking of #2...maybe make next yr after his 1st bday. but if i continue bf, dunno whether more diff to plan or not. i hope to have girl but my cycle must be more established to do proper charting.

krex78,
yu ze don't want to drink leh. now i give him 125ml for 6 feeds and 1 140ml of fm. now i'm going to alternate his fm feed liao instead of everyday. with the 125ml feed, he don't even finished them sometimes. always leave 20ml behind.

he take fbm at babysitter's place cos i don't bring bm over everyday. once a week only but have stopped doing it for about 3 weeks liao cos babysitter freezeris bursting. hahah...

#2.....
Many mommies already thinking abt that uh ? my hb has start think abt #3 !! I said I think 1 is enough lah... not easy to manage her at all and I dont have maid.. Ideally I oso plan to hv #2 quick quick but now think how to manage 2 together later on while 1 has taken up all of my time ?

sometimes confuse how to keep her entertain so we can have some moment to do something else..

Yuuri/ Megan
Good idea. maybe can get more discount if we negotiate together . I will go scout around.
In the meantime, any mummies interested in photoshoot for your darlings, pls indicate your interest below:

1) Sharon

Mummies who had done the photoshoot before, pls give us your recommendations! thanks!

Enfalac vs Enfapro

I was reading on the meadjohnson website that Enfapro is for infants 6mths+.

Does this mean I can let my bb take that instd of Enfalac?

Anybody knws what's the difference between the 2?

baby
I'm interested..
Yuuri/ Megan
Good idea. maybe can get more discount if we negotiate together . I will go scout around.
In the meantime, any mummies interested in photoshoot for your darlings, pls indicate your interest below:

1) Sharon
2) Ling ling

valnsw,
i thought enfalac is only for 0-6 months. so after 6 months, must change to enfapro liao.

#2:
i think will only start thinking after yu ze is 1 years old. then at least there is a 2 years gap.

Valnsw,
Yap, Raine is really funny at times...the things she said... =P

BTW, Enfalac A+ is for bbs below 12mths so can continue till bb is 1yo then change.

Baby,
I'm interest in good offers for photo-shoot too

1) Sharon
2) Ling ling
3) M2B

mommies using ergo n bjorn synergy...

I read that: Is ergo v hot to be in? cos i sweat v easily...
The bjorn is not good for bb boys?? - cos it will hinder their 'birdie' n spinal devlopment...

*headache* dont know which one to buy........ The only thing i like abt bjorn is able to face out n the mesh material...

YLN,
ya i saw that checkered dress too. $330 before disc. I thot too ex so i didnt buy.

re: zara
just went zara and bought for bernice 2 dress, 1 top, 1 pants, 1 skirt and 1 leggings. Damange $161.

krex,
earlier i was quite lax with my maid cos my HB make the mistake of letting her watch TV & play with baby whenever she is free... so she took short cuts so that she can watch TV & play with baby... our house was not clean, clothes washed till kena colour... clothes not clean... dog very smelly... toilet very smelly.. roof terrace got bird shit etc etc... my brother came every week & complain say my house not clean & why my maid always sitting on the floor when their maid need to do chores the whole day even though their house only a 5 room flat... my niece even tell me say my floor sticky!!!

all these we ren for a while but we found it's pointless & the last straw as that cayla's milk bottles got black specks inside them duno due to what... my HB scolded her till she cried... he told her no more TV & no more playing with baby & no more bringing her out till she improved... my mum was surprised cos we never scold her before... mostly only telling her off in normal tone wen she made mistakes... that day she din eat lunch & my mum say she din see her the whole day cos she seems to be cleaning the house... wen i reach home, i ask maid if she still want to work for us & she say yes... i told her sir usually dont scold people unless he cant take it, dont wait for him to burst out then she wake up... from then onwards... she became much better...

think you better do the prep talk asap to avoid more headaches...

val,
yup, their phone can see our number... too late liao

re: #2
my HB actually asked my gynae when i went to her to do my pap smear abt 1 month after delivery!!! gynae say cannot so fast cos mine is c-section plus removal of fibroids so the wound will take some time to heal... i told him can but come out from his stomach lor...

celyn,
Enfalac is for 0-12mths, Enfapro is for 6mths onwards.

Hence, wondering which one to get now. Cos I have another 4 more tins which shd be able to last til she's 6 mths old.

M2B,
So u recommend to continue Enfalac til 12mths, instd of switching to Enfapro at 6mths?

Re: #2
I'm still thinking, even though I wld v much like to have it quick but there're other concerns, nonwithstanding the economic situation that my hubby quoted.

dongle,
haha, the comment you shoot back to your hubby is so funny LOL.

I can sense my maid's attitude starting to be not so gd liao.

Haiz... just now had quarrel w hubby, actually is me dowana bring bb over to ILs. Somehow spill over to other things. and even brot up the issue of the maid. So pek chek w him, he said dun hire the maid if feel so restricted lo.
Then told him off that v easy for him to say send the maid back.
I was like, if dun hv maid who's gona take care of bb unless i dun work?? Even if wana hire another maid, still gota re-train the new one which will take at least 1 mth. Then he tiam tiam liao.

Men!!! They think everything so simple. Grrrr....

krex78,
if tt's d case, then i meet u at city hall.
pm me ur order. once our order arrived, then we arrange again.
re. bf, i wld prob continue as long as possible.

m2b,
i can meet u at jurong east on sun when i go back 2 my mum's plc. okie wif u? if yes, then pm me ur order.

yln,
it's either at my plc at bedok reservoir rd or jurong east st 13 on sun. if nt, i can meet u at city hall when i meet up wif krex78.

hi August mummies,

dont know if any of you feel the same......my baby is now 4 months old....after 4 months of constant looking after him myself...i feel very burnt out....think my post natal depression is back again also....i get panic attacks when other people attempt to carry him...and i feel so lonely and grumpy as a result of being all alone looking after baby

feel so tired most days...because the nights are so long and tiring...baby is on full breastfeeding and i have had to wake up 2 to 3 times a night to feed or pacify him. ( the baby cot is next to my bed)

these last two weeks, i couldnt take it anymore..so tired..eyes hurt and have headaches.i had to lay baby next to me in bed...and we sleep together with husband on my left and baby on my right.

so worried i'll crush baby .if i roll over deep in sleep...but so far its been ok....what do you all think? anyone has any advice?

celyn,

yu ze drink v little and quite often. why not try 5 feeds and do it every 4 hrs instead? can't finish is it? usu i will pump at work then bring the milk to my MIL's place and the milk is to feed him the next day. i will start the week with fbm since i try to latch on during weekends, then the excess milk on fri i will freeze. it becomes 1 cycle lor. oh yah, how come he still drink fm if u got so much bm?

val,

i think enfalac has more whey and less casein. enfapro has more casein than whey to meet bb's changing needs. but the book i read says it's not always nec. to switch to 2nd stage fm after 6 mths...may result in constipation. i'll bask my pd abt it on fri.

dongle,

ya will need to have pep talk with maid b4 i go back to work next week.

baby_emma,
do u have any other help?
1. You can express out some milk so that at nite someone else can help to feed baby while you can rest. Then u feel someone else is helping you and not so stressed out, plus more rest.

2. by now quite a number of our babies can sleep through ie 6 hours or more at nite ... not sure for those latch on babies. Those bottle fed on EBM/FM i think shld be sleeping through and hence, we are quite ok liaoz.

3. worry about crushing baby will cause u more sleeplessness. Sometimes i also like the idea of sleeping with baby but fear to squash him ... end up i dun sleep well. So i bring him back to his cot instead ;)

Then again i believe in mother instinct in not squashing your baby but fathers? depends on if you guys are deep sleepers. My hubby used to be more sensitive with my #1 when he was a baby but this time round #2, hubby will still sleep like a log ... so better not.
There's still a reasonable degree of risk.

4. Feel free to drop a note and rant ... we do that to reduce our stress too. SOmetimes other people just would not understand what we go through .... over here, there's someone who might have been through similar situation before ;)

Baby,
I'm interest in good offers for photo-shoot too

1) Sharon
2) Ling ling
3) M2B
4) Shint

krex78,
pd ask me to give him 3 hourly due to his weight. had been doing so since 2nd month and only skip 1 night feed from 3rd month. based on 3 hourly, he don't cry for milk if we don't feed him. 125ml can actually last longer than 3 hours.

started him on once a day fm cos heard story of baby not wanting fm even though there is no more bm. so give him 1 feed so that he is used to the taste. in case i don't have enough bm he is still willing to drink fm. even with just 1 feed, there is a period where he actually refuse to drink fm. so from then we make it a point to give 1 feed of fm.

then now i got storage problem so thought of alternating the nights for fm.

my extra bm comes from the last pump and first pump in the morning, about 2-3 bottles. yu ze will drink abput 6-7 bottles daily at babysitter's place.

yu ze now know how to flip from tummy to back liao. he did it a few times today. i put him on tummy to sleep but he refuse to sleep. then he raise his buttock high high, shake shake then flip over. so i told hubby, must pull up the side of his cot liao. in case, he flip over while we sleep then fall off the cot.

I hope you enjoy the Xmas hoildays.. And looking forward for new year holidays.

Just to check if anyone try sterilize milk bottle with cold water or keeping it in the fridge? Cos I am bring my son for holiday and wanting to try this out.

Baby,
I'm interest in the photo shoot too.

1) Sharon
2) Ling ling
3) M2B
4) Shint
5) Shay

vone,
please count me in for the HT cereal. here's my order. let me know how do i pay u....tia!
2 brown rice cereal
1 multigrain cereal

celyn,

Yu Ze knows how to flip from tummy to back? Congrats!
Must be exciting to see him in action. Did u videotape?

baby emma,

Think it's better if you put baby into the cot with guards. Cos I feel it's dangerous for your baby to be sleeping with you in case either you or your hubby crushes him.

Are you a SAHM? If so, it can be quite challenging. Any extra help that you can get? Or your parents or ILs can help look after during weekends for few hrs?

Think you also need some ME time, or enjoy a few hrs with your hubby. Else can go crazy.

Just post in the forum if you hit any difficulty, maybe some of the second-time mummies here can advise you too!

I've finally went shopping yesterday and today...yay! went to Zara @ GWC but nothing much left for bb boy in the end got myself a vest top. Also got myself a dress and skirt from animals - the name of the shop sounds so funny!
Today, went to Parkway and bought the U-like blender for $69.90, 4 pants for #1 & ashton and 2 pairs of shoes (10 bucks each) from URS w/hse sale...cheap cheap. Ttl damage for 2 days 500 bucks.

will be on leave till jan 5. ay be tomorrow going to expo sales. anyone going too? we can meet... wanna go check out the crocs.

Shay,

What expo sale?? The metro one isit? For the crocs?

Tmrw intending to bring bb swimming, after that gota rush off for appointmt leh... What time u going?

krex,

It would be gd if u can ask your PD about the switch in formula.

Cos I duno what's the diff btwn Enfalac and Enfapro.

So the whey will cause constipation?

Baby,

I'm interest in the photo shoot too. But more to family photo shoot.

1) Sharon
2) Ling ling
3) M2B
4) Shint
5) Shay
6) mrsgan

shay,
noted on ur order. will advise payment details later.

anymore mummies wanna order fr healthy times? i need another $75 worth of orders 2 get d 15% d/c.

Happy_mummy,
Re: photoshoot at Studio Loft

Is there a theme or is it for CNY? The one you mentioned $170 for 7 shots?

YLN, wanna call you but u walk very fast and were so crowded lor and I also dunno what to call you (Y.L.N?! hehe) cos i suddenly cant remember ur real name. I saw the checkered dress too but didnt check the price instead i more interested in the red dress they have but my hubby dont want said #2 got something similar.

Planning for #2,
I am a real example. My #1 and #2 age gap is 2 year old. Heard of 'terrible 2'? Now i really test of it, really terrible. Gonna drive me and my family crazy. Age gap of 3 or 4 is better. So i will think twice if were to have #3.

valnsw,
when studioloft have the x'mas promotion i am going to go but when i saw it it is already over. My friend went for it and is very nicely taken. She said will have one for CNY. Am going to call them up to ask

re: crawling sign
btw, any one saw ur baby like attempt to crawl? mine when flipped to tummy, she will keeps kicking and today i saw her move her butt up and use knee to push her body forward abit just like what my #1 did when she start learning to crawl. And she can rotate herself to 45 degree on tummy by kicking her leg and move her hand. Dont know you get what i mean. But i know it couldnt be she is learning to crawl lah since she is only 4 month

re: photoshoot

there is a CNY walk in promo, the price is $25 for 15 min shoot.

just the 2 shots. any additional shot you would like to buy is $10 for unedited softcopy and $15 for edited softcopy PLUS 5R print.

valnsw: Sometimes men thinking too simple drive us crazy... sometimes men thinking too complicated also drive us crazy. hahahahhaah! But u r the one who call the shots right?

baby_emma: oh, do u have any help? Say ur mil or ur parents? I have ZERO help so i am also all by myself.. Quit my job to be a SAHM (no choice!) Last time i was from finance sector, really enjoying life.. Now with baby, have to let go alot of things..so for now, i tell myself to hang on there..Piority is baby grow up n go to playground, then i can return to workforce. My hubby is also very supportive as in tho he works, sometimes he works 24hrs..i am also alone at home with baby.. Me also 24hrs taking care of bb. I think if u are able to go out shopping with baby, it helps.
I almost everyday go out with my baby n hubby (sometimes) so im ok. last time i used to feel like u too... very burnt out. But u hv to make some changes n know ur bb's pattern.. then its really easier to cope.

nini,
too bad, I don't really call the shots though I want to. My hubby will argue w me, if he thinks his opinion is right, even though the facts are there, he still can say he's right when he's wrong. And he's super sensitive when I comment abt his parents and siblings.

msapple,
Ya I think I knw what you mean. Chevelle also uses her butt( she raise high high) and the 2 legs to kick forward. Actually, she rubs the 2 feet together, end up now hv this habit too even when she's upright. Sometimes she ends up as u say 45 degrees, but v seldom.

valnsw, me also same as you, alway have different view as hubby when come to maid and baby. Think all guy is like that, heck care and also think we women are too sensitive. I also quarrel with hubby over maid and baby. Hai... Got alot of big arguement when I decided to sent my ex-maid back to indonesian. That time i am so stress and depress over it.

Shint/Valnsw

Thanks for ur advice. Ya im a sahm. Have a maid to do the housework. But I dont trust her with the baby. In fact, l don’t trust anybody else with my baby. Neither in laws(bit too old) nor my parents(too busy with their biz)

Hb works long hours so im at home alone with baby till late at night.

Sigh…and recently been having thoughts of just chucking everything and going back to work….but my work is 16 hour days and need to travel also….so I will have no time to spend with baby =( so its really not an option =(

Nini (diorly)
I like the beco butterfly II. Its very good. No backache and baby is well supported front and back facing. I bought mine via vpost directly from the usa. U can come and try if u want?

Baby,

1) Sharon
2) Ling ling
3) M2B
4) Shint
5) Shay
6) mrsgan
7) babyemma