(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hashisan,
Welcome home ! Glad you had fun. Did you girl cry on the plane ? Cause there could some pain in the ear because of plane takeoff and landing rite?

Shay,
Sorry to hear you have chicken pox. Take care !

Gimmill Sale:
Hubby and I went to the sale yesterday ! Was just trying my luck mentioning that I wanted to go to the sale and he actually agreed ! It was really hot there but managed to buy osh gosh clothes for $15 a set (pants and top). On the whole happy with it lah, just that I think I was overcharged leh, cause the girl just asked me to pay $92 but when i came back and calculated, i think i was overcharged ! Sigh.. what to do? Already too late liao, and no receipt some more.

Yuuri,
How old is your child? Can start solid liao ah? The last time I tried giving Adel just one teaspoon of rice cereal, he cried like mad after that. Doc said maybe indigestion, too early for him to take... now I have to endure him waking up every night. Really tough leh.. wonder when he will sleep through.

Happy_mummy,
My boy will be 5 months in just over 1 week's time. Will be starting solid for him after CNY. Now doing preparation work! Hee...quite excited!

cocomo,
do u recommend me to get MR400? actually i have no idea what is needed to make puree, porridge, etc. any advise?

yuuri,
my boy is turning 5m.o next week too. can u share what are ur preparation work? any homework to share with us? heh

hashisan
Welcome back.. Sounds like a gd trip & both Ryo & Misaki are so guai, handled both take off & landing well

I hope when we take Ashley on a trip early next year, she wld be guaiguai too..

ReiRei
Does the Tiger food jar come with a handle ah?
I'm not Isetan card holder, so wondering if I can tompang anot leh

snow
Oooh, chope for me k? Hahah, u bargain hor..

shay
Take gd care!! Anyone helping u take care of Ashton?

yuuri
Am keen on the baby cubes, you confirmed org the BP?

Halo Mommies!

Catherine,
You got lobang on the materials to make hairclips? Must share heehee

Yuuri,
What is Baby cubes? Me suaku lah

Shay,
You take care and hope you wun feel too much discomfort coz need to take care of the kids somemore.

mulberry,
Will post here when the BP listing is up...

missysz,
I v blur one lah..say start prep work. Actually is slowly wait for mummies here to provide more information! hahaha..so I start off with buying the baby cubes first. Then learn how to make purees since I'm a kitchen-idiot. Also must buy Healthy Times Brown Rice Cereal!

hisstory,
Yah confirm organising. Already submitted the form, just waiting for the moderators to put up the thread

M2B,
You v cute ley..I'd expect you definitely know since you already have a #1! It's little cubes with lids to store purees so don't have to make every day.

Wah suddenly everyone so on about diy-ing hairclips! Too bad I can't make my boy cross-dress...but I think most of the materials can be found in Spotlight. Failing which, someone could always start a spree at Joann.com

yuuri
oooh, very gd.. Hmm, u be doing both 1 oz & 2 oz?
I'm wondering if just getting the 1 oz type wld be sufficient anot, or just get the 2oz once & for all

yuuri
I see.. Tt was what I was thinking too, just store less in the 2oz type for the time being, instead of getting both types

YLN,

mash fruit tool

Can be found in Cold storage, Actually used for mash potato to make potato mash, but can be used for fruits too.

shay,

take care!

If I am nt wrong, u can bf n baby will have immune system against it. But ask doctor and see what he advise.

reirei,

I was planning to bring my baby this month to Japan, but realised and worried if she can tahan the cold weather. Been to Japan during this season and understood what u wrote about the trip back to station. No joke loh.

Plus... seems like no local shop selling winter wear, etc for babies. All for kids only. I think glove, booties, thermal wear, jacket will be important for such young age too.

DIY hairclip

Brash Basah 2nd floor, there's a shop at the corner selling things that you might need. I think is call sagacity. I rem that logo is a duck with a crown.

Plus Art friends also have, but price higher for the same thing.

Another place should be in Chinatown... at People's Park Centre. 2nd floor... I think is call something dragon. It's next to staircase to the overhead bridge to Chinatown point.

Celyn n vern,
thanks thanks for the advice. i'm touchin chiemi's back too when i see her sleepin nearly face down. At least tis method doesn't disturb her sleep. hehe, seems like lotsa babies is sleepin on tummy. Feel more relieve now.

briebaby,
issac look so cute sleepin with his fingers in the mouth.Too bad my ger still can't fall asleep on her tummy, she'll flip in her sleep.

valnsw,
i oso jagar her in afternoon but at night. tiring sia, if can i oso rather she sleep on her tummy straightaway den flip durin her sleep.

hashisan
welcome back. seems like u had an enjoyable trip. Misaki is such a gd baby .
I wonder if chiemi will b a gd bb . hehe

Hi missysz,
Yes, will recommend you to buy that model.

missysz/yuuri/mummies,
Would like to recommend you all 2 books for your babbies/toddlers food
1. Feed your child right by Lynn Alexander & Yeong Boon Yee - Asia food
2. Super Foods for babies and Children by Annabel Karmel - puree and angmo food

yuuri,
i'm keen. is it this pdt:
http://babycubes.com/
it's S$12 including postage and all?

mul,
i got the email on 17 dec. then i replied to say i'd like to collect on 18 dec but no reply. emailed again on 18 dec still no reply. till today, can't contact her. i'm trying to get her phone number. u got? *sigh* i'll never order from this woman again!

YLN,
when u heat up with microwave, is the heating even? i read somewhere that no gd to heat food up in microwave, esp for bb, since heating is not even. some parts may be hotter than the others. is it possible to thaw using warm water or something? will the cube spoil? also, how do u label the food? using pencil?

mommies starting semi-solids:
anyone coming up with feeding schedule? i've been wanting to start on this project but very lazy. was hoping to plan what to give each day and for how long so my MIL knows exactly what to do. something like week 1 or days 1-4, cereal, days 5-8, pureed broccoli or something like that. that was can monitor bb intake and i know exactly what MIL has been feeding him.

Baby Jumper Gym

Anyone (esp Westsiders) interested in going for trial class? Heard got new classes starting in Jan! It was featured in Mother&Baby mag as one of the best baby courses here!

thank you mummies for all the well wishes. today woke up with lotsa bubbles even on my gum..aarrrgghhh.....
but fever subsided hopefully it will not come back again. body still aching

hubby went down to take the q no. will be seeing gp soon. i tot i want to ask the gp not to give me antibiotic leh....i dunno if that is possible. my maid keep asking me to let ashton sleep with her but i a bit reluctant still. i said let me try a few more nights and see how. cos now ashton doesn't wake up for milk anymore so he will not disturb my sleep.

snow,
no, i haven't taken any chicken pox jab. u mean i can still take it now? actually i dun mind the pox but i hate the fever and headache.

Yuuri,
is the babycubes BPA free? if it is BPA free, i would like to place order.

Krex78,
Regarding starting semi-solids, I started my gal on cereals at 4mth, starting off by mixing 1 tblespoon of HT brown rice cereal with BM/FM in her milk. In the first few days,only gave her this for 1 feed(cos monitoring whether she can take it and also any allergies) then slowly increase to 2 feed and so on..Initially she doesn't like the taste and kept on crying and rejecting the milk but gradually after ard 2 wks she got used to it...Experienced mummies, is this the correct way to do so? I'm thinking of starting to spoon feed her cereals..

yuuri
I'm also keen on getting the bb cubes. Could you pls include me when the BP is up? Many thanks

Kindermusik trial class
Is any mummies still orgainsing this trial class? I'm planning to go some time on the last week of dec..If there are can include me??

Shay,
Yup BPA free
Will keep you in the loop.

coolsnow,
Ok noted.
How do you feed your girl now? I thought solids sure must use spoon?

hashisan,
welcome back! hope u enjoyed yr trip. although it may have been tough work but at least u don't have to worry about yr kids. i'm in a dilemma as to bring bb or not. hubby scared if bring bb, we won;t be able to enjoy ourselves es if we go places that need to shop alot. but he doesn't want me to him if we leave baby behind n i miss bb or mind how my mil n maid handles the bb. now everywhere is so cold n like wat sylvia said, no bb's padded windbreaker 1 piece jumper like suit 4 babies to wear during winter

reirei,
hahahaha, now's yr turn huh. mine kiss face, hands, arms, thighs, feet. u name it!!!!! see already i super *arrrrrrrrrrrrr* but ren lor

yuuri,
i dun mind trying the trial. u got details?

wah .. never log in 1 day and so many postings.. Was at Orchard yesterday cos went to do my hair and the crowd was crazy. Last weekend before xmas.. lots of last min shoppers. Couldnt take it after 1 hr i quickly went home.

earnestmum,
ya i wont get you wrongly with others

snow,
the website abt the hairclips
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com:80/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?449169/1944166
http://www.hipgirlclips.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=31

reirei,
ya i havent gone "out" to buy raw materials, but i saw the website seems very reasonably priced. maybe we can org a spree here. After looking at the prices, i realized we pay too much for hairclips cos the "maker" mostly just glue on the parts only. maybe i should also make and sell.hahah

hi hashisan,
glad you enjoyed your holiday
I need one too !!!

shay,
oh dear.. take care !!

M2B,
you can buy some loose yards of ribbons from one of the lady on the thread. She selling off hers. her nic name is SL. I just bought from her.

coolsnow,
you can join my class at kindermusik but already no more classes until 02/01 cos next Fri they are closed for Xmas. There are 2 baby classes on Fri. 2pm and 3pm. You can call them to ask, look for Irene, she helped us with the organizing of the trial last time. If you need any help, PM me

mulberry,
i bought the EvenFlo triple fun
http://www.evenflo.com/product.aspx?id=181&pfid=92
not bad can be playmat, exersaucer and activity table next time.

shay,
Oh dear, take care if u hv chicken pox, will feel v uncomfortable. BTW, heard that if bb gets chicken pox, is not so bad for them when they're young, just that u need to put them in aircon place to cool them down.

YLN,
how do u make the puree and u said the mashed pear? Just use any tool / utensil or the mash tool that sylvia mentioned?
Then after mashing, can store in the cubes, so after that when wana eat, how to thaw?? Pardon me for asking.

krex,
If microwave heat the puree in the baby cube, will not warm up evenly ah?

Yuuri,
Ya, keep us in the loop on the babycubes. I'm thinking if want to buy more, though I hv 2 trays alrdy. haha

cocomo,
So getting the blender is more worthwhile isit? Cos next time need to make puree of other stuff?

Re: baby food
Aiyo... me total loss, as first-time mum. Need some help / advice here. What things/tools to buy and food to let bb start eating? Like next time, start on fish and meat, need to mash up using what?? Or any website to recommend on starting bb weaning?

hashishan,
Glad u had a gd trip! Must be a gd respite from SG for u.

<font color="119911">BABY JUMPER GYM</font>

The Little Crawlers (5 - 14 mths)

<ul>[*] Music and Movements (with single words on flash cards) <LI>Photographic Memory Enhancement <LI>Eye Training / Sensory Play <LI>Gym (Physical Intelligence) <LI>General Knowledge <LI>Chinese Words Recognition <LI>Mathematics (Dots Card) <LI>Encyclopedic Knowledge[/list]

Trial class is $37 per session. Dunno if we can form a class ourselves cos its in Bkt Batok, abit inconvenient for eastsiders..so dunno if can get discount for group signups!

Hisstory,
got got handle!
It's the model P071: http://www.usa.tiger-corporation.com/commodity/stainless_steel/lineup.html
I oni got 2 admission coupons, and am bringing a fren liao..if not u can join me. :p
alternatively check arnd whois cardholder and not going on dat day mayb can give you the addmission coupon? cos it's a working day dat day mah..
Or, if u jus wanna get the food jar, i will try my luck dat day for u..if u wan, can PM me ur hp?

Catherine,
Wah..i went to source for materials y'day at Chinatown..soo hot..altho materials are cheap (ribbons are $0.60/yard), but if i take into account the time &amp; effort in finding and getting the stuff, i wld oso sell it at 100% profit! haha..
I'm oso tinking of starting bp on hairclips! (haha..i havent even started making 1 yet)

hee..u start bp on the materials, i'll sure join!
Tis website looks pretty cool..got alot of stuff:
http://www.trimweaver.com/ribbons.html

Yuuri,
hahaa..u oso v notti ah..bb now 'bo geh' still..bite liao she will luff cos v ticklish..haha..

Twin Stars,
HAIZZZzzz....join the sianners club..

Mulberry,

Here's a pic of my loot:
2001911.jpg

2001912.jpg

2001913.jpg

Actually still have one more, but that's being hanged to dry, let her wear yday for some gathering ;)

Valnsw,
can start reading up this thread on Weaning Your Baby - introduction to solids (around 4-6mths) :
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/512426.html
and also http://www.annabelkarmel.com/

Yuuri,
I'm still feeding her milk + cereal via bottle leh..usually as I only put in ard 1 or 2 tablespoon then stir in milk so that the cereal dissolve completely, 1 good thing about HT brown rice cereal is that it is very very fine..definately recommend it for bb first food...am going to try using spoon feeding later...

Catherine
Thanks for the kindermusik info, will call her up..btw, I checked their website it states there's 2 types of classes for NB onwards thats Village &amp; Familytime. Which one did you all go for?

ReiRei
dun think i can go leh even if i've got the coupon, coz no one to jaga Ashley..
If you can get 1 set for me, help me k? I PM you my no. later today

val
The loot looks so wonderful.. Me been spending too much liao, yday just got her another skirt when I bought 1 skirt &amp; dress last week. hahah

Shay
u take care!!!

Yurri
i am interested with Baby Jumper Gym

Can we start a survey on this..

December survey

Some questions hope you can help:-
1) What is your baby drinking now?
2) How much milk your baby is currently drinking?
3) Has your baby started flipping?
4) Have you start cereal or puree on your baby?
5) How much cereal/ puree are you giving?

<table border=1><tr><td> <font size="-1">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Gender of bb</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bb age</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Drink</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Amt</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Flip</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Start on cereal/ puree</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Amt</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Ruixuan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">boy</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18wks</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EBM</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">120ml 3 hrly</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">yes</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">not started</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">NA</font></td></tr></table>

December survey

1) What is your baby drinking now? EBM
2) How much milk your baby is currently drinking? 180-200ml 4 hrlt
3) Has your baby started flipping? Yes
4) Have you start cereal or puree on your baby? No
5) How much cereal/ puree are you giving? NA

reirei,
not 100% but it's few hundred % hahaha. maybe Aug thread mummies can become hairclip suppliers. hahaha. Anyway if you wana cheat and do for yourself, http://www.hipgirlclips.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&amp;cPath=31 have some snap clips which are already lined, so it's easier, just glue on the ribbons or any designs. But i think should go get the design cutter to cut the felt materials. I might order some just to try out for fun 1st.

coolsnow,
i join the village cos that class is all babies, so i feel it's more suitable.

December survey

1) What is your baby drinking now?
1) How much milk your baby is currently drinking?
2) Has your baby started flipping?
3) Have you start cereal or puree on your baby?

<table border=1><tr><td> <font size="-1">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Gender of bb</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Bb age</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">Drink</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Amt</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Flip</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Start on cereal/ puree</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Amt</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Ruixuan</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">boy</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">18wks</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EBM</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">120ml 3 hrly</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">yes</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">not started</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">NA</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-1">Yuuri</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">boy</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">17wks</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">EBM</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">180-200ml 4-5hrly</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">yes</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">not started</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">NA</font></td></tr></table>

Ruixuan, thanks for putting up this survery, can help me add mine in the table? Idiot me dunno how to input in the table format..thanks ar

December survey

Nick: Coolsnow
Gender of bb: gal
Bb age: 19 wks
Drink: FM and FM + cereal
Amt: 200ml ard 4hrly
Flip: No
Start on cereal/ puree: Yes

December survey

gender - girl
bb age - 22wks

1) What is your baby drinking now? BM &amp; FM
2) How much milk your baby is currently drinking? 90ml 3 hrly

so many post to catch up.

ruixuan,
can we warm up pre-mixed fm given by hospital? i have some enfalac one but yu ze don't really like cos its not warm or hot.

yuuri,
do we need to change bpa free things regularly like those normal ones? those non bpa free bottles, we change every 3-4 months. do we need to do the same for these cubes? i already got some but if need to change regularly, i might want to get more.

shay,
oh no. must be miserable to have chicken pox. i got it once for like 2 days only (very little) so my mum say i will get it again. you take care.

December survey

gender - boy
bb age - 19wks

1) What is your baby drinking now? EBM &amp; 1FM
2) How much milk your baby is currently drinking? 125ml 3 hrly

Coolsnow

can u update this table too

<table border=1><tr><td> <font size="-1">Mummy</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Baby Gender</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Baby Name</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">DOB</font></td></tr></table>