(2008/08) Aug 2008

<font color="aa00aa">yuuri &amp; shint
ur methods sound good. shall try on her and hopefully she will imitate. She is quite co-operative most of the time. she has no prob falling back sleep in the middle of nite aft feed. I will put her on the bed and pat, she will fall asleep. Just thought of training her to be more independent. haha keep forgetting she is only 3m old!

Pigeon breastpads:
I've 2 BN boxes to let go at $7 each(incl postage). Dint use them cus low ss. Pls pm me if any of the mummies is interested.

I'm gg to slowly cease pumping when back to work. Cus the toilet aint suitable for pumping, quite dirty. I cannot imagine pumping out raeann's milk in such condition. Sigh, as much as I wan to continue giving her bm. body just doesnt produce enuf ss. So sad, hopefully #2 in future will benefited fm bm bah. ;p</font>

Hi Catherine,
I got the Leapfrog excesaucer, maybe I can set it up for Bernice to try on the X'mas bash??

Shint,
Will PM you my account no.

Dongle,
Is liang catering food nice? Ok so if for now the number of adult is 32 and toddler is 9 pax. How many pax do u think i shall order?
25 or 30paxs?? I not yet called them so not sure how many pax got free delivery? Shall call later to check.

Hi hashisan, shint, krex78,
Do let me know whether to cater for your maid? I am ordering tonight.

Those not yet confirm whether you are still interested to join in by tonight 8pm, sorry I will proceed to cater for you.

Those who bring mom along, I will cater for them unless you said dont have to.

=========================
X'mas Babies bash'08

Venue: Boon Tiong Road (near Tiong Bahru Plaza/MRT)
Date: 14 Dec 08
Time: 1.30pm

Event include
- Temperature measuring, maybe check for HFMD (to be safe for the babies hee!)
- Name tag will be given to the babies and Parent (Can provide the name just like what I did for mine below. So I can prepare the tag. Thanks!)
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Phototaking of the babies
- X'mas Gift exchange for the toddler and babies (budget = $15 or more as you wish)
- Gift opening?

1) msapple(E-Ling) + 1 toddler(Amabel) + 1 baby (Aisleyne) - confirmed
2) balugu (shirley) + 1 bb (Gerlene)
3) celynlee (celyn) + 1 baby (yu ze)
4) vone (??) + 1 toddler (??) + 1 bb (??)
5) M2B (Lillian) + 1 toddler (Lorraine) + 1 bb (Maegan)
6) aurora (??) + 1 bb (Reagan) - confirmed
7) missysz (sereen) + 1 baby (Jonas) - confirmed
8) Roiv (Ivey)+ Hubby (Rony) + 1 toddler (Xavier) + 1 bb (Allivier) confirmed
9) snow74 (may) + hubby (bw) + 1 toddler (Nynn) + 1bb (Zynn) - confirmed
10) whatodo(Samantha) + Mom + 1 bb(Yu Min)
11) Shint (Cynthia) + 1 toddler (Quan) + 1 bb(Kai) + 1 helper
12) Fitbaby (Lina) + 1 my mom + 1 bb (Trudy) Confirmed
13) Happy mummy (Katherine) + hubby (faroek) + bb (Adel)
14) vern (Laverne) + bb (Izzy) - confirmed
15) krex78 (karen) + hubby (??)+ 1 bb (Jonah) + 1 helper (KIV)
16) catherine + bb(bernice) confirmed
17) cocomo (??) + hubby (??) + 1 toddler (Jayden) + bb (Shervalle)
18) april + bb (Denzel) - confirmed
19) megan + hubby +1 4yr old(megan) + 1 bb(titus)
20)hashisan + hubby +3yo (ryoutaro) +1 bb (misaki) + helper
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)
22) Nini (Winnie) + bb (Braiden) - confirmed
23) dongle (connie) + bb (cayla) - confirmed

Total= 32 adults (excluded maid) + 9 toddlers + 23 babies

For who will be coming with ur mom, I do added to the above (32 adults). Let me know if dont need to cater for them.

Those who bring along maid. Do let me know whether to cater for your maid.

morning mummies.

jocelyn,
i'm interested in the breast pad. i will send out the alphabet to you tonight when i reach home.

yuuri,
give me your email for me to send the alphabet to you tonight when i reach home.

hisstory,
heheh.... yah, i'm also tired. now i try to get a 'nap' at 9pm then wake up at 12am to pump. then the next pump will be 5.45am to pump and prepare for work.

putting baby to sleep:
i put yu ze to sleep on his own since oct. i just off the lights, on the music and give him his pacifier. sometimes, he will eh eh for a while. as long as he don't cry, i will leave him alone. after a while, he will just doze off. i will carry him for a while if he cry then put him down again. sometimes need to repeat 2 - 3 times before he doze off. i will try not rock him to sleep now. i also let him sleep on his own in his room in his cot.

jocelyn, does your office have mtg room or is your cubicle wall high? for me, i explored mtg rooms but later on went to pump in empty cubicle. the walls are high, so just need to block the entrance with a chair and put a large board to seal it up. now that there's no empty cubicle, i just do in mine. recently my hb made me temporary curtains, so i still get my privacy although the noisy pump probably adds to the music in the office, haha. fortunately, i have a largely female environment here.

<font color="aa00aa">celyn,
ok, will reserve it for u. u take 1 box? u dun mind if i post to u w/o box, less bulky this way. pls email me tog w ur addy. tks

mommies who are weaning off their bb from breast milk:

how do u do it? reduce number of pumps each day? i'm contemplating doing that next year since it's getting difficult to pump in office given my busy schedule. will u get engorged breasts in the beginning? shld i start pumping 1x instead of 2x, then when ss dips, try not pumping at all? is it ok to still bf bb when i get home? will that help in increase ss? i'm hoping to stop pumping at work but dun mind having bb latch on in the evenings. dunno if milk ss will be sufficient by then though.

<font color="aa00aa">krex,
really exhausted on all options. mine is an open concept office so no cubicle. all mtg rooms have see throught mirror... -_-</font>

for my case, since i've low ss reducing no of pumps is easier for me. can tahan the engorgement, slowly lengthen the pumping time longer. definately ss will be greatly affected so i guess u can feed bb with ebm thereafter.</font>

Thanks Krex and Shint for your sharing and advice. Now I can gauge better with the BM lifespan in room temperature. Will try Krex's method to let him have fun with his mirror reflection.

Wow, Celyn, Yu Ze so good boy. *Envy*

morning mummies ...

re:kindermusic .. calling Megan, pls contact me with your details and baby name.

anyone know which megan ? is it Rene ?

missysz,

yes, i m the one who pm-ed you.

Valnsw,

Can i check with you the stickers bp that you have shared, will it leave marks on the wall when taken off (based on observation)?

Hi Catherine,

When I did volunteered nursery duties, we used hand sanitiser (the big blue bottle with pump,didnt notice the brand) wet with wet wipes, to clean all the toys and mat. You may wish to try this method.

jocelyn
Can i chope 1 box of the breast pads?? Arigato in advance!!

I heard of some mummies who using nursing covers or other similar stuff to shield while pumping..

celyn
ur method of resting is so interesting!! i think if i nap at 9pm, i prob too exhausted to wake up at 12MN. Prob wait till bb cries for milk.. hahah

We still have to carry Ashley to sleep.. *haiz* Tried to let her cry it out, but in the end, i almost wanted to cry, coz i buay tahan the crying. Strangely when out gaigai or in church, we're okie to let her cry it out in the stroller.. Maybe coz outside we can let other things distract us, but home is too confined??

M2B
I went La Senza at Paragon yday.. So veryvery pink! Hb got a shock.. In the end he took Ashley outside, heheh, too hard on his eyes

re: Teething
I met up with my GF yday &amp; her boy, who just turned 4 mths has sprouted out 2 teeth!! So cute!!

<font color="aa00aa">sure hisstory, pls pm me ur addy tks! i may have to split into 2 package 20 &amp; 22 pcs. Super bulky if all in 1 pkg.</font>

jocelyn,
ok. thanks.
let me know your account no so that i can transfer $$ to you.

hisstory,
yah. sometimes i will overslept and miss out the 12am pump but will automatic wake up at 2/3am loh.

sabbath,
haiyo, you just didn't get to see or hear about me complaining about him being naughty. heheh... he got this naughty boy look. sometimes, he will cry very loud just before he sleep. after a minute or 2 of crying, he will just sleep very soundly liao. don't know why must cry so badly before he sleep. hehe...

krex78,
i think by dragging your pump interval will slowly reduce the amount and engorgement.

joce, it's a pity then, but 3 mths of bm is better than none! if u work in city, maybe can use nursing rm in shopping centre as an option.

hisstory, i can tahan cry it out method at home more than outside. my hb is so pro that method, dunno why? then again, my boy doesn't cry much outside since got things to see and most of the time, he's carried in bb bjorn and he likes it. he cries a lot in the car though...

celyn,
My dad says babies cry when they want to sleep coz they want to announce to everyone "I WANT TO SLEEP!!!" hahaha

jocelyn
Thanks!! Shall PM you shortly..

Tt's true too.. I guess with 4mths of BM &amp; some EBM, you hv given as much as you wld like to Raeann. Dun feel too bad abt not giving for 6mths k??

I was reading a friend's blog, when she did the final BF session, it suddenly dawned on her tt it's the FINALE.. I think I wld also be thinking tt it's so strange to call it quits when the time comes

celyn
heheh, you're really very diligent.. Do the nightwakings affect you at work the next day??

krex
There are various schs of thought.. Cry it out can teach bb to settle themselves to sleep, instead of relying on parents.. So in the event there are nightwakings, bb can also resettle independently &amp; then less jialat on parents

heheh, ur boy's so cute! Ashley wld be entertained for awhile in the stroller, then wld start arching her back to signal it's 'Carry Time' *hahah* Then we bo chup &amp; just let her cry, coz cannot always be carried

Is it coz the car's sort of a confined space?

Hi Mummiies

Looks like most of you will be starting solids only when baby is 6 mths. That's what I thought too but the book I was reading (What to expect in the 1st Year) say can let baby taste abit of rice cereal.

Mrs N
Thanks for the advice. Now don't know whether to start or not..

M2M, hisstory, earnestmum
Thanks! Yeah, lots of people have commented that she's very fair. Must thank her daddy for that coz i's from his genes. hehe! But don't know if she will stay as fair later when she grow up.

hisstory, i feel if bb can't take to crying it out method, then we shld just try something else. i dun mind carrying him for that 1-2 hrs to get him to sleep faster coz' he settles quite well to sleep after his 11 plus feed. even if he wakes up at 5 plus, it's not a prob putting him back to sleep. yah, i think he hates the car coz' he feels confined. the moment we open the car door and carry him, he's all smiles again. that boy!!!

I have a bit of whiste spot on my nipple. A little painful. Don't know if it's milk cyst or what. Milk supply also drop in that breast. Anyway knows? Hope it's not infection.

Tried calling Joyful Parenting and Parentcraft. Cannot reach them leh. Quite worried.

krmeow
Was reading, you can actually let bb taste a little.. But no hard &amp; fast rule, i think whichever stage we want bb to try solids, it's up to your comfort level bah

heheh, *cross fingers* ur bb wld stay fairfair!!

I had tt white spot too.. It's a bleb.. The TMC book mentioned just let bb continue to suckle &amp; it wld go off. Mine took awhile, and it was painful when bb latched on

krex
Woah, 1-2hrs.. My wrists wld break!! But u're right, if bb can let's u have undisturbed rest till 5+, can give &amp; take.. U &amp; ur hb must agree yah?

My ger also cries at times when in the car, and very happy when out.. So terrible, got a car for her &amp; she's still fussy! *hahah* Let her take the bus in future!

krex78,
my boy also don't really like to be in the car seat. he will make noise whenever the car stops. he got super good sensor with car stopping. there is once the car stops and the moment he wants to open his mouth to cry, the car moves liao. then he quickly close his mouth didn't get the chance to cry. its so funny. he knows that he can't cry cos the car is moving.

hisstory,
so far, its still ok. i think cos my work is very relaxing. also on days that i'm off, i don't take nap to rest. i just go out or do something to entertain myself instead of napping. so i guess my body is pretty use to this kind of routine liao. i don't want to take nap in the afternoon to rest cos i feel that if i start doing so, when i working. i will sure suffered from the lack of nap.

yuuri,
hahah.... what a way to make announcement.

hisstory, no lah, not carry for 1-2 hours. just carry him if he cries when we put him down to sleep. i'm pretty sure he will sleep in about 10-15 mins esp if tired. rather than let him cry it out which can last for 1 hour plus
that way none of us get any rest!

celyn, at least your boy will still stop when car moves. mine will wail the moment daddy puts him in coz he enjoys being carried by daddy very high up...can see the world, haha. if he's in a gd mood, he won't wail and will start talking to himself and playing with the car mobile, then start to cry when bored. he tends to cry also when we stop the car, esp when we slow down to enter our carpark. it's like he knows we're reaching home and cries in advance to be carried, haha.

sabbath,
Some of the stickers I pasted wrongly, i.e. want to change position, can peel off and re-stick. After taking them out, didn't peel off the paint. But then again, those stickers were just freshly pasted on, so mb easier to take out and re-stick. If left there for some time, I'm not sure if easier to take out.
Perhaps you want to check with the BP organiser?

Yuuri / celyn,
Ya my gal sometimes have to cry v loudly to signal to us she's tired, so must coax her to sleep, then she will sleep soon after.

hisstory,
Your gf's son sprouted teeth? So Cute! which teeth were they? The upper ones or lower ones?

Catherine,
I've smsed you Megan's number. Did u receive?

krex78,
heheh... at least he got a car mobile to play with. mine got nothing. his only toy is me, mummy talking to him. if i'm too tired to talk to him, i will give him a nappy to play with or just give him his pacifier to suck. hahaha....

kneow,
Tdy my mum prepared oats (I didn't even knw that!), to let bb taste.
Of course, she made it v watery and without sugar, and only let her drink the watery part. It dribbled past her mouth but overall, the last few spoonfuls, she was like ok.

<font color="aa00aa">celyn,
ok, will state my acct no. in my reply.

krex/hisstory,
ya, at least she gets 3mth of bm nutrient. better than none...i've been alternating btw bm &amp; fm rt from the start, super low ss le. Tried fenugreek and gynae's prescription (dint finish the whole course cus of its side effect) also no use. rem i got so stressed up over it &amp; cried once. but finally got over that stage. i figured it out low ss is better than none. So i really envy mummies with total bf. Keep up the good job!!

Hi mommies, i think my playmat will be too small to place all the babies. Anyone who drive want to volunteer to bring one extra?

I have mail my address and contact to those mommies who have already provided me with the email address.
Please PM me for my address and contact if you not yet do so.

Do let me know whether to cater for your maid? I am ordering tonight.

Those not yet confirm whether you are still interested to join in by tonight 8pm, sorry I will proceed to cater for you.

Those who bring mom along, I will cater for them unless you said dont have to.

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Name tag will be given to the babies and Parent (Can provide the name just like what I did for mine below. So I can prepare the tag. Thanks!)
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- X'mas Gift exchange for the toddler and babies (budget = $15 or more as you wish)
- Gift opening?

4) vone + 1 toddler + 1 bb (??)
6) aurora + 1 bb (Reagan) - confirmed
7) missysz (sereen) + 1 baby (Jonas) + Maid (not cater) - confirmed *address and contact sent*
8) Roiv (Ivey)+ Hubby (Rony) + 1 toddler (Xavier) + 1 bb (Allivier)- confirmed *address and contact sent*
9) snow74 (may) + hubby (bw) + 1 toddler (Nynn) + 1bb (Zynn) - confirmed *address and contact sent*
10) whatodo(Samantha) + Mom + 1 bb(Yu Min)- confirmed *address and contact sent*
11) Shint + 1 toddler (Quan) + 1 bb(Kai) + 1 helper - confirmed *address and contact sent*
15) krex78 (karen) + hubby + 1 bb (Jonah) + 1 helper (not cater)- confirmed *address and contact sent*
17) cocomo + hubby + 1 toddler (Jayden) + bb (Shervalle)
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)
22) Nini (Winnie) + bb (Braiden) - confirmed *address and contact sent*

For who will be coming with ur mom, I do added to the above (32 adults). Let me know if dont need to cater for them.

celyn, wah your toy is a gd idea. nappy costs only few cents, compared to toys. mine was given by colleagues as a gift. i think can be used to put on stroller also but we never tried that yet.

joce, i also had ss prob. my CL gave bb FM the moment he came back coz' he didn't want to latch on. always cry. i was pretty upset during my 1st mth coz' she gave so much FM, so my bb was on alternate FM and BM feed. then when she left, i kept pumping every 3 hours until ss went up. PD also advised dun need to follow formula tin guidelines so i gave him less milk to drink, but at least all of it was BM. till now, managed to maintain but ss dipping already. i think i'll be ok to give FM for night feed once i finish all my FBM. at least i tried my best.

Hi ms apple, woule like to join the xmas bash too but not sure if i'm too late to add in my name. Do let me know. oki. =)

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

7) missysz (sereen) + 1 baby (Jonas) + Maid (not cater) - confirmed *address and contact sent*
8) Roiv (Ivey)+ Hubby (Rony) + 1 toddler (Xavier) + 1 bb (Allivier)- confirmed *address and contact sent*
9) snow74 (may) + hubby (bw) + 1 toddler (Nynn) + 1bb (Zynn) - confirmed *address and contact sent*
10) whatodo(Samantha) + Mom + 1 bb(Yu Min)- confirmed *address and contact sent*
11) Shint + 1 toddler (Quan) + 1 bb(Kai) + 1 helper - confirmed *address and contact sent*
15) krex78 (karen) + hubby + 1 bb (Jonah) + 1 helper (not cater)- confirmed *address and contact sent*
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)
24) happie (stephanie) + bb (chiemi) - confirmed

The trial session has been confirmed for the following mummies/daddies
1) Catherine
2) Yuuri
3) Fitbaby
4) aurora
5) valnsw
6) Briebaby
7) Megan
8) Jen
9) twin stars
10) snow74
11) msapple
12) Ruixuan- hubby bringing

Pls check your emails.

The trial session has been confirmed for the following mummies/daddies
1) Catherine
2) Yuuri
3) Fitbaby
4) aurora
5) valnsw
6) Briebaby
7) Megan
8) Jen
9) twin stars
10) snow74
11) msapple
12) Ruixuan- hubby bringing

Pls check your emails.

Re: Kindermusik

Next Trial: 12/12 Fri 3pm. Interested ?? Only for the following mummies. Pls let me know ASAP. Cos she reserving 5 slots for me now.

1) Gayle
2) faeriekim
3) missysz
4) fairybees
5) happy_mummy

Catherine,

Transfer done today:

To: POSB Savings
050-14907-2 SMH_Catherine
Amt: $23.35
Trans ref: 2007183985

Pls check and confirm receipt! THks for organising!

i agree, most CL are not pro-bf. even when i try to pump 2-3hourly aft confinement also doesnt seem to boost up ss...yes, at least we have all tried our best.

Hi msapple

sorry for being so late..but i managed to change my appt on 14thdec..so i can go for the gathering..
...hope its not too late yay..:p

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

21) Shay + bb (Ashton)
24) YLN (Pam) + bb (Kaer) - confirmed

Total= 33 adults (excluded maid) + 9 toddlers + 24 babies

opps..forgot about happie

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

21) Shay + bb (Ashton)

Total= 34 adults (excluded maid) + 9 toddlers + 24 babies

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

21) Shay + bb (Ashton)
25) YLN (Pam) + bb (Kaer) - confirmed

Total= 35 adults (excluded maid) + 9 toddlers + 25 babies

wow..i lao liao..blur le..forgot to add my name to the last list..so sorry ar..i count count..i think got 35 adults (mummies/hb/maid who need to pay)..n if got 25 mummies..got 25 bbs hor...heehee

krex78,
if your bb fuss prob means either your BM not enough or flow not fast enough... for me, i used to latch on middle of night feedings &amp; early morning feeding when my breast is still full so she is quite ok with it... i tried to direct latch her 1-2 hours after pumping &amp; she cries... so i reckon my BM not enough/flow not fast enough for her so i avoid doing it during day time... so day time i pump out &amp; my mum feed during my ML...

think if you TBF your boy during weekends &amp; he is still hungry, he may cry for milk earlier than your usual timing &amp; probably need to nurse him more often... you can try if you find it easier than pump then feed... regarding your reluctance to give FM, i think your baby may still ask for milk if your BM is not enough...

during weekdays, cayla drinks every 3 hours from bottle, it's easier for me to instruct my mum/maid to warm milk when the clock ticks 3 hours... weekend when i try direct latching, she can ask for maid 2.5 to 4 hours so more irregular for me...

krex,
having said that, i agree that it's very important not to get overly stressed abt diminishing BM ss due to us starting work cos i think it's inevitable esp the number of pump decreased so much... if not, how to juggle heavy workload plus taking care of baby after work plus still need to pump milk... think we are all super woman... in my next life, i will marry a rich man then i dun have to work &amp; can TBF my baby as long as i want... haha... when my PIL asked my 3 year old niece who she wants as boyfriend.. she replied "the one who stay in landed property"... hahahah...

dongle, yest i tried to latch him on at 8pm. my last pump was 3.40pm, so about 4 1/2 hrs since my last pump. usu i can get ard 120ml if i pump, so i let him latch on since i would be feeding him 120ml via bottle anyway. he slept while feeding on left and when i switched to right, he started to talk to me and was wide awake. then he seemed to keep on getting off my breast. he will suck, then look at me, then suck, then go on and off, then suddenly he cried. dunno if not enough milk or flow too slow, but it took abt 5 mins before we settled him down. he was ok after that coz' we entertained him. i'm still not very confident when i BF him but i do want to do it more often since it's supposed to help with my milk ss and it's more convenient for me also, instead of daddy feed and i pump, esp during weekends...feels quite silly. when i was on holiday, i BF him every 4 hours (plus minus 15 mins) and he seemed ok. now dunno is it becoz we feed too much during the day. i'm giving him the amt based on my PD's recommended formula (based on his weight).

dongle, actually my pumps didn't really decrease by much. used to do 6x last time now i do 5x, heehee. my ss did go up for awhile then after my trip when i TBF, it started to dip. so weird. anyway i'm on leave from 15 dec till year end. hopefully if i TBF can still manage to feed bb enough milk :p

celyn
U're always on the go yah? U're right, I guess, if one who's used to having naps, not having them wld be quite diff..

Gd thing ur work's not tt taxing, keeps u in a relaxed state to keep up the ss..

Guess my decision to go on NPL wld help me maintain my ss too ;)

krex
*ooops* My ger can cry quite long, and hb dunno why not willing to let her cry if we're at home, but okie with tt, when out *hmmm*

U tried taking Fenugreek to increase ss? Or u do some massage before u feed him, maybe it wld help with the flow &amp; amt.. But dun forget to take in as much fluids as you can, it also helps with the ss

jocelyn
Yupz!! Dun think too much, the more stressed you are, the more likely the ss wld dwindle.. I ever expressed out &amp; had a thought running thru my mind then, tt I may not express out enough.. And it really became a self-fulfilling prophecy of low qty

val
heheh, bottom 2.. What are they called ah??

U didn't manage to witness Chevelle taking the oats yah?? Try next time, i think it wld be really cute, even if it's a mess.. Maybe I wld try feeding Ashley bananas sometime when she's 4mths old *heehee*

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

3) celynlee (celyn) + 1 baby (yu ze) - confirm
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)
25) YLN (Pam) + bb (Kaer) - confirmed

Total= 35 adults (excluded maid) + 9 toddlers + 25 babies