(2008/08) Aug 2008

dongle
Dropped u a mail on my orders

DOngle,
Quick quick, lelong for more mommies using Ameda for a spree. I want to buy the extra flanges (2), tubing and bottles. Basically one more set la ... so my maid dun have to sterilise it at nite. If sometimes she too busy, i have to use hand to express.

dongle,
hehe, duno when you checked your mail, if you saw my revised order.
Is just one extra item, if you missed that, it's ok too

Dongle,
I'd prob go try Dr Allyson Tan out cos my #1 was previously assigned Lilian but then she went on holiday after i delivered and i never got back to her clinic cos son later kenna high jaundice and went to KKH and eventually to the polyclinic so regularly.

Why only 3 doses?
Cos polyclinic ones are 4 doses for the 5-in-1 and then the Hep B has 2 doses ... hence, altogether 6 times wo.
Cos of the 4 doses for 5-in-1 is $87.40*4 =349.60
and Hep B 2 doses = 28.50

MMR is FOC. Hence, total is $378.10

But this does not include consultation at all.
So i'd prob go to the kids' clinic since it's only slightly more exp and includes consultation.

Krex78
Good yr bb's pimples cleared up

My gal's pimples seem to multiply even more, haha. But I know its normal cos my #1 was also lidat.. apparently it happens due to hormones from the mummy's milk. My gal also got cradle cap so PD asigned dentinox to shampoo her hair..
You also go to Dr Lim? I go to her for my #1 but this time for my gal, I am going to Dr Ho instead..I find Dr Lim really nice and patient and quite responsible also cos she will return yr call if you need to speak to her directly.

Catherine
Yr 6 in 1 quite ex.. Kids clinic is about $440 incl med and consultation. I just out that baby and child clinic, their per jab is 120 and no consultation fee. So in all shd be about 360. Prevenar for pneumococcal disease, if taken at this age how many jabs? I took for my boy after he turned 1 and got 2 doses. Before 1, is it 3 doses? Thinking of taking it earlier for my gal this time.

Hisstory
Count down to the time! Soon you can enjoy liao.. Aiyo my mother like to take "precaution" so ask me to stick to 40 days.. : p

Shint,
hahaha... ok....btw, my valve broke aledi & im only using max 3 times a day only lei...

any mummies want ameda spare parts from mommysown.com ???

PD say for the $440 package, #1 visit do 6-in-1(incl hep B #2 dose), #2 visit do 5-in-1(without hep B), #3 visit do 6-in-1(incl hep B #3 dose)... meaning yr bb only kena jab 3 times compared to polyclinic whereby they jab yr baby so many times...

cat, faerie, val,
orders rec...

aurora,
ok, i have chatted with borderlinx CS, they confirm that if the merchant state charged sales tax then yr items will kena sales tax... plus if total orders >S$400 will kena GST unlike vpost which kena GST only if individual order >S$400...

ameda parts is at www.mommysown.com..

re:spree
most prob will order by tomo cos my cayla kena fever from the jab.. just gave medicine... will have to monitor her...

oh, will stick back to the vpost since got risk to kena sales tax & GST...

Dongle,
I've sent mail on my orders from babymallonline.
Spending $$ again. we really like to spree hor? kekekee.

Yea, I'll go see mommysown.com and see what are the items i wanna buy.
Your valves broke oredi? So fast ah ... i use more than 3 times everyday leh ... maid maybe more careful? haha. I've got 4 extra valves last time to standby .... heee. Then blur blur go and buy the cap .. dunno for what ... haha.

Medusa,
Thanks for asking. TOday brought him to polyclinic for the blood test again and it went down to 183 already. Still not totally cleared and have to go back next week ... but it's on the downward trend. Last week it was 201 ... so about 20 points quite good. Should be fine liaoz.

He looks fine .. and i think he is putting on weight manz. He drinking alot leh .... latch for 30mins still can drink 100ml and then 1 hour later still crying for milk - tongue keeps sticking out even after we changed his diaper. Then give 60ml, he can finish wor .... big eater?

dongle,

i jus email u my orders. hope i made it on time, have been really busy coping with a cranky bb due to heartburnt

v tired n frust......online shopping therapy to the rescue

keep me posted

for the past 2-3 days realise that my boy can't finished his usual 80ml feed. sometimes, i give only 60 or 70, he also can't finished. anyone face this problem? it will be worse when he drinks fm at night, he took super long to finish 60ml. like that how to drag his sleeping hours in the night.

hisstory,
now baby sleeps with us on our bed. don't have time for each other too. sigh.... hopefully, i can put him back to his cot when he don't need night feed.

sky ng,
i'm using avent isis duo electric. this is the only i have so can't compare to comment if its good. but when i told my LC that i got this pump, her comment is very good.

Dongle,
Hope u hv rcv my orders. Oh.. in that case vpost seems better. Maybe next time I'll try. hehee... BTW, can vpost concolidate all the orders from the different merchants before shipping like borderlinx?

Hope Cayla's feeling better! What medicine did you give her? Panadol?

I'll look at mommysown later and send u my order yah.

RE: Ameda parts
BTW, is it necessary to replace tubing and cap? I thot they will not come in contact with bm? I didn't even wash or sterilise them leh. Am i doing the wrong thing???

Twin stars,
Oh dear, ur daughter still has heartburn? Hope she's getting better. Other than overfeeding, could her heartburn also be due to the brand of FM? Did your PD mention anything?

Shint,
wow, ur son seems to be a big eater as compared to mine. But u have fewer feeds in a day? I have 10-12 feeds, so tiring. BB sometimes only drinks 50ml! Sianz...

Sky,
Ermm... I think quite a number of mummies here using ameda dual electric pump. U might wanna check it out at mumsfairy website. Heard tat robinson having sales, u might get a good bargain there.

celyn,
my bb lor. Before 1 month he could finish 90ml, even 100 ml usually.. then suddenly dunno what happened, he's taking abt 70ml max if i do give him FM and EBM. Today decide to give ebm instead of latching on so as to monitor his exact intake.

aurora,
i see. good to know that my baby is not the only one. yah, he drinks 80ml since 2 weeks+. now after 1 month+, his intake drops. make me wonder why. let's continue to monitor to see how.

Dongle,
Sori, think you proceed with the spree coz I went back to my office with my 2 gals yday thus no time to check out the sites.

Valnsw,
My sis and I have been diligently using the Uzap lor…heehee
Yday went back my office so glad all my colls said I slim back liao…got 1 say I slimmer than before…hahaha, abit kua zhang lah…

The hook – Saw them at Kiddy Palace b4

Hisstory,
Ya, the netted bouncer has wheels and it is sure better than rocking…heehee

Yup, postpone our trip since bringing #1…we need to pay 150 for change of air-tixs…

DOM and chix essence – I got 3 bottles and 6 boxes, faint, I dun take too…hb oso dun take…

Medusa,
If you are keen to send your boy to cc, you must be prepared that at least the 1st 6mths, he will fall sick frequently...thatz my experience coz #1 goes to cc when she is 18mths...

Dongle,
Hope Cayla will be ok soon.

Fever after jab - I always give bb a dosage of the fever med after the jab to prevent it from coming... so far my #1 has no fever after all her jabs *touch wood*

Twin Stars,
Your gal better?

medusa,
ya quite ex. but cos we prefer she get her jabs done at her PD so hubby say go ahead. Prevenar if done from 6-8 weeks is 4 jabs. But if done at 6 mths it's only 3 jabs. But again hubby say take now.. so we got 1 extra jab.

re:jab
my girl no fever.. but was abit cranky in the evening. But by 9pm she slept till 2am and then after feeding slept till 5am before she started being cranky again.

aurora,
Yes, the tubing, cap dun need to wash one ... i oso never wash, just sometimes use cloth to wipe if milk kenna the tube outside.

i am buying the flanges, diaphgram and bottle .. extra set so i can alternate it if maid dun wash in time. Now she wakes up with me when baby wakes up in the middle of the nite and then after i feed, i pump - She will feed my baby on EBM thru bottle .... then i will pump. Afterwhich she will also wash the pumps and sterilise them so i can use it again in the next 3-4 hours.

At times when she din wash in time, i will hand to squeeze it out - still as good. I noticed that sometimes the pump dun do the thorough job of draining the breasts, i will stil hand press after using the pump ... still can get another 50ml wo. So i guess, hand press is still quite a good method. Never use it last round so now i learnt.

Amount of milk
He drinks like 7-9 times per day, generally 9 times. The total intake per 24 hours is about 700-800ml.

He also recently drinking a little lesser on some feeds. His feed vv funny one .... sometimes 60ml, sometimes 100ml. I now give 100ml ... but sometimes he dun finish it.

DOM & chicken essence
I have like 12 boxes at home ... and i dun like to drink either. For DOM, so far i oso never drink it .... cos i expressing ... dun dare to drink. I have 5 bottles at home. Wan to lelong out oso .. haha.

M2B,
When did u starting using Uzap? u natural rite? Wonder when C-section one can use .... actually my tummy still got abit left to lose ....

Tummy
I wonder anyone who has had #2 and not gone for the massage and the tummy has gone back and no lose flabby skin left? I am still contemplating whether to do the massage cos my tummy almost back but still got a little tummy left. I had also lost 2 kg as compared to my pre-preggie weight.

The massage is to help to go back to original shape rite? any other use ah ... my main concern is the flabby and loose skin. Not the weight la ... i oredi told hubby that there are "fat" mamas ... esp those who had 2 kids. haha.

Valnsw,
The hooks can get from those shops selling stuff for the kitchen, home, etc .... like value$ shop kind but the neighbourhood shop la.

I am one of those who use the hooks extensively. Can hang groceries, bag, etc. But be vv careful that if it's too heavy and u dun handle the pram properly, it might flip backwards and DANGEROUS when baby is inside- Jus take note.
In fact, i used my pram for my #1 as my trolley when he refused to sit in the pram when he was about 1+. It's a good trolley cos can put alot of things .. .haha.

celynlee,
sometimes my maid oso take vv long to feed my son at nite ... so i'll tell her to change his diaper, to unwrap him and rewrap. If he really falls asleep then bo bian lor .. wait for next wake up call ;)

shint,
i see. cos i'm doing the night feed myself. usually, he will be done in less than 15 mins but recently seems to take longer.

dongle
i have PM u my orders from Mommy's own...thanks alot..

just wondering how long ur take to feed ur bbs via bottle? my bb sometimes take as long as 1 hour!..min is half and hour...i think not quite right hor..shldnt take so long...wondering if its time to change the teats...

HI Krex/Roiv,
I read this frm the TMC Childcare book. It reads as follows:-
Submerge all equipments in the sterlizing solution and soak them for at least an hour according to instructions. Use clean tongs to remove the items you need. Ideally, the equipments can be taken out and assembled them put in a clean place awaiting use.

You may rinse the utensils first before preparing each use as solution might irritate the baby's stomach. The sterlizing solution to be changed daily and effective for 24 hours.

Hence, I think you need to change the water only once a day. I haven really check where to get but i think pharmacy wil have it.

YLN,
Half an hour is too long ba ... is your baby suckling? or just put the mouth to the teat and sleep?

Mine about 15 mins according to maid cos so far i never bottle feed him. Dun wan him to get confused ma, hee.

Tell u all a funny story ok ....
Once, my maid used a No 4 teat which is meant for my #1 for my baby ... and my hubby was the one feeding tat nite. I asked him to check the teat and he said fine .... then when he fed the baby, i only turned around to pump, in few mins, i turned back and he said baby finished liaoz.

I got a shock - how come he can drink so fast, is he that hungry? Then i asked to see the teat and saw No 4! Good thing baby din choke.

So terrible hor. Must always check ah .... i guess all sleepy at nite ... so make mistake ... but 2 persons (maid and hubby). Best, hubby after that still can tell me he dunno how to check the teat number and yet he can tell me it's correct teat 1 that is being used. *faintz.

Anyway, i told my maid "I have not heard of a newborn less than a month old using a No 4 teat". Told her to be more careful in future.

celynlee,
u giving EBM via bottle at nite ya? Do u still pump? Now i dun latch at nite, just get maid to bottlefeed EBM then i pump .. still take 30mins ... plus this and that, (take the stuff, assemble, wipe the breast, connect them, pump, store ...) sometimes almost an hour.

shint,
yah, i bottle feed in the night. my boy take 2 night feed, i give fm (once a day, for night feed) and ebm for the next night feed. i will still pump at the same time. for me, i spend about 15-20mins to pump (including preparation and washing) and 15 mins to feed. but now my pump time is not regular at night due to the feeding. sometimes after feed, i need to pat baby to sleep and will sleep a while before i wake up again to pump, will still try to pump at 3-4hours interval. i will try not to spend more than 1 hour to feed and pump.

celynlee,
Then u quite efficient ..... i notice that if i wake up at 3am, then warm up the EBM oredi take 10 mins. Then prepare the pump, get a hot drink, clean up, 10 mins .... setup pump, 5 mins ... pump 20 mins .... squeeze 10 mins ... store milk .. 5 mins. About 1 hour oredi.

Warming up of EBM
Who is using the Avent warmer?

For 90-100ml of EBM, what setting do u all set?
It seems if i set it to fridge and 110ml, it does not really warm the milk. It can still be cold at times. So far i use a higher setting at 140ml .... am i killing the antibodies?

How do u all warm up the EBM milk?

dongle,
thanks for organising the spree. Hope Cayla gets better.

M2B,
hmm, still contemplating whether to get uzap, or just work it off naturally.

shint / M2B,
thks for the info on the hooks, wil get them at those places u mentioned.

little twin stars,
hope your girl's heartburn gets better. How are you coping?

RE: Jabs
I'm due to bring bb for jabs soon. Thinking whether to go GP or PD. sigh...

aurora,
ya, overfeeding that led her to throw up milk that lead to heartburn. i've cut her daily milk intake from 1280ml a day to 800plus a day. a whopping 4 bottles of milk! she is doing better now, jus that my mom came over to help out as hubby is down with gastric flu
so all of us have to be careful. the problem is mom is very stubborn n she keeps going in n out of my baby's rm to adjust things, clean things, change things, take out things. each time bb "er er" she dash to her n pad her n talk to her n give her pacifier n carry her or sing to her or carry her around the hse to walk her to sleep!!!!!!! end up bb didn;t really sleep frm 11am to 10:30pm!!!!! i was so tired frm monitoring my mom n trying to do things myself so she will not disturb bb but each time i go to my rm to rest or go to the toilet, she will go to the bb. sigh. bb keep crying cos she is trying to sleep, i can't handle liao so mom keep carrying her to stop her frm crying.
at night, i had enough, i told my mom n my maid off to tell them not to keep going in to the bb;s rm each time she makes noise. let her soothe herself to sleep , she has always done that until my mom cam over to mess up her routine.
she made the maid n me take out the cot mobile saying need to wash already, than change a new one, n wipe her bed stand n rearrange her toys all while bb is trying to sleep n she got my maid to help her as well. she kept adjusting the fan n pillow etc.

last nt, my mom wanted to sleep in bb;s rm cos hubby took the study rm to sleep, i refused to cos it will b a neverending nt! i change back to her old cot mobile n talk to bb n she went back to her old routine last nt.
this morning, after i fed bb, n bb jus made some noise cos she wants to play with the toys on her cot mobile, n my maid quickly wanted to go to her, i scolded leave her alone. i went in to settle bb n she is fine. next my mom came up n wanted to go to bb;s r n take her to bathe 30mins after feeds! i dashed to her rm on time to stop mom frm entering n chase her to the kitchen. i;ve told her, she is only here for 2days n mess up everything n never do things on an ad hoc basic. baby is setting a routine, they need a routine to b secured yet mom jus do things randomly never thinking she will upset the bb. make me so tired just by "watching" my mom. end up. instead of helping, she is making me even more tired

maid:
my maid went to copy me n call my girl darling. i was taken aback cos she used to call her bb or her name. wat u guys think?

twin stars..
my personal feel..dun let the maid call her darling..

i also use the avent warmer bought during the philips sale for 37bucks..i just turn to lowest heat for about 20mins

hey val..more green ah...but inside the poo got white white bits?

celynlee, u also got 1 feed of fm, whats the poo like?

catherine, very ex leh your jabs. i'm still contemplating the pneumoccocal jab at 6 mths or 1 yr. u took yours so early?

shint, i find PDs better. i went to polyclinic last time and the doc there was quite unprofessional. never tried GP so far.

i use the avent iq warmer. i usu set a higher capacity (ml) as if i "under" set, the milk will still be quite cold inside. if u want it just nice, leave it in there for awhile after it's done. if too hot, cool it at room temp before feeding.

medusa, the rashes cream dr lim gave works wonders. been applying all sorts of cream on his face for 2 weeks and with her cream, his face cleared within 24 hrs! now he looks so handsome, heh heh.

twin star
poor thing..think ur mum trying to help..but she making things worst...did u actually tell ur mum u trying to set a routine for bb and ask her not to mess it up? i think sometimes old pple dun listen to advice from us young ones very well...n even if say already..they will still do it their way..i think i will have the same prob as u when i leave my bb with my MIL...already now she feed bb also anyhow feed...i.e.watch tv and feed and sometimes bb already drinking air..she still dunno..so i have to always monitor her and correct her on the spot...i dun care one lor..heehee..maybe cuz she is MIL..not my mum..so i buay tahan i will tell her off..and insist ..maybe u shld consistently correct ur mum when she does sometime out of routine...and maybe she will eventually get it? i will use this strategy on my MIL...

ur maid calling ur bb darling?? so furni..if i were u..i won't let others call my bb darling..maybe i possessive mummy..heehee..but my maid can only call bb 'bb' or her name...if u cannot stand it..just tell ur maid to call bb by name next time..tell her 'darling' is to be called only by mummy and daddy..:p

aurora, shint, yln,
i am using ameda lactaline pump too. can u gals share what u are getting from mommy's own? i scare i order the wrong spare parts. can PM me if u don't mind. TIA

twinstars,
hope ur gal is feeling better now. cheer up yeah.

dongle,
hope cayla gets well v soon!
thanks for organising the spree. did u receive my order? do it when u have the time okay? u rest well too.

sex after delivery:
any one took the bold step already? i tried at 6 weeks and it's quite painful. feel like a virgin again! bled after that so i'm not sure if my perenium got torn again!

avent electric isis duo:
those using this machine, does the motor unit make a noisy sound? mine has been quite cranky lately and it's only 3 weeks old! is it coz' i use very often? each pump i use for about 15-30 mins and i pump about 6x a day.

missyz
i only buying the valves from mommy's own...the rest ..i think no need to buy ba...the flanges and other parts looks to me like quite durable...

Medusa
Oh i'm most certainly looking fwd to when I can take the glass of icy coke.. *slurps* My mum just mentioned, although the baby shower's this Sat (13 Sept), officially the man yue's 19 Sept.. Wonder if she's implying anything.. *heheh*

celyn
U're not getting YZ to sleep in his cot ah? We've not let bb Ashley sleep in our bed, so far in her cot during the day & in the moses basket at night..

twin stars
Hope ur ger's doing better now.. Try to pace urself with cutting down her feed amt, she also needs to adjust to the change in input

Ur maid & mum are both very gan jiong with the little one eh? Continue to be firm, coz u're the main caregiver, if not very hard for the little one to establish a routine too..

M2B
$150 is not too bad.. I guess they can't quite fault the customers too yah? Hopefully by Oct, the ppl wld be satisfied with the govt/ PM

My colleagues came by to visit me & they said no need to do the Malay massage.. hahah, tell me not to waste money coz they said I lost the weight/ flab liao

What are u going to do with the DOM/essence? I think I'm going to give 1 box of essence to my fren, who's going to pop in Jan.. And she was the one gave me the essence *heehee*

Dongle
Hope yr bb get well soon : )

Shint
Good to hear that yr bb's jaundice is clearing up. That day I brot my gal to PD and she said she no more jaundice liao.. plus she also put on weight so I think it is cleared liao. aha..from what i know most boys tend to be big eaters.. My #1 sucked me dry last time.. every 2 hrs need to drink milk.. Then now my gal is the reverse lor.. she can sleep and forego her feeds, end up I am the one waking her up to drink milk : p

I am using avent food wamer and so far i always put to number 3 leh..regardless what ml. Ooops, dun tell me I use wrongly ah.. :|

Celyn /Aurora
Think its normal leh..cos my gal on good days can finish 100ml ebm, bad days she only manages 60-70ml on a 2.5-3 hr feed. Then she will just doze off and no matter how i try to wake her she just refuse to open her mouth to continue.

YLN
My gal takes about 30mins max.. she has been drivin me crazy with bottle feeding cos she seems quite mang zang each time she suck on the NUK teat and then she will be all red and angry. Then I also dunno if the prob is with the bottle or teat.. so I have been on a trial and error mode. I changed her bottle and teat to dr brown one and didnt seem too effective. Then yesterday I switch her to pigeon teat and dr brown bottle and it seems slightly better. Have to monitor again. What bottles and teat you using?

Catherine
I see.. okie maybe i shd start her on prevenar jabs soon also. As for crankiness think quite normal cos my #1 had no fever for all his jabs but he will cry and fuss quite a bit, want to be carried each time after a jab. By 48 hrs, bb shd be back to normal self.

M2B
Yeah that worries me too cos he had hfmd before a few months ago and he didnt even go to any playgroup/cc then. Have to cross my fingers I guess.. Does yr #1 enjoy going to school?

Twinstars
Think yr mom very kan chiong so thats why she will everytime dash in to attend to bb's very cries and whims.. Its right that sometimes bb needs to self soothe.. Nevermind relax

Re maid.. heh.. i also dun like if my maid copy me cos i abit possessive over my kids.. to me only the parents can call them in whatever affectionate terms they want... : p

aurora,
i have decided to bring bb for the 6 in 1 and rotarix at 2 mths old. hopefully he doesn't get fever after that.

medusa,
will u be taking the 6 in 1 at bb and child also? Like u mentioned the cost is only $360 (for 3 jabs) and no consultation charges. I find it reasonable too.

twinstar,
my maid 2 mths old maid also starting to call my #1 darling but for #2 she's still calling him by name. I find it ok to call 'darling' at least they show that they love the bb. i'm leaving my bb alone with the maid w/o any supervision so i hope that the maid can love my kids and i think it means something if they can call them darling.

krex,
i'm using isis duo and i also noticed that the motor gets noisy sometimes but it will go off after a while (i only pump once or twice a day). i reckon it's the pumping pressure that we set b4 switching to auto mode. i find it noisy and was wondering if it's faulty. urs still under warranty rite? u can call up the service centre and check. mine already 2yr old so no more warranty
The motor got jammed 2 yrs ago (when i was expressing for my #1) but i was ok after i switched off and on again. hmmm....dun tell me such an xpensive pump brake down so easily.

sex after delivery:
still hanging on to it haha.....dare not try yet tho it's already >5wks. my wound macam just healed and can feel a little pain when u wipe too hard after pee.
will try at wk 8 ba cos scare the wound will tear.

hi medusa,
i changed my baby's NUK teat from size 1 (medium-hole) to size 1 (large-hole). Thereafter, my baby became less cranky and drank his milk a lot faster.

Shay
Yes I think likely I will take the 6 in 1 at bb and child, tho my regular PD is Dr Lim at Kids clinic : )

Krex78
Haha! Good now bb handsome liao.. pimples no more! My gal's face slowly clearing up... but she still got cradle cap leh, tho not very severe but like dandruff..eeks

Hisstory
ok you just need to dong a few more days.. hehe. My mum that day called to spot check me.. asked me if I start eating rubbish anot : p Mothers know their daughters best.

thx again dongle!

shint,
good to hear ur son's jaundice lvl going down by 20 pts!

hisstory,
hee.. i know abt the cute socks BP. u buying? ;)

twinstar,
i tink i'd feel uncomfortable wif maid calling bb 'darling'..

krex,
the isis duo is not too noisy, can't describe, but acceptable vol for me leh.

Mousse
That time i change from thin liquids size 1 to thicker feeds size 1. Yr large hole is it for thicker feeds? I scared hole too big she will choke leh.