(2008/08) Aug 2008

krex78,
i find the motor ok leh. it does get noisy sometimes due to the pressure i set. i pump almost 8 times a day for 15mins.

shint,
i got the avent iq warmer. to warm up ebm in fridge, i will set to 4 oz for 3oz of milk. don't take it out immediately once its ready. i will wait a while before taking it out once its done. if still got some ice, will set it higher to 5oz.

megan,
so far, i only change diapers for yu ze 3 times and once its with poo. its still the golden yellowish colour. later when hubby come back, then i check with him.

medusa15,
thanks for the info on feed.

hisstory,
yu ze sleeps in cot during day time but night time he needs mummy to be his mattress. so have to let him sleep with me. cos after night feed, need to let him sleep on me again sometimes. when he don't need night feed, i will leave him in the cot.

little twin stars,
don't be too upset. your mum is trying to help but did in the wrong way.

hisstory / medusa,
yday i alrdy ate half a pack of prawn crackers liao. But after that felt thirsty cos of the MSG and sinful cos supposed to go on diet.

little twin stars,
oh dear, perhaps you shd explain to your mum. Sometimes my mum is also like that, tell her dun do this but still do it... But I still tell her firmly no la, better do it this way, doc says mus like that.. Mb she will listen if you tell her it's the doc's instruction.
Well, as for being gan cheong, I think it's natural for grandparents to be like that. My parents also wana rush in to carry her the moment my bb cries even I told them not to initially.
But after some time hor, they also leave her to self-entertain cos too tiring to be carrying her all the time! heh eheh

If you don't want the maid to call your bb darling, then tell her firmly in a nice way. After all, she has to take order from you.

Shay/medusa,
So you 2 going to BB and child for the jabs huh? I was thinking of that too but remember you all mentioned the waiting time quite long?
Do you knw if its the PD who will do the jabs?

Megan,
got white bits in poo meh? I didn't notice leh... U mean Titus' poo still has white bits?

RE: bb drinking milk
Chevelle also sometimes drinks less than her norm 90ml feed. I think just let bb take whatever he/she wants. Cos when I make Chevelle drink more, she will either spit out or the milk will start dripping from the bottle and she will fidget.

krex,
wa... u started on sex alrdy huh?
I dun dare leh...
yday was the 1st time I put on my wear-at-home shorts and Tee.
duno why my hubby got this thing for shorts, he started piaking my butt. grrrr.... damn irritating.

Think he starting to itchy hand liao but I told him I scared the wound will rupture. He said he checked alrdy, the wound all ok.
Men...

medusa,
that was my concern too... but the medium-sized teats' flow rate cant meet my baby's dd. makes him v cranky and feedings v long... more than 30 mins... and when you make the switch, gotta be careful and patient cos baby will also need to adjust to the higher flow rate. after that, feeding became a breeze!

Celynelee,
How much u pumping per session now?

I am wondering should i start bottle feeding my son cos so far it's the maid doing the feeding. I scared later he associate her with milk (alot of milk) and me, only lesser cos when he latches, the flow not so fast ma. Will he prefer her more than me? *paranoid.

faeriekim,
Thanks. How;s your gal's jaundice? has it gone down? I guess the bottle feeding of enough BM helps and i think the NG KEE? heee.

Krex, Medusa, Celynelee,
I am using the avent iq warmer oso. Last time dunno use what brand one .. took so long .. baby oredi cried his guts out ... so this time, got one that says vv fast can warm up milk liao.

I oso use a higher rating . say for 100ml, i set to 140ml ..... i hope we not spoiling the antibodies ba. Guess i'll continue with that.

1st Month Catering
What's a good recommendation for catering? I used NEO GARDENS last time but i tot i might wan to try out some other companies.

Also for cakes to give to colleagues/relatives/frens? what's good?
Can post here or PM me the contact?

Drinking
My ZK dunno growth spurt or what ... today drank 100ml at 9am, 80ml at 1100 and at 130pm another 60ml. Is it alot ah ....

Good thing he drinks and sleeps ... so i can surf, do spree and check out baby first month preparation. hehe.

Teat ... no worries ba ... my ZK oredi had his first taste of teat number 4(cos that was a human mistake in the wee hours of the morning) - 2 humans in fact) .. haaha. They can adjust one ... maybe my ZK is super fast at adjusting? kekekee.

valnsw,
i long time oredi in shorts at home liaoz. So more my house vv windy, ma chiam like wind at the beach .. sometimes i find it cold too.

I oso ate hawker foor liaoz .. yesterday i ate chicken rice! hehe.

shint,
usually its 80ml but yesterday manage to get 120ml max for night pump.

you don't bottle feed him cos you are afraid of nipple confusion? i bottle feed yu ze myself and latch him at least once a day. i'm using avent bottles. the way he drinks from the bottle is the same as he latch so i guess no problem loh.

Confinement ... we can eat tidbits rite? like potatoe chips? i ate oredi ... ok rite?

How about fruits? My hubby bought mangoes, mandarin oranges, durian mooncake ... can i eat these? He says can wo .... but he knows nothing one la.

He even asked me if i wan to book a hotel or chalet ... i told him .. i have not heard of confinement being done in a hotel or a chalet so far. Can u imagine?

celynlee,
so far he seems quite good with his latching oredi ... sucking i mean. So i think if i start bottle feeding him he wun get confused liaoz. In fact last round for #1, i oso did the same thing - bottlefeed on FM and latch sometimes.

I am oso using Avent bottles. Maybe i shld start trying .. but hor, i forgot how to burp baby liaoz .. maid had been doing the job well so far. Heh.

Fenugreek
Who is taking and how much more milk can u all produce? I am considering if i wan to take for now cos i have enough for my son and some extras for my #1. I scared take oredi over produce then i vv XIN KU. Afterall, breastmilk can't store for > 2 months rite? during this time i dun gather i will use them at all.

Val,
The nurse said the jab will be given by PD....not bad hor? wonder if they will charge us consultation if we ask some qn - sun bian ma. ya, the q is super long but the nurse said can make appointment wor wonder if it will make any diff!

shay/ celyn,

my pump a bit erratic. sometimes ok sometimes noisy. i emailed tech support and they advised i use it for only 10-15 min each time. if i need to use longer, must let it rest for 5-10 min first. mine is bought from amazon.com so a bit inconvenient to send back to US to change the motor. nvm, will bear with it. so long as it does not break down on me!

shay, how long did u wait till u had sex after delivering #1? is it painful?

val, what have u been wearing all this while??? i wore nightgown for my 1st week but after bb dun want to latch on, i wear t-shirt and shorts everyday. my hb checked and said my wound healed already, so dunno why still so painful. i still got a bit of piles but it's not giving me pain anymore. my pelvic muscles feel weak though. i'm doing kegel exercises everyday now...so scared i will get incontinence!

Hi Shint,
I celebrated my boy's full month at a restaurant. Buffet in their private room costed $20-$30 per pax. Guests enjoyed themselves so much that almost all stayed throughout. Hubby and I prefered this option cos its hassle-free and more importantly, accessible for all.

shint, fenugreek sounds very...erm..."greek" to me. why dun u just take papaya soup or more fish? i'm also thinking what i can eat to increase milk ss. my friend says eu yan sang got some tonic that i can consume but i haven't had time to enquire yet. any idea? i dun think i want to try fenugreek - doesn't seem like a popular option.

krex,
i had it ard wk 7 or 8 the last time and it didn't really hurt but feel really tight like a virgin again haha.....

krex,
During confinemt, I wore this gown with zip so that I can zip down to bfeed.
My mum still want me to wear PJs at night but I didn't change as the PJs abit too hot.

medusa
i using pigeon bottles and teats..just now i went to change to a bigger teats and bb finished feeding faster
..but she choked once or twice..but after a while she got the hang of it and drank smoothly....finished in abt 10-13mins..i think if bb get mang zang while drinking could be a sign that its time to change teats cuz flow not fast enuff for them..that's my opinion lar...

sex
yesterday went to gynae to do pap smear..he said esp for bf-ing mummies..will be quite dry down there...so if want to resume sex..try to get lubricant or some kind of medication/cream from gynae...i never think much abt it cuz seriously..now got no mood for sex also..only concern about looking after bb....but ar..i think better to give more attention to hubby liao..cuz he like quite poor thing also...all i talk abt is bb..:p

Dongle,
I've sent u my ameda order. Thanks v muchie!

Shint,
oic. I'll be buying extra set of the flanges as well.. haha.. cos i very 'chor lor', kept dropping the flanges while washing. Sekali one day it breaks apart! :p

Envy ur SS leh.. 50ml after pumping!!! And ur weight loss! I still have a few more kilos to go. Blame it on fastfood and coke tt i've been eating after confinement. Hahaaa...

I heard eating oatmeal can help with MS too.
I've been adding oatmeal to my milo. Taste quite good.

twin stars,
*hugs* Dun worry, things will get better. Think ur mum too 'teng' her granddaughter liao. Think she also wan u to rest more, tt's why she so kan cheong, trying to help as much as she can. Can understand ur frustration cos my MIL oso like tt, until i buay tahan and clarify with her how i wan bb to self soothe. But being old and uber sensitive, she thot i dun wan her to take care of bb, then for a week, she didn't carry bb lor. Luckily now ok liao, if not my hubby sure blame me again.

Agree with Megan tt you shdn't let ur maid call ur bb darling. Hehee.. just like u dun expect her to call ur hubby dear mah. Prob just tell her straight to call bb by her name.

missyz,
I'll be buying extra set of flanges tt comes with valves and bellows. Then get another 2 valves (cos need to replace every 3-4 months) and 2 bottles.

krex,
hehe.. i dun dare to venture yet. Scared scared leh. Now hear u say painful, think i better wait. Maybe 3 months? Hubby got hint hint lah, but i just act blur. hahaaa..

Medusa,
oh.. ur bb's feeding habit oso like tt ar. I think u r right leh. Just now bb managed to finish 100ml with my mum feeding him. Aiyoh.. really dunno wat's he up to.

Shay,
so when's ur bb 2 month? U decided on your PD oredi?

hisstory,
jiayou! Few more days and can graduate liao!

Medusa & aurora
heheh, will dong a few more days to graduation..
Medusa, u're right, my mum knows I've got the rebellious streak in me, so she's quite relaxed.. If she goes head-on with me, sure got a lot of issues *hiaks*

faeriekim
Yupz, am getting 2 pairs of the ribbon socks & 1 pair of leggings.. Seems like the deal's quite reasonable. What do u think?

celyn
Mummy's the best cushion for Yu Ze eh?
I am tempted to let my ger sleep with me, but I'm afraid HB gets disturbed.. And then a few mummies here said tt their little ones resist their cots having slept on their parents' beds

val
I've had chips too! And cookies & biscuits.. Cham, am a tidbit freak..

90ml for Chevelle's feed looks pretty gd
At times when I feed Ashley the EBM, she takes around 70-80ml.. Ur ger's abt 2 weeks older than mine, so around 90ml shd be reasonable

Ur HB's farnie!!

shint
Am using Manna Pot for the baby shower this Sat.. Had initially chosen Melrose for the cakes, but NiNi recommends Rich & Good cakeshop. Did a search on it, their swiss rolls have raving reviews.. So tempted to switch, but must see how much, coz I've got lotsa colleagues

dongle
Do hope tt Cayla's doing better now..
Just to check, you got my mail?

hisstory,
yah, i'm afriad of that too. so in the day time, i will let him sleep in his cot or anywhere else eg. my sofa. night time, he is more cranky. trying to train him to sleep without mummy's mattress but still on my bed first.

celyn,
I read that it's not recommended cos next time hard to get them out of your bed and your room.
Normally from day 1 will i put baby on his cot once he sleeps or rather, when he dun make noise. So now my #1 can sleep anywhere anytime. No need carry, rock, tap.

But this #2 ah, i think kenna spoilt by the nurse. Cos when he came home from hospital, he was crying and dun wan stop then when I tried to just tap him lightly ... he stopped wo ... now oso wan to carry carry .. once carry, he stops. But normally he will need quite little carrying then he falls asleep liao, then once he looks like sleeping, i immediately put him down.

TOld maid not to rock him. Even when i tap him, i try to use 1 finger only ... jus give a slight tap ... it works as well as if i tap his whole backside. Hand ache know.

hisstory,
i tink the deal is quite good! i will be ordering soon. kakaka!

hisstory, shint,
i will be using gobi cakes for relatives/close frens. ordered the eclairs/profiteroles fm BP for dessert, ordered 1 room for dessert 1.5kg summertime carrot cake also for dessert. the most impt thing, buffet, i undecided. haven looked up rich & good yet.

hisstory,
wat made u choose manna pot? the tea lady fm my co. oso intro manna pot leh! she oways order tat for my co. buffet. altho i keep recommending neo garden n have no problems so far wif them, still feel itchy itchy wanna order fm some other co.

Hey Mummies, anyone bot stroller liao? Or am i the only person here who haven't bot hers? hahaha...i have la..but it's a hand-me-down. So using it temporarily only. Duno what brand is good. Looking for something that's light yet durable and can easily be handled/opened up with one hand esp. when i'm alone. Was actually looking at Inglesina brand, but i realised it's really too bulky and heavy liao, so no point. Dun wanna waste too much monies on one oso. The Inglesina model that i like was abt 800++! Kindly share any recommendations k!

shint: 1st Month Catering

i pm my feedback regarding the catering i called. I called Mum's kitchen last week for my baby 1st Month. It wasn't good.

aurora,
my bb born on aug 5 so 2 mths will be oct 5. will use the same pd at bb and child - dr ho or sometimes dr loke.

ruixuan,
share ur review on mum's kitchen here leh. then i can oso strike them off the list if necessary. hee...

huichin,
my stroller is a mclaren techno xt. not very helpful during infant stage as it can't recline fully. but it's pretty suitable once the child is able to sit up alone. a lot of mummies buy graco cos it's also 1-hand operation plus got lotsa useful things like big basket, cup holder, etc.

celyn
I thought to myself, if in the event bb prefers to sleep on our bed becoz of our scent.. heheh, then i will put our clothes in her cot to create the same scent.. *winks*

faeriekim
I also thought the deal's pretty gd, 4 pairs at $10.. Much cheaper than the other link I showed u last week

I like Gobi too, but veryvery exp! Cannot man.. Interesting way of adding a dessert item to ur buffet by buying ur eclairs.. Are they gd? I've seen BPs of eclairs several times..

Hmm, i like Manna Pot's Shepherd's Pie.. Their service is gd thus far, accommodate to a couple of my requests. But their quite funny, I asked if I could get a discount as I've 100 pax.. Their reply: We don't give discount, We give good food!

heheh, I also itchy fingers.. My family often gets Neo Garden, but since I've tried Manna Pot at my niece's 1st bday & several occasions, i thought give it a try again!

huichin
Mine's the Quinny Zapp + Maxi Cosi (infant carrier), def cannot open with 1 hand.. I think Combi can do the job & is below $800 *i think*

hisstory,
gobi very very ex? i getting the cheapest, $10.50 for 6pc.
as for the eclairs, my colleague tried it bef n gave it thumbs thumbs up. he said it wld be the hot 'cakes' at the party. :p

ruixuan,
ahh..so cute, the lunch jars!

By the way, i got 15 friso glass bottles (with sticker label removed) to give away. anyone interested? this friso bottle can contain up to 90ml of EBM. anyone interested?

to add on, this friso bottles have measurement and does not come with bottle caps(shown below). i have a bag of ten bottle caps letting go at 7 dollars.

1706205.jpg

re: cayla's fever
after giving 1 dose of paracetamol to cayla, her fever has gone down... but still, have difficulty in zzz whole night cos she was cranky till 3am+ & keep waking up to check her temperature...

re: sep spree
only manage to order oldnavy.com & almost burst the limit... dun want to kena gst so dropping gap unless mommies here dun mind paying sales tax in USA then i can ship it to borderlinx instead, shipping might be cheaper & offset the sales tax as told by my friend... will update again when i get any news from them...

will consolidate bbm shortly... drugstore.com & mommysown.com response not so good... any other takers can still PM me...

faeriekim
coz they are boxed at > $10, i've got colleagues numbering > 100, so can't get Gobi. Relatives also aplenty.. My mum says no need to get cakes for relatives as they are already attending the bb shower..

dongle
Thanks for the update & coordinating the spree

shint,
we put him in his cot since he came back after 1 week. fil and hubby likes to carry him whenever he make the slightest noise. i always scold hubby but for fil, i keep quiet loh. sigh... hopefully, i can change him slowly and after he goes to nanny's place. she can help train him too.

huichin,
me me.. i haven't buy stroller yet too. haven't even look around for one, got no idea what to look for. hehe.... worse than you right.

hisstory,
heheh.... that's a good idea.

ruixian,
the glass bottles, i'm interested. can fit those cap that you posted?

dongle,
am ok to drop gap then. next rd then. thx!
cayla, get well soon!

hisstory,
oh... i c, so many ppl... def gotta get smtg else. gobi oni for close frens n relatives. i oso read the reviews on rich & good, seems good leh...

M2B,val,YLN, medusa,missy sz,hisstory,celyn
sorry missed yr post.
bb is better except she wants to play in the day time n not sleep as i have visitors in the pm plus my mom came over this 2 days. tom go PD...sigh, neverending. that;s y i got not much time to post in the day. today she is not sleeping as well since morning as she is waiting to b carried again
even when i write this post, m disrupted by her. wat to do. re boot her system lor

my mom is rather stubborn so need to be reminded. she has her own views n thinks baby wants to play. i agree but i told her not frm 11am to almost 11pm! now she is bored at my place cos i jagar bb rm n make sure she sleeps so mom is going out shopping ,hehe. grandparents always spoil the kids. i told them they can dote n spoil them all they want since they seldom see them but do not interfere with our upbringing can liao.

i was so stressed n tired by bb;s crying n not sleeping, i cried at night complaining to hubby y he must fall sick when bb is recop frm heartburn leaving me to take care of bb frm morn till nt. poor hubby. he kept popping meds to make sure he gets well fast

maid calling bb darling:
megan, YLN,medusa,shay,fae

tot i am being overly sensitive. so far she hasn;t called her that since this morn, if she call her that again or "my love" i will tell her. my hubby thinks it;s her limited vocab n is harmless. but terms of endearment is kept for us ma....fhil r very affectionate n sometimes it;s their way of speaking. like she always tell us she miss us. on one hand, i know she loves my bb, on the otherhand, can;t help but feel alittle jealous

CCTV,
have u guys gone out leaving the maid alone with bb at home w/o installing cctv? i have sneaked out with hubby for 3hrs, leaving maid with bb. so far so gd but wander if i shld install cam b4 doing tt in the future but will she feel offended n not b happy as a result. so many things to think about

val,shint,
u can get the "s" hooks for stroller at Kiddy palace. i bot mine there. ,my stroller n all the accessories including diaper bag is in "shocking pink" hehe

sex:
krex,
wa. action started for u liao *whistle*

val,
u so farny. yr hubby also v corny ,hehe

i told my hubby, must book hotel or resort if not i will not open shop! haha

hisstory,fae
which socks spree r u guys refering to? let me know lei

history,
u ard? u miss out the size for yr BBM swimsuit? any other takers for BBM? after 20% discount only usd100... still got space... hehe...

re: drugstore.com & mommysown.com
still pending to meet a viable amount... any takers...

celynlee
yup, i letting go the 10 brand new bottle caps ($7.00) and the 15 friso glass bottles (free). see picture below. cap can fit similac glass bottle as well. i m actually getting rid of the friso bottle. no point giving u the friso bottle whereby u got nothing to cap

for ur info, mount alvernia pharmacy selling those cap at $7.20 or $7.60 for ten bottle cap.
celynlee, it is up to u whether u wan get from me or from mount alvernia pharmacy. glass bottles u can get from the nursery but the label of the milk is not removed but mine removed.

1706513.jpg

i never get milk bag as after using, got to discard. with bottle and cap, i can re-sterilised and reused. glass bottle free and cap is approx 70 to 80 cents for one.