(2008/08) Aug 2008

another picture
1706547.jpg

missyz,
yes, tt's the one.

shay,
icic. Good to go back to the PD u know. I'm going to one near my place. Heard tt she's quite good and detailed. So gonna see for myself next week.

Dongle,
Thanks for consolidating the orders.

Dongle,
Since BBM still got space, I've added another item for order. Pls check your email. Thanks!

little twin stars,
He's not being corny la.. he's being irritating and cheeky.

Re: sex
wow... seems like those who did it, experienced tightness huh? Guess must use some lubricant then.

huichin / celyn,
I only bought my stroller 2 days ago. Got a Capella S228 (I think, I didn't ask for the model), it's abt 6kg. HB likes it for being compact when folded vs the Combi Urban Walker that I was contemplating. The features of the Capella similar to Combi Urban Walker, can recline fully for NB. Costs abt $269 from Isetan. Actually I shd've bot from Cheong Choon as I think they give discount on top of the delivery.
MB u can go test the models u all like then order from Winnie of Cheong Choon, she is v friendly and gives gd price.

cindy, my milk ss did increase for awhile but today it started to remain constant. noticed that when i pump at 3 hours, it's 80ml. 4 hours, also 80ml. so strange. but it did increase overall. last time one day i pump 480ml. now 1 day i can exceed 500ml. plus i cut down on bb's milk consumption to 90ml every 4 hours, so my ss is enough to meet his dd for the time being. overall, slow but steady progress lah.

storage of breast milk in freezer:

can i check - for those mummies who started storing milk in freezer, must u store in the exact qty that bb consumes per feed? e.g. he feeds 90ml each time, so the amt to pump and freeze is 90ml? i dun think i can reach that amt leh. so does that mean freezing BM is a no go for me?

celyn
heheh, got tt tip fr reading the Jul08 mummies thread..

twin stars
same here, my ger wants to be carried a lot more these few days.. When I'm online a little more, tt's when she's more tired out & have KOed after her milkmilk

guess ur mum has her own sch of thought, which is quite hard to change yah? Hopefully she comes to understand u've got ur own methods, really soon!

Ur HB's really sweet.. Tell him to take gd care!

Here's the URL to the BP: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1688363.html?1221132140

faeriekim
u too having itchy hand & heart, want to try to Rich & Good? *heheh*

dongle
Oh so sorry!! 18m for the swimsuit
Thanks for telling me abt it, *heheh* shop until blur liao

hisstory,
the socks in the BP looks really cute!!! I feel like getting but then I alrdy ordered some thru BBMall spree organised by dongle.

hisstory,
you mean get bigger sized socks from BP as in how big?
There's only dimensions of 12-15cm and 15-19cm right?
I duno which ones to buy leh..
I got 10 pairs of socks fr BBMall liao... some 9-18M and 18-24M.
If I buy fr BP, duno if will hv too many socks.

val
wow, tt's lotsa socks u've got! heheh..
The ones I selected are of 2 dimensions, only 9-12 (prob9-18M) or 12-15cm. I havent decided what size yet.. *oops*
Can reserve for a #2? Or if u dun use all the socks, can give the new pieces to a fren as pressie?

NiNi
Is Rich & Good going to cut up the swiss roll for u? I was reading up on them, no mention so far abt baby shower cakes, just tt they sell in 2 rolls at $10-12..

Valnsw
Yeah I think I will be going to bb and child clinic for the jabs this time cos cheaper than kids clinic..Yeah waiting time is long but kids clinic also the same leh. Maybe on the av got to wait at least 45 mins.

YLN/Mousse
Ok, maybe i shd try the methods you use and see if the feedings improve anot.. She is very "ying tao xiao zui" ..dunno if the bigger teats can fit in her mouth anot.. haha

ruixian,
yah. don't really like to use milk bag too but i bought some in case really can't find bottle to store.

valnsw,
thanks for the info on getting the stroller.

krex78,
i store 80ml of ebm in the bottle and freeze them. this is the current feed for yu ze. if i do pump say 100ml, i will freeze 80ml balance 20ml store at lower compartment. then combine with other ebm to feed yu ze.

if you can't meet the amount, then maybe you just need to freeze whatever you have. when feeding, you need to thaw 2 bottle instead of 1 loh. it should be fine.

dongle,
thanks for organising the sprees.

Gayle,
ur bb shower gift so CUTE!
Must have cost a bomb!

dongle,
thanks once again for consolidating! You are very efficient leh!

Re: storage of EBM
So far i haven't been storing EBM in the freezer cos read somewhere that antibodies are destroyed when we freeze the milk and got fishy smell. I think I won't be storing in freezer even when i return to work. Plan to express whatever i can and leave in the lower compartment for the day, if not enuff, mil can top up with FM. So whatever i can express in the office will be used for the feeds next day. When i return home, will continue to let bb latch on. Any mummies here doing the same?

I think frozen EBM is better than FM, but my mil will surely nag nag nag cos to her the frozen emb not fresh lah, got a lot of 'wind' lah, blah blah blah. Imagine, the ebm i put in lower compartment store for 24hrs only and she's been nagging cannot keep too long later bb tummyache. My hubby told her 'throw away lor', i was so angry and glared at him and say loudly 'only i have the right to decide when to throw the milk hor'. Mother and son trying to drive me crazy... :p

Halo Mommies!

Shint,
I started using Uzap during my confinement liao…heehee

Valnsw,
Yday I passed by Osim at PS and saw a lady trying the Uzap and buying it…I can’t tell you if it is really effective but I have been using it since 2004 lor…heehee

Hehe, your hb hinting you liao ah? Hb also asked lah but I also dare not try…oso forgot how long I waited after birth of my #1 then resume sex life man…actually my gynae said 2 weeks after his last checkup can liao…my goodness!

Twin Stars,
You must be really tired watching your mom and maid man…take care and hope everything is ok soon.

I won’t let maid call bb “darling” too…

Your hb is real sweet…hope he gets well soon to relieve you abit…I’m taking care of both kids myself with the help of my mom in the day…am glad bb is getting into a routine and after her last feed at 11pm/+, she will sleep till next morning 6am/+…hope she doesn’t change pattern again man coz me returning back to work early…

Hisstory,
Yalor, I also think they shdnt charge me for changing coz we didn’t cause the unstable situation there mah..and who wana go when the situation is bad there right…anyway, we will pay and postpone lor…no choice…

I went back to my office on Wed and was so happy that all my colls said I have slim down so fast liao and another 1 actually commented I’m slimmer than before…so kua zhang leh…but I’m still doing some light exercises at home lor…once back to work, will start my gym regime…

Hehe, DOM is still lying ard but I gave away all the chix essence to my sis’ fren whose daughters drink it…

Medusa,
My #1 attended cc when she was 18mths, I withdrew her in Feb this year and placed her in 3hrs nursery as I want her to attend some extra enrichment classes on weekdays afternoon…and I’m glad to announce that this whole year, she hasn’t fall sick and visit any doctor at all *touch wood*…cc is good for kids to socialize and learn discipline but down side is they really get sick easily coz those sick kids will still attend cc as nobody at home to take care of them but those 3hrs playgroups, when kids are sick, they can stay at home coz sure got someone to take care lor…

Gayle,
Your bb favours are so NICE!

gayle, your bb favours very cute! must have spent a bomb

celyn, i dunno whether to start storing milk in freezer or not as my current pump is just about right for my son. i'm also thinking by the time i go back to work in mid oct, his consumption would not be 90ml anymore, so i need to be able to anticipate the correct amt. if i store 2 bags of milk, i might still have the same prob as when i thaw the 2 bags, they must be equal to x number of feeds. since i can't anticipate, there will be leftovers right? it's not so straightforward as now when i can just top up the milk in the fridge as they're all liquid.

blue aurora, i plan to minimally pump 1x or 2x when at work (depending on whether i can sterilise and whether i got time and proper facilities). have a feeling my bb will go back to 1/2 EMB and 1/2 FM by then, since my pumps aren't so regular. my pump at work is prob only enough for 1 or 2 feeds during the day, and when i'm back at night, i will express for him again. may not want to latch on since i can't monitor his intake and it's tiring to wake up at night to feed him.

blue aurora, i also feel a bit disappointed with my hb. he's ok with breastfeeding but doesn't go all out to give me 100% support. to him, got breast milk then give, dun have then formula lor, what's the big deal? last night, after giving my bb his last feed, he wanted to top up another 30ml as he was still crying (sometimes he does that to make him sleep longer at night). he asked me to make 30ml of FM and i asked him, why not just take 30ml of my EBM since there is enough in the fridge? he asked "what's the difference? must i be so rigid"? and here i am struggling to wean my bb off formula! in the end, he gave my bb 30ml FM when i went to sleep!

my MIL also came by last night and happily announced that she had a few cans of formula milk for bb which he can take after 6 mths.

i think the people around me proclaim that BF is good but they're just paying lip service. it's no big deal to them whether bb gets BM or FM, so long as he is fed, sigh.

krex78,
you thaw the frozen milk in the fridge then you won't waste cos you can just pour out the amount you want. if you thaw it with hot water or warmer than waste loh.

aurora,
i oso read that there is no antibodies ... so now i have at least 10 milk feeds which i stored since day 1 which i had not used at all. Now I try to finish up the milk i have, if more than 1 day, then i feed it to my #1.

Now dunno wan to defreeze it and give it to #1 not .... cos so wasted to throw rite? For #2, i am giving the fresh ones. No point keep freezing and end up he dun get any antibodies. The whole point is to give BM cos of the antibodies isn't it?

I wonder how is frozen BM better than FM?
It has no more antibodies and is there any nutrients in it after being frozen for so long?

Dongle
Thanks for the efforts for organising the sprees : )

Aurora
Last time for my #1, I used to freeze my milk cos my ss was quite a lot.. I had at least 1 months in advance of supply so if dun freeze very wasted. But you are rite, after that the breastmilk got a diff smell. Not sure abt the antibodies tho but my boy still happily drink up everything.This time round, so far I haven freeze my milk yet for my gal so after pumping I leave in in the fridge for max 48 hrs.I am thinking of giving her the freshest this time and if ss allows it then I will pump out and keep in the fridge. Like now I have about 10 packets of 100ml each sitting in the fridge, waiting to be used by her : p I got more than enuf for her but she is not consuming so much..

Gayle
Favours are so nice! I like the mints! Where are they from?

M2B
Problem is that if I put him in those playgroup, nobody to pick him up after 3 hrs cos both hubby and me working leh.. And my MIL there dun have any nerby playgroup also.. so bo pain got to put him in those full day cc. Haiz...yeah i damn scared germs will spread cos you are rite, some parents will still send their kids to cc even tho they may be sick.

Krez78
I understand how you feel.. It's like we are trying our best to bf and they are not supportive. Granted, yes we will suplement with FM if we dun have enuff..but if we have enuff BM why not give 100%? Heng my hubby is quite suportive of bfeeding cos I bf my #1 till he was 13mths and this time he also know I will give as long as I can. Its those aunties and relatives I cant tahan.. that day got one ask me to put nestum in my BM so that my gal will become more full .. i just listen and nod my head.. of cos wun heed her advice la!

Medusa,
U know ah, my MIL used to tell me put cereal into the FM for my #1 (when he was older) so that he will be more full and wun wake up at nite. I was like, give him bread before we put him to sleep better rite? cos later he kenna choke how?.

Their idea is to keep them full and not kenna woken up at nite.

Me still thinking hard if i wan to start freezing ... haha, hope my ss wun go down cos now i oso lazy to latch since he on bottle feed on EBM.

U see- his timing and my milk ss kicks in differently. So sometimes my milk starts flowing liao .. i have to pump and he still sleeping soundly. Then after i pump, he wakes up for milk ... but i oredi dry .. so have to give him the one i just pumped out in bottle lor.

So far my ss quite irregular ... sometimes 120ml only ... but this morning, it was like 180ml cos i many hours din pump ... about 5 hours.

krex,
ur baby only drink 90ml per 4 hours? How old is ur baby? With Formula? Cos my baby drinks 90ml every 2 hrs cant catch up with her feed liao.

dongle
thanks for the spree..

giving frozen BM to bb
i already have 25 bags of milk (each about 120ml to 15oml) forzen for my bb when i get back to work..i actually intend to freeze more ..but am waiting for my milk bags to arrive from spree...
i personally think tho some antibodies may be lost during freezing...BM is still best...so i make sure i have enuff for bb when i get back to work...i will only give FM to bb at nite (1 feeding) and will give BM for the rest of the feedings...

krex,
u r right abt the nite feeds. Hopefully by then our bb will sleep thru the nite like M2B's bb.

Yah lor, we oredi so stressed with MS then hubby like tt. Antenatal class not enuff to educate him, shd hv signed up for more bf talks.

Shint,
yah, i agree with u tt it's the antibodies tt makes our bm beneficial to bb. Not sure why oso, read somehere tt it's mrs wong bb who wrote in her book tt frozen bm is still better than FM leh. Maybe u can still consider giving it to ur #1. I know very heartpain to throw away...

Medusa,
wo ur SS v good! Then u dun hv to worry abt storage since definitely enuff.

Frozen breastmilk can keep for 2 months is it?

Maybe i can consider to start freezing while i thaw those in bottles for #1. Afterall, i bought so much milk bags liaoz .. hee.

So if I pump 120ml, i can keep it in the fridge and next pump i pump another 120ml .. i can also put the 2nd pump into the fridge till same temperature then combine them to put into 1 milk bag rite?
I think i will max out the milk bag cos by the time baby needs to drink these thawed BM, his amount would have increased.

Once thawed in the fridge, can use partial for 1 feed and leave the remaining one for next feed?

Freezing and thawing BM is new to me, last round i have zero spare .... not even enough for 1 feed. haaa. So for those who don't have enought, don't despair, still got #2.

hisstory: Yes they do full month cakes as well! Their swiss rolls is the most high-raved about! But like i say, when you call to enquire, if its a guy who answered..dont bother cos he is unfriendly and most probably wont offer u any samples to try.. -_-"

shint
it is best to just store BMfrom one pumping session in 1 bag..n not combine..moreover, it is better to store abt 4oz of BM (or a bit more)so it will be easier to feed in smaller quantities..if 2 much milk in one bag..ur bb may not need so much in 1 feeding... i read this somwhere..so its better to store abt 4oz or so in one milk bag...mine is usually 4 oz or max 150ml..cuz my bb now feeds on 150ml...but she will increase over the weeks...so, i will just use smaller amounts of frozen milk to make up my bb's feed...plus my dr say its not good to combine milk 2 freeze..one pump session one milk bag is best....thats y can still use the remaining thawed milk 4 remaining feeds..but the amount is smaller...

Hi, good morning mummies

Last night was a bad night for me, my baby was cranky even after feeding, refused to sleep. I was blur and sleepy last night that I dropped my ameda breast pump funnels. End up, one funnel cracked and the other split into two.

This morning managed to get it replaced. the delivery will come bfore 3pm

gayle
Nice favours!!

dongle
thank you so much for organising the sprees!!

M2B
heheh, the compliments really make ur day hor??
I've been thinking of when i can start exercise, esp to tone up the stomach muscles.. bb's been a bit cranky these few days, after her feeds in the day, she wld be veryvery awake. We let her lie in the cot and entertain herself, but after awhile she fusses! So we try to pat her to sleep, but tt's a very long time...

NiNi
Okie dokie! Thanks! I shall check with HB first.. If he gives the go-ahead, I get the contact no. of the lady yah?

gayle,
where did u get them ? so sweet

re:feeding
my bb these few days been refusing the bottle and wants to latch on.. hahaha. opposite reaction
thot normally they refuse latch on and want bottle. hubby look so sad cos he holding the bottle wanting to feed her but she refuse. hahaha

Shint: U should give your frozen bm to your no. 1 as Mrs Wong in her book had mentioned that frozen bm is still better than FM. Someone had mentioned above too :)

Catherine: Give yourself a pat on your back! It shows that your breastfeeding effort is very successful. So far Amber still drinks more from the bottle than latching on.

Those of you who have nappy liners to let go, please let me know :) prefer annakku, tollyjoy, avent brand. TY!

i got 4 brands of nappy liner in my house as its leftover from my sis.

they O'darling (left alot), tollyjoy (new), fiffy(left abit) & pigeon(left abit).

earnestmum,
I hv 1 box of Tollyjoy nappy liners, you want?
The perforated part got opened alrdy, but otherwise it's untouched. I got it from my client and I nvr used it.
Where you stay? I remember around Kovan or Serangoon area right? If so, mb I can pass to u if I go to ILs.

hisstory,
I think I will not buy the socks from the BP, else too many socks liao.
Duno who to give as pressie leh... even if hv, I lazy to go out now... haha

gayle,
the favours are so cute!! Must have spent a bomb. I like the way they are packaged. Must have made an impression on those who received it.

M2B,
my hubby is not shy in saying all these things but he will tell me not to be shy *faintz* -_-""
u see the way he hint hint la... he alrdy touchy feely liao.

So the hooks at Daiso really gd and cheap ah? Too bad I won't be going to PS else I'll prob grab. Anyway I got so many Kiddy Palace vouchers, can use them. Prob get from there.

For the uzap, I'll hold it for the time being. Hmm, been doing 100 situps a day and using the hula hoop. Think I'm slowly losing the inches. Gotta work at it. Ganbatte ne!

celyn,
slowly do la..
i usually do 50 sit-ups in one session, like 50 sit-ups in e aftn when bb is asleep and another set of 50 at night before I sleep.
Of course, during the 50 sit-ups, got catch my breath in between, else i run outa steam :p
Mb, can do the first 15-20 at one shot without hving to break awhile, by the time reach 30+ sit-ups, gotta break every 5 or so sit-ups.

usually I will do it before I bathe, since I sweat, might as well sweat it out then go bathe.

re: jaundice

brought my bb to polyclinic to take bilirubin blood test again today and my bb's jaundice level went up again fm 202 to 222. i'm so worried now becos in the 3rd wk oredi n the doc said shld have gone down by now, instead, went up. told me to go back on monday. if still no good, gotta refer me to KKH. am so worried now.
i tink i will start to put her in sun and let her drink glucose water fm now on. a bit too late, but well, hopefully will get better results on monday.

actually, so worried tat i called up the PD at TMC, the nurse tell me tat 222 not high lah. if there's anything, the polyclinic will refer me back to them one. :S

shint,
the ANG KEE dun seem to work for my gal.. *sad*

ruixuan,
yar, sometimes i oso so sleepy at nite tat i fall asleep holding the bb!

nini,
good recommendation, lotsa rave reviews on the internet on their swiss rolls as well. might get tat for HB's colleagues since we not inviting them to lunch.

gayle,
pretty favours, but i reckon, like the other mommies said, 'cost a bomb'. hee..

rata,
thx for ur feedback on mum's kitchen!

hisstory,
yes, i so itchy hand n heart leh... u check out whether they pack the swiss rolls in individual box or not n lemme know? keke..

val
heheh, u're right.. Now I feel kind of lazy to go out with my ger, or shd i put it, lack of confidence to handle her on my own. Still haven't really practised using the sarong sling.. *tsktsk*

U're also another disciplined mummy!! Cham... I must work harder man.. Those post-natal exercises taught in Mt A, i haven't put any into practice

faeriekim
Is ur ger sleepy? These few days weather not very gd, not enough sun leh.. But do hope ur ger's jaundice goes away quickly!!

I see if i can reach Rich & Good within the next few days k?

Hi,Ladies

Have not logged in for awhile.. have been struggling with my baby boy.. any of your babies got spots like heat rash on the face and neck? any remedy? HELP HELP!!!

My milk supply also not keeping up.. so have to top up with FM (120Ml)for the last feed at ard 10plus and it will last him till 5plus in the morning..

Ruixuan,
aww.. tt's what i was afraid of - breaking the funnels, tt's why get an extra set from the spree to stand by. Ho did u get replacement? Mumsfairy? How much does it cost?

valnsw,
wah! u v disciplined! So far i've been too lazy... Must use u as motivator!

faeriekim,
Hope ur bb's jaundice clear up soon. My bb's jaundice oso return a bit when he was week 3, can start to see yellowish tinge in his eyewhites. Try to feed her more fluids to flush it out.

hisstory,
Tt sarong sling really needs a bit of practising. I've tried going out with it a few times, and still cannot really get it right, bb like a bit uncomfortable leh. Hahaaa.. Getting a pupsik bb carrier, hopefully it's more manageable. *keep fingers cross*. Dun really like the stroller cos it's heavy and every storey has to use the lift. :S