(2008/08) Aug 2008

Congrats Cindy!!! Must share with ur BB pix when u free k!

Valnsw, whoa at least u can choose to work from home siah...what's ur occupation then? If u dun mind telling :p

Catherine, oh no leh, my MIL is working. Long story siah. The maid is employed until my MIL, cos now she staying with us, till she gets her own house, she'll move over along with her maid + Ah Ma. So for now we're using the maid once she comes loh. But i think even when i go back to work liao i will take care of my BB at nite siah. Dun wanna lose the bonding and let BB bond with maids instead! Bleahhh...

BTW from the way u describe ur maid like abit the gone case liao...

cindy,
glad 2 hear tat everything is okie nw 4 u & bb kah yenn. d binder is 2 bind ur tummy so tat u dun feel tat painful when u move around. in addition, it can help u 2 burn fats.
it was a lifesaver 2 me coz wif it, at least i can move around. dun worry abt spending time wif kah yenn okie. nw it's time 4 u 2 rest & bu ur body back. u'll hv lots of time 2 spend wif kah yenn in future.

valnsw,
ya lor. somemore in dec, it's my peak period. we'll prob source 4 another maid in oct or nov. m planning 2 use back my old agency. bt can u pm me ur agency ctcs? jus in case, my old agency dun hv any suitable maids 4 me. tks in adv.
mayb ur maid is more suitable 2 do hsewk. u monitor her & c hw. coz noeing hw 2 take care of bb can't really b taught 1. d person mus hv d heart 2 do it. dun noe whether u understd wat i meant by tat.

krex78,
4 me, i wldn't get a rocker. coz i dun wan bb 2 sleep oni when some1/something is rocking him/her. if u go back 2 ur family's plc 4 dinner, mayb u can use d pram or an infant car seat if u hv 1.

hisstory,
u hv a good rest thr & njoy d confinement food thr.

roiv,
5 days seems a bit 2 long esp since she's on partial bm. i wld suggest tat u bring ur bb 2 c d doc or pd 2 make sure tat everything is okie.

Maid:
Well today is my day of ranting about maid.
I would be going to my home country for my brother’s wedding in December. I thought I can take my maid along with me to take care of baby. My maid’s father spoke with my husband and is saying that he wants to do the engagement ceremony for his daughter. Now when I ask my maid whether she would come back? She says, yes. But I am not convinced. I need her to take care of my baby when I would be busy with my brother’s wedding. At that time, it would be really cold weather. She isn’t great in doing even the household chores and I know I can’t leave my baby on her sole responsibility. What do you mummies feel I should do?

Catherine / shay / medusa,
hearing abt the peanut butter thing makes me laugh. *ROFL*

Ok i guess we shd look at the bright side of things, else I think we will go mad. Gota close one eye where certain things are concerned.
Guess we more kan cheong now if it's concerning our babies.

shay,
if your maid is supposed to help u w bb, you must tell her. Else she thought not her duty, she won't wake up to help. Have to be firm lo.
Before I go back to work, I prob will need to tell my maid again. That she needs to do the night feeds liao cos I need my sleep to be mentally alert for work.

avocado / Yuuri,
So that's the letdown effect huh? Me super blur.
I realised pumping doesn't yield so much milk and usually is after I've bfeed bb. Hv not done purely pumping yet these few days, duno how much my supply is.

vone,
I've PMed you my maid agency contact.

Ya I knw what u mean by the person must hv the heart too. The thing is, my maid herself has 2 toddler kids. Surely, when they were babies, she must have cared for them too, so in a way, I kinda expect she should knw how to handle babies.

Oh your peak is Dec, cos their financial yr ends 31 Dec right? I almost cannot remember. Heh... me the other way, Nov is the peak, gota cheong production.

huichin,
Hehe, me financial services consultant, in short insurance agent lo. Wana join in? :p

Anybody who needs my services feel free to contact / PM me if you want to do insurance planning for your baby and/or yourself, especially if you and hubby are financially supporting the family together ;)

valnsw,

You're also a Financial Adviser? Me too. Which company are you with?

So are you going to claim the paid maternity leave? How many weeks can you claim? I still blur blur leh. Dunno what to do about it. Have you figure it out yet. So you'll be resting for how long before you go back to work? I'm rotting at home now, Wanna meet my clients to do review, but most of them worried for me, ask me not to walk about. haha.. Then my boy like too comfy inside. No signs of labour at all. Except diarroeah yesterday. Hai.. I wanna faster pop, faster do confinement & go back to work.

Are you still breastfeeding? How are you going to cope if you're going back to work? Do your co do roadshows? That's my concern only if I wanna BF for long.. Imagine meeting clients then gotta carry the fridge to go everywhere. haha.. I want to bf 6mth at least to 1yr. Now still thinking how I'm gonna cope.

maid:
would any mummies leave their maid alone at home when u go out with friends and wanna bring bb along? what's the best way to "get rid of the maid" for one day/ night esp since she does not have day off?

taking care of bb:
i noticed that my bb is too used to the CL taking care of him. today when i tried to bathe him, he wailed so miserably when i haven't even started! then when my CL took over, he stopped crying immediately. so irritating! i'm worried i won't be able to appease him next week when my CL leaves. he has the same reaction when my maid bathes him also, so i reckon it boils down to the person bathing him, not so much the method. so worrying!

luvlel,
is ur maid's contract due? if nt, then i dun c any reason tt u hv 2 let her go back.

valnsw,
tks, i gt it oledi.
even though ur maid gt 2 kids, it doesn't mean tt she took care of d kids herself. my 3rd maid gt 3 kids of her own. her youngest 1 is oni 1/2 yr older than mine. bt her child minding skills is v bad. reason? coz her kids r taken care of by her mil while she wks in d fields wif her hb. so u mus ask ur maid whether she took care of her kids herself.
ya, my peak is in dec coz of d companies' financial yr's closings. thus my maid gg back then is nt v good timing. bt then wat 2 do? hopefully i can get a good 1.

krex78,

i wld leave d maid at hm alone if we wanna go out. u jus hv 2 make sure tt all ur valuables r locked up. 4 me, i wldn't tell d maid wat time i m coming back. so thr's no chance 4 her 2 sneak out or invite her frens hm.

dun worry abt ur bb wailing when u bathe him. give urself more time k. m sure tt ur bb will take 2 u as well as ur CL.

Congratulation to Hisstory, Nini, Shint and Faeriekim! Finally can cuddle ur bb in ur arms. Great feeling eh?

Maid
I'm thinking of getting a maid when i go back to work cos i think my MIL might not be able to cope with taking care of bb plus household chores. But seems tt having a maid sometimes create more probs than help and also really depend on luck to get a really good maid. Anyone engaging part-time maid? Is it worth paying more to get part-time maid instead?

krex78,
does ur CL tok to bb as she prep him for the bath? Sometimes bb feels insecure so they cry. Maybe u can try toking to him? Im haven't bathed my bb myself yet, gonna try it after my confinement. Hope he doesn't cry. :p

insurance
what type of insurance must we get for bb? life and education?

Haiz, bb getting crankier each day and having difficulty sleeping. Must carry and pat him for a long time and sometimes he will just eh eh eh and twist and turn. Now, really worried cos i think he is experiencing reflux every feed. Every feed, he will choke and cough at least once, then after feeding, despite burping (he has difficultt burping also), he will start to grunt and face will turn red red.. seems to be in pain. Then keep regurgitating quite a lot of milk. Any mummies here experience this??? Think i will bring him to the PD next mon to have a check. Hope it's nothing serious... His heat rash finally clearing up, and now this. Being 1st time parent quite stressful cos dunno what's wrong wth bb.

Celyn,
You mean the shaving of head must do zun zun on full month ah? haha I dunno..but I read somewhere 24th day also can..and since the full month celebration is on the 4th week this weekend, so thought I can just do a few days earlier

Aurora,
my bb also this week start to regurgitate milk at almost every feed. So have to burp him and sit him up for at least 30mins after every feed...doesn't really help either since the spit up is sometimes 1hr later. Very tiring. He also very fussy suddenly..eat finish don't want to sleep. Pat him, he look so song. Put him down immediately want to cry...

Krex,
I guess your baby's used to the CL's 'smell'. I was also like this as a baby. So my mom overcomed this problem by asking my grandma (also my caregiver) to sling a towel whenever she carries me. then. after a while, i kinda 'weaned off' my grandma's body scent. Hope this helps..

Congrats to Hisstory, Nini, Shint and Faeriekim!

Sigh, I so envy most of u already deliver. Even those whose EDD is after mine! I'm STILL stuck here in office wondering when I will pop. And the Parenthood package debate is really making me depressed. *cry*

vone, do u have a safe at home? there isn't really one place for me to lock my valuables. i'm better off locking my rooms, haha. but that would seem quite extreme. dunno what my maid will do at home alone also. what will u say if your maid asks what time u'll be home? my maid is quite conversant and intelligent. dunno if this is a gd or bad thing.

aurora, yah, my CL talks a lot to bb. sometimes on all kinds of topics! sometimes i'm at a loss as to what to talk to him about also. doesn't come so naturally for me to talk to a human being that does not know how to respond with words yet, haha.

mousse, i'm just gonna give my bb one week to cry his guts out when i bathe him next week. he'll prob have the same problem when my MIL bathes him once i go back to work. then weekends will be a terror!

i'm so happy leh, i can wear back my old jeans liao. yeah!!!! this mummy is so vain hoh. hahah....

yuuri,
i don't know leh. i thought so lah. or on the day that we celebrate full month loh.

jvenus,
don't think about it further. if we can get it, it will be good. if not, also no choice. don't be too upset. be happy to receive your little one soon.

aurora,

yeah, u r rite. hving a maid can create more probs 4 u than nt hving 1. 4 ur case, u mus c wat's ur requirements. if u need some1 2 b around 2 help ur mil, then a maid wld b good. however, if u jus need some1 2 help wif d hsehold chores, then a PT maid might b better.

aurora,
Sigh... My bb has almost the same prob as your bb!! I just managed to coax her to sleep. She gona be angry later cos seeing PD at 3.30pm. She cries so hard til her whole face is red. Then when she drinks milk too fast, she will regurgitate, and choke. She still hiccups once a day. She's v cranky at night and refuses to sleep, sometimes for 3 hrs, til the next feed.
GOna shoot PD lotsa qns later.

Re: insurance
Most important is to get hospitalisation insurance. Cos babies tend to be hospitalised more frequently. There are 2 types of plans. One is the Shield plan that you can use your Medisave to pay for the premiums. Always get a "as charged" plan. Bear in mind the hospitalisation shield plans using Medisave to buy, has deductible and co-insurance portions that insured has to bear before the rest if claimable/reimbursable. Thus, must always complement with another plan/rider (this is the second type) using cash to buy, to cover for the deductible & co-insurance portions.

Best to get bb insured before develop any condition *touch wood*. Cos I hv client who has diabetes at age 14, couldn't get accepted for those plans with critical illness and/or hospitalisation cover. If her parents got for her before age 14, she would still be covered.

Next will be education plan. Life insurance on bb is gd but not a must. Rather, the parent should take on more life insurance so that in the event of the parent(s)' death or disability, still have the payout to support the child.

For me, I'll be getting an education plan for her too on top of the hospitalisation.

Hope my advice here has helped some of you.
Perhaps kel wana add on since she's in the same line?

kel,
Ya, gona claim the 3rd mth ML since it's paid by govt, jus a matter of how much they gona pay based on the IRAS NOA.

Dang, I was supposed to go Osaka convention, but end up cannot go due to confinement
so I got my colleague to help me buy bag from there.

As for roadshows, it is adhoc, depends on when my manager wants to do it, he will inform us.

I prob wana go back office aft my confinemt but looks like i gota play by ear and work fr home if needed.

Not gona give myself stress, if I can bfeed gd, if not I will express or give FM. No choice.

vone,
U're welcome! Gd luck in searching for your new maid.

krex78,
nope, i dun. i jus make sure tt my $ & jewellery r locked up in d drawers. 4 me, if i m gg 2 leave d maid at hm, i wld asked her 2 do some chores. so when i come back, i wld chk 2 make sure tt it's done. if my maid asked me wat time i wld b back, i jus replied tt i m nt sure. as wat u say, being conversant & intelligent can b good or bad. let's hope tt she uses it in d correct way.

valnsw,
tks.

yuuri,
ur boy oso ar. Does it help to sit him up for 30 min? I dunno if the reflux is due to wind or something wrong with his digestive system. im a paranoid mummy... :p

jvenus,
*sayang* hehee.. it'll be ur turn to be mummy soon. Dun worry yah. Ur bb is picking a good timing to meet u. Aiyah this parenthood package is so crappy.. created so much debate and unhappiness among mummies. Government sometimes dun think deep enuff.. who's the person who came up with the package? must be a man! But at least it's effective from 2009.. not sept 2008.. if not even more tui.

krex78,
or maybe u can just say things tt u r going to do, like 'mummy is going to wash ur hair, good boy k? Don't be scared...", etc.. haha tt's what my mil says to my bb.

vone,
yah, im thinking just household chores cos i dun really trust maid with bb oso. Will explore the PT maid alternative and work out a budget.

valnsw,
yah exactly! Mine also refuses to sleep for 3 hrs at night sometimes.. like last nite! I was soo tired n sleepy.

Thanks for ur info and advice on the insurance plans. Will go and do some read-up as well.

Hi mummy,
just askin if there is good post natal massage lady to reccomand tat we cld see result of slimming v fast aft giving birth.

Any Good recommandation
Thank You

aurora, wah! i like the way u say it. "must be a man!" haha. pm lee say govt is not stupid in his rally. perhaps not. they hv effectively written off those who cannot abort their babies legally and enticing those still 24 weeks pregnant to keep their babies instead of aborting. that's why jan 09 was chosen. however i must say that in doing so govt is very INSENSITIVE.

Halo Mommies!
So many days never log in and have so many posts to read man...
Today I went to rebond and highlight my hair...feel so much better man!

1st, Congratulation to Hisstory, Nini, Shint and Faeriekim!

Hisstory,
Everything ok so far?

Snow,
Happy Belated Birthday to U!

Catherine, Twin Stars and Rata,
BB shower this weekend? We having a meal with our families...not doing full month this time but will go office to distribute cakes/kuehs next week...

megan
weight drop in the 1st few days sounds normal, dun worry okie? =)
zynn is also drinking 60ml in 4hr interval now, my flow is also not enough to fill her stomach lor. =P

catherine
thx for the tips on cooking red egg.

cindy

jvenus
be gd gal and wait slightly awhile more ya?
just ignore whatever discussion, its not healthy for u to think too much now.

congrats to all new mummies!

nowadays can;t go into full details liao. must quickly log in n out es when baby cries.

M2B,
my turn to do hair tom!
must sit there for 5hrs min man!

dunno how to go n do my nails.......

ya sat is baby party but i'm not bothered by it...i jus scared i can;t handle baby when CL leaves. today i finally successfully burp my baby! terrible mummy right

sat, will do night duty with CL n sun will try to bath baby......

cham!

Any Mummies here, ur BB will wake up at a certain timing and play by him/herself? Like relak...'wave' hands and legs but neber cry? Just eh eh abit...that's all. Falisha has been doing that frequently siah...and usually at 5plus in the evening...my mum says cos she's born at that timing. Got such thing?? LOL

Another thing, has anyone's BB got mild rashes on the face? Like small little spots that looks like pimple...duno izzit she too heaty. And lastly, any BBies got these 'white spots' on the nose since birth? Falisha has them but haven't fade off leh..last time i know that my cousin had it when he was a BB, but i cant remember if it faded off or something. Just tot that the white spots are pretty common.

Twin Stars,
You not bad mommy lah...dun wori, you will pick things up fast...nobody is ever prepared to be a good parent, just learn along the way k?

I went to do my nails on Tue liao...hahaha, had a foot scrub too...shiok man!

Ya, I rebond and highlight...coming near 5hrs...tiring man...hahaha

Megan,
I'm interested in the Enfalac A+ bulk purchase.

i wana rebond my hair too but the weather is so sweltering hot..i scare do liao cant tie then even more pek chek..hehe

M2B and twinstars, are u ladies still breastfeeding?

Cindy,
CONGRATS!

Jvenus,
Your turn will come soon so meantime, enjoy your beauty sleep...heehee

Snow,
Yday I fed Maegan at 11.30pm and guess what, she slept till 6.35am then woke up for milk...hope this is everyday man...

dear mummies, just a quick update on the progess..

the names are coming in fast and furious into my email and i've got abt 400+ names already.

My 2 cents is the list that i have has more credibility than the online ones.. OMG.. one cant even get the surname rite.

well.. like i said b4.. once i hit 500 i will send the letter out to PM..

so keep them coming in ya.. like i said this morning.. i WILL NOT PUBLISH THE IC NUMBERS OUT ONLY PM WILL GET TO SEE IT. Cool? Trust me.. we will see the fruits of our labour tonite!

[email protected] Name/IC/EDD

huichin,
my baby also same as yrs. tiny pimples on the face and red patches when she is hot. ya like wat M2B say, hormonal? she also has the white spots on the noise. guess nothing to worry about.
my baby wakes up at night to play with herself between 11:30pm to 1am.......that;s my watching TV time when i was preg with her

M2B,
my bb poo so much last nt until it reaches her waist..scared she kena UTI lei

missysz,
me still BF but very little milk la, mine is like vits for her a day, haha. will express b4 i go to do hair n express when i am back to throw away after doing hair....ya, rebond hair can't tie hair but my new AC is coming on wed

snow, yah, i'll be good girl. hehe. just so left out some of u celebrating full month already but mine still hvn't come out? haha.

m2b, beauty sleep? turn here turn there, all over pain. and wake up 2x at night to go toilet. peng.

I have a Allerhand urban blue diaper bag. Condition as good as brand new. With all accessories included. I'm selling it at $70, original price $120. Pm me if u r interested.
1655375.jpg

whoa M2B, Maegan damn koolz la! haha..how i wish Falisha will sleep more than THREE hours loh..sighs

Now her routine at nite is:
- 11pm drink milk then sleep
- 1+ to 2+ am drink milk then sleep
- 4+ to 5+ am drink milk then sleep
- 7+ to 8+am drink milk then sleep

Like that in between i only got less then 1hr plus to sleep b4 the next feed siah! SOb...

Thanks little twin stars. I guess everything's normal afterall! hehe...dun wanna be a gan chiong freak! Actually it's my hubby. Haha..so wanna check with u girls b4 i assure him again. Told him and explained liao..but he like y like that ah? Izzit sensitive to this or that? Aiyo...

twin stars
me too, that is why always post 1 or 2 posts then disappear liao.

huichin
zynn having those milk rashes on face too.
like what m2b said, its normal. =)

m2b
wah, so gd ah.
i hope zynn can sleep like that also leh...hee hee...

jvenus
dun worry lah, maybe ur bb noe when is the best date leh? =)
just enjoy ur preggy now, before its over and u ganna jail like us okie? =P

great..m2b..

hmm..I was thinking of taking 3 tins, how many would u like?

anyone else interested in the enfalacA+?

Congrats to those who gave birth ya..

hmm for my baby slightly special ah snow..cos he has got some congenital issues so these few days I have been in and out of NUH....luckili and i hope he will be okie by Sat...

HI Snow, m2b, vone
Thanks for the wishes.

Vone,
I trying to get used to the routine cos being baby's mummy, my time spent with her like very little. hoepfully things get better.

Brought my baby to the PD today for Jandice checkup and happy to know her jaundice level had lowered. Hope she will recover soon. My confinement lady say that pearl powder can help to lower baby's jaudice level, anyone know abt this?

Breast Feeding at night seems a bit tiring for all of us but its for the better of the baby so we got to tahan..... I usually expressed my milk very late at nite then only wake up once in the night to express again and sleep through to the morning. Maybe you all can try.

Twin Stars,
Dun worry so much ok? You will get the hang of it soon...I also panick when I was with my #1.

Huichin,
Ya, those rashes are normal...I hope Maegan's pattern stay that way man...heehee

Snow,
Hope Maegan stays that way at night man coz I really miss my beauty sleep...heehee

Missyz,
My supple oso not much so just giving whatever I have and mostly supplement with FM.

Jvenus,
You shd sleep all you want now coz when bb is out, you will miss sleep liao.

Megan,
I'm fine with taking 3 tins too...how many you need? I dun mind more.

BTW, hope that your boy is ok soon.

Cindy,
My mom gave my gal pearl powder too.

M2B,
how do u feed the pearl powder to bb? My bb week 4 le.. but recently seems to become more 'yellowish' again. Jaundice will reoccur one is it? I hv pearl powder at home, does it really help to reduce jaundice?

Today's my EDD and hubby's birthday, but still waiting, like no dong4 jing4 so far.......hope dun have to wait till next Mon's induction...

aurora,
no prob on that. Hope that helps you.

missysz,
Ya, that's the handsfree thing.

huichin / M2M / twin stars,
those white stuff on the nose are milia seeds according to PD and will go off in 4-6 wks' time. My bb has them too.

M2B,
I asked PD abt hiccups but I think he missed answering that. Cos too many qns I asked him and then he told me so many things at one shot.

M2B / Megan,
You 2 organising bulk purchase for Enfalac A+? If you are, pls count me in!

The stage 1 supposed to go til 12 mths right? What's the bulk purchase price? Any details?

aurora, i also talk to him leh. ask him to be co-operative, let mummy bathe him. these few days when i carry him, i also try to make small talk with him more often. never mind, will try again tmrw till i get it right