(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hisstory
Finally! Congrats! Take care and see you around soon : )

M2B
Dun worry about the pimples..cos my #1 had it an it was all over his face and alot! my PD says sometimes it is jsut a reactionto the mummy's milk and its normal. Are you bfeeding btw? I know of an easy method to ease the pimples.. just used cooled boiled water and cotton wool and clean the face. Dun use tap water. But the water must be cooled lah else bb's face later kena scalded :p

Snow
I just finished the match also, haha!
No more medal hopes but i think LJW put on a good fight lah...

Valnsw
Dun worry.. supply will come in more and more. Last 2 weeks I also scared how come like not much but now better already I can pump about 150ml each time.. too bad my gal is not drinking too much and I store in the fridge can only up 2 48 hrs.. So i gave some to my #1, to mix with his FM, let him "bu" abit.. hehe!

Avocado, thanks for the info! I will forward it to my fren

hisstory,
congrats.

valnsw,
don't worry about supply. it will come in slowly.

hashisan,
my boy is on tbm. day time, i latch and bottle feed with ebm depend timing. night is fully ebm. he drink about 80ml now for 16 days old. i give my CL $28 when she came, when she go back i will give either $68 or $88 loh.

medusa15,
good work on bf. i think i still got a long way to 150ml.

Vone:

The contract is still on with maid.

hisstory:
Congratulations!!! You really are very strong.

Discharge:
I am having a lot of white discharge from yesterday and the discharge is like bulk and very sticky ( sorry for being coarse). Mommies can the "show" be like this too?

M2B,
really? Hehee... shall let bb eat some so his skin 'mei mei'. :p And ur Maegan so guai! My notti boy still feeding every 2 hrs day n nite.. so tiring.

hisstory,
congrats! And u get to enjoy the enhanced baby bonus, so good! Guess u can take the 4th month after the dec hols. Unlike me... got to take no pay leave. :p

luvlel,
'show' is red in colour. But having more discharge is quite common before labour. But if it's yellowish with strong smell, better check wif ur gynae cos it cld be infection?

Hehee.. finally i can wash hair today! it's such a bliss! Tml is my bb's full month celebration. Separated into lunch and dinner buffet cos too many relatives le. For those of u looking for caterer, i think Angel's Restaurant (Halal) is quite good. Tried their food before. Wanted to order from them but they are fully booked this sat. So in the end, I chose 'Mei Hao 99' which is not halal. For cakes, I chose Melrose Bake House cos the price very reasonable tho no fanciful packaging or card. Will feedback if the food and cakes are nice tml or sun for those considering them.

Hi Vone,

I have brought my gal to the PD yesterday. She mentioned that its not a major cause of worry as long as she is gaining weight well and sleeping well. Breastfeed babies are seldom constipated and they could go up to 1 week without poo poo.

But to ease my worry, she prescribed Glycerin Suppository to be inserted into baby's anus. After inserting, she poo within an hour...

hi all, i have popped on 16 aug 2008..

here's my birth story

1.00am water bag burst, took a shower n head down to tmc
2.00am reached tmc n confirmed active labor n 4cm dilated
3.00am in the labor ward and starts to feel the strong contraction
4.00 am starts to vomit.. according to the midwife is normal due to too painful
5.00am have the urge to push, but midwife says not ready and still got 4 more cm to go... requested on laughing gas
5.30am too tired in breathing in the laughing gas, reqested for epi in order to take some rest
6.00am epi and fall a sleep till labor to be start
8.15am gynae came in and started t push
8.35am baby gynae is born.

Hi all Aug mummies (1st Aug to 16 Aug),

My baby is born during this period and I'm very disappointed that first time mums during this period is not entitled to the enhanced baby bonus. Am appealing to MCYS on this. Seriously I think the govt should backdate to 1st Aug 2008 instead of 17 aug 2008. It's very unfair to the rest of us who gave born during this period. Hope u all will appeal to MCYS as well.

ladies, now i trying to breast feed my girl.. but i have sore nipple and it's very painful was latching. I tired pumping... still can feel the pain... is there any way to solve sore nipple?? i dont wish to give up on breast feeding... now i will latch her on in the day time, then night time i will pump it out to let the nipple have a rest. thanks in advance for any advice.

heard so many complains abt their CL, anyone have good experience with their CL so far ?
my cousin wife delivering end of the yr and looking for a good CL.

hi mommies, if i gave birth on 27 jul but EDD was 17 aug, what can i do? i'm a bit blur now. am i still entitled to the enhanced childcare leave or infantcare leave? from the news release, it says effective 17 aug. does that mean for bbs born on 17 aug or if bb is less than 7 yr and 2 yrs respectively on 17 aug? so confusing!

We are in a similar situation. Baby EDD is on 25Aug2008. However, gynae advise my wife to have emergency operation on 11Aug2008. I am going to appeal to MCYS regarding this. Any one of you in similar situation appeal to MCYS already ? Have MCYS response back ?

val
Agree!! So glad my ger cooperated & I didn't have to undergo emergency c-section.. Wld feel so tui, tt after all the pain i had to go thru & end up going c-section.

snow
All the pushing is worth it, even though I think i was not very gd at it. I think HB more xin ku, coz he couldn't do anything to help..

aurora
Just heard the news fr my fren abt it tt coz i popped after 17 Aug, I am now entitled to the 4th mth maternity leave.. But since I wld hit the Dec hols, i'm still entitled to take the 4th mth when sch starts in 2009?

Medusa, Celyn, luvlel & cloudz

luvlel: Dunno if it can be attributed tt i'm strong, or tt i'm too drowsy fr all the laughing gas tt I had no more strength to use the laughing gas when the contractions got unbearable.. *oops*

hashishan
Thanks dear! Am also doing TBF but since it's only been day 4, i dun think i've got anything to express yet.. My ger only drinks every 3+ hr..

BF
Do you all do feed on demand (ie, when bb cries or shows signs of rooting) or by a schedule?

i just called MCYS hotline. the person said that for childcare leave, they have not decided whether those bbs born slightly b4 aug get 2 or 6 days. but for infantcare, we definitely qualify. anw, it's unpaid mah, so doesn't really affect them. as for appealing based on EDD, they can't confirm also. they asked if i got any doc to substantiate. i said only scans lor, not gynae's letter. the person said can prepare docs first and if govt is willing to review on case by case basis, can submit appeal. hopefully we don't lugi too much lah.

m2b
Maegan is such a gd gal....how i wish zynn has a fixed sleeping pattern too. =P

medusa
ya, agree with u that LJW is already playing very well.
now can only hope that she can get a bronze lor.

von
congrats! =)

hisstory
ai yo, who i this world will e gd in pushing 1?
most important i both mummy and bb are healthy now. =)
undertand what u mean, cos my hb also very helpless when he saw me in pain when i was bbeing push out of ot.
maybe have a special father day celeration next yr for him?

Von:congrats!!
you can use nipple shield for few days till it gets better. in the meantime can pump milk also. Before and after feed must use nipple cream (I used purelan medela, its good).
For me, it took 2 weeks (1st child) and about 10 days (2nd child) till the nipple healed.
Dont give up on breastfeeding..

Hisstory: I feed on demand since she's on total BF. can be every 1, or 2 or 3 hrs...

Catherine: my CL is good and she respects my decision to total BF. I have no complain about her. and her cooking is yummy.

hisstory, congrats to you! saw yr baby gal's pic thr multiply and shes so lovely looking.
good that ur MS came so fast..mine only came on the 5th day.

catherine, my CL is good also. she is a fast learner, at first didnt know how to use steriliser and many things. i taught her once and she picked up immediately...she just left today..so sad when i sent her to the gate..*teary*

Krex: If you want to know more about Goo.n diapers, you can sms me at 90401870. I find it good for Amber.

Hisstory: Congratulations!!

I am not total breast feeding too but got stand-by a can of Enfalac just in case there comes a time my supply drop in the night. So far, I am just able to produce enough for her next feed. Not much excess.

MrsGan: I use Lanisol Nipple Cream from Mothercare, very good also :)

Amber is drinking about 2.5 to 4 oz every 3 or 4 hours. She is 10 days old now. Her poo has turned a golden yellow since yesterday.

Me 2nd time mum delivered on 12 Aug so missed out on additional $1000 since it's effective from 17 Aug. Aiyo!! why dun back date to National Day or 1 Aug at least.

Catherine: I dun wish to recommend my confinement nanny as she is not so perfect, just average.

After 10 days, things are beginning to look brighter where breast-feeding and adjustment to nanny are concerned.

Salute to all the breast-feeding mummies here!!

avocado / earnestmum,

You can write in to MCYS to review your case for the enhanced bb package if you can prove that your initial EDD is 17th Aug or after.
I'm going to write in. Cos I got a letter from my gynae earlier on to certify that my initial EDD is 17 Aug as I needed it for my maid application.
Not sure if can get it but at least no harm writing in.
Email: [email protected] OR
Ministry of Community Development, Youth & Sports
Family Services Division
Baby Bonus & Adoption Branch
510 Thomson Road
#13-00 SLF Building
Singapore 298135

kel,
For you I think no prob to claim the 4th mth ML and additional bb bonus, cos your due date is in Sept right?
BTW the 4th mth ML is paid by govt and applies to self-employed.

Medusa,
me can pump abt 140ml but my baby only 1 week old drinking only 60ml each feed. So am currently storing my milk in the freezer which can last for at least 2 months. Everytime wanna feed, I will take bottles down to the fridge that is required for the day and prepared for my girl when she’s hungry. So you can actually store more than 48 hrs if you put in freezer. dun waste.
Lulvel,
Show is pinkish or red in color... Urs could be some sympthons that show is coming. If you are still not comfortable, contact your gynae.

Confinement Lady:
I must say my confinement lady very old school leh, she is tat type that will practice her old school methods and everytime we tell her something, she will ok ok, but always nvr do one. She will just stick o her way of thoughts. PD say baby skin very dry must apply lotion or oil, they she say ok but when i asked her so say wait till baby’s old skin pill off liao then apply lotion. Tell her must apply spirit on the cord 3 times a day but she always forget and given me excuses like baby sleeping, So I say when she wake up for her feed, just apply then she say ok. Just now I went to clean up and baby woke up from sleep for feed. Then when im out of the bath room, baby asleep again. There goes the one time cleaning again. Cos I went for emer c section, mobility is limited. I think when i get beta next week, I will supervise her every move.

Just woke up from a nap.. Feel so bad tt I nap while my mum who's helping me with confinement has to start prep dinner..

re:CL who are mummies or MIL
Mummies, those of you whom ur mummy or MIL is helping u with confinement, are u going to give an AP?

snow
*hahah* When i was pushing, i thought of 2 ger frens who only needed to push 2 - 3 times & bb was delivered.. I felt why didn't i do those exercises tt were taught during antenatal classes to help me familiarise

My HB is overjoyed tt his precious little one is born.. I think his pressies for the rest of the year all gao dim with this princess oredi.. hahah

hashishan
Thanks! We were taught in the class to feed on demand, and so far it's between 3 - 4 hrs, so I'm a little worried tt she might get deyhdrated or tt she's just a very gd sleeper, can sleep her hunger away

huichin
Thanks dear! Officially a cow and panda from now onwards...

earnestmum
Thanks!! I am TBF, but standing by with Friso Gold in case I get ill or am too tired to keep up with milkmilk demands

missysz
Thanks! Heheh, tt's fast! I shall post a pix of her here, for the rest of the Aug mummies too

1657516.jpg

Ashley says Hi!

aurora, mrslow

Thanks for the advise. Think got to wait more to see the baby

Hisstory:
Ashley looks so cutie :-*

valnsw:
Do we get some kind of concession when we employ maid when preggie? I have employed my maid as I am preggie. Another thing would be that I am a permenant residence.

hisstory, ur BB is a Dearie! LOL...so cute! I so envy ur nice white BB cot. Mine is a hand-me-down, so cannot choose. Haha..

Mummies, other than fish/chicken with sesame oil + ginger, chicken herbal soup, slice fish soup with Mee suah.. what other dishes can i try? Anything halal for confinement i can try to cook. So sianz...eat the same old stuff everyday...sometimes i so sick of it i just eat the sambal goreng, assam pedas my hubby's Ah Ma cook one. Cos she actually oso cook for me (considerably la), then like i dun wanna eat like i very attas like that wor. Sighs..so hard to let ppl understand. I have to lie that i have stomachache and lau sai so they wont say anything else. Bleahhh...

luvlel,
I'm not sure abt PR but I knw that if u hire maid to take care of bb below 12yrs old, the foreign maid levy is $170/mth instd of the norm $265/mth.

U can double check w MOM.

hisstory,
Congrats once again. Who does Ashley resemble more?

cindy,
Your milk supply is gd! hur... me still slowly catching up leh -_-" Will let bb suckle as much as possible but then I'm not producing enough

cocomo,
You got some Lasinoh milk bags from overseas spree right? Cheri, the spree organiser is looking for you to collect your milk bags.
You might want to contact her ASAP.

Hope you're coping well!

Congrats, Von!

hisstory,
BB Ashley look so sweet! Pretty eyes too.
Yes, u can take the 12 weeks first then the 4 weeks after dec hols. There will be a maternity leave form which u need to fill in. Think ur support staff will advise u on how to go abt filling up the dates.

Re: breastfeeding
Im bf on demand. Think at the beginning difficult to have a schedule cos when bb is hungry, he wans milk NOW. hahaaa.. and when they undergo growth spurt, they will wan more milk, e.g. every hour.

re:CL who are mummies or MIL
I'm going to give my mil an AP for her time and effort. Cos come to think of it, i dun hv to engage CL so save $$. Then tt time she asked abt the massage lady's fee and she commented tt it was good money, one session $60... so... i better give her lah to show some appreciation.

Luvlel,
dun worry too much. Enjoy the bb growing inside u for now. I kinda miss the feeling. :p

To all mommies who have popped..Congrats!!

Cindy,
Ur delivery experience is v similar to mine leh..
Btw, i oso felt the 'separation anxiety' when we went home from hosp.
It was soo bad dat i chased away my CL and insisted on taking care of bb myself at nite.
Now, hb will oso bring bb into my room in the afternoon to sleep wif me.

Aurora,
My relatives gave me $350 of ang pao and hb jus gave it to mil..sorta like showing appreciation and compensating her for the confinement food she bought.

Joanne,
I almost died-ed! the pain of c-sec and engorgement coupled wif confinement don'ts and conflicts wif mil are all making me crazy!
Btw, u managed to find someone to help u take care of bb? or u r doing it all by yourself?

Valnsw,
Get ready for my grouses... :p
Ever since i chased away my CL, i've been sleeping wif bb and doing graveyard shift. So far so good *fingers & toes crossed*
As for mil, well, y'day realli v drama. I went to kitchen after lunch and started to nick pick on cleanliness again. Saw alot of tings buay song and started cleaning here, cleaning there..even carried the heavy vacuum cleaner to vacuum some dirt on the floor..startled hb & mil..
then mil went into her room and started crying and complaining to hb dat she wanna go back, dun wanna do confinement for me anymore.
I buay tahan the shoutings in the room, and went in to confront her.
Oh man, i realli cried like it's the end of the world and felt soo bad towards my bb whois soo sound asleep in the living room.
i told mil dat i oredie suspected dat i kenna post natal blues, yet she still cry and make a big fuss in the house, making my condition worse.
My backache was soo bad dat i couldn't finish venting my grouses and went back to my room to lie down.
Hb saw dat i soo depressed, wanted to ask mil to realli go back dat nite but seriously i dun tink i can cope all the housework + bb myself when hb goes back to work next week.
Sigh...anyway after mil calmed down, she came into my room and somehow we managed to patch up.
So as of right now, i jus had to close my eyes and tahan abit when i walk around the house.

Hisstory,
BB Ashley has got such beautiful eyes! and i tink she takes after u! *wink*

re: milk supply,
Sigh..i can neva reach the 50ml mark.
I was prescribed maxolon to take wif my daily intake of fenugreek and papaya fish soup.
Gynae says if after 10 days milk ss is still no good, then no need to perservere liao..FM is jus as good..

luvlel
Thanks! Am sure ur bb will also be a cutie too!!

huichin
I was supposed to inherit my sis's cot & I thought of painting it white.. And then my sis got preggie, so she wld need her cot, it's a blessing tt i cld buy my white cot afterall

My mum cooked pseudo confinement food.. But some are non-halal so can't help u. U want to try porridge? I had soup beehoon & then u add ur own ingredients?

val
Hmm.. Gd question, i think she's got her daddy's eyes, but daddy thinks otherwise.. Her nose & lips resemble mine *i think* heheh

aurora
Thanks for lovely words! Oh, heheh, then if i take NPL, i gain 1 more mth of paid ML
So do i have to return to sch at all during my ML to settle any admin or can wait till i want to start my NPL?

I think i wld also give my mummy a big AP.. She has to help me, help Ashley & also take care of my niece. Really full-time 'job'

ReiRei
Thanks for your lovely words! Now we've really got 2 camps who think she looks like each of us.. Let's see in a few weeks time who she resembles more!

Did u post a pix of ur little one? Dunno if I had missed it!

Von
I had sore, cracked and bleeding nipples for the first few days cos my bb cannot seem to latch on very well. I used Purelan from Medela and its not bad tho i find it abit sticky. Another alternative is to press abit of milk out from yr tit and apply apund the sore area.. I fimd that more effective tho.

Celyn
Yes continue to work harder... am sure you can pump more next time : )

Cindy
Yeah at first I was thinking just store for 48 hrs..looks like now have to store in freezer liao. Btw do you store in liners or glass bottles?

Huichin
Yeah I know what you mean but i stand firm on my ground.. like that day my mil asked me if I want to eat laksa anot i told her cannot cos i am breastfeeding and the coconut milk may affect the bb. Actually sometimes it will leh. Like my #1, when i eat spicy food he will LS so we got to really watch our food. I know its hard cos later they think why we chinese so troublesome one but bopian.. Btw are you doing the cutting hair ceremony har? Fasting month is coming soon and I also dunno when I shd do that.. and also, are yr parents side asking you to give out cakes this time for bb's full month? My grany passed away about 4 mths back so dunno whether this time they pantang then maybe no need to give. Last time I did for my #1 and gave out the ang ku kuehs and the red eggs from polar.

hisstory,
i didn't go back. I called them up and asked my hubby to go to submit all my mc, hl and maternity leave. The staff then passed him the form. I filled it up n get hubby to return. Tt's all.
Must submit ur maternity leave form within 2 weeks.

ReiRei,
relax yah? Confinement really impt, must take good care of ur body. I also had some differences with MIL... really hv to close one eye and let it be if not sure very depressed. Cheer up!

<font color="ff0000">Thanks for everyone's support! I have sent out an email to PMO and MCYS with 150 signatures. Will be waiting for their reply. Let's keep our fingers crossed and pray. In the meantime, in case we need to rally again, please PM me your name, IC number, bb BC number and DOB and child order if you wish to join this petition. Rest assured your details are kept in confidence</font>

ReiRei
*hugs* Maybe u're a little affected with adjustments to the responsibilities of motherhood, and living with ur MIL too..
Must really close 1 eye &amp; sometimes both ears, if not u wld get emotional easily.. But i'm so glad to hear ur HB's very supportive of u

*jiayou*

aurora
IseeIsee.. I shall call up my office to confirm what other documents are needed fr me.. Thanks for the tips!!

Medusa
Thanks!! Ur bb's really cute too!
Continue to update us with new pix of ur bb k?

valnsw,
Get baby to suck more often. cos the more she sucks the better. more milk.

ReiRei,
Yah our delivery process rather similar. I also felt a bit frustrated over our baby's matters. Wanted the best for our baby, that would be our maternity instinct i guess. U drove sway ur CL?? Wat happened? Maybe I had missted your earlier post. Due to hormones chnages, think we are more emotional. I also cried a few times.

Medusa,
I used the glass bottles that we collected from the hospital to store my milk in the freezer. Actually can store more milk in one bottle and only pour for my baby when she needed it. But I cant trust my CL. There is once she actually thawed the milk already and baby cant finish she wanted to pour back and say dun waste... Me and hubby must tell her thawed milk cant be out back due to hygeine reason. Hygiene should come before wasting of BF. SO I have no choice to keep 60ml per bottle to facilitate my CL to do the feeding. GUess I wil need more bottles.

ANy muumies know where we can get glass bottles for milk storages??

anyone here using cloth diapers? how is it? my confinement nanny says cloth diapers should be used after 1 month - think she dread washing the cloth nappies.

valnsw: my EDD is 12 Aug leh, so think less hope.

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>! bb ashley is cute!!
now i'm still waiting.

<font color="0000ff">cat, valnsw</font>, forgot to ask u if u did process ur placenta?

<font color="aa00aa">induce or not?</font>
gynae ask me to induce on my edd leh. how? i wanted to let bb choose the birthdate but he keep telling me horror stories. sigh. should i induce?

Hi mummies, I need to stock up on formula just in case...which formula do you all use/recc again? I am v confused with the Enfamil/enfalac... please advice...

Morning mummies. Just finish expressing my milk so though will just pop by while waiting for my breakfast.

Jvenus,
Mine was induced too but 2 days after my edd cos me and my husband decides to wait to see if she wants to come out on her own or not. Cos sometimes EDD may not be accurate therefore we decided to wait. U should ask ur gynae if there are any complications to wait, so so, no point waiting, if can wait then wait lor but not too long cos our placenta will detoriate after 40 weeks.

hi all...sorry was in hospital whole day yday and going soon again..

the milk is 35.70 not really a bulk purchase i think but if we order 12 tins, then can have free delivery to my place then we can distribute from there lah..but min 6 tins, so I am going to order 3 tins...let me know how many u guys want ya?