(2008/08) Aug 2008

huichin,
ya lo. dono what to do with her. today she went marketing with hubby and he talked to her. she say she got alot of problems. her bro dont want her to work in sg and want her to marry his fren etc. i ask her if she wants to marry or not, she say no. i say then settle la, since u are already here working, why u worry about the problem.. sigh ...

re:maid
today i ask her toast 2 bread for hubby, then i came and made the sandwich myself. then i said to her "toast 1 more slice for me". while i was preparing the sandwich she asked me "mum how many slice ?" i still nicely tell her "i told you toast 1 slice for me, how many slice is 1 slice". she replied me "one".. when ready i told her to apply cream cheese on the slice. Then she asked me "what about the other slice?" i asked her what other slice .. turns out she toasted 2 !! wah piangz .. i dono what to say. can someone tell me what am i to do with her ?? hahaha

re:hair highlight
suppose to go do hair highlight tomo 4pm but hubby ask me dont go ... cos he worry my mom cant handle bb. esp when bb poo, cos whenever bb poo they will call me to clean.. so evening is her poo poo time .. sigh
thot can finally go do hair. i even sacrifice my pedi/mani and just do hair. but seems like tomo cant do le
actually i also abit concerned going for 3hours leaving bb at home.. sigh .. i asked hubby is it he or the bb that needs me more at home.. he just smile.

yes yes!!

Gd news for all of the mummies who pop after 17th Aug.

Jvenus,
You can smile smile already. (",) happy rite?

Val,
So it means we can get 2mths paid maternity leave. Hooray ar!! But i'm just afraid i dunno how to go about doing it.

Krex78,
Keep trying! I'm sure ur bb will be accustomed to you bathing him soon.

catherine,
haha ur maid really funny. Or maybe she wans the other slice herself? :p

kel,
I don't think it applies to me.
First thing, my bb is born 8 Aug.
My initial EDD is 17 Aug but then I don't think e govt will take that into consideration.

Maybe the petition had some sort of effect.

Its so funny, where did they come out with the date of 17 aug? ITs a sun???

I think those who gave birth to their babies in aug will feel cheated. To be fair, they should be given to those that are currently enjoying their ML prob backdated to June.

Personally, the money is additional but th 4th month ML will be a good one cos it gives us more time to bond with our child.

kel, yah! i was so shocked to hear the news as i did not read phyl's post to listen to the news. really happy!

val, edd may be considered as well. perhaps those of you whose edd on 17 aug but delivered earlier can try writing in together to mcys with gynae letters as support. however, that may hv to depend on whether ur company wants to give or not. if u r in civil service, they will likely support.

17 aug was the date of the ND rally, when PM Lee made this announcement. though the english rally was only telecast on 18 aug, but officially the news was announced on 17 aug.

Jvenus (venus),
my first EDD is 18/8/08, then to 15/08/08 then to 12/08/08. Gyane told me first one more accurate and stick to 18/8/08 when 35wks. will ask gynae write a letter to state EDD.

Any pasir ris mummies who have good PD to recommend near our area?

Hiaz, just missed it cos my delivery date is 15th... think the additional one month is good for bonding between baby and myself.

I can't keep up here...moves so fast...anyway, quick qn..how much ebm does your 3 week old take for a full feed?

Also, I saw in the WTS someone was selling her cushion, My Brest Friend for $35...gd deal if anyone is interested

Congrats to those who jus popped and those benefitting from the gd news!

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2">
hi mothers of 1st child < 1 yr,

I think we shld fight for the addition
Children Development Co-Savings (Baby Bonus) Scheme to be given to us. As we too, have small child to look after and requires childcare education subsidy.

Please let me know if you are keen to petition on this matter. [email protected] </font></font>

Zoe,
True cos am one of them.
Those on ML now "yan zhen zhen" see that 1 mth diasppear just like that which i believe it can make a diff with the extra bonding time with child.

read this

It urged employers to let staff claim the extra maternity, infant-care and childcare leave, and to give enhanced protection to pregnant employers from Aug 17. 'If they do so, the Government will pay for its share of the additional leave to be taken,' the statement said.

http://www.straitstimes.com.sg/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_270724.html

does that mean still subject to ur employer's approval?

hehe, btw singapore motherhood was being mentioned

hie mummies, my fren had edd 23rd Aug but she delivered on 13th Aug. She's thinking of appealing for the extra maternity and bb bonus.

Does anyone know where she should send her appeal to?

Hi Jgal,

Sorry to intrude on this thread. I give birth in end of May (1st pregnancy and is a twins) and currently still enjoying my maternity leave. I totally agree that we should help our 1st child fight for the CDA. My twins now only 2mth+ old and I think the elder one deserve the CDA as well together with her younger sister and those babies born after 17th Aug. Let me know if the petition goes through.
Email: [email protected]

f the child’s estimated date of delivery (EDD) is on or after 1 Jan 2009(revised to 17/08 now), but is born prematurely before 1 Jan 2009(revised to 17/08 now), parents may write to MCYS to check his/her eligibility for the Baby Bonus. They should include the doctor's certification on the EDD and copies of the following documents:

a) Birth certificates of all children;
b) Citizenship certificate of all children (if applicable);
c) Marriage certificate; and
d) NRICs or passports of both parents

aurora,
my mom fed bb the pearl powder using a spoon and add some water, my gal likes it alot!
my mom said will make the complexion nice nice too...hahaha

Valnsw,
Haha, the PD bombarded by your questions? itz ok, my best fren told me her gal hiccup alot during 1st mth too and gradually got better...

now i'm bothered by the "pimples" on my gal's face...very disturbed lah...

think Megan is organizing a bp and price is $35.90 per tin??

avocado, that is good news! those of you whose EDD is on 17 Aug and after should write in to check for eligibility. but be prepared to have another war to fight with your company HR as they may not recognise it.

m2b, i think those pimples are milia. will go away one. last time my #1 also have. now also smooth. dun worry, ok?

hi all mummies &amp; MTBs

Was discharged yest &amp; so far i think the latching on looks positive &amp; no sore nipples yet *cross fingers &amp; toes*

Am very thankful for my hb for standing by me during the labour.. It was really long &amp; it didn't help tt my ger was not engaged when the labour started. Set me into anxiety when gynae mentioned tt i might have to go thru c-section..

So here's my 'brief' labour story...

18 Aug (Mon)
12MN - Crampy feelings came in &amp; was at regular intervals
2am - Crampy feelings persisted &amp; so we decided to do some last min packing for admission
2.30am - Left for Mt A
Ard 3am - Reached Mt A's delivery suite &amp; did the BP reading, CTG strap...
4+ am - Started to use the laughing gas
5 - 6am- Contractions became unbearable &amp; nurse recommended me to start on epi since I am oredi intending to use it
6+ am - Anesthetist came &amp; gave epi, but it DIDN't work on me.. Nurse upped the dosage
8+ am - Epi started to work, FINALLY
2+pm - Epi didn't work anymore, could feel the contractions &amp; couldn't up the dosage *bleah*
So i decided to tahan &amp; also give the laughing gas a miss, otherwise too drowsy to push
4pm - Nurse checked that I was abt 9cm dilated *phew* But head still not low enough
414pm - Puked from Epi
430pm - Gynae came &amp; checked and asked me to try pushing so that head can go lower
Pushed &amp; pushed, but didn't use the right stomach muscles
5+pm - Gynae used forceps to assist in delivery.. They look horrifying
525pm - By God's grace, Bb Ashley was finally delivered

To all mummies who have yet to pop, hang in there k? U wld be surprised when bb just decides to make his/her way into this worl

jvenus

Take a break fr work &amp; get rest &amp; prep for bb's arrival.. U deserve it! *jiayou*

multiple births
can someone explain to me abt maternity benefits for multiple births? i read somewhere that each child is considered separate birth. that means if u hv twins/triplets next time, got ML for 8/12 months?! woah!

avocado

M2B

Thanks! Agree, I was more concern abt bb's safe arrival.. Was quite glad tt my water bag actually didn't burst till quite late into the labour, so bb was still in a safe envt
*heehee*

hello ladies!
so happy that i can start eating chi from today onwards, tired of pork liao. =P
watching table tennis women semi-final, gan jong sia.... -_-"

m2b
ya, at least u can sleep longer now.
no need to apply all those eye care prod like me...hee hee....

i'm using the GAIA soothing lotion on zynn's face, it did cure the milk rashes on her face.

valnsw
my edd initially is 20th aug also. =)

avocado,
My EDD is 13th actually and my gal is overdue actually. Like I had said earlier, really hope to have the additional 1 month and money not to concern cos the bonding with your child cant be bought with any amount.

Hisstory,
Yup, bb's safety and health is the most impt...of coz, mommy's safety too lah.

Snow,
Yday, Maegan drank milk at 11.15pm and manage to tong till 5.30am then woke up for milk...heehee, and she slept till 9.30am again...I really hope that is her pattern from now onwards man...

hisstory,
congrats!!
Luckily your baby decided to come out naturally without hving to go thru C-sect.

avocado,
Do you knw if the 4th mth ML is paid by govt or the employer and if applies to self-employed? Cos I'm self-employed, so if paid by govt maybe I still can write in to appeal.

Megan / M2B,
For the Enfalac bulk purchase, I wana get a few tins. How/who should I contact or go about it? Or just PM Megan?

M2B,
Your gal really v guai... can sleep thru the night. My gal yday slightly better, she woke up 2.30AM to feed then slept at 4AM til 8AM. At least only awake for 1.5hrs, better than previous night when she was awake for 3 hrs.

I think your bb got milk rash, think shd go off by itself, just wipe the face with water. My bb's milk rash also kinda cleared after a day or so.

BTW thought I'll share this article and link which is really useful:

http://www.kellymom.com/

http://www.breastfeeding-basics.com/html/waking_a_sleepy_baby.shtml

I shd've read up earlier on this. Now atleast I see my milk supply coming in, pumped out more this morning. Gives me hope.
For other mummies who are bfeeding. Jiayou!

Hope this helps those mummies who have just given birth!

Hisstory: congratulations...!!!
Praise God you and baby are doing ok despite the long labour.
Jia you on breastfeeding ..

Mommies , anyone total breastfeed your baby?
I TBF day and nite and my girl can drink like 120ml per feeding (I know bcoz CL gave her my expressed BM sometimes).
And she's only 2 weeks old. Wonder if its too much, but she seems contented tho after her 120ML.
and wanna check also: How much is the angpao u usually give to CL ?

And to mommies who has elder child: Recently I become impatient with my son because he wants my attention (more than before his sister came).. I feel guilty, becoz I know he behaves that way becoz he misses the undivided attention that he used to get.
How to handle this matter? some more he had fits (due to high fever)few days ago followed by flu so dr said he cant stay near baby nor sleep in the same room with her.
So when I want to BF my girl, my son wants to follow me.. I have to ask him to leave the room
I pity my son but dont know what to do