(2008/08) Aug 2008

megan
thx.
ur bb very cute also, do post his photo fast ya.

luvlel
thx. =)

catherine
maybe i din think so much bah, just feel like eating potato chips then go down and buy liao lor.
yesterday was hell for me actually, giddy till canot walk in straight line..hee hee...
my rm is on 6th level also, rm 633 is nearest to exit and furthest to nursery.
the nurse here ok lah, but think GlenE took away quite a few services liao.
i remember they used to provide free transport home upon discharge, now dun have liao.
their customer relation officer also dun come and visit liao.
they only thing that increases is their charges.
ur gal so cute. =D

yuuri
maybe i din cosider too much, i can simply ignore certain level of pain 1 lor. =P

valnsw
ur gal so alert on 1st day ya?
my gal till now still din wanna open her eye fully leh.
think all our 080808 bb are hungry bb hor?
after bf for 50mins, my gal will still cry very hard for milk leh.
ended up the nurse always gotta give her fm, cos i'm bleeding liao. -_-"

REIREI JUST GAVE BIRTH THIS EVENING

congrats girl!!!!
rest well k

m sure she'll be back for her birth story

faeriekim & shint

Oh yes, getting up fr the chairs are really difficult of late. It's even worse when getting up fr the floor.. Have to manouvre like a massive elephant!!

faeriekim: how many days of HL are u entitled to? U exhausted MC oredi ah.. Nvm, thankfully there's HL!!

shint: ur hb's got a pt too, work have colleagues.. But colleagues may not know how to handle as well leh. Since i barely used my MC, i'm staying hm to rest.. At least i wun feel the stress fr colleagues who are gan jiong, make me even more gan jiong

celyn

Did u get any engorgement?

snow

Not bad ah u, can still enjoy urself with potato chips.. *kekeke* Maybe i shall tell hb to da bao sashimi!!

Megan

*congratulations* on the arrival of Titus

val

wow, Chevelle's eyes are so bright!! Eager to meet mummy & daddy!

hisstory/chin,

dun have photo editing lei, cannot edit on right click either. haha...guess cannot post baby pic liao..

catherine,
cute pic of ur gal there..haha...my boy also post ultraman post ytd afternoon.. guess they are all ultraman fans...hahaha..

snow74,
hee, assuring to hear can drink water.

been gulping down water like thirsty hippo these days...breastfeeding is thirsty ?

Rata,
hee...cya.

valnsw/shay, congrats on ur new arrival!!

for those mommies waiting to pop, jia you jia you jia you ...soon u will be meeting ur lovely babies.

re:breastfeeding
think my milk supply havent kicked in yet, only managed to pump 20mls so far.. baby was so fustrated that he refused to suck, bo bian got to top up with formula..so sad when i see him drink the formula milk so quickly and happily lei..will still perserve on with my pumping and latching, hopefully will have leaking breast milk like u gals soon.

thanks for all the replies. My last post for the night before I conk out.

Yuuri / Catherine / krex,
Thanks for the advice on the breastfeeding part. Just now tickle her cheek, under chin, seems to hv worked abit but super tiring.
Guess I gota persevere on -_-""

Catherine,
I didn't do the spoonfeeding la.. I cheated, I get maid to do the spoonfeed of formula milk. Heng got her to help out.
Ya, same here supplement with FM after breastfeed.
Haha, your gal really v cute, pose as Ultraman!

Shay / celyn / Yuuri / snow,
Ya lucky my hubby managed to capture her as she was just born. I was too concussed out with the after effects of epi, hving super headache due to concentrate all e pushing force onto my face.
My hubby commented she was v alert, looking here and there and then started to suck thumb liao. Just cos he's the conscious one, he got to see all her action just as she was born. *super unfair*
The nurse also put her to suckle me just before we proceeded to nursery ward.

Shay,
thanks for the tip, prob will do the burping before feeding her.

snow,
slowly la, your bb will open up her eyes sooner or later. Then you will enjoy the moment.
We all busy snapping photos away. hehe.
Ya maybe Olympic babies get hungry v easily.

Little twin stars,
Got your sms, and glad to read from here you're over your post-natal blues. Do update us and rant if you need to. We're here to listen.

reirei,
hope you got my sms on the after-effects of epidural hor... Never over-dose!

M2B / Catherine,
thanks for the advice on brand of formula milk. Heh... I actually tikam the brand when last nite the nurse had to spoonfeed the FM. Turns out I chose the brand that you two recommended.

OK Let's all jiayou together!!!

Looking fwd to my massage tomorrow morning

adding more to <font color="aa00aa">ReiRei</font>'s bb gal's birth details

ReiRei delivered at 5.50pm today via c-sect with epi. Baby Charlotte weighs 2.945kg

interrace

Oh hmm.. I can edit on ur behalf or u can send to someone who can

val

Enjoy your massage tmr!

ReiRei

*congratulations* on the arrival of baby Charlotte

wah so many of us Aug08 have pop liao...

Congrats to all mommies that have delivered!

me had my last session of malay massage today. I think got effect coz my tummy looks smaller liao
Hopefully with bfeeding, I can lose the preg weight soon :p

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
we delivered on the same day. Wah ur milk SS very good leh.
Today after my massage session, I managed to pump 100ml, which is my most so far. Before today, i only manage to get abt averagely 70ml only.

my massage lady very good, everytime after massage, my SS is more than usualy. hee...i told my hubby he should have been in the room and try to 'catch' her massaging skills, so that next time can massage me...keke..

Congrats Valnsw,
Wa .. your gal's eyes so BIG ... and she looks vv clean too.

Congrats ReiRei!

Breastfeeding baby for those who had C-sect
When does the nurse bring baby back to you for breastfeeding? Also, do you get the LC there on first feed or on subsequent feeds to help? U request beforehand or?

*I forgot what happened the last round liao but i think i din get any LC's help leh.

Shay,
Me not going to deliver yet la. My scheduled date is on 20 Aug but I got feeling that #2 might come out earlier .... but i hope not cos #1 still recovering from chicken pox.

Back vv pain ... slightly lower back and i oso keep having stomach ache .. is this a sign of labour?
Tummy super tight, cannot even close my legs .... tummy too big.

Shay, congrats!! Really pei fu you. Baby so big you manage to deliver naturally with no epidural.

Megan,
Congrats too!

Catherine,
your baby very ke ai. Know how to pose liao...

valnsw,
congrats!! dun remember if I have congratulate you yet anot.
Baby is super alert. Got very nice eyes.

Milk to feed baby ... which brand is recommended ah?

Last round I used Similac but this time I wan to use Enfalac .... Which is the recommended one ah?

valnsw,
congrats to you! ur bb looks very sweet &amp; kawaii~! Cant wait to see the world huh? :D

Re: Breast pumps
Which breast pumps are you moms using? My hubby bought me the Pigeon electric pump, but my friend told me it didnt work for her n she splurge on Medela one instead... How about Avent one? Did you all use electric or manual?? Thanks!

Btw, i press out (regulate) my colostrum almost everyday... I just wanna keep it going... Cos they say the more u regulate, the more it comes out. I think it's true cos i seems to get more each day...

val, like wat all the other mommies said, chevelle has very big eyes, so alert! all the best wif bfding :D

shint, i sticking to enfalac for #2.

hisstory, i feel more like hippo, everywhere oso round. the gynae gave me abt 10 days, i.e. until my EDD cos she doubt tat I will be delivering any earlier than tat. she also feels tat i lack exercise and has been asking me to do squats etc... talking abt tis HL, my colleague (who coincidentally has been preggie b4 already) was dubbing herself as super mummy cos she worked until the day she popped (unlike me obviously) n was trying to suan me by saying 'my next pregnancy i'm oso gonna ask for HL say i got backache, backside ache...' so mean of her hor? i replied her, 'yar, i do hope u get backache.' :p

mulberry, r u using Nora? the lady i intro or another lady?

nini,
i used avent duo the last round n it served me well. i borrowed it fm my fren again tis round, juz buying the rubber accessories for hygiene purposes. tis time round oso discovered abt the shields n 'hands free' set fm u gals, so ordered tat as well.

faeriekim

Eee, ur colleague's so mean.. Since she's such a super mummy, ask her to take over ur duties lor. Come on, everybody's constitution &amp; experiences during the pregnancy differ.. *tsktsk* HL and MCs are given to us, we know if we need to use it. Not as if we use it &amp; not fear being penalised in terms of being rated poorly

I didn't do exercise at all during the pregnancy leh.. At best, lotsa walking.. Hmm, nvm lah. Why did she specifically ask u to do squats?

hisstory,
thks for the compliments
My massage lady coming soon.

shint,
I think it's a close-up shot and happened she opened her eyes. Normally when she doesn't open her eyes, her eyes like quite small.
Hehe, today when I happened to wake up, she also woke up. Saw her smile. Haiz, too bad not quick enough to catch it on camera.

Your stomachache isit like menses cramps or wana go poo? Actually both are prelude but depends on how fast your contractions will come.

I am using Enfalac now, recommended by M2B and Catherine. So far, seems ok, tho I worry my bb not urinating enough. In fact, she poos like bit by bit and have to keep changing diapers.

mulberry,
you give me hope that massage can do wonders. My tummy really flabby now, hoping to get rid of excess wind and flab.

kel,
Thanks! It will be your turn to give birth soon! Jiayou.

nini,
according to hubby, she kept looking around, and start sucking thumb liao. She's one super hungry baby, like almost every 2-3 hrs need one feed.

faeriekim,
just ignore that "xiao ren" colleague of yours. Now more important to await arrival of your princess! Haha, gd you shoot back at her.

dongle,
I received your email on the spree. Have transferred the $ to you. Pls check! Thks.

Re: diaper changing
Anybody apply diaper cream before putting on the diaper? Can help prevent diaper rash like that? TIA!

Re: amt to feed
Somebody was asking how long to breastfeed. I also wana knw, anybody can help? Cos now feed colostrum duno how much she drink.

shint,
when the nurse brings bb for feeding, get the nurse to latch baby on for you. most of the nurses esp the senior(older) ones will know how to do it for you. The LC works office hours so she may not be around when they bring baby to you, but the nurses are good enuf to latch baby on. Then ask them to get the LC to come visit you. Actually I didnt request but the LC will come on her own.

I use Enfalac for supplement.

morning mummies

hisstory,
yah, get engorgement liao. super hard and pain sometime. my nipple also crack and bleed sometimes.

interrace,
don't worry about bm. i also got 20ml in the beginning only. continue to latch and pump, it will increase slowly. now i only got about 40-50ml each pump. but must remember to pump if not bm leak, very waste loh. my breast pad always got bm, i feel so wasted.

nini,
i got the avent duo electric pump. glad to have a electric one, can't imagine have to pump with manual 8 times a day.

Nini,
Not sure if the electric pigeon one you got is the same one my sil passed to me (I think didn't work for her either). Costs around $50+/-?
I tried that, and it really din work at all. The suction is v bad and my milk just kept trickling back down my breast, not one single drop reached the bottle. After that, I hand express can get much much more.
I went on to Ameda Duo and thumbs up!

good morning all

celyn

Did u get the nipple cream, or what are u using to soothe the pain?

dongle

Have done the trf for the spree &amp; have dropped u an email with the transaction ref

interrace, Heard dat u cant b jie mei for dat day. will u bring ur baby along?

All, I am also coping hard to keep up wif my gal intake. She takes 90-100ml every 3hrs. i pump every 3hrs &amp; get abt 100-110ml. after lots of hard work i finally able to get 1 bag of spare bm to freeze liao. *sweat*

Nini,
Then i must start pressing liaoz .. keke.

Valnsw,
It's stomach ache .... maybe it's the buffet i ate yesterday. Today seems ok so far. No contractions. Hubby wanted to eat buffet, then i accompanied him lor .. cannot eat too much myself and how to eat sashimi, etc? raw food no good.
Think i ate too much ... .after that, dun feel good and i tot i was going to deliver oredi.
Menses cramps only once or twice.

Diaper cream. Put everytime when u change diaper la. Have, dun have oso put. This is to prevent.

Faeriekim,
Well, it does not matter whether u take more or take less ... so long if u need to rest, utilise your benefit. It's ok la.
So what if u try to be superhero and suffer? My colleague also ask me to take leave to rest but i think dun wan to waste it .... and i take abit of MC here and there ... now she is pregnant, she oso take MC ... hehe. Do whatever that you feel ok. If she feels she strong ok lor, that's her .. Anyway, pregnancy and baby is more important than trying to be a supermum.

I'd prob tell her "Congrats, you are so strong, then dun need to rest so much rite? maybe u can help me out with my work? i really appreciate it from the bottom of my heart".

Dongle,
I am having problem downloading the file ... will do it once i get it downloaded. Thanks for all the efforts!

Thanks Catherine. Ya, last time i keep pressing the bell for the nurse to put baby on me, change position for baby, put baby back ... i so sotong and scared of the newborn .... scared I will twist his neck, etc. The nurse sure vv busy man.

Pump
I used Avent manual before, can pump quite ok ... but vv tiring. Used Medela single pump ... but sometimes it did not work cos i think the breast not much milk, then no suction .. sometimes ok ... abit siao siao (maybe it was the way i used it).
This time bought the Ameda after much research .... if u wanna splurge $318 .. now it's on promo at TMC ... retail ard $388 .. mumsfairy selling at $365.

I finally bought it cos i read earlier that if the baby dun take breastmilk, it'll cost us even more $$. For few months if u pump, good for baby and oso save $$. Anyway, after that still can sell ma.

celyn

oh yes, i almost forgot abt rubbing with BM first.. Hope when i deliver, the nurses &amp; LCs will give a 'crash course' of all the things taught at antenatal class

shint

i think for dongle's file u have to browse for the prog to open.. I chose Excel

Congrats, Mommies....

I have a few questions which I hope the newly promoted mommies can shed some light...

<<post>> I am wondering when I should get my massage lady to come over. Should I get her to come when I discharged or just a day later? Do you get the malay massage lady to come to your place to do the massage and binding on the day you were discharged, of course given natural delivery? And, which part of the day will be good for massaging and binding?

<<confinement>> Do your confinement lady come on the day your got discharge? Do you have to get your hubby to bring the confinement lady to your place or she can just take a cab to your place and then get reimbursed? Do you get the basic stuff like ginger, red dates ready for her before she arrived?

<<breastfeeding>> I saw some postings in another thread that they have some milk leaking as soon as 36weeks or so but I dun seem to have any. I dare not squeeze cos worry of contraction. I am getting worried that I will have no BM. May I know if you latch on the baby in the delivery ward as soon as baby is born? understand from the prenatal class, that best to try to latch on baby as soon as he is delivered even if no milk. do you all do that?

<<signs>> Can you share with me the sympthons of delivery? I am in my 35weeks but have not experienced contraction (be it true or false contractions) or maybe I have kanna before but just dun noe that is contraction.. :p Last night, I felt sore sore at the lower adominal and the V area....

celynn, it takes time onli on day 10 onwards i manage to give her tbm.

attached is another pic of my gal taken at 11 days old.
1626481.jpg

hisstory,
lc came to see me on the day i discharge. i show her my sore and bleeding nipple. she squeeze and ask me to use bm to go round it. now i try to do that everytime.

lc,
my massage lady will come and do massage for me after 1 week i deliver.

confinement lady is here when i discharge. told her the time that i should be home and she arrive shortly after. i told her to take cab and reimburse her. since baby is not home with me, after she arrives, i got hubby to bring her out to buy all the necessary things.

rat,
i see. can't wait to have baby back home with me. he is really a very good manual pump but a lazy one. he clears off my engorgement yesterday when i see him. breast feel so good after that. but engorge again today.

Catherine, ur gal so cute! Very rosy chubby cheeks too!

Congratulations Valnsw! Ur bb Chevelle has beautiful eyes!

Congratulations to Shay and Megan and all other mummies who have popped too!
Those waiting, jiayou!

Diaper changing
I apply desitin for every diaper change. So far so good.

Amt to feed
As im letting baby latch on most of the time, i just let him suckle till he refuses to open his mouth even after burping. Usually for newborn babies, they take about 30ml of milk, then slowly increase to 60ml during the 1-2 weeks. Now my bb about 2 weeks plus, he takes about 70-90ml. Think he's going thru growth spurt cos he demand feeding every 1 hr sometimes. If i feel tt my breasts quite empty, then i'll supplement with FM.

Pump
Currently i'm using avent manual pump to express before (sometimes need to know how much bb is drinking. Can express out abt 70-100ml in abt 20 min)or after feed. But have a set of ameda dual which i have yet to 'explore'. hehee.. maybe when ss is more, will start using it to cut time.

Faeriekim,
Ur refute is a good one! hahaa... ur colleague so mean. Got nothing better to say ar.

Snow,
Discharge today?
Wah, eat potato chips somemore ah?

Hisstory,
Yap, my #1 is real sweet and a darling…I haven’t got to download the pics of #2 yet lor…lazy lah…heehee

Shay,
Your bb weight is really good and you delivered via natural too…brave mommy!

Congrats Babywise!

Megan,
Congrats on the arrival of Titus!

ReiRei,

Valnsw,
You chose Enfalac A+ too?

Rata,
Your gal is so alert! Is she still cranky at night?

I finally have some time to come online!

Baby Joshua has arrived on 06 Aug by natural w epi n forceps. 2.96kg and 49cm.

Told u girls i was gonna induce on 5aug, but on 4aug, decided to change to 7aug but bb Joshua still decided to come out naturally on 06Aug 0030 naturally w/o having to induce. So much for planning! hee..

My story:

04 Aug: Was supposed to admit at 2330 today for induction cos placenta showing signs of ageing n 1.5cm dilated. Gynae thinks bb wont last till next wk n will prob pop during 08 or 09 aug, i dun wanna crowd w ppl so decided induce earlier. But decided to change to 07aug after seeing gynae today.

05 Aug
11am: Was having show, thus told to see gynae. Alrdy 3cm dilated, told im alrdy in labour, was admitted straight away to delivery ward.

1230pm: Admitted to delivery ward. Was asked to clear bowels. Waited for hubby to join me with my hospital bag.

2pm: 3cm dilated. Gynae came to burst my water bag n administer drip. Was asked if i want epidural cos contractions will b intense after drip. Told nurse i didnt want YET. Thou i was alrdy having contractions, nurse said im still ok cos i can still talk n smile n laugh.

4pm: 4cm dilated. Gynae said my pain threshold is quite high considering i was having very regular contractions. Felt pains but still bearable.

430pm: Started pulling my hair. Cant talk n laugh anymore! Very painful contractions!

5pm: Decided i shdnt b too brave anymore n ive had enough of labour pain experience. Asked for epidural.

515pm: Epidural administered n it was pure bliss after...

After Epidural:
Felt good cos no pains anymore. Legs were very numb. My progression was very slow from then on.

2230: After so many hours of labour, only 6cm dilated. Baby monitor showing not very good signs. Baby's heartbeat was dipping with contractions. Suspect baby is getting abit distressed cos labour has been quite long alrdy but still only 6cm. Told i might have to go for emer csect if this continues. I started crying and hubby started getting worried cos he was monitoring the baby's heartbeat (my hb became an expert reading the charts).

Hb prayed and told me dont worry, baby will definately be fine, he has strong faith in God and baby is protected. Quite drama. Nurse consoled me, say dont worry.

2330: 10cm dilated from 6cm within an hour!!
From then tried pushing n gynae was called in. Felt baby decending with each contraction. Very relieved and happy.

06 Aug
after 0000: Gynae arrived and said baby is crowning, asked if me n hb wanted to see. I told hb not to see! N i didnt want either..dun want it to be 'traumatic' for him later on..

Pushed n pushed! baby heartbeat not very happy again n i was getting very exhausted, gynae decided to use forceps.

0030: Baby Joshua arrived and was placed on me immediately. He started crying and it was just such a heartwarming moment looking at him..finally! After that hb started taking photos n videos of Joshua.

I feel so "cant believe i did it, cant believe i have my darling in my arms now". Im sure all of u mummies agree its such a heartwarming feeling, nothing compares to looking at your baby. Bb Joshua's so lovely Im getting so obsessed with him! =)

celyn

Okieokie, i shall rem this impt tip.. *heheh*
When's bb going to be discharged?

M2B

Heheheh, no lah.. U lazy? Got time to rest oredi very gd oredi, how to afford to laze yah? Look fwd to pix of ur pretty #2

joanne

Ur HB's really supportive! Pray tt my HB wld do the same too.. heheh!
U make me look fwd to carrying my little princess in my arms too..

Kel,
Thanks...I hope u could do it too ya.

Shint,
Opsss...tot urs is this coming wed. 2008 2008 is a nice date hope ur bb stick to the due date

Re: the breast engorgement near the armpit
You may want to try football hold position when latching on. BB will draw the milk from the milkduct near the armpit and hence reduce the engorgement. I tried and it helps....

hi Mummies,
Been a long time since I come in... so many posts and of course so many wonderful stories. Been busy clearing my work and started on my confinement leave today. EDD 13th Aug butg think my ah girl too comfortable in me liao haven decide to come out as yet.

Congrats to all mummies who had popped and press on for all other mummies who had not like me.... Hee hee...

Congrats to Reirei &amp; Joanne!

Rata,
Your gal look so charming and alert....pretty gal ya.

M2B,
Ya, huge bb glad that i can do it naturally so scared hv to c-sec.

Thanks Shay...

Been trying to rest before my baby decides to pop. NOwadays she is really active and really kicks me hard everytime she moves... haha... also think she got less space to move ard...haha....

Dongle,
You've got mail

Today I am on leave and hubby wanna go shopping again ... so i am accompanying him .. actually i dun mind la, cos so boring.

Shopping again
I walk so much ah ... dunno baby will come out earlier not ... not tummy really a chore, can't sit properly.

Hhaa, if i go deliver, i'll sms one of u ... for those who has PM me your number .. kekeke.
Mine ah, c-section will do ... cos now like baby vv big ... last week my current gynae says (3.5kg wo but i dun think so la) ... then how? by next week he's 4kg? i really don't think so. Now only ending week 37.

Checking with new gynae this week .. then can confirm how big baby is.

hisstory,
managed to download it liaoz and paid up
thanks.'

Shay,
Since i missed the 08080, 2008 should be good. Dunno whether baby gonna miss it or can wait till then.
He now vv active ... kick and kick, still have the hiccups thing i think .. then move to one side .. like a mountain!